Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal/Scooterbug8515 

4th April 2017:
So I'm not one of the brave few who started at chapter 1 and have made it this far, but the chapter was good all the same and it wasn't hard to pick up on the characters and what was going on in their lives which speaks well for your writing! You certainly don't leave anything out!


I find it interesting that you have placed Lily as a squib, I always find it interesting when people make a squib out of one of the Weasleys or Potter's I also love how they are not ousted either like we see with Filch. I think it is one of the qualities that makes the Potter/Weasley clan so amazing. I like how you incorporated their muggle like living with the magical world at the same time. I feel like you did not stretch thing like I know so many authors try to do - you made it believable and real so kudos.

Also while I've only met them here I simply love and adore the Bagman twins already! They are funny and amusing and I love that they tell stories about Ludo. It is interesting that they are going separate ways to push themselves after this final.

It will be interesting to see what comes of James here in the near future as we don't know for sure (at least in this chapter) what direction he is going in.

Also I must say that you did a fabulous job of giving every character a unique voice and a lot of personality. One chapter and it is just ooozing off the page.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

4th April 2017:
Here for Slytherin.

So, I've skimmed through the first two chapters and then jumped straight here so forgive me if I make any story plot errors - but I'm trying the technique of reviewing the chapter as an entity, so I'll try and see the chapter on its own and comment on that.

First off, the Quidditch. I think it's brilliant how you've written the way they strategise and decide on how to play. I am really enjoying your perspective on the game. The idea of having a Quidditch channel is superb - the mixing of muggle and magical stuff is always fascinating and I like your take on it.

Jim seems like a really nice main character. I like her innocent friendship with her friends and the easygoing relationship she has with her dad. The ending segment was really nice with the dad coming in with four tickets and offering his daughter a chance to pick. That too, top box! That is pretty cool and it's easy to understand Jim's reaction too - it is authentic.

Also, love the smaller details like "Bagman twins"! That is so exciting. I can totally imagine Ludo Bagman having kids, and that too twins, and then they playing Quidditch. It also makes sense that the game has gotten rough with time and it's kinda funny how right now the players' tactic is to focus on staying on their brooms! Definitely a fresh take than how we usually see the game in the canon books or in other fanfic.

The sub-plots and the minor characters are also coming in well together, and i like the descriptions you provide, such as Maddy disliking "archaic" communication but liking someone enough to be sending them letters through owl. They add very realistic touches to the characters, and even though I've known them for a short while as of now, I am already into the story and able to feel their bonds and understand their characters. The dynamics between the characters are also easily felt like between Lynch and Lily or McLaggen and Jim. So, it was effortless to slip into the story and understand what's happening.

All in all, great chapter and it worked really well in terms of dialogue, characters, and overall mood. Cheers!

-Angie

 Report Review

Review #3, by onestop_hpfan18 

6th August 2016:
Honestly, even with J. K. Rowling giving more information on the Quidditch World Cup, I still view your version and rules as canon. Honestly, JKR needs to just stop giving more things out as canon if she's not going to write another novel set in the HP-universe. She's making it even harder for us who enjoy fanfic to keep things canon, or at least as canon like as we can speculate.

I loved this chapter and of course it really isn't any surprise that James is playing in the final. That match should be interesting. I hope we get a detailed scene of the match now that it's the final. Ireland vs. England... that'll be a grand of a match.

 Report Review

Review #4, by priyam 

31st March 2014:
I love your writing..i finished this story in just three days..didnt even stop to review even though i should have..i hadnt read a fanfic this well-writen and this capitavating in a long time. I loved all the charecters in this story and how you flourished each and every one of them..overall its a great story..keep writing on.

Author's Response: I'm always in such awe when people read this fix in such a short space of time, that's incredible! I'm really glad you enjoyed it, thank you for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Tuesday 

27th March 2014:
It's me again, but I was suffering from withdrawal and realised that I just NEEDED to come back to this story.
I absolutely adore the way you write Quidditch, I feel like I'm really in on the action and everything just seems so REAL.
The characters are what really make this story though. They have all these quirks and layers to their personalities that make them so much more alive. You have such a way with words and know exactly what to put in to make it seem like I could just bump into any one of these people in the street. Off the Rails is really a work of art and I can't possibly ever get enough of it.
Tuesday xx

Author's Response: Ah, thanks for coming back! :) I'm glad you like the Quidditch because it's something I'm really proud of in this fic, it's been tough at times but the feedback has been lovely. :)

All these characters are totally real, fully fleshed people in my head. It's the way I approach a fic; a plot is all well and good, but it needs characters to drive it. I'm glad you love them as much as I do. :) Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by HogwartsAlum 

25th March 2014:
Okay so I just read this in 2 days, and am upset that it isn't finished, haha. I am only joking, But I have a question. Why did you change the name of the Wigtown quidditch team from the wanderers to the warriors. not that it matters was just thrown off a bit. I will probably read frozen while I wait for the next chapter, thank you for what you have written so far.

Author's Response: Two days? Epic! Thanks for reading! :) Sorry it's not finished yet, but fear not; I have completed it and the last few chapters are in the editing process so you shouldn't have too long to wait.

Oh, the Wigtown thing. I'm impressed you've noticed, I think you're only about the second person who's pointed it out! Basically I got confused and called them by the wrong team name for a good half of the fic. I should correct it, but it'll be a long old slog so I haven't got round to it yet. Thanks for mentioning it though!

Wow, I would be pretty much the happiest person alive if you were to check out Frozen. I love Rails, but Frozen will always hold a special place in my heart. :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by cocopops 

25th March 2014:
I've been reading this story all day yesterday and finished it today and I must say this has become one of my favorites!! I LOVE the way you write, and when James was going through his rough patch
I even got teary eyed just because I've been in a similar situation and could relate to the hopelessness he was feeling. Can't wait until the next chapter and I hope you won't just finish the story off with the World Cup!! I want to know what is going to happen between Ryan and Della, Maddie and Cato, Lily and Robbie perhaps??, and most definitely Freddie and Brigid! I'm still not sold with the whole James and Carlotta relationship, not because I don't like her, it's just that I'm afraid it will affect James Quidditch career in a negative way, like the fact that he isn't going to Australia even if he kinda fancied that idea at one point.
Still, I LOVE this story!!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm impressed you read this so quickly, that's some slog! It's a huge relief to know you empathised with James when he was going through his lull, because I knew it would be the kind of thing which people might not be able to understand. It's one of the reasons why I tried so hard to make him likeable, so people would stay on his side. It's a very rough place to be in, and a delicate thing to write.

Most of your questions will be answered - but not in Rails. This fic will pretty much finish once the World Cup is done. Immediate plot lines are tied up, but the wider question of 'what happens after that' will be answered by the sequel I have planned, which will hopefully emerge shortly after Rails is complete. :)

I'm intrigued that you're not 100% sold on James/Carlotta - in a way it makes me happy, is that weird? I guess nobody else has really given me that perspective on things before! Certainly James has changed over the course of the fic, and his hopes and dreams are changing as a result. His decision not to go abroad is partly because of her, but not in a detrimental sense. He feels that in his current position, spending time with her is more important to him than having a jolly abroad for a few months. Their relationship in particular comes under scrutiny in the sequel, so I hope you warm to then together in time. :)

Thanks for your thoughts and your review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by missclaire17 

24th March 2014:
Hi!
I've been absent for SO long from this site (I've missed it) but school and life wasn't relenting its tight grasp from me.

It's almost nice to see James's slip of his tongue because subconsciously, I suppose that he has become more comfortable with his skills and how well he plays. His humbleness is still intact but the fact that he can embrace that he's better than McLaggen is a really nice development.

Another nice thing is the relationship between Harry and James. I love that they have everything fixed and that they have a working relationship now! It makes me tear up.

I actually haven't looked at any of the new information released by JKR regarding the HP world (I'm guessing she's releasing it on Pottermore) because I haven't been on Pottermore and literally have been away from the HP fandom for so long *SIGH* Irregardless, everything in the last 60 chapters have been absolutely AMAZING! :)

I will definitely pop by the Meet the Author page! It's been so long... *wow*

Author's Response: Hi, it's lovely to see you back! Life - and school life in particular - can be a bummer, huh?

James has come a long way, even in recent chapters. You're right; he IS learning to believe in himself more, and it's about time too!

Bah, the Harry/James conversations make me so happy every time. It's such a shame, that they missed out on all those years of father/son happiness. I am a cruel author.

Yep, the info's been released on Pottermore. Nothing all that major, just, you know, a completely different group stage set up. GUH. At the end of the day I'm not all that cut up about it - there's not much I can do about it anyway - it's just frustrating that she only told us all this after I'd finished writing Rails. I could've done with it at the start! Although it would be a different looking fic entirely. So perhaps it's for the best. :)

Woo, MTA questions! I look forward to them. :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Slide 

24th March 2014:
There was some sort of Quidditch World Cup lore I missed? Blast, I'm always missing JK's lore reveals (and then rampantly ignoring some of what she says, HO HUM).

Yay, Bagmans! Bagmen? Cleo and Cato, anyway. Hm. I know you have plans for Cato, so I anticipate something of a time jump before our next story unless it IS ADVENTURES IN AUSTRALIA which I'm not gonna lie, I'd be totally on board for. But it's sensible for them to split up, anyway - I can see Beaters developing that kind of co-dependent professional relationship which could go a bit Pete Tong if something happened to one of them.

Ha. Harry tells good stories, Ron tells ACCURATE stories.

Ah, James. You might have changed, but your past will still catch up with you on occasion. And I feel sorry for you. But it's also hi-LAR-ious. I'd also call him dim for not wondering if Ireland and England would clash, but I suppose if he did the maths anyway it would have only been possible for them to come head-to-head in the Final due to groupings, and no way was he going to contemplate England making it that far. Or, rather, worrying about the Final is, "God, will we get to the Final?" not, "Oh, God, will I have to play Ireland?" Poor Brigid. Her life is successful and yet so AWKWARD at times. I think she's doing the right thing by going to ground for a wee bit. There's no right answer.

Yay Maddie and Lily time! Maddie, you're so super-subtle, asking about travel plans (AS EVER I agree with you about magical transport. ASTONISHINGLY). Ooh-eer, letters to Cato, hmm? How old-fashioned and positively sweet of you. I demand to have more! James, start paying attention to your sister's housemate's love life more! EVen if that makes you a little weird! Dang POV characters.

Ooh, seeding stuff on Muggle STUFF. I do love the Muggle-Magical interactions as a notion, it's one part of the wizarding world I haven't played around with nor am I in a situation to do so, but it's INTERESTING. Stop encouraging the teapots, Maddie, though if you must, at least they're learning the classics.

Lily is once again in a pickle. I suppose there's not too much reason to tell friends she's had no reason to tell for all this time, but it's still an unpleasant obstacle. There really is no right answer, especially as the idea of, if it goes wrong, having to send in people to WIPE YOUR FRIENDS' MEMORIES is deeply unpleasant. On top of how you have to remember how they reacted really badly to that important thing about you, and can't act on it. At least Lily could avoid the guy who reacted poorly, and steer clear of him.

Of course James plays. I wonder if we'll hear more from McLaggen before the end? I doubt anything major but I wouldn't be surprised if he tries to pull something in a fit of pique-ish vengeance. It'll be interesting to see James vs Ryan! I somehow doubt it's going to be as much a game of the teams just containing each other and letting the Seekers handle it as they're making out.

D'aww, affection from Dad. And the complicated question of the Top Box seats. Harry is probably right. If nothing else, it could stick Brigid in an awkward spot to have her team win or lose without some backup either way!

Sixty chapters. Boom! I look forward to the remainder. It's been a rollicking ride.

Also I've been INSPIRED to do one of dem forum page things which I meant to do ages and it's thus your fault.

Good chapter, bro! Roll on the final!

Author's Response: Yes, much lore was released on Pottermore. Which totally tramples over most of what I've written. Never mind!

I do indeed have plans for Cato. They are not the Adventures in Australia, however that is one of the separate side-projects I have bubbling away in my mind. I doubt it will emerge as much more than a cutesy little short story, if anything, but I do have fun imagining how things go for him. The Plan is more exciting than that (I hope), and is part of the bigger picture within Derailed.

I knew you'd love the Maddie. Letters. Bless her. FUNNILY ENOUGH this is very much linked to my Cato project (or alternatively IS what I have planned for him) so if you get one, you get the other. And even if I don't get round to properly writing anything there will still be enough of them in Derailed to keep you satisfied. I hope.

One thing which throwing Squib!Lily and Carlotta into Rails has allowed me to do is go crazy on Muggle/Wizarding relations. It's fun! And unbelievably fascinating. There are so many different facets which never really crossed my mind until I undertook this fic. Yet again a promise that more of that is to come in Derailed. Stay tuned!

Let's face it, Lily's stuck between a rock and a hard place. This is yet ANOTHER side-project I can expand on if I find the time, but when Lily told Maddie and Kit she would have been petrified that they'd react badly. And Kit DID at first. So of course there's that worry of - will other people be okay with this or will they react badly? And the Obliviation came shortly afterwards, which of course put Lily off telling anyone anything EVER. But the more time that passes without Lily telling her other friends, the more hurt and angry they're likely to be if ever she DOES tell them. It's rotten.

Harry/James reduces me to a pile of mush EVERY TIME. I love them. Absolutely love 'em. Cheers for the review bro!


 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore 

24th March 2014:
Chapter Sixty! And I'm caught up, and this story is going to be finished soon and then I'll be sad! But it'll be okay because I know there's going to be a sequel :D

Ah, the fact that England are going to play Ireland has made this final a hundred times tougher, I think. Not only are there split loyalties (I feel really sorry for Bridget right now) but the players have come up against each other so many times and have so much history that the match is going to be really difficult, and I think it's impossible at the moment to call it. It's going to be close, and with the Bagmans and the Lynches it's going to be dirty, probably. I can't work out what's going to happen, but I'm really excited for the match and to find out how everything in this story is going to wrap up!

Oh, poor Maddie. She always gets the worst luck, doesn't she? Of course she'd start liking someone only for him to move to Australia!

I know that I've said this in tons of reviews, but the level of detail and thought that you put into this story is both really impressive and commendable. It's like you really take this world and make it your own. The fact that people think that Lily's just walked into a top job is so true and likely to happen in the real world - I imagine it's going to be difficult for her and there could even be rumours around about it, knowing the way people gossip. And I liked the information about the way that they're adapting their flat to incorporate some magical elements as well, but still having to keep it Muggle friendly. There are clearly a lot of difficulties that come with Lily being a Squib and it's brilliant that you're never afraid to tackle that sort of thing.

Yay, James is playing! Well, I was pretty sure he would but I've said before that I can never really be sure of anything in this story, so you know :P

Aw, I love Harry/James bonding time. They're so cute now that the two of them are getting on well again and actually making an effort to spend the time with each other. It's so sweet of Harry to bring the tickets along and let James give them to someone else, even though I'm sure both him and Ginny would have loved to watch their son playing in the World Cup final from the top box - they give that opportunity to someone else, and I just want to hug them for it.

Don't worry about the Quidditch information! I haven't read it yet (mainly because I'm stuck on a certain part of it and I can't find all the things :P) but I don't think it'll affect my view of this story at all - you write so well it can become my head canon!

I'm so excited for the match and to find out what's going to happen!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Yay, sequel excitement!

Really split loyalties, indeed. Not to mention the cross-team friendships! This will be touched on some more in the next chapter, when I eventually post it. :) Dirty tactics? I couldn't possibly say...

Yup, poor Maddie! At least Cato's only in Australia for a short time. The more pressing issue is that he's magical, and she's fully Muggle. More on that in Derailed.

You know, the thing with Lily's job is a funny one - initially, I had a rough idea that Carlotta's brother Antonio (remember him?) was going to be one of the people working in the PM's office, and so I was in his head for a good five minutes or so when I decided this. And I went - "he's going to be REALLY miffed that Lily's come along out of nowhere to be one of his top advisors!" As it is, there's no real reason to have him there, so that's not going to happen now. If anything, the more removed Carlotta's family can be from James's, the better. But jealous colleagues still remain.

Of course James is playing. ;) That would be the height of cruelty from me! Although I suppose I did put him through the ringer before ... eh, point taken!

Harry/James makes me squee every time. They're so cute! Boo for being stuck on Pottermore! I've been stuck a few times, I have to resort to using the wonders of the internet to work out what I haven't found. It's so frustrating at times! I don't mind about the information conflicting with what I've written - it's just so typical that she tells us about it all at the END of my 60+ chapter epic! Bah. What can you do? Thanks for all the reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell 

22nd March 2014:
Yay! New chapter.

Arggghle. Iím dying to know whatís going to happen in this final match! I need to know! This is worse than my family during the deciding games for conference championships (college football, I mean).

Poor Brigid, she really is stuck. And I feel bad for Maddie, too. Ainít it always the truth? You finally meet a guy whoís attractive and charming and with whom you share common interests, and he moves to Australia to play wizarding sky hockey.

...Not a common problem? Really? Oh, well sorry, Maddie. You lead an interesting life, at least.

You really do think through the details, donít you? I like what you said about Lilyís job. That would totally happen in the real world--some girl comes straight out of school--high school, no less!--and lands a job like that? Yeah, Iím sure she has made some enemies.

If you ever consider doing a spin off, I would *love* to hear more about Lilyís story. She might actually be my favorite character, and the story youíve given her is so fascinating.

Also, while Iím putting in requests, can I ask for some more Carlotta/James screentime? I love the Quidditch elements in this story, and youíve imagined them so richly, but it would be great to see a bit more of them together. I feel like our time with them has diminished in the last few chapters, and I know itís because you have a lot of Quidditch-plot stuff to get in, which is obviously super important, and there is much more to life than romance, of course. But still. Itíd be nice to see some more interaction between those two crazies. Theyíre adorable.

I love that, even after all Jamesí issues with fame, heís actually still a pretty humble guy. He doesnít just expect to get anything. I think thatís one of the things that makes him a really likable character--heís grown up with every advantage, yet still doesnít expect the world to serve him. And I like that.

I hope that Cato or Clea do run into Uncle Ludo. Whereís he been hiding out for goblins this long, anyway? That was a really cute detail!

And Harry and James, having a healthy father-son relationship. My heart!

As a side question, and you may have mentioned this, but I canít recall, does the English team use the colors of the Union Jack, or the red and white of St. Georgeís cross, since theyíre playing against other countries that are part of the U.K.?

Enjoying this story, as always, and eagerly awaiting the WORLD QUIDDITCH CUP FINALS!!! Go England!

Thanks for the new chapter :D

--Penny

Author's Response: Aha, this review just about made my day. Wizarding sky hockey! Yep, that's about right. :)

ANYWAY. Your excitement about the final is, I won't lie, PETRIFYING. Because it means there's a strong chance what I've written will fall short of expectations. WAH. I hope you enjoy it when it's posted! :)

Maddie. Maddie Maddie Maddie. It's a rough hand she's been dealt, isn't it? Still, she's a strong girl, she'll cope with it. Her life is, indeed, an interesting one.

I LOVE your Lily request, because I do in fact HAVE a spin-off fic in mind, from the time she finds out she's a Squib, up to just short of Rails probably. I can't promise anything, in terms of either when it might turn up or in what form (I was initially thinking novella-length but it might just be short-story now) but it's certainly in existence in some form. :) But then I have lots of spin-off ideas which will hopefully materialise over time. So requests are always welcome! No firm promises, but the ambition is there. :)

Ah yes, more James/Carlotta. They get a fair bit of screentime in the last few chapters, once the Final is over with, so hopefully that will appease your cravings. It's difficult in a sense because their arc in Rails is done with now, so there's little to write about aside from them being adorable - but then I do like writing them when they're being adorable. :) Lots more juicy James/Carlotta to come in the sequel though!

The thing with James is I imagine he - and Al and Lily - WOULDN'T actually have grown up with all that many advantages. At least, not pre-Hogwarts at any rate. Harry and Ginny would certainly have tried to keep them grounded. And I think James would at first have been quite cocky at recieving the attention at school, but the novelty certainly wore off soon, when he realised people only cared about his dad, not him. Poor James. So yes, he's humble, because he doesn't WANT the advantages. And that's his saving grace really; even when he was an obnoxious so-and-so, he was still LIKEABLE. Which I'm glad about, obviously. :)

Oh, the Harry/James makes me melt every time. Love 'em.

I'm guessing you're thinking about Great Britain in the Olympics, when all the home nations compete together. Actually, that's pretty much the only time that happens. In basically any other sport, they compete separately, and England compete in the red and white. Mainly white, as Wales of course have red. So that's the colours England wear here. And that will be mentioned in the next chapter. :)

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by hpgrl 

18th March 2014:
Next chapter is the final!! Woh! Can't wait. I don't want the story to finish :/

Author's Response: It is indeed! And unfortunately this fic has to come to an end soon ... but don't be too sad, there's a sequel to come afterwards! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by a rollerball 

15th March 2014:
awsome chaapter, please update asap :)

Author's Response: The rest of the fic is now written and just needs to be edited, so hopefully updates will be reasonably prompt from here on out :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Tuesday 

15th March 2014:
Off the Rails is amazing! AMAZING!!
I love your characters so much, this story has been the reason for me staying sane about there not being anymore Harry Potter because it's just all so real and perfect!
You deserve a medal. Siriusly!
Tuesday xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! It's lovely to know people enjoy reading this fic as much as I've enjoyed writing it :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by JT4HP 

13th March 2014:
I LOVE THIS STORY.

It's just so great. I like James. And Carlotta. I like when Harry comes in and says something referring to his past.

You're a brilliant writer. I can't wait for the quidditch world cup! It's going to be so great.

Author's Response: I like when Harry self-reflects; it's fun to write, whether he's pensive or joking about things. :) I hope the final doesn't disappoint, it was a total headache to write! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by chocolateteacups 

13th March 2014:
I'm terribly excited for the final, I'm on the edge of my seat! James is going to be playing at least, which takes some of the pressure off. Good chapter, even if a lot of it was setting up, it was still a good read :)

Author's Response: Haha, I'm now feeling James' pressure I think - this final kind of needs to be a good one! I hope it lives up to your expectations when it comes :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review