Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sue Clover 

10th December 2014:
You have no idea how wonderful it is to finally read a well-written story about Ravenclaws, for Ravenclaws. I mean, there's HPMOR, but that's more about Harry himself than about Ravenclaws in general. There are stories about Slytherins, probably a majority of stories are by default about Griffindors, and I'm sure there are stories about Hufflepuffs somewhere. But I love the way you use Ravenclaw humor and I love how Albus and Scorpius are turned on by each other's genius and brilliance. I love your characters, I love your premise, and I love the way you've written it. And I love how Ravenclaw you are, and how Ravenclaw they can still be despite their pranking. Oh, and I love your ingenious pranks.

Author's Response: thank you so much! i loved writing these characters in all their Ravenclaw glory and i'm glad you appreciate that about them as well. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell 

19th October 2014:
Well, we know Rose can totally become a Potions mistress! She can obviously think on her feet. After all, she figured out a name and alternate explanation for the Valentine's prank on the spot, with Professor Vector and the teacher of the subject she wishes to one day take over staring at her. Plus, she's getting lots of thinking-outside-the-box experience from this scholarship.

I wish there had been a pranking scholarship back when I was in high school. We could have used something to liven things up a bit.

Favorite quotes:


-What happens in detention?”
-“I’ve heard stories,” Albus offers.

“You sort of have to royally [mess] up to lose your badge,” Scorpius points out. “My dad never lost his, and he tried to assassinate the Headmaster.”

If you need me – don’t. It’s Faculty Friday at the Three Broomsticks, and I want my half-price pint.”


--Penny

Author's Response: exactly! rose is an incredible potioneer tbh i'm just so proud of her existence

i wish there was a pranking scholarship at my school too because i took things way too seriously as a teenager

glad you enjoyed the quotes and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by BookDinosaur 

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

So, big developments for poor old Rosie in this chapter. Will she have the mental fortitude to go on? Will she realise the full responsibility she's taking on? Will she go on to achieve her dream? I SAY YES.

I really like the distinction between Potion Master and Professor - it's something I remember thinking about fleetingly but I never put too much thought into it and so hearing Professor Llodewick explain the difference was really fascinating and added this extra layer of ddetail to your story which I really appreciate, it's so nice when an author takes the time to do that. :)

I loved Al's complaining about his names. I've always found it odd that Harry named his son, his own flesh and blood, after a man who so blatantly hated him and loved his mother and yeah just never made sense to me and so to hear Al ragging on Harry for it was actually really funny, haha. And can I just say I think Hippogryffindor would be the best name for a Hippgriff ever. Stop ragging on your mother, Al. :P

Ooh, sorry Rose, you've been caught! I love how she takes Llodewick and Vector's assumption that it was her as a compliment and Llodewick kind of forgot he was meant to be strict with a disobedient student and instead gave her roundabout praise for her thinking and theory. xD

And just, Rose's reaction to being given detention is so funny. Bahaha I know the feeling as I didn't have a detention until really late in my schooling and so yeah just that reaction was so funny to read about!

Author's Response: emily hello

I SAY YES TOO. I BELIEVE IN ROSE

i'm glad you appreciated that spiel about the difference between potions masters and professors, i was pretty proud of that detail

i will never understand albus severus's name tbh

i got a detention once in year nine when i didn't do my science homework and i was so upset it was a schoolwide detention and they treated me like a delinquent and i was this shy bookish straight A student who just forgot to do science homework one too many times. traumatic


 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm 

9th July 2014:
Hallo!

Ah, BUSTED! I loved how Llodewick was actually genuinely interested in the potion and wanted to know how she made it a verbal thing rather than a physical one because when teachers forget that they are meant to be teachers it’s just so funny. Also the fact that Rose took it as a compliment that they thought it was her was really funny too :P I hope this doesn’t land her into too much trouble though as that would suck a lot for her as she wants to be a teacher.

So funny, so funny!! – ‘“Albus Severus Potter, you were named after two Headmasters of Hogwarts…That’s not a reason. Who looks at their wrinkly, blotchy newborn son and thinks, ‘Hey, you know who he looks like? Some dead headmasters I once knew.’”’ I think I just want to die with laughter!

Aw, it’s their anniversary so cute, so cute, I just love Albus and Scorpius more and more for every scene that they’re in together But ahaha, I hope they don’t bump into the teacher’s on their Faculty Friday (loved this idea!) night out, as that would ruin everything and yeah it would be way too sad. I can’t wait to read on though :D

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: HALLO KIANA

teachers forgetting that they're meant to be teachers is like, the best thing tbh i'm glad you enjoyed that. and rose has a giant ego especially when it comes to potions. it may have been morally questionable but she brewed a damn good potion and she knows it

i'm glad you enjoyed that line it's one of my faves

scorbus is life

thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #5, by emmacweasley 

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I LOVE Llodewick. Absolutely love his character. He reminds me so much of Arthur Weasley (who I also love) it's uncanny. I only have one bone to pick about this chapter, and it has to do with how the teaching positions have been dealt out. I don't deny that you've shown that both Rose and Holly are extraordinarily deserving of the position, in both character and skill, but it just seems a bit doubtful that Hogwarts would hire two students straight out of school (and training) with very real-life experience. It also just seems so happenstance, so coincidental. I think it's maybe because for both of them the professors just happen to be announcing their intention to retire, you know? (although I know that Llodewick doesn't do that in this particular chapter, but I'm just saying.) It's just a thought, though.

Otherwise, I quite love how Llodewick explains the importance of being a potions MASTER to Rose. It's indeed a very important distinction, and it's made me think quite a lot on it. :) Great job again, Lisa.

emma

Author's Response: EMMA HELLO AGAIN it feels like it's been a while since i heard from you but that's likely because i was less of a pile of trash earlier and actually responded to you in a vaguely timely manner? or it was part of the "start with the oldest and bomb some responses" blitz i did on the first day of this garbage mission. ANYWAY

i mean that's an excellent point about the coincidence and the unlikelihood of the school hiring teachers straight out of hogwarts, but there's definitely an element of both of them looking forward to their retirement for a while now, and they've also had their potential successors in mind and wanted to kind of seize them and secure that retirement asap. BUT in saying that this is also a fanfic and i am capable of manipulating circumstances for my characters so like, yeah. i'm not above some Handy Plot Devices lbr

thank you for the review!



 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 

6th July 2014:
Woo hoo - another chapter to review!

I'm getting a little punchy at this point. I love how Rose reacts for this whole chapter.

Detention. What happens in detention?

They are such nerdy, goody-two shoes that NONE of them have ever had detention?? This is crazy. It seemed like Harry and Ron had detention all the time. I'm actually impressed that Rose didn't have a panic attack over being caught, getting detention or the realization of how much work she will have to put in to become the Potions Mistress of Hogwarts. I think that may have been a bit overwhelming to her. Perhaps she is maturing a bit.

Aww. Al and Scorpius are TOO cute! I love their relationship so much. I had re-read the earlier chapter where they came out to their parents and Scorpius said to Draco "It's just always been Albus." That is what I think about whenever the two of them are together. It must be so special to have the kind of love that takes hold of you when you are 13 and weaves through your soul and never lets go. Awesome.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: They really are complete nerdy goody-two-shoes and they're so precious to me because "What happens in detention?" Oh Scorpius bless your innocent heart.

Rose is very used to pushing herself incredibly hard academically, and in a way the requirements for being Potions master is everything she expected or would have done anyway. She has an insane work ethic and she knows that's a challenge she'll be able to rise to, so it's not a major source of anxiety for her. If the circumstances for the detention had been different it would have made her panic, but Llodewick has hinted quite strongly that he's on her side and wants her as his replacement, and as it turns out, the detention task ends up being an opportunity for her.

That is such a beautiful line and it really does summarise them, because that love did take hold of them and it's almost an inherent part of both of them now, and I'm going to wrap up here before I start writing essays about Albus and Scorpius and their beautiful love okay.


 Report Review

Review #7, by DoctorUnderwood 

25th May 2014:
Great... Another story for me to obsess over!

I look forward to reading more about Scorp and Al — who are the bestest ever!

Author's Response: I'm glad you found this one and that you're enjoying it - it's my baby at the moment, so thank you for reading! And Albus and Scorpius are so precious. They're all precious. Hope to see you back for chapter 14 when it's up!

 Report Review

Review #8, by LoopyLiesey 

23rd May 2014:
I really liked the discussion regarding Albus's name. Poor guy, stuck with that name.

Oh, Rose has detention! But the potion was so good... ah well. Looks better for the scholarship, I suppose?

Author's Response: I had to include a discussion about Albus's name somewhere, because really - what kind of a name is Albus Severus? For shame, Harry. For shame.

And yes, Rose has detention! The potion was good, but unfortunately the teachers can't let her get away with dosing a hundred odd students with an untested potion just because it was good (though Llodewick would if he could) And exactly - if they'd managed to get through the entire year without a single detention, they're doing something wrong. Thanks again for reading, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the next chapter!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review