Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybe 

5th September 2015:
Hi Pix!

I'm a little ashamed that I got through 12 chapters before stopping to leave a review, but here I am, at last!

This story is so original! I've never read anything quite like it before, in fanfiction or elsewhere. Wren is a brilliant OC, a well. It's actually kind of frustrating (in a good way) because I want to get to know her really well, given that she is so likable and interesting, but a lot of the time her brain is being invaded by a fuzzy little devil with rabbit ears. All the same, I think you've done an excellent job with her character. :nods:

And ALBUS! Wren had better hurry up and lay claim, or I'm going to steal him! ;)

One of the most impressive things about your writing is that you have revealed Dillon's story at just the right pace. I'm not confused, because you've given me enough to start putting things together, but I'm still dying for more info because you haven't given too much away.

This story is excellent in every way and much deserving of the many Dobby nominations! (Congratulations, by the way!)

Time for the next chapter!
~Renee

Author's Response:

Hi Renee!

No worries on the lack of reviews. I'd much rather have you read to the end and then tell me all about it. So when you get there... :)

The crazy idea I had about Wren's mind being all fuzzy... that gave me fits because it was hard to introduce a character and show what she's like when she's so not like herself. It was a constant struggle, but in the end, I think it all worked out.

Albus. He's a good guy. ;)

I'm so glad you feel that way about Dillon's character. This was the first time that I wrote something where I gave away so much at the beginning of the story, yet I really wanted to maintain a mystery. The reveals were difficult to navigate, but it looks like you're feeling them the way they were laid out. Thanks for letting me know!

Thanks so much for reading! I can't wait to see what you think of the whole thing!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart 

1st September 2015:
Hey Pix!

I'm here for our review swap! And back to check in on how these creepy little bunnies are doing.

Uh oh! Albus' bunny smashed through his cage. Why do I have a bad feeling about this? Wren's bunny seems nice enough, but Albus' bunny is pretty psychotic. I can't imagine what's going to happen with that thing running loose around the castle.

I'm happy to see that Wren and Albus are finally getting a chance to talk to each other (even if Wren is dressed in a ridiculous costume) Things seem to be going quite smoothly until that sudden wave of wooziness hits her and she passes out. I just can't figure out what's going on with her. Why is bunny making her so sick?

That whole scene with Nigel was really disconcerting. I really truly felt how confused he was. I was a bit lost myself at first, but as it progressed it became more and more clear what was happening.

AND A VAMPIRE BUNNY!!! AS IF I DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH SCARY THINGS TO HAVE NIGHTMARES ABOUT ALREADY. THANKS FOR OFFICIALLY MAKING BUNNIES THE CREEPIEST THING EVER!!

As always, your writing is really good. Everything is smooth and your characters are so convincing. If this story doesn't deserve a Dobby, I don't know what else does.

Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response:

Hey Kaitlin!

I've let this sit around unanswered for long enough, I think. Thanks for the review swap!

I think a bad feeling is appropriate, given that Albus' rabbit is on the loose now. Just a heads up, though. Since there are two rabbits running around the castle now...

These talking moments are pretty rare, since Wren has all this stuff going on in her head. I'm sure both of them want there to be more moments like this, but, you know, plot and all. It makes it difficult to find the time to hash things out properly. And well, yeah, the getting sick bit doesn't help.

Nigel. Rabbit. By your reaction, I see that you get the gist of things. We'll leave it there. And sorry for adding to your list of nightmares... I think.

Thanks SO MUCH for your enthusiasm! I love when people come by and read my stuff!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp 

24th May 2015:
Hey! I finally got the time to read another chapter and catch up a little!

Things are going crazy here! Now Nigel is under the control too. Ghosh, i wonder when Wren will realise exactly what is up with the rabbits.

I loved the scene between Albus and Wren, it was good to see some light interaction between them. Poor Wren though - sick and weak. I hope things get better soon.

Your writing was lovely as ever, great descriptions, amazing plot and superb pace. The suspense just continues to build up and I'm really excited to read on and find out what happens next! Great job!

10/10
Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response:

Hey, it's nice to see you back!
Yeah, when is Wren going to get a clue?? Soon, I hope.

I'm relieved to hear that there's still some suspense left at this chapter.. don't even know where I am in this story anymore. It has such sprawl... next time I'm going for a nice, tight, compact little thing where everything has its place and all the shelves are labelled, you know, that sort of thing.

Thanks for the review!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #4, by Infinityx 

16th April 2014:
Hello Pix! I'm here for your requested review. I'm not sure, but I think I stopped at the last chapter, so I'm going to start here and go on till the last updated one. :D

Ugh, just the mental picture of that fat rabbit has got me sick to the stomach. It's so creepy! I can't make sense of this plot. What is with those rabbits? :o

Okay, so Dillon is able to control them somehow by getting into their minds. He does so because of the mission that his mother made him go on? Wren has a rabbit that can get into her mind, and Dillon has a connection with that rabbit. Wren can somehow sense what the rabbit is feeling, and the connection between her and the bunny is what makes her feel better. And above all that, this is affecting her powers somehow. Then there's that rabbit that found Pince, and Pince put something in the drinks to affect all the students. Now Nigel is under the rabbits' spell as well and there's some sort of mission that they have. Okay, I got nothing. Seriously, this is one of the best plots I've ever read and I am clueless about where it's headed.

(If you want CC, I'm probably not the person to ask because I am so drawn into this story that all I can do is gush over it.)

Aww, Albus and Wren are the cutest! One thing that I absolutely LOVE about this story apart from the crazy plot and all that, is how smoothly it flows. The whole relationship between Wren and Al is so realistic! It's not something that just jumps from friendship one day, to something more the next. It progresses, they have awkward situations and doubts, they get back to being wonderful friends..everything is so perfectly in place! Wonderfully written, Pix, I'm jealous! :D

Hahaha, Wren just threw up in her crush's room. I don't know why I find that funny. I guess I just like how nothing happens very easily, and it's so obvious that their feelings are going to be suppressed for a while longer (which is a good thing.) I'd love to see more of the friendship side before it progresses. :)

He lay frozen against the desk when it opened its maw, spittle splayed across the oversized incisors.
Oh gosh, that is such a vivid picture!! I am so grossed out. :/ Brilliant description!
I think oversized should be written as over-sized though.

This was amazing! I'm on to the next chapter now!

Author's Response:

Hey!

Doesn't matter which chapter you start on. I'm happy that you came back!

That fat rabbit is disgusting. And creepy. The plot isn't senseless, but it has many layers. Like an onion, except hopefully, it won't make you cry. It's not meant to be a tear jerker or anything.

Yes. Yes. Dillon. Yes. That too. You're on to something there. I'm glad that came through clearly. With this crazy story mechanics, it was hard to make it work, but I did my best. I'm glad you got all of that. I don't know about the "best" plot, but it's "a" plot, and I love plotting. :) Glad you like it!

*smiles* I'm glad you're not frustrated with Wren and Albus, or at least I hope you're not frustrated with them. They have a bit to go before things become clear for them to more forward. But that doesn't mean they can't strengthen their friendship in the meantime. You'll get to see more of that, I promise!

Gross, fat rabbit!! Woot! Hehehe. I might use the dash, or I might leave it. Who knows? Thanks for pointing it out!

And thanks for the great review! I always love when you stop by!



 Report Review

Review #5, by MargaretLane 

13th April 2014:
I thought firstly that the rabbits might have had some sort of effect on James too, but it sounds more like getting too big for his boots now that he's legally an adult.

Poor Wren. She really does seem to be feeling awful.

And yikes, the latter half of this chapter is creepy. Looks like Summers is more of a victim than a suspicious character.

Author's Response:

Definitely tight boots are to blame here. LOL!

Well, you did want someone not feeling well for your challenge, right? I thought Wren fit the bill nicely. And she's NOT pregnant. :P

Yay for creepy part of the chapter! They're my favorite.


 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon 

30th March 2014:
Okay - so maybe vampire rabbits after all. Pretty freaky, especially along with diabolical Madame Pince.

I did enjoy the parts with Wren and Albus. I thought it was good that you renewed at least their friendship at this point and it seems like they may actually be starting to get onto something about the rabbits - very good!

The only thing that seems slightly delayed to me is Dillon's arrival. I guess perhaps you're going to have him arrive at the climax of the story or something? I don't know. It just feels a little like he should be there by now, even if he sort of already is thanks to his well-placed rabbits.

I'm also not sure what the story is with Wren fainting. I'm thinking perhaps the tea she was given finally wore off, but I'm more hoping it's that the punch finally hit her. It doesn't seem to make too much sense that it would knock out an adult male almost immediately, but not a teenage female (though I suppose if its more a potion than a punch, these things can be tailored, so who knows).

Heading on to the final posted chapter!

Author's Response:
I'm glad you enjoyed the parts with Wren and Albus. They're trying to get back to the place where they can not be so awkward around each other and move forward.

Would you believe that I mapped out how far it was from London to approximately where Hogwarts may or may not be on the north side of the island? It's a very long way. He's on foot, and the rabbits have limited range... and there I go explaining again. He'll get there.

See what I mean about complicated things? I should really have thought more about what I was doing, but then the wheels were in motion and it all started rolling uncontrollably downhill.

Crazy plot!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CambAngst 

25th March 2014:
Hi, pix!

Poor Wren! What was that crap she drank at the party? Did all of the other students get as sick as her? Hmmnn, so putting on my thinking cap, it seems that Madam Pince meant to incapacitate all of the party guests, but she didn't get the formula quite right until Meeester Summers came along. And now Meeester Summers is under the control of Albus's rabbit, which in turn is being controlled remotely by Dillon. Wow, this is getting complicated!

But I'm getting ahead of myself. I like the fact that some measure of comfort is being restored between Albus and Wren. They can't really fall for one another while they're being all awkward around one another. Wren was very good to him, in spite of her bad physical state. She was supportive and she tried really hard to relate to what he's going through with James. It wasn't the perfect analogy, but she's an only child so I'm sure it's not that easy for her to sympathize with sibling difficulties.

"Does that make us like some kind of creepy club? Because I'm really not into that sort of thing." -- See, they're acting a lot more like normal teenage best friends again!

Ha! So does she vomit in Albus's room? Mortifying! Obviously I know the answer already, but this is the sort of observation I would make if I was reading this completely unawares of what comes next.

Let's see, what else? Wren seems to finally be figuring out that the rabbits have the ability to teleport or apparate or whatever it is they do. Now she just needs to notice the wounds on her poor neck and maybe she'll have the whole picture.

Good job! Looking forward to the next one!

Author's Response: It's Dan! Again! It's my birthday!!

No, it's not. But it sort of feels like it when I get TWO reviews so close together. :D

Oh, you know exactly which questions to ask to make me go back and rewrite the next scene, don't you? That's why you're such a great beta. Always thinking ahead... And yeah, you were supposed to talk me out of that complicated story mechanic, but all you did was encourage it, so there! Now we both have to live with it.

I think I had too much sugar today.

It was about time for Albus and Wren to reestablish their friendship on a more comfortable level. Wren really did try, and yes, it's hard for an only child to completely understand what siblings are like, but at least she grew up seeing what it was like from a distance.

Wren's starting to put some pieces together, and I'd say it's about time. There's more pieces thrown at her in a bit, and more for the reader too. I couldn't go too long without giving up some secrets, or people would start throwing things, or worse, stop reading... That's one of the things I'm unsure about with this plot. There's so much to hide, and then there's so much to tell. Where to begin?

Thanks for the review!

-Pix


 Report Review

Review #8, by bester_jester 

23rd March 2014:
This story is crazy! So much intrigue and so many twists.

Who is Dillon?!

Awesome, awesome writing. I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Haha! Crazy is a good word for it!

I know! Who is that boy??

Thanks so much for leaving me your thoughts! I try to post a new chapter every week, so I hope you come back again for the next one!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review