Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Penelope Inkwell 

19th October 2014:
I'm so glad that they were concerned about consent and things going too far, because that's exactly the sort of thing that would have given me pause planning this kind of prank. And the Potion theory was clever, with the Hades/Persephone thing.

Hmm...I wonder what this whole Lara/Louis debacle will turn into.

The bit about this happening at Beauxbatons, too, struck me as really funny.

Favorite quotes:

“I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate Rose on her success,” Albus says, smirking. “And on the beautiful poet’s heart that lies within. May nobody ever awaken it again.”


“He did,” Albus confirms. “He always said he wouldn’t give it to me until I could say the words truthfully. So when I told him about the scholarship over Christmas, he said it was time I had it.”

--I just love this detail! I really do. I'm sure James couldn't be prouder.

Unfortunately, no refuge can be found from the hell known as Other People’s Love Lives.
--Girl, I feel you. This is a problem I have faced so often. There is no escape.


Great chapter!

--Penny

Author's Response: YES it bugs me when people just use Amortentia all over the show because there are so many problems with it. i'm glad you appreciated the theory!

thank you for the review and the quote roundup!


 Report Review

Review #2, by BookDinosaur 

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Oh dear what happened at Beauxbatons? I really want to know now, haha. xD

I really loved the Hollyjuice Potion, and I wish I could've seen what Rose said and did under the influence of it! Gah, I would have loved to hear those sonnets. How on earth do you come up with these things? Each stage of creating the Hollyjuice sounds so fascinating and I absolutely loved the links you had in here from the plants with the mythology and how that linked back to effects they had, it was really fascinating!

Also, I love the name Hollyjuice both pretentious and so creative!

Wah, poor Lester as I think that's just the perfect response to what Rose said about the messages that are going to pop up in Lily's valentines and why does nobody take her wishes into concern and Lester does and gah they're just so cure even when they're not together I think I have a bit of a problem here. :P

I loved how you mentioned the short straw in the staffroom every year as it helped to humanise the teachers as well and yeah, they do still have a childish side which thinks it's best to decide conflicts by pulling on straws, hahaha.

I really can't believe it took five whole minutes for someone to realise the chocolates were spiked. *shakes head* Really, the standard of student at Hogwarts is getting lower by the day. xD

Another brilliant chapter, Lisa, I loved reading it!

Author's Response: i should write a Llodewick one-shot about what happened at Beauxbatons

unfortunately i, unlike rose, cannot compose sonnets to save my life. i have no idea how i came up with this stuff though

lester/lily is So Important

really, hogwarts. step up your game

thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm 

9th July 2014:
Bonjour!

Hahaha, I really wish I could have seen Rose under the potion and what on earth she did to Holly while under it, but then again it might be better off not knowing. It makes me laugh how smart she is though as she just always continues to stun me with how intricate her plans are. The love potion idea is getting more and more exciting with each stage of the development and does sound as if chaos will happen with all these people randomly falling in love with the others, so I can’t wait to see what happens.

Ooh, this line ‘“James isn’t dead,” Scorpius says flatly. “So he didn’t bequeath it to you.”’ So Ravenclaw, so naturally I loved it so much!

Lara made me laugh so much, and the fact that Louis wasn’t that good either was great because it seems as if he needs her ego taking down a peg or too, but I really hope they don’t use her in the pranking war now as that would just be too mean. I love the beginning of the prank so far so I’m going to read on and find out about all the other chaos which is about to occur!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: i'm glad you enjoyed it! Rose under the potion was just very sappy and making speeches - and sonnets, apparently.

she surprises me as well i love her and the love potion idea is just genius

thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by StarlightAsteria 

8th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014

Professor Llodewick's line was pure genius :) Another fantastically funny chapter. I loved the link between the Hades/Persephone myth and amortentia, which I thought was really clever. And Rose and her sonnets - you have far too many fabulous one-liners. I will say that as funny as it was, I didn't really get the point of Lara coming up to Rose to talk about Louis, or is that something you're setting up for later on? Game of Thrones and Ovid in the same chapter :) I liked this. Anyway, keep writing :)

Author's Response: i'm gald you enjoyed it! there wasn't a "point" per se to Lara coming to Rose, it's just some background details about Lara's character and the realities of a high school setting. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by emmacweasley 

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

“The trick was in the pomegranate juice,” I explain. “Pomegranate juice, because of its association with Hades and Persephone, is always going to have slightly sinister and nonconsensual connotations. The powdered moonstone and rose oil are fine – though I substituted the red rose for pink – but the pomegranate juice added a layer of compulsion. I’ve replaced it with essence of narcissus, which causes a less harmful form of infatuation – ”

Your ravenclaw is showing again, Lisa. ;) I love the interesting bits like this, it's always so great when an author chooses to take the time to think out stuff like this. I also thought the prank was pretty great as well. It's great engineering. Again, I simply wouldn't be able to come up with as many great pranks as you've been able to! It's a cleverness I just haven't caught on to, I guess.

Great job again. :) I do think this is one of my more favorite chapters.

emma

Author's Response: it's one of my more favourite chapters too so we're even

my ravenclaw is always showing. even now that i'm a slytherin. it's still there. it's just dormant. i'm an incurable nerd

idek how i managed to come up with these pranks its a mystery to us all

ty ty


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 

6th July 2014:
Hi Lisa,

Here again - I'm going to try to get through all of these today - I hope. The dialogue, as usual was superb and I just love how they banter back and forth and mock each other.

"James isn't dead. He didn't bequeath it to you." Aaaa - laughed so hard at that. I also love the way you slip in little parts of their insecurities. Lester obviously thinks he's not good enough for Lily - who obviously adores him. So do, I, by the way. I want to just squish him. Rose also still seems to be paranoid about being the best in all her classes. The amount of studying she does (they all do) seems exhausting.

I didn't mention this last chapter, so I'll put it in here. I am going to hound you for a sequel to this one - YOU HAVE TO WRITE A SEQUEL. AND IT HAS TO HAVE ALL OF THEM GETTING A FLAT TOGETHER. (the caps lock was a homage to the camp nano thread in the common room - you're welcome)

I know that they will never grow up if they get a flat together after graduation and it is completely selfish on my part, but YOU JUST CAN'T BREAK UP THIS GROUP!!!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: You are a champion for powering through this story, you really are.

Lester - oh, Lester is my baby. It took a bit of time for me to really get in touch with his character, but I like to think I am now and gosh everything about him just breaks my heart. He has a lot of insecurities and a lot of family issues and a lot of everything, and you're right, Lily does adore him.

And Rose, yes. She puts tremendous amounts of pressure on herself and it takes its toll on her - it takes its toll on all of them, as will become clear in later chapters.

I APPRECIATE THE CAPSLOCKING IN HOMAGE TO THE CR. THERE IS INDEED A SEQUEL. I DON'T THINK I'VE BROKEN UP THE GROUP, I MEAN, THEY DON'T LIVE TOGETHER BUT THEY'RE VERY MUCH STILL A GROUP AND I LOVE THEM


 Report Review

Review #7, by LoopyLiesey 

23rd May 2014:
This love potion idea was great, and I'm glad you worked it out regarding the issue of consent.

"Chocolate are for heteros" Oh, Albus.

'Hollyjuice potion' was a great name for it.

Author's Response: I have to admit I am super proud of 'Hollyjuice" as a name for the potion, and I think the issues surrounding consent and Amortentia really need to be addressed because it is quite creepy when you think about it. Thanks again for reading!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Chazzie 

22nd May 2014:
Hollyjuice potion :D that's awesome. I loved how you explained about how it differed from normal love potion. James trusted Albus with the map? Wow. I would have thought he'd have passed it to Lily when he left, given she had (until this year at least) been more mischievous. Loved it, and can't wait to read more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: I am very proud of the Hollyjuice potion myself, to be honest. And yes, James passed the map onto Albus! (purely because Albus really is up to no good this year, of course) As always, I'm glad you're enjoying it and thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by jessicalorewrites 

21st May 2014:
Hey!
Oh my gosh this valentine's prank is simply genius! I can't believe how perfectly it worked out. I'm hoping Louis or Lucy or someone ends up with some - and perhaps becomes infatuated with someone completely stupid that would be incredibly embarrassing.
I really love the characterisation of everyone - particularly Rose and Albus. They're witty with quite a dry sense of humour, which is my favourite.
I can't wait to read more!
- Jess xo

Author's Response: Hey! Glad to see you back!
This is definitely their best prank so far, and the execution of the actual prank goes off without a hitch (though, as you'll see in the next chapter, it's not without complications)
Rose and Albus are brilliant and I love them (and Scorpius, who can be pretty dry as well) so I'm glad you appreciate them! They're very close to my heart, as you may have worked out.
The next chapter is written and should be up in a few days, I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review