Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheSortingHat 

16th June 2015:
Okay so I am super super appreciative that you have an ace character in this, but as someone who is ace herself, I feel obligated to point out that I think you may be confusing / erroneously conflating asexuality and aromanticism (although I'm sure it's entirely unintentional). Holly appears to use her sexual orientation to explain why she wouldn't be interested in dating Sean, but it is possible for an asexual to still experience romantic attraction--sexual and romantic attraction are not the same, and thus sexual and romantic orientations are not always the same either. I myself still experience romantic attraction, despite experiencing no sexual attraction. So unless Holly is both asexual and aromantic, she is still capable of romantic attraction--and therefore, while having no interest in sex, would still be interested in a romantic relationship.

I realize that this is a fairly small thing, and it is possible that you will more fully expand upon this later in the story--either by confirming her as aro-ace or by explaining her romantic orientation--but I felt that this potential misrepresentation should be brought to your attention. That said, excellent story thus far.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for your concern and I definitely understand where you're coming from - I'm ace too, and I've come across more than my fair share of people who don't understand the difference between asexuality and aromanticism and tend to associate the former with the latter.

I forget that most of the nitty-gritty of dealing with sexual/romantic orientation happens in the sequel to this story, particularly for Holly, and in TFWMS she's one of a cast of supporting characters which means I don't get to go into detail much for her - we only see her through the eyes of Rose and what she directly says. In this scene her main interest is in shooting down Sean, who's operating on the assumption that every girl at Hogwarts harbours a secret desire to sleep with him. Holly knows that, and the line "you can't say you don't feel the same way" prompts her to make that abundantly clear by telling him she's ace.

For what it's worth, Holly is panromantic - again, this is explored better in the sequel (Pending Further Investigation) where she's a POV character. I hope you read on!


 Report Review

Review #2, by BellaLestrange87 

15th February 2015:
Hi Lisa! This is a phone review so I'm sorry if it's shorter than usual or if there are any typos.

I love all your pranks! They're so creative and I keep wondering how you can come up with ones that fit the poor character's personality without getting old.

Albus and Scorpius' coming out was awesome. I think you wrote it in the best way possible (again, total noob). I love the fact that everyone was really supportive and cheering.

The Quidditch prank on The Enemy was amazing and made me laugh. For some reason, humiliating people publicly, furing something important, is very entertaining. I guess I must be cruel bu enjoying the pain of The Enemy. And the fact that their retaliation attempt was completely unsuccessful made me happy.

Sexual orientations 101... I feel like that is a class that will need to be taught at some point, judging by the fact that she had to explain what asexuality is. (I hope I phrased that right - I wasn't sure.)

I love the ending - I can't help but know that the poor group is going to be subjected to something terrible and I want to know what.

~Olivia

Author's Response: i have no idea how i keep coming up with pranks. it's magic. very mundane, very specific, and arguably useless magic, but magic nevertheless

public humiliation is the best form of prankery. we're terrible people

sexual orientations 101 would be a very handy class to take

thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Dumdum 

2nd January 2015:
Asexual, really?
This just gets better and better

Author's Response: i'm glad you appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ralphiegirl 

29th December 2014:
I LOVE YOU!!! You are the first author of any kind to have an ace character and I LOVE YOU FOR IT!!! And your writing is splendid and this idea is amazing and you are officially my favorite author!!

Author's Response: thank you so much! i'm ace myself so i had to include some ace representation in this story. i'm really glad you're enjoying it and thank you for that!

 Report Review

Review #5, by kenpo 

18th December 2014:
So much in this chapter that I loved.

Scorbus. I loved their interaction at the beginning of the chapter ("We share a room with three other people!") I totally love it. And them having to get up early so that they're in separate beds... yay. So much yay. There's nothing like early morning cuddling before having to start your day! (I miss my boyfriend...)

Holly Helen Oswin Oswald Holyoake is getting better and better and I really think she's one of my favorite OC's ever. I feel bad that she has to teach Sexual Orientations 101.

One thing that I'm not sure about it is Sean and Louis would've known what asexuality is, other than on a biologic level (as in sexual vs asexual reproduction).

I love their shirts. They sound like me. And the spell YES I SERIOUSLY LOVE HER SO MUCH. I don't care that she's asexual, we can make it work.

Oh and I love how you had the school react. I can see that happening, and I can see it just being the most annoying thing that's ever happened to them. "AWWW GAY MEN ARE ADORABLE AWWW I WANT ONE OF THEM TO BE MY GAY BEST FRIEND! LOOK AT THOSE GAY PEOPLE THAT'S SO CUTE!"

Did you know that gay men only exist for straight women to gawk at?

Urgh. Sorry, you've clearly found a pet peeve of mine.

Another thing is that I'm not sure how well I feel like I know Rose yet. But that could very well just be because I'm obsessed with HHOOH and so for me she overshadows Rose.

I'm so anxious to know what The Enemy will do with the potions... are they just planning on framing them, or doing a prank after taking it? I MUST KNOW. I MUST READ ON.

-Georgia

Author's Response: i had that exchange at the beginning of the chapter planned out for ages and i was so happy to finally be able to write it. well i had the line '"we cuddle" says albus frostily' planned out for ages and the rest of it just came together

holly helen oswin oswald holyoake is the definition of a precious cinnamon roll, too good for this world, too pure

"i don't care that she's asexual, we can make it work" when there's a will there's a way. i believe in you

oh my god RIGHT i had to include the gawking and fawning and the "awww gay men!!" because it's so prevalent and so gross tbh

holly overshadowing rose is a fair enough reaction tbh

thank you for the review!



 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell 

19th October 2014:
Man, it is Ravenclaw coming-out week. Well, good for them! I'm glad to see the Enemy's idea of a prank fall flat--because really. But now they've got Felix Felicis. Dun dun DUN! Maybe Rose can figure out a potions trick to get them out of this mess?

Favorite quotes:

“We cuddle,” Albus says frostily.

“Go you guys,” I call, unsure on the protocols here. “Congrats on your love that we totally didn’t know anything about.”
--Bahahaha!

They kiss on the table long enough for a bunch of Hufflepuffs to figure out a spell to make confetti rain down on them.
--Aww. Those Hufflepuffs--so sweet. Way to be supportive, ya'll.

“It’s changing us,” Lester says in hushed, dramatic tones. “The scholarship. It’s changing us.”
--Maybe for the better?


Dude, I'm loving this! It's great!

--Penny

Author's Response: i'm glad you're enjoying it so much! and the hufflepuffs are so precious bless them and their confetti-conjuring souls

thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaur 

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

Heh. Heh. Heh. I'm imitating Walder Frey right now and I don't even care because YAY AL AND SCORP! Goodness, I really do agree that the scholarship is changing them and all my previous pity has melted away because THEY CAN BE TOGETHER NOW!! :D Although it must be annoying to ut up with a chorus of well-meaning aww's, it's better than being in the closet, right?

The banter that you've written between the friends is just amazing and it feels all so natural and perfect and yeah, they get along so well it gives me warm fluffy feels inside, it's just so lovely and just yeah. I wish my friends and I were that witty, we'd probably spend all out free time laughing elegantly at each others' witty comments. As it is we spend our free time laughing like donkeys at mildly funny comments that aren't actually funny at all when you look back on them. xD But I keep digressing.

The Quidditch match was great! Omg, and the t-shirts were brilliant. 'You both suck' is such a lovely, uplifting message to the teams playing, and the way their brooms were charmed was brilliant. And then Louis' attempted revenge was just so ugh like I loved how you turned the whole 'revenge dating/falling in love' trope on its head through Holly's asexuality and HA LOUIS HAS BEEN THWARTED AGAIN.

Oh no, the Enemy have Felix Felicis, oh dear what are they planning to do with them? Gah gah gah *hits Louis*

Author's Response: emily

u know i would have been perfectly fine without equating you with walder frey like, ever

YAAS SCORBUS. it's 50/50 between the awws and the closet tbqh

god emily it gives ME warm fluffy feels and i wrote it. i love this bunch so much

how can anyone laugh elegantly emily i'm pretty sure we all laugh like donkeys. i know i do. my flatmate recently referred to my "full-bodied cackle"

"you both suck" is the most uplifting message ever tbh

thank for review as per


 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm 

8th July 2014:
I love the way you write the banter between the all the friends as it seems to come so easily to you and keeps me entertained throughout. Omg, Albus and Scorpius are so cute with their possible cuddling and holding hands under the table. As I’ve been reading so fast I think I might have missed something but are they official official or just secret official? Ooh, wait a sec should have read on as they just kissed!!! Ahahahahahahs so cute, so cute, so cute and people clapped for them, doubly cute! Ooooh, dun, dun, dun is going through my mind right now, who stole the potion?? That was a great cliff-hanger to leave it on and I can’t wait to find out what’s going to happen next!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

Author's Response: i love the banter between them as well because they basically write themselves the moment they get into a room together and that's the stuff i live for as a writer you feel

i'm glad you enjoyed this chapter and thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by jessicalorewrites 

7th July 2014:
I know I'm up to date with reading this but I came back to review this chapter, which I missed earlier, for the HC + Decree #2!

As it did the first time I read this, ALBUS AND SCORPIUS AND YOUR INSANE TALENT FOR WRITING BLEW ME AWAY! Coming back to read this made me squeal, especially in light of recent events *cough* the break up.

You're a truly talented writer. You suck me in with just a few small words and have me clinging to my laptop until the very end of the chapter.

I love you and your writing and your characterisation and your plots!! Perhaps characterisation most of all. You don't just take the typical variations of people like Rose, you develop them and make them unique; make them your own. I could read about your characters for an eternity! Seriously.

xo

{House Cup 2014 Review - Gryffindor}

Author's Response: jess, you're lovely thank you so much for this review!

i'm sorry about the recent events. it wasn't my fault i swear

it means a lot to me that you like my characterisation, because my characters are by far my favourite aspect of any story i write, and perhaps this one more than any other. i love these dorky Claw losers and the number of people who appreciate them, love them, and relate to them never fails to make me smile.

thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by emmacweasley 

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review:

Dearest Lisa,
The way that Scorpius and Albus came out to the rest of the school was absolutely fantastic. It was great, and so affirming, and hilarious, and it's just so easy to be able to identify with the kind of emotion that lead to that action - just tired of hiding/waiting and just wanting it to be over with, and wanting it to be in one fell swoop instead of over and over again with smaller actions. Does that make sense? I do hope it does.

And the line: "Also, is everyone coming out now, is this a thing?" is just perfect as well. Because, you know, sometimes it feels like that. It's like a season or something, or like everyone's caught the same fever.

Once again your prowess with characterization is just amazing, and I'm glad that I know you and your writing.

Emma

Author's Response: dearest emma,

thank you for this review, and for your comments, and your validation of this whole chapter, and for your general existence. keep all that up

ISN'T IT THO. #relatable. it's so much easier to get everything out of the way at once, and that whole 'sod it all" mentality that leads up to it. don't worry, it makes perfect sense. i agree.

it's coming out season. queer fever. the epidemic of the gays. not a single cishet left.

ily.


 Report Review

Review #11, by newgenerationlover 

6th July 2014:
'Ello again! Gosh, this story keeps getting better every chapter. Ep! Albus and Scorpius came out!! Sorry, about to sound like their annoying adoring fans, but aw!! They are so adorable!! And I'm glad that they had no really bad repercussions after their coming out, except from Lily of course XD And I love that Holly is asexual. Not many fics touch on that topic, and I also loved how you didn't make it such a big deal. She is no different except for her sexual preferences, which really don't matter. Uh oh! The Enemy have the felix felicis. Can't wait to see what happens with that! Is Rose going to whip out her amazing potion skills and make some for the Order of the Raven?? Can't wait to see!
-Mary
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you! Albus and Scorpius are cute, there's no denying that (even if they'd hate me for saying that. Then again, I'm the one who made them hate that. This is too much to think about) It is very important to me to include a range of sexualities and identities in this story, without making it a central focus for the story, and I agree - asexuality isn't a topic often touched on in fic, and without sounding too preachy I think that aspect of representation is really important. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Veritaserum27 

22nd June 2014:
Holy cow!

So much happened in this chapter!

Albus and Scorpius are so cute together. It just makes me... Gah! I love Al's sharp tongue and Scorpius seems to be more timid with a kind heart.

Your light, easy writing style makes this such an enjoyable read!

Who stole the potion??! I must read on.

Author's Response: Albus and Scorpius are everything to me I can't even lie. That is definitely a fair assumption - though I've always defined them as Albus being more passionate and Scorpius more pragmatic (that's how I imagine them, anyway, I'm not sure how well that translates to the page) but Albus definitely has quite an acerbic wit and Scorpius doesn't - and you're right, he is definitely the more timid of the two.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #13, by The_Crookshanks_Saga 

24th May 2014:
From now on, since I want to zoom through the chapters, I'll be leaving one-sentence reviews. This one:

SCORPIUS AND AL ARE TOO CUTE!!

Author's Response: SCORPIUS AND ALBUS ARE GOING TO BE THE ABSOLUTE DEATH OF ME TOO.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ariellem 

27th April 2014:
HOLLY IS LIFE, HOLLY IS EVERYTHING I LOVE HOLLY SHE IS THE CUTEST (also Albus and Scorpius were very cute). BUT HOLLY

Author's Response: I KNOW RIGHT HOLLY IS EVERYTHING GOOD IN THE WORLD (ALSO CHAPTER 6 IS GOING TO BE VERY HOLLY-CENTRIC I THINK SO LOOK FORWARD TO THAT) THANK YOU FOR REVIEWING

 Report Review

Review #15, by Madison 

24th April 2014:
This is quickly becoming my favorite story on this site! All the characters are so real and lovable and I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you're enjoying it! The next chapter should only be a day or so away, hope to see you back for it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by puddlemere 

24th April 2014:
God, I love this story. Seriously, all your characters are incredible and I love the plot and the idea of it all. I have to particularly say how much I love the number of non-straight characters you have and the fact that the three of them all seem to deal with their sexualities in different ways and it's just brilliant! I love your interpretation of all the next-gen characters we've seen so far and I can't wait to see where you go with this. My only complaint is that I don't have enough of it to read yet!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really loving these characters too, they're so much fun to write and I'm glad you appreciate them as much as I do! Queer representation in my stories is definitely something I focus on, and having that diversity is really important. I apologise for only having four chapters up so far, but rest assured the fifth isn't too far away at all! Hope to see you back for it and thanks again for reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by LoopyLiesey 

24th April 2014:
Wow. I love this! Albus/Scorpius, Holly as an asexual character, it's great! Albus/Scorpius may well be my Next Gen OTP. They're so cute. And Louis being a dudebro is really great. The pranks they're doing are awesome. Reversing the steering charm is truly inspired. All five main characters are so brilliantly written.

I'm really looking forward to the rest of it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love writing these characters and putting a different spin on them to what might otherwise be seen - particularly when it comes to sexual diversity. I love Albus/Scorpius as well, and they've definitely become my new Next Gen OTP! Thanks again for reading and I hope to see you back for chapter 5!

 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle 

24th April 2014:
Hello!

AHHH! Can I just say first of all that I loved loved LOVED all the Albus/Scorpius in this chapter! So, so adorable and ahh this may just be my new OTP! I've never even really thought much about the Albus/Scorpius pairing at all or even remember reading any fics focusing on it, but the way you've written it makes me feel like they're absolutely perfect together! The moment they came out was just so beautiful I was literally reading that with the biggest grin on my face going awww!

This is such a small thing, but I completely LOL'ed at the Quidditch shirts Rose and Holly were wearing, haha! I'm also really liking the inventive pranks you're coming up with. I've read my fair few of prank fics, and I've got to say that all your pranks so far have been really original/pranks I have not read before! I do have a question though: why did 'the enemy' target Holly - how would they know it was specifically her? And wow, their attempt at retaliation really was pitiful - way more embarrassing for Sean than for Holly!

And woah do I love the way you ended this chapter! It's like another cliffhanger (hoping I won't have to wait too long though :D) and I'm dying to know what the enemy is going to do with all their luck! (I love the idea of the enemy getting Felix Felicis btw!) This chapter was even better than the one before (especially with all the Albus/Scorpius!!! ♥) and I'm really loving your fic! Definitely keep writing it!
- Charlotte

Author's Response: I'm grinning so hard right now! I love Albus/Scorpius and this chapter is my favourite of the ones I've written so far because of them and their dynamic - I just love them to bits and I'm with you on that one - I think they're my new OTP as well!

Rose and Holly have a very special place in my heart, and their sarcasm and sense of humour definitely have no small part to play in that. I'm glad you're enjoying the pranks! I'm very much like my characters in the sense that I've never been a prankster and I struggle to think of good ones, so I'm really glad my efforts are paying off! And the enemy knew it was Holly because of her winking at Sean - they had an inkling it was that group anyway, and it's not a difficult leap to make considering Rose and Holly are so close. I might make that clearer in edits though, so thanks!

I feel like that attempt at retaliation may have been a decoy of sorts - they do have the Felix Felicis, after all, and they've got some big things in the works.

Thank you so much, again, for the review (and especially for being as enthusiastic about Albus/Scorpius as I am. I love those boys so much) and I can't wait to see you back for Chapter 5 (it will be a few days away because I'm going on holiday, but hopefully the wait will be worth it)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review