Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HebrideanBlack 

27th February 2016:
Goes to show what you're willing to do for family. That's what I love about Andie too, I guess.

I definitely love her power and her independence and her strength. She knows that she has the best hand right now, and she's using the heck out of her advantages. I love it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell 

13th July 2015:
Okay, I know I'm not supposed to be happy about the ice queen routine, and I'm not. Not at all. And I am infuriated that she's having to accept Rabastan's engagement.

But I am thrilled with the way she handled him. That whole exchange I was just cheering, "Atta girl!"

It's a relief to me, because I suspected it would come to this, but I'm so glad that even though you wrote her as acquiescing to the engagement, you didn't have her lose her strength and independence.

Now we just need that strength and independence to go a bit farther.

I really do feel for Narcissa. Especially because all this puts their eventual parting into a whole other light. Because now she knows what the family was putting Andromeda through. So even when they don't speak and are estranged once Andromeda chooses Ted, even if she can't understand why Andromeda would choose Ted, at some point she'll have to sort of, a little, understand. And that must make all those years of being parted from her sister so much worse. I mean, maybe that's not the way it ends, but that's how I'm imagining it and, oddly, it's even sadder that way.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hurray! Yes, this is definitely a sticky situation for Andromeda, and she's making mistakes left and right, but I really wanted to give her agency here. So I'm very happy to hear that strength and independence received some cheering!

I try not to think much about the years and years Andromeda and Narcissa spent estranged, because it makes me unbearably sad. But yes, as you say, I think Narcissa knowing--if in just the smallest way--that Andromeda was justified in leaving the family makes that estrangement even worse.

Thank you once more for all the kind words!


 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 

30th March 2014:
Wow, how long has it been?!?!

Hi! I'm back to reviewing this story--maybe I can get caught up before the next chapter comes out! As things stand, I've read every chapter that's come through the queue, but because of time and life events, I haven't been able to review. I am super determined to review every chapter of this story, so it's time to catch up! :D

If the dream at the beginning were in a movie, it would be beautiful. Beautiful, but terrible at the same time. I love how I could imagine the red of the blood and the gold of the linnet's wings. So now I'm just waiting for the movie of this story to come out! :D

Wow, okay. Andromeda's parents are horrible. Her father, with all the talk of "if my daughters had been sons" and her mother with the "you aren't going to get any matches because you're probably a dirty birdy," wow, they just make me mad. What is Cygnus' deal?! I thought that he and Andie were pals, but no, she says no to a cheating jerk and speaks out against the Dark Arts, and suddenly he's all "if you were a boy at Durmstrang, you wouldn't be so naive." Wow. But the other thing is, if she was a boy who had gone to Durmstrang, she would actually be able to choose her own spouse and nobody would care if she slept with other people. That's where her mother's words come in--SO MUCH DOUBLE STANDARD. Wow. Just wow.

Hahahaha, but now the ball's in Andie's court because she's got the drop on Lestrange--she won't tell him that she'll get disowned if she refuses him, so that allows her to make him very, very afraid. :D The subversive treachery in the proposal scene is just too awesome--I love that Andie totally does a 180 and scares him into submission. Woman power, for the win!

Narcissa is, I think, unfortunately naive. She just can't understand why Andie isn't allowed to marry someone she loves, because she loves Lucius. It seems that it's really easy for her to forget that her marriage was arranged because of her love for him, but later in life, she'll probably remember that, especially in the Second Wizarding War when Lucius was so awful to be around.

Poor Andie, shedding a single tear in the darkness. I find that darkness conceals tears and sadness best of all, so I don't blame her for letting go of her facade under the cover of night. We've all done that, haven't we?

Moving on to the next chapter because it's the last day of spring break, yay!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Gasp. HI THURH. It's always a day brightener to read your reviews! So glad you got the chance to stop by.

Bahaha, I myself am waiting for the movie of this story to come out. Where's my publicity agent when I need him? Surely he can cut me a break with Warner Bros. Lolz. But seriously, who wants Fantastic Beasts? Do TEDROMEDA instead. And of course TEDROMEDA would be the title, because you can't get classier than that.

Yeahhh, this is not a shining moment for the Parental Unit. It was tough to put Andie through it, especially after she already feels like her father has betrayed her. He was her rock, her reason for believing it was GOOD that she was different from her sisters. And coming to grips with Cygnus' true nature is something that's going to wound her for a while. Sigh. He's such a chauvinistic bleepity bleep, and worse still, Druella is complicit in his treatment. That sort of sexist double standard is something that gets my ire up. But I LOVED putting Andie in a position where she's now the one in control in her relationship with Rabastan. RAWR. Andie isn't going to take any of this lying down.

Narcissa is definitely blinded by her own happy circumstances. I've found, in my own experience, that it's so easy for people to be blinded by their own privilege. They make assumptions about "the way things are" for EVERYONE based on their own limited experience. Just because Cissa lucked into a loving engagement doesn't mean others are so lucky. It's sad, and right now Cissa just doesn't have the strength of character or empathy to see fully beyond herself. But as you say, I also think that she began to develop that perspective over time, especially during the wizarding wars. I think she eventually came to see the toll that Dark Arts and pureblood mania can take on a family.

Andie isn't in a happy place right now. There are several of those sorts of tears to come. D:

Thanks so much for the read and the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by water_lily43175 

17th March 2014:
I AM HERE. Apologies for the absence, real life got in the way. And then I buried myself in my WIP for a few days to get it finished. BUT. I am here now!

Andromeda leaves Ted and her nightmares come back. Oh, Dromeda. And what a scary nightmare it is, too. I do NOT like the blood. Poor Ted-linnet.

Ha! Scaredy-cat Lucius. Typical. And oh, Narcissa, trying to help just as Andromeda had asked. She's such a darling when she's being all loving sister. I know it's going to break my heart when The Split comes. And it's so intriguing to see how Narcissa knows just how to play Druella - and also that Cygnus knows better than that.

And, as if they hadn't revealed their true colours already, their total lack of concern about Andromeda is sickening. They were too worried about their public image to search for her, they don't care where she was the whole time ... BLEURGH. Pureblood society really does stink.

And Cygnus WOULD blame Druella for not "giving him sons". It's an interesting thought, that - while Walburga and Orion had two sons, Cygnus and Druella had three daughters and no sons at all. I like that you mention this, because it's certainly something I'd never properly thought about it before, but YES, of course they would be disappointed with three girls and no boys. More gross archaic purebloodness.

Oh, no. No, no, Andromeda, don't agree! :( I suppose I could live in hope here, that she's going to pretend to be obedient and then run off with her inheritance the minute she turns eighteen ... but she seems so resolute about it all, that she IS going to marry Rabastan and have to live unhappily with her lot. Oh, this makes me sad. Was this honestly her plan all along? Narcissa's right, Andromeda, it's really not you...

I'm sad now. :(

Author's Response: HELLO. No need to apologize! Real life is, like, super important and stuff. And AHHH, you haz finished OTR? Congrats! This is more motivation for me to catch up on the, cough, fifty-three-odd chapters I have left. Eh heh. Seriously, though, I am loving that story so much. It's like I'm treating myself with a double scoop of moose tracks ice cream every time I read it. It's that yummy. Yum.

Anyway... Pureblood society really is the pits. So sexist and status-obsessed. Not worth the pretty dresses. Cygnus and Druella are a fail. You know, the all-girl thing was something I'd never really considered either until I started writing this piece. I was always intrigued by the Black sisters, but I didn't once stop to consider what a disappointment three girls in a row would've been to their father--especially when there was "competition" with Orion and Walburga, who had two shiny, very male heirs. At least Druella wasn't a Tudor queen, or she'd be liable to get her head chopped off.

:( Don't be sad!! But do, if you want, because I'm sad, too. Here we enter into a dark period in the life of Andromeda Black. She's been confronted with one rude awakening too many and started down a path that nearly every other Lady of the House of Black has taken before her. But it ISN'T her, and that is upsetting.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by MEW 

16th March 2014:
Just searched for Linnet, and in my langueage it's called a Kneu or Kneuter... and kneuter means something between sissy and idiot... however I think the linnet is perfect for him, it's like a cute and honest bird!

Author's Response: Hahaha, a sissy/idiot? That's hilarious. :D Poor Ted. What a connotation. I initially chose a linnet because I think they're adorable birds and also because I think it's a beautiful word. But cute and honest are two very fine adjectives to describe Ted, too. Most of the time... :]

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by GuardedHeart 

28th February 2014:
Oh my goodness. I haven't been on here in ages, and I remembered reviewing the first or second chapter of this story...I was SO THRILLED to see how many updates there were!

You have converted me from fascination with Tedromeda to full-on shipping. I love the way you characterize both Andromeda and Ted, and it has been interesting to read about how Andromeda is slowly shedding her long-held beliefs and biases in exchange for something better and more real. To me, this feels more like the way the story would have played out - it's hard to think that Andromeda could have grown up as a Black without much of that disdain for Muggles and Muggleborns being instilled in her as a child. And as for Ted, he is perfect (but not too perfect, which is wonderful). I love the way you present his difficulties with being a Metamorphmagus - it's incredibly interesting that something that ends up being such a talent an defining feature of his daughter is such a burden for him, and I'm kind of dying to know why it affects him so differently.

I also think you're spot on in your characterization of Narcissa - she's got a good enough heart to realize that Andromeda's breakup with Rabastan was completely warranted, but she isn't quite brave enough to stand up to her family and defy their wishes. It will be very interesting to see how the dynamic between Andromeda and Narcissa changes as Andromeda gets closer to Ted and Narcissa becomes everything her parents ever wanted her to be.

Anywho, that's the end of my rambling review. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this story and can't wait to see more updates soon! :)

~GH

Author's Response: Why, hello there! This review put me in such a happy state. :] I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying it--but especially that you have officially joined TEAM TEDROMEDA. Whooo! JKR drew some fantastic preliminary lines for their story, and I've had so much fun coloring them in.

I agree, I think it would be almost impossible for Andromeda to grow up surrounded by her pureblood family, friends, and ideals without growing up a bigot. I know there are some interpretations of her as a kind-hearted anomaly in the Black family, but I've always imagined her as very capable of the cruelty and narrow-mindedness exhibited by her sisters. And I've loved writing her that way, because kind-hearted anomalies aren't nearly as fun. :]

Never fear, there are more of Ted's Metamorphmagus shenanigans and reveals to come! And yes, I'm both dreading and looking forward to writing Andromeda and Narcissa's progression and eventual split. They're cozy to write now, but soon... D:

Thanks so much for reviewing! I hope to have a new chapter on its way soon!


 Report Review

Review #7, by MarieBlack 

26th February 2014:
I love this chapter! Simply because it shows that Andie could truly be related to Bellatrix, that some of her was inside of Andie as well.

Now, I think what she is doing is stupid. She's repressing the side of her that desires freedom and happiness and love for the sake of family and "safety" or whatever. And that's nuts! Because she's going to drive herself mad, she's just going to go bonkers. And I dislike Rabastan, I totally think he's a jerkface. But I did enjoy the Rosier bit, haha. They're a fun family to play with.

I think the way she decides to leave her family, truly in the end, is the day she wakes up and realizes that when Narcissa is married off that she's losing her anyway, and in the end she doesn't want to be alone. Without Narcissa who does she have? So that opens the door for Ted. Ugh. I can't wait to see how Ted reacts to all of this.

AND THAT DREAM. Super freaky. Poor Andie, I feel so much for her.

I'm looking forward to more chapters! I did write much of one for my own story before I got so off by emotional things and swamped in course work, so it should post soon. Have a look when you can!

Happy writing!

Author's Response: Yes, Andromeda certainly has some Bellatrix inside of her, and more than she'd care to admit. However, unlike Bella, she has a better handle on how to turn off the cold sociopath routine. And also unlike Bella, Andromeda wasn't made to put on that front 24/7. Like you and Cissy said, it's going to hurt her. And that makes me sad, but so it is. :(

Ee hee hee. Oh, Rosier. It's crazy what a tight-knit, intertwined community the purebloods have, isn't it?

Eep! I saw that you posted a new chapter to Sunshine. Must read. I really hope I'll have a chance to get to it later today.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by DoctorUnderwood 

26th February 2014:
We'll see how long this lasts before she goes back to Ted...

Author's Response: Heh heh heh. We will, indeed. o.o Thanks for the read & review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Miss Muggle 

26th February 2014:
I love Andromeda! She sure told Rabastan off. Of course she will pretend they're engaged for a while, but she won't marry him will she? She's going to turn 18 and get her inheritance and run off with Ted, right? Ah, I don't even know why I'm so stressed about this; I know she and Ted get married and live happily ever after until, you know. But Andromeda has to go through so much to get there, not to mention everything she has put Ted through.

Have I mentioned how much I adore your interpretation of this whole story? With the few details JKR gave us, you've created an amazing story. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Aw, yay! I had a blast writing Andromeda this chapter because, after the events of nineteen chapters, she FINALLY realizes what her family's priorities are, and she doesn't accept them meekly. All the same, even knowing what I do about her eventual future, it made me sad to put her though this. And even sadder to think of what she's put Ted through. D: It is one long, circuitous route to a happy ending.

It means so much to me to hear that you're enjoying the story! Clearly, I love Tedromeda to pieces, and it's been rather liberating to write a story with certain key facts/parameters that JKR put in place but with boundless freedom as to all the juicy filling. :] Hope to have a new chap out soon. Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review