Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by melian 

26th April 2017:
Right, so it wasn’t murder. One of those accidents, the like of which took Pandora Lovegood apparently. Well, I’ll live with that, though frankly I love a good murder mystery so part of me is disappointed. However, I recognise that this story probably doesn’t really need htat drama as well, so I’ll happily accept it.

I see Scorpius did go to Aunt Daphne after all – I guess if he’s talking about his grandparents’ funeral then perhaps that was Lucius and Narcissa and they weren’t an option. Or maybe it was his maternal grandparents, which is probably more likely given Daphne was at the funeral. Anyway, it doesn’t really matter at this point, does it?

I found it interesting that Daphne Greengrass had married a Muggle and opted out of the magical world. It’s funny but you just don’t think of Slytherins doing that, do you? But it’s an excellent reason for Scorpius to move in with the Potters, as I guessed last chapter.

And Rose. Good old impetuous Rose, who doesn’t care how things look so long as the result is what she wanted. Rose who was happy to leave home to stay with Scorpius to make sure he was okay. Rose who talked back to her father when she was found (great comment about the toilet, by the way). No wonder he fell for her. I think I would too.

Another intriguing chapter – you’ve got a great story going here!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan 

18th July 2016:
Hi Beth! I'm here for the review hot seat!

A kitchen accident. -- Nnnoooppe. I don't believe a word of it, not for a second. Wasn't Astoria saying to Scorpius just in the last chapter something about "it's not safe"? She knew, or at least suspected something was up. I hope Scorpius doesn't believe the Official Ministry Report either, because it's a cover-up.

I would’ve seen the leak in the stove – or smelled it -- but he does believe it! I guess I can understand him not being suspicious yet though. He's still kind of in shock and hasn't fully processed what happened. He's more caught up in the fact that it happened and not in why. I wonder if he'll start to think about that, especially given the last things his parents said to him, once he's had more time to adjust. Either that or I'm seeing things that aren't there...

Aw. I love that Rose and Albus came to visit him, that scene was so emotional and such a wonderful thing. like, it's impossible to process grief totally on your own, and they were exactly what he needed, just being there for support. Aw ♥

Oh no, poor Scorpius. Angry visiting Weasley family members who don't know the whole story - that's the last thing he needs when "it's not what it looks like" isn't going to get him anywhere. This scene was really well written though, with Ron overreacting and Rose shutting him down, and Harry being so used to Ron's outbursts that he's quick to react and hold Ron back without batting an eye. I laughed at Rose's departing line about "something untoward with the toilet", hahaha!

I love your interpretation of Daphne's story, as well. Makes a lot of sense, as the Greengrasses weren't known to be staunch supporters of Voldemort, and while their loyalties during the war are uncertain, the effects of the war are bound to have had an impact on her and Astoria.

All you need to know, Scorpius, is that you are much more like your mother than me.” -- Aww. This honestly says so much and I really liked this line. Although Draco hasn't appeared in this story much (and based on what happened last chapter, he won't be appearing much) I feel like I already have a pretty clear idea of who he is. He's definitely not proud of what he did during the war, regrets it, but still holds it against himself, hence why he never talks about it. I think he's happy Scorpius is a lot more like Astoria.

Small thing, but in that last section about Scorpius going to stay with the Potters, often you say "the Potter's house" when that should be a plural possessive, i.e. "Potters' house". Otherwise, the chapter is perfect. I'm really glad to have come back to read more of this story - can't believe how much I missed it. Onto the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sophie Grace 

11th February 2016:
Okay this chapter I kinda love and hate at the same time. Few points I didn't quite believe. The first a "kitchen accident," aren't the Malfoy's pure-bloods? So wouldn't they have a house elf? So wouldn't the house elf have detected the gas leak and fixed it with their magic? Also being as their pure-blood wouldn't they been eating in there dining room not the kitchen? Secondly is Scorpius's mother's family pure-bloods as well so wouldn't they have pushed her to marry a pure-blood wizard since she's Slytherin and all. Or are you going for them being blood-traitors and letting their kids follow there hearts not matter where it leads?

Now for what I loved about this chapter. I loved Harry and Ron roll in this part. I mean it showed off Ron's hot temper and how Harry has to rein him in from time to time. I really enjoyed Rose being how she was able to school her Dad when he misread the situation.

Author's Response: Hi there Sophie Grace,

You're right to be suspicious of the kitchen accident - but I don't want to say too much for now ;)

And maybe I should've been clearer about the accident part of it. It wasn't a gas leak - it was a magical kitchen accident. Something went wrong when Astoria was preparing dinner and there was an explosion. They weren't eating yet - she was still cooking and Draco was sitting at a small table (probably reading The Prophet), just to be with her. They were pure bloods, but my head canon is that post war, Draco quietly denounced all of the parts of his past that were so painful to him. His family reputation was ruined, and they were left with little money. He'd slipped into a depression and became somewhat of a recluse. He didn't have a strong relationship with his son, so Astoria did most of the child rearing. She just loved her son so much, she didn't care who he married. Haha - I guess I had a lot to say about all that! :D

And I loved writing the scene with Angry Ron and Offended Rose. That was really fun.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

20th September 2015:
Awww, poor Scorpius! (I know, I said that in the last review, but still!) He's dealing with some serious survivor's guilt, and it's heartbreaking! It's not his fault! But I know that he really regrets his last words to his parents.

And it is SO sweet, SO amazing to see the way that Rose and Al were there for Scorpius, and how much Scorpius loves being with the Weasley/Potter clan.

And OH my goodness- Leave it to Ron to overreact! I'm glad everyone else was able to straighten him out, though!

It's so cute and sweet that Rose keeps sneaking in to comfort Scorpius. Those two are just too cute!

Oh boy, it sounds like Scorpius is in for a long night!

This was another wonderful chapter, I can't wait to read the next!

Author's Response: Hey!

Gah - all these reviews - thanks so much. Scorpius is carrying around a lot of guilt from all of this. He's the sole surviving Malfoy. I actually loved that I got to write a little bit of what Rose was like before she endured the kidnapping and torture.

Haha - I loved writing Ron - he's so unreasonable when it comes to the women he loves.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by Roisin 

18th September 2015:
Gonna review as I go, so that I can hopefully go into more depth.

First off, I think the chapter split was a good idea. That was a really strong way to open the chapter, and it def has a lot of impact for being the beginning.

Scorpius' personality and feelings are also really palpable here, which you do a brilliant job of accomplishing through his voice and word choice rather than by just telling us how he feels. Like, the shock of it all and his sort of anger at the seemingly randomness of it. I almost feel infuriated along with him, because there's something terrible about such grisly deaths being the result of something sort of petty. (Also, nice/subtle word choice with "tiny funeral." You managed a lot there in a really economical way).

I definitely knew that Scorpius would find some way of feeling guilty (because that's how it goes), but I hadn't expected him to think he would have noticed the leak and been able to prevent it. Like, /I/ can tell that that's an absurd line of reasoning, but I think it's a really realistic thing.

I like how there's something a bit Hermione-ish about Rose here, but not in a superficial way. So far, I think you've done a great job of not making Rose a carbon copy of her mum, but I like that there's a profound similarity (her leaping at him and being free with her emotion, then talking a lot.)

(Quick question: where did Albus go? You might say in the next paragraph [I'm just at Ron bursting in], but I recommend adding a clarification earlier. Like, Scorpius falls asleep next to Rose, but right now it seems like just Rose and Scorpius are in the room, but we never saw Albus leave).

(Ok just got to the bit with Albus--maybe throw in his 'convenient absence' just as Scorpius wakes up and realizes his predicament.)

(But this is all brill by the way!)

Hah--"apparate cadabra"

"unless, of course, you want to follow me in there and accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet"--LOVE THIS.

Also, there's an interesting parallel with wet shirts going on in this story. Be it beers or tears, shirts getting wet seem to precipitate sExUaL tEnSiOn between ScoRose ;) [It also makes a lot of sense that she left her shirt behind, because she'd hardly just strip Scorpius' off in that situation in order to replace her own. And then everything that happens after is distracting enough that she'd forget]

The ending here is quite lovely. Like, Scorpius was very much IN that memory, and there's something sort of fantastic about being reminded it was a memory and pulling back to the present. Even in a small space, you can see the distance (his age now vs his age then, his level of acceptance, etc). But then you can also still see what's the same, and how his parent's death is still very much a THING.

One suggestion: I liked with ending about the thing with Rose sleeping over, because it creates a good segue into a Rose-emphasis for the chapter's end--BUT, I think mentioning many more sleepovers at Hogwarts sort of robs it of its impact. Maybe pare it down to just that specific sleepover. It doesn't mean the others didn't happen and you can mention them later, but I think it would work nicely to emphasize each moment at a time.

But I like that they have a history with having intimacy in moments of pain, because I think it really helps explain and contextualize Rose's decision to get all tender and caress-y after her upsetting experience.

On to the next!

Author's Response: Hey there!

Gosh - I never realized how difficult it can be to respond to reviews. And by difficult, I mean properly expressing my gratitude and exhilaration without sounding insincere. I'm seriously so excited to read and reread these wonderful reviews. And I love all your cc!

I think my readers are 50/50 split over the idea of the chapter split. Originally, I did it because I thought the word count was too high, but now that I've just put in a chapter over 6,000 words it seems a bit ridiculous. However, I still think it's nice for two reasons: 1. because the flashback is all in italics and that can be hard to read and 2. this second chapter highlights the "kitchen accident," whereas before, that part was glossed over a little bit.

Yay! I'm so, SO glad you feel the same way about Rose and I do. I didn't want her to be a carbon copy of either of her parents and I also didn't want her to be a complete blend of their character traits, either. I didn't think that was realistic. I think most people have /some/ traits in common with their parents, but I also think they have some things that are just themselves too.

Okay, so confession time! The line about the toilet made me totally laugh out loud (for longer than I should admit)! It was the first time I wrote something that I thought was so clever and snarky and totally hit the mark - and you're like ONLY THE SECOND PERSON TO COMMENT ON IT! So whenever I get someone mentioning it, I do a little dance in my head - haha!

I agree with you about Albus's absence from the room when Harry and Ron arrive. I can't make any edits to the story right now, because of Dobby voting, but I'll take a look at both that and the "sleepover" suggestion when I'm allowed to fix things.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th September 2015:
So, the Malfoys' death was a magical accident, then. Well, that would explain the smell he described. Still, I'm not totally convinced. Could've been sabotage.

Poor Scorpius. I feel so bad for him, that he parted from his family in anger and then never saw them again. What a terrible burden to carry. And they loved him, I'm sure, and wouldn't want him to feel like that, but I think it's natural that he would.

Albus and Rose are the best friends!

Oh, man, that would look bad. Nope. Ronald Weasley would not like that. I think your characterization of him and Harry was pretty realistic. Ron would be protective of his only daughter (and probably still hold a bit of a Malfoy grudge), and Harry would be more level-headed (which, to be fair, I mean, it wasn't Harry's daughter).

I'm glad that Daphne was paying more attention than Scorpius had realized. It sounds to me like she was grieving her sister, and new nothing about kids or teenagers, and had bad associations with magic which maybe made everything more uncomfortable. But she's not bad like Petunia. She just doesn't quite know what to do or how best to handle the whole thing, which makes Scorpius feel like he's an imposition whom nobody really cares about.

I'm so glad Harry offered to let him stay with them!

So, he's kept Rose's shirt for...5 years? Moving it with him to probably at least 4 different living places (Hogwarts, his aunt's, the Potters', his current flat). Oh, the boy's got it bad.

It's good to get this glimpse of Rose from the past, to see how caring she is--how much heart she has--underneath all that she's still going through.

CC:

Perhaps my dad would’ve stayed in his study, instead of helping Mum with dinner and wouldn’t have been thrown back into the stone wall from the blast…
--I don't think you need that comma before "instead"


Another really good chapter. Now I've got to find out what happens next.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hiya Penny,

Haha - I'm glad you're suspicious, but nothing is going to happen for a bit with the Malfoys' deaths.

I feel like you totally *get* my characters. I mean, you pick up on every detail I'm trying to put into the story. I can't tell you what that means to me. I stick in a lot of parallels to the books and add a few other things as well - you seem to notice them all ;)

I really enjoyed writing the scene with Ron; and I'm so happy you noticed Rose's real personality coming through. I've tried really hard to write her coming back to her true self - slowly - through the story.

*off to fix the typo*

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter 

11th September 2015:
This is another great chapter!

I'm a little skeptical over the circumstances over Scorpius' parent's death, it seems so...normal? Maybe I'm wrong but I think there's more to it :p

Oh man I love the scene where Ron and Harry arrive, poor Daphne's husband! He is totally adorable though, apparate cadabra LOL! Omg so funny.

I'm so glad Scorpius is staying with Harry instead of Daphne, it's definitely what he needs.

Dee

Author's Response: Hi again!

Hmmm... their death does seem a bit odd, doesn't it?

Haha - I had an absolute blast writing the Ron and Harry scene (especially writing Uncle Phil).

And yes, Harry can relate to Scorpius - and he definitely will do everything in his power to make it so that Scorpius does not have to grow up the way Harry did.

Eeep! I'm all smiley and warm fuzzy because of all your reviews. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by Liana 

11th September 2015:
I can understand how Scorpius felt after the deaths of his parents. it sounds like he's getting what he needed at the Potters.

Author's Response: Yeah, Scorpius needed some time to heal and Harry can relate to his pain and loss. Plus Al and Rose - his two best friends - are there.

Thanks again - I adore hearing what you think of the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumpelstiltskin 

10th September 2015:
...but *then* I got to this chapter and was completely freaking out because it was the *stove* that killed them. Of all the things...and it felt like it wasn't fair to Scorpius (or Draco and Astoria). And then, I thought of the brilliant irony behind it, and I do have to applaud you on it.

And then something clicked. Of course Scorpius can connect so well with Rose, they've been *through* things together, and that's the perfect recipe for friendship.

Anyway, I love that I get to see so many sides of your characters. I get to see several different sides of them, including seething-raging-protectve-father-Ron, which was frightening, to say the least. I especially enjoyed seeing some of Rose's old spark, and I do love her characterization. It's a great comparison for the before and after.

Also, I believe that Scorpius would have, indeed, benefited a lot more by staying at the Potters' than at his aunt and uncles during his time of grief.

So Scorpius is wounded emotionally, Rose is wounded emotionally, and they make a great team. Argh! I love this, and I can't wait to read the next chapter --

BUT, I'll have to come back to do so, or else I'm afraid that I'll only have read this for the Dobby's, and that'll put me in a predicament when it comes to voting.

So! I'll be back!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Gah! Rumpel!! These reviews are so detailed and I'm just so happy that you like my story.

Yes, yes, yes! I really wanted both Scorpius and Rose to realize that they *needed* each other on a level that was deeper than friendship and even deeper than lovers. They are each other's soulmates and saviors. (And there's a lot more on that later on in the story.)

OMG - I really don't know how to express my gratitude here, because I feel that you hit on EVERY LITTLE THING I've been trying to put in the story. Like Rose's old spark, Scorpius staying at the Potters (because Harry can relate to losing his parents), and how they are both damaged emotionally and really need each other to get through all of it.

I totally understand that you have to read the other stories - and thank you so much for these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by manno_malfoy 

7th September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for the BvB once again!

I do see now why you split this into two chapters. Even though I felt that the previous chapter was a tad short, with little going on in comparison to the chapter before it, I do think it works really well this way. While the first half just explored the loss, this one explored dealing with it and gave us a better understanding of the friendship between Rose and Scorpius, and Albus even.

I enjoyed every bit of this chapter, and it got me so emotional. I was on the verge of tears when Rose stormed into Scorpius’s room and just embraced him. Probably because it’s so jarring to see how different this Rose is from the one in the first two chapters. And now I’m concerned about her because it must’ve been something brutal to change her from being so warm and supportive to someone who’s detached and indifferent. The whole scene was fantastic, just the silent embrace in show of solidarity. It was just perfect!

“You need to get home now! Use that apparate cadabra stuff you know! Just get over here!”

You have a way with inserting comic relief into the serious, sad chapters and still making it all merge realistically. Daphne’s husband was an awesome addition to everything. As if Ron on a half-dressed Rose Weasley was not enough! Which reminds me… the recurring Ravenclaw t-shirt! I’m glad we finally have it attached to a memory.

I also do like what you've done with Daphne, and that even though she kind of ran away from the Wizarding World, she still told her husband about everything.

But yeah... I think I'm starting to get addicted to this story and these characters. They're all just marvelous.

-Manno

Author's Response: Hi there!

Oh my goodness, I'm so excited to see you're coming back to this! Eeep!

I think I posted in one the first chapters that this is the very first thing that I've ever written, so I don't really know what I'm doing - in terms of how to plan out my chapters, split them up, leave clues about the mystery and all of that (hahaha, I'm REALLY clueless).

When I originally wrote this story, I just started writing. FROM THE MIDDLE. I started at what evenutally became chapter 9 and I just wrote and wrote and wrote (no chapters). Then I drummed up the courage to post the story and I had to write the beginning. So as I'm posting chapters now, it gets kinda weird to figure out where they end and how to start the next one. Sometimes I surprise myself when it finally hits me that they should end at a certain point, when I'm SURE it's much more obvious to other authors.

I did like writing Uncle Phil - and Ron for this one. And I really enjoy the comic relief too - so I really appreciate that you noticed it =)

Starting to get addicted, huh? Well I hear there's a Dobby category for that on the forums (shameless self promotion). :)

Thanks so much for all of these amazing reviews!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #11, by Claire Evergreen 

24th August 2015:
Hey, Beth! Here for our swap!

So it's been a while since I've read this story, but I still remember everything that happened and that's definitely a testament to your fantastic writing. It feels like I never took a break!

I really like how you split the flashback up into two chapters. I think it would have been a lot to process all together, but splitting it up like this made it easier to focus on everything. I love seeing more into Scorpius's past and it most definitely changed what I assumed about him before. All of his reactions were extremely realistic and I could completely understand why he reacted the way he did.

I'm not gonna lie, I was trying so hard not to laugh at Mr. Miller's reactions to Harry and Ron. Seeing two full grown wizards (and Aurors at that), one of which was extremely angry at the time, storming through your house must have been more than a bit terrifying, so I can't blame him for freaking out.

Ugh, Rose. She is so wonderful in this! I just love your Rose so much, both in the present day and the flashbacks. She's just such a well-rounded and dynamic character, I love reading about her. The way that she is so determined to comfort Scorpius and let him know that she is there for him is such a contrast to the Rose in the first two chapters and it really drives home how awful whatever happened between her and her friends was. For her to go from this Rose-standing up to her father while sitting half-dressed in the bed of a boy-to the one who had to constantly remind herself that she needed to get dressed really makes me want to continue on and figure out what the heck happened.

This is so amazing, you're killing me with all of the suspense and mystery!! I definitely will not be able to wait as long before coming back again.

Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire!

Yay! You picked my novel - thanks so much. I know it has a bunch of reviews, but I really don't get tired of people choosing this story because I've put so, so much time into it -so thank you!

Gah!! You're too kind - I'm so glad you remembered what was going on.

I originally put the flashback scene all into one chapter and it seemed a bit long to have all together, so I'm glad you like it split up. And I had such a blast writing Uncle Phil, the Muggle. I think I would act similarly to him if two Wizard Aurors showed up at my house - haha!

Yes! You *totally* get Rose - I'm doing a happy dance right now. She is all of those things you said - and she's got to fight her way back to her real self.

Thanks again Claire - let me know if you ever want to do a swap again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by BookDinosaur 

17th July 2015:
hey again, beth! this is the fourth, i believe, of the six reviews i owe you. :D i realised just after submitting the last review that i haven't actually congratulated you on winning the challenge in any of my reviews, which is probably a thing that needs to be done, so CONGRATULATIONS! ♥ i'm so silly, honestly

a kitchen accident? i feel like magically indicued accidents are probably a little hard to come by and i kind of doubt that a simple flick of the wand could case so much damage - then again, there was the story of wizard barrufio or whatever, whose mispronounciation of words ended up with buffalos on his chest, so i suppose anything is possible. the main thing you should be taking away from this paragraph is that i am a paranoid lil brat and you prolly shouldn't take anything i say seriously when i'm hypothesising. :P

"I have to use the loo - unless, of course, you want to follow me in there and accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet.” i think that you were nominated for SOTM best quote at one point (and maybe won as well? it wouldn't surprise me) but i feel like i should congratulate you on this once again bc it took me by surprise and made me laugh. a+ well done on a quote well written

speaking of quotes that i like, i feel like i also need to congratulate you on this one - "Fred was apparently doing something downright amazing out there. i don't know whether you intended for it to be as funny as i found it but i loved it, it was the perfect way to send off this chapter. i mean, i don't even know why, but i love this so much maybe it's because i can taste the sarcasm, and i LOVE sarcasm

and once again, your flashbacks were so well integrated within the story that it didn't seem out of place or awkward at all when you shifted back to present day. i think that if i had one suggestion to make, it would be that maybe you could divide the sections by putting dates on the top of them or something, and then not making them italics? i don't know about anyone else but i found it a little uncomfortable to read italics for so long. that might just be me with my bad eyes being fussy tho, so by all means ignore this if you can't be bothered :P

awh, i love how you express the relationship between rose and scorp! i love that the hanging out which occurs between the two of them isn't a byproduct of teenage rebellion, or getting back at her dad or anything like that - i love how you chose that way to show that she cared about scorp, you know? the two of them and al seem so genuinely fond of one another and sneaking past aurors for one another is a true sign of friendship, i think.

(and just by the by, i loved that little mention of ginny knowing what they were up to but not mentioning it, haha. she's perfect and i love her)

and daphne! i don't remember whether her marrying a muggle is something jk said but i loved that too, and the poor clueless husband going "dear, there are some angry magic people in the house, pls come and deal with them" lololol

but seriously, rose almost seems like a different person in the flashback - especially when we the readers get to know her internal monologue - and this makes me even more curious to see what on earth happened to her to make her fall into this trap of self-loathing and a lack of confidence and just generally feeling broken.

this was such an interesting chapter, beth, and it was great to find out some of the past relationships and experiences that scorpius and rose have shared!

♥ emily

Author's Response: Emily!

Gah - okay this review is downright amazing! You hit on everything. EVERYTHING - all the little quips and personality traits and jokes I put into this chapter. Thanks so much.

(and yes, I'm pretty sure it's number four - :) )

You're right to question the kitchen accident. It *does* seem a bit suspicious, huh?

Yes! I think the line about toilet made me laugh harder than anything else I've ever written, but no one seemed to notice it - until it was nominated for best quote - and I'm just giggling over the fact that you even thought to include it in your review. (And the Fred quote, too!)

You're not the first reviewer to mention the italics, and I like your suggestion of including the dates - I'll look into that.

Thank you so much for your comment about Rose and Scorpius's relationship. I really, REALLY wanted it to be about something different - like you said NOT about teenage rebellion. They have a lot in common with each other - they were both sorted into houses that were different from their parents, they've both had to work through some serious personal problems at a young age, and they're both very kind, loyal and clever.

Haha - I have a feeling that not much got past Ginny Potter. She's pretty clever in her own right. Besides, you don't grow up with 6 older brothers without knowing a bit about sneaking around.

Daphne marrying a muggle is my own version. I did it because I wanted Scorpius to not have any family ties to the wizarding world. (I know that's kinda mean.) This way, Harry sees a lot of himself in Scorpius and can relate to his situation.

Yes! Rose is very different in the flashback. It gave me the opportunity to show her true personality - when she's not dealing with her PTSD. Much of the story is about her climbing her way back to her true self.

Thanks so much Emily - I can't wait to hear what you think of the other chapters!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by Tonks1247 

13th June 2015:
Hello!

So. The second half of Scorpius losing his parents. Like, more than enough emotion and I just feel terrible for Scorpius. I can't even imagine...but it does, from what I've seen so far, make sense with his character. Can't wait to see what further comes...

Though, again on my issue with his parents death... "My parents were killed from the results of a magic-induced explosion in the oven." Why does this entire situation sound so iffy? I don't understand how it is a simple explosion...like, just.no. Maybe I've become attached to Scorpius already and don't feel it rightful he lose his parents like this but just...a kitchen explosion? I don't like it, not one bit. (Also, results should be results in that sentence, just now noticing...)

As for what followed? I just want to cry for Scorpius. The fact that he was in such a dark place and that he didn't think his aunt noticed how he wasn't eating or doing much else...it's so heartbreaking! Made me super happy when Rose and Albus showed up and stayed with him and let him cry with them. It was such a necessary scene.

Also, had to laugh with Ron and Harry showing up and Rose being in bed with Scorpius. Just too perfect. Kinda had a feeling it was coming, but like, c'mon, the kid just lost both his parents and he needs to be in the company of those who keep him sane!

Though, the fact that Rose disregaurded her father's explosion, stayed nonchalant about it and then continued to come find him to lay with him and keep him grounded when he needed her was sweet. Good build on thier relationship and made me smile quite a bit.

As for the alcohol here at the end? Well, not a good fix all, but all to ones own. Rough time thinking sometimes.

Another great chapter! Great work!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hello Mikaela!

Haha - sorry for the bout of emotion in this chapter but, fair warning: there's going to be quite a bit of it in this story ;)

And you're very clever to question the nature of Draco and Astoria's deaths. It does seem a bit off - the way they died, huh?

I really had a lot of fun writing the scene with Scorpius's uncle and Ron being all protective and such. I felt the story needed a bit of lightness to contrast with the grave subject matter.

And I also got the opportunity to give the readers a glimpse of Rose's true nature. Before her kidnapping, she was a very different person - able to stand up for her friends and unafraid to take on a challenge (also a very loyal friend).

Haha - yes, alcohol isn't the solution (Scorpius figures this out in the next chapter).

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Infinityx 

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

AH THE TSHIRT IS HERE. IGNORE EVERYTHING I SAID EARLIER. :P I thought the chapter might be continued here but. Stupid me.

Poor Scorpius. The worst part of everything is knowing that the last thing he said to them were things out of anger and now he could never make things alright with them again. That's just. How could you, Beth? I love that you've brought Daphne into this. And married to a muggle, brilliant!

I love that Rose and Albus sneaked over to see him. They're such amazing friends. And Rose's presence is obviously so comforting to Scorpius. Hahah, Ron's reaction! I could imagine his horrified, angry face when I read that part! He's such a protective dad. :D

Aw, it's so sweet of the Potters to let Scorpius stay there. And Rose is such a darling. I love how their relationship just progresses with comfort and their understanding of one another. Actions speak louder than words, don't they. ;)

Great job with this chapter Beth!

Author's Response: Hi there Erin!

Okay - I'm relieved that you are okay about the T-shirt being split up between the chapters. I still might take a look at that part, though so thanks for pointing it out.

I had an absolute blast writing Daphne and her husband, but my main point for writing her married to a muggle was so that Scorpius didn't have really any family ties to the wizarding world. Harry sees the commonalities between him and Scorpius and can have empathy for him.

I also wanted to use this part of the flashback to show the contrast in how Rose used to be - her personality before the kidnapping - she is strong, feisty and loyal.

Eep! Doing the happy dance right now that you've noticed how they seem to communicate without words for the most part - sometimes this is good, sometimes this is bad :(

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I'm back for the next chapter!

The relationship that you've built between Scorpius and Rose is so sweet and tender. You can really sense the growing love between them. The way that Rose is attuned to Scorpius' emotions and in the converse, how he's attuned to hers is truly lovely and they are lucky to have that.

I can just imagine Ron's reaction to finding Rose half dressed and asleep in Scorpius' arms. It would figure that this would've happened while Albus was in the loo because obviously had he been there, it wouldn't have looked quite so unsavory. The idea of him trying to hex Scorpius, being blocked, and then physically lunging at him seems like the exact sort of thing he would do.

I found the ending of this chapter a bit sad though. I wish Rose would've let Scorpius come stay with her instead of banishing him back to a party that he didn't want to be at. To me it seems like he's drinking out of loneliness and boredom, something that probably wouldn't have happened had he been with Rose.

This is a really well done story so far. The way the two story lines bring the two characters together is really interesting and I have really no idea where it's going to go, although I have my fingers crossed for a bit of Scorpius/Rose action. :D

Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hiya again,

Gah! Glad you liked this chapter. I'm so happy you've noticed how their love is growing. I did work hard on the pace of this - I didn't want to throw them together right off the bat.

I intentionally kept them apart for the time being. I didn't want anything to be hurried between the two of them.

Haha - I don't think it's giving too much away if I say there *might* be a little Rose/Scorpius action at some point ;)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by cherry_pop94 

16th May 2015:
Ahh a good old fashioned accident. I forget that those still happen in the high stakes world of fanfiction.

This was a very good chapter. It was interesting to have more background on the Malfoy family, especially about Daphne, who doesn't often make any appearances in next gen fics.

I really liked that Rose and Al came to see their friend (as they should). And it definitely made sense to me that Harry told them to give him space. Though, wouldn't they have been at the funeral? I also thought it was quite rude of Ron to burst in like that shouting. I mean, the poor kid just lost his parents. I think Ron would be more understanding and sensitive of that. Even though Ron is known for being insensitive and a little brash, he does know what it feels like to have lost family.

Still, really good chapter and I'm excited to see what's next!

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hi there Stefi!

As far as the funeral goes, it was really quick because Daphne was making all the arrangements, being the only living relative left - and she did everything really quickly and kept it very small. Scorpius was still in shock so he didn't really have a say in the matter.

Yeah, Ron isn't always the best in these emotionally-charged situations - especially where his daughter is concerned. (But he was really fun to write - hee hee)

You're right about him knowing about losing family - but Ron doesn't always think rationally when he's dealing with Scorpius. He's still carrying a grudge on all the Malfoys.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by TearsIMustConceal 

9th May 2015:
Hi again Beth, I’m back. I just can’t stay away.

Hm, straight away I am not believing it was a simple kitchen accident – whether this is because I’m suspicious naturally or not, it just doesn’t feel right at all, especially when in the last chapter Astoria is about to tell Scorpius that it isn’t safe, but she isn’t able to finish it. Something fishy is going on but I know you won’t tell us anytime soon because you’re evil (you’re not really, you’re amazing) but I’ll be waiting impatiently to find out what’s going on because even if Scorpius is down for accepting it, I am not!

I love how you’ve shown Daphne as marrying a muggle. It’s very rare that Daphne isn’t portrayed as the evil sister so it’s a lovely change. But it makes me sad that she’s his only family left – I kinda wished Narcissa was around but then this chapter wouldn’t have played out the way it did so I’ll forgive you for that.

Awww poor Scorpius, I can’t even imagine what he must have been feeling – the guilt must be killing him inside - but I understand the not being able to talk about it and not crying – I’m like that, I never talk about my problems and it’s only when someone eventually asks me if I’m okay or hugs me, that I break.

Which leads me onto Al and Rose coming to the rescue!

I adore that Rose just knows instinctively what to do and what to say and when not to say anything – that’s a real, deep connection right there! And Al, oh Al, he’s the guy who just pats you on the back awkwardly but I can relate to that so much! But it doesn’t matter because he’s there and that’s all Scorpius needed. This part is just so perfectly written – you never fail to amaze me Beth!!

I loved Ron and I love that this scene breaks up the atmosphere a little and we have a little comic relief from Rose in the form of ‘Now, if you would excuse me, I have to use the loo - unless, of course, you want to follow me in there and accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet.” I absolutely loved that part! I felt that a little laugh was much needed! And also Scorpius’ muggle uncle – his scenes where he’s on the phone to Daphne – I loved them too! It was all perfectly done!

I love that we see more of Daphne here and that we learn that she wasn’t just ignoring Scorpius, she just didn’t know how to deal with him. She’s so far removed from that world anymore and her sister’s family, I feel as though she thinks she is a little helpless in trying to help her nephew - a nephew she really didn’t know. I love how she let Scorpius decide where he wanted to go – I feel like he really needed that control over his life to start to overcome and pull through everything!

That end scene with Scorpius and Rose – oh the feels! They’re so perfect for each other and I need them to see that desperately! They’re something just so easy about them - they just fit!

Once again, I loved everything about this and it was just wonderful, even if I’m feeling a ton of emotion right now! You’re writing is just beautiful Beth!

I might need a bit of time to recover but I’ll definitely come back soon for the next chapter.

But who am I kidding? I’m pretty sure I’ll moving onto it straight away!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Hi Vicki!

I'm trying to get through all my unanswered reviews and I can't believe how kind you've been to me!

Hmmm - you seem to be pretty suspicious about the Malfoys' deaths... I'm not going to say too much here, but I like your thinking.

My reasons for having Daphne married to a muggle is that I didn't want to kill off *all* of Scorpius's relatives, but I basically needed her out of the picture so that he didn't have his family to fall back on (I know it sounds really cruel). She really does care for him, but she has made a life outside the wizarding world and he isn't really a part of that life. From his point of view, she doesn't care about him - but it's really more like she doesn't understand him.

We get to see a bit of Rose from before her kidnapping here - and she's warm, kind and passionate. Clearly there is some spark between these two.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Hi again!

This chapter is so sad...

I really thought Draco and Astoria had been murdered. It's interesting hiw the mind is affected by stories. I would never have expected some kind of accident. Somehow, all magical people we know usually die because of Dark magic.
It makes much more sense that there is just a household accident.

Scorpius has to go a whole week withoyt having someone hug him after his parents death? That's pretty terrible. I'm glad Rose and Albus snuck out.

Oh, Ron! This is so typical. It reminds me a little of the time when he is jealous of Victor Krum at the Yule Ball (Only much stronger here, because he is so protective of Rose).
He really should learn to trust his daughter more.

It's a good thing Harry is there to hold him back when he freaks out. Scorpius staying at the potters was very important for him. They really adopted him into the family.

I hope he doesn't get too drunk and ends up doing something stupid.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Anja!

Have I told you yet how much I appreciate all of these reviews?!

Hold on to your original thought on Draco and Astoria... things aren't always what they seem.

And yeah, I think Harry saw a bit of himself in Scorpius - losing his family at a young age and being forced to live with relatives that you didn't really know (and weren't completely welcome).

Haha! Drunk, stupid Scorpius. Well...

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by RupertsPheonix 

27th March 2015:
Loved reading these last two chapters from Scorpius' point of view. I feel like you just gave us a little treasure into better understanding him and why Rose referred to him previously as "often angry."

Rose is/was such a good friend. How sweet to stay with him and always know instinctively when he needed her. Seems like you're writing her with a mix of attributes from both her parents - compassion of Hermione and loyalty of Ron with the determination of them both.

Rose's accusation to Ron - "accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet" - is hilarious. Another flash of sarcasm in the midst of a real-life difficulty.

And, again, onto the next few chapters!
--Kate/rp

Author's Response: Hi again!

Eep! I feel like you're picking up on ALL of the little nuances I've put into my characters. I did want to make a *different* version of Rose from what I've seen portrayed in other fics, but I also wanted to combine characteristics of both Ron and Hermione. I can't tell you how excited I was to see you comment on that! :D

Yeah, Scorp had a raw deal with Draco and Astoria dying when he was so young. (hold on to that fact...)

And yes! I laughed so hard (this is embarrasing to admit) when I wrote that line about the toilet. I was jumping up and down when I saw you noticed it!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by oldershouldknowbetter 

2nd March 2015:
OK, here for the review swap, but going into this I feel like I might be cheating you with my review. I don't know whether I'll have much to say about what you've written because you have done such a superb job - your words speak for themselves and there is not much more I can add. The way you handled Scorpius' grief was so real, his emotions are so starkly laid for us that there is not that much more to add.

I will try and do a review of a standard that this chapter warrants.

The way you had Daphne marry a muggle was a nice touch. It sets the tone for Scorpius' estrangement from what's left of his family and their past. Not in a nasty way, not at all, but as his Aunt said - she has chosen to live her life her way and it is obvious to her and to Scorpius that that is not the way in which he wants to live his. I know I'm skipping ahead of myself in this review, but it's hard not to.

He is numb from his grief and the matter-of-fact way you present the events at the start of the chapter (a chapter seen very much from his perspective) speaks to his mental fatigue. His survivors guilt you outline well, as I mentioned in the last chapter he would feel so guilty not only in the way he left them but also because 'if he'd only been there...'; he might have smelt the gas, his presence might have meant his father might not have been there and thus ensured his father's survival. Yes hindsight. And in his deepest, darkest moments he might also think that if he'd been there then it would have only meant that there would have been three bodies lying on the floor and he is secretly glad he wasn't there.

Ugh, such a mess, such a burden for a young man. At least his aunt is leaving him alone, but then she knocks on his door to ask him to greet visitors? But it's not - it's Rose and Albus.

I very much like your characterisation of Rose. The words you put into her mouth, the almost verbal diarrhea that comes out to say anything, anything other than what is upper-most on all their minds, is so well done. In just a few words you also fill us in on a lot of relevant details of their parent's character. And the comfort that both of them give him and the breaking down of the 'Malfoy reserve' that he was possibly erecting around himself was magnificently done.

Then good old Ron barges in in just the wrong way. The way a father should, given what his paranoia tells him may be going on, moreover, what his eyes tell him is going on. You have a good grasp of storytelling technique - the pathos of this scene, almost ludicrous in it's nature, manages to pull us all back from the despair and the loss. Daphne's muggle husband is a great comedic touch.

All the characterisation is just so spot on. Ron is belligerent and over-protective just as I imagine a father of his type to be. Harry is the peacemaker and a generous soul. Aunt Daphne has some wisdom about her and genuinely wants what is best for her nephew.

And then there is Albus. There is a very subtle flaw in his character that you explore here and in a previous chapter. He is a good kid and someone who makes his dad proud, but he does muddle through somewhat; he has a tragic sense of bad timing - barging in on the half-dressed Rose in a previous chapter and being out of the room when Ron barges in in this one. It speaks of his emotional immaturity, yes I know he is younger here, but in the previous chapters (set in the future) he remains largely unchanged. He is under the shadow of his father, not in an overt way, not trapped and certainly not from his father doing, but it is unconscious - his life is a little bit rudderless. I know it is a lot to draw from him not being in the room in one scene, but as I said it is subtle and it builds in chapters to come.

And finally there is Rose. Right in the story description, up front for all to see, you state that bravery is not the defining characteristic of Rose Weasley. It is why she wasn't in Gryffindor, like her mum was. But she does have enough spine to stand up to her father, enough intelligence to make him see the truth of the matter. She might not be particularly brave, but how much of that in the Rose to come derives from her basic personality and how much from a horrific incident that has left far more than just emotional scars. The caring that these two have for each other is deep and is only furthered by the continuation of it in the months and then the years to come. Rose's almost instinctual knowledge of when Scorpius needs her comfort the most shows us how deeply they are connected and also her eventual abilities as a healer.

We snap back into the present, to find a Scorpius who is going to try to 'forget about Rose' even though he knows he cannot. So at least we know that he knows just how much Rose means to him.

This is a very good chapter and something you should be proud of - it is no wonder to me that you won best new writer, if this is the caliber of the first story you wrote.

I can offer you no higher praise than that your Scorpius influenced my own version. I had seen so many 'pureblood Malfoy' versions of Scorpius before, but when I came to this one I realised that what I was thinking should be the character of Scorpius was not only possible but was in fact desirable. I like to think that my Scorpius basically differs from yours in that in mine his father has been brutally honest with him - told him everything, all his bad deeds (even some of Lucius' too) and the shame he feels for them and the shame that this brought on an otherwise noble name. So thank you, thank you for showing me what was possible in the character of Scorpius Malfoy.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

PS. I obviously cannot help myself and could write about a chapter that 'needed nothing more to be said' about it. ;)

Author's Response: Hi Andrew!

So I apologize for taking far too long to respond to this. I've been a little bit busy, but the real reason is that I keep re-reading this review with a goofy smile on my face. And I just did it again. I'm so humbled by this review, I don't know if I'll be able to properly respond to it, despite the wait.

I feel like, above all else, you really understand my characters. You've picked up on every detail that I left behind and, as a writer, I'm so appreciative of that.

Haha - I really loved writing Rose in this chapter - standing up to Ron (I actually had fun with him too). And I'm glad you mentioned the story summary. Rose doesn't think she is brave, but she just doesn't realize what is inside of her. I'm slowly trying to draw it out through the story :)

I did need to make it so that Scorpius was fairly alone after his parents' deaths. But I didn't want to demonize Daphne. That would've been too easy - to make her just like Petuna and Vernon. So, I choose to have her marry a muggle. Uncle Phil was a blast. I wish I had a reason to bring him back.

Gah! You've found things about Albus that I didn't even *intend* to be there, but you're right! He does have the tiniest bit of unrefinement (is that a word?!) in his character. Sometimes I know this group so well, I don't even notice when I put little nuances of them into the story - and thanks so much for pointing it out.

Yes! They *do* care for each other deeply - they just haven't realized it yet. Hopefully it will be obvious that it is even more than that - they need each other to be complete.

Geez - I'm so blown away by this - I am having a hard time coming up with the right words to thank you. I feel honored that you take the time not only to read my story, but write so thoughtfully about it.

Thank you so much,

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #21, by ravenclaw_princess 

23rd January 2015:
Hello, I'm back again.

Kitchen accident...we all know that's not the case. Scorpius was very robotic through this section showing his overwhelmed and disbelieving state of mind. I feel there were tiny hints of skepticism within Scorpius, but he's too dazed yet to notice them. His reaction and beahavious seems quiet realistic. HE's trying to hold it together, but when the flood gates open, boy do they open.

I love Rose. She's beautifully characterised. She has a lovely spark, a very caring heart but also a lot of spunk. She's a girl who knows her mind. I loved this line of hers “Now, if you would excuse me, I have to use the loo - unless, of course, you want to follow me in there and accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet.”

The love between Scorpius and Rose came through in this chapter, although neither of them see it yet. It was so sad how Rose was crying and then she started Scorpius crying.

Lovely chapter. I'm looking forward to reading on :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Gosh - this review was such a nice surprise. Thanks so much.

You saw right through the kitchen accident - keep that tucked away for later :)

I'm a little in love with Rose too and I was glad that I had a chance to write the flashback so readers could see her true nature, because at this point in the story, she's not really up to being herself.

Haha - you found my favorite line!! I seriously laughed so hard when I wrote that (and I'm embarrassing myself by admitting it right now - haha).

Yes - neither of them see their feelings for each other yet, but most of the others do! They're so clueless!

Thanks again - this review was awesome!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ranger 

3rd December 2014:
Frankly Ron was amazingly composed given the situation. If it had been me in his place it would have been much, much worse

Author's Response: Hi there,

Ron was really fun to write. He always did have a short fuse when it came to dealing with the women that he cared the most about.

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by BellaLestrange87 

25th October 2014:
Review tag!

I was going to review this chapter anyway since I felt kind of guilty after not reviewing Chapter 3, so I was really excited to see you'd been the last to post in the Review Tag thread.

I find it really hard to believe that Draco and Astoria were killed from a kitchen accident, and the way you wrote it makes it seem like Scorpius doesn't believe it either. Personally, I think they were murdered, maybe or maybe not by the same person that tried to grab Rose in Chapter 2, who may or may not be the same person who caused her PTSD.

You wrote Scorpius's reaction to his parents death really well. The fact that he's blaming himself for something that wasn't his fault and punishing himself for having his last words to him parents being argumentative are entirely realistic. He sounds dulled and shocked, and since he's just lost both of his parents (rather suddenly too) he no doubt would be.

I like how Rose and Albus are the first ones outside the Greengrass family to visit Scorpius after the "accident" (because I still don't believe it was one). If they were as close to him as the first and second chapters imply, then they would be. From the previous chapter, we know Scorpius likes Rose, and we know that Rose likes Scorpius, although she might not want to admit it. If Rose been feeling really bad for Scorpius then she would rush him like that and let everything pour out.

Since I've lost a few people I've been close to (thankfully only a few), I know how it feels to try and hold yourself together and go through daily life. Then someone caring (Rose) comes along and breaks the wall you (Scorpius) have built by showing concern. This is amazingly written.

It definitely does look like something is going on between Rose and Scorpius, or at least that's how an overprotective father would see it. At least they're wearing clothes. (Or half-wearing, in Rose's case.)

That line, about the toilet, sounds like something that Harry or Ron would say. *laughs* I also can't think of any CC to come up with.

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi there Olivia!

Thanks so much for all of these reviews. I love them and I love hearing your predictions and thoughts on the story.

I don't want to give too much away, but I like your thinking on Scorpius's parents. It does seem a little too convenient to be a kitchen accident - doesn't it :) Although, I will say that Scorpius kind of just accepts this - he is too busy dealing with his grief to think about much else.

SO EXCITED YOU LIKE THE LINE ABOUT THE TOILET!!! I laughed SO hard when I wrote that and you are the first one to mention it! I thought that it would be just the perfect amount of snippiness from Rose to her father after his accusations. Although, you are correct, Ron should be a little concerned. It didn't look like a very innocent scene - haha!

Thanks for the comment about writing Scorpius's grief realistically. I've also lost some loved ones and I was pretty much writing from experience, so it felt good to hear that was conveyed in this story.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by Lostmyheart 

19th October 2014:
BETH. YOU MADE ME CRY.

I sat here, crying, because of the scene with Rose and Albus comming in, hugging him. I absolutely LOVE Rose, YOUR Rose. She is so loving, caring and incredibly sincere. I can't believe she did all that for Scorp, and to cry because of his loss. She truly loves him, and to feel someone's pain that much, it only means that you're a good person.

Then, just seconds after you made me cry, you made me laugh. I love that uncle of his. I laughed out loud, I mean come on! "magic blokes" and then Ron and Harry coming in, Ron being all furious and a complete idiot. I literally raised my arms saying "SERIOUSLY RON?!" and then I was like, "oh god I'm glad I'm alone right now".

This chapter was seriously a roller coaster to me. I cried, I laughed, I almost cried again, then I laughed. It reminds me of that scene in Friends where Joey says "smile, frown, smile, frown." That exactly how I would look like if anyone saw me reading this chapter :b

Apparate cadabra stuff. I lost it.

Beth, you're brilliant. I Love your humor! And your talent to break hearts.

I will continue this story. I WILL.

- Avi

Author's Response: Oh no! I'm sorry to make you cry!

I'm so happy that you love my version of Rose. I know that it's a bit different from what others view her to be. She's mostly portrayed as sarcastic and rough like Ron, but brilliant and brave like Hermione. I actually started the idea for this story by asking - what if Rose weren't a combination of her parents?

I had a lot of fun writing Uncle Phil and Ron in this chapter.

OMG - I LOVE Friends! I totally know the episode you're talking about - haha!

Aww - now you're making ME cry!

Thanks so much Avi!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by UnluckyStar57 

5th October 2014:
Oh my. I really do love this story, so when I get a chance to review it, I jump on it. :)

For the October BvB Review Battle, I will review this chapter full of flashbacks. :D

Okay, so I'm in awe of your ability to write detailed flashbacks. I love how you transport the reader (me!) right into the past to see how fifteen-year-old Scorpius is coping with the utter disaster that is his life. Poor thing. :/ I think it's really interesting that you chose to make Daphne forsake her Wizarding heritage and live like a Muggle, but it definitely makes sense after all that happened during the war. I wonder what the situation was that drove her away...

Oh my gosh, Rose and Albus are the BEST. I like that Rose is so fiery and passionate about her friendship with Scorpius, even when she's facing off with Ron about it. I do think that Ron is being overtly rude about the whole thing--what did he think the two would get up to, especially with Albus watching?! Silly Ron...

And I like how Rose becomes Scorpius's rock through all of the bad times. It makes their scene in the beginning, with him consoling her, just that much more significant. I can't wait to see where this whole thing goes!

Drunk!Scorpius should be interesting... Hmmm... It's super interesting how he still seems to think of his father in sarcastic terms--"Death Eater Dad." Gosh, that's just awful, but he seems to still really resent that part of Draco's past.

Brilliant job with all of the flashbacks! I really enjoyed them. :)

~Mallory/UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hiya Mallory!

Gosh - this review is so awesome - thanks! I'm glad you like my story and I hope you continue to come back ♥

Rose is not like her parents. She has this compassion inside her and her bravery stems from defending/aiding those who cannot help themselves. But because she is not a fighter like the golden trio, she sees this as a fault instead.

I also wanted to show that Rose and Scorpius are connected on a deeper level - a level they don't even know or understand just yet... foreshadowing maybe?

Yeah, Draco wasn't the best father. He was a bit to wrapped up in his own failures - so he just sort of left the parenting bit to Astoria.

Haha - I love this overprotective Ron. He just doesn't know what to do with a teenage daughter, so he flies off the handle. The situation isn't helped by the fact that Scorpius is a Malfoy.

Thanks again, Mallory!

Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>