Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

17th January 2017:
WOWWW what a chapter! Okay, I'm here to leave reviews for your (belated) holiday wishlist and picking up right where I left off from my last binge of reading this story. Yikes, this chapter was INTENSE.

Can I also just take a moment to say that I saw this story was nominated for a Dobby for Best Villain and it's certainly easy to understand why. Stannous is terrifying, even more so because of this chapter: You've given him a background as a helpful, normal teacher who wanted his students to succeed and was well liked. Did something happen to him or was he just a mastermind plotting this whole thing for years? (Sidenote, Hogwarts has the worst trends of unintentionally hiring psychopaths as Professors. I haven't forgotten Barty Crouch Jr.) What on earth made him do this to Rose - what was the point of it? What exactly was he even doing? And why/how is he back now?? Basically, there are a lot of questions raised about Stannous that I really want answers to. But so far that makes him a really excellent villain, so congrats on the nomination.

UGHHH THIS STORY IS JUST SOOO GOOD and I'm really glad to be back and reading it again and also WHERE IS ROSE?!?!

Sorry about capslock I'm just really excited.

Oh, and in all the chaos of the end I forgot to mention that Rose and Scorpius are cute together.

Awesome chapter! I'll be back to read more of this ASAP and hopefully will leave a more coherent review next time XD.

 Report Review

Review #2, by dreamgazer220 

24th February 2016:
What?! No! How could you leave it like that?!?!

I still really love this story. I love how you're progressing through the plot without missing any of the important details. It makes me very happy that Rose and Scorpius are together now XD

I hope Rose is going to be okay, though! I can't wait to read what happens next!

~Jill

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sophie Grace 

11th February 2016:
Still not sure I like Samara but that Stannous person in a jerk and I don't like him. My heart breaks for Rose and Scorpius. They both need a hug. I love the story so far!

Author's Response: Hi again Sophie Grace,

Samara is definitely not part of the Weasley/Potter/Malfoy "in-crowd," and she's American, so it's a little hard for the rest of them to get used to her. Stannous is a bad dude - no questions.

Thank you so much for all of these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by oldershouldknowbetter 

3rd January 2016:
Well how about this, my first review of the new year, the first for the new BvB and one of my old favourites again. It's all so good, let me dive in.

Well of course your readers are going to like the first paragraph. Snogging *sigh* and yay!

What to do about the press and public opinion of the Weasley/Potter people must be a concern for every writer of a Next Gen story. From my memory you haven't touched upon it much, but here you have a reference to it in the background and it has a logical position in your world. It is a presence in their lives and one which they must tread around carefully.

They still have not labelled their relationship, oh how them that is. Even when James pointedly refers to it, she still doesn't want to define what it is - especially not to Scorpius. Heaven forbid that they actually talk about their feelings towards each other to each other.

Her father's name is mentioned which causes Rose some consternation. Ron is always a force majeure in these sort of stories - whether he is a force for good or ill, and from what we've seen before he is not going to be that approving.

And then ...

You just cannot leave us happy, can you? No the drama just has to raise it's ugly head, though in your case the way I imagine him is far from ugly - I picture him as looking maturely handsome in a slightly evil and unsettling way.

Stannous is in her flat and it brings all of the panic that she has always felt. Her wand is not with her, blast (also, but of course it isn't).

She flashes back and we realise that the abduction by Stannous is so much worse because it was also a betrayal. It makes it so much worse that she really liked him, and in no schoolgirl-crush sort of way, but he was to her exactly what an older mentor should have been. She loved his lessons because they stimulated her mind and abilities. To have him be the one to hurt her would simply have to taint all of her memories of all of the things she'd learnt from him.

Oh, we are going to delve into what happened now. The shock of seeing him again has propelled her right back into the thick of it. I have jumped around this story so much that I cannot remember if this is the first time that we have learnt what really happened. If it is (and I think it is) it is a good place in the story to finally reveal the events.

Or as we shall see, what she remembers of the events, because she wasn't exactly compos mentis for the entirety of the ordeal. We are spared the gruesome details of exactly what went on and all we are informed of is that it was the worse torture she had ever known.

And here he is in her flat, urbanely sitting there and addressing her politely like nothing was amiss. She has been caught flat footed, but her brain at least is still working. She thinks about all of the protection spells upon her flat. There really cannot be much wrong with them or much of a gap in the protection that they bring. No it really has to be something else. It could be just that Stannous has a powerful and as yet unrecorded magic which allows him to breach her defences, but, from a little bit of a memory of what is to come, there is a tickle to me of what one of the causes of their breach could be. For anyone who actually reads these reviews as reviews, there is about to be a spoiler. But could the gap in their defences be an inside man, actually I mean, an inside woman?

And he reveals that he is still keeping an eye on her. It's just so creepy, but she cannot think about it now, she has to concentrate upon surviving and escaping him.

Reinforcement comes in the form of Dom, but that just summons more reinforcements for Stannous. One of them is the oily git from the party the other night. He grabs Rose and it is good to see that though her magic might desert her in these situations sometimes, her basic moxie hasn't. She lands a good solid hit on her assailant which allows her to break free. She is always struggling to overcome the repression of her abilities that the attack upon her in the past engendered.

The end of the chapter is so full of drama, it's beautifully done. She escapes one, to be jerked back into Stannous' clutches. Selenia tries to intercept her, but Stannous grasps her. Her friends try their best but more reinforcements arrive for Stannous, but they aren't for him, it's Scorpius and Al. Stannous' cronies desert him and he tries to apparate away with Rose and she manages to struggle free. Or does she?

The way you leave us, she could have gone with him or she might have stayed with her friends (please, please be more than just might, please be the one to be true). You know that I have read on, that I have read more than up to just this chapter, but the way you leave it I cannot remember exactly what happens next. Has she been abducted once again? I will really have to read on and find out.

As per usual, a great chapter with an amazing mix of both romance and drama. As of writing this review, I know that you have a new chapter out, but having just completed this review, I realise that I have forgotten a lot of the details inbetween. So I shall just have to re-read everything again instead of skipping to the latest chapter. *sigh* What a chore having to re-read all of this excellent story, I don't think.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Musing 

18th November 2015:
Hi Beth! I am here again. Reviewing for BvB.

Wow, a lot happened in this chapter. The beginning was so nice and fluffy. Rose and Scorpius are finally dating and although Rose isn't quite sure about it being a 'relationship', I hope it wouldn't take too long from here. Rose has no one but Scorpius over her mind and just when I thought that the only problem now is handling a certain 'red-headed temper'...

BOOM! Here comes Stannous! (Yeah, I know things can't get al right this early in the story. Plus, Rose has to fully recover from her PTSD.)

I couldn't help but deliberate the fact that Hogwarts got such a horrible man as a Transfiguration teacher after Dumbledore and McGonagall. Stannous used to be Rose's favourite teacher and gathering from the way you have described his way of teaching, he must have been good at his subject. Was that only a garb to fool everybody?

That man from the party is Stannous' accomplice?! Stannous may have returned after two years, but I think he has a plan up his sleeve.

I was reading the last part at such a speed, all the while hoping that Stannous doesn't get successful in taking away Rose again. I really drew out a breath of relief when I knew that he didn't! But, I think he did damage to Rose, again. Poor Rose! The way she was screaming and pushing away everyone nearly broke my heart.

Hey! It's not fair to end the chapter here. I have so many questions I want answers to. What does Stannous wants from Rose? How did he break through the wards of their flat? Will Rose return to her old withdrawn self? What will Scorpius do?

Yes, I know what you will say. I should read further. ;) I will do so at the first chance I get. :D This was such an AWESOME chapter. You surely know how to keep your readers interested.

-Emm ^_^

Author's Response: Hi Emm,

Ugh - I'm terrible and I've let this review go far too long without replying, but I'm determined to get these answered this week! Thanks so much for this! I know this chapter was one of the more intense ones - and I'm actually a bit giddy that you were so taken in by it. I never know how my writing is going to come off and I can't tell you how exciting it is to get a review that goes through all the emotions the reader felt while they were reading the chapter. Eeep!

Haha - I know it was a rough spot to end it - and a fair warning - the next chapter isn't too much of a chipper one, but the story is really starting to move at this point.

Thanks again - I ADORE getting your reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

20th September 2015:
OMG NO. WHAT HAPPENED? DID HE GET HER? OMG! I'm sorry, I can't review right now, I have to find out!!!

Author's Response: Hee hee!

It's okay - I'm so excited that you you had to keep reading - thanks for leaving a review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th September 2015:
OH. My gosh.

I was not expecting that.

And he was her professor! Oh my gosh, it's sicker than I thought.

I think Rose was incredible! She didn't even have a wand, but she didn't give up and she did all the right things--screaming for help, throwing punches, making it hard to keep ahold of her! She did great! And I'm so glad she lives with a trainee Auror (thought it sounds like Selenia the Healer held her own as well).

I could not have been more on the edge of my seat. That was terrifying.

CC:

We could'e been in Scotland,
could'e = could've

The only other think is, it might have been nice to see Rose and Scorpius first proper kiss, though I guess that technically that was two chapters ago, now. Or at least one of their first kisses. I feel like there was a lot of buildup--years of buildup was described--and then everything was sort of fastforwarded, like, "Oh, yep, now this is a thing." It would have been nice to feel a bit more connected to the start of their romance.


This chapter. Ohmygosh. Really, this is a terrible influence. I have so many more stories to read. But I can't stop there, can I now?! I have to know what happens. Like, now!

Great job, as always. I'm still reeling!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi there Penny,

I've been really busy this past week, but I didn't forget about these amazing reviews. Thanks again - they were so brilliant.

Rose is pretty much acting on instinct here - there isn't much of a thought process other than she was going to do ANYTHING in her power to get away from Stannous. But you are totally right: the fact that she fought back at all is a HUGE step in her recovery process.

Eeep! I'm so excited you were on the edge of your seat!

I've fixed up that typo - thanks so much for finding it. And you're not the first person to mention the missing scene with their first kiss. I didn't write it for a couple of reasons. One was to move the story along and the other reason was that I wanted to sort of send the message that although they are together, the fact that Rose hasn't been totally honest with Scorpius about her torture and its affect on her. I kind of wanted to highlight that the morning after this attack was when their relationship *really* started.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by ravenclaw_princess 

25th August 2015:
Wow...everything was going along all nice and fluffy like and then...Bham.total change of pace. My head is still reeling from it all...not quite comprehending.must go back and re-read.

Ok, the shock has passed and I'm a bit more coherent now...so ahem

Hi, here for a BvB review :)

The start had me thinking I'd missed a very crucial moment, as in, Scoprius and Rose getting together. I have even gone back just to make sure I hadn't forgotten about it in break I've had between chapters. I can understand not wanting to dwell on those first dates, but as a reader, things suddenly felt disjointed, like there was a chapter missing or something. Even just a small snippet of info here about what happened since the auror office to this moment would help to transition between the chapters. I also do hope to hear about how they got together sometime in the future, pretty pretty please :)

That aside, I did love the chemistry of them together. They don't really know what is happening between them, only that it is so natural and overwhelming that all they can think about is each other. I like how it was 'announced' to their friends, but they all knew it was inevitable anyway.

So, pajama's really need to be made with a wand sleeve :P

The introduction of Stannous was completely shocking and I never saw it coming. I mean, in her house, of all places. The whole scene was well written, it had a frantic pacing which matched in with the pace of the action. It was also quite crazy which went in with Rose's mind.

Stannous is one dark character. I can't wait to see where you take him. It was nice to get some back story here into what happened to Rose.

I really felt for Rose. She was so happy at the start of the chapter, then in an instant, all that fear and anxiety returned to her. He paralyses her, which is why all she can say is 'No', as her mind shuts down in fear. I think you've done a great job at bring all off Rose's emotional trauma right back up to the surface.

Awesome job on this chapter.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thanks so much for picking this story for BvB! I'm so glad you're really into the characters.

You're not the first reviewer to comment on the sort of 'skip over' Rose and Scorpius's initial dates. I'll probably go back and take a look at that, but I wanted to explain a little of the reason why I did it. I really wanted everything to "seem" like it was going great for the pair. The first dates and really starting to fall for each other and all the romance and such. But Rose isn't being completely honest with Scorpius, here. She hasn't told him the truth about her torture and I kind of wanted to show that in order for them to move forward, he needs to know about her past.

Enter Stannous. (mwah, mwah, mwah!!)

Thanks so much for your comments about the scene! Writing action and fast paced wizard fights is a challenge, and I'm never sure if I get it right, so I really appreciate your vote of confidence.

Thanks again! I can't wait to find out what you think about the other chapters.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Tonks1247 

20th June 2015:
OH MY GOSH HOW THE HECK DOES THAT WORK THAT IS SO NOT COOL!

So. Casual Thursday night. Hang out with a ton of friends, chat because course work is cooperative to allow an off night, snog the boyfriend (whether Rose and Scoprius have defined it or not...) forever just because you can. And then BAM! Stannous.

Not cool, just not cool...

I think what makes this chapter even better is that Rose's confusion, inability to go for her wand, to turn out of the room sooner, and her anxiety...I could feel it all. I found myself on the edge of my seat, anxious for her safety. I think the only relief I had was getting caught up in questions because I just knew, as soon as Dom showed up, that she woudln't get taken again. Though those questions do NOT make me feel any better.

How did Stannous get in? How is he keeping track of her? Who are these accomplices? Is there someone he knows that also knows Rose and Rose doesn't know about the connection which is how Stannous knows things? Or is Stannous some super creepy guy who knows some creepy magic that allows him to be a creep? Like, seriously. How did he find her and get in?! Or get out? Is he getting out? Okay, well, maybe not so much is he getting out...with this story still continueing, obviously they don't have him, but like...seriously. What?

Okay. Now that the ranting is outta my system. My favorite line from this chapter...

"We could talk about everything and nothing at the same time and, next moment, couldnít keep our hands off each other."

May know something about talking about everything and nothing...have no idea how it works...

Great chapter! Can't wait to read more!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hi Mikaela!

Haha - I wish you could see my face right now because I'm all giddy and smiley while I'm reading your review. Part of me want to answer your questions for you - but I'm NOT gonna do that! And the other part of me is so excited because you HAVE questions.

Ha! I love that line too. It's the mark of a good, budding relationship. One point that I wanted to hammer home here is that Rose isn't being completely honest with Scorpius at this point. I know she's been through an ordeal, but in order to move forward, she's gonna have to come clean about her demons.

And yeah, Stannous has some serious magic - or connections - or both...

Still not gonna tell ;)

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by MalfoyMannor 

7th June 2015:
Well I got my answer.

Stannous as a professor :/ ughh how creepy

thank god Scorp and Al showed up

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yup - Stannous is super creepy. Al and Scorp are amazing. Thanks so much for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

Here I am reading this sweet love story about how Scorpius and Rose are falling love with each other. Everything is just peachy AND THEN YOU GO AND SPRING THIS ON ME! SERIOUSLY! I COULD WRITE YOU AN ENTIRE REVIEW OF SHOUTY WORDS RIGHT NOW!

Okay, so you've got this nice atmosphere set up and Rose is finally coming to terms with the damage that's been done to her. Her and Scorpius have finally admitted their feelings for each other and even started spending time together in public. You've lulled me into this beautiful lovely calmness.

AND THEN STANNOUS SHOWS UP! I was so scared for poor Rose and I wanted to jump into the fight myself and save her. I'm so glad that Dom and Selenia woke up and thought clearly enough to react properly or else Rose might have been kidnapped again. Smart thinking on Dom's part to send a patronus. The only thing that I wonder is why she sent it to Scorpius and not Harry...not that Albus and Scorpius didn't help, but Harry or Ron could've arrested the jerk and thrown him in Azkaban for the rest of his miserable life.

UGH I AM SO FURIOUS WITH STANNOUS RIGHT NOW! SERIOUSLY, IF I COULD GET MY HANDS ON HIM!

I guess this explosive reaction means that you've done a good job writing this because it's done what it was supposed to do.

Excellent work on this chapter! Really the whole story has been engaging so far, but this chapter is a step above the others.

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hiya Kaitlin,

Okay, I totally deserve the shouty words for this one. Haha - yeah it was kind of evil of me to spring that one one you. But I also sorta wanted to drive home the point that although Rose and Scorpius's relationship *seemed* to be going so well, she wasn't being completely honest with Scorpius about her past - which she really needed to do before they could move forward.

Good point about Dom calling the boys instead of Harry. Dom knows more about Rose that she's letting on - even if she doesn't know the details, she is still trying to protect her cousin by keeping it within their small group until Harry absolutely must know about everything.

Thanks again - I'm so excited you like this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
This is a really powerful chapter. I wonder what that sick professor wants, why he is doing that... is it just a sisick, twisted pleasure? Does he have some hidden Agenda? Why did hw pick Rose?

I'm so worried about her. She finally let herself be happy again. She and Scorpius are so good together.
Then suddenly - when she is the happiest she has been in a long time - he turns up again and tries to take her. It's high time for her to alert Harry to all thats happening, cast protective enchantments on the Appartment (they shouldn't be able to apparate in and out of her room).

I'm so glad Dom was there and sent for help right away. Albus and Scorpiys barely made it in time. The girls wouldn't have been able to hold them off much longer.

I bet it was Scorpius touching Rose right at the end.

I hope she'll be ok... I'm just so relieved that she wasn't taken away.

~Anja

Author's Response: Ah! Lots and lots of good questions! I probably won't be answering any of them soon ;)

Ooo! I like your thinking about alerting Harry. Rose is just starting to realize that she needs to seek the help of others in order to overcome her problems.

Yes! It was Scorpius trying to console Rose - but she was in such a state, that she couldn't even determine danger from help at that point.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by AdinaPuff 

3rd May 2015:
Hi Beth!

This story ran away for a bit. I've been working on it piece by piece and I've gotten to this point :p it's AMAZING so far. You do the alternating POV's really well. I'm not a large fan of that all the time. Sometimes authors aren't very good at it, but I really like how you write it.

Poor Rose is such a mess. I know I would be too. Paranoia would be my largest issue. And this time he was actually there. It wasn't a nightmare or hallucination. He was there in the flesh, which is really scary. He's still after her! What are they going to do? They have to hide her somewhere safe, keep her guarded and under protection of Aurors.

Scorpius and Rose moved along really quickly. I don't know why, but again, even though I usually don't like rushed relationships, I really love your story. I know that especially after this attack I feel like Rose is going to be more hesitant with being touched or around people. I feel like they're in for a really rough relationship. Until her captor is put in Azkaban, I could never see Rose fully settling and relaxing. She'll be in a constant state of paranoia. I really hope they work out though. I love them together!

I hope we get to know everyone else even more as the story progresses. I feel like some of the minor characters aren't well known yet. I can't wait to read more and more about them!

Great chapter, as always! Loved it!

- Leigh xxx

Author's Response: Leigh!

Gah - thanks so much for offering reviews and thank you so, so much for your kind words with this one! I'm so excited that you like this story. This is a really tense chapter and I think all of the things you mentioned are answered in the couple of chapters following this one :) (hint, hint)

I did make it seem like Rose and Scorpius were moving a bit fast - and that was intentional. Rose wasn't being completely hones with Scorpius about her past and I wanted to sort of include that in the story - that at some point (sooner rather than later, in this case) her past would have to be discussed. And you're very insightful about Rose and how this attack will set her (and their relationship) back.

Thanks again - you're so kind to offer reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lostmyheart 

23rd March 2015:
Wow, Beth, I'm... what just happened?!
My heart is beating so fast! I can't believe that just happened! Poor Rose, and I'm SO happy that Dom and Selenia were there to help her.
How on earth did Stannous come in?! And it seems like the other two wizards could apparate in? Oh my god.

You started this chapter in the sweetest way possible, and again, I LOVE YOUR SCORPIUS! I can't say it enough. I love them, both, together, 4eva.
How he kissed her when he came in, *swoon*
When they said goodbye, *even more swoon*
And then - BAM - creepy guy in her room in the middle of the night and I felt my heart ache with fear.

Now I really need to read the next chapter.
Beth, you're brilliant!

Love,
Avi

Author's Response: Hi there Avi!

Haha! I'm glad to see you've made it to the part where there's some action. Sorry to drop it on you like that, but it had to be done.

Yes, there are a lot of questions. It IS weird that he got in, isn't it? Hmmm...

Haha - I'm a little bit in love with Scorpius too. He's so head-over-heels for Rose, it is quite sweet.

Thank you again - SO MUCH - for these awesome reviews.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by mymischiefmanaged 

20th December 2014:
Hi Beth!

I'm here for the next chapter of our swap. Sorry about the delay! Things have suddenly been a lot busier than I expected.

Wow, you know how to bring out all the feels in one chapter!

The opening to this is so adorable. I love seeing this side to Scorpius, and it's nice that although the relationship is obviously very intense it's also healthy. I like that Rose isn't shutting out her family to be with Scorpius, and that although they haven't clearly figured out what's going on they obviously respect each other and won't take advantage of the other. A lot of stories on here have slightly unhealthy relationships as the focus, but yours doesn't do that.

A little thing - it might be good to have Albus and Selenia getting an A or a P in the exam they mess up because of each other, to use the wizarding grading system rather than ours? It would set the characters more clearly in the wizarding world.

I also would have liked to see a bit more of what Samara's like. I'm guessing she's nice enough because she's getting along with Selenia, but I want to know more! (mainly because I'm intrigued by James).

And then you totally turn everything around when Rose wakes up. Stannous waiting for Rose to wake up to make his presence known is really chilling, and you get across his full creepiness within a few words.

The whole backstory of him being Rose's teacher is scary and also extremely interesting - it makes it more obvious that the kidnap must have been some kind of long term plan. Ew he's just so creepy and evil and I hate him but well done for writing him so well!

Selenia and Dom are super cool and I love them. And then Al and Scorpius turning up is a huge relief. I like how Rose picks up on Scorpius's presence even though she's starting to panic.

And then cliffhanger at the end!

Beth this whole chapter is just fantastic and I'm so so impressed and glad we did this swap :)

Lots of love,

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hey there, Emma!

Thanks so much for this review! Aah! It was awesome.

I love your idea for the "A" or "P" and I've already updated the chapter to include that - thanks so much!

I'm glad you felt that their relationship is healthy - that is important to me, but I also wanted it to seem a little "too good to be true." Rose isn't being completely open with Scorpius, here. She hasn't confided in him about her torture, and I wanted to portray that they couldn't really move forward until they were honest with each other. Unfortunately, Scorpius had to find out the hard way...

Samara and James pop up from time to time in the story. Glad you like them!

Yeah, Stannous is super creepy - and he completely did make a long-term plan to kidnap Rose. He is pure evil. A lot more is revealed about him later on in the story.

Thanks so much for doing a swap!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by crestwood 

16th December 2014:
Hi Beth! Just stopping by to start back with this story. It really has been forever and I can't believe I haven't read this yet.

I'm kind of glad you skipped over the first week or so of their relationship. I like to see them comfortable with each other like this. (how I'm used to now that I've read so many of the later chapters)

I know the whole 'lets not tell anyone about things because we're in the same group of friends and it might be awkward' thing all too well. Not to mention the thought of going a day without someone feeling like a foreign concept. The way you worded her developing feelings for him was superb.

I haven't actually read Ron's initial reaction yet, but I can only imagine. That'll be fun to see how he responds. You describe the simple act of kissing in such a rich, substantial way. I could read a chapter of just that, you genius, you.

OKAY I DID NOT SEE THIS COMING. I was not prepared for this at all. It went from so sweet and fluffy to this, how? I knew who it was right when I read 'Good evening, Rose.' What a frightening way to greet someone. It's all made worse by how polite he's being.

This is all so terrifying. I can't even imagine waking up in the middle of the night and the man who tortured you out of your mind is just sitting there in your house, waiting.

I never knew the exact way she was kidnapped in the first place. This makes everything so much worse. I understand the trust issues a lot more knowing that Stannous was someone she knew. Not only someone she knew, but her favorite teacher. Even worse still, the way you describe him as a teacher and person, I really, really like him. I already know his motivations, but I'm still speechless about his betrayal. This makes everything creepier and so much more horrible.

I would be here for a prequel in which we see the school year leading up to Rose's graduation. I know this is nowhere near finished, but at the end of it all, if you are searching for something else to write. I would totally be here for seeing Stannous in that light.

He must be powerful to get through the wards like this. And his associate as well, for Disapparating without a wand. These guys are certainly dangerous.

The fact that he knows all of this about Rose is scary. I almost hope that he's been watching her. I don't even want to think about if he had connections inside of St. Mungo's.

I love how hard Rose fights back against these guys. You can really feel that she wants no part of getting kidnapped again--because of course she doesn't. You really feel just as surprised an anxious and frightened as she does.

Luckily Dom is there and able to think so quickly on her feet to call backup and everything. I can understand the reasoning behind a lot of later developments now that I've read this.

Her panic attack at the end was honestly so sad. Seeing her reduced back down to that so soon after she finally got together with Scorpius and was starting to feel safe again. I have a feeling this will set her progress back some. Excellent work on this chapter, I just love this story. This is still one of my favorites on the site and I hope to come back really soon and keep reading!

Author's Response: Hiya Joey!

Gah! Thanks so much for leaving this review. It was such an awesome surprise!

I intentionally skipped over the first week (although some people were a bit disappointed), but I wanted their relationship to seem a bit *too* easy. Rose isn't being completely honest with Scorpius, and although she has good reason, I feel strongly that they wouldn't be able to truly move on until things came out into the open.

Yeah, Stannous is really creepy. And he did violate the professor/student trust.

A prequel? Eep! I never thought about that. Maybe... someday.

Yeah... it *is* weird how they got in - and out - isn't it?? Also that he *knows* things about her. Not gonna say anymore - at least not right now.

Rose fighting back is a really big deal - she's turned a corner and wants her life, and is willing to fight for it.

Rose is really going to need all her friends and supports to get herself back to where she was. But I think Scorpius might just be up for the challenge!

Thanks again Joey - for all your kind words and everything you've done for me!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #17, by UnluckyStar57 

21st October 2014:
Oh my... Loaded chapter alert! D:

I'm finally coming back to give you two more reviews--that 250 mark is looming closer for this story! :D And I'm so glad that I helped you catch that chapter mix-up last night--it was just a bit confusing for me when I read it the first time. :P

Okay, so things are starting to happen to Rose, and I'm really starting to see the reason for her various neuroses throughout the first few chapters. Stannous was obviously a creep and a pedophile of some sort, and that is NOT okay. Of course, he was probably more than just a pedophile--I can picture him having the goal of world domination in mind--but for some reason, he zeroed in on Rose as a target for his sadistic fantasies. Like, ew. That is some twisted stuff, but it adds so much intrigue to the storyline! How did you come up with this sinister baddie, and how do you write him torturing Rose with a clear conscience?! (Just kidding--every good story needs an antagonist. Yours just happens to be SUPER creepy.) :)

Well, at least Rose and Scorpius's relationship is going swimmingly. :) I'm so glad that they finally admitted their long-lasting feelings for each other and that they're able to establish some sort of closeness, despite all of the emotional/mental baggage that they both have. The description of Rose's happiness at seeing Scorpius is really cute, and I'm so glad that they get to have a few moments of fun and lurve before Stannous steps in to complicate matters...

However, I found myself wanting more Rose/Scorpius interaction after the last chapter. Because of Scorpius's arranged meeting with Rose, I expected to see that arranged meeting and the exact situation that came from it. By starting this chapter several days later, I feel like I missed a little bit of the story. But that's just kind of a personal preference for me, I think. I mean, I get the idea that they would've been like, "I lurve you so much," but I kind of wanted to see it happen. Ah well, what you've written is enough--romance sort of has to take a backseat to action, anyway.

A few notes on semantics:

Parts of this chapter are in present tense, which doesn't seem to make sense within the context of the past tense narration that encompasses the majority of the story. Perhaps that's something to look over when you get a chance to edit. :)

Also, a few of the spells were not spelled (lol, a pun) correctly, and that's not a huge deal, but I thought I should point it out. (I'm a big fan of spelling, sorry.) Maybe check out the Lexicon when you edit, just to make sure you get the spelling right.

Other than that, I have no complaints about this chapter. It really furthered the action along, and it made me want to read more! (Which is what I will be doing as soon as I finish typing this review.) I can't wait to see what will be done about the whole Stannous situation, especially if he's been stalking Rose like a total weirdo.

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm so excited that you wanted to give be the 250th review and thank you so much for catching the error - I think I did that by accident one day on the ipad - it's so easy to accidentally click the up or down arrow. Anyway, I'm eternally grateful for the catch!

Haha - I think I came up with him because I wanted the next gen to have their own version of Voldemort. In my mind, the story doesn't end with Harry and Voldy. I like your thoughts on world domination - keep that in the back of your mind :)

Haha - I know how you feel about wanting the Scorose interaction - and I totally agree. But, as I mentioned in my last response I was trying to show that their relationship at this point is still superficial because Rose hasn't been as open with Scorpius as she should be. Not really her fault, but she needs to give him a bit more credit.

Also (as I mentioned before) I hope that I don't disappoint with the Scorose interactions that happen later on in the story. I seriously can't wait until you get to those parts! Eeep!

I'm going to look at editing it right now. I love all your suggestions and I know that sometimes I get messed up with the tenses. Thanks so much, because I really want the story to be the best it can be :)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by slytherinchica08 

23rd September 2014:
Oh my goodness NO! And things were beginning to progress so well for Rose, but I did really like this chapter a lot as it continued to give us a little bit more of the background story. I do love how you are giving us that background information, its just small bits here and there and they just fit so well into the story line and it doesn't feel forced or anything and its just really wonderful! I wonder though how these events are going to affect Rose and her relationships in particular, her relationship with Scorpius as I can see it going either way, with her needing him around more to feel more protected, or wanting to stay away from everyone. With each chapter, I continue to find myself wanting more information to figure out what is going on and how this is all going to end up and while I know that only reading on will really tell me... gosh I really just want to know now! This is such a wonderful story and I'm really finding this very addictive and its definitely among my top stories! This is such a great read and I'm really glad that I came across it in the review tag. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi,

Yeah, this chapter was a bit different than the previous few. Rose seemed so happy and on her way to healing when it all comes crashing down. :( I also wanted Rose to come to terms with her torture. She's hidden it for so long, if she kept up the ruse, it would've gotten in the way of her and Scorpius's relationship. I really didn't want this particular story to be about how they can't get around each other. I have *other* things planned...

I'm so excited that you are hooked on this story. I really, really hope I don't disappoint you - haha!

Aaah! among your top stories! I just. Oh my - THANK YOU SO MUCH!! And I saw you nominated it for a Dobby - I'm just so overwhelmed by all of it, I don't know what to say.

I really, really appreciate all of the reviews.

Thanks again,

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by luciusobsessed 

15th July 2014:
No poor Rose. I mean don't get me wrong, I'm excited for all this drama because it intensifies everything, especially with Scorpius. I just feel so bad for her that she has to deal with the trauma of everything all over again. Everything was going so well for her and Scorpius. I had a feeling that guy from the party earlier had something to do with her trauma. I would write a longer review but I want to read the next chapter haha.

Author's Response: Hello again - and thanks again!

Good instincts about the guy from the party - he was definitely going to show up again. Yeah, just when everything was going well for Rose. This is going to set her back for a bit, and unfortunately Scorpius is in a place where he doesn't know how to help her. Let the drama ensue!

I let out a little squee that you need to keep reading! That is what every author wants to hear!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #20, by kenpo 

10th July 2014:
YAAYYY I'M ALREADY IN LOVE WITH THIS CHAPTER AFTER JUST READING THE FIRST LINE.

Okay. Sorry. Let me read the rest of it and then I'll come freak out at you.

Mid-week socializing?!?! These kids are turning into riff-raff!

Sorry. They're cute. Back to reading!

I laughed at James' comment about Ron. I hope that Scorpius can handle the temper, too...

Whoa what I wasn't expecting that!

You wrote that section really well! You twisted reality and made the reader just as unsure of what was going on as Rose was, which sort of forces the reader to gain insight into how Rose feels. Does that make sense? My words have been broken today, but I'm trying to say that I really liked what you did.

I think this was a good chapter. It was intense, but you provided some variety so it wasn't all intense all the time. The beginning was adorable and it helped to balance the chapter out. Great job!

I'm running out of reviewing time, but I think I have time for the next chapter!!!

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: Hi hi!

You are so, incredibly cute with your reviews, do you know that??!!

Yeah, Rose and Scorp are "at the beginning" where everything is great and you don't feel like you should talk to much about it to others, but you just can't stay away from each other and ya know...

Glad you appreciated the Ron comment - THAT is not going to go away. He is not a Malfoy fan.

I'm glad the scene came off as confusing (should a writer SAY that??) - but really, that is what I was going for - it is the middle of the night and Rose, just can't wrap her head around the fact that her tormentor is sitting in the middle of her living room, ready to hex her again.

Thanks again - I really appreciate all of your feedback and I'm so excited to know that you are enjoying the story!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by LightLeviosa5443 

29th June 2014:
Yas. Review Swaps remind me that I'm halfway through this and need to catch up. SO YAY.

Anyway, sorry it's taken me so long, my dad treated me to lunch. :D

I love these first four paragraphs. They're so cute and adorable. I love reading this smitten part of their relationship it's so great. What worries me is that it isn't going to stay this cute the whole chapter. I love the line "Merlin, I am getting in deep." Such a great line. Is that big butthead going to show up at this party thing and try to kidnap Rose again? Oh man, I'm afraid. Terrified, actually. LOL OH MY GOD JAMES IS SO FUNNY. I can't even, I just laughed so hard at that.

I like that word. Swimmingly. It's my new word of the day. Thanks ;) OH NO. ALONE IN HER ROOM AT NIGHT? THAT'S EVEN WORSE. WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS? EVERYTHING WAS GOING SWIMMINGLY BETH!! SWIMMINGLY! WHY. HE SOUNDS LIKE SUCH A GOOD GUY. WHY IS HE BAD THEN?! WHAT. WHAT. WHAT. Okay. I'm going to stop panicking and focus. And read. But really Im freaking out. Literally. Freaking. Out.

Oh man. Oh man. I'm terrified. I'm so terrified. This is bad. This is so so so so so bad. Why is he doing this?! Oh wait, I know. Okay. Wait, does she get kidnapped? I can't even read. Okay. Im going to stop and read. This review has lost all coherency.

Woah. What a way to end the chapter. Okay. I HAVE to read the next chapter like right now. I'm doing my last swap and then dashing back over to keep reading. Holy. Just wow. Wow. Wow. Who's POV is the next chapter? Wow. I can't say anything else. Beth. That was insane. You're insane.

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Haha! I loved this! I'm so, so, so, so glad you are getting to the good part of the story!

There is more - much more (but you already read the next chapter so you know that) and you know other stuff that is going to happen, anyway ;)

James is fun to write. I have a few other one-liners for him along the way.

I'm so glad I've turned you on to "swimmingly". Seriously, this review is one of the best I've ever gotten. Thanks so much! ♥

Stannous did seem like a good guy to everyone - too bad he ended up being a kidnapper and super creepy.

Thanks so much! You're the best!


 Report Review

Review #22, by MargaretLane 

14th June 2014:
Good to see Rose feeling better. I wonder if her problems might come back to haunt her yet, though.

The sentence "nobody knows that we are dating" is a bit long-winded. Something like "nobody knows we're dating" might sound better.

I really like the way you address the fuss that Rose and Scorpius's relationship would cause. Some stories just seem to gloss over that.

Yikes, he was her teacher. Gosh, that makes it even worse. It's one thing to be attacked by a complete stranger, but to be attacked by somebody you knew and trusted is worse, as it's easy to feel you should have known, that it's in some way your own fault for trusting the person.

Shouldn't "evening's" have an apostrophe when talking about the "evening's events"? It's not plural, like.

And yi-i-ikes, I wonder if he's really there or if she's imagining him. If he IS there, that's scary.

Again "we would start out with some crazy object that would be transformed into something different entirely" sounds a bit awkward and long-winded. Something like "we'd start out with some crazy object that would be transformed into something completely different" might sound better. That whole paragraph seems a little like that, to be honest. It might be worth taking a look through it and see where it can be shortened.

I am really intrigued as to what's going on here and exactly why he abducted her in the first place.

Author's Response: Hi!

Wow! I was so excited to see multiple reviews. You totally made my weekend! I am taking my time responding to them so I can make all of the changes that you have suggested. I re-vamped the paragraph that was awkward. I hope it reads a little smoother now. Thank you for all your help!!

I figured the Weasleys and Potters would have a great deal of press surrounding them most of the time. The kids would have just grown up with this and the older generation would do as much as they could to protect them from it, but once they grew up and were out on their own, it would be a little more difficult.

I'm so glad you are intrigued - that is what I was going for!


 Report Review

Review #23, by lindslo2012 

10th June 2014:
Hey Beth,
Here for another requested review.
Oh my... this was quite an intense chapter indeed.
Poor Rose... that was a very sucky situation..
:(
I am glad that she was having a good time with Scorpius and that they are turning into something. I hope that this doesn't change that.
I want to know what happened between her and that teacher... hmm.
That was quite a ruined good night for Rose.
It was really cute how James said I hope you can handle a red head's temper- referring to Ron, not Rose haha.
I love that whole family! What a fun family that would be to be apart of!
:)
I think you are doing an amazing job with this story and I have not been dissapointed at all while reading it- it has left me wanting to read more!
Your characterization is really really good and your plot is fresh and intense with each chapter, leaving the reader to just want to read on.
Anyways- I will def read on so come back and re-request!!!
Loved it as usual!
Until next time,
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi Lindsey,

Thanks so much for another fabulous review. I'm so glad that you are enjoying the story! I have much, much more planned for it.

As far as Rose and Stannous are concerned, all we know right now is that he kidnapped her and used that horrible curse on her. There will be more on that later ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed the humor! James is really fun to write. I picture him as a great quidditch player who always gets the hot girls and doesn't worry too much.

This little incident is going to have some repercussions for Rose and Scorpius. They were kind of in a little fairy-tale world, anyway. She needs to open up to him about what really happened to her during her kidnapping.

Thanks again - I'm off to re-request!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by shez 

26th May 2014:
Dun dun dun! We meet the villian! I had a feeling we'd be hearing about him again. Oh No rrose! Don't worry, your family and boyfriend are going to save you. I didn't mention this earlier but I really like that all the kids are close to harry in this fic- and that they're all studying toward a higher education. Much about this story fits my headcannon. I love, LOVE albus in this, because he's my absolute favorite anywhere anyway. I really hope rose finally manages to face her fear head-on. I want to know why strannous came after her after all this time.

Author's Response: Yup. Stannous is a bad dude. And he is definitely targeting Rose. We won't know the reason for a bit (sorry!). My head canon consists of the fact that the golden trio are close to their kids - Harry definitely more so than Ron and Hermione (who focused on her career), but that they tried to overcompensate a bit by protecting them to the point of not really discussing the horrors of the war with them. I don't think that any of them want to relive that and they feel that the world is safe enough that they don't have to make their kids grow up as soon as they had to. I hope that makes sense, because the naivety of the next gen kids comes out in later chapters (especially Rose).

 Report Review

Review #25, by CambAngst 

25th May 2014:
Wow. Things got really, really intense in this one. This Stannous guy doesn't go away, does he? I'm getting really, really curious about how he ties into her past and what his interest in her was or is.

But that's getting ahead of myself. The two of them were so cute, it makes you want to vomit. You know, Selenia and Al aren't the only ones who are acting pretty cute at the start of this chapter. I really enjoyed the secretive sort of approach Rose and Scorpius are taking to their relationship in the beginning. I've seen that play out several times when two people who are part of a larger group of friends start to date. They don't want to make things awkward with the rest of their circle, so they try to keep it on the down low until they feel "sure". At least as sure as you can ever feel about something like that.

"I was referring to my Uncle Ron, of course," James said, not missing a beat. -- Ugh. Yeah, there's that. Alluding to confrontations yet to come, are we? ;)

Ah, they're waiting around for that post-party snog. Definitely the sign of a couple with strong chemistry. If two people can make it through an entire party without annoying one another and they still want to snog when it's over, that's a good sign!

My one suggestion for this chapter would probably be to slow the pace of the first section a little. The thing I like most about the chapter is the contrast between the first section, where Rose is feeling comfortable and secure and excited and just all around happy, and the second section where she ends up terrified and exposed and eventually broken. I feel like you could have enhanced that by spending more time in the first section, focusing on Rose's feelings of safety and comfort and fulfillment.

On to the second section. I really liked the kind of hazy, mysterious, "is this really happening or is this a dream" quality that it had, at least at the start. Before Stannous completely reveals himself, I definitely would have believed that Rose was just having a nightmare. But the scene gets more and more real as the chapter moves forward. Terrifyingly real.

Interesting. Right up to the point where Stannous abducts Rose, he seems like a really good guy. He was obviously an excellent teacher, one that the students liked and I daresay admired. It's curious to imagine that all of this was an act, geared toward the capture and seemingly pointless torture of a single student. There's definitely something deeper going on here. A brilliant mystery!

You did an amazing job of capturing the paralyzing terror that Rose feels in his presence. For a while, she can't move or speak. It almost feels like an autonomic reaction when she finally cries out in panic. But her body sort of takes over for her. I guess it's tired of dealing with the physical abuse.

The things that Stannous seems to know about Rose made me even more suspicious. Either he's going to great lengths to keep tabs on her -- something that would be very difficult for a wanted fugitive -- or he has an inside connection to her life. Very suspicious, indeed...

And here comes the cavalry! That was a brilliant tactic on Dom's part, using her patrons to summon Al and Scorpius. Good on you, Dom!

I felt horrible for Rose at the end. She's so consumed by what just happened that she can no longer tell friend from foe. She's collapsing in on herself again, having another panic attack. At least her friends know now. I think that's where the next phase of the healing begins.

Excellent job with this chapter. Looking forward to the next!

Author's Response: Hey Dan,

Glad this chapter didn't disappoint. I'm going to go back and look at the pacing. I wanted the first part to seem like things were going a bit too well for Rose. It was just too easy for them. Their relationship wasn't completely based on honesty because Rose hasn't yet told Scorpius about her torture - that is bound to get in the way at some point.

It does seem like a lot of work for Stannous to build up trust, just to abduct Rose. He has his motivations ;).

That is kind of weird, huh? Stannous knows a lot about what Rose has been up to, although he has been in hiding for the past two years. He is a slippery one...

Dom has a cool head and at least knows when she is outnumbered.

Rose, of course, will view her panic and unconsciousness as weakness, no doubt. She would most likely have never revealed her secret to the others willingly.

Thanks again!

~Beth



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>