Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

18th July 2016:
Finally, we had dinner with Harry and Ginny, who never forgot the anniversary. -- This is so believable. Of course Harry would feel a lot of connection with a kid who's also lost his parents and has nowhere else to go - he was the same. I love this... especially because it shows how much Harry cares for Draco Malfoy's son, regardless of his history with Draco himself. That says so much about Harry. What a good person :)

eep Scorpius' thoughts about Rose are so cute. how he just wants to see her every day all the time. So yeah, he may not technically be a teenager anymore but based on the way he's acting... Aw. Young love :P

Oh I love that you described exactly what sort of corruption was going on in the Auror department (I mean, we knew the rest of the Ministry had problems, but it's nice to see the specifics for that department) and how Harry was able to restructure it.

haha that's like the classic teacher move, calling the person who's disrupting the class up to the front to 'volunteer' for whatever thing. Even worse when it's your dad noticing you not paying attention... Sorry, Albus! :P

Thank goodness for Scorpius intervening and saving the day. I think everyone else was too scared to..

“Albus Severus!” -- oh boy

Poor Al, though. He is under a lot of pressure. And I honestly loved the way they sorted all of that out. Harry has grown up a lot since Hogwarts, and seeing the way he handled that situation was really great. I think Al is very similar to how Harry was at that age, so Harry understands what his son needs. They can't both be hot-headed in this situation, and he recognized Al's achievements, and Scorpius's as well and it all turned out fine with no hard feelings. Good job Harry. And Scorpius of course.

I love that you had the Auror dept using the animal acronyms for their exams as well haha, the SNAKEs

Haha, Al at the end. What a sneaky devil :P

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sophie Grace 

11th February 2016:
I highly enjoyed reading this chapter. I could get feel the tension between Harry and Albus. Oh how I loved their interaction and Albus's thirst to prove himself to Harry. Great job.

Author's Response: Hiya!

Oh thanks - I felt there should be more to the story than just Rose and Scorpius. Albus needed a chapter!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by oldershouldknowbetter 

14th November 2015:
Hi there, I have finally snagged you for the BvB. I had thought to maybe review something else, but how could I resist coming back to one of my favourite stories on this site. I've told you that I had to not read your story for a while, that the stories that I liked with a really strongly drawn Rose I couldn't read because it interfered with the voice of my Rose in my head. Well recently I've finished writing some chapters with a lot of internalised Rose deliberation and having penned them, I've gotten it firmed in my mind and so could go back and resume reading these stories again. One of the first I came back to was this wonderful tale and I am happy to say that I'm up to date. I vaguely thought about reviewing the latest chapter, but I went to and realised that I wanted to comment on a lot that came before. So here I am, back at the first one that I haven't reviewed yet.

And it's a wonderful chapter (though most are). It's the one after all the horrible party and the drunkeness. After Rose had 'rescued' him from his drunken state and obviously hung around with him for the rest of the weekend on what anyone else would call a protracted date, but these two cannot; these two who have not yet mustered up the gumption to actually be honest with each other and talk.

We find both Albus and Scorpius together in the Auror department, with the new trainees, and being a disruptive influence.

I like what you've done regarding Harry and his reforms of the Auror department. We do not know much of it from the books, just the merest snapshot, but it fits with how the rest of the ministry was run. Harry reforming it rings true to me and is a wonderful example of his character. The mentoring system is also well done, not only from a practical point of view, but for what it allows you to do with your story.

Harry is so warm and welcoming and tolerant and ... but like any father, a young son can always make one see red by being inconsiderate. In trying to get a rise out of his mate, all Albus succeds in doing is raising his father's ire. This is such a good examination of intra-family dynamics. Actually it all is, a lot of what you've written in these first few chapters: from Ron's over protectiveness of his daughter in the flash back; to the last day of Scorpius' parents; and now this. The story proper is focused upon the Next Gen kids, but they are informed by the strong personalities who are their parents. So incidents like this one are like baton passing moments, where the leading man status is passed on by Harry to his son. His son now has the imperature to be the hero of his own story and not have to feel that he is just a secondary reflection of his famous father. It's so well done.

But, I'm getting ahead of myself, I haven't even gotten to that bit in the story yet. Harry in a bit of a fit of pique, calls his son out and has him 'demonstrate' duelling for the new recruits. The exposition you provide from Scorpius is wonderfully done: informative without being too much. It also shows, again, Scorpius' Ravenclaw nature and that he is so connected to and in touch with everyone he loves - except for Rose. Argh! As to an angered Ginny Potter, everyone knows that's something to fear.

Scorpius looks around and realises that he is the only one who knows it's all about to go south. At this moment we know that he is already a good Auror and in time will become a great one.

You write the action so well. The mounting tension is palpable (ha! I've just read on and you have Scorpius use the same phrase too and he's right) and having the combatants marching in on each other is such a good device; it ramps up the tension each time you do it. Just as it comes to a head you have Scorpius be a peacemaker and step between them. And we all relax and it was all a demonstration - yeah, right. Any newbie who actually believes that needs some training in conflict recognition.

Scorpius takes them away so that the two of them can explode at each other in private (again, how much do I love your Scorpius). Things are said some that cannot be unsaid, but thankfully you use it as a goad to force a realisation upon Harry that has been a long time in coming. Scorpius is again the catalyst here - so good.

Almost effortlessly do you show us what maturity brings when you have Harry reconcile things with his son. 'Yes, I've been hard on you, but you deserve it because you're better than me and you will be great' to paraphrase. Such the elder statesman.

S.N.A.K.E.s - rises from my chair to give you a standing ovation, such a good catch of an acronym. And you haven't forced the words to fit either, bravo.

The tension is diffused and like a good father should, Harry gives his two boys a pat on the back; metaphorically and literally. One for the abilities that every Auror wants and aspires to and the other for the abilities that every Auror actually needs.

The end of this dramatic scene is interupted by a certain little, female, red-headed Weasley. Scorpius goes weak at the knees upon seeing her and Albus gets a poke-in-the-side into Scorpius before scampering away; the poke being only verbal thankfully after the recent physical exertions.

And that is when we are reminded of the very first line of this chapter. And it also jogs our memory about something else too. What was the initial disruption all over? That's right, Albus trying to get his mate to be honest with Rose about how he feels! Argh *pulls hair out* we know Albus, we know!

Another great chapter in such a great fic.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Andrew,

I always must leave your reviews to be answered last so that I can give them the attention they are due. No other reader of mine is so detailed in noticing every small part of my story - whether it be in the plot, characterization, or interpersonal relationships (for which there is NO lack of in this particular installment :) ).

It makes me so happy to read all your points - but it also pushes me to be the best writer I can be. I don't want to disappoint any of my readers, but there are a select few who I feel hold their standards high, and I want to make sure that I keep to those standards.

I completely understand about not wanting to confuse the voices of your own characters from reading another story. I generally avoid that as well, but I'm so happy you've found yourself at a point where you can come back to this one - because your reviews are so amazing!

I chose the title of this novel rather on a whim because 'it just seemed to fit.' I had only written about half of the overall plot when I started posting on this site (which is what forced me to choose a title). The working title on my computer was "Rose is Rose." Immediately, I hated "Actions Speak Louder Than Words." It is too cliche and sounds like a syrupy love-hate novel. But the more and more I've written these two protagonists, the more I realize that the title holds true for their story - they choose to use their quick-witted minds to out-think each others' emotions rather than just have a chat about it. The cycle of not talking leading to a misunderstanding, leading to more angst repeats in several instances. So, although I still feel like my title is a bit predictable, I can't think of anything else that would be a better fit for this. (Wow - I had no intention of revealing so much in a review response - hah!)

Thank you for your kind words about my action scene. This was my first go at writing a duel and it was complicated by the fact that there were so many bystanders that would have a reaction to what was going on. I wasn't exactly sure if I'd pulled it off, and I rely on feedback from the readers to let me know - so thanks!

Eeep! So glad you like my S.N.A.K.E.s exams - I was particularly proud of that - as it seemed to fit so well with the exams taken by Hogwarts students. Since those exams are overseen by the Ministry, it seemed to make sense that they would also have their own exams with short-hand names. And I was so excited to see that you nominated that for a SOTM award. Thank you!

Yes! You noticed how I brought the chapter back to the important issue at hand - Rose and Scorpius! EVERYONE can see that they need to be together - when will these two figure it out?

Thanks again, Andrew - this review was fabulous!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Musing 

17th October 2015:
Hi Beth!

I am finally back here. Congratulations for the Dobbys. *hugs*
While I am here, I thought I might as well do it as a part of the BvB Review Fest.

This chapter touched upon so many lovely relationships.

Rose and Scorpius have finally made a sort of start towards their impending relationship, great! They visited Madame Tussauds' among other places. I wish to visit it someday myself. ;)

I liked the bond of friendship between Albus and Scorpius. Scorpius understands not only Albus, but Harry as well. While reading, a thought just randomly struck me. What if fifteen year old Draco had known that his own son would refer to Harry Potter as his 'surrogate father' and Harry's son as his 'brother'. Draco would have probably vowed never to have children. :P

I could relate to the tension between Harry and Albus. Harry wants his son to be the best but Albus is tired of proving himself. I have seen this sort of a thing happen quite a few times in real life. It's good that they finally talked and got everything cleared up. Albus is more like Harry than he may probably realise. He has definitely inherited his father's hot-headedness among other things. :P

The description of the duelling scene is just flawless. I could actually imagine it happening in front of my eyes. Not many people can write such impressive action scenes.

After OWLs and NEWTs, there are S.N.A.K.E.S. How did you come up with that? This is just ingenious. :D

Why did this chapter had to have a cliffhanger? I had planned on reading and reviewing just one chapter tonight, but now I have to go and read the next one right away. Here I go!

- Emm ^_^

Author's Response: Emm,

Gah! This review! I'm so sorry that I've taken so long to respond to it - and I just read through it again and Eeep! I'm hoping I can do it some justice...

I wanted to gloss over Rose and Scorpius a little bit here - they are in the beginning part of their relationship where "everything is awesome..." but Rose is still hiding her past and that's going to get in the way of them moving forward.

Scorpius is a pretty amazing guy, when he can get out of his own way ;) He is a bit more removed from the father/son relationship of Al and Harry and he can see both sides.

Oh - thanks so much for your comment about the dueling scene. I'm never sure if what's in my head completely makes it into the words on the screen - so I really appreciate that!

Haha - yeah I really liked the idea of S.N.A.K.E.s too! I should've tried to come up with something for the Healer exams as well, but in my head, their program was structured a bit differently.

Hee hee - thanks for doing two chapters - it made my night!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by Rumpelstiltskin 

13th October 2015:
Hey Beth :)!

Oooh I love the warm, fuzzies happening between Rose and Scorp, though (as he said) they haven't come right out with any sort of "term" for their hanging out. It's clear that Scorpius absolutely adores her, I mean, he's said that he wants to see her again (and again, and again), even after being dragged to a wax museum ;). She's carrying a ton of baggage right now, though, so I'm sure this ship will be sailing on some rocky seas.

I really like how intricate you've made the auror-training program. I hadn't thought much about it, but I would expect that they would have to go through some highly extensive training before dedicating their lives to fighting evil and the dark arts. Also, Harry's dispersion of the idea glory-seeking among aurors was definitely a good thing. I'd hate to have to rely on someone to protect *me*, when they'd only be seeking fame.

Al is quite the trouble-maker. I laughed when Harry called him out on it, too ;). That should have set him straight, having to duel his father. That's true, though, it must have been tough having Harry Potter as his father, *especially* when he's trying to become an auror and Harry is in charge. Woah, boy.

That was a fantastic action scene, with the duel. The tension was thick; it had me worried for a moment. I am glad that Scorpius stepped in though, it probably saved some trouble on Al's end, it looked like he needed a bit of assistance.

The confrontation between Harry and Al was also really tense. I can't help but feel that Harry really is trying to help Al out by being extra hard on him. Al's not going to have to go through everything Harry had to deal with in order to become a great auror, so some extra pushing probably doens't hurt. Of course, I can see why Al feels like this is an injustice.

I'm totally glad that things were resolved :). Oh, yeah, and I'm also totally glad that Al said this while running out of the room, " “Scorpius has something urgent he must tell you!""

:D Oh poor Scorpius!

Another wonderful chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi there Rumpel!

Oh - thanks SO much for leaving this review - I'm so happy you made your review goal. It was so kind of you to offer.

And this REVIEW IS SO AMAZING!

Yeah - Harry and Al have their own issues. It isn't unsurmountable, but the two of them need to see each other's POV a bit more. I'm happy you thought the duel scene played off well. I always get nervous that the images in my head aren't translating in the words.

Haha - I love to end the chapter with a little bit of humor.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by manno_malfoy 

29th September 2015:
Alright, so this chapter is different because instead of focusing on Rose and Scorpius and their issues, we focus on Albus and his. He’s been a bit on the sidelines the past few chapters and basically all we knew about him was that he cares about Rose a lot. So it was amazing to get to explore this intense, competitive side of him, and to see the effect of being the Chosen One’s son on him. What I particularly like about Albus right now is that even though Harry is pushing him and has high expectations for him, he didn’t quit on being an auror. He could’ve just made a switch if it really bothered him THAT much. But this goes to show how good he is at it, and how much he appreciates his job.

It’s interesting how Albus is encouraging Scorpius to go for this relationship, as opposed to most of the ScoRose fics where he gets really defensive and protective. And that really does prove how obvious Scorpius’s and Rose’s feelings are for each other. And the bottom line is, they’re good for each other as well, so I just wanna hit them both on the head and tell them to get together and make things better for both of them. Which is why I support Albus’s childish behaviour towards this at the end of the chapter. I applaud him.

I also loved seeing how Scorpius respects Harry and how grateful he is to him. After all, Harry pretty much adopted him. I thought that was a fantastic touch! And it’s realistic as well that he noticed when it was getting out of hand between Harry and Albus. Just great characterisation, overall so far. And I just wanna sit here and gobble up the story all day! :D

-Manno

Author's Response: Hey there Manno,

I'm so glad you liked my Albus character. I really made an effort with this fic to write a Rose/Scorpius story where the characters were a little different than they are normally portrayed. I'm not saying I don't love to read the stories where Albus wants to pound Scorpius into the ground for kissing his cousin, but I just thought there was another way the story could go.

Haha - I kinda want to hit them over the head too. They really are made for each other and they need each other for so many parts of their lives.

Scorpius does feel connected to Harry - and Harry was very cautious in his treatment of Scorpius - so he didn't feel like he was trying to take the place of his father, but wanted him to know that there would always be someone there for him, if he needed it.

Eeep! Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

20th September 2015:
Oh wow. That duel between Harry and Al was epic. And I'm glad to see some resolution, and Harry complimenting Al. It's a good thing Scorpius stepped in!

And, I really hope Scorpius tells Rose, and soon!

Another great chapter, off to the next!

Author's Response: Hiya!

Yeah, Harry and Al have a complicated relationship. Hopefully this incident will bring some issues to light. Scorpius can see both sides, as he's not as emotionally involved

Yes! Scorpius needs to get moving on this!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th September 2015:
Hey there. Sooo...I'm being bad. I should really be moving on to some of the other Dobby nominees--and I will--but I really wanted to read a bit more of this, and what a chapter!

I love that her wreath was of flowers based on the names of his parents--asters for Astoria, snapdragons for Draco. It just shows how considerate Rose is (and was also a nice touch on your part).

THEY KISSED?!! And we didn't SEE IT?!!


He had taken a different philosophy regarding the auror department – camaraderie and peace. Before Harry took over, there was a lot of competition between the aurors to be assigned to the “best” missions. It had gotten very cutthroat and manipulative as aurors held information from each other and used underhanded tactics to gain favor with the senior members and other ministry officials.
--I can totally see this happening. It fits right in with the previous incompetence of the Ministry. And it's just the sort of thing Harry wouldn't stand for. I like how you give a concrete way that Harry improved the Ministry.

Whoa, man. Al was downright scary. But Harry was intense, as well. I think the situation you describe is a very realistic one, with Harry trying not to show favoritism, and Al feeling like he was being held to an absurd standard. That would definitely cause frustration.

It was really nice to see Scorpius' quick thinking, and I love that he thinks of Harry and Albus as his family!

You write older Harry really well. You can see why he's head of the department, and how he's matured. I loved how he looked to Scorpius for confirmation on if he was doing the right thing with Albus--Harry learned long ago that going it alone is not how you succeed. I love how you show that, as an example of how he's grown.

That moment, when he realized that Albus had been struggling with this frustration for years, that this was the root of the problem--that was great. And the way he skirted around it, then addressed it head on, felt very appropriate and very Harry. His signature humility is still there, too. Writing Harry is intimidating to me, at least, because he's the central figure, but I think you've done quite a good job here.

And I loved how you--and he--highlighted both Albus and Scorpius' talents at the same time.

Oh, Albus, you are in so much trouble!

CC:

In a matter of moments he had gone from a cool, collected bloke who was taking the mickey on me for spending time with Rose (we will come back to that later) to a cold fury building within him.
--the first and second halves of this sentence don't quite match up. He goes from being a "bloke"--a person--to being a "cold fury"--emotion. It might flow better to say: "he had gone from a cool, collected bloke...to an enraged fighter, a cold fury building within him." Or maybe, "a raging bull"? I don't know if that's quite right either. It just might be good if the two halves corresponded a bit more, either emotion to emotion, or type of person to type of person.

Great work! But I'm quickly learning that that seems to be the standard for you. It's all so good! Still, even when you're expecting greatness, that doesn't make it any less exciting to find such a high quality fic. I think I could binge-read this, like watching a Netflix series.

--Penny

Author's Response: Oh, wow.

*This.*

I'm seriously finding it difficult to respond to this one, here. Gah - thanks so much!

THIS REVIEW IS AMAZING AND I NEED TO DO IT JUSTICE WITH A PROPER RESPONSE!!!

Okay, here goes my attempt...

I'm so giddy with glee that you feel like you want to keep reading. I mean, that's all any author wants to hear, right? That the story that's been in the back of my mind for years is making others so intrigued they could BINGE READ?! EEEP.

And I can't even with how you pick up on EVERYTHING!! No one else has commented on the type of flowers that Rose chose to make the wreath out of. It really, really feels like all the time and effort I put into this story is worth it when someone notices all those little details - thank you SO, SO much.

Here's my explanation for the 'first kiss' and why I didn't write that scene. (And MANY people have commented on that). I *was* trying to move the story along a little bit, but that is completely secondary to my other reason: I was really trying to downplay the significance of their beginning relationship because Rose hasn't been totally honest with Scorpius at that point in the story. She's still keeping her big secret from him. I guess I wanted to send the message that in order to completely commit to someone else, you have to be able to let them in to the things in your life that have shaped who you are as a person - and also be willing to let them help you along your path to healing - especially for something as important as Rose's circumstances.

Yippee!! I'm so happy you like my version of Harry. I've had some cc on my characterization of him, and that has helped me to develop his actions/reactions to certain events in the story, BUT I still hold to my original beliefs on how he grew up a little bit post-war. I don't think he would be quite as impulsive or hot headed as he was in his moody teenage years. I actually see him as a little "Dumbledore-esque" as he ages. I think many leaders would come to him for advice, knowing that he was always fair and would fight for the underdog and the people who couldn't fight for themselves.

And I *definitely* think that Albus would feel overshadowed by him - simply because he chose the same career as his dad. I don't think Harry is the type to "bring his work home" or push any of his kids into a specific career, but once Al chose to be an Auror, Harry would be quite demanding that he live up to the highest standards. I hope that makes sense.

I'm also trying to balance Scorpius out. As an Auror, he usually maintains control in high stress situations. It's his overly emotional nature that gets the best of him - along with his insecurities about his family's past.

Haha - I loved writing that little dig that Albus got in - for both Scorpius and Rose. I could *feel* them squirm - as he was smirking away.

You're *SO* right about that line. I'm going to fix it. I love your suggestion, but I think I have an idea of how I want it to sound.

And that last bit... I'm searching for a way to respond. Thanks so, so, so, so much! I'm reduced to a pile of goo right now.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by ravenclaw_princess 

11th August 2015:
Hey. Here for the BvB

Its been a while, but I'm back to continue reading your story which I was really enjoying. I love your writing style, it's very fluid and seamless making it very easy to read. The details and history of, in this case, the auror training programme, fit well into the overall narrative, so it doesn't make you feel like you're suddenly be given a history lesson. The details were enough to create a rich atmosphere to the world in which Al and Scorpius now belong.

I especially love S.N.A.K.E.S...very clever :)

The emotional turmoil of Al was well showcased here. It is hard to follow in the footsteps of your father, especially one as accomplished as Harry. His behaviour is a little juvenile, but is has probably been an issue that Al has always had to deal with growing up and manifests itself as it always had. He was quite hot tempered, that's for sure, showing that he bottles up a lot f his emotions.

I liked how Scoprius defused the situation. It was really clever. He's good at reading people and also quite crafty to come up with such an ingenious solution.

Great chapter. I look forward to reading more (and also seeing what 'very important thing' Scorpius makes up...I'm not quite sure that he's going to be able to tell Rose the truth just yet.)

Author's Response: Hiya!

Thank you so much for coming back to my story. I'm so happy you like it! And I'm so excited about this review because you really seem to pick up on all the little points I was trying to make with this chapter.

For example, you've got Albus down to a tee - he *is* a tiny bit immature and hurting because he really wants to be an amazing Auror, but how do you do that when your dad is Harry Potter?

And yes! Scorpius is the more level headed of the group, but he's a bit outside of the Harry/Albus situation, so he can read it better. (Hee hee - I was pretty proud of the S.N.A.K.E.s thing... ;)

I can't wait to find out what you think of the next few chapters!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tonks1247 

13th June 2015:
Did I previously say I love the switch ups in POV? I like that it changes and I get to see both sides of the story. I mean, at times frusterating, because these two are borderline ridiculous sometimes, but really, really effective with telling the story and characterization and such! Really great!

Haha. I love Albus' teasing. Even better that it is in a meeting where they aren't supposed to be talking. The only thing I woulda suggested to Scorpius was to be like, dude, you're talking about your cousin. Just to see if that woulda made things played out different...

Anyways. This whole issue between Harry and Albus? Oh my gosh. Intense and I think I can actually understand where it's coming from. Although, why Teddy wasn't more concerned about the dueling idea as quickly as Scorpius is sorta concerning. Or even Ron. I mean, yeah, great, fine, it's how it works, but like...that could have gotten so much worse. I do love how Scorpius got in the way before it went over the top.

And the truth coming out about the big issue between father and son? Well played out. I love how you have it described. Seems like it could actually be happening and it was good to see Harry and Albus getting on the same page with things.

Also. Albus at the end? Scorpius had the right idea in mind. So totally unnecessary. Makes me laugh though. Especially because this isn't exactly how Scorp wanted things to turn out...should know better with Albus though, shouldn't he?

Haha, another great chapter! Think I'm in for one more tonight...
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela!

Gah - I don't know if I can tell you how much I love all these reviews. You bring a fresh perspective and I really enjoy the back-and-forth conversation we're having!

Glad you like the camaraderie between Al and Scorp. Good point about Rose being Al's cousin. I think at this point, he's just tired of them dancing around each other - enough is enough - haha!

I wanted to explore the Al/Harry issue a bit more, but since the story is centered around Rose and Scorpius, I didn't want to digress too much...

Haha - yes, Albus is a bit cheeky at the end, but he felt it was needed to get these two love birds pointed in the right direction.

Thank you so much!

♥ Beth




 Report Review

Review #11, by MalfoyMannor 

7th June 2015:
the showdown of the great Potters Harry vs Al :P

love the dueling you put in, thank god for Scorp for making them stop

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks again for stopping to leave a review! - Haha, yeah - good thing at least Scorpius had his head on straight!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by TearsIMustConceal 

6th June 2015:
Hey Beth! Here for the BvB review battle (and because I can never stay away too long!)

I love Scorpius and Al’s relationship, it’s almost brotherly and I love how Al is encouraging the relationship between Scorpius and Rose – he’s really supportive and its super sweet! But then there is the other side of Al, his relationship with Harry makes him seem childish but I can completely understand where his feelings come from – he feels as though he’s being treated unfairly, which is quite true except Al doesn’t understand why Harry is so harsh on him but that’s realistic – parents go hard on their children and sometimes it seems unfair but it’s done lovingly.

The duelling scene was done really well – I struggle with action but you’ve managed to convey it convincingly and in a really brilliant way. And I love how Scorpius is the one to realise that things are going too far and that he’s the one to step in – it really shows his connection with Al, that he knows when his best mate is close to being a little out of control and knows how to diffuse the tension – it really shows his maturity.

The only thing that’s not sitting well with me is the way Harry then shouted at Al after they’d finished – I just can’t picture it but I guess after a heated-up duel like the one they’d just had, tensions would be high so maybe I can see it a little bit but otherwise, I just don’t see Harry as the shouting type of Dad.

And S.N.A.K.E exams – that’s quite clever, I loved it!!

And Al at the end – I can really picture him doing that and Scorpius inwardly cursing Al as he left him in the awkward situation with Rose but I’m with Al – I’d be pushing them together as well because it needs to happen now!!!

Anyway, once again, this was another amazing chapter and I’ll be reading the next one as soon as I can!!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Hi there Vicki!

Wow - what an awesome review - I feel like you really get my characters. Yes, I wanted a brotherly relationship between Al and Scorpius. Al is moody and too smart for his own good, but his brother James is a bit wild and while they love each other, Al has a special connection with Scorpius.

Oh - thanks for the comment about the dueling scene. I never know if I get those right, as you said action is tough to write. :)

Okay, Harry. I actually had a milder reaction here and on the advice of some die-hard Harry canon characterizers, I changed it up. Harry also has a temper and can be moody. While that trait has been somewhat diffused in adulthood, he is still very passionate where his family is concerned. He didn't realize his treatment of Al was causing such animosity in his son, but nonetheless, he had a point to make.

Haha - I love writing the funny bits and Al was ready to just literally shove the two of them together after all of their dancing around the obvious. Thanks so much for picking up on that too! :)

Thank you so, so much - I love getting your reviews.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I'm back for another chapter!

So not only is Scorpius aware that he has a thing for Rose, but everyone else knows it as well. It was nice seeing Albus trying to take the mickey out of him instead of being insanely jealous and over protective. Scorpius and Rose are adults after all.

The scene between Albus and Harry was pretty intense. I don't know how Ron could just stand back and let this happen like it wasn't getting out of hand. At least Teddy and Scorpius seemed to be aware of what was going on.

It was quick thinking on Scorpius' part to distract everyone. He really did seem to save them from a potentially uncomfortable, awkward moment. Imagine if one of them had actually really hurt the other. It would've been pretty bad.

The only little bit of constructive criticism I'd like to offer on this chapter is that the argument between Albus and Harry seemed just a bit too tidy and neat for my taste. Considering that Albus was seething with fury only moments before, it doesn't seem like things would blow over quite this easy, but that could just be me.

I love that Albus forced Scorpius into a situation where he had to actually talk to Rose. I hope he finally tells her what's going on!

As always, good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hiya,

Yeah, Albus and Harry had some unresolved issues until this chapter. Ron either doesn't pick up on how serious the situation is or he thinks Harry's got it under control.

Hmmm... good point about the resolution to the argument. I think I was banking on Albus being so completely taken aback that Harry paid him a compliment - and a big one at that. He didn't know what to do with himself.

Haha - that last little bit was fun!

Thanks!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Hi Beth!
Wow, the duel was described so well, I felt like I was really there, watching them. Albus must be really good if he can even put up a fight against Harry. It's natural that Harry pushes him so hard, but I am glad they get to talk and Harry realizes that he should also praise him when he does something right.

Scorpius quickly knows that the situation is goinng to escalate. The way he steps in is admirable and at exactly the right moment. I'm glad Teddy picks up on it and helps him.

Albus is right, Scorpius needs to tell Rose.

I'm off now, to find out if he does tell her in chapter 7.
~Anja

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yeah, Al does have a bit of pent up anger regarding being Harry Potter's son. I wanted to address that early on in the story. I don't think it would be smooth sailing for him. And Harry learned a bit in this chapter as well! You're right! Scorpius does need to be honest about his feelings for Rose.

As always, thanks so much for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lostmyheart 

23rd March 2015:
Beth, you make me fall more and more in love with Scorpius with every line I read! He's adorable!

I loved this chapter, are you crazy your characterizations are just perfect. You've done so much work on your chapters, with the way the think, act and respond.

I hope it's okay that I give you this short review, I just really want to move on and see what happens with Scorp and Rose!

Love,
Avi

Author's Response: Avi!

Wow! This was such a nice surprise to log in and see these reviews. This was perfectly lovely - and I'm so excited that you want to read on!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by UnluckyStar57 

19th October 2014:
Ahah! October BvB again! This review is brought to you in part by my awesome procrastination skills and my wish to learn more of Rose and Scorpius's story. :)

Oh. Wow. Albus and Harry were really going at it for a minute there. I was pretty shocked that Harry would choose to call Al out on his misbehavior and engage him in a duel in front of the entire Auror program. That sort of goes against Harry's whole "Mr. Nice Guy Peaceful Auror" persona with which he runs the department, but then again, parent-child relationships are always tough to balance, especially in the workplace. Thank Merlin for Scorpius hopping in with his peacemaking skills!

Oh yeah, and Al seems like he's just a little bit of a nuisance sometimes, what with all of his teasing and carrying on. But deep down, he just wants to prove himself to Harry, so maybe he purposefully acts out sometimes, to get some sort of reaction out of Harry? I don't know... But I love how complex your characters are! I haven't seen Al much in this, but he definitely has his own demons, just like Rose and Scorpius do.

A few typo-esque things that I caught:

"...although mildly irritated at Al for distracting me during the morning session, I just can't bring myself to be..."~Because this story is written in past tense, I think that the "can't" in this sentence should be "couldn't."

"Impedimentia!"~I think the spell is actually "Impedimenta."

Both are very minor things, so you don't have to worry about editing them if you don't want to. :)

One thing with the plot that concerned me a little was the speed of Harry and Al's reconciliation. There have been bad feelings under the surface for so many years, and they're just going to kiss and make up?! I refuse to think that this is the case. I think that it might be a reconciliation, but only on the surface--after all, this is from Scorpius's PoV, and he isn't exactly a mind reader. I'm thinking that tensions between the two green-eyed Potters will explode in a later chapter. The only reason that I bring this up is because the reconciliation was just. So. Quick! But now that I think about it, I'm sure that there will be more arguments to come. Ignore my waffling. :)

Uh oh, is Scorpius going to tell Rose the truth, or is he just going to beat around the bush some more? I'm betting that it's the later option. ;)

'Til next time!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi again!

Haha - I love procrastination - but I'll get to that later :)

You're not the first person to comment on Harry's quick temper. I think that it had been a long time coming between him and Al - and since they are both not the main characters in the story, so I wasn't sure how much time to put into their back stories. Harry, at this point is just really disappointed that HIS son is the one setting a bad example. He wants Al to be the best - that Harry *knows* he can be, but he seems to fall short and get a bit sloppy. I am thinking about how to handle this differently, but I really wanted the two to face off so Harry could tell Al that he's really a better version of himself.

They did make up pretty quickly, huh? Again, I wasn't sure how to pace this because I didn't want to spend too much time on a side story - hmmm, I'll have to think about that. You're not waffling - I really don't have another argument between the green-eyes, but I do mention that Harry takes some steps to show trust in his son, if that helps :)

Thanks for finding those - I'll definitely fix them. The validators are gonna hate me - haha!

Scorpius and Rose well... you'll just have to read to find out!

Thanks again - so, so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by slytherinchica08 

23rd September 2014:
AHAHAH! That ending was just so perfect and amazing and I can't stop smiling and chuckling at it! I really liked this chapter a lot! You really have done a great job with this story and the voice is just so wonderful and so well done. The whole thing flows together so well and I quickly find myself finished with the chapter wondering where it has gone and wanting to continue reading!

I really loved your characterization in this! Each person really came to life in this chapter from the small mentions of Ron and Teddy to Harry and Rose and Al and Scorp. Each one was portrayed so wonderfully and different from each other and so realistic. I loved how relaxed you had Ron while Harry and Al were getting rather heated during their duel and then the bits about Teddy starting off as relaxed and then slowly catching on to how things were becoming. Then there is the bit where Scorp stepped in and diffused the situation and made it seem like that was really all there was going to be of the duel was also a really nice touch to add! So really the characterization in this chapter was completely spot on and wonderful!

I really like the relationship between Al and Scorp. They definitely act a bit like brothers, teasing each other and also understanding each other without having to really say anything. The small look we got into Scorps date/not date with Rose was really cute too and I thought it was a nice little touch! And then there is the bit with Harry and I was just gushing! I loved how he didn't realize just how much stress he was really putting on Al but then because of this duel, he ended up realizing that he needed to do a better job of letting people know when they have done a good job on something. It was a very realistic trait to add in and really brought Harry's character even more to life. And then I loved how Harry still treats Scorpius a bit like a son as well, caring for his feelings and not really wanting to admit that he believes that Albus is the best in the class, but then also giving Scorpius the compliment that he is really good at diffusing situations, which I believe could very much come in handing especially as an Auror.

Really this whole chapter was so well put together and all of the small little details that went into it really stood out to me. Things like naming the exams S.N.A.K.Es and explaining what they meant really made this story a bit more grounded into the universe that we already know and I love that you have extensive training that needs to be done as well as exams that need to be passed as I think that's a very realistic thing to add to the story. There were a few small typos that I noticed throughout the chapter, but they were very few and didn't mess with the flow of the story at all so not a big deal.

The pacing is wonderful and everything just flows so well together. I'm honestly going to be very sad when I end up at the end of the posted chapters and then have to wait on updates because I want to know what is going to happen now! Also Scorpius and Rose must get together, they are just so cute together in everything that you have already portrayed and I just want them to be happy. Anyways, great job and I look forward to reading the next chapter!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi there!

Holy cow, this review was so amazing. I can't tell you how excited I am that you like my story. I just get so elated when I check online and you've left me one for another chapter. Thanks ♥

Al and Scorp are pretty much brothers, but that doesn't stop Al from being a bit over-protective of Rose. He's not gonna let Scorpius get away with anything. I think he just sees that they are perfect for each other.

Scorpius can lose his temper at time (usually when it comes to Rose), but overall, he is the cooler head. He also has the ability to calm others and see the big picture.

Haha - I just can't get past the fact the Ron will always be a *tiny* bit clueless.

So glad you like the S.N.A.K.E.s! I did put a bit of background into both the Auror and Healer training programs.

I'll check on those typos. I have a beta for this story now, but we haven't gotten to this chapter.

Glad you liked the ending :) Al just couldn't help himself - haha!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by mymischiefmanaged 

15th September 2014:
Hi Beth!

Back again, this time from review tag. There's so much I want to say about this wonderful chapter and I'm worried I might not remember to mention all of it, but here goes...

Love love love Al and Scorp's friendship. I know it's not exactly a new idea to have them being really good friends, but I feel like you've put a fresh spin on it. Al teasing Scorp about Rose is sweet and nicely handled. It's an almost brotherly relationship, which I think is what you were going for.

And then Scorp picking up on the tension with Harry was brilliantly written. I love how him and Teddy were the only ones to notice that there was a problem. It shows that Scorpius really has been included in the family, in the same way that Teddy was.

Basically Scorp and Al's relationship is all round fab. Really well done for that.

The other thing you've done really well in this chapter is the little details you've added to flesh out the story and your characters. The days Scorp spent with Rose sound lovely, and are fully in character with both of them as you've written them. I loved that the auror exams are SNAKES (of course they are. It's the wizarding world). I liked Ron rolling his eyes at Harry duelling his son.

Ahh, this chapter was just SO GOOD. And it was nice to return to Scorpius's POV.

I'm sure I'll be back for chapter 7 very soon :)

Much love,

Emma x

Author's Response: Hi Emma,

So glad you like Scorp and Al - they really are best mates, and a little bit brotherly as well because after Scorpius's parents died, he spent quite a bit of time at the Potters during the Holidays.

Haha - yeah, I kind liked the S.N.A.K.E.s too. It worked well for the story that they have a huge exam at the end. More on that later!

I really didn't want to rush the relationship between Rose and Scorp. To be more realistic (and avoid the on again, off again trap), I'm having them move slowly. Also, Rose is still keeping her secret from everyone and I don't think they can properly move forward until everything is out in the open between them.

Aaa - you're so kind to me! ♥

Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by crestwood 

14th August 2014:
Hey Beth, it's been ages, but I'm back again!

I knew I listed this story in the Top 5 favorite stories thread for a reason! I had only read four chapters at the time, but I had this really good feeling about where this could go. THIS chapter shows me that I'm not crazy.

I know that this story is primarily about Scorpius and Rose, but honestly you could make a spin-off/sequel/companion piece centered around Al and Scorpius' training and all of the struggles and tensions that come to a boiling point here. I wasn't expecting to see them actually training at any point, so even better, this came as a shock.

First off, I love Al's way of giving Scorpius his approval of what he and Rose are becoming. Their banter is so entertaining and I would have been upset that you cut it off, if it wasn't for the incredible scene that resulted because of it.

Harry and Al's duel was probably the best way I've ever seen a duel written on this site. You didn't settle for just naming spells and you didn't cut it short. You found a way to really get their emotions across, but not just there's. You gave us a real sense of the feelings all around the room. We understood who was aware of the real tension behind the duel and who was unknowingly cheering it on. We felt the tension build as the curses sped back and forth and you made us as nervous as Scorpius was starting to get. The relief I felt when Scorpius diffused the situation was cathartic and everything a high stakes moment in literature is supposed to be. EXCELLENT work on that scene.

The following argument/reconciliation of Harry and Albus was gripping at first, the kind of father/son argument that I had braced myself for; but then took a turn for heartwarming as Harry deduced the reason behind Al's rage. His maturity was on full display as he said just the right words and gave the right compliments to allow the situation to reach a calm. He was very right in commending Scorpius for handling the situation the way he did. This scene was just as affecting as the duel was. This chapter shed a lot of light on Albus' character and found a way to set us up with some more Scorpius/Rose interactions with the end. This was amazing to read. I hope I can start to get through these chapters quicker than I have been. "/

- By the way, your last review response was just lovely :D

Author's Response: Hello!

It always takes me a bit of time to respond to your reviews because I want to do them justice.

I DID see that you listed it on your top five stories and I think I screamed out loud! THANK YOU!

A spin off? I'll have to think about that. I have thought of maybe doing a one-shot here or there. Hmmm...

Holy cow! I can't believe this review. I'm so glad you liked the duel scene. I really wanted to show the different styles between an experienced Auror and a hot-shot trainee with something to prove.

It's really hard for Albus to *want* to be like his father, but also want to be recognized for his own merits. Hopefully Harry helped place him on that path. I also wanted to show that sometimes the teacher (Harry, in this case) is so busy being critical of the students that he forgets to tell them the things they are doing right. If nothing else, this was brought to light for Harry.

Thanks again for this! I love all your reviews!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by kenpo 

10th July 2014:
Hello! I thought I'd use the House Cup as an excuse to get caught up on some of the things I'd let slip... we'll see how many chapters I can get through before I have to leave for work! I actually had to go back skim the other chapters to remind myself where everyone was...

I loved this chapter! Seeing a Harry/Al duel from the POV of an onlooker was really interesting, and even though Scorpius already pointed it out, I liked that you gave them both distinct styles of dueling. Harry being able to say that Al was better than he was (at his age) was also good for showing that yes, Harry is much more mature than his son.

And Scorpius thinking about Rose was totally adorable and yaaay. Then Al was trying to be a good friend and ended up dueling his father. Such is life.

Graet chapter!

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: Georgia,

Can I just tell you how much awesomeness you exude? Simply by existing, you have made my life better, lighter.

I needed a little conflict for Al - his life couldn't be THAT easy. At the same time, Harry can't ignore blatant disrespect from his own son. He needs to be able to exert authority over the entire department and have them trust him to make the right decision, so he can't have it look like he is getting walked all over by Albus.

Yeah, Scorp is pretty smitten (is that a word anyone uses anymore??) Anyway, he is totally out of control with his feelings for Rose - it IS adorable. ♥

Thanks again Georgia - you're the best!


 Report Review

Review #21, by lindslo2012 

6th June 2014:
Hey Beth,
Here for your requested review!
Wow... this chapter was... one of my favorites yet!
I loved the description in it best, like how described every scene that was happening and their mood and even facial expressions. Good job on that!
I also really enjoyed the plot of this chapter- it was addicting and made me want to read more.
The scene in the training was my favorite when they were dueling, I don't know why but I also kind of felt bad for Albus... I can see why he feels like he might need to live up to his dad's expectations because it is Harry and all. Poor Al... and also, poor Scorpius too because he doesn't have the words to tell Rose how he feels- he better do it soon!
I thought that the scene where she took him to his parent's grave was so sweet.
Well... once again, an amazing chapter. Please come back and re-request!
Until next time,
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi Lindsey!

Thanks for stopping by!

This was a tough situation for all. Harry doesn't want to be seen as favoring his own child, but he wants Al to be a great auror. On the flip side, Al wants to be treated fairly - and he is always going to live in Harry's shadow. I mean, how can you top being the savior of the wizarding world?

Glad you liked the scene with Rose and Scorp. There is more of that coming up!

Thanks for the review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by LightLeviosa5443 

4th June 2014:
Hi honey! Here for the BvB!!

I love how you switch POV's throughout this story. I think it's great and I really enjoying not just having this one-sided story, or one that jumps around in the chapter. It feels more personal because it's in first person. Like I'm there, almost. I really just love it, I think you handle different POV's really well.

I love Al, so much. I think it's great that he's teasing Scorpius and isn't lecturing him. I love seeing that they are comfortable in their friendship. My heart is totally melting reading about Scorpius' days with Rose. So cute. I can't even. Ugh. I wish I had a man this smitten with me. So cute. He's head over heels.

You do a wonderful job transitioning from the mushy gushy to how the Ministry and Auror training works and the history of it and I just really love the transition from being so wrapped up in his thoughts to more of a narrative about the current Auror status. I also think that your characterization of everyone being like "oh my gosh it's harry potter" is awesome. I can only imagine him being so used to it he brushes it off.

HAHA. Oh my gosh. Yes. I love Harry. This is so fantastic. I might cry. This is so so so great. I'd be so terrified of dueling with Harry Potter. I'd probably pee myself. Worse, it's his dad. And he's mad. Oh boy. Yes, Ginny drop. I approve. I was literally biting my phone case I was so nervous. You wrote that scene so well. The angst was building and building and I'm terrified and Teddy is getting nervous and Scorpius knows it's bad. And then he diffuses the tension. Kind of. Phew. I was going to have a heart attack in a second.

I wish Harry would show more Pride in his face, or something. Just, something to help Albus get it. I am SO in love with your characterization of Scorpius and how supportive he is, though. I mean, just great.

YES THAT WAS THE BEST WAY EVER TO END A CHAPTER I AM SO PROUD OF YOUR AWESOMENESS.

No, really, that was amazing. I loved it. That was the best chapter yet, without a doubt. You are amazing, wondiferous, an inspiration. ♥

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hi Sarah,

Wow! Two reviews from you! I feel like it is my birthday and Christmas all rolled into one!

I'm so glad you like the switching POVs. I was actually worried about it because I wanted to make sure that it was really sounding like two different people. I'm still not sure I've accomplished that. I actually tried to write the story in third person, but it just didn't work. I do like the switching POVs because then I can tell from both sides.

Hahaha! I would probably pee myself if I had to duel ANY auror! I will look at the scene with Harry and Albus. I think you are right, he could show his respect and pride for his son little better.

Glad you liked the ending! ♥

Thanks for this super-awesome, wonderful, fantabulous review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by MargaretLane 

1st June 2014:
Again, I think "we had dinner with Harry and Ginny, who never forgot the anniversary," might sound better than putting the last part in brackets.

Aw, I like the innocence of their relationship and how much holding hands seems to mean to him.

It should be "glaring at both Al and me," not "glaring at both Al and I". If you take out the other person, you can check how it sounds. Like you wouldn't say "he was glaring at I".

I really like the background you have given to the Aurors. It makes sense there would be competition and it does help to explain why Voldemort was able to take over, if mistakes were being made because of Aurors withholding information from each other.

I can imagine Harry would be in a difficult position when it comes to training his own son. If he goes easy on him, people will say he's favouring him and if he's tough, people will say he's being unfair. He can't win, really. And it's worse for Al. Because he'll be hurt more than most if his dad is annoyed at him, but if he isn't, he'll feel like he's getting a soft ride. And I guess Harry might be a bit annoyed too at the thought that Al might be taking advantage of having his dad doing the training.

*cheers for Scorpius finding a way to diffuse things and for Teddy backing him up*

And I love the way Scorpius describes Harry as a surrogate father. It reminds me a little of Sirius and James's parents.

LOVE the name of the exam the Aurors have to do at the end of their training. It fits the world perfectly.

You've sort of repeated the stuff about them having a year's apprenticeship with a more experienced Auror after their training.

*grins at Harry praising Scorpius for his peacemaking skills* I wonder if that's as important a part of an Auror's job as it is of a Guard's/policeman's. I assume it would be. Deescalating is better than arresting.

Author's Response: Hi Margaret,

I fixed all of the grammatical errors that you found - thanks for that. On the part where I repeated about being paired up with a more experienced auror, I chose to reword it. I mentioned something about getting to do actual assignments and being done with the course work.

Thanks so much for all of your help. I think the validators are going to be sick of all my updates!

Even though this chapter doesn't have a lot to do with Rose and Scorpius as a couple, there is a lot of characterization here. Al sort of gives his approval for Scorp to be with Rose officially and we see that there is a little bit of tension between Harry and Albus - although they both really love and respect one another.

I think that Harry can really respect peacemaking skills - there are probably a lot of candidates that just want to be an auror to fight, when finding a middle ground is often the better route for all parties.

Thanks again - for everything!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by shez 

26th May 2014:
Haha I love the exchange between father and son potter. It fits ny headcanon for a extremely brilliant,hottempered, somewhat resentful-of-his-father's-reputation albus (though I think they'd still have a profound amount of respect for each other). I love that Scorpius has to be the rock between them (and I loved teddy helping along). Can't wait to see what role it plays into all of this!

Author's Response: Scorpius has a cool head in stressful situations and Albus is an amazing wizard, but he is not as collected. He wants to be an auror, but also wants to earn his keep outright, not because he his Harry Potter's kid. It's a tough spot. This scene was meant to give a little story about Al (and Harry), but mostly Al.



 Report Review

Review #25, by CambAngst 

15th May 2014:
Hi, Beth! You make Review Tag fun and rewarding, you know that? There's no substitute for reading a story you really like.

You definitely kept Al's character fresh and complex and interesting in this chapter. He's telling Scorpius what Scorpius needs to hear, but he's also sort of immature and almost petulant where Harry is concerned. I like the idea of Albus as the "favorite son" who's been pushed hard to live up to his father's legacy for his entire life. On the one hand, it seems like he's excelled, but on the other it's clearly an impossible task no matter how well he performs. He's caught, and he behaves accordingly. Nice writing there.

I loved the description of the two days that Rose and Scorpius spend together. It all seemed so calm and low-stress and just... normal. I think witches and wizards, especially ones with turbulent histories, need a good dose of normal every so often. Aww, he kissed her good night! And he's such a gentleman that it sounds like he even asked first.

"Harry's" Auror training program fit his character to a T. Kinder, gentler, more team-oriented but still with the ultimate goal in mind. I don't think I could recommend a single thing to be different. I'm really curious to see who Albus and Scorpius are chosen to mentor. That relationship could be a little touch-and-go for both of them.

The only thing in this chapter that I felt a little iffy about was the idea that Harry would choose to call out Albus's disrespect and lack of attentiveness by dueling him in front of the entire room. To me, that didn't feel quite like Harry, at least not the way that he'd choose to solve a problem. The idea that he would deliberately call that much attention to Albus, when we know that he hates having attention drawn to himself, was a little off. Once the duel got going, I could definitely see the old Harry coming out. He is an incredibly competitive guy, and there was no way he was going to allow himself to lose to his son. Good thing Scorpius stepped in when he did.

"So, are you going to give me detention and make me clean the trophy room?” Al's voice dripped with sarcasm. "Or will I have to do that better than everyone else as well? Nothing I do is ever good enough for you!" -- This was definitely Al at his most petulant and childish. The guy is a third year Auror trainee. One would expect that he would have learned by this point that life isn't always fair. Isn't even usually fair when your last name is Potter. These Next Gen kids are so spoiled compared to their parents. ;)

S.N.A.K.E. Exams. Good one!

Ah, and then we come to the real crux of the issue. It seems that Harry has to constantly push Albus harder because Albus is just that good. It's nice to see father and son leave this chapter with something of an understanding.

Ha! Al throws Scorpius right under the bus without even missing a beat. I do hope he manages to untie his tongue and have a good conversation with Rose.

Great chapter! Looking forward to the next!

Author's Response: Hi Dan!

I'm sorry that I haven't responded to this review until now (Bad Beth - BAD!), but I wanted to take my time with it and I have a silly rule that I have to respond to them in the order that I get them...

Al is a great friend to Scorpius, but he definitely has a bit of a temper. He really wants to be an auror - for himself, but he is realizing he will always be in Harry's shadow. It puts him in a tight spot. We will also see in the future that Al is ultra-protective of Rose.

I wanted Rose and Scorpius to have a few normal days - as you put it. But I also wanted it to seem like the start of their relationship might be a little too easy. (Insert evil laugh here.)

I'm glad that you mentioned about the next gen kids being spoiled. I am sort of working off of the premise that Harry, Ron and Hermione didn't discuss the war with their kids a whole lot. They wanted to move on and, in the process, chose (not necessarily on purpose) to shield their kids from the gory details. I thought about this a lot and I think that Harry especially would try to do this - to put it behind him. His one hold out is that he insists all the Weasley/Potter kids know decent defense skills in case of an attack.

As far as Harry dueling Albus: I figured that he would start off the program with some sort of a demonstration, his temper got the best of him - and he was embarrassed enough with Al (who is supposed to be acting like a leader) that he snapped a bit and wanted to teach a lesson. So, instead of a simple few dueling moves and tips - he chose to duel Albus.

I am rather proud of the S.N.A.K.E.S. exams. Thanks!

~Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>