Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

17th January 2017:
So glad to find out Rose wasn't captured again and that she was at home and had her friends around to help her. I was really impressed with Dom and Selenia here - they are exactly the sorts of friends she needs, strong, caring, and level headed in a crisis.

This chapter was so powerful emotionally, particularly that scene where Scorpius and Al go to vent some steam, and Scorpius realizes how he feels about Rose, and they're both just angry because there's nothing they can do at the moment and that they couldn't do anything before, or that they just found out Rose has been suffering alone for two years- and are just taking out all of that on the forest. (But, as a botanist I admit I kind of cringed at all the destruction of trees. I know this makes me sound insensitive but, the trees!)

This really was an impressive chapter though, character wise. And I'm so glad Rose will be okay- but what an absolutely terrifying thing to witness, and then to find out that she has these deep scars she's been hiding for so long. In a way, though, I'm glad her friends know about them now because it's a lot easier to share a burden than to carry it alone, and maybe it'll give her the freedom to feel safe talking about it to her friends.

As always, wonderful writing, Beth. ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by oldershouldknowbetter 

8th January 2016:
I simply cannot believe it, I have a moment to review for the BvB and pop onto the thread only to find that once again I have the pleasure of reviewing your wonderful story once again.

Firstly, a big phew. Rose wasn't taken by Stannous in the last chapter, instead she was claimed by the arms of Morpheus. That's why we didn't know what happened to her, she had lapsed into unconsciousness from her ordeal. It is great that Scorpius is there, right on hand to aid her.

But he's not much help, Rose is in a very nasty way. From Selenia's administrations, we find out that there is nothing really physically wrong with her. It really brings it home to your readers the torture that Stannous must have put her through - to have his presence and only an attempt to try to spirit her away cause such emotional turmoil, enough to manifest itself so physically it has left such raw emotional scars upon the poor girl.

Soon enough though the others find that there are more than merely physical scars left upon her body. As her shirt rides up, it reveals the scars from the Crucio Flagrante. No one has seen them before. This is the very point that concerned me with your re-write, that surely somebody would have seen the scars before now, but that is the whole point. Rose has obviously been so withdrawn into herself, keeping herself from anyone due to the shame she perceives her scaring to be. It's really tragic, because she has also cut herself off from the comfort that she would receive from her friends and family.

Within all this emotional mess, there is a lovely little bit of characterisation for Scorpius. It's always a trap that an author falls into with characters that they love of making them too perfect. Here you give Scorpius a very understandable and logical flaw. We have seen him act with presence of mind in the heat of the moment and - a bit of a spoiler here - we shall she him do so again and again in the chapters to come. But he admits to us here that after the adrenaline has calmed down, he is not so good. The calm methodicalness that is required for a healer in these circumstances is not his to have. It also shows us how well the pair of Rose and Scorpius will compliment each other.

There is one positive thing out of the whole mess though, Scorpius realises the true depths of his feelings and love for Rose. He has thought so before, but now he knows how irrevocably he has fallen for her.

Scorpius too wonders just how Stannous has managed to breach the wards on the flat, time and time again. There must be more to this and knowing your skills as an author, the nature of it will be revealed in the exactly appropriate time and manner.

Some of the truth is finally revealed to her closest friends - Stannous didn't touch her except for the casting on her of his twisted version of the Cruciatus curse.

Scorpius almost looses it, and is prevented from seeing Rose by Dom. I can understand it, at the moment she needs her female friends and calm. She might be too upset by seeing Scorpius at this moment because he is the one whom she would be the most anxious about what his reaction to the scars might be. It is understandable, but so is Scorpius' reaction.

Luckily for him we have that caring friend in Albus by his side. Albus drags him away and Scorpius has enough prepossession to allow himself to be led. They apperate to the Forest of Dean, a good pull from the books, by the way. And what ensues is a scene filled with too much emotion (and wanton tree destruction) that I can say little about except that it is deftly handled by the author who never allows it to fall into the ludicrous.

We are treated though to a display of just how powerful Albus is as a wizard. The fight with his father was just the tip of his capabilities we have to now realise.

Scorpius berates himself as much as he hates Stannous: he should have known; he should have been there for her; he will always be there for her from now on. And just after is a beautiful little bonding moment with the two boys who are almost like brothers.

When they come back to the flat, there is also a tender moment between Scorpius and Selenia, that shows how close the two of them are as well. Nothing more to it than they are both in love with people that the other person loves too. We can see in them that mutual camaraderie.

Dom leaves Scorpius with Rose, leaving behind a few choice words too. Ones that I don't think that Scorpius fully deserves, but he - who is ever the harshest upon himself - thinks that he does.

He settles down near to Rose and enters a fitful sleep.

You say in your Author's note that you worked long and hard on this chapter and it shows. At any stage the rawness of the emotions at finally having the evidence of Rose's torture revealed to her friends could have dipped into the maudlin or the other way into the frankly risible, but you avoid either trap and steer a path fraught with emotional context. It is a powerful chapter.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

20th September 2015:
OH thank GOODNESS he didn't get her!! *Finally exhales for the first time since the last chapter* But still though, what is this guy's problem and why is he back trying to kidnap her again?!? Ugh!!

I was glad to see a bit of backstory in the last story about how he kidnapped her. And I was also really happy that now, everyone knows about the scars and what Rose has been going through. Now that everyone knows, they can do everything in their power to keep it from happening again.

I really hope Rose will be okay, and that Scorpius can help her through this! I'm off to the next chapter now!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Okay - so Rose is safe (for now). There's a lot more revealed about *why* Rose is the target later on...

I was a little worried about putting the back story into the chapter during all of the action, but I couldn't find another place to put it - so I'm glad you felt it worked out.

Yeah, Rose is definitely going to need some support to get through this!

As always, thanks SO much for taking the time to review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Tonks1247 

20th June 2015:
Wow. Well, that was just. Wow. Emotion wise, I think you nailed it. I don't know if it's because I'm already so attached to Rose and Scorpius and htem being together or what, but I could feel Scorpius' feelings and his anger. I couldn't exactly keep up with it as soon as the forest game, but it was evident in your writing that his pain was there, that there was anger and everything else. It was really really well written.

On a side note here, Forest of Dean? Brilliant. Perfect place to go destroy some trees and such...

On topic. Dom, Al, Selenia characters were great as well. I love how defined thier characters are, and how they have mannerisms they stick to. I find writing and involving so many characters difficult but you do such a fantastic job. I feel almost as if I could read a situation involving two characters and be able to name which says what or does what. It's really kinda awesome.

There were two small things I noticed in this chapter:

"I did’t know who Albus was asking." -didn't is spelled incorrectly (missed a letter)

"He continued attacking every tree in his path, using nonverbal -spells at this point." -the dash in this sentence really isn't necessary, I don't think...

Overall, fantastic chapter! I'm trying to decide how important sleep is, because if I hold off for just a little while longer, I could get another one or two in...hmm.

-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hi Mikaela!

I'm sorta working backwards through my unanswered reviews, here - and I don't have a rhyme or reason to it, so I might continue in this manner, and I might switch it up ;)

Anyway, I REALLY appreciate all your feed back. I've already updated the chapter with your suggestions - thanks for finding those typos.

This chapter was actually the very first thing I wrote for this novel. I started here and wrote forward for 5 months from this point in the story, THEN I decided to post the story on this site and had to write the beginning chapters. I know it sounds really weird, but I had never written anything before this - and I just kinda did it how it came to me.

Glad you like the Forest of Dean - it comes back later.

Ooo! Thanks for your comment on characterization - I don't have much to say, they are so ingrained in my head, it's almost like I already know how they're going to react to each situation. And I have no explanation for that, other than this story started to form in my head and I couldn't stop it - hee hee!

Thanks again - it was such a treat to wake up this morning to these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Beth! Beth! Beth!

WHY MUST YOU BREAK MY HEART LIKE THIS?!

The descriptions of Rose flipping out were heartbreaking and awful and scary. I said this in the last review, but I'll say it again. I'm so happy that Selenia and Dom managed to keep a cool head. They not only managed to save her from being kidnapped, but also helped her when she started having her violent anxiety fueled meltdown. It was truly gut-wrenching to read about.

The scene where Scorpius and Albus were destroying the forest was a great way to convey how they were feeling. I mean sure you could have explained it in a dialogue, but the moment where Albus throws an Avada Kedavra illustrates it better than anything anyone could've said. Scorpius and Albus are beyond furious and Stannous is a dead man walking.

Still my biggest question is why no one alerted Harry or Ron. I know that they're all adults, but Harry is the Head Auror and should be made aware. Furthermore, I wonder how his Stannous jerk is still wandering around freely after everything he did to Rose. I can't imagine that Harry or Ron wouldn't have beat him to death with their bare hands had they known.

This was a tough chapter to read, but it does what it's supposed to within the story. The technical aspect of your writing has been flawless thus far. Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey there Kaitlin,

I'm still working through my unanswered reviews and it is so difficult to convey my appreciation with such awesome reviews like this - thank you for your kind words!

Rose is in a really bad place right now and the realization of just how awful her trauma was is too much for the rest of the group to bear. As for why they didn't summon Harry - well, I think it had to do a bit with of youthful arrogance/foolishness. This group are super talented Auror and Healer trainees and they don't exactly think they need the help of their *elders.* Kinda like Harry, Ron and Hermione - there were many times they should've just told an adult about things, but decided to handle it themselves - haha.

Anyway, you'll soon see that Harry won't be out of the picture for very long - ;)

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Wow!

I love Scorpius. He is cute and thoughtful even while he is freaking out and burning down a whole forest.

Both Albus and Scorpius show immense power in the forest when they try to vent their anger.

I hope they won't do anything rash, they should report this to Harry and get some help.

I have a feeling that Scorpius knows what he is getting himself into, somehow I think he won't leave Rose's side again if she doesb't order him away.

~Anja

Author's Response: Hey there Anja!

This was the very first chapter that I wrote for this story. I know - it's so weird, but this is what came out first. Then I wrote forward for several chapters and when I finally drummed up the courage to post this, I went back and wrote the beginning.

Good observations on Scorpius. He's in it for the long haul. He wants Rose to know that she's the only thing that matters to him now.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by crestwood 

23rd December 2014:
Hello Beth!

This chapter was SO impactful. Even by the standards of this story, and that's saying something. You really write these scenes of absolute chaos remarkably well. The way you paint the desperation and the trauma that everything is going through is striking. You manage to make even the aftermath of a tense chapter tense in its own right.

And finally, they know about the scars. I can hardly believe all of this is happening. You make me care about these characters way too much. It's like--I feel as though I am there with them and feeling everything they're feeling. I can barely separate this work of fiction from witnessing these things happening and it's unnerving in all the right ways. You're so gifted to write like this. I have no idea how you even manage.

Scorpius and Al's trip into the woods is one of the most realistic things here. It's such a typical thing of certain friends to have those kind of mutually agreed upon stress reliever activities. The fact that neither said out loud where they were going, but both knew speaks volumes. Furthermore, your prose in that section was wonderful and their introspection is as well. It is beyond amazing that you manage to do this again and again. This as a Scorpius chapter could not be executed any better.

Dom is an excellent character. The way she addressed Scorpius about Rose was much needed and well timed. She seems to be the defacto leader of the group, as well as the most emotionally mature. She understands exactly what kind of effect all of this has had on Rose and how grave it all is and it's wonderful to see her assert herself. Even better is that Scorpius takes her words in and, rather than feel as though she was criticizing him, correctly allows himself to admit that she is right.

Your writing is just impeccable always. It's such an awesome constant in my life to know that anything you write will move me this way. You continue to inspire and challenge me with everything you do. Thank you for the swap :)

Author's Response: Hey Joey,

I'm completely horrible for taking far too long to respond to this, but I'm finally getting around to it.

This was the first chapter that I wrote for this story - the very first thing. And I'm pretty happy to say that not much changed in the editing to the final version.

Eeep! Thanks! That is so warming to hear that you care about the characters enough to want to read more! Yay!

Yes! You picked up on all the subtle points I was trying to make - specifically about Scorpius being ready to hear Dom's message. He will be there for Rose - even if he isn't exactly sure how to do that yet - he's invested and not backing away.

Yikes - I just re-read that last part and you're making me blink really fast right now. I can't even with you, Joey!

Thanks so much! We really should do more swaps!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by mymischiefmanaged 

20th December 2014:
And now part three of the swap :)

Oo, I liked last chapter but I think I like this one even more.

I love Selenia's cool efficiency. She's obviously worried and upset about her best friend, but you can totally see that she knows what she's doing and is going to do everything she can to make it better. Also I like that she completely takes over as the one who's looking after Rose. She recognises that Scorpius isn't in the right frame of mind and does what she needs to do for her friend. Love her.

Al and Scorpius thinking about what might have happened to Rose is touching and beautifully written, and then their apparating to the forest is just perfect for the situation. They let themselves feel angry but don't take it out on the people they care about (even though it would be easy to do). Also I like that this obviously isn't the first time they've done this. You give them a very convincing, strong friendship.

And then I'm glad Scorpius comes back to Rose when he can. He does what he needs to do so that he can get into the right frame of mind to be what she needs him to be, and you write that very well.

This is another fantastic chapter. Really really enjoyed reading it!

Thanks for the swap! Let me know any time you want to swap again :)

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hiya Emma!

Thanks so much for the three-part swap! I'm so glad you liked this chapter. It was the first one that I wrote for the story - and very little of it got changed when I finally posted it.

Selenia is a fantastic Healer - cool under pressure, but caring and knowledgeable at the same time. And a fabulous friend, to boot.

Al and Scorp needed to get their emotions out. And they needed each other as well.

Scorpius really does want to be there for Rose - he just doesn't exactly know *what* to do for her - so, at this point, he is settling for physically being next to her as much as he possibly can.

Thanks again Emma! I love review swapping with you!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by UnluckyStar57 

21st October 2014:
Holy... wow. More loaded chapter-ness!

Good gosh, this is review 250 for this story. I'd better make this a good one!

So... There was so much aggression, so much anger from Al and Scorpius, and through their awful rage, I could really see how their own pasts were impacting the feelings of guilt that they were having about Rose and Stannous. Scorpius has had a pretty messed up life, and Albus has a few daddy issues to worry about. They love Rose, but they were too wrapped up in themselves to really question the damage that Stannous did to her in the past. This chapter is the unveiling, the revelation of that particular mystery, and now that their eyes are opened, they feel terrible. I loved how united they were in those moments, vowing to protect Rose and seek out Stannous and his gang in order to exact revenge for Rose's suffering.

Ugh, the encounter with Stannous had a bigger impact on Rose than you let on in the previous chapter! Convulsions, vomiting, blacking out, et cetera--that's something that sounds truly terrible to experience, and even though she didn't feel any pain after she blacked out, it must have been scary. I don't blame Dom for telling Scorpius and Al to back off! After all, they have no idea what to do to help Rose. Destroying the Forest of Dean is pretty much their only way to release their frustrations!

Over all, this was a really awesome chapter. There were so many raw emotions there, especially with Al and Scorpius in the forest. One thing that I would recommend to you is that you maybe put a little more description into Rose's whole convulsion/fainting scene. It feels a little bit sparse compared to the massive picture that you paint during the boys' scene. Playing up the drama is never a bad thing (usually)! Also, just be sure to check your verb tenses and spelling whenever you edit. There was nothing major, but as always, it's nice to go back and catch the little things that you miss when first posting a chapter. :)

Brilliant work! I will continue reviewing this story whenever I find the time and/or get a chance to catch you in the Review Battle! :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Yay!

250 reviews - thank you so much! *dances around the room*

Yeah - this chapter is a giant ball of emotion. It was actually the first thing I wrote for the story and most of it stayed intact.

Good point about their pasts affecting their reactions. They are feeling so much guilt and rage that it just had to come out. They both love Rose so much - and the fact that they didn't know the whole truth about her kidnapping is haunting them.

Dom and Selenia were pretty much the same, although they chose to deal with it differently. They needed Rose to feel safe and calm. Knowing the temper that Al has and the way Scorp feels so connected to Rose, they just wanted to let them deal with it first before they could be effective at helping her. You'll see in the next chapter that the boys are still a little lost as to how best to do that...

Thanks for the tips - I'll give it a look over with the edits you suggested. And I can't wait to see what you think as the story unfolds!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by slytherinchica08 

25th September 2014:
WHY YOU DO THIS TO ME?! I swear I should never read your story while I'm at work for fear of me tearing up and gasping, and yelling at my screen for all that you are putting me through.

I felt so bad for Al and Scorp in this chapter, as well as everyone else, but to me those two really stood out and made me feel so horribly for them. Al is definitely a powerful wizard, you can see that very clearly with these past few chapters and I can only imagine that that is going to come into play in the future chapters. Scorp is also powerful in his own right but definitely not nearly as powerful as Al. I still love the dynamic you have between the two as friends. They lean on each other and understand each other so well and its just a really nice to see. You can really feel Scorps pain in this chapter. He feels like he let her down, not knowing that she had all these scars on her body. But of course, Rose has been very careful to make sure that no one knew about them so its not his fault about that. Although with the ending it seems like something did happen in the past where Scorpius let Rose down and it seems like maybe it had something to do with this whole situation. But I guess only time will really tell for me.

I love how well these chapters flow. I never trip over anything while reading and there aren't any mistakes that glare out at me either. Its all just really well written and very enjoyable to read! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi!

I have to admit, I did chuckle a bit at this review. I didn't mean to make you gasp or tear up. But this chapter is pretty intense. Actually, it is the first thing I wrote for this story. I wrote from here forward and then filled in the previous chapters.

Scorpius just... doesn't know what to do with himself. He wants so, so much to be there for Rose, but he just doesn't know how to approach her. He doesn't want to disregard her horrible experiences, but also doesn't want to make her feel like a victim.

The past experiences between Rose and Scorp are the ones mentioned earlier - when he was sleeping around Hogwarts. He didn't know she had feelings for him (*she* didn't even know that) and he was still grieving for his parents. Nonetheless, they two of them danced around each other and never quite took that step - they were just really good friends.

Thanks for the compliment about the flow of writing - I'm so relieved. I edit each chapter several times, and read and reread, so it's good to know that is coming through. (sometimes you read it over so many times, you don't even know what it's saying anymore - haha)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by Infinityx 

10th August 2014:
Swappy swap time and wow. Just wow. That has got to be the most intense chapter I've read. I vaguely remember already reading this a while back, but I'm not sure how far I got so I'm reviewing this chapter as I remember most of the events till here.

Poor, poor Rose. Just. I don't even know what to say. There's just that question of "why" throughout. Why her? Why the torture? What did she do to deserve this? Just why? :(

I can't even imagine the extent of torture she must have undergone to get to this state. Scars all over her body. skbflnadl. (I'm repeatedly yelling a variety of strong words in my head.) No wonder she gets panic attacks. She must be so strong. I just want to hug her and tell her she'll be safe but I can't promise that because somehow Stannous got to her again and for some reason it feels like even the strongest wards won't keep him out but I cannot even begin to fathom why.

Oh, Scorpius and Al. That scene in the Forest of Dean. I had tears in my eyes when I read that. This is probably one of the few chapters I've read extremely slowly and thoroughly instead of reading quickly, because it was filled with such powerful scenes and imagery that all the situations are etched in my mind and just. You're going to make me sob and weep and become a huge mess by the time this is over, I know it.

I wish Scorpius could have sat on the bed or laid down next to Rose, but maybe that would have been too close for comfort for her. I'm so glad she has so many people who care about her. But even with so many aurors, why on earth was Stannous able to get to her?! They should protect her better! What in the name of Merlin are they thinking?!

Ok, I'm going to read on now and hope that I don't have a panic attack myself with the amount of exhilaration and feels rushing through me. Fantastic chapter, Beth, and if I die because of this I'm taking you with me. :P Ily.

Author's Response: Hi Erin!

Wow! Thank you so much for this completely awesome review.

This is probably the most intense chapter of the entire story so far. The most recent chapter is also pretty intense, but in a different way.

Yeah. Stannous is a pretty bad dude. He's sick and twisted and basically insane, plus a pretty powerful wizard so all of that adds up to some serious problems for Rose.

Rose is really strong! She just doesn't see it yet. I think, when someone is going through a serious trauma like that, they can't see past their own suffering - and don't even realize. She has tried to distract herself - and now has a little something going on with Scorpius, but I don't think she would've ever felt complete if he didn't know about her past. I think it would've got in their way of being an honest couple.

At this point, Scorpius isn't sure what to do for Rose. He's grappling with the truth himself, and wants so much to be there for her, but isn't quite sure how to go about it. Hmmm... that is interesting about how Stannous has been able to get through the wards, isn't it? All I'm gonna say.

She does have a really great support group and they all want her to get better - so that is a start!

Oh no! Please don't have a panic attack and definitely don't die! Goodness, I don't think I could handle that - haha!

Thanks again, for these lovely words!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by amelia_rose_pond 

21st July 2014:
I really enjoyed the intensity and accuracy of this chapter! You captured the raw emotion and uncontrollable anger that comes from pain so well! I found myself getting angry with scorpius and albus. So good job, you did a fantastic job!!

Author's Response: Hello!

So nice of you to drop by for this wonderful review. Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad that you found the emotion and pain to feel real. I worked hard to get the emotion just right.

Thanks again!

P.S. Love your username and quote - Matt Smith is MY Doctor!

Beth (Veritaserum27)


 Report Review

Review #13, by luciusobsessed 

15th July 2014:
Wow, I think this was definitely my favorite chapter so far. It was so so so intense I can't even…I gasped so many times. Poor Rose :( They finally discovered the scars on her back and it made them go crazy. I love how protective they all are of her. I wish I was part of their group/family honestly. It was really scary imagining Albus and Scorp torturing those poor trees, especially when Albus used the killing curse. That was crazy intense. I'm glad that they're all sticking together, especially Scorp with Rose. He better not play the hero and give up lol.

Author's Response: Yeah, this chapter was a doozie. Actually it was the first chapter that I wrote for the story. It sounds weird, but it just came out and was edited a little from its original form, but the scene with the trees is pretty much intact. The Weasleys are a tight bunch and fiercely loyal - every last one of them. Unfortunately, they are in a situation where they are totally helpless here.

Glad you like Dom's character. She tells it like it is - no filter or sympathy for anyone's feelings - haha!

Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by kenpo 

10th July 2014:
OHmygod this was so intense too, and I just read it super fast because I wanted to get through it faster than I can actually read because I just want to know what happens and asdlfjaoeij. Pretty much. Just alsjdfaoe.

Okay, it would terrifying to be in this situation. For anyone. Rose is fighting, and it's so ridiculously hard on her, and then Al and Scorpius are trying to come to terms with everything (loved the tree scene, by the way), and I want them all to be better!

I feel so bad for them. I hope Al and Scorpius keep their cool.

I'm also glad that the girls are holding their own and doing what they need to do. I also think that they should probably make sure the Ministry knows what happened... or do they know? I'm foggy on the first 4 chapters or so...

UGH I really hope that Scorpius doesn't get too freaked out by how intense it is. I know that he says that he'll be there for her, but after going through this a few times it might weigh down on him too much! I hope not. It's good that Rose has so many people that care about her!

I'm just totally freaked out by this chapter and I feel so bad for them. I had to reread it to make sure I got everything.

This was so good. Lsjfadfj. I can't make words. I'm sorry if these reviews are really lame, because I'm trying to read as much as I can before I have to leave!!!

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: Hello Georgia,

Yeah, this is probably the most intense chapter that I've written so far. A lot of raw emotion from Albus and Scorpius. They needed to get it all out in a (relatively) healthy and safe manner. The girls are also in a bit of a protective mode regarding Rose. Scorpius doesn't have the best track record to this point. Selenia is a bit more willing to give him a chance.

Scorp is pretty serious about being there for Rose. I think he's turned a corner.

Your reviews are totally awesome (and not lame at all). I really loved this one. This chapter was a big one for me and I'm so glad that you liked it!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by LightLeviosa5443 

29th June 2014:
Hi! Prepare for a psycho review, man!

This chapter is killing me. I want to hug Rose and I want to hug Scorpius and ugh. Poor things. Poor Rose, she didn't want anyone to see those scars. Ugh. So, does Dom know about it? Or does she know parts? I'm so glad that Selenia was there and that someone thought to send a patronus to the boys. I love that Rose fought right up until the end. So great. So brave. So proud of her.

I literally want to cry right now. Like, I just feel so bad for Rose and poor Scorpius and Albus trying to come to terms with the whole thing. Ugh. It's just totally breaking my heart. I seriously want to cuddle them all. I love that they go to the Forest of Dean and are hurting trees to work off their frustration. I'm so glad they didn't go to a bar or something. I really wish Scorpius could hold Rose. I get the girl time, I'm glad she's having the girl time, but I really just wish he could hold her. I think they'd both feel a little bit better.

I'm so proud of the girls for holding their own. Are they going to report this to the ministry? I should probably just keep reading, shouldn't I? Okay, I'll do that.

I love the "my rose" I love that. I love him. I love them. Please tell me they're going to be a solid unit - I'll just go read the message to find out. :P I will probably catch up on this today so you should totally post the next chapter soon. Like, I don't think I can not read it. I have a party in an hour and I'm seeing people I haven't seen in months and I don't want to go because I want to keep reading. That's how I feel right now. Yeah.

I wish he could've gotten into bed with her. I won't lie. Like just layed next to her.

I'm glad that the girls talked to him. I'm glad that he's here to stay. Ugh. My heart hurts but I'm so happy. This chapter was so intense and there were so many steps and just woah. So great. So great. Beth. I love this story. I'm so proud of you, writing this amazing story. It's so perfect.

Off to the next chapter!! (I'm sorry if these reviews get shorter, I might just keep reading and open each chapter in a new tab and review later. I need to read them before I go to this party!!!)

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Sarah, Sarah, Sarah!

Thank you so much for this! I can't tell you how excited I am with this review!!! This COMPLETELY MADE MY DAY!

Rose DID fight back - for the first time. Although the ending was a little rough for her.

And the realization was pretty rough for Scorp and Al. At this point Scorpius just wants to protect Rose and be there to help her through this, but he really isn't sure how to go about that. The girls are being a bit protective because of Scoprius's past... indiscretions. They are not about to let her be hurt by him again - even if they know he is what she really needs right now.

As far as the solid unit goes... well they have a bit of an obstacle to overcome at the moment. It's not going to be easy - even though it is obvious to everyone else that they are meant to be together ♥

I hope you made it to your party!

Thanks again - this review was awesome!


 Report Review

Review #16, by lindslo2012 

16th June 2014:
Hey there,
Here for another requested review. Sorry it took forever but I don't get to get on very much.
I was like glued to the screen since the beginning of this chapter- I was the same way with the other chapters but this one, as you warned me, was intense. Wow, that sucks that this is happening to Rose and it's pretty awesome that she has so many people around her that care about her and all of the next generation kids are as strong as their parents before them. Wow, the kids in your story impress me! I think this is one of the best next gen stories I have read for sure. I hated that Scorpius had to watch Rose go through what she did but it is good that he was respectful enough to give her the space she needed for people to take care of her like they needed to. I can tell that you worked hard on this chapter, it shows for sure because it is so well put together! :)
I can't wait to read the next chapter and I'll get to it when I can or of course you can re-request!
Good job as always!!!
Until next time,
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi Lindsey!

I love every single one of your reviews and I don't think you take a long time at all!

This was actually the first chapter that I wrote for this story - I think I told you already that sometimes I start in the middle. I wrote from this part for about ten chapters. Then I went back and wrote the beginning! Weird, huh? Most of the original writing made it to the final cut, so I think I was just really feeling it when I wrote it all down.

Thanks again - I am so glad you like this story and I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of it!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by MargaretLane 

14th June 2014:
I am really enjoying this story. I've been rather busy lately, so haven't had much time to read, but was really looking forward to getting back to this story.

Like the part where Rose starts getting sick. It really shows what a shock the whole thing is to her. You really portray her trauma.

And I have a LOT of questions, like how come he didn't go to Azkaban for what he did, how he got into the flat and why he wants to. Surely he is risking a lot just to go after her again. He must really want something from her. I'm wondering who the other wizards were too. That implies he's not just some lone vicious guy who likes hurting young women.

And it looks like Scorpius is blaming himself, which is understandable, but I think he is being pretty harsh on himself. It sounds like Rose didn't want to talk about it and it's hard to know what to do in situations like that, whether pushing somebody to confide in you would help them or stress them out more. Plus he was very young. I know when I was 18 or 19, I certainly wouldn't go asking about something like that. I wouldn't have known how to deal with whatever I might hear.

I like the way you show Albus and Scorpius's anger too and their feelings of helplessness and hurt and that you have Selenia point out that Rose needs Scorpius and that it's not about him playing the hero to make himself feel good and then disappearing. Or shouldn't be.

Author's Response: Hello!

Can I just say how much I love your reviews?? It is so rewarding to see someone notice all the details I put into the story! (It also makes me nervous that I'm going to slip up and forget to include an important clue - haha).

I was actually worried about portraying Rose's trauma accurately. Admittedly, I have never been kidnapped and tortured by a dark wizard (thank goodness!), so I wanted to create that deep emotion without going overboard with it. I can however, relate to having a horrible event happen to you that seems to pervade your life and you must "put up a good front" for the others around you.

So... to answer your questions: Stannous didn't go to Azkaban because he was never caught. He returned Rose to Hogsmeade and apparated away before anyone noticed. He has been on the run for the past two years. This is mentioned in a later chapter, but maybe I should put in a line earlier in the story.

It IS rather curious how he got into the flat, isn't it? Hmmm...

He is definitely after Rose Weasley and no one else. All I'm gonna say right now - sorry!

Scorp is taking this pretty hard, Albus too, but I think that Scorpius's feelings for Rose are so deep that he can't help but blame himself. Given that, he still isn't sure what to do to help her. They are in a rough spot right now.

The scene with Albus and Scorpius at the forest was actually the first thing I wrote for this story. I started there and wrote the next ten or so chapters. Then I finally drummed up enough nerve to post the story and I had to go back and write the beginning! I know that sounds really weird, but that is how it happened.

Thanks again - I cherish all of your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by CambAngst 

27th May 2014:
Hi, Beth! I enjoyed your new chapter immensely, so I figured I should come back and review another one. Soon, I will catch up!

One thing that strikes me again and again as I read this story is what good friends Rose and Scorpius have. I started to say friends and family, but, well, you can’t choose your family. Dom and Selenia have a strong sense of what Rose needs and how Scorpius fits into that equation. Al seems to have a pretty good grasp on what Scorpius needs and at least he stays out of the way where Rose is concerned. That’s about the most you can hope for in a guy. ;)

Poor Scorpius! I mean, I feel like I should say “poor Rose!”, but at least she wasn’t conscious for the post-abduction-attempt trauma. The last of Rose’s secrets is finally out, and it seems to have hit everyone hard. I’m usually not a huge fan of the f-bomb because I think it’s overused in Next Gen stories. Here, it fits the situation perfectly.

I know now that I am completely, irrevocably in love with Rose and I will do anything to keep her safe. -- Well it took you long enough, you big goof!

Albus was just brilliant in this chapter. Brilliant as a friend. Brilliant as an Auror. Brilliant as an exceptionally powerful wizard.

You managed to capture an amazing amount of raw emotion in the barrage of destructive magic Al and Scorpius unleashed. Anger and pain and inadequacy and just plain hurt. Brilliant, beautiful writing.

“Not if I get there first.” I promised. My voice was uneven from the tears and emotion. My Rose. My Rose. I resolved to make this up to her. If I have to, I will spend the rest of my life searching for him, and consoling her. -- I love the statement of unequivocal devotion here.

And my last, and probably favorite, quote from this chapter: ”Scorpius,” she paused at the door and fixed me with a hard stare. “She needs you. You can’t be a wishy-washy _ this time. This is not going to be fixed overnight. Please don’t play the hero for a month and then decide it’s too intense for you.” -- Wow, talk about cutting right to the core of the matter. Yet it seems that Scorpius is ready to hear that message. To embrace it, really. I take this as a very good sign!

Excellent chapter! I didn’t see a thing wrong with it, and there was so much right with it! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi Dan!

Wow. This review caught me off guard. Thank you, thank you. I was having a hard time responding and I think that is why it has taken me so long.

So, confession time: This was actually the very first thing I wrote for this story. I started it here and wrote forward for about four months. Then, I wrote the chapter in Harry's office (The one with Rose and Harry that I accidentally didn't post) and then I wrote the beginning. I've already admitted that I have never written anything before and I am sure that people think this process is weird, but it just sort of happened.

I was really worried that Scorpius came off as a wimp here, so thanks for the vote of confidence.

As far as Al staying out of the way... well, you will see in future chapters that he isn't always so passive. I think, in this case, he is in uncharted waters and is willing to let Scorpius take the lead, for once.

This group is really tight-knit. As far as I see it, Ron, Hermione and Harry would carry their close bond on to their kids. The fact that Scorpius, Rose and Albus were sorted into Ravenclaw made them even closer. And Dom is Rose's closest female cousin, so they have that bond as well - although they are a bit opposite in personality.

Thanks again for such a wonderful review. I look forward to each of your comments!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by luna 

17th May 2014:
All I could think was poor trees :( Also, the crucio curse cannot be thrown off the way the imperius can.

Author's Response: Hi luna!

Thanks for the review!

I know - those trees do take a beating, don't they? Al and Scorp really needed to get out their hurt and frustrations.

Thanks for the tip - I've already updated the chapter to remove the part about throwing off the crucio curse. It is in the queue waiting to be updated.

Thank you for reviewing!

~Beth (Veritaserum27)


 Report Review

Review #20, by paddlewaddle 

3rd May 2014:
Feel like I've been waiting for this chapter since forever! Felt Al and Scorpius' fustration so much that it kind of hurt to see them this angry at themselves for not knowing. In anycase can't wait for the next chapter as the story moves along!

This sentence was a bit awkward so you may want to edit:

"I felt an ache pull at my gut as looked up and down her, trying to figure out if she was bleeding or anything."

Author's Response: Hi paddlewaddle,

Thanks so much for reviewing this chapter as soon as it came out! Al and Scorp both love Rose so much and since they are becoming Aurors, they feel a heavier burden when it comes to her safety.

I agree with that sentence! I remember looking at it and thinking something wasn't right! When I submitted the chapter, however, it was really late at night and I think I was so sleepy I forgot to fix it. Thanks for pointing it out. I will get to it at some point. I have a few other things (in other chapters) that I want to fix, and the queue is usually a few days long, so it may take a bit.

Thanks again for being such a loyal reviewer!

Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review