Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Penelope Inkwell 

19th October 2014:
Hermione's reaction to the Draught of the Living Death shortcuts--bwahahah! That was such a great detail to include.

I'm really looking forward to the themed pranks! That should be fun.

Aww. House Elves. I just love House Elves. They're like bunnies. Anytime there are Elves around, I'm smiling :D

--Penny

Author's Response: i'm glad you appreciated that detail, it was a lot of fun to put in!

and the house elves! house elves are adorable

thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by BookDinosaur 

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Can I just start off by saying that Tom McLaggen...was raised with the firm belief that he was more brawn than brains and would go straight into Gryffindor. When the Hat dithered briefly on Tom’s head, he seized upon the mention of ‘Ravenclaw’ and yelled it triumphantly a second before the Hat did occasion is just so amazing and it had me laughing out loud. Sorry for the long quote too, btw. :P

Ah dear I love how enthusiastic Rose was about her Christmas gift and experimenting and oh dear poor Hermione, coming home to see her child experimenting with ingredients which could blow up the house. :P And tsk tsk Rose deflate your ego, you can't be cited in an OWL essay silly person, and even if you could be cited, a lunchtime conversation isn't exactly something to cite now is it? xD

Gah, the scene with the house-elves at the end was so sweet to see they don't believe in heteronormativity and just yeah. I love how friendly Rose was with them all, it's so lovely and the house-elves need more recognition in stories.

Emily is certainly a Slytherin, isn't she? Having Hogwarts resident geniuses indebted to her is certainly a comfortable position and I just hope that she's a decent enough person not to abuse that kind of power she has over them.

Hahaha, Albus was certainly the best planner in that group then! If Big. Hella big is all you have to contribut to your group Al then I'm surprised you're friends with them at all. ;)

Ahh, so looking forward to seeing what Rose's plan is going to be! I'm quite literally reliving this as I read it Lisa, and I'm not sure whether that's a good thing or a bad thing. xD

Author's Response: don't apologise for the long quote i'm glad you liked it!

poor Hermione indeed. and telling Rose to deflate her ego is like telling the sun to stop shining

the house-elves are all precious beans

emily is the ultimate slytherin and i love her for it. so much. slytherin 5eva

thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm 

9th July 2014:
Howdy! (should not have started fun greetings as now feeling the need to maintain them but running out of fun greetings)

Aw, poor Rose not being able to get Hugo interested in Potions because I mean, who wouldn’t not be interested in them? :P Yay for Lester though as it’s nice to get to see more of him, well more of just him and Rose so we could really get to know him and I really do like him. I loved the conversation with Hermione because I was just like you can’t talk you made Polyjuice Potion in your second year, but I have a feeling she might secretly approve of it.

Quote of that section was: ‘I have noticed that since he started dating Lily, though, Aunt Ginny has mysteriously stopped correcting him when he calls her Mrs Potter. (Albus has noticed too, and finds it endlessly funny.)’ – so great!

Erm, still not sure what to make of Emily even though she is on their even after Lucy ditched Louis. I still think she’s up to something and I will continue not to trust her until this whole pranking business is over. Woah though, Filch is still there? That’s quite impressive I have to say. Though I wonder what the love potion is going to be. Maybe Mrs Norris and Louis, ha that would be great!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: its okay i appreciate your dedication to the fun greetings

rose has close and meaningful relationships with everyone in the group - she's kind of the only person who does, and she's the glue that holds everyone together - but it's always nice when i get to explore some of the less-covered friendships like her and Lester

mrs norris and louis wow wouldn't that be something


 Report Review

Review #4, by StarlightAsteria 

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I loved Lester's 'will be over presently', it made me spit out my orange juice I was laughing so hard :) I think it's a really nice touch, and somehow fits his character perfectly. More Emily! she's definitely becoming my favourite character :) And the Scorpius/ Al bit about the 150 line translation was just funny. Scorpius is smart :) double translation like that is hard :) I do it from 8th century Mandarin into Ancient Greek, so I can appreciate the extent of Scorpius's genius :) keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: i'm glad you enjoyed that line, Lester is my dorky fave! 8th century Mandarin into Greek is some next-level difficulty, i bow down to you

 Report Review

Review #5, by emmacweasley 

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I think I need to start off this review by reiterating how much I love the way you handle the groups' mental illnesses, and the cute system they have in case of panic attacks. It was just such a good detail to put in, with Lester having a panic attack in front of Lily and Lily not knowing what to do.

I also really liked the last part where Rose mentions her knowledge of the kitchens and favor with the house elves in relation to her mom. I love it when stories do a good job of reminding the reader that it's not been long since the golden trio was at school without letting their influence and legacy overpower the story.

emma

Author's Response: i feel like my review responses are going to end up sounding like a stuck record but like, i've got 780 of these bad boys to do in like, three days so u feel me

i'm glad u appreciated that bit as well because it's those little details that i love slipping in and it's super gratifying to know that people notice and appreciate them


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 

6th July 2014:
Hello, hello!

This is the first thing I wanted to review for our Event 5 review. I love, love, love this story. Not just because it is interesting and fun and witty, but because you've created these characters that are so real and they just make me feel like I'm there with them. Their loyalty to each other is so amazing and they put up with each others' flaws, make fun of each other and just are so... gah - I think I'm in love with Rose. Like, for real in love. Can you be in love with a character?

My favorite line: Rose, stop telling people to cite you. We all got big red lines through those parts of our essays in OWLs. I am still laughing over that one. I don't why, but it embodies everything that makes this story so completely fantastic. Clever, witty, sharp, and so on the mark it's scary.

Usually when I read a next gen fic that doesn't have Rose/Scorp as a pair, I read it, am alright with it, but in the back of my mind, I think about how I would prefer the story to end. With yours, it's like I can feel these characters. I don't know if that makes any sense, but I want you to know how much I ♥ you story!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Heya! Firstly, I'm super excited this was the first story you thought of for the House Cup, and so glad to see you back for the last...er, ten chapters. I didn't even realise how long this story got, so kudos!

YOU CAN ABSOLUTELY BE IN LOVE WITH A CHARACTER AND I'M PRETTY SURE I'M IN LOVE WITH ROSE TOO. Is that narcissistic?

I actually really love that line too. It summarises the entire group to me - their absolute confidence in their own abilities and intelligence, and in each other's - and a certain level of arrogance as well. I'm glad you appreciated it!

I've gotten that quite a bit actually, and considering how I get with my OTPs I think it's the highest form of praise that Rosius shippers not only tolerate me shipping Scorp with Albus but actively ship it as well, even if it is just in this particular universe and interpretation. So thank you for that!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Chazzie 

18th May 2014:
Eeek, 3 chapters! First of all, I'm really excited that Holly has got a job waiting for her. It's really awesome. Second, I'm glad Emily is pulling through with her offer to help. Third, those elfs, are so sweet! And Rosie has a plan, which I can't wait to hear. As a side point I could see her arguing her case with the examiners that her work meets to be cited even if she has yet to be published. I didn't like Dom very much in the last chapter. But George has heard about them, which can only be a good thing.
Chazzie

Author's Response: I was so happy when I wrote the scene where Holly gets the job offer - I nearly had tears in my eyes (I swear I'm not too attached to these characters) Emily did pull through - but she remains an enigma (she's an enigma to me as well - I can't wait to see what she comes up with) And the elves! That scene came out of nowhere, but I'm really glad it did - house elves need more appreciation.

And yes, if Rose had any contact with the OWL examiners, she definitely would have argued her case - then again, she and her friends still ended up with Os for their Potions OWL, so they weren't about to dispute perfect marks.

I didn't like Dom at all - I'm very defensive of teachers and teaching as a profession, which probably came through in that scene in particular with Rose's response.

Thanks for reading and for the review, and I hope to see you back for chapter twelve!



 Report Review

Review #8, by jessicalorewrites 

16th May 2014:
Okay, so I feel like I really don't give this story enough love. I think I started reading around the chapter 6/7 mark and I'm not entirely sure why but I never reviewed despite how much I completely adore it!

Do you know how hard it is to find a story around here with a little representation? A little originality? Very. You manage to encompass things like Holly being asexual, Rose being pansexual, Albus and Scorpius being gay, their anxiety issues and so, so much more. Their career aspirations aren't all typical fanfiction jobs and their personalities have - dare I say it - flaws! Yes, that's right: FLAWS. And that is absolutely brilliant! Your characters are just like real people and it's just so refreshing to read people who seem human.

The bit with Hermione glaring at the Draught of Living Death made me giggle indeed. I love it when minor things like that are incorporated into next gen fics; they bring a great wave of humour that only the reader - because the character usually doesn't - understands. "Hella big" also made me laugh quite a lot.

It's interesting to see how you work with Rose and her intuitiveness in Potions. I really like the fact you've considered the ethical side of Amortencia because that's always something that's stood out for me too! I'd really love to see how an alternative love potion would work. I can't wait!

I'm nervous to see how everything works out with Emily. I do want to trust her but I can't help feeling like she's not to be trusted. Something may be going on there... and I don't want to get too attatched to her before it happens. Hmm...

Your sorting hart stall theory for most of Ravenclaw house is pretty sound. Again, it's definitely a belief that I've always considered to be true. Not only are the Ravenclaws and Slytherins natural allies in things like Quidditch matches (where Hufflepuff and Gryffindor tend to stick together a little more) like you said, the traits are VERY similiar. I feel like there is definitely house cross over there for sure.

Oooh, I want to know what the Valentines day prank will be! I'm so excited, eek.

Just going to reiterate what I started with and remind you that you're a really talented writer and I adore this fic for very many reasons :) Keep writing, stay awesome - can't wait for more!

- Jess xo

(P.s. sorry for the super long review! oops)

Author's Response: FIRST OF ALL DO NOT APOLOGISE FOR A SUPER LONG REVIEW I LIVE FOR SUPER LONG REVIEWS THIS MADE MY MORNING

Returning to something approaching coherency: I do know how hard it is to find stories with representation in particular, which is why I see this story (quite self-indulgently, it has to be said) as important for reasons beyond "Hey, let's write a fun Next Gen about a bunch of Claws playing pranks." I've never seen an ace or pan character in fanfic before, and though I didn't set out to write Holly and Rose as queer purely for the sake of representation, I think it's really important to have characters who happen to be queer, who are okay with being queer, and for whom queerness doesn't have to be the be all and end all of their identities - but at the same time is an integral enough part of them that you can't reimagine them as straight. If that makes sense. And the same thing goes with the anxiety, especially because a lot of people don't realise that achieving to the levels that these characters do is not easy, and they don't coast through because they're geniuses. They're under enormous amounts of pressure, mostly self-inflicted, and that takes its toll. I've seen Rose written as a highly-strung, control-freak sort of character before - almost a caricature, and it bugs me when people don't question why she might be like that. (As you may be able to tell, I have a lot of feelings about representation and I'm really, really glad you appreciate that aspect of this story)

Admittedly, Albus and Scorpius do sort of have 'typical fanfiction' career aspirations as Healers - though I like to think that the differentiation between the branches of Healing (like Albus being more interested in neuroscience and psychology) still keeps what he wants to do in line with his character.

I'm glad you picked up on Hermione and the Draught of Living Death - it's one of my favourite moments because it is subtle, but it does remind the reader that she's Hermione Granger, beloved of us all, rather than just "Rose's mum," and you can still see the resentful sixth-year from Slughorn's Potions classroom there somewhere. I love Hermione. Unashamedly.

Amortentia really is quite creepy when you think about it, and an ethical-yet-still-funny alternative is overdue in the wizarding world. It also gives me an opportunity to actually show that Rose isn't just a 'gets high grades, reads a lot' sort of character, but she has her field and she's very, very good at it.

Emily is an enigma. I'm working on chapter 14? 15? at the moment and she's still surprising me, and I really don't know what she's going to do. But she's a very intriguing character, and just for that reason you'd be right to question her.

Slytherin and Ravenclaw have always been very similar in my mind as well (something cemented by the fact that I was originally sorted by Pottermore into Slytherin - I imagine it's because 'ambition' and 'I want to get my PhD because LEARNING' are sometimes indistinguishable. anyway, I digress)

Thank you so much for the kind words, and I'm really, really happy that you're enjoying it for the same reasons that I'm loving writing it. The next chapter won't be too far away - and the Valentines prank! Hope you enjoy!

(P.S we're totally even, because this is a super long response)



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review