Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by I love this. So much 

9th January 2017:
This was the chapter that made me save your story onto the favorites of my Safari search engine phone.

It's beautiful. It's heartwrenching. And so, so important. I feel like this is a spot I can really always go back to. I absolutely love the adorableness and importance, truly, the weight of this chapter and also general humor and just clear signs of friendship. Thank you for writing this, for all your work, and sharing it- it's honestly wonderful to read.

Lots of love from here :))

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dumdum 

2nd January 2015:
Wow that went well.
It's nice to see you seal with these circumstances with such realism.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you think so!

 Report Review

Review #3, by kenpo 

18th December 2014:
HOLY CRAP.

This chapter was the best so far, by far. Again.

I... I don't know where to start. I love the way that you're addressing anxiety, for starters. And good on them for being able to talk to each other about it, and for the lack of judgement and everything. It's so good to have a good group of friends when you're in that situation like that.

UGH but them publishing that story was just an awful thing to do! But I suppose it's actually a good thing, because now Scorpius and Albus are being open about their relationship with their parents?

I think it says a lot about the Pureblood mentality that what Malfoy thought about was the bloodline, and children. I also thought that the way you wrote Scorpius' response was brilliant.

Also, I'm proud of Scorpius for the way that he handled it! I'm proud that he went to History of Magic! I wish I could've been more like him when my anxiety made me miss something like 42 days of school my last year of high school.

I really loved this chapter, and I loved the way that you wrote it. I also think it's significant that Scorpius never told them about his Dad's problems. THat shows that people - even the people you're closest to - don't know all you're secrets.

Really moving chapter.

-Georgia

Author's Response: ahh georgia thank you so much

the support network they have is a bit of wish fulfilment on my part because i do wish i'd had something like that when i was at high school it would have made things a lot easier and less scary

the Malfoy family dynamic just fascinates me so much tbh

i'm proud that he went as well! he's a lot stronger than me tbh

i'm glad you enjoyed this chapter and thank you as always for your lovely insightful comments


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sue Clover 

10th December 2014:
They could always adopt. The baby could have a hyphenated name, like Potter-Malfoy or the reverse.

Author's Response: that's true!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell 

19th October 2014:
Okay, this chapter actually put tears in my eyes. Like, eep! Feels! No, but when Scorpius was having his breakdown, it was just so...*sniffs* (no, literally, I sniffled while writing this) saaad. And then their parents' responses were just so in character and so great and I loved how you wrote Draco and how he obviously wasn't perfect and still had his hangups but he loved his son and that thing about the Malfoy name dying out and how he came to accept it and just...just...eep.

Deep breath.

It was very well done.

Favorite quotes:

"You know how the highest praise our teachers give you is that you’re like your mum? Or that Albus is like his dad? The highest praise they give me is that I’m not.”

“But we’re both anticipating the worst here, and if he’s incapacitated by his father’s crushing disappointment, he can’t help me cower from my father’s cold fury. Both tasks will therefore fall to you.”

“Though I always thought Scorp was more likely to be with Rose…heteronormativity makes fools of us all.”
--Bahaha. But really. It does. I've found that trying to avoid assuming that everyone's straight does wonders for keeping everyone out of awkward situations. Best to do your best to never assume.

--Penny

Author's Response: penny thank you for this review and i'm sorry about all the feels in this chapter

i have a lot of emotions about Draco and the Malfoy family in general and Draco's efforts to redeem himself after the war and raise Scorpius differently and honestly the relationship between Scorpius and his father is one of my favourites in this verse

thank you for the review as always and for your favourite quotes!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Yarn_spinner 

14th October 2014:
This was a really well-written chapter (generally, the whole story is well-written). You have just the right amount of humour and drama to keep the reader entertained.

I think you portrayed Draco and Ginny's personalities perfectly. Somehow, I do not believe that Harry would be disappointed if Albus was gay. He has had to put up with being different and being treated differently all his life and knows what it feels like, so I think he would support diversity.

I am glad that you didn't turn Draco into a cold-hearted, self-pitying person. The fact that he has beaten alcoholism shows us that he is in fact very strong and self-disciplined (Although I would like to know why he stopped drinking). And the fact that he accepted his sons sexuality shows us that he is loving and tender. And since he came to tern with his past and realizes that he cannot change it and that some people may hate him for it yet he still carries on shows us that he is persevering.

I enjoyed reading this (and I nearly cried at the end. Keep on writing!

Author's Response: thank you so much, i'm glad you enjoyed this chapter!

i have a LOT of emotions about Draco Malfoy and what he's like as an adult and a father, and a lot of Next Gen fic that i've seen really does his character a disservice by making him as cold and narrow-minded as Lucius (and not even necessarily Lucius, but the way Harry sees Lucius). i firmly believe he redeemed himself and strived to become a better person and to raise Scorpius differently to the way he himself was raised.

thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaur 

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

WHEE AWW THIS CHAPTER ENDED SO WELL YAY IT'S ALMOST ENOUGH TO INVALIDATE THE PAIN I FELT THROUGHOUT IT.

It's really cool that the school has a newspaper but they have no business sticking their noses into other people's private (well, not so private anymore) business and Louis and Lucy are just awful and yeah they deserve a really really bad comeback prank from the Order of the Raven. *evil smile* I do believe this story is making me more ruthless towards characters.

Aww, it's really nice that Rose can calm down Scorpius like that and the way their friendship group is so tight that they all depend on each other is just perfect and so touching and yeah I love it so much. I hope Scorpius is feeling okay now, poor boy. :(

Wahh I loved the little scene with the parents in the room and this is really the perfect way to truly properly bury the hatchet and I loved Astoria's comment about how heteronormativity makes fools of us all because how true is that, honestly? And when Scorp said maybe it was time for the Malfoy name to die out and then Draco agreed it was just so touching and wahh that scene was just so amazing.

I think we got to see a more human side of the Claws in here, the part of them that's not arrogant or pretending to be a supersmart genius. It showed that they do have a side of worry and pain and panic like anyone else and really did a lot to humanise them in my eyes. So yeah, great chapter, Lisa! :D

Author's Response: I'M SORRY ABOUT THE PAIN. WELL I'M SORT OF SORRY ABOUT THE PAIN BUT IT'S ALSO A FUNDAMENTAL PART OF OUR FRIENDSHIP SO

you've always been ruthless towards characters you're just more subtle about it than i am

i actually really love that last point you made because rereading this story has driven home just how PRETENTIOUS this lot is and yeah i'm glad you think this chapter humanised them a bit and made them more sympathetic and relatable, i guess

thank 4 review


 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm 

8th July 2014:
Woah the school has a newspaper that’s really cool! But not cool too for spilling that horrible story about Albus and Scorpius, I wouldn’t be surprised if a relation of Skeeter’s was behind the article as it does sound a lot like her work. Aw, poor Scorpius again with the discussion he and Rose had about the war, his life really isn’t great right now is it? But it must just suck so much when he’s learning it. Bahaha, train Albus that line made me laugh way too much. Yay a revenge plan, I like the sound of this a lot so I really hope it works as it would be so cool if it did! Aw, the parents accepted them and the line about maybe the name needs to die out was so moving and just so erfoperjfgerg.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

Author's Response: the school newspaper has kind of gone downhill over the past few years so they accept any contributions any student gives them (a policy directly inspired by my university's student magazine)

i'm glad you appreciated that line! it hit me like a sucker punch when i first thought of it

thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by newgenerationlover 

7th July 2014:
AWWW!! THEY ARE SO ADORABLE I'M GOING TO CRY!! But seriously, I loved this chapter. My fire of hatred to the Enemy burns more brightly, fueled by that article, but I know they will get what's coming to them in the end ;) I love that we see Scorp's backstory, though it is a rather sad one. I like how you showed all Draco's positive qualities, unlike many authors who change who he is to make him have good qualities. And the ending, shoot me in the heart why don't you?? So sad *cries* I feel so bad for anyone who would have to carry on the Malfoy name, but they can change it to make it good again!! And what about adoption?? Can't their adopted kids carry on the Malfoy name? See ya next chapie ;)
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: thanks so much for this review Mary! and especially for your comment about Draco - people who mischaracterise him or change who he is to make him redeemable are doing such a disservice to him, i think, because he already has those redeeming qualities. you can never call him good, but you can definitely write him with a believable redemption arc as an adult.

that line hit me like a sucker punch when i first thought of it. i'm glad it has the same effect on other people, but i'm also very sorry about the feels

thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by emmacweasley 

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I do really, really love the way you handle mental health in this story. It's something else that doesn't get often handled correctly, and it's so refreshing to see. I also think it's sweet that at this point they really know their roles with one another, and how to care for one another.

Another favorite part of this chapter, for me, was near the end with the Ginny/Rose interaction. It's just so funny and realistic - it really reminds me of the way I interact with one of my aunts, sometimes. Or - would interact with her, were I Rose Weasley and she Ginny Potter and I was backing her son up while he came out as gay (now that I think about it, the interaction might not go this way at all...)

Anyway, I'm happy that I'm getting to re-read all of this (I'm holding out chapter nineteen from myself until I finish all of the reviews) because it just reminds me of how great of a story it is! Thanks for writing it. :)

emma

Author's Response: the mental health thing is honestly one of the things that closest to my heart about this story and it's lowkey a bit of wish fulfilment because my life would have been SO MUCH EASIER if i knew what anxiety was during high school and how to deal with it but hey that's the way the cookie crumbles

i can't believe i just said that im sorry ignore me

Ginny is a babe and she's hilarious and i love her. and i really enjoyed writing that interaction too

i'm glad you're enjoying the reread and ty again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Veritaserum27 

22nd June 2014:
Ok. So I need to stop beginning my reviews with "wow" or "holy cow," but I honestly don't know what else to say after this chapter.

So far, your heartily impressed me with your ability to write humor. The dialogue is effortless and the pranking ideas so far are brilliant.

In this chapter, you've taken us down another route. The raw emotions you've conveyed with Scorpius's panic attack and his pouring out his heart to Rose were absolutely beautiful. I felt his pain. What Louis and Lucy did was absolutely not in the spirit of Fred Weasley. I'm not certain if "the enemy" is vying for the scholarship or not, but Fred would've considered that tactic to be the cheap, easy way out. Not to mention that Fred would never, ever do something like that to his family.

Harry's reaction is still a little unclear to me - perhaps he is processing this a bit more slowly, but that last bit about the Malfoy name dying out. How could you make me feel so sad for Draco - and Albus - and Scorpius all at once??!

I think you did a superb job with this chapter. It could have been awkward, but you've written the characters so well and were still able to put a little humor in right where it was needed that it came off wonderfully.

Beth

Author's Response: I need to stop beginning my responses with "thank you so much" so we're even (no but seriously, thank you so much!)

This chapter did give me pause when I first posted it, because it is a real departure in tone from the rest of the story - but I think it adds greater depth to the characters and the story as a whole and now I can't imagine it without those details.

The Enemy are going for the scholarship - or at least, at this point Lucy and Louis are. You're right - blatant insensitivity/malice aside, they're not acting in the spirit of Fred Weasley at all.

Harry's reaction is mostly in line with Ginny and Astoria's - he's a bit shocked, but his main concern is why Albus didn't tell them sooner. He's happy if Albus is happy, but a bit hurt that he'd keep it from them for so long. And I'm sorry about the feels - that line hit me like a freight train when I was planning this chapter and I absolutely had to include it.

Once again, thank you so much for a lovely review - it really means a lot that you think I've pulled this off.


 Report Review

Review #12, by The_Crookshanks_Saga 

26th May 2014:
I almost cried while reading this. And- this just has to be said- my God, Scorpius and Draco-- the last line: I broke down.

Author's Response: That is high praise indeed! Thank you for reviewing - I'm glad you found that scene as moving as I did :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Leonore 

4th May 2014:
This really is a contrast from the other chapters, and it's a really good move at this point to show what they're up against. I love when they come out and the mothers are just talking to each other about whether/how long they suspected and why the boys didn't tell them earlier, and the men are a bit more surprised and suspicious that it might be a joke. It must be weird for Draco, having been brought up on the importance of the Malfoy name, to accept that maybe it would be better for the name to die out.

Beautiful chapter, lovely contrast with the rest, great work.

- Leonore

Author's Response: It really is a contrast from the rest of the story, and I think that's important - just to show the full range of the human experience, even in a year that is supposed to be full of fun/humour. I think it's important for both Draco and Scorpius to accept that the Malfoy name does not hold the same pride as it has previously, and just barely avoided complete disgrace after the war. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Anonymous Male 

30th April 2014:
I absolutely love this work. The relationship the protagonists have with each other is very humorous and realistic. How an author achieves a realistic appearance with dialogue escapes me, but I think you have managed to do it pretty well.

I, as most of the reviewers seem to be, am crazy over Albus and Scorpius. Their story also makes me question my decision to stay away from relationships for the foreseeable future, although I'm sure mine would pale in comparison.

I have few complaints, and they are minor. The whole "coming out" thing seemed a bit rushed to me, and the way it happened seemed a bit too ideal. By this, I mean to say the way they got around to it, not the actual happenings, which were far from ideal for the characters.

Speaking of the happenings, I'd like to say that Scorpius' words were terribly cruel and unexpected. It was a great way to lend a serious note to the situation, although it hurts my soul to read it. I look forward to seeing how his relationship with Draco is mended.

Author's Response: Thank you! I do love Albus/Scorpius, though I can take limited credit for their dynamic - I find that my characters tend to write themselves far more than I write them, and Albus and Scorpius's relationship definitely falls into that category.

I'm not sure I quite understand what you mean about their coming out and it being rushed - just the fact that their decision to tell their parents came a bit out of nowhere? Because, granted, it did a bit - but then I think the need to come out after the article became a lot more urgent and they needed to make sure their parents heard it from them before other students/parents/general Hogwarts gossip. Is that what you mean? (Feel free to head over to my Meet the Author page if you want to discuss this further, by the way)

Scorpius was very harsh with his comment about the family name, though I don't think it will damage his relationship with Draco at all - I think Draco himself has been trying to fight the stigma of the Malfoy name since the war, and he does carry that guilt and shame with him, so he knows exactly where Scorpius is coming from. This is an important moment for Draco as well as Scorpius - Draco's father was the one who instilled in him the idea that the family name was of ultimate importance, and Draco's agreement with Scorpius is his way of shaking free of that. It was harsh and unexpected, I certainly agree - though it wasn't about Scorpius disowning his family. I do intend to include more of the Malfoy family in this story - though having Rose as my narrator makes that a bit difficult (she can't be a fly on the wall for every important conversation, unfortunately)

Thanks so much for reading and for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Anon 

29th April 2014:
Oh my, Draco's line had me tearing up! Another sad yet wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: It had me tearing up too, to be honest - thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #16, by masterhasgivendobbyasock 

29th April 2014:
Woah. This is really like Woah. Woah. Like Woah. Just.
Woah.
Do you understand?
Okay. And I think this story is really good but I think you should make the chapters a little longer. :)

Author's Response: I think I understand, especially when it comes to this particular chapter. And I know my chapters tend to be shorter than some - I usually average around 2000-2500 words, but the advantage of that is that I do update a lot faster - unfortunately you can't do both as a writer. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by maskedmuggle 

28th April 2014:
Hey!

Another really fantastic chapter, and this one was so emotion-provoking (okay, this is a bit off topic but I'm wondering how that isn't a word yet, especially since thought-provoking is one!)! Your writing is one that really sucks me into the story, and I'm always disappointed reaching the end of the chapter because I have to wait for the next instalment :P (although I have to say I am extremely appreciative of your fast updating times!)

Ooh, the horrible magazine article prank... really makes me realise how pranks can sometimes have an extremely nasty side to them. Pranks are funny, but sometimes the effects on the victim are detrimental. I think it's really good that you've also portrayed this perspective of the pranks they're doing. I also found it interesting that 3/5 characters are prone to anxiety/panic attacks - I've also never read about it on hpff, so it's another important issue I think you did a good job of writing about.

On a more cheerful note, I loved the story of Albus/Scorpius' first kiss! I completely agree with Rose that they're adorable! I'm becoming more obsessed with Albus/Scorpius now.. I kinda want them to feature heavily in every chapter now :P I need a whole Albus/Scorpius happy love story and lots of romantic moments! ♥

I also really, really loved how insightful this was: You know how the highest praise our teachers give you is that you’re like your mum? Or that Albus is like his dad? The highest praise they give me is that I’m not. I felt like that really resonated with Scorpius' situation - I basically really liked the portrayal of Draco and his life after the war because it felt extremely realistic and believable.

Last of all, the scene with the parents. It was really sweet how accepting both sets of parents were. I thought the dialogue through this was really well written. The last few lines were completely unexpected and felt really momentous.. if that makes any sense at all.. Anyway, I basically really enjoyed reading this, and as I've been saying, am really loving your story, so hopefully I can devour Chapter 6 soon, haha :)
- Charlotte

Author's Response: Thank you! I think there is a word for emotion-provoking but I can't remember it at all so I agree, emotion-provoking should definitely be a thing. The next installment isn't too far away at all - chapter 6 is written and ready, though I should warn you that this is my last week of Easter break and my updates will slow down once uni goes back (or at least, they should. If I'm still updating every one or two days then I'm definitely doing something wrong academically)

I do agree that pranks can be extremely detrimental to those they're played on - especially in the case of these characters. While they may laugh about how they can't take a joke, in reality it is quite a serious issue for them, and pranks which may have seemed funny to others are really hitting a nerve for our Claws. I was hesitant about including such heavy stuff such as anxiety and panic attacks in a "humour" story, but the way I've written these characters and the reactions they've had so far to certain things demanded it, if that makes sense? Their old behaviour - always sticking to the rules, keeping to themselves, being overachievers in every way - isn't just 'character quirks' or them fulfilling some kind of stereotype - it comes with a lot of related issues and motivators, and in this case anxiety is definitely one of them.

I KNOW Albus/Scorpius is going to be the death of me! Just when I think they can't actually get any cuter, they're thirteen-year-olds mumbling around toothbrushes that they like each other. How did my cynical mind come up with such a beautiful love story? It's an eternal mystery, but I'm not complaining about the outcome!

I have to confess to being really proud of that line myself - when Harry was at school, his highest praise came from how much like his parents he was, and I think the same is definitely going to be true about the Trio's children - but Scorpius never had that option. I imagine his entire school life is about hiding who his father is and what his father did (and that Draco would have spent most of that nineteen years before the epilogue trying to clear his name so that Scorpius wouldn't have to deal with that stigma.) I have a problem with fics that portray Draco as another Lucius or exactly as he was at about fifteen years old, because there's no way he would be like that given the experiences he's had (and the fact that canonically, the Malfoys have always put family first - it's an important trait that people seem to miss a lot)

The last few lines were very momentous - I came up with them and just thought "whoa. too big?" which means (for me, anyway) that I'm doing something right. I'm loving your reviews, so we're even! Thank you so much once again, and I'll see you back for chapter six!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Don't have an account 

28th April 2014:
So many emotions in this chapter,I honestly wanted to cry at some parts. The drama really adds another layer to the story that I didn't think it would have! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was a bit hesitant about this chapter to be honest - it is a big departure in tone from the rest of the story and I wasn't sure whether I could include such drama/emotion in a 'humour' story, so I'm glad you appreciated it and I agree, I think it does add another layer to it. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Fonzzx 

28th April 2014:
AW I have all the tears right now. That was a beautiful moment. I love it :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by LoopyLiesey 

27th April 2014:
Aw, I'm glad the parents reacted so well. I feel so bad. Your depiction of Scorpius having a panic attack was very good and very familiar. I felt so bad for him.

"Maybe it's time for the name to die out." Ouch. Fair enough, but ouch.

Lucy and Louis are awful people.

Author's Response: Thank you, and I'm glad you think that depiction was accurate - I was drawing on personal experience, but I've never written anything like that before and I'm glad I pulled it off. That was a very harsh line - though I think in the context it does make sense and has the potential to be a step forward for the Malfoys rather than a step back. Lucy and Louis are awful - I never intended them to end up quite so terrible, but they've made themselves quite irredeemable now. Thanks so much for the review, hope to see you for chapter six!

 Report Review

Review #21, by ariellem 

27th April 2014:
Aw, this was a really sweet chapter, and I'm so happy to see actual loving parents (something new in the fanfic world amiright?). I really do hope to see more of the families dynamic, and I do love Albus and Scorpius, they are adorable.

Author's Response: Thank you! I honestly do get tired of Next Gen parents being needlessly angry/hateful, especially when it goes contrary to their established characters - especially the Malfoys. The war was a long time ago and I think Draco especially would be doing everything he can to redeem himself. I will definitely have more of the families in later chapters - and I love Albus and Scorpius too, they're the best! Thanks always for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review