Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

19th July 2016:
One more for review hot seat! Also, this is my 1500th review which is exciting and I'm glad to be able to celebrate it with this story :)

I can find it kind of believable that Rose can't relate to Ron as well as she can relate to her uncle Harry. I mean, I totally see Harry as being super close with all of his family because he never had a family growing up, whereas Ron had a lot of brothers and is just better at relating to boys.

geez I can't believe Harry and Al were just chilling in his office while Al HAD BROKEN RIBS. I mean, seriously. Priorities. Thank goodness Rose stopped by.

YAY ROSE. That's a step in the right direction to talking about her feelings! It could easily be that she and Scorpius will just cuddle and hold hands and not talk about it (this is actually quite likely) but... she has to catch on by now that Scorpius likes her. That goofy grin was enough to give it away to even the most oblivious people.

And of course Harry has noticed :P

Aw, this chapter was really cute. Great work on it - I'm really loving the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sophie Grace 

11th February 2016:
It maybe short but it was too the point. A great way to move the story to where it needs to go.

Author's Response: Hi again,

Thank you. Every now and then we all need some reprieve, huh?

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by oldershouldknowbetter 

20th November 2015:
Hi there here is another review for the BvB. Thumbing through your chapters, I have begun to realise that whilst I am running out of chapters for you to review, there are plenty left of your story for me to chew through (not meant nearly as pejoratively as it sounds).

It is an interesting thought to me to have Rose be closer to her uncle than her father. I suppose that it might give a vital clue as to the differences between each of our takes upon the same character. There are so many similarities, I see a mention of the love of reading popping up, but in the end having your Rose 'kindred spirits' with Harry will produce a remarkably different version than my own. It is not the reason that I love your story, but it is one of them, reading about the wonderfully drawn and fully realised character that is your Rose and it's so different to how I picture her. As to our Scorpii (I try to use the plural form because I know you love it), they are far more similar except for the tragedy that you inflicted upon the young lad.

This little bit of exposition is delivered to us on the way to Harry's office. It explains a lot of what happens in future chapters: how welcome she is made to feel and how much freedom she has to come and go from the Auror department. She is of course on her way to meet us where we left the boys at the end of the previous chapter.

It really made me smile how the quickly disappearing and smirking Albus that we left in the last chapter is halted so abruptly by the Rose we encounter in this chapter. She does have bravery and gumption and strength of will, she demonstrates it here, but it fails her when she needs it most. The way I think it is, please correct me if I'm wrong, is that if she is in a place of comfort or where she knows that her abilities are unquestioned, then she has all the determination in the world. But when she is ill at ease, in a place that she feels out of depth -whether that is really true or not, or her just thinking that it is so - then that is where her courage fails her.

She heals Albus showing her proficiency at the healing arts, even though she is still only a trainee like Scorpius and Albus are. Albus repeats his earlier statement and Rose feels like pinching him, good on her! No, wait a sec, bloody listen to him and talk to the boy already. That's once each in successive chapters (actually twice in each chapter) that Albus has said the same thing to each of them, and are they going to pay attention? Your average reader doesn't have to have read ahead, like I have, to know that it is not going to be the case.

Rose looks over to see if Scorpius has heard, but he is otherwise occupied: she goes 'phew'; we go 'arrgh!'

... but wait a sec, rose's hind brain has taken over control of her mouth in conjunction with her subconcious. She asks him to meet her later on! WOOT! Happy days.

You continue what you have shown in chapters before this, of having everyone except the two of them know that they fancy each other and tell them to get on with it. Even Harry, and the way you do it is so charmingly fatherly that it shows us how much they both love and respect each other.

Oh look, I have run out of chapter - you said it was a short one - and unlike usual, I have not run out of words. The total number of characters I've used has only been 3742, no 3753, no ... oh you know what I mean.

So I'd like to go over something that we conversed about in the pm format. I mentioned how it is that in a good romance the author should attempt to keep the two lovers apart for the majority of the work. You expressed a slight aversion to that sort of 'cruelty' inflicted upon the characters (ha! it is to laugh, with the torments that you inflict upon your characters, that it is in this one aspect you show them mercy). I maintain that, far from avoiding it, you have done it in this beautifully constructed romance.

You see, you don't have to keep them apart only physically. With this wonderful story, you have your romance cake and eat it too - they are together, but are also kept apart. So the two lovers are together, which we all love and that is where strictly 'romance' would normally stop, but what you have done is make the environment in which they inhabit so precarious that happiness could be snatched away from them at any time. To clarify what I mean, the two are apart in that they cannot relax in each others arms and not have to look over their shoulders - they are awaiting the advent of things beyond their control, that could occur at any moment, and result in their separation.

It is so well done. You might like all the stuff that I am doing with the concept of magic and the way the magical world works in my story, but I am equally impressed with what you are doing with the structure of what should be a simple romance. It is complex and layered and beautifully done.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Hi there Andrew,

I cannot BELIEVE this review is from over two months ago - I'm so sorry for taking this long to respond. The good news is that since you've been a writing MACHINE, there are now SEVEN chapters in Pride & Scorpius that I haven't gotten to yet - so no worries there!

Rose being closer to Harry than Ron has always been my head canon. I think it actually has a lot to do with my own relationship with my father. It's not weird or anything (and I'm not actually closer to an uncle - I didn't grow up with any around me). My dad is just not great with expressing his feelings - much like Ron. He definitely HAS a lot of feelings, but when he's so close to a situation, he tends to go on emotional overload and bungle things up (this is more Ron than my dad). Harry is slightly removed from the situation, being the uncle and can see Rose's POV a little more than a hot-headed Weasley can. :)

Hee hee, Scorpii - I giggle every time.

And YES! Yet again, you totally picked up on Rose's bravery and gumption, when she needs it. She doesn't see it herself, but she is brave in her own way. Plus, she KNOWS Albus inside and out - and he is NOT going to get away with anything on her watch.

Gah! Andrew - you're so kind with your words. I agree that a good romance story will soon be over the minute the two characters realize they are finally meant to be together, but I really didn't want my story to be that way. I wanted Rose and Scorpius to be working together to fight against a greater evil. I'm so glad you feel like I'm getting to that point! To be honest with you, I feel like I still did far too much 'together - apart - together - apart' for my taste in this story. But sometimes the characters have a way of just doing it to themselves, despite my best efforts - haha.

Thanks again - for all your reviews. I really, truly treasure each one.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Musing 

17th October 2015:
Hi Beth!

Here again, reviewing for BvB review fest.

The relationship between Harry and Rose is just.. just beautiful. Harry named Rose after Ron and Hermione declined to name her Lily. Now I know how the flower tradition passed on in the Weasley family. ;) Glimpses of Rose's childhood and Harry's reactions to her are just so endearing.

Rose is finally leaving her past behind and trying to move on. Albus, and Harry to some extent, are playing Cupid for Rose and Scorpius. I hope they don't take long to actually get together.

I wish I could read the next chapter right away but I think I will not be able to keep my eyes open for even five minutes anymore. I will definitely come back for more. :D

- Emm ^_^

Author's Response: Hi there Emm,

Gah! I'm so happy you love the Harry/Rose dynamic. And I'm also glad you've picked up on Rose's slow recovery from her PTSD. I don't want to give anything away about them getting together... Hopefully you can stop by again sometime!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by manno_malfoy 

12th October 2015:
Awh. This is such a short chapter, but itís also great! Youíve already told us a bit about what Scorpiusís relationship with his parents was like, but we knew very little in that regard about Rose. I think that the relationship between Rose and Harry is adorable. Itís evident by the end of the chapter how well he knows her, and I suppose, how well he knows Scorpius as well. And really, as Iíve said in my previous review, if Albus is nudging Scorpius to go for it, then it must be glaringly obvious that thereís a spark or some sort of chemistry between Scorpius and Rose. And this only reinforces that.

And now that I know your Rose to some extent, I can see that itís just like her (very wise and calculated) to have faith in someone whoís an adult and who can advise her but who would also manage to be relatively objective and not just jet off based on emotion and fury the way Ron would. And speaking of Roseís parents, Rose dragging Al and healing him right then there reminded me a lot of Hermione for some reason. Just the way she commands Albus around and looks out for him. Itís just adorable. A whole lot of adorable in this small chapter.

Thanks to my current hectic schedule, I'm slowly but surely making my way through this addictive story (Congrats on that well-deserved Dobby, by the way). But I really am loving it so far!

-Manno

Author's Response: Hi there Manno!

Thanks again for all the amazing reviews you've left me on this story. I really like writing the scenes were everything slows down a bit for the characters. I think it's necessary to have some balance between the emotionally-charged scenes so that we know that they get to take a breather every now and then.

You totally get Rose and Harry's relationship. He is removed enough from the situation to see her side of things a bit more than Ron.

And yes! Rose does have some of her mother's characteristics. She isn't about to let anyone's foolishness get in the way of their health - haha!

Thanks again for the lovely reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

20th September 2015:
Hahah! I just LOVE how everyone knows how much in love those two are, except for them theirselves! :P And the way Rose pretty much just commanded Al to come back so she could heal him.

I also really like the way that Rose and Harry are so close, and I think it totally makes sense.

And I am SO looking forward to those two meeting up!

Off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

I love it when I get to show sparks of Rose's personality here and there. When she's healing others, it really comes out because she isn't so focused on herself.

Yay! Not every reader has been as agreeable about Rose and Harry's relationship, but to me it makes sense. Ron is never great at showing emotions - most of the people close to him have to "figure it out on their own," and Harry sees Rose as his favorite niece - they've always had a special bond.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th September 2015:
Man, these boys sure are lucky they have a Healer in the family. Rose really underestimates how useful and helpful she is. She thinks she's not the girl she once was, and certainly her experiences have changed her, but her heart is still the same. The first thing she ever wants to do is help people, and she does it.

It's a bit sad that she doesn't feel like she has a strong connection with Ron, but that happens. Sometimes people are closer with one parent than the other. And this is similar to that idea, really, since their family is so close. Harry becomes the one she turns to, and that makes sense. The whole bit about their relationship is really sweet. I just love the idea of Harry being so fascinated by a little girl, and always being there for Rose.

If it were me, I'd probably have hexed all for his meddling, but the boy gets results! And he does just want his friends to be happy.

CC:

I have always been closer to my Uncle Harry than to my own Dad.
--dad should be lowercased, I think. When it's "my dad" or "your dad", I think it's lowercased. I think it's only capitalized if you're addressing someone by that title.


Wonderful again!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi again Penny,

I'm so thankful (again) for all these reviews.

Yeah, I think Rose really does underestimate herself. And I'm so happy that her inner core still comes through - she's a Healer, and her main drive is to help others. Little by little, she's getting better (as you see in the story).

The poor connection with Ron is actually a two-sided issue. Rose doesn't completely understand it, but I've always felt Ron would continue to be 'bad' with women. Hermione puts up with it most of the time, but Ron simply doesn't know what to do with a daughter - other then try to protect her the best way he knows how. Unfortunately, Rose doesn't see it that way (evidenced by Scorpius's flashback), and she thinks he's just not that interested in her.

Haha - yeah, Albus took a chance with that one - but he was just sick of the two of them pining after one another for so long.

*runs off to fix that typo* - Thanks!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by ravenclaw_princess 

24th August 2015:
Hi. Here for BvB

This was a short little chapter but a very sweet one. I liked the insight into the relationship between Harry and Rose. They sure are a close knit family. But more than that, they're also friends.

I love how Rose commanded Al to come back so she could heal him. You could show both her strong, no nonsense attitude as well as her very caring nature. She's also quite observant, nothing slips under her radar.

Everyone knows that Scorp and Rose like each other. They know it too. They rely on their friendship so much though that I imagine both of them are slightly fearful that if it doesn't work out, they will lose what the currently have.

Author's Response: Oh! Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you came back to this story. This chapter was a bit of reprieve from all the craziness that's been going on.

Haha - yes! Scorp and Rose's feelings for each other are obvious to everyone - they need to get over themselves already!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Tonks1247 

13th June 2015:
I love this relationship between Rose and Harry. I don't know why, but the fact that Harry is so fascinating with her and that he loves her dearly, just like her father, is just...it's so perfect. I like htat she visits with him too. Really shows how tight knit some members of the family are.

Also adore Rose's way of being. I love that she stopped Al and insisted on healing him up. Same as Harry. Also, how casual her and Scorpius set up a time to meet? In front of Harry and Al? With Al's reaction as they headed back to training, love it!

I liked how Harry said something about Scorpius fancying her too. Especially the bit about she woudln't normally discuss things like that with Harry, but couldn't help but admit it to him. Really sweet. Really good build on thier relationship!

Short chapter, but I think it was quite effectively used and I loved the short read.

-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hi there, Mikaela!

I've taken some heat over the Rose/Harry relationship, but I stand by it. I feel like Ron never really became very good with women. At some point he was able to figure out what made Hermione tick, but (especially) when it came to his daughter, he was at a bit of a loss. Harry on the other hand, has the benefit of being a bit removed from Rose - he doesn't have to be the one to tell her 'no' on most occasions (growing up) and was really, really enamored with her as a small child.

Harry also has a soft spot for Scorpius. He sees a lot of himself in the younger Malfoy - losing his parents so young and having to deal with infamy at Hogwarts. He wants both of them to be happy - EVERYONE is rooting for them, but they seem to be a bit daft and need a little push in the right direction.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

At the rate I'm going, I may have a third of this story knocked out by the end of the night.
This will probably be a relatively short review since this chapter is so short, but here it goes.

I think Rose's reaction to Scorpius is adorable. She gives away all of the tell tale signs of being nervous and having those beginning of relationship feelings. It's really sweet and I'm so glad you haven't rushed them into a relationship. In fanfiction, it's so common to see two characters meet and fall in love in like two chapters, so it's nice that you're letting this develop at a more natural pace.

I thought it was cute to see Rose shout after Scorpius in the hallway and basically alert everyone to what's going on. Harry's reaction to the whole thing was rather charming. Of course, he would notice since Scorpius has pretty much grown up with them and Rose is favorite niece.

This was a short chapter, but it was packed full of lots of sweet, fluffy goodness. I can't wait for more!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi there Kaitlin,

First off, I'm so, so sorry for taking this long to respond to your reviews. I didn't mean for everything to get so stacked up like this, but the House Cup got everything so busy and then - ya know... life and stuff.

But anyway, I didn't want you to think I wasn't totally grateful for all these awesome reviews you've left me :)

This chapter was kinda a nice break for Rose and Scorpius - even if they aren't together yet, they get a little reprieve from the angst that's been going on - I'm glad you agree.

Haha - we also get to see a bit of Rose's true personality.

I'm also super happy that you like the pacing. I felt a little weird about it because, as you said a lot of other stories do it differently, but one of the themes I wanted to stress was that long lasting relationships take time and effort - so I didn't want Rose and Scorpius to rush together when they still had issues of their own to resolve.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Hi.
I hope all the reviews aren't annoying you yet.

This was the sweetest little chapter. You capture Rose's personality so well. She would totally command Albus to shut up and let her heal him.

Wow, he really was hurt pretty badly. I'm surprised he can even stand and joke around and make fun of Scorpius.

Ron weasley would be completely awkward as a father of a girl. He loves her more than I can imagine, but he just doesn't know how to show it. So it's reasonable for Rose to be so close to the uncle who always was there for her. I love that Harry picks up on his niece's feelings.

Until next time.

~Anja

Author's Response: Anja,

Logging in and seeing these reviews is just about the most excited I've been in a long while! No WAY could they annoy me. ♥

Hah! Yeah, Rose is at her best when she's healing. It gives her a focus. Plus, it was fun for me to have Rose taking the upper hand with Albus :)

Glad you agree with my characterization of Ron. It is my head canon that he would FOREVER be bad with women - his daughter being no exception whatsoever - haha!

Harry is a bit less daft... but only a bit :)

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lostmyheart 

23rd March 2015:
This was a rather short chapter, but still an important one! I loved to see Rose's side of the story, I love how shy they are around each other. Or maybe it's awkwardness, or a mix of the two. But seriously, you're making my heart melt when you make Scorpius beam up like that!

It must be weird to have your uncle see something like that, but they're adults now - it had to come sooner or later.
The beginning with how Harry came up with her name teared me up a bit. Of course they wouldn't take Lily as the name for their child, it was wise to keep it in case he got a girl one day.

Again, a short review because I must go on!

Love,
Avi

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yeah, this chapter wasn't too long. I still grapple with chapter length and they end up all different. Haha - Scorpius is completely beside himself here. He wants to be there for Rose so badly, but just doesn't know what exactly to do or say.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by mymischiefmanaged 

15th December 2014:
Hi Beth,

I'm here for our swap :) It's been a while since I left you a review and I'm glad to be back!

This is a short chapter but I think it works. The description of Rose's relationship with Harry is sweet. I can imagine Harry being intrigued by a baby girl. The whole concept of family must mean something so different to him than to most people, and his attachment to Rose fits in with this. I wonder whether you'll show how Ron feels about this closeness? I'd imagine that Rose is probably wrong about Ron wishing she was a boy, and Ron just struggles to show his affection as well as Harry does. In that case, I expect having his daughter feel closer to his best friend than to himself wouldn't go down that well with Ron. I'd definitely be interested to see more of this.

Al's adorable. I like how he doesn't bother to be even slightly subtle and just wants his friends to sort everything out and be happy. He's suddenly so cheery and it's a huge contrast to what we saw before in his duel with Harry, which gives his character a lot of depth. Different people bring out different sides of him, and that's very real. I like him. He might be my favourite of your characters.

And then Harry's telling Rose that Scorpius fancies her is the perfect ending, especially given that we know how bad Harry is at reading other people. I love his relationship with Rose.

Great chapter, great story :)

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hey there, Emma!

Thanks for doing a swap. I agree with your analysis of Harry and family. Ron doesn't exactly take family relationships for granted, but he doesn't share Harry's history of having virtually no one to lean on. At the same time, Ron's just plain bad with women. Always has been, always will be. I truly think that he would have absolutely no idea what to do with a daughter - especially once she grew up a bit and wasn't his *little girl* anymore. He loves her unconditionally and will protect her with his life, BUT - he doesn't really know how to show that to Rose. And remember, this is from her POV, so she's just expressing what she feels. Harry - who is a bit more removed, can show her affection and caring in a different way. On that point, I don't think Ron blames Harry, because Harry would never cross any of the father-daughter lines. But you will see more interaction in a later chapter.

Al is moody as all get-out, that's for sure. And he wants both Scorpius and Rose to stop tiptoeing around their feelings for each other - it's been long enough! He does have a bone to pick with Harry - and that all comes to light in this chapter as well.

Glad you liked the ending. I think Rose needed someone else to point out Scorpius's obvious feelings for her. Sometimes, you just need someone else to say it - ya know?

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ranger 

3rd December 2014:
Wow Rose is really a terrible daughter. I mean the bit about being closer to her uncle Harry was more than a little creepy. Plus why the hell would Harry get to name someone else's child? That deeply odd.

Author's Response: Hello,

I'm sorry if it came off that Rose is a terrible daughter. I didn't mean to imply that at all. My version of Ron is that he just doesn't know how to relate to his daughter as well as Harry does. Ron was always bad with women. It took him years to admit he had feelings for Hermione.

As far as the name goes, I think Ron and Hermione (who were Harry's very best friends) didn't have any ideas for names, and Harry just added a suggestion that they liked. At leas that's how it is in my head...

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by UnluckyStar57 

20th October 2014:
Hi Beth! I noticed that ASLTW is only 3 reviews away from 250, so I'm pretty set on giving you that 250th review. And I'm just procrastinating again, so here we go! :D

Okay, so the first part of this chapter involved so much "D'aw"-ing from me. My roommate is sitting in the living room with me, and she was really confused. But I had to "D'aww" because THE ROSE AND HARRY DYNAMIC IS SO CUTE!!! It absolutely never occurred to me to think about what sort of relationship they might have, and this is totally headcanon for me now. Like, in most Next Gen fanfic, you don't see a lot of the Next Gen gang relating to their elders in a way that isn't bad/sad/angsty, so I'm incredibly surprised and pleased to see such an adorable relationship between Rose and Harry. Sad to say, though, it seems as though Harry gets along better with her than he gets along with Albus. :P Ah well...

And I must admit, I was a little bit disappointed that you didn't write about the weekend that Rose and Scorpius spent together, but maybe they're going to talk about it in the next chapter? I don't know... But when you started this chapter out with Rose and then connected it to the action from the last chapter, I was like, "DANG, THAT SEGWAY THOUGH!" (Yes, it is necessary to use shouty capitals.) I was just incredibly impressed with how you connected Rose's PoV to Scorpius's PoV. So tell me, how do you do that? Do you write several chapters from Rose's PoV and then go back and fill in Scorpius's part (or vice versa)? Do you just write in alternating PoVs? Impart knowledge unto me, o wise one! :D

...Maybe it's too late for me to be writing reviews... Oh well.

Anyways, super cute and marvelously fab chapter. I can't wait to read about Rose and Scorpius's meeting!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi there!

*I'm* the one totally "D'aw"-ing over all these reviews! Thank you so much! I'm just so excited that you like my story and I really, really appreciate all of your notes!

I thought a lot about the relationship between the parents and next gen kids when writing this story. I intentionally set it after they graduated from Hogwarts, because I wanted them to have some interactions.

I also thought that Ron would be really awkward with his daughter - especially as she got older. He would probably just not know how to deal with her. Harry, on the other hand, is a little more removed from being Rose's parent and can have a different relationship with her.

Sorry about the lack of the cute weekend - I *promise* there is some serious Scorose scenes coming up - haha! first of all, I really wanted to move the story along and secondly - I wanted it to seem like their relationship was going a little *too* easily. Rose hasn't been forthcoming with Scorpius about her past and you can't really commit wholly to someone without being honest - especially about something this big. At least that's the message I wanted to send - haha!

Umm... I'm not sure how I do it... I think that I just sort of put myself in their place when I'm writing. And I've been really, really worried that Scorpius's voice sounds too much like Rose's. So I really, really *really* appreciate the vote of confidence on that. I actually tried to write the story form her POV only, but it just wouldn't work. So - I guess the story sort of demanded the two POVs.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by slytherinchica08 

23rd September 2014:
Ah another wonderful chapter. I really liked the look into Roses pov of these events and what brought her to Harry's office. I like how she had a motherly instinct that took over her and she immediately started fixing the scraps and cuts and broken bones that had come from Harry and Al's duel. I loved the bit about Harry and how much he loves Rose and how much he wanted a daughter. I thought it was really sweet to include in the chapter and really added another dynamic to their relationship rather than just being Uncle and niece. I was so sad about how short that this chapter was but I did feel that it ended in a great spot so I can understand why it is so short. I'm definitely looking forward to reading more of the story and I apologize that this review isn't nearly as long as the others. But it was a wonderful chapter and I greatly enjoyed it! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hey!

So glad you picked up on Rose's Healer instincts. She really feels like a different person when she is in that mode. And that comes back in later chapters.

I know this one was short - sorry - but I wanted a little sweetness between Rose and Harry and then to get Rose and Scorp moving again!

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by crestwood 

15th August 2014:
Hey Beth! I'm here for our review swap :)

This was a short little chapter and not much actually happened plot wise, but you filled us in on a lot more of Rose's backstory here. More importantly, it was just really fun to read. I'm able to fully sink into the story now and kind of become ignorant of my surroundings.

I really like that you're incorporating Harry into this story a bit. I love to see how he relates to the Next-Gen kids. His 'Wow. A girl. Wow.' was precious and the bond between he and Rose is so nicely written for such a small amount of words.

I am so relieved that Rose is feeling the same way as Scorpius. Beyond them being my OTP, I love them together specifically in this story. I love her protective nature when she calls Al back because she noticed his injuries.

I have a feeling her and Scorpius' meeting is going to make me very, very happy. It was really cute how she asked him to meet. He has quite an effect on her and I love it. And Harry knows!! I can't wait to see what happens next :')

Author's Response: Hello again,

Yeah, this was a shorter chapter, but it needs to be here so I could establish how close Rose is to Harry. My version of Ron is that he loves his daughter, but doesn't always know how to be around her.

I'm squeeing at how much you love my version of ScoRose. Once they get there (and there WILL be a few bumps in the road) they will have a really strong relationship.

Rose is most comfortable when she can put aside her own problems and heal others.

Yeah, Harry knows - well really, EVERYBODY knows, except Rose and Scorpius - haha!

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by luciusobsessed 

15th July 2014:
I love how realistically nervous you make Rose. God knows I would be so nervous I would probably turn around and leave the room hahaha. They are so cute together and I like how it's not cheesy at all. THANK YOU FOR NOT BEING CHEESY! Scorpius is so cute. I love how he gets just as nervous and isn't trying to be super macho all the time. I think it's interesting how Rose is closer to Harry, and it's adorable how Harry notices the romance going on between Scorp and Rose. On to the next chap!!

Author's Response: Hi!

I need to apologize profusely for taking so long to respond to all of these. Last month, I got really caught up in The House Cup and that seemed to take up most of my time. However, I don't want you to think that I don't completely, totally, appreciate every single one of them. It was such a wonderful treat to log on and see all these reviews for my story! ♥

I'm so glad you didn't think this chapter was cheesy! I was worried about that. They are pretty cute here - both ridiculously worried that the other one isn't interested. It kind of funny, especially when it is so blatantly obvious to everyone else.

My version of Ron is that he just plain doesn't know what to do with a girl - so he unintentionally distanced himself from Rose. He loves her, of course, but doesn't know how to talk her like Harry does.

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by kenpo 

10th July 2014:
Hello! Back again! (I don't know how many chapters I'll be able to get through... I just found of list of errands I need to run before work...)

I really like Uncle Harry and Rose! I do feel a little bit bad for Ron (but I am a huge Ron fan, so that's probably why), but I like what you've done with their relationship and how you portrayed them together. Particularly at the end!

Rose and Albus remind me a little bit of Harry and Hermione. I can see Hermione making Harry come back after a duel to be healed. I thought it was funny that Rose has put herself in charge of Al's health. Good cousin! She seems to be doing well in her training, as well.

Something that you did that I liked (which might've not been intentional, but whatever) was that by having Rose quote Ginny, you've also implied that Rose and Ginny have a close relationship. All of this closeness is making me all warm and fuzzy and yaaay for aunts and uncles!!

This was a short chapter, but I really liked it!

I'm still laughing at Rose yelling at Albus. "Are you limping? WHAT DID YOU DO LET ME HEAL YOU BECAUSE I'M A HEALER TRAINING HULKROSE"

Okay, she didn't turn into hulk-Rose, but whatever.

I don't know why, but in my head this story is animated. I don't think it's childish or anything, but... yeah, animated.

Great chapter!

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: Hello again!

Yeah - In my head, Ron just doesn't know what to do with a girl. He is loosely based on my own father, who grew up with 4 brothers and NO sisters and he had NO idea what to do with my sister and me. I see Ron as a sort of "act with emotions first and then rationalize it later" - especially when Hermione isn't around to reel him in. Harry, with more patience and less pure passion, would find a kindred spirit in Rose amongst all the Weasley hot-tempers (my Rose lacks this quality - that's why she thinks she isn't brave).

Rose is at her best in "Healer-mode." She can focus on fixing others and use her brain to find a solution to their illness - it gives her a sense of control - and release because she isn't thinking about her own problems. Probably not the healthiest thing, but it's keeping her going for now.

I DIDN'T realize that Rose was quoting Ginny, but I have done that in other parts throughout this story - references to the original series with the next gen characters. Rose is fairly close with both her aunt and uncle - the two families were really close. (In my own head/back story Hermione was very focused on her Ministry Career - not in a bad way- but Rose and Hugo spent a lot of time at the Potter's house with Ginny watching them).

I love that you see this as animated! That is so cool!

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by LightLeviosa5443 

18th June 2014:
YES. REVIEW SWAP. A REASON TO GET MY BUTT IN GEAR AND REVIEW YOUR STORY. MUAHAHAHAHA. Oh my gosh. Sometimes I embarass myself.

Sorry.

Okay. Deep breaths. Because you describing how close Rose and Harry are is SO adorable. Like I just want to cuddle both of them. And the way you describe little Rose. AWW. AWWW. AW. ALL I CAN SAY IS AWWW. I AM IN FULL ON CUTE MODE. Okay. So, I love the way that she just started healing Albus and doesn't really give him a chance to run away. It's great. What a fantastic way to pick up from the last chapter. I love that you have them overlap. It's so perfect. This review will make zero sense. I am not apologizing in advance, I am just warning you.

OH MY GOSH. THAT SCENE WAS SO CUTE. OH MY GOSH. I love the way Scorpius is just totally smitten with her, and Albus is such a good friend. I love love love them. So priceless. So perfect. I love the "boys." comment at the end too. Ugh. STOP BEING CUTE. STOP. I CAN'T HANDLE IT RIGHT NOW. Like literally, my heart is swelling from all of this cuteness. I just can't. Look, I'm the grinch, I'm heartless, you're making my heart grow and grow. It's unacceptable. Just kidding, I love it. Don't stop.

OH WOW WAIT THAT WAS IT.

OKAY. HOLD ON.

I need a minute. I'm gonna go re-read it. Here I am expecting a long cute chapter on their cuteness and all of this fluffy goodness and NOPE. DENIED. Okay. Wow. Wait was the really it? I'm just going to refresh the page real quick. Yeah, that was it.

Well, now I know how people feel when my chapters are wicked short.

I really loved this chapter. I loved the way that you showed Harry's and Rose's relationship. It was cute and endearing and believable and I absolutely fell in love with it. I loved that you even put in why Rose is closer to Harry than Ron. I felt that really added to the believability factor. So bravo. Another thing I really liked about this was that you made it feel so fun and cute. Even when Rose was healing Albus, or yelling to Scorpius, or healing Harry, it was fun and cute. Like, I just wanted to squish them all the whole time. That's how cute it was.

I can't wait to read the next chapter of this story.

I would say I'm going to go read it now, but there's a 90% chance I'll get distracted before I actually hit the next chapter button, and then we'll both be disappointed when the review doesn't happen.

But really, this chapter was wonderful.

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hi Sarah,

Do you know what is cuter than cute? YOUR REVIEWS! You made me laugh out loud at this. I am sorry that the chapter was really short, but I needed a few things established. First off, Rose and Harry's closeness - which you seemed to really like. Me too! I just kind of picture Ron as not being able to show his daughter how much he loves her because she is a girl and he is always so awkward around them.

I also wanted to establish that Rose is really good at healing the aurors' wounds. That becomes somewhat important later on in the story. And - or course, I wanted Rose and Scorpius to finally go on a proper date!

Sorry it was short. I think you will really like the next few chapters - although they are definitely not as cute!

Thanks for doing a review swap!


 Report Review

Review #21, by lindslo2012 

6th June 2014:
Well here I am for a review tag!!!
So tag!
Chapter seven... it was short but oh so sweet!
I loved how you left off from when exactly the last chapter ended and it went right back to the training area and a beat up Al and Harry, lol. Scorpius is such a cutie and I like that he is shy when it comes to Rose. ;)
I also think it's adorable that she favors 'Uncle Harry'. But I think it's sad her and Ron aren't close. I can see Harry being all wrapped around her finger because she is one of the only girls born into the family of the next generation so far. Boy there are so many boys! Lol.
OH I can't wait to see what happens when Rose and Scorp FINALLY talk about their feelings. Ugg.
Well please shoot me another request! As usual, great job Beth!
Until next time,
-Linds

Author's Response: Hi again Lindsey.

What is better than one review from you? TWO!! Thanks - it was such a treat to get two reviews!

It was fun to write a sweet chapter between Rose and Harry. I actually just posted it because I forgot and accidentally skipped over it. It needs to be there to move a bit of the story along.

Scorpius is really cute when it comes to Rose. On one hand, he was brought up in a pure blood house that had a lot of rules about decorum and duty. But he lost his parents at the age of 15 and pretty much was raised by Harry and Ginny the rest of the time.

Ron is just really bad with showing emotions - unless they come spewing out of him. He was never good with expressing himself around girls and he REALLY doesn't know how to be around his daughter. Harry, on the other hand, just adores all the kids and feels a special attachment to Rose because she was Ron and Hermione's daughter and, at the time she was born, he only had boys.

There is more Rose and Scorp stuff coming up!

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by MargaretLane 

1st June 2014:
The title of this chapter makes me think Rose's mental state might improve a little during it.

Love the detail about Rose being closer to Harry than Ron. And that stuff about her name is WEIRDLY coincidental. I wrote a next gen. series prior to the publication of Half Blood Prince, where Harry and Ginny had two kids called James and Rose and the backstory to Rose's name was pretty much the same as here - that Harry originally wanted to call her Lily, but then thought it was unfair if he were to choose the names of both their children, so they agreed on a name she liked that still commemorated Lily by following the Evans' pattern of giving their girls flower names. That never comes up in the stories about them, but it's what I had planned as the thinking behind it.

I can TOTALLY imagine Ron being disappointed his first child wasn't a boy. And even more disappointed when she's sorted into Ravenclaw rather than Gryffindor.

Author's Response: Hi, hi!

This was a little bit of a filler chapter. I wanted to establish that Lily was four years after Rose and that Rose was closer to Harry than Ron.

That is so weird about your story! Great minds think alike - haha! I was just trying to come up with a reason why Ron and Hermione chose the name Rose. I can see Hugo, because Hermione is such a great reader (I though of Victor Hugo immediately), but I couldn't figure out why they picked Rose. Maybe it is something really obvious and I just never noticed it.

Yeah, I don't think Ron ever got over the Ravenclaw thing - he is a Gryffindor through and through. Although, I don' think it bothered Harry and Ginny that Albus was sorted into Ravenclaw.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by paddlewaddle 

25th May 2014:
I actually love this Harry/Rose centric chapter and their relationship. This just adds to the feels from chapter 9 for Harry and Rose in their final scene. Have I told you that this is one of the favourite stories from this site currently being updated? So much of this is about Scorose, but yet so much of it isn't either - its about the importance of family and having that support network that you know will always be there no matter what has happened (even if it is completely horrifying and traumatic for you).

This chapter definitely smooths out the missing link between the previous chapter and the next :) I thought the process of Rose asking Scorpius out was going to be filled with more angst but you know what? its kinda perfect for them when there is little dialogue because actions DO speak louder than words (and for them, it always has from when Scorpius' parents died to when they spend the weekend celebrating his birthday). The way they just look at each other or even when they touch is enough to validate everything that has happened so far without having to explicitly say the words. Of course, somewhere down the line I'm hoping they will actually say it to each other but for now, this is kinda perfect for Scorpius and Rose.

Author's Response: Hi paddlewaddle!

Thank you so much for backtracking to read and write this review. I really appreciate it.

I really felt the need to show the strong relationship between Rose and Harry. He is also very close to Scorpius - they have a lot in common - and he is slightly outside the bubble of their close friends. Far enough that he can play objective observer.

I actually picked the name of the story based on a scene that never made it in to the final version. Now, I feel like it is too cliche, but I must thank you again for your great insights. They really don't express their emotions in a verbal sense. I think, at this point, that Rose can't express them and Scorpius is walking a thin line, not wanting to say the wrong thing.

The next chapter up (I hope) doesn't disappoint you in the ScoRose department!

Thanks again for the review!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by CambAngst 

24th May 2014:
Hi, Beth!

So first of all, yes, the next chapter does make more sense after reading this one.

After the pseudo-cliffhanger you dropped on us at the end of the last chapter, I was expecting this one to be a bit more dramatic. Instead, we see Rose just being Rose. Well, being Rose and also sharing some insight into her childhood and relationship with her favorite uncle.

That was definitely the highlight of the chapter for me. I love the idea of Rose and Harry being very close. I played with it a lot when I was writing Conspiracy of Blood, and the two of them are definitely one of my favorite non-romantic pairings to write in the fandom. The image of Harry being sort of mesmerized by this little red-headed toddler was absolutely adorable, and I like to imagine that they kept it up for many years to come.

I love the way she scolds Albus and inflicts some healing on him. Not all that gently, either. She obviously has his best interests at heart, but she's not shy about exacting a little price for his foolish behavior.

Yay, you pulled her and Scorpius a baby step closer to one another. Even Harry is getting in a bit of match-making. Good on you, Uncle Harry!

This was a fun little interlude. Now that I've read it, I'm looking forward to getting back into the meat of the story. Good job!

Author's Response: Hi Dan!

Thank you for being patient and waiting for this chapter to get posted. I know that not much happened here in terms of the plot, but I needed it to establish a few key points. The first being Harry and Rose's relationship. My version of Ron is like a slightly older, larger Ron from the books. He has no clue about girls and having a daughter would downright terrify him. Harry, on the other hand, would cherish the next gen kids, never having had a family growing up.

I also wanted to establish that Lily is four years younger than Rose (instead of two years, as implied by canon). That comes up later in the story.

The last little part that needed to be established is that Rose heals the two duelers. This is the start of something bigger for her and needed to be set up early in the story. She loves to be healer, but thinks Albus is a dimwit for the way he got his wounds. I know you were already able to read/review the next chapter - so, yeah - you will definitely get to the meat of the story next!

Thanks, Dan!

~Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review