Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by B 

13th November 2017:
I'm hooked 😭 at first I was like oh what is this but by the second chapter you had me 😭

Author's Response: Haha - thanks! I'm glad you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan 

18th July 2016:
Another one for the hot seat!

Aah, seriously, who thinks the cruciatus curse isn't enough and actually invents a spell that intensifies it?!? Poor Rose, I can't believe she suffered six days of that. I did appreciate learning more about Rose's back story here though, and I'm glad she is starting to come face to face with her trauma rather than hiding from it. Of course that will be difficult, but she has good friends who love her and maybe soon she'll be able to open up to people about her captivity.

I, myself, had been brought up by Ron Weasley, so a little burp here and there didn’t even register on my radar. -- haha. For some reason I really loved this. I can just see like, 6-year-old Rose burping at breakfast and Ron saying "good one" and Hermione being exasperated. :P

Drunk Scorpius. Aw. Gah, these two SO obviously like one another and it's obvious, but I also feel like they have a lot of personal issues to get through before they can be together (at least that's probably how they see it?) Nothing like jealousy to make you realize your feelings for someone :-/ but I also can't really blame Scorpius for behaving like that. He was going through a lot and had no idea how to cope. I love that Rose is still so supportive of him and not bitter about her past with him.

Another wonderful chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sophie Grace 

11th February 2016:
In the chapter I love how you hint that there is something that happened to Rose. We know something that happened to her. When just don't know what. Now we know what Crucio flagrate but we just don't know when or how. It's was keeps me reading and I love it so much. I also what Malfoy in this chapter. He was really great and keeps us the readers guessing if they are together. Can you say sexual tension. I love it! You're such a great writer.

Author's Response: Hi Sophie Grace,

Wow. This review is so kind - thanks so much! I wanted to reveal little parts of Rose's past so that it didn't have to come out all at once. I'm glad that it's kept you interested and coming back for more!

Haha - yeah Rose and Scorpius are really a bit daft when it comes to each other, aren't they? Hopefully they figure it out at some point! ;)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Leeloo 

31st December 2015:
Amazing chapter!! As far as character development, I think I prefer scorpions to rose right now! She's a little to damsel in distress for me...

Author's Response: Wow - TWO reviews! Thanks so much! I tried hard to not make Scorpius too whiny - maybe I forgot about Rose. I really enjoy getting your feedback. ♥

Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by manno_malfoy 

29th September 2015:
You’ve made a twist on the Cruciatus! How cool is that! It’s like tampering with a Patronus to use it for delivering messages! I found the descriptions of the effects of the curse excellent and detailed enough. And I’m thrilled that we finally know enough about what happened to Rose two years ago. I’m curious what the circumstances were and what led to it, but there are enough answers to many of the questions I’ve had since starting the story, so I’m satisfied. The way you’re gradually feeding us information about the past really does help keep the suspense and has kept me thoroughly entertained.

I think it’s a step forward that Rose is facing the traces of her trauma --the scars, the memories. And it makes sense that she’s doing that the morning after she feels something. It’s heartbreaking how she views herself, but I can’t imagine anyone not thinking that having to live with the scars of something that haunts them isn't terrible. Or as if living through it to begin with wasn't terrible enough.

I must say that I loved your drunk Scorpius; he was retrospective, self-lamenting, and honest. Of course, his view of himself may be slightly distorted. But I must admit that I hated him a little when Rose mentioned what she’d seen one of those nights she’d gone to him in the dorm, mostly because I’m a bit partial to Rose and Scorp being together forever with no obstacles (or other silly girls) getting in the way of that. But I suppose that’s too much to ask for?

Once again, I can’t help but admire Rose for her support and dedication to Scorpius. It shows how the bond between them is strong, and it gives me hope. Because if it has survived the hormones and the other girls and the death of Scorpius’s parents during school, it should survive what comes next. If there’s something that comes next.

I have all my fingers crossed for romance because I just love those two!

Oh, and this is for the BvB fest.

-Manno

Author's Response: Hi there Manno!

Gosh - this review was so detailed and amazing and just... thank you so much! I'm all giddy right now at how you found all the little details that I put into my story!

I wanted to take my villain to the next level - using the same ol' cruciatus wasn't going to be bad enough for this guy - he had to show everyone that he was evil enough to be *worse*

And Yes!! I'm so glad you noticed that Rose is finally taking some steps toward recovery. That's something that I wanted to bring about s-l-o-w-l-y in this story. I was very deliberate about that, but I did want her to get better... so I always worry if I paced it well or not. Thanks for the awesome comments, because it really helped me to feel like I did that. :)

Scorpius was in a really, REALLY bad place after his parents died. He was an orphan, and basically had no extended family to support him. Harry offered up his home - for a few reasons, not the least of which was because Scorpius reminded him a lot of himself. Nonetheless, he had to go through some pretty awful periods in his grief and unfortunately, he ended up hurting Rose in the process.

Rose feels different when she's helping others. It's the one place she can finally start to feel like her old self. And she's taking that and running with it for now.

Thanks again for these amazing reviews! Gah! I loved reading them!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Musing 

23rd September 2015:
Hello! I just read the first five chapters and I'm already addicted to the story. This story really deserved the nomination for Dobby's.

The most riveting fact is the back story of Rose. Stannous is really evil but I wonder who the old man Rose noticed was. I guess I will have to keep reading to find that out.

Oh, and I loved the way Scorpius describes the Potter household- always busy, people coming in and out everytime. I got reminded of the Harry used to feel about the Weasley household when he used to go there as a child.

I am definitely coming back after going through the other nominations. All the best for Dobby's. :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Oh my goodness - thank you so much for leaving a review and the kind words! I'm so excited you want to come back and read more.

You're very perceptive with the details I've left :) but I don't want to give anything away just yet. I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of the story when you get a chance.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

20th September 2015:
OH wow.. so those two KNOW they're in love with each other, there's a backstory there! :O Wow! Rose is such a good friend (well really MORE than a friend), standing by Scorpius no matter what. And I'm so glad that he realizes the error of his ways, I just hope it's still possible for them to fix things!

I'm sad to know that nobody really knows what happened when Rose was kidnapped, and I hope she's able to tell someone soon!

And again, I've got to keep reading! I need more now! Well done!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Well... they know they love each other, they just don't notice that the *other* one loves them back - it's very frustrating - haha!

No one knows the extent of her torture - they were so happy to have her back, they didn't ask too many questions. However, most of them know something's up, Rose just *thinks* she's been much better at hiding it than she has.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by Roisin 

18th September 2015:
GUH NO JUST FINISHED CHAPTER FIVE AND SHOULD GO READ THE OTHER NOMINEES.

But I just wanna keep reading this! Blarghedy blargh.

Anyway, sorry, got too caught up early on to review-as-I-go and just read through.

My favorite bit was the handle you had on Rose's perspective so early on. I think it was really accurate and specific--and that's a hard feeling to pin down (being ready to inspect and consider what happened without it freaking you the hell out. There is a strange sort of objectivity that comes along with acceptance, and you totally nailed it).

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Haha! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing - and YES, the other nominees are so wonderful!

But I'm also happy that my story had made it so you want to keep reading :)

Thanks!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th September 2015:
Since no one knew the truth about what happened at the cabin,
--that can't be good. If she's shouldering all the weight of that herself, it must make it that much harder to move on.

I've always loved reading about characters who were good at Potions. Finding shortcuts and experimenting. I don't know why--I just enjoy it, so I was glad to see Rose has a knack for it.

Oh, she underestimates herself so much. She's a really good friend. I hope she can learn to extend the same grace to herself that she did to Scorpius when he 'wasn't himself'. She's gone through terrible things, as well.

So, that curse sounds awful. But I do always appreciate when people come up with new spells, and the creativity involved with that. But it's so horrifying that Rose had to go through all that.

Oh, they both have feelings for one another. Obviously they've got a lot to work through, but I ship it so hard!


CC:

“She stood by him,” he repeated, his gaze was getting more intense and I couldn’t look away as he continued. “The same as you stood by me. All those times you came to be with me…”
--this passage is missing a quotation mark before "The same as..."


You have done a fantastic job with this. This is one of the best things I've read on the Dobbys list so far! Congratulations again on your nomination. You definitely deserve it. I'm favoriting this, and I intend to be back! It's really great! I have to know what happens!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hello again!

The difficult thing about writing from only two POVs, I've noticed, is that I'm limited and it's tough to let the reader know what the other characters are thinking or feeling. While Rose is certain she's kept her secret (and to a certain extent, she has), the others definitely know something's up. Perhaps they didn't push when they should have asked her or forced her to give them more details (or, as you suggested, been seen by a Healer for clearance), but Rose was adamant that she was fine and because of Harry and Ron's influence, they didn't push her. They were just glad to have her back.

(I feel like that entire paragraph was a run-on sentence.)

I LOVE potions too!! (get it - Veritaserum27?)

Yes! Rose really sells herself short most of the time. She is so loyal and kind, and mostly only thinks of others.

Yeah, Stannous is seriously sick - and the curse comes up later on in the story as well.

I'll fix that typo ASAP - thanks for finding it!

Gah! I don't even know what to say to this! I get so, SO ecstatic when someone finds my story and even more silly-smiley when they really, really enjoy it - so I guess I'm trying to say... THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Liana 

12th September 2015:
I have always wished that Muggles had access to Hangover Potion. So, how do you counteract the drunkenness that comes when you drink Rose's special potion.

Author's Response: Haha!

That would be great - actually if I could only have one potion/spell from the magical world, it would probably be "accio." Or maybe the ability to apparate.

Rose's potion just needs time to wear off.

Thanks again for all these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotter 

11th September 2015:
Woah, what on earth happened to Rose?! I knew from previous chapters that something bad had happened to her but kidnap and torture?! Between that and Scorpius' parents, I can totally see why these two aren't together, EVEN THOUGH THEY SHOULD BE.

I love that in his drunken state, Scorpius admitted how awful he had been to Rose. Now he just needs to tell her he loves her and all will be right in the world LOL!

Dee

Author's Response: I can't tell you how excited I am that you're reading my story! I get so thrilled when anyone reads it, but I really respect your opinion, so I'm totally squeeing over these.

Haha - Yes. They totally should be together, but they each have a lot to work through.

Drunken people tend to reveal their true feelings, don't they? And he was pretty awful to Rose. Haha -if only it were that simple as saying "I love you."

Thanks again, Dee this was totally awesome so log in and see ALL these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumpelstiltskin 

10th September 2015:
Okay, one more!

Stannous really had it out for Rose...what kind of person intensifies the freaking Cruciatus Curse?! I mean, just wow. I think it was about at this line (" If you screamed, it hurt more.") that I was physically cringing. Not only does Rose have to deal with the memories and emotional damage of the physical pain, but she has scars to remind her as well. :( And, while I love that you are making me feel something, because that's what good stories SHOULD do, now I'm sad.

Oh, and then Scorpius' apologies to his mother, while still in a half-drunken, sleeping state...that broke my heart too.

I did love seeing Rose comfort Scorpius, and giving him a potion to (try to) help him feel better (even if it did only make him drunk again). ^.^

"I’m just like him." Wow, that conversation took a very, very deep turn. They say that if you want an honest opinion, you should ask a child or someone who's drunk, and this seems to be the case. I'm loving it because it's revealing so much about Scorpius' emotions, who he is, and how he views himself.

Awe, I love Scorpius and Rose in this, they're so perfect! ♥

And, once again, I do appreciate the bit of humor thrown in to ease the tension ("“I have to throw out the rest of that potion before everyone else drinks it and we have a flat full of drunks again.”)

Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: OMG! You came back for more!

Yeah... Stannous is a seriously bad dude. He has a reason for using that particular curse- but I can't say anymore right now.

Oh, wow. I mean - all these reviews are so good, thanks again!

Rose is absolutely amazing and so compassionate - to everyone, but she has a special place for Scorpius. She won't even admit it to herself, because she can't bear the possibility that he might not feel the same way (seriously?!), but she won't let that get in the way because above all, she wants to help everyone.

Haha - I really do like writing humor!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by Tonks1247 

13th June 2015:
So. Some questions answered. Crucio flagrate. Being kidnapped and tortured for 6 days. So many emotions and, again, more questions. Why was she kidnapped and tortured? What was the point in letting her go? Like, so totally lost and feel so terrible for her and her PTSD type stuff going on. It's good that Scorpius helps (Well...good and bad. Dependence sucks a lot at times...) but still. The fact that they both have sad backstories and underwent huge changes...and the fact that no one knows about her scars. Like, what?

ALSO. Some big red flag? "All I remember is a shock of white flyaway hair walking out of the room." I have this huge feeling that this line is significant.I don't know why...just super, super suspicious...not sure I am quite to the point of having theories, but I'll have to keep this in mind...

Scorpius thinking Rose was his mother and him apologizing broke my heart, also. I just want to cry for him. Like, just...so cruel. Especially when he goes on to drunk talk about his father and how his mother was amazing...just, heartbreaking.

Also, Scorpius apologizing for the past an his admission? These two kill me. They need to just get together already. I have a feeling they had one of those friendships that was borderline more than a friendship and both denied it. Well, that and Rose playing her whole 'I wasn't who I was' and he couldn't get what he deserved. Like, just...they're both going to play that game. I can just feel it.

Anyways. Fantastic chapter!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hiya Mikaela!

This review is awesome. I'm definitely pacing the story so that not all the questions get answered right away. To be honest, I don't even know if my pace is good or bad, as I've never written a novel (or anything) before this - I just kinda did what felt right.

And I tried really, really had to make it so that they could lean on each other withOUT crossing the overly-dependent line. At the same time, it can be a big step for some people to just *let* others help them.

Holy cow - you just don't miss a beat. White flyaway hair - some readers have picked up on that and some haven't. (haha - but I'm not gonna say too much).

Yes! I really wanted the readers to feel angst over this couple getting together (*insert evil laugh*). And while I like to create a little drama, it isn't my intention to write a together-break up-together-break up sort of story (where every chapter alternates between those two). As it is, it happened a little more than I wanted in this story, but I hope it seems balanced.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I just happened to get wrapped up in this story and decided to keep reading, so here I am!

The idea that Rose woke up and just knew that something was amiss further confirms my suspicions that she and Scorpius should be together. You only have feelings like that when you truly love someone deep down in your soul.

I had a good chuckle when he potion made him drunk instead of sobering him up. At least it stopped him from puking though. Thank goodness for small favors.

I thought Scorpius' confession to Rose was sad, particularly because he thought so low of himself. Clearly, he doesn't have the most savory of pasts, but after what he went through with his parent's death, it seems like he would be destined to rebel in one way or another.

And the ending! Does this mean that he and Rose have hooked up at some point? That certainly seemed to be the implication. I'm so glad that he's realized what a kind, compassionate person she is and seems like he wants to treat her right!

Oh and I almost forgot! The scene where Rose is examining her scars. I know this is a weird thing to say, but I really liked how you handled that. That seems like a perfectly normal reaction to have!

Good work as always!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey there!

I've gotten a myriad of responses regarding Scorpius's reaction to dealing with his parents' deaths. Everyone handles that sort of thing differently and he was pretty young and alone at the time.

They had never "hooked up" at this point - but they've always been close. I think things would've been different for the two of the if his parents hadn't died.

Gah - thanks again about the scene with the scars. I've really tried hard to be sensitive to things like that.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by TearsIMustConceal 

15th May 2015:
Hey Beth! I’m back again because I just couldn’t stay away! And because you also asked me very nicely :)

So once again, this chapter was absolutely amazing! You’re seriously giving Rose a hard time though! Her thoughts and feelings about her scars are heart-breaking – that everyone would be as repulsed as she was by them even though that is obviously not case and I hope she finally realises that! I can’t even begin to imagine what she must have been through.

And Stannous – he is seriously evil, I didn’t realise how evil until I realised he made his own torture curse up – that is a seriously unhinged, crazy thing to do. Will he be as evil as Voldemort? I feel as though he’s going to be the big bad for the Next Gen so I’m guessing he will be appearing sometime soon?
But I love that now, she finally has the courage to look at the scars herself – it just shows you how far she has come and the influence Scorpius really has on her, which, thank god, she has finally realised!

Scorpius missing him Mum – Beth, what are you doing to me? I’m really upset now because he’s just so cute and vulnerable and I want to hug him and make him feel better! His comparisons of Rose and his Mum – there so sweet and genuine – you can tell right there that he pretty much loves her so hopefully they admit it to each other soon! And then him comparing himself to his Dad – I still want to hug him Beth! Even though admittedly, he clearly was a bit of an idiot, he’s hating himself and he doesn’t deserve that, not really. He was just a teen going through a rough time, which Rose does understand.

And then we see a glimpse of Al and his protectiveness of Rose. I love Al and in his position, I would have done the same thing! I love how he’s so close to Rose – I love strong family bonds!

And that little moment when she’s happy he told her that there hadn’t been anyone else – my heart soared because it’s so clear that they are destined to be together!!

But they didn’t kiss! Do you know how much I wanted that kiss to happen? Please tell me it happens soon? Pretty please?

Oh Beth, this chapter was just amazingly cute and heart-breaking and inspiring because your writing is just brilliant! I can’t wait to read the next chapter!!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Hi there Vicki!

Gosh - your reviews are so in depth, it is really impressive.

You really do pick up on everything I put into the story. Yes! I wanted the next gen kids to have their own version of Voldemort to overcome, so I came up with Stannous.

Rose has a distorted view of her scars. They represent so much pain and torture - and the struggle to hide everything from her family.

Yeah, Scorpius is pretty sad here - but it gives Rose a chance to focus on something else for a while - and it is a good thing for her.

Haha - I decided to slow their pace for a little bit, here. I wanted it to be the real deal for them - and sometimes that means taking it a bit slower. But don't worry, you'll get your kiss ;)

Thanks again for all of these awesome reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Hello again!

Awww poor, poor Rose. That curse sounds so horrible. How did she even survive that. The scars seem to be pretty bad. It's such a big step for her to finally look at herself, but she seems to have a long way to go until she can accept what she sees.

Scorpius is pretty damaged as well. They seem so good for each other. It was so sweet to see Rose realize what she was missing was Scorpius' company.
He drunkenly admits lots of things to her, maybe that's good for them, too.

I'm off to the next chapter now
now

~Anja

Author's Response: Hi Anja!

Rose survived because she is quite a bit stronger than she gives herself credit. And yes, Scorpius is a pretty damaged guy. I'm so happy you saw what I was trying to convey! They are so good for each other!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #17, by oldershouldknowbetter 

5th May 2015:
This will be a bit of a strange review.

In all my dealings with you I have been nothing by honest. Any praise I have given you – and by your claims it is blush-inducingly positive – has been deservedly earned. It is in that vein of honesty that I must tell you that here, with this chapter is where I stopped re-reading.

You see I’d started reading this tale a year ago and at about chapter 15 or so (from memory) you decided that you were going to change a major plot point, significantly enough that it would warrant re-writing major sections. I remember being so excited, here was my chance to review each redone chapter as it came out, but then came this chapter and I stopped.

I could not but feel that changing the nature of her captivity and especially the torture she endured was a retrograde step. Yes there were some positives to it, but it was strongly implied in the first draft that she was raped as well as tortured. The good thing about that (if there is anything that can be said to be good about so heinous a crime) is that the scars it leaves upon the body are hidden.

One of the things that I had absolutely loved about the original story was the whole scene where they finially get together. It was so good and I thought that it would be ruined by this change.

I said this was a strange review – do not read any more of this review yet, instead – please, I entreat you – skip ahead to the review for chapter 11.
.
.
.
Back now?

Good, I can begin the review proper.

The confusion that Rose feels at the beginning of this chapter is well portrayed.

The scars in all their horror are revealed. One thing I just didn’t get on the second go through, but have now on this third, is the ramifications of the fact that no one knows about the scars. Not even Rose allows herself to see them. It’s actually only been a year or so since it happened which means two things:
1) it is a short enough time frame that something like that can have been hidden, and
2) what it shows of Rose and how she has withdrawn herself so completely (in her person) allowing the panic attacks their free rein upon herself and her psyche. Also that, presumably no one, in all that time, has seen more of her than her head and hands.

The crucio flagrante curse is a good invention (actually it is quite horrible) – it not only causes the pain of the cruciatus, but also leaves physical scars and no doubt mental ones too (from the horrible visions).

The inclusion of the possibility of the ‘shock of white, fly-away hair’ brought at least this reader to a sudden halt. I suddenly had to ask myself, ’I know Draco and Astoria are dead and gone, but is Lucius still alive?’ It again brings up the question of just what it was that Astoria was warning Scorpius about and many more questions for the reader to ponder.

We are reminded of how little time has passed in this story (discounting all the flashbacks the story is only two days old) and we realise that the author has deposited us into a time where Rose is taking her first hesitant steps towards recovery, instead of just coping as she has done till now. And of course, Scorpius is the key. As much as she helped him to heal, she knows (instinctively, subconsciously?) that he will now help her to heal.

All the way through his flat, to his room I crossed my fingers (as much as you can when using a mouse) and kept up the mantra -please let him not be with a floozy’ It was a relief that he hadn’t been that stupid.

That Scorpius’ first word upon being woken is ‘mum’ is so touching – despite all the years and everything he’s become, there is still that lost little boy who misses his mum and dad. Rose almost panics at her supposed thoughtlessness, but the reader realises that what has to happen is the healing of them both by each other – neither of them can travel the road alone.

What is it with Rose being good at potions that seems such a natural fit? I’ve read many stories where it is so, and I’m certainly taking that track with my own version of Rose. The little details that you add here and there - like the variations she has for her hangover cure – add such a fleshing out of the story and really serves to ground it and make the world seem very real.

The re-drunkifying nature of the progression of the potions effects, is another one of those logical details, but it also serves as a deft way to bring up Scorpius’ mum and her home life as well as his past indiscretions.

Oh the emotions, as that sordid past is revealed. How Rose hadn’t truly know the depth, or extent, of her feelings for Scorpius till he flung his dirty laundry in her face (so to speak), is so true to how little she is honest with herself. I can really imagine Scorpius sleeping around as a desperate way to try and breach that disconnect with proper emotions he has felt since his parent’s deaths. He stops it only once he has found out that Rose has become privy to it – exactly the same as it did for her, it shows to him the real nature of his feelings. To his credit though, as soon as he knows it’s shameful he stops it.

Rose didn’t know how much she needed to hear that he'd stopped it once she knew or why she did need to know it – Oh Rose, we know. These two have put themselves through the wringer as much as events beyond their control have – they even conspire to put the hurt on each other due to miscommunication and the inability to just talk to each other.

Rose not letting herself be drawn into the very comfort she needs, due to her thinking herself unclean, is the final poignant straw.

Author's Response: Hi there Andrew!

I'm trying to respond to all of my reviews. I've made it a bit of a personal goal to be more prompt with that - but you've made it so *hard* when you write me such awesome, in depth reviews! Gah! - thanks so much!

I believe I responded to a few points via our PM, so I'll address the rest of them now :)

Just an FYI - and I'm sorry if this wasn't clear in the story, but it has been two years (almost to the day) since her abduction. Rose has adopted an outside persona that "everything is just fine." She hasn't let on to anyone about her internal turmoil or the debilitating panic attacks. -Or so she thinks. They all know something is up, but they haven't addressed it with her for two reasons. First off, they aren't sure how to approach the subject and secondly, sometimes people choose to turn a blind eye if everyone else is *pretending* it's all okay. However, at this point in the story, it is difficult to convey that because we've only seen chapters that are from Rose's POV (with the exception of the flashbacks for Scorpius) - so that will get a slight mention in the future :)

And yes - she's managed to keep herself mostly covered up around others... wizarding robes help out with that.

Haha - I'm not gonna say anything about the shock of flyaway white hair ;)

Yeah, I can see your concern that he might be with a floozy. He's got a bit of a history there - but he wasn't. And I love that you pick up on all my little implied plot lines. The healing that must be reciprocated between the two. I really, really wanted to write about a Rose and Scorpius that *needed* each other.

My reasons for Rose being good a potions is twofold. First off, I wanted her to be effortlessly brilliant. It was necessary for her to be able to conceal her near complete mental breakdown and still maintain an outward cover of normality. And for whatever reason, potions seems to be deemed the hardest coursework. So it was a nice fit. And my other reason (which is much more personal), is that I wanted to put a little bit of myself in the character. And since I am not a witch, and have never been kidnapped, or have famous parents, I picked potions because it is very similar to chemistry - my passion (I *think* I mentioned this before - if not, I'm so sorry!) I've got a bachelor's degree in chemistry, worked as a chemist and still use the degree to some extent in my current career.

And - as you mentioned earlier - I've positioned the start of this story at a low point for her. She needs to move - in which direction, only time will tell :D

Thanks again for every single one of your reviews! I thrive on the feedback and I am really, really appreciative of your honesty.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lostmyheart 

2nd February 2015:
Beth, this chapter was just amazing. It was so sweet! I can't believe how adorable they are together.
You made me laugh when Scorpius talked in his sleep, and then seconds later I almost cried. Literally. It's all your fault, Beth. You and your incredible talent for writing.

Rose is so sweet, and I really hope she'll get Scorpius one day, and that it's him that makes the move. He seems like a really nice guy, and as the saying tells us - drunk people are the most honest ones. Now, I don't know if that's true, but I've been told so many times I start to believe it myself.

Anyway, I really want to know WHO the white-haired wizard was. This plot of yours is thickening, and it makes me want to read more!
I'm going to add this to my favorites, which I just found out that I hadn't. Shame on me!

Thank you so much for wanting to review swap with me! As usual, I enjoyed reading your story.

- Avi

Author's Response: Avi!

You are too sweet! Haha - I'm so glad you really want the two of them get together, but it's not going to be that easy. Rose hasn't been entirely open with him about her past. She needs to get through some things first - but I don't think you'll be disappointed with the next chapter :)

The white-hair! Haha - nice pick up. That doesn't come back for a while.

Yay! Thanks for adding it to your favorites. I'd love to hear what you think about how the story is going!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by ravenclaw_princess 

30th January 2015:
This was one full on chapter and there was so much revealed.

Let's start with poor Rose. I don't even want to try and imagine what she went through. It sounds absolutely horrible. She seems to be doing remarkably ok considering the torture she endured. I'm really curious to find out the reasons why she was kidnapped and more about this Stannous. He sounds highly intelligent and there seemed to be an objective behind him kidnapping her, especially with him leaving healing materials behind for her. I'm looking forward to seeing where this story arc goes.

Scorpius sure was a mess in this chapter. I think the time he spent with Rose the night before must have flicked a switch in him which made him wan to drink himself into oblivion to make him forget his past. Unfortunately, it all came tumbling out. The previous chapters made it seem like their love was unrealised, but here, it was quite clear that they have both known they liked each other, but for various reasons, the relationship was never pursued. I can understand Scorpius' grief, anger and frustrations at his father. I imagine there was a lot unsaid between the two of them, and that Draco never really told Scorpius much about the war from his perspective.

I love how the back story between Rose and Scorpius came out in this chapter...it wasn't told, it was shown through the interactions and dialogue between the two. I also like how seeing the scar segued into Rose's memories. It all flowed really smoothly.

Awesome chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

This review was such a nice, awesome surprise! Thank you so much.

I'm so happy that you're intrigued enough to continue this story. Rose isn't doing as well as she'd like everyone to think. And you're right - Stannous does have an ulterior motive for the kidnapping - and he is very clever and devious.

This is a low point for Scorpius. He's really lost and angry a lot of the time. I think you described it perfectly when you mentioned their "unrealized love." And yep, this is the first time the two of them notice that the feelings are mutual.

Gah - thanks so much - you really picked up on each nuance that I was trying to put into this chapter.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by BellaLestrange87 

25th October 2014:
Beth, this isn't so much a review as an analysis of this chapter. Be warned.

This Stannous guy sounds like a monster that would be right at home alongside Bellatrix Lestrange and Voldemort himself. It's not like the normal Cruciatus Curse is bad enough, he has to use the updated version. Just imagine the fun Bellatrix would've had with that. I'm also wondering what he wanted with Rose. Either Stannous hurt her like that to get back at her parents for something or she made a very determined enemy during her time at Hogwarts or shortly after she left it. I could be wrong, but he sounds like he's older, around Harry and Ron's age.

It saddens me to see Rose letting those scars rule her life. I think that if Stannous wanted to kill her, he would've, but he didn't. It sounds lik he was trying to send a message, or deliver one right to her. Rose doesn't mention if she did anything to make anyone mad at her, so it probably wasn't revenge for something she did. Also, if Stannous was trying to let her die from the effects of the curse, he wouldn't have left those healing herbs and potions in the room when he was done.

I think the Hermione in Rose is coming out here as well. Rose doesn't mention what Bellatrix did to Hermione in Malfoy Manor, so I'm going to guess she doesn't know, but it sounds eerily similar, and I think they both pulled through. Admittedly, we didn't find out if Bellatrix left any marks from her curses on Hermione (we know about the word "Mudblood" that she carved into Hermione's arm, but that's it). Also, having to clean up after parties hosted by James and all his friends/relatives sounds a lot like Hermione pushing Harry and Ron to do their homework and basically making sure they passed.

Rose shouldn't be blaming herself for forgetting about the anniversary of the death of Scorpius's parents. As she herself points out, she had a lot of other things on her mind from the guy (Stannous? Although she probably would've recognised him) who tried to kidnap her the night before to her scars. I wonder if that's how Scorpius deals with his parents' deaths: drinking to excess or if it's just remains from the party from last night. Either way, he should definitely not have so much next time. Anyways, he's definitely channelling a lot of residual hatred against his dad. What did Draco possibly do to make Scorpius that mad at him, five years after he died?

I'd say that the way Rose realized she actually like Scorpius is cute, but it's not. Admittedly, I think that Albus shouldn't have been as mad as he was, since Rose and Scorpius weren't dating at that time (although, since Rose has admitted she likes Scorpius and Scorpius basically just admitted he likes Rose, they're probably going to at some point in this novel).

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi there Olivia!

Haha - thanks for the warning :)

Stannous is a monster. Yup. Pretty bad dude. I really like your thoughts on him - and you're right. He didn't kill Rose for a reason. He could've.

Keep reading for more about Hermione and Rose. I doesn't happen for a while and, at this point in the story, Rose does NOT know about what her mother went through. I though about this a bit when I was writing this story and, while I don't think the trio would intentionally hide large parts about the war from their kids, I don't think they would be discussing it regularly, either.

The guy from the part wasn't Stannous - but, I like your thinking. He is definitely suspicious.

Yeah, I think deep down, Scorpius blames his dad for a lot of things. Draco was distant with Scorpius, and Scorp never knew why. Then he died and there is some residual grief and hatred and just disappointment and it all becomes too much for the poor guy.

Yeah, Albus needs to keep his temper in check. He is best friends with Scorpius, but SUPER protective of Rose - above everything else.

Keep reading to find out more about Rose and Scorp. And thank you so, so much for this (and all) review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by UnluckyStar57 

19th October 2014:
I'm back for the October BvB Review Battle! :D

Whoa. There is a LOT of stuff going on in this chapter. A LOT. Rose revealing secrets? Check. Delving into their past Hogwarts selves? Check. Evil guy who got mentioned a few times but is now one of the nastiest characters I've read recently? Check, check, and check.

Stannous. I mean, I don't want to say he's stupid because he invented his own variant of the Cruciatus curse. He's obviously a bad guy with brains, and that is really terrifying. From the little bit of information that Rose gives us at the beginning of the chapter, I can tell that he is a force of evil that may rival Voldemort in terms of nastiness. He's had a lasting impact on Rose, too, which is awful. I can't stand to see her hating the scars that he gave her, because that just makes her think more about what he did to her. I wish that there was some way she could see them as her own battle scars of survival and bravery--but maybe there isn't any good way to see them, since she's been through such an ordeal because of them.

And Scorpius is just letting ALL of his problems out. The bitterness that he felt toward Draco in previous chapters is unparalleled by the hatred that he projects to Rose. If Draco was really that bad, I pity Astoria. :( The revelation that Scorpius slept around at Hogwarts was a surprising one--I really didn't think he would, but it does make sense. It's just gross and awful that Rose had to catch him in the act. :/

One thing I was a bit confused about (and this is probably just my own silliness): Was that Scorpius's way of confessing his love for Rose, and vice versa? It seemed like it, but they didn't really continue that whole conversation. Maybe they set it aside for later so that they could concentrate on forgetting about Scorpius's past for the time being... Love was never going to be easy for those two, anyway.

Another marvelous chapter! If I keep reviewing them for the BvB every month, I might finish in about... two years. :P I'll have to stop by again sometime, just for funsies. :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi there!

Wow. Thanks so much for this awesome review. I'm just floored by how thorough you are.

So - YES, Stannous is pretty much pure evil. There will be much, much more on that later on in the story. I'm glad that you picked up on the fact that he could rival Voldemort, because I wanted a character of that magnitude to be around to terrorize the next gen kids. (I just realized that made ME sound pretty evil - haha or should I say mwah-ha-ha!).

Yes! I want Rose to see the scars as a reason as her ability to survive and give her strength and power! She's just not in that place quite yet. She might need some help to get there... enter completely hunky yet slightly damaged tall, blond, Scorpius!

Draco wasn't bad, per se... he was just fighting his own demons from the war. Essentially cut off from wizarding society and ostracized by both the purebloods and Harry's crew had a rough effect on him. He loved his son, but was too caught up in his own depression to show it. The result was a barren wasteland of a home for Scorpius. He was much closer to his Mum, but still felt a need for friends. Aand all of this is from Scorpius's POV, so were seeing his take on things - from his 15-year old perspective.

I really struggled with having Scorpius sleep around at Hogwarts. On one hand, I think it makes the love he had for Rose less pure - he couldn't wait for the right girl to come to her senses. But, in the end, I decided that having that wedge between them would hold them off from getting together at Hogwarts - so that they were a bit older and more mature when they finally decide they want to be together. I hope that makes sense :)

My intent was to not have them confess any REAL feelings just yet, but to maybe open the door to the possibility that they were still interested in each other. I'm sorry if it came off as confusing, but I really appreciate the honest feedback. I'm slowly editing this story and all of this cc is really helpful :)

Ooo - please stop by anytime. I ♥ your reviews!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by slytherinchica08 

20th September 2014:
Gosh with each chapter you just keep hitting me in the feels you know? Like seriously I'm just sitting here staring at my screen so happy and yet upset at how dumb they have both been/are being! How can they not see that they are meant to be for each other, come on you two get together already! GAH! I just want to lock them in Scorps room and not let them out until they have admitted how they feel to each other and finally start dating!

I liked that we got more of an idea of what happened to Rose back then, what with the marks and all,but I still have so many questions! I can tell that this isn't the full story of what happened to her, there is definitely more going on that we don't know about yet but I think that you've given us the perfect amount of information to keep your readers satisfied but yet wanting more! And that can be a really tricky balance to keep up and I think you are doing a fantastic job of it!

I love Roses pov and I can definitely see why this has won an award as its really well done! I think that this is a wonderful little gem of a story that I've stumbled upon through the review tag and I'm so glad that I have. Each chapter just continues to make me fall in love with this story and want to continue reading! The characterizations are wonderful and touching and so real. The thing I love the most about them so far is that they are done with a very realistic feeling to them. They have their faults and things that they are working through but they also have the things that are just so sweet and friendly and I just love it!

I also give you props for making up your own spell as I always find that as being one of the hardest parts. I can never seem to settle on a new spell or potion and end up reverting back to what we have already been given. The use of the different pieces in the potion were really well thought out too. I liked how you mentioned using a different ingredient the next time as the one seemed to only revert Scorp back to being drunk. It was a very inventive idea and really interesting to see and then bringing it back up in the end was a nice little tie in.

This story continues to pull me and is just absolutely wonderful. You can bet that I will be back again soon (if not today) to leave another review! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hello again,

Wow - you've blown me away with all of these amazing reviews. I'm glad that you feel so attached to the characters. I didn't want the love story to move too fast. I feel like that either feels false OR you fall into the "on again, off again" trap.

They are seriously into each other - BUT Rose still hasn't been completely honest with Scorpius about her past. I think that she needs to reconcile that for herself first before she can move on with him.

I really like coming up with my own magical ideas - and I'm so relieved that it's coming off as believable. The absolute worse thing a writer can do is make a story seem completely contrived, so that is a huge weight of my chest.

Potions are fun! I think that would've been my favorite class at Hogwarts. Sometimes, I feel it gets a bad rap because of Snape, but Rose (at least in my story) is really great at potions.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by mymischiefmanaged 

7th September 2014:
Hi Beth! I've been really enjoying review swapping with this story. Every chapter just gets better and better.

Rose's thoughts about her scars are so upsetting. It's horrible that she lets them change her opinion of herself and thinks it would change other people's opinions of her too. She's obviously been through so much and it's so sad that it's still such a big part of her life (although I get the impression it might become a much bigger part in future chapters).

'Crucio flagrate' sounds horrific.

I'm intrigued by Stannuous. He sounds absolutely terrifying but I think there must be some kind of explanation for why he did what he did. Why would he leave Rose with healing equipment? I think maybe the other person in the cabin is part of the explanation.

And Scorp missing his Mum...I have no words :(

It's very telling that Scorp sees parallels between his parents and his relationship with Rose. It shows his vulnerability and insecurity, and you write all these feelings perfectly.

I like the insight we get into Al's character in this chapter too. His fury with Scorp for messing Rose around shows a very different side to him than the one we've seen so far, and I can tell I'm going to enjoy his character later as we see more of him.

Rose and Scorp have such a wonderful friendship. You manage to write them so they need each other but their relationship doesn't seem at all unhealthy, which is really refreshing. They're so clearly good for each other and can get through the horrible things because they have the other.

This is a wonderful wonderful chapter. I liked the return to Rose's POV and so far I'm loving your development of all your fabulous characters.

Much love,

Emma x

Author's Response: Hi Emma,

Review swapping is awesome - especially when I love your story so much AND you leave me such wonderful reviews!

The scars are awful. They are a physical reminder to Rose of her torture and, for right now, she just can't get past it.

Stannous's plans are far from over - you're right to think that there is more to that! Nice job picking up on the other person that is there!

Scorpius grew up very sheltered. It was a result of Draco's depression post-war. The Malfoys had been ostracized by the Pureblood community. The upshot was that he was very close to his Mum.

Thanks - the parallels between Rose and the other characters continue throughout the story.

Al is super protective of Rose. He always has been. And although Rose *thinks* she's kept her big secret from everyone else, they all know something's up.

I didn't want my Rose and Scorp to be the type of characters that are so in love with each other, but just can't get out of their own way to see through it. I like those stories, but I don't think I actually could write that way... so I just made them both really damaged (haha).

Thanks again, Emma. I look forward to all of your reviews!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by crestwood 

8th August 2014:
I don't know who Stannous is - or what his motives where, but he's terrible. What he did was even worse than I thought. The normal Cruciatus Curse has driven people insane and Rose was able to withstand this new, ramped up version. (great job on that spell, by the way) I understand her tendancy to kind of freak out about things now for sure. I'd be on edge for the rest of my life if something like that happened to me.

Scorpius just made me so sad here. He's definitely not over his parents, which I didn't expect him to be, of course. The way Rose looks at her scars for the first time is genius. She's slowly accepting them herself, which eventually will lead to her being able to tell someone else about it I'm sure. It's good that she isn't completely over trauma like that so easily, gives this story a bit of realism.

My heart broke just about five hundred times for Scorpius in this chapter. I don't even blame him much for what happened at Hogwarts. Not only is he sorry about it, but he didn't even realize that Rose was interested. I'm glad that Al opened his eyes. I hope this spell of drunken honesty leads to some sober honesty as well. Rose and Scorpius have such a strong relationship - as friends and maybe more as well go on in the story. This was another excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Hello crestwood,

I just absolutely love your reviews! I feel like you really understand my story - and you pick up on all the subtle details that I put in! ♥

Yeah, Rose has a long way to go toward healing. There is no magical (no pun intended) "off" button when dealing with trauma. She will *eventually* get to a place where it doesn't rule her daily activities to such an extent, but recovery is always a few steps forward and then one or two backwards.

Scorpius also has his own wounds that must be healed. My goal in this story was to show two people that could help each other along the way. It would be really easy for them to bring each other down, but this particular couple will be connected in more ways than one throughout the story.

This was a first, tiny step toward the aforementioned recovery for Rose to look at the scars. She finally has another driving force in her life, other than just muddling through day after day.

The Hogwarts "situation" was a tough one. I'm glad that Scorpius didn't come off as the insensitive bad guy. He never intended to hurt Rose - he was just clueless and in his own really bad place at the time.

Hopefully, they will be able to move on a bit from here but, alas, you must read to find out! - Haha

Thanks again - LOVE this review!

Beth



 Report Review

Review #25, by newgenerationlover 

5th June 2014:
Hi!

Great chapter! Love the Rose Scorpius action!! Gosh I feel so bad for Rose. That is terrible what Stannous did to her. Do we find more about him? Well I'm guessing we do and I am really intrigued about the whole circumstances of the kidnapping. Why did it happen? How did she get taken? How was she saved? So many questions! Good job for giving the reader just enough information to get them hook but still not enough to stop them from inquiring more :)

So was she going to show Scorpius her scars? Gah, I got kinda mad at him for still being drunk because she could have unburdened a lot from herself and she really needs to do that. But at the same time, I can't blame Scorp as it is the fifth anniversary of his parents' deaths. Gosh, I just want to give him a hug! *gives fictional character a hug*

Why did Al want to murder Scorp after sleeping with the Slytherin? Was it because he knew that Rose liked him at the time? I mean you can't really blame Scorp, he didn't necessarily know that she liked him. But now she professed that she does, in fact like him?? Squee!! Love them and ship them!

Great chapter!
Mary

Author's Response: Hi Mary,

I love your reviews! They make me feel so good!

I don't think she was planning on showing Scorpius her scars just yet. She is just looking at them herself for the first time in a mirror. She will need some time to come to terms with them before she can let anyone else know about them.

You are not the first (or second or third) person who wants to give Scorpius a hug! That seems to be the most popular reaction to this chapter! I was really concerned about his characterization. He is not portrayed with the typical Malfoy arrogance and cunning in my story. So far, most reviewers have liked the change of pace.

Al is super, crazy protective of Rose and he knew that she had feelings for him - everyone did. The two of them just haven't figured the whole thing out yet. Maybe they will get there ;)

Thanks again - I really love your reviews!

Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>