Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
61 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverMoonFairy 

9th August 2016:
I knew it, but I was too caught up in heartache and racing to the next chapter to get it out on review. THAT *string of expletives* I will MURDER HER! My stomach was clenched, my heart twisting, and she just flouncing down the hallway with Al, I want to cry! FIGHT, CLEMENCE, FIGHT! Dirty, under handed, no good *expletive*! Come on, Clem, put that stick back in the mud! (PUN INTENDED!)

I am okay if Pickett and Clemence end up together as I thought they would in the first couple of chapters, but I can't ship Dom and Al because they're related and I will kill Appy, so Al can't be with her either. Maybe Sandra can have him.

I need to figure out the bigger mystery here- who hates Clemence so much that they are sabotaging her so badly? It can't be Caroline because I feel like she's not nearly intelligent as she thinks she is. It's not Appy if Pickett says she looked confused. I doubt it's Rose and Dom is FOR all this Clembus nonsense, so WHO is AFTER her? And have they already been revealed? IS IT SANDRA?!

WHY DOESN'T DOM LOVE PICKETT?!?! T_T I was so excited when she got a table for them...

SUCH AN AMAZING FIGHT AND OMG SCORPIUS! SCORPICKET! PICKIUS! TEAM HEN-

NO.

*ahem* You will forgive me? Thank you... I'M GOING TO BEAT THE EVER LIVING EXPLETIVE OUT OF AL! I don't care HOW jealous you are! WHY WOULD YOU DRINK LOVE POTION?!

Also, back to Scorpius, again, for once, HE is the most intelligent being in the room. ^_^

*dances*
-Liz

Author's Response: Ahhh another one of my favorite chapters. The visceral reactions I got from this chapter are some of the best things, yours included 8D Even me, this chapter just pumps me up and sort of makes me want to punch everything at random and see how far I get.

Oh the tangled webs we weave; I love that you are immediately assigning consolation love interests. ALSO I looove the rampant speculation. You are catching all the details ;)

Dom is perpetually on troll-mode.

Don't worry, Clemence is doing all the deserved roughhousing for you.


 Report Review

Review #2, by randomnickname 

14th March 2016:
Hey dear,
just noticed I didn't review this chapter although it's one of my all time favorites and had me choking in laughter throughout numerous re-reads (shame on me!).
I have this habit of imagining how you'd make a movie out of scenes I really like, and this one totally works for that. The Valentine Puddifoot setting, dirty, tired, frumpy and angry Clemence in contrast to the perfectly groomed, radiant Appy, flying pastry in the confetti-bloodbath, this awesome Scorpius-Pickett kiss - it's so vibrant, colorful, alive and hilarious that I can just play this scene in my head over and over, and I'm just so happy with its awesomeness :)

So I love, love, love this chapter. Perfect pace, perfect absurdity, perfect humor. Choose a word to express the kind of exhilharating perfetion that makes you want to clap your hands as hard as can get while hopping up and down.

THANKS

Author's Response: This is one of my favorite chapters too, if not my favorite! It took forever, but I'm so happy with the end result. I think I was only able to write this after the copious action scenes in 'And Capers Ensue' where I stuff a lot of random hilarity adjacent to serious character stuff and plot progression and it all has to work, somehow. Clemence has a sort of single-mindedness throughout this chapter that made it all work better too, I think--get her stupid boyfriend back from Appy, by any means necessary. :D

♥ thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell 

28th July 2015:
So, I'm reviewing in reverse here, but I failed to leave a review on this chapter before (shame on me). But here I am now!

First, shenanigans. I love shenanigans. You always come up with such interesting ones. And love potion. Well, it just wouldn't have been right if that hadn't been thrown into all this romantic craziness at least once.

It was all so zany. And Scorpius, ohmygosh! Scorpius and the elk. Scorpius and trying to help and announcing that he was gay and KISSING PICKET oh my gosh I died laughing.

Ohmygracious. I liked getting to see Clement's steely nature applied to such an absurd situation. She really never backs down, and good for her. Honestly, Al deserved what he got, in my opinion. I mean, I can understand being jealous and hurt by those pictures. Perhaps he should have known better, but I can still understand. Nonetheless, subjecting yourself to the horror of an Appy romance? If he'd had three kids named Comma, Semicolon, and Dash before he snapped out of it, he'd have brought it on himself.

I think that Dom's comment here is really fitting for this fic: "They think they have it hard, the boys. Believing there must be better people hiding under our skins, and by God, it's up to them to uncover us. They put us on pedestals and they get angry when we don't sit still."

It reminds me of something really important that I forgot to say in my review of the following chapter (A Kingdom for My Name, since I reviewed these backwards). After all this...madness, I was happy to see Al and Clemence back together.

I was happy, but...I don't think it's a terribly healthy relationship. And I don't think it could last, definitely not in its current incarnation. Because Albus is putting Clemence on a pedestal. And don't get me wrong, I think he's right to an extent. There is more good in Clemence than she shows. She likes to portray herself as 100% sharp edges, but that's not entirely true. Still, it's not entirely false, either. If he's trying to make her into someone she isn't, or if their relationship makes it impossible for Clement to be who she should be, then it's not going to happen. They may love each other, but at present, I don't think it's the best sort of love.

Plus, I can't help but notice that Scorpius says love potions don't work so well on the already-in-love, but it seemed to work pretty well on Albus. Maybe it's a bit less of a love and a bit more of an infatuation? They have chemistry, but you can't build a life on that (well, you can scientifically, but not in the literary sense. Aaand I'm rambling now).

Really, in some ways, this whole thing seems to be a lot about shipping. You can't will people into being right for each other. And I can't say that they will be or won't be in the end, but right now, I can't say that I see Albus and Clement as a good fit. And that's okay. I'm just waiting to see where it goes.


Highlight reel:
- A girl stands up on her chair, fist ready to pump in the air. "Team"

"NO." Pickett, without moving his gaze, points an emphatic finger in her direction. "NO 'TEAM.'"

--I love Henry. My love for all the others is complicated, but no less deep. My love for Henry is a simple love. Simple and true. :D

- And you didn't deserve Appy; no one does. She's too quirky for this world.
--that's a personal favorite of mine. I mean, he still might have deserved it, in my book, but Clemence does make a point.

Thanks for the fun times as always!

--Penny

Author's Response: I always wonder how many shenanigans I can put into OFs, because they probs wouldn't fly with people who weren't already familiar with my writing 8D They'd just be like, where are the adults. Where are kids getting these resources. At least with fic, HP sort of has a ridiculous foundation and a reputation for terrible security.

Dom's been saying my fav lines every chapter recently 8D

Oh man, I'd be right there with Clemence kicking Albus in the rain. His reason is kind of romantic-sounding except it's not. It's just jealousy and stupidity but ~he really likes her~ so it's okay. I love making him a donkeyhole because people love him anyway; they can't say I didn't warn them if he's being a jerk! He admits it! He's not even that sorry!

AND I LIKE YOUR WORDS ON THEIR RELATIONSHIP. THEY ARE VERY GOOD WORDS. The biggest part is really that their relationship is unhealthy in its current state. That's all I really want readers to recognize because I don't want to romanticize it (while viewing through enough of a desirable lens to fit Clemence's PoV). I don't mind if readers ship them anyway, because unhealthy relationships exist and just because it exists at the end of a story doesn't mean it's ideal. I don't mind people think they'll change and grow into a healthier relationship, because that can happen. But Clemence and Albus' relationship is built on a power struggle and lust and that will never change; their beginning was by no means romantic. But it was very addicting.

THANK YOU AGAIN ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by thegreatcatsby 

18th May 2015:
/voiceover
You mean to tell me that you cannot leave more than one review on a chapter?
/camera pans dramatically to face
Blasphemy!
/looks sharply to the side, eyeliner on point
/insert awesome title sequence
"THE GREAT CATSBY. IS. BACK."

squeeE new banner Lily Collins is normally too smiley(?)/sweet looking in my opinion to be Clemence but that look in her eyes in the banner and that EYEBROW is perfection.

Really channeling my inner Appy/fangirl here with my etc. and banner love but Appy is the queen. It just seems to me that Clemence is a flawed/somewhat unreliable narrator (love her too though), and dehumanized Appy and her Quirkers, when Appy's actually pretty awesome. She EMBRACES her inner fan/girliness and becomes incredibly successful and powerful based on it and has a quirky club and just /sob/ my fangirl feels. A lot of people underestimates fan, fangirls especially, and make us out to be some insane, crazy, desperate, sad nutbug /teenagers/ but they gloss over the nuance of it all and don't realize that, heck yeah, fans are POWERFUL. We make billions at the box office, create stars, find a strong community in each other, and drive some pretty incredible movements (s/o to the Harry Potter Alliance and 1D fandom [#NoControlDay]). We are fanpeople, hear us roar. (Much love to Clemence too- she and Appy are like the two wildly different facets of my personality- the fangirl and the bitter cynical journalist. And much love to Dom as well with her general queenly flawlessness, and Pickett, and Al, and Scorp, and /the complexity and reversed gender roles of this fanfic slays me in general- you just nail it all around./

tl;dr I just popped by to compliment the banner and ended up on a fangirl/character rant. Sorry. :D

Author's Response: HELLO AGAIN.

Angry Lily Collins is just about perf. Ellen Page never fit Clemence exactly, but no one else had a good smirk! I actually prefer angry Lily Collin's model~ smirk. Less sarcastic looking, more like she's judging you. Why can't faceclaims just look evil all the time?

ISN'T APPY ALL OF US? Ok, a little less homicidal, but still. Fangirls are wonderful and terrible and everything that comes with large groups of people. Full of potential but also full of sheep, and they can be as inspiring as they can be stupid. I think their best quality is their earnestness. Their willingness to fight for what they believe in and their lack of shame for it. When they align in the right ways, they can make something great. The wrong ways, welp, there's quite literally war.

I think Clemence is mostly angry about the mob's lack of culpability and that popular opinion is taken as truth. And, obviously, that people aren't listening to /her/. ;)

EMOTIONAL BOYS, COMMANDING GIRLS 4VR.


 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleMissPrincess 

25th April 2015:
"I just need him to understand. You know what it's likeAl does it, too." She shakes her head. "They think they have it hard, the boys. Believing there must be better people hiding under our skins, and by God, it's up to them to uncover us. They put us on pedestals and they get angry when we don't sit still."


that was amazing

Author's Response: Ahhh, one of my favorite lines :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by glw 

19th April 2015:
I'm so sorry it took me so long to reply, but I was the one who wrote the slightly vicious (alright totally vicious) review a couple weeks ago, and I want to apologize profusely for it. I read your reply and I didn't realize how thickheaded I was being. Of course this isnt your only thing to do! You have a life outside of writing fanfiction (which is a hobby) and I completely overlooked that and I feel absolutely awful and I'm sorry. You really dont have to prove anything to me or anyone and I'd be happy with anything you wrote, anytime. I am so sorry for being so rude and overlooking!

Author's Response: Thanks for apologizing; I totally get the frustration and the internet makes disconnect easy, and I really appreciate that you understand. All of my readers are very important to me and I shouldn't make promises I can't keep, but at the same time, those same promises are what keeps me going. I do believe it's a writer's responsibility to be timely as well. I'm glad for fan fiction and the community being here, so I can learn before these kind of mistakes matter much more.

No hard feelings at all :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hmm 

18th April 2015:
I love this story! You write it so convicingly and so well that you've got me thinking like a ruthless reporter and that teenage girls normally act like bloodthirsty sharks:P I've been pulled in, like a tragedy or something...

Can't wait for the next chapter:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's so fun writing this universe; everything's so DRAMATIC and outrageous. I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Basilisk89 

13th April 2015:
You're story is so amazing. I am in love with all of the witty banter that goes on in the story! I've been checking back everyday to see if there is a new update. Do you think the next chapter will be up soon? Oh please pretty please with a cherry on top and sprinkles and hot fudge and whatever else you might like on a sundae!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm in edit mode for the update. It's half of what I meant to post, but the other half is coming up soon, too!

 Report Review

Review #9, by teamclem 

31st March 2015:
oh my gosh no dont feel the need to prove anything!! your writing is so brilliant and wonderful as it is, and im sure everyone will be happy to have to the next chapter no matter what

Author's Response: Aw thanks, you're too sweet. I've got one section of the chapter left, but I'm moving over the next few days, so hopefully I can post after all this April Fools madness!

 Report Review

Review #10, by teamclem 

27th March 2015:
Dang that last review was really demanding...just wanna say that we readers support you and eagerly await the next chapter! Your writing is brilliant and I can't wait to see where Clem and Albus go next :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. I'm a bit terrified of the next chapter because I essentially have to prove that the wait was worth it, and I know not everyone's going to be happy with the tone of it. Such! Angst!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Glw 

24th March 2015:
Honestly you can't keep saying "I'm sorry" or "I'm typing". You do realize that you've been working on one chapter for over a year now? I'm sorry but people are losing interest. It's unfair to keep people hanging on for so long, and I know I'm coming off as a witch, but seriously? It's not very nice what you're doing! It's a shame, because this was such a good story. Each day, week, and month you make us wait, our expectations get higher and higher for the next chapter. I am extremely disappointed. Please, in the future, if you choose to continue to write more stories (and please do, because they're bloody brilliant), consider your readers with more care. I apologize for being a total witch with this because I'm not so good with words and can't really convey my feelings very well.

Author's Response: I am sorry and I am writing, and I'm grateful for the readers who stick around. I know people are waiting and losing interest, but understand that this fic can only have so high of a priority. I have a full-time job that has nothing to do with writing. I have friends to meet, errands to run, chores to do, books to read... You might know me only for my writing, but away from the internet, most of my life does not involve writing this fic. Perhaps you don't mean to come off this way, but you seem to think that you're entitled to demand my time and demand that I write. I'd certainly really like to finish this story for my readers, but I don't need to. This is my hobby that I do for free, in my free time. I'm sorry for the wait, I'm sorry for the disappointment, but I don't think it's at all unfair.

 Report Review

Review #12, by teamclem 

9th March 2015:
dude please update! this is my favorite story and i've been waiting ages for a new chapter :(((

Author's Response: Trying! Sorry about the wait!

 Report Review

Review #13, by glw 

27th February 2015:
ok. It has OFFICIALLY been one YEAR. Please, for the love of all that is both holy and unholy: UPDATE. Give me the next chapter and I promise not to go all out on my punching bag by pretending it's you. :) thanks babe *mwah*

Author's Response: Spare my hands! They're all I have to type with.

Speaking of which, am typing furiously!


 Report Review

Review #14, by glw 

11th February 2015:
You do realize it's been about a year since you put up this chapter? You can't possibly wait that long to update dude! It's so not fair 😩

Author's Response: I KNOOOW. I wrote like 700 more words during my flight. IT'S GONNA HAPPEN... EVENTUALLY.

 Report Review

Review #15, by DessieWeasley 

6th January 2015:
PLEASE update. This story is amazing btw!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! ;A; sorry for taking so long!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Kira 

5th January 2015:
DUUUDE...

*dies inside*

Please, please update...

*grovels*

Author's Response: ;A; sorry for the long wait!

 Report Review

Review #17, by PNIX 

27th December 2014:
okay i am skipping to the last chapter (i read a few others but didn't have time to review, had to read on my phone in the car ride to my grandparents house and reviews dont work on my phone for some reason) but its not because i got bored of the story, its because i wanted to see when picnic and albus were going to get together. i like to fast forward to the romance bits haha! i saw in a slash forum that picket was gay but so far no gay action, very disappointing as this is the final chapter and he has no character resolution. still using ellen page which we talked about, good job on that boys face. all i can say is that i enjoyed this story. i will give you 10/10 even though no delivery on gay picket. i will be checking out your other work, probably not this weekend though because on weekends i read stuff about nutcra*ckers. (hpff tried to censor me because of that word, what is this north korea)

Author's Response: Teehee, excuse me while I enjoy your autocorrect (Picnic and Albus!). What slash forum are you talking about? There is discussion about Pickett? :0 I like to think he's pansexual--will roll with any gender.

The story's not over yet!! I must stress that. Come back when I've got the last two chapters up!


 Report Review

Review #18, by LucidDelight 

20th December 2014:
This is my first next-gen fic and you have just set the bar waaay way up high. Thank you.

Author's Response: Ahhh I'm glad I'm the first one! Actually I was originally inspired to write it as a parody of other next gen OC fics but they've become rarer breed. For your next next-gens, try peppersweet, gubraithianfire, and celestie!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ginbun 

23rd November 2014:
When the HELL are you going to continue?
UGHH!!

Your story is A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!
I love this chapter... so far my fave.

Keep writing!!

Author's Response: Thanks!! Sorry for the long wait, it's been a busy year!

 Report Review

Review #20, by my_voice_rising 

5th November 2014:
I think this is the only fic I have read with an OC where I have actually squealed. The ending, Gina. The ENDING. And I love all of the action scenes in your stories, they're so well written. Sorry my reviews are so lame, I just, ugh. So good. I know you are busy beyond busy, so I'm patiently(ish) awaiting the newest chapter!

Author's Response: :3 Wahey, I hope you squeal when reading your own fic bc I know we all do it BUT YES THE ENDING, AKA THE HAPPIEST MOMENT IN THIS FIC IT ONLY GOES DOWN FROM HERE, god he is such a jerk but also so charmy-warmy, even I have a love-hate relationship with Albus.

Thank for the review ♥ ♥ I need sanity checks every now and then


 Report Review

Review #21, by anon 

25th October 2014:
Will you have the story completed by February of 2015? Or at least the next chapter by Christmas? :D

Author's Response: I sure hope so! xP

 Report Review

Review #22, by Glw 

16th October 2014:
Will the next chapter be the final chapter? And do you have a set deadline as to when you will update by? Perhaps Halloween?

Author's Response: There will be 2 more chapters :) I don't have a specific deadline, as I'm rather busy working nowadays, but I'm perpetually working on it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Glw 

13th October 2014:
Argh why haven't you updated?? I miss this story!! Please update ASAP. Like 5-real.

Author's Response: I'm working on it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Renee 

9th August 2014:
reread for the fifth (not even joking, actually the fifth) time while waiting for the update. Might die from the pain of waiting. LOVE the story though.

Author's Response: Aw, sorry you've been waiting so long; I actually do feel terrible D: Thank you for still reading!

 Report Review

Review #25, by larissa_allstar 

18th July 2014:
So this is the story I chose to read next by you c: It definitely is different from your other fics I've read, but I still do quite enjoy it. It's pretty cool to see how versatile your writing style is. Like in Game you had a more fluffy style, while this one is more humorous and at times satirical. I mean those Quirkers are insane! Haha.

Speaking of the quirkers- wow. Lol I actually haven't read a next gen fic before (yeah, I really only have read a ton of marauders lol) and I actually feel like your take on Hogwarts life could be accurate. I can actually seem some boy obsessed group taking form and placing "The Boy who Lived" sons on a HUGE pedestal. Lol I do know it's meant to be satire but I could actually see it going down. The whole team shirts made me laugh too, brought back memories of the whole Team Jacob and Team Edward thing, a la Twilight.

Your OC is so complex and I'm in love. She definitely has faults, and I can see how some readers wouldn't like her. Heck, I didn't even like her in the beginning. However as this story continued on my love for Clemence grew and grew. Really seeing all of these walls she puts up slowly coming down is so amazing to read. Yes, there's been times when I wanted to shake her however there's moments where I feel akin and understanding of Clemence. Her reactions to Albus and her growing confusion makes sense.

She's also just so incredibly driven and ambitious that it tends to lead to not so wise choices, it's like she has blinders on and is just so focused on her goal which I do find quite admirable. Her complete adoration for writing (which is something I definitely share) is something I can also connect with :)

You write Albus in a very interesting way! I like it a lot (: You develop him very well and don't make him a Gary Stu (male mary sue lol) which I feel like is what his character would get a lot of times. Or, he'd just be the shy/smart one. You write him as somebody more complex, with ulterior motives and give him a true personality. Though he's admitted to loving Clemence (although drunkenly) I appreciate how this deceleration hasn't turned him into a some huge romantic. You do however give him real emotions, such as the jealously seen in this chapter. I'm curious to see how his relationship will continue to grow, change and most likely self destruct numerous times because mistakes and bad choices are a common theme in this story.

As for side characters, I find them all quite intriguing. The Rose and Dom conflict does seem quite deep seated and I can see why that conflict is there. I can only imagine how it would feel to be looked down upon while somebody like your cousin is revered. Then you have "Team Dom" and "Team Rose" and it's obvious that nobody is trying to change this conflict. I feel like this relationship is one of the most interesting ones in this story. Dom and Rose appear to have somewhat a better understanding of eachother now due to the crazy Quirkers though. Throw in Scorpius to the mix and things get more convoluted. In this chapter he does have his big reveal, which must have been very scary however I think a weight has been lifted from his shoulders.

Appy, oh Appy. Though she's presented in a extremely negative light in this novel and undeniably is a little loony, I actually want her to be happy. Her character is one that's fueled on by her hope, which is then fueled by the support of her Quirkers. Her life has always seemed to go the way she wanted, I mean she has publishing deal! Now with Clemence her worldview is drastically changing and things don't seem so simple and easy anymore. Her Quirker group that she leans on for support seems to be falling. Of course Appy is acting out at Clemence. It's a desperate attempt to maintain order and the life she's always hoped would stay the same.

Can't wait to see more brilliant character development, satirical humor and the growing relationship/partnership/whatever that's between Albus and Clemence. I'm getting little bits of vibes that there's a little bit of something going on with Pickett and Clemence. I can definitely see that their conversation in the next chapter would be incredibly awkward.

Author's Response: Sorry it took so long to respond! I’m so so glad you like this fic :) And that you liked it even though it’s your first foray into next gen! Much of the story also satirizes next-gen story conventions, though I’ve found that many of those are also teen romance conventions--and of course, the frenzy is pure Twilight/fandom madness.

What I love about Clemence is that she doesn’t want to be liked. She doesn’t want your sympathy, your good word, she doesn’t want /anything/ from the world or so she says, and that’s fearfully admirable and pitiful at the same time. It’s a strange kind of ambition that she has; she wants to get what she feels like she deserves (and what Appy does not), but to voice that would be utterly hypocritical.

And what I love about Albus is that he’s this romantic but his love is selfish. It isn’t pure or something that’s framed as fixing Clemence; rather it’s something that taints him. He never has to sacrifice as much as anyone else in this fic, and he doesn’t really see the consequences of his “good intentions.” At the same time, he sees the truths that Clemence does not. They do that for each other.

Dom and Rose, I would have loved to expand on them more. They’re the true ruthless ones of the story, more Clemence-like than Clemence claims to be. For them, it really is ambition and power and being right, where Clemence wouldn’t care less in the end.

I love it when people like Appy! I love writing her, and I write her like she’s the heroine of her own nutty story. She’s spoiled and obsessive, but she isn’t stupid ;)

Thank you so much! There’s only a little more of the story, but after I’m done, I’m adapting it into an original story.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>