Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by crimson quill 

26th April 2017:
Jail Break

So I'm moving around the story again so this chapter gives me a whole new light on the story for me. I rather shocking one. this was a very emotional chapter which your writing shows clearly from the moment the chapter opens.

'I was momentarily confused until it all came crashing back on me' - this line is so simple but really intense! Rose had been through so much but she shows that she has such strength of character here. I thought you wrote the whole chapter with sensitive themes in a really good way that it was heartbreaking for Rose but it seems respectful? it's a really important balance when writing stuff like this.

my love for Scorpius is still the same. I really enjoyed him again in this chapter. MY FAVE CHARACTER. wow, I didn't mean that to be in caps but you know? it kinda works! haha.

I think the scene with Harry is very well done to I think the characterisation for harry with his reaction/concern was really on point. I think harry is quite difficult to get right but I felt this scene worked for the story! So the plot thickens!! good job with the chapter, emotionally it was spot on. xo

 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

26th April 2017:
Hey Beth,

Attacking for the CTF game :)

Wow, I hit such a dramatic chapter. My heart was in my throat throughout, and I felt so sorry for Rose. The emotions and trauma she was feeling, you got this across so well, it was really emotional to read. You didn't over do anything at all - but I was left feeling emotionally drained for rose.

I loved the interactions between rose and scorp. It felt so real, I could picture the concern written all over his face and could see it in his actions. I think there's clearly something there between them, even though rose is in denial. The hesitancy between them though is perfect considering what has happened, and I think the small moments between them are more precious for it.

I also thought your characterisation of Harry was brilliant. I see him get overdone sometimes but I thought you got him spot on. It must be hard for him to keep such a secret from Ron and hermione but I like the fact he is willing to go with roses wishes, and just try to get her to reconsider.

Overall I thought this was really well written and you've got me intrigued!! I really like the style of you're writing. Great job!

Lauren

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan 

17th January 2017:
Another really intense chapter. Poor Rose, in the beginning there- she's still so on edge after what happened and was asleep when Scorpius dropped in, that she actually hexes him on instinct! Poor Scorpius too, for that matter. I feel like that one event kind of sums up a lot of their relationship. like, they're both pretty terrible at communicating with one another and end up at odds when really there's no need for it.

I noticed SCorpius keeps trying to distance himself from her because he thinks she wants the space, but she thinks she's scaring him off and that's why he's keeping distance. True, they have lots of other important think to think about, but they need to talk about their feelings and their relationship :P Despite their communication issues, he is at least always there for her when she needs it the most.

I'm so glad they told Harry! And actually, reading that bit made me consider just how dumb it was that she didn't say anything sooner, like about the sketchy guy at the party :P I mean, I totally understand why. She doesn't want people to think of her as a victim, and for her it's easiest to just put it out of mind and then she can convince herself nothing happened, and then she can feel like the person she was before. But she can't really do that, so telling people, ensuring her safety, etc will help her move past it, not bury it and pretend it never happened.

The scene at the end with Rose and Harry was so sweet. I bet Harry is the best uncle ever.

Phenomenal chapter once again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by oldershouldknowbetter 

11th January 2016:
We are just tag-teaming each other now are we not. Once more drawn in to review for the BvB.

Rose wakes up alone and upset and it is disheartening to think that this is just normal for her. She beats herself up over it too. *sigh*

But is she alone? This morning also brings with it the presence of Scorpius she soon finds. He didn't expect it to be at wand point though. Once the adrenaline wears off though she's back to the nausea and shakes. What this poor girl has been through ...

Scorpius recriminates himself too. These two ... well at least *spoilers* they get some measure of closure next chapter.

It is funny but Scorpius's diatribe of self loathing is what steadies Rose and brings her back to herself. But then he shocks her with his knowledge of her scars. She tries to run, tries to submerge herself in her usual routine - as we first saw she does, way back when this whole sorry tale started. But no, Scorpius is having none of it. What you have given us is so raw with emotions but once again you don't stray from what is believable. One of the great things is that it is finally, finally cathartic for Rose. Really well done and very necessary for her character. Oh and lovely kissing too. ;)

'... and gently put his hand over mine for the second time that day. I noticed that this was all the contact he was willing to make.' When I read stuff like this it just makes me sigh deeply and sadly, "oh Rose."

I really like how you have Scorpius telling Rose that she has to tell her uncle. It is very logical - I hadn't thought of how it would be to their careers, but it makes a lot of sense. Not just that of course, it also fits into how you have established how the pair of them view Harry: Rose as a bit more than just an uncle; Scorpius basically as his surrogate father. Good stuff.

I nodded, understanding that his was too much for him. I was too much for him.
*sigh* Oh, Rose.

She keeps thinking that she is not brave, but she bravely marches (almost runs) to reveal all to her uncle. But her courage does fail her slightly, as it would anyone, when the crunch actually comes.

Sometimes you have the most subtle and perfect bits of characterisations in the littlest of things. When you have the confidence in Albus's voice comforting Rose and putting some strength into her is so perfectly judged. It really shows exactly how Rose is: she takes her strength from those around her, from her friends, her family, complete strangers even. She lives for what she can do for others. It's why the attack upon her was so debilitating to her - had it happened to someone else then she would have been stronger for them and helped them far more than she has been able to do for herself.

Rose steels herself and all of the truth comes tumbling out. Harry is horrified, of course, but reacts intelligently and quickly: just as we all want him to be the older Harry is competent and holds to what we hoped that his younger self would become.

The move into Grimauld place wmill be a logical step, but it also allows for some good movements in the plot too.

'... probably wants to be here for you, Rose.” I wasn’t so sure about that last part, but nodded anyway.'
*double sigh* Oh Rose.

Harry is such the elder statesman. When Rose tells him that her father must never know, his reply is so well done. He states what we know about Rose, it reminds your readers that it has been true for Harry too. As Dumbledore said, Harry was/is a remarkably selfless person. So too is this Rose.

"Scorpius’s hand still holding on to mine. I knew he was just trying to be nice because I was so upset.'
Oh come on Rose, please please, I know you can't, dare not think that he has any other reasons for holding your hand than some sort of platonic comforting, but come on!

It's a beautiful moment right at the end, a mutual joining of two very alike souls comforting one another.

Well another great chapter and it leads into an outstanding one that I have already reviewed in that funny two-for-one review that I did a while back. It is a watershed in terms of the story and this chapter leads up to it very nicely. Actually this chapter is also a turning point in one way to - for a different strand of the plot: that of the scaring (both physically and mentally) of Rose by Stannous. It is now out there, and by sharing with her family she has lessened her pain considerably. She can now heal fully and not mark time as she has been by repressing it and keeping it to herself.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

20th September 2015:
Phew. This was a really emotionally intense chapter! I'm so happy that Rose is FINALLY telling everyone what happened, and I really think she should tell her parents, too - but at least she's told Harry. And now, Harry has been able to offer a suggestion that could/should prevent something else from happening - I think it will be GREAT for all of them to live together! And it's SO brilliant for them to use Grimmauld Place - that was a stroke of genius on your part, lovely!

Anyway, another amazing chapter as usual, and I'm off to the next now!

Author's Response: Hello!

Gah! You're too kind. I'm so happy you liked this chapter. I wanted to convey that Scorpius is beside himself with wanting to be there for Rose, but simply doesn't KNOW what exactly to do. Rose accidentally takes this as him not being interested in her... those two need to learn to COMMUNICATE better!

And yeah, I think Rose should tell her parents too - but alas, those darn characters seem to have minds of their own! Rose doesn't give her parents enough credit - the fought in the war and they're much tougher than she thinks. She just always sees them as "Mum and Dad," instead of Hermione and Ron - haha!

Thanks!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell 

15th September 2015:
Oh, I hate that Rose thinks that she's too much for Scorpius. That wasn't it! I don't know his reasons, exactly--maybe he felt like it should just be, like, blood family, or maybe he didn't trust himself to stay calm. I don't know. But he loves her! She has it all wrong. But I understand why she feels that way. Her emotions have been more than she could handle, and she's had a lot of negative thoughts about herself as a result. So of course she'd expect them to be too much for anyone else, and she'd expect them to think less of her. It's understandable, but so sad.

Aw. I'm so glad she's close to Harry.

I don't think it'll be feasible for her to keep this from her parents, long term. There's almost no way. Still, I can see why she wouldn't think her father could handle it. We've seen his temper go out of control already, under much lesser circumstances. And besides, if she already feels that their relationship is strained, she might feel that they'd never feel at ease around one another, if he knew.

I really like the idea of them all moving into Grimmauld Place. That seems a much better plan. And Rose really does have great family and friends.

I was actually surprised that no one knew. I'd have thought she'd have had to undergo a health check after being kidnapped. But then, I guess she wasn't a minor--she could have asked for it to be kept confidential.

Wow. Wow wow wow.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi again,

Rose and Scorpius have this thing where they both feel so much for each other, but are absolutely terrible about discussing said feelings. At this point in the story, Scorpius is beside himself with the knowledge of what really happened to Rose during her kidnapping. He simply doesn't know what is the best way to support her and is kind of waiting for her to show him what she needs. On the flip side, Rose is interpreting his reticence as his being overwhelmed by the circumstances and thus withdrawing. This isn't the last time that these two have this issue - it's a recurring theme with them :)

I love the Rose/Harry relationship too. I always felt that Harry would be removed enough to be a little more open minded when it came to Rose's best interest. And yeah, Harry probably knows that Ron and Hermione can't be kept in the dark forever, but he's willing to do this for Rose at his point in the story - because above all else, she is a victim.

Yay! Grimmauld Place! It seemed like a good fit for this purpose.

I think that everyone knew something was up. Rose was clearly different when she returned, but they all gave her time and space to deal with it. As a result, she withdrew from everyone and Rose (naively) thought that she was doing a brilliant job of covering it up.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by Tonks1247 

29th June 2015:
Beth! I’m back! Took me a while, as I was going to read and review another chapter the other night, but then another event for the house cup started and then I left on vacation which, turns out, did not provide me with much wifi as I expected to have, and so bring us to now, where I’ve since found some time to get some reviews going again. YAY!

And, just before I go into this chapter, your review responses have been the greatest things ever! I have absolutely adored reading them as they make me smile and giggle a bit! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed reading them and hope I can continue to leave some fun reviews, maybe even catch up to how far I’ve actually read (I may have finished reading all of the chapters and am just jumping back through to drop reviews and thoughts on chapters but then again maybe not, but it’s a definite possibility…;) ).

So. This chapter. That was a good wind down from the previous intensity that had me all but leaping out of my seat in anticipation of what was to come. I like how you slowed it down but still had some anxiousness and stuff in this chapter. And by that I mean, you have Rose waking up and sort of freaking out on Scorpius as she hadn’t known it was him with her. She also has some of that anxiety as she then has to relive parts of her fears in order to go speak to Harry and fill him in on what has happened. I liked how it was present, but not overwhelming, because it continued to set up the fact that Rose is super anxious about everything that is going on and unfolding when she tried so hard to hide it in her past, but at the same time, there is time to settle down and be okay and see that things are trying to be worked out to be better.

I love that Scorp and her both took a day off to be with each other and just to unwind. I kind of sort of really adore Rose and Scorpius together in this and for them to have this time and to try to sort through their emotions and expectations and just being people for a day. Also love how Scorpius still has that calming effect and the description and approach you take to those instances are quite fantastic as their consistent with his character and hers and just…you do quite a lovely job of keeping Rose and Scorpius in this relationship that maintains itself, despite all the changes going on.

Also, this whole not telling Ron thing…I don’t know how well this will work out. I mean, the whole Rose/Scorp thing…well…it should be interesting. Especially with moving them to Grimmauld Place with the fidelius charm…Harry as secret keeper isn’t the most difficult, as Harry can just be like hey, they’re moving here so they don’t know it’s under the fidelius charm, but just…I don’t know. With Hermione’s history with Malfoy manner…well, I’m going under an assumption that Rose isn’t in on that whole situation that occurred…

Also. Love Rose and Harry. I really really do like how their relationship is so close and that Rose is comfortable to let him in on things and reassure him when she, herself, needs her own reassurances. It’s just nice to have that father/daughter thing going on, as I’ve previously mentioned…

And, to close out here, my favourite line from this chapter…

“I was playing a fool’s game, thinking that I could actually be normal.”

Okay, favourite may be a bad term as all it makes me want to do is smack Rose because we all know it’s not true, even though she’s in denial, and her and Scorpius would be perfect, will be when she finally gives in and just…well…yeah. Fool’s game is what they make it out to be xD

Great job with this chapter! :D

-Mikaela 

Author's Response: Mikaela!

asdfghjkl;!!

Your reviews have been so, so awesome to read - but this one! Eep! Thanks so much. I'm really glad you read my author responses - I wasn't sure who was reading them (that's why I asked in my status update).

I've been a bit unsure of the pace with this story because I really wasn't sure how to do it - I just kinda did what felt right - and I'm glad you noticed the bit of a slow down for the couple. They really needed it.

And I also appreciate that you've picked up on the fact that everything is not all better now that it's out in the open. Rose has a LOT of healing to do and one thing that I was super careful about for this story was to show the process of overcoming PTSD (or any major crisis) is gradual and has its setbacks.

I agree that Rose should probably have told her parents (or at least let Harry do it), but she's not thinking with a super-clear mind right now. She's scared and has just revealed a HUGE secret to a lot of people and I think that was just a bit too much for her at this point in her recovery. It's not rational, but it's what she needed at the time.

Yes! I'm glad you like the Rose/Harry relationship! Some readers haven't been a fan of the fact that I've made them super close, but as I see it, Ron is ALWAYS going to be bad with women and especially when it comes to his daughter, he's just not able to *show* his emotions really well.

Ooo! I like that line too - it's sad, but kind of sums up Rose's state in this chapter.

Thank you so, so much Mikaela - these reviews are truly amazing!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Hey Beth,

Man this story is really playing with my emotions now. I've been happy, outraged, and now I'm a teary emotional wreck.

I'm so glad that Scorpius convinced her to go to Harry. It's about time. He really should've been alerted from the jump off. This whole situation sounds like way more than a few trainee Aurors are capable of handling.

I'm happy that Grimmuald Place will be put to good use. I think the idea of putting fidelus charm on it is a great idea and hope that it will protect them all from further harm. Not to mention the idea of James, Albus, and Scorpius being there to protect Rose alongside Dom and Selenia is smart. There's always strength in numbers.

I don't like that Rose wants to keep this from her parents, but I understand why. I think she's afraid that Ron would go and kill the guy if he was able to get his hands on him, as he should. That being said, I'm a strong believer that when awful things happen, it's important to have open and honest communication about it. That's really the only way anyone ever heals. Hopefully, at some point she'll open up to them about it.

Another good chapter! This story is really moving right along!

Author's Response: Kaitlin!

Oof - your reviews are so thoughtful and wrought with emotion that I get really, really excited when I read them - EEEP!

Scorpius is trying to be level-headed here, but he's also trying to do what's best for Rose in a situation where he isn't entirely sure what's best. She's obviously been covering up for two years and he doesn't want to undo all the progress she's made with opening up to him - but the situation is quite dire.

Grimmauld Place! My head canon is that Harry always kept that house as a reminder of Sirius, but that Ginny would never, ever let them move in there. As such, he used it when needed for the Auror department or for family (as in this case).

Rose's reasoning for not telling her parents is mostly embarrassment and humiliation. The idea of Ron and Hermione knowing what happened to her is not something she wants to think about - it's not super rational, and it puts Harry in a tight spot, but she's hurting right now and he's most concerned with her immediate safety. I'm also a believer that openness is the best policy - and I tried to stress that throughout the fic, but Rose isn't ready for that just yet.

Thank you - again for your awesomeness!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Hi Beth!
I just checked and this is the 400. review to this story - Congratulations!

When I picked this story, I unknowingly entered a rollercoaster of emotions. I didn't expect it to be such a wild ride.

You put me through hell every other chapter, only to be happy again at some small detail the next moment.

Awww, Rose! He loves you, stop thinking he doesn't! I'm guessing he won't touch her because he's afraid of how she will react to that.

I'm SO RELIEVED Scorpius made Rose go to Harry. Grimmauld place sounds like a really good solution. As you had Harry point out: it IS unplottable. The Fidelius Charm gives the added benefit that they can't even be found if someone knows the rough location of the building. I don't know how a new fidelius Charm would interact with the old one that has been put up by Dumbledore. Is it still in place? (That would make all the Weasleys and lots of other people Secret Keepers) Has it been removed?
It seems to be the perfect location for them, it's a nice, big house and, knowing Ginny and Hermione, it has probably seen some renovations in the last 20 years.

I hope Rose will realize how much Scorpius loves her. I'm terrible at dealing with misunderstandings between lovers, they always make me nervous.

~Anja

Author's Response: Anja!

I don't even know what to say! I'm so overcome with emotion at the 400th review. I... I don't have words for this! Thanks so, so, so much!

Gah!

At this point in the story - Scorpius is just at a loss for how to help Rose. The very LAST thing he wants to do is push her back into the abyss that she's been in for the past two years. So he's playing it safe.

And those two are simply NOT good at talking to one another. They try to read each others' signals and interpret their emotions, but more often that not, it's a huge guessing game.

Whew! Glad you agree with the decision to let Harry in on the scene. At this point, Albus, Scorpius and Dom had little choice - but it worked out really well for Rose.

Ooo! I didn't even think about the previous Fidelius charm. My head canon is that Harry lived at Number Twelve for a bit after the second wizarding war. And while he didn't do a significant amount of decorating, he did remove any charms that made it inconvenient for his friends to come and visit :)

After he and Ginny married (there was NO WAY she would live there), they bought their own house together, but Harry kept the residence - for sentimental reasons - it was the only thing he had to remind him of his godfather. So... not very many renovations (and that comes into play later on).

Haha! I never intended to write a cliched story with all the misunderstandings between the two... it just sorta happened.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by crestwood 

15th February 2015:
Beth! I always miss this story whenever I go a while without reading it, but really, it's been way too long.

I feel so bad for Rose at this point in the story. I can't imagine that I'd ever feel safe again after he got inside of their flat. Everything she'd been suppressing must just be coming back to her and that simply can't be easy. It was both sad and funny that she almost stunned Scorpius.

Scorpius and Rose are so sweet right now as usual. Of course Rose isn't going into training after the night she just had! I'm almost glad that everyone knows about what happened now. It might do her some good to accept help from her friends while she's going through all of this. I can't believe you write these two so well. This is possibly my favorite Scorpius/Rose ever and they're my OTP, so that's a pretty huge deal.

I'm still unsure of how Stannous got into their flat. He must be even more powerful than I realized he was.

So this is when they moved into Grimmauld Place! I totally know where this is going, but it's still awesome to see you pull it off. This chapter was amazing as always. Your writing is so good that you almost get too used to it. It's like you forget how well written it all is because you're so invested in the storyline. Great, great work Beth ♥

Author's Response: Hi there Joey,

I love, love, love when you review any of my stories, but I especially love when you review this one. OMG! I can't. Possibly your FAVORITE Scorpius/Rose?! Gah - you've reduced me to mush and now i cnt tpe fdkada... ... ...

Haha.

I agree that it's better now that everyone knows the truth about Rose. She can't spend all her time and energy trying to hide it and although it might be a little unpleasant, she can begin her journey toward healing.

Thanks so much for this!

Love ya Joey.


 Report Review

Review #11, by mymischiefmanaged 

27th December 2014:
Back for the next swap :)

I feel like this chapter marks a turning point for Scorpius. He's suddenly grown up a lot. In the earlier chapters he very much saw Rose as his protector because that's what she'd always been. He might have wanted to look after her but he mainly thought she was the one to take care of him. I get the impression that this is the moment he realises he needs to be the strong one for a bit.

That said, he's not fantastic at it. It was silly of him to think it wouldn't scare her to wake up with somebody there she didn't expect, and I'm glad he took full responsibility for that foolishness and didn't try to defend himself.

He redeems himself by letting Rose be sad, recognising that sometimes what you need is somebody to just be there with you while you're upset, and I like how well you conveyed her calming down from the panic she woke up in, and how instrumental he is in that transition. It's very real, and shows an important aspect of their relationship.

I'm glad Scorpius convinced Rose to tell Harry what happened. I think it would be very irresponsible of Albus and Scorpius not to inform the aurors, and it's good that they could do it with Rose's approval rather than going behind her back.

Albus's support for Rose in the meeting with Harry is sweet. The dynamic between Albus and Rose is interesting because in some ways it's a lot like how she is with Scorpius. They've all got the same history together, and Albus obviously cares for Rose just as much as Scorpius does, but his support for her is much more steady and balanced because he doesn't have the extra level of feeling and passion. You write the difference between them very convincingly.

Grimmauld Place seems like a good option for Rose's safety, although I'm surprised that Harry made the decision for Dom, Selenia and James, who weren't there. Maybe it would be good to put in an extra few lines saying he'll suggest that they move in too, for added security? It just seems a bit much for him to decide they're all moving house without any discussion.

Having said that, I can see why having all six of them together is a good solution to the problem, and I think you justify it well. I'm also excited to see more of Dom and Selenia, so I'm glad they're going to be in the house.

The end of the chapter with Harry is perfect. You've maintained the closeness we've seen between Rose and Harry in previous chapters, and I like how he knows exactly what she needs him to say. We can see how much more mature he is here than Albus and Scorpius (thinking of Al and Scorpius blowing up trees to deal with their feelings), and it's obvious that Rose needs somebody like that as well as her boys. It's lovely. I love the way you write Harry.

Anyway, this is a fantastic chapter Beth, and definitely one you should be proud of. I'm really looking forward to seeing where this story's going to go next!

Lots of love,

Emma xx

Author's Response: Emma!

Oof! This review is so completely sweet and amazingly thorough. Thank you so much!

Yes! You've totally hit on all the points I've been putting in about Scorpius. This really is a turning point for him. From here on out, his anger is much less obvious and he really does try to be there for her. The thing is - he doesn't exactly know *how* to do it. For now, he's just muddling through keeping her calm and sticking with the facts.

I love the Rose/Albus dynamic as well. They're best friends - from day one and he will always be there for her.

Good point about the others moving in. I think I might've mentioned something in the beginning of the next chapter that they'd all agreed to it, but I see what you're saying.

I've taken some heat for my Rose/Harry dynamic, but I'm going to stick by my characterization of Ron (and Harry!) and say that Rose would feel closer to Harry. This does NOT mean that Harry loves Rose more - Ron just isn't good at showing it.

Thanks again Emma - this review was awesome!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by UnluckyStar57 

5th November 2014:
Hi Beth! I'm here for the November BvB Review Battle, as usual! :D

Wow, this WAS a long chapter, but that's okay! It was totally worth reading, and I think that it ended exactly where it needed to end. :)

Okay, so the million-dollar question here is: WHY was Stannous able to break the security spells on Rose's flat?! Does he have some sort of residual connection with her from his kidnapping of her? Ugh, I hope not...

This chapter was really loaded as far as the horror and angst goes, and there was some TOTALLY OBVIOUS tension between Harry and Al (which is always interesting to read--usually it's James who has daddy issues). I hate it for Rose that she had to listen to the recapitulation of the events AND show Harry her scars on top of that. She obviously just wants things to go "back to normal," as evidenced by the repetition of her little mantra from chapter one (I totally recognized that, by the way, and I think the chapter title is completely perfect!). Still, I'm glad that Scorpius was able to convince her to tell Harry about it.

Speaking of Scorpius and Rose... D'aw! They had some really great moments in this chapter, angst notwithstanding. It just goes to show that they are a couple that is meant to last, even though they have some serious problems to work through first (namely, Stannous). It's going to be really interesting to see how their relationship develops as they live in 12 Grimmauld Place together.

As always, I love your writing! This story keeps getting more intense as the chapters go on, and I am in awe of your ability to write about a complicated matter without sacrificing the sweet moments of everyday life (speaking of, I forgot to mention how awesome Harry and Rose's embrace was. Pure amazingnes). Thanks for being awesome! :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm all warm and fuzzy inside from this review - thank you so much!

That *is* the million-dollar question, isn't it. Ooo - I like your idea that they have a connection because of the kidnapping (sorry, that isn't it - I'm not nearly that clever).

Harry and Al are sorting through their stuff. That can't be fixed over night, but I don't think Harry could overlook Al being downright irresponsible when the most wanted wizard shows up and attempts another kidnapping. And Al does think he knows best - even when he doesn't.

Yes - Rose and Scorp are meant to last ♥

And Rose did the right thing - telling Harry. She's in obvious danger at this point. I look forward to all your reviews and I can NOT wait to hear what you think of the next chapter.

Thank you so, so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by Infinityx 

20th August 2014:
Hi! I think this is where I left off. I'm going to type as I read, so be prepared for a lot of randomness. :P

So this was the alternative to numbness - heartache and insomnia. This just pulled at my heart so much! Even though I've read this already, each line still affects me in such a powerful way!

I love how you write actions. The part where Rose rolls over and stuns Scorpius was so vivid! I could totally hear Scorpius yell when she did so.

I'm so glad she has him to comfort her. It would be so much worse if she had to go through the whole ordeal alone. I am completely in love with Scorpius in this fic. He's just so considerate and sensitive, and would do anything for Rose. :')

You've done a great job of writing her defense mechanism. And the way her walls fall down when she realizes she has Scorpius. Every single moment is so intense and you've written it all so wonderfully.

I'm so glad she was persuaded to talk to Harry. I think I mentioned earlier - it's really weird how Stannous and his goons were able to get through the wards. They must know some kind of powerful dark magic to get through them. I really can't figure out how they did it!

Poor Harry. Rose is like his own daughter and to learn of what she'd faced must have been heartbreaking for him. It is for me, and I'm only reading about her! And Rose. She's so strong to tell Harry what happened and get comfort from him. This is probably a huge step in her recovery process. I just hope she doesn't have to endure anything more!

What if Stannous can get past the Fidelius charm? :o Although, maybe my imagination is getting the better of me...

Update soon, lovely! I can't get enough of your writing!

Author's Response: Hiya Erin!

Aaaggh! This. This review just melted my heart. Awe - thank you so much! ♥

Scorpius is really hurting almost as much as Rose at this point. He just doesn't know what to do for her.

I'm sort of in love with Scorpius too! Can we share him?

Yeah - those guys are really clever to get through the wards - especially when you consider these are the next gen kids - and some Auror trainees. It's not like it's amateur hour, huh?

Rose had to buck up to tell Harry. If it were up to her, she would've kept the secret forever, but Scorpius was able to appeal to her compassion for her family. Harry is hurting a lot with this. He always feels an obligation to help - but this involves his family - and his goddaughter and he is taking it pretty hard.

The Fidelius charm is pretty tough to get through - I don't know if Stannous would be able to do it... but maybe...

Thanks again, Erin!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by LightLeviosa5443 

18th August 2014:
Ugh. Poor Rose. So delicate, so precious.

(I swear I thought I reviewed this chapter. I'M SO CONFUSED)

You're making Rose break my heart. NO FAIR. I'm glad that he's stepping up and helping her and just being a good support. And I'm glad that they're maturing in a relationship, hopefully. I just want them to be this cute perfect couple. I wish she would stop doubting Scorpius and he would stop being so afraid. Like you both need each other, admit it!! Oh, she's so insecure. She's breaking my heart. You're breaking my heart.

I LOVE HOW DEFENSIVE ALBUS IS. IT'S PERFECTION.

Harry Knows. He knows. Like there ain't no fooling him. Oh man, Rose, you're asking him to keep it from Ron? This is going to explode when Ron finds out. I don't even think i want to read that scene, that's how terrifying that idea is for me.

I loved this chapter, it was every fabulous wonderful bit of awesome that I expected it to be. Kick me if I don't keep reading in the next week. No, really, tell me to keep reading, I will. I just need to be reminded.

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hi Sweetie!

Your reviews are the BEST. I love your adorable phrases and I'm so glad you like my story! I really don't like the on-again, off-again stories, BUT we can't have a perfect "pie in the sky" relationship right off the bat, can we? At this point, Scorpius is just so heartbroken over the realization of Rose's torture - he doesn't know which way to turn. He wants to be there for her, but doesn't want her to continue to feel like a victim - and this is very new territory for him. He's walking a fine line.

Al is awesome. Awesome Al. He's got Ginny's passion and when it comes to those he loves, he can't keep it in.

Rose is being a bit naive when it comes to her parents. I think part of her *is* trying to protect them, but also, she doesn't want to deal with their reactions to all of it. To here, they're "Mum and Dad," not two thirds of the Golden Trio.

Thanks again, hon - I LOVE all the reviews.

Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by luciusobsessed 

15th July 2014:
I love Harry so much. This is making me want to have a movie marathon and I think I will after catching up on all the chapters. Harry is the sweetest most caring person ever and I'm trying not to cry right now. I wish I had an uncle like him in my life and family like the Potters and Weasleys. Sorry I'm getting too personal and dramatic. You're such an amazing writer and your story is so amazing. I'm so attached haha. I like how Rose has that small voice in her head that doubts Scorpius. That's how I always am too, there's always that small room for doubt so I can really connect with her character over that. I loved this :))

Author's Response: Hey, hey!

Harry Potter movie marathon - great idea! Let's do it! My adult version of Harry is that he has a little of Dumbledore's wisdom about him. He has matured from the teenage hothead, and since he isn't being hunted down by the Dark Lord anymore, he is able to think clearer and be a fantastic Head Auror.

Haha - I think we all want an uncle like Harry. He is so awesome!

I don't think Rose is doubting Scorpius, but maybe thinking that she doesn't deserve him because she is "damaged." Poor thing, she just can't see that he is willing to do anything for her. The early part of relationships are all about trying to figure out what the other person is thinking or if they feel the same way about you.

Thanks again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by kenpo 

11th July 2014:
ARGH! Poor poor poor Rose! It's so horrible that right when she was starting to feel better and move past it... boom. Nope! You don't get to feel better, Rose. I'm glad that she's at least letting Scorpius try to help her. I love how respectful and understanding he is, asking if it's okay for him to sit on the bed. I'm also so happy that they finally decided to... you know... TELL SOMEONE. Harry knowing about it can only mean good things, I hope. Harry's in a tricky spot, though, not being able to tell Ron and Hermione about it. I really hope that Rose is eventually able to open up to her parents. I think it might help out with her healing process.

I'm really interested to see if they'll move to number 12!! I didn't see that coming, but I'm curious to see how they'd all react to living under the same roof.

Another great chapter!

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: Hey,

I knew you'd be happy to see that the Ministry was brought up to speed on the details. There was no way that Al, Dom and Scorp could gloss this one over. They would have been kicked out of the program for sure.

Yeah, Rose did put Harry in a bad spot. On one hand, he isn't going to betray Rose in any way if he can help it, but he has certain obligations to uphold as Head Auror.

I think it is hard for kids to see their parents as anything other than the authority figures that raised them. Rose really believes that her parents can't handle the truth about her abduction. This is aided by the fact that The Golden Trio (and the Malfoys for that matter) haven't really discussed the war in detail with their kids. I think it is just something that everyone wanted to put behind them. Rose sees how others react to her parents, but she doesn't really GET that part of their lives.

Glad you like the part about number 12 - it should be fun!

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by lindslo2012 

18th June 2014:
Beth,
Once again you have created an amazing chapter.
I feel so very bad for Rose. it must not be easy going through what she did poor girl... I wish for her that it didn't have to happen. I think that it is quite scary and very familiar that one of the kids are going through something dangerous. I would kind of expect the kids of Harry, Hermione, and Ron to not have it 100% easy like otheer children who didn't have parents that defeated Voldemort. Some people will obviously be angry- and this man is obviously perverted seeming and angry, I don't like him one bit. I wish Harry could immediately know where this man went and put an end to everything but we both know that more has to happen before the issue is put to rest for good. Scorpius was very sweet in this chapter to her and I am so happy that Rose has a strong guy like him to lean on because he too went through a bunch. Well Beth, as usual, good job! :D
Until next time,
Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi Lindsey,

Sorry that I'm so late in getting back to you on this review! Work has been insane lately, but it is letting up - and THAT means more time on HPFF!! So, there should be faster updates and quicker responses (and of course, more reivews!).

I think Harry wishes he knew where Stannous was as well. He is not about to take this one lying down and is planning on using all of his devices to find this dude. Unfortunately, Rose kind of handcuffed him with refusing to let Ron or Hermione in on the details, so he can't go full-out Bad Auror just yet. He does have a plan, though...

Scorpius is being really great. He is still a bit unsure of how to help Rose the best, so he walks on eggshells for a bit. It is really tough to know exactly what someone needs. Especially since she experienced something that he hasn't.

Thanks again, Lindsey! I will re-request from you. Your reviews are always uplifting for me!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLane 

14th June 2014:
Poor Rose. Just when she was beginning to recover a little, that guy shows up again and retraumatises her.

I love the way you show the lingering impacts and don't have her just wake up the next morning and go on about her business. I especially like the way you show the physical effects of the trauma. It's so realistic and impacting.

I also like the way Scorpius and the others don't always know how to help her. Sometimes stories make everybody way more effective than people would probably really be. In real life, people make mistakes and say the wrong thing, so it's good to see people in stories do that too.

Those sobs of relief and realisation sound healing. Of course, she'd not going to recover all at once, but it sounds like she's taken a step towards it.

And this sort of explains why he's not in jail. It sounds as if he went on the run. It also sounds as if he's done more than just kidnap and torture Rose, if he's the most wanted dark wizard of the day. However, the question still remains as to why he'd risk his liberty by breaking into the flat of somebody connected to so many Aurors and trainee Aurors and HOW he could do so despite all the protective wards? This is intriguing.

Yikes, when that guy grabbed her at the party, I thought he was just a nasty character. Looks like there's more to it than that.

I can understand why she doesn't want Ron knowing. I think Harry has a point too. After all Ron dealt with Hermione being tortured pretty much in front of him. But he does tend to overreact and knowing about this might affect how he'd act if he arrested this guy.

Author's Response: Hi again,

Thank you so much for the compliments regarding the lingering trauma. It doesn't go away overnight. Healing is always a series of a few steps forward and then one or two steps back. And now there is a bit of added pressure that Stannous appears to be after Rose again. He IS the most wanted wizard of the day, primarily because he seems to be so difficult to catch - and the fact that he kidnapped the child of the golden trio. I'm so glad I've intrigued you!

Rose is trying to protect her parents here, but I don't think she realizes just how tough Ron and Hermione are. We never do see our parents for their accomplishments - to us, they are just Mum and Dad!

Ron is a little irrational when it comes to people he loves. He would probably go a bit barmy over the whole ordeal...

Thanks again for the kind words!


 Report Review

Review #19, by CambAngst 

3rd June 2014:
Hi, Beth!

After I read this chapter, I sort of thought of it as the "aftermath" chapter to the combination of the attack on Rose and Al and Scorpius's violent release of frustration. I felt pretty sure that there were going to be consequences on both sides of the relationship. Both of them were forced -- in a pretty horrible way -- to come to terms with some things that they've been avoiding dealing with since the beginning of the story. It felt about right to have a chapter where they were able to take half a step back and retrench a bit.

I guess it made sense that Rose would be a little freaked out about finding Scorpius in her bed. And hurling a Stunner at his head... I guess we'll write that off to still being completely on tilt after her near abduction. Honestly, I love what you did with the whole interaction. Again -- and I think I comment on this in nearly every review -- the pacing was fantastic. You gave both of them time to get past their difficulties and come back to one another in a way that didn't feel rushed or contrived.

The numbness that had acted like a bubble around me had been peeled away and I was raw and open. I felt too much at once and the aching was unbearable. -- Oddly enough, that's one of the most healthy-sounding things Rose has said or thought in the story so far. She's put off dealing with all of this for far too long.

I'm really glad that he talked Rose into telling Harry about what happened. It's another important step in her healing process, I think. She needs to stop acting as though she's responsible somehow for what happened. She needs to stop feeling like the world isn't interested or isn't willing to do something about it.

I just noticed something interesting. Not sure whether this is on purpose or not, but here goes. If you take Stannous's first name and add in a few letters, it sure looks a lot like LEstRanGE. In fact, the four letters you'd need to add are the first four of his last name. And the surviving Lestranges are Draco's uncles. Curious...

So Harry... Harry was the one part of the chapter where I felt like you needed a little more work. I don't want this to sound too harsh, but he came off flat. Here he is, finding out that his favorite niece and goddaughter was nearly abducted, that there was a fire fight in her home involving another one of his nieces, his son and his son's best friend, that the man who tried to abduct her was the same man who actually abducted her once before and also that her abductor tortured her with a modified Unforgiveble Curse. Given all of that, I didn't think his reaction was nearly strong enough. He just acts sort of shocked, dumbfounded and confused. I would have expected lots of emotions: anger, hurt, sorrow and frustration to name a few. I would have expected him to pull Rose into a hug the way he probably did when she was little, to make sure that she knew that he wasn't going to rest until Stannous was admiring the walls of Azkaban from the inside. Also -- and this is not the biggest part of the problem, but it contributes -- his dialog felt very stiff and formal. No contractions and kind of wordy in places. This sentence stuck out in my mind: However, I will honor your wishes, as I encourage you to reconsider. I did like that Rose runs back to him for that hug, but I wouldn't have expected her to need to do that, since Harry should have been all over it.

So, Grimmauld Place. I love the canon setting! Can't wait to see what's shaking there.

I think this chapter was a great change of pace after the past two emotional bombshells. Beautifully written, no typos or other problems that I could see. Be back soon for the next!

Author's Response: Hi Dan,

I'm not sure if you read my review responses, but I'm going to act like you do - haha! I like to respond to all of them (then I get sad when my "unanswered reviews" is 0).

I'm going to respond to your cc first to get it out of the way. I thought about this. A lot. When I was writing it I thought about it a lot, too. I think that Harry is a lot less hot-tempered as an adult than he was in the books. He was a teenager, for one thing, had the weight of the world on his shoulders and was harboring a piece of Voldemort's soul. As he got older and took on the role as head of the auror department (I never know if I should capitalize that or not), he becam a lot more wise (for lack of a better word). I see him as almost Dumbledore-esque. To me, this is a natural result of him being seen (whether he wanted to be or not) as a leader in the wizarding world. People would seek him out for advice on all sorts of things. While I don't think he particularly enjoys all of that, I think that over time, he has come to embrace it. Also, we are seeing this from Rose's perspective and although she can see Harry's facial expressions, she doesn't know what is going through his mind. It is mentioned in a later chapter that Harry does indeed, have an emotional reaction to this. (I don't think I'm actually giving too much away by saying that). He is processing it AND putting on a brave front for Rose. Given all of that - and all the thinking I've done over this - I think I will be taking another look at that part of the chapter.

Whew! - now that that is out of the way...

Rose and Scorpius are going to take a few steps back after all of this. They were in the "everything is great, honeymoon, rainbows and hearts" stage of their relationship and this *bam* lands them right in the middle of reality. There is not a quick band-aid for this one.

Now about the interesting part of Stannous's name. Hmm. Well, uh.. perhaps I've noticed the same thing. All I'm gonna say.

Thanks again!

Beth



 Report Review

Review #20, by shez 

26th May 2014:
I think your strongest suit is characterization, particularly harry's and albus'. The scorose element is, of course, fabulous- two damaged people coming together to heal each other. I loved dom's 'don't be wishy washy' comment to Scorpius in the last chapter-again, all the characterizations are very solid. That being said, I'd really like to see you explore rose and Scorpius in a way that extends beyond their undying affections for each other. It's not really a critique as much as it my personal opinion (feel free to ignore), but I think there's still plenty you can build on them with (especially with the fantastic set-up). Additionally, I want more information on stannous and why he's just after rose. Also, your writing is very good in the technical sense and I found no major errors. No part in this story was boring- I enjoyed reading it very much, so keep doing what you're doing, but be mindful when developing your villain and where you want things to go in context of rose's character arc. Thanks for writing :)

Author's Response: Hi Shez,

Thanks again for all of these great reviews! I really appreciate the feedback. I have much more planned for Stannous - as well as Rose and Scorpius. Their connection goes beyond needing each other to heal. One of my concerns is that I have drawn out the first part of this story too much. Perhaps you will get a chance to read future chapters that I put up and let me know how you think it is going.

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by emma 

24th May 2014:
it is really good but make it more realistic and put more scorose in there thanks

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for reading and reviewing! The next few chapters have some serious ScoRose in them, and I think you won't be disappointed!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by paddlewaddle 

21st May 2014:
Oh my heart kind of bleeds for the boys in here. The thought of a loved one being harmed beyond what you imagined would be quite painful. Some sweet moments between Rose and Scorpius (always a good thing, MORE OF IT WOULD BE GOOD TOO EHEH) and some underlying insecurities about Rose and Scorpius' relationship but it felt slightly forced in this chapter if not a little out of place? but that's just me. Like Scorose moments forever and ever LOL

I can't wait for the upcoming chapters. I'm simply itching for answers to everything. WHO IS STANNOUS REALLY? D:

Author's Response: Hi paddlewaddle!

Ok, so first off, I owe you a HUGE, HUGE apology because you mentioned in your review of the chapter titled "Besieged" that it seemed like it was disconnected. I realized just the other day that I SKIPPED A CHAPTER! I completely forgot to post it. So, it is in the queue right now and it will be chapter 7 (I think it is called "Better"). It is short and is Rose's POV when they are in Harry's office (after Al and Harry have dueled). It doesn't cover Rose and Scorp's first date, like you suggested, but I think it moves the story along a little.

As far as Rose and Scorp are concerned. He is pretty freaked out about her torture and wants to give her some time and space to work it out, but she thinks he isn't interested anymore because of her scars. The next chapter (to be posted AFTER the one I messed up goes up) should satisfy your taste for ScoRose moments - I hope.

As always, thank you so much for taking the time to review!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by Dianainga 

19th May 2014:
I love the relationship that Rose has with her Uncle Harry. It is truly the relationship that I would hope she would have with him! Harry has certainly matured into the loving patriarch of the family! This makes my heart happy.

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for this review! I completely agree! Rose and Harry would have a special, close relationship. In my mind, Ron is so bad with girls - they make him nervous. He would be really, really awkward with his own daughter - especially when she started to grow up. Harry, on the other hand, would be easier to talk to and more understanding.

Thanks again - I really appreciate the review!



~Beth (Veritaserum27)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review