Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HebrideanBlack 

27th February 2016:
Andie and Ted are just the best, seriously. And this story is just the best.

Serioiusly.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LiveBreatheNeedHP 

28th August 2015:
This is really a great chapter. You can hear her headspace and mental state in this chapter, and the part with the phone is a great bit of humour that's essential to the intensity of the past couple of chapters. I love the atmosphere of Ted's place and his brother. It's a new setting and will shape into a new interesting point in the story. I have a particular fondness for this chapter also. So glad to see Ted back, I've got the biggest soft spot for your version of him.

Author's Response: Heehee, I like soft spots for Ted! Honestly, I think this might be my favorite chapter of KYD. It was such a pleasure to write, and I really think it's the pivotal turning point for Andromeda and Ted. So it means a lot that you like it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Shinicha 

25th August 2015:
Oh, this chapter warmed my heart, it was really nice. And yes, Andromeda IS behaving quite unusual, but I can't believe how her family could treat her like that!!! I would've been a heap of self-pity, but she is very self-reflective. I thought she was really strong, the way she handled herself in this situation!

Your quotes from the book very btw super-creepy! It really sounds like these race-theories from the late 19th early 20th century..uff!

Great chapter :)

Author's Response: Yes! I think this really is a huge turning point for Andromeda. And even though her family is being utterly AWFUL, she's finally realizing she has the strength to separate herself from that legacy.

Isn't it scary how J.K. Rowling's purists speak in ways that aren't too different from a lot of the horrible eugenic essays being written in the last century? Ugh. That was indeed the (disturbing) spirit I was channeling for those passages. ICK.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ziska 

29th July 2014:
So I finished the story as far as you have gotten a few days ago (to chapter 31) but I can't seem to get the characters out of my head, so much so that I have been going back and rereading some of my favourite chapters. This is def one of them.

After spending a bit of time with the Black family it is so wonderful to see George and Nelson and of course Ted. I think that what makes this story so interesting and memorable is the characters.

I love Nelson. He is one of my favourite characters in your story. His comments are brilliant and in a story filled with so much sadness and difficulty the humour is great. Its perfect that he is the first muggle that Andromeda really talks to. I love that Nelson is Ted's family and how close the brothers seem to be.

The contrast between Andromeda's house and Ted's home is also great. Andromeda's house seemed so cold and unwelcoming and scary that I was so happy when she left, while the Tonk's house seems like such a welcoming and friendly place. It does seem like a perfect refuge. :)

I just really love this story and may have to keep rereading chapters until there are new ones.

Author's Response: Two more reviews! What a treat. :) It really means a lot to me that you came back to review some of your favorite passages.

I'm glad to hear that "Refuge" is one of your favorite chapters, because it was definitely one of my favorites to write! I'd been eager to both show Andromeda in an entirely new environment and introduce Ted's home life.

Oh, Nelson. Haha. I wrote both him and George to serve as comic relief during some particularly bleaks parts of the story, but I wanted to flesh them both out into more dimensional characters, too, and I hope I've been successful. I'm glad to hear that Nelson is ringing true for you!

Yes! The Tonks residence was certainly meant to be a refuge on many levels. It's really the first time that Andromeda has ever been face-to-face with a) lack of money, b) a non-pureblood household, and c) a family that loves each other. And that's a lot to take in at once.

Thanks for the REread and review! I'm hoping to have Chap 33 up soon.


 Report Review

Review #5, by navyfail 

11th February 2014:
This is a change for Andromeda. Eating almonds, not having a lot of money available to her and all. But it helps give a perspective on the life she lived and how she is living at the moment. And she sees George. Though he still doesn't like her all too much... not that I can blame him.

I really liked her phone conversation with Ted. It brings out the anxiousness and nervousness she's feeling and Ted's went with a smart approach on how to handle the situation. And she mentions the 'laughing' thing, so cute!

For some reason, George is growing on me. I like how he is protective of Ted and how he doesn't trust her. And Andromeda's sass: "He's paying you to help me, isn't he?" and "Why should I thank a hired hand?" She's amazing!

Great chapter!!

~Sama

Author's Response: Yesh, I can't exactly blame George, either. If there was an Andromeda in my life, I'd be super suspicious of her hanging around my friends, too. He's just looking out for his Huffly Puffly buddy.

And YAY! I'm glad you enjoyed the phone conversation, because it's been one of my favorite convos to write. I like making Andromeda a complete spazz when it comes to Muggle contraptions. Heh.

George and Andromeda have been a ton of fun to write. I'd really like to give them their own sitcom. Like The Odd Couple. Baha. Sigh. Maybe one day. In an alternate universe...


 Report Review

Review #6, by MarieBlack 

26th January 2014:
AH. I CAN NOT. LIKE NOTHING. THERE ARE NO WORDS.

This chapter was precisely perfect.Just everything.

Andie is being so out of herself from the rashness and I totally get it! I get that, I get that in the face of craziness and you jump on being rash you just become beside yourself. I'm sure being sleep deprived did not help at all.

I just see so much of myself in Andie, it's odd. Just in the way she organizes herself and goes about things.

And I love Ted. He is like my most favorite character of all time life, yes. Everyone needs a Ted Tonks in their life.

I love how she got a hold of Ted though. They didn't happen to meet in Diagon Alley or anything. It was all relatively plausible. Running into one of his friends and all of that. Your writing is just intentional with every character. They all kind of have their own limelight moment.

In a way that reminds me of how J.K. Rowling writes, every character matters in her stories from Lavender Brown to Neville who all seemed rather background.

I just adore this, I'm an avid reader and fan.

TED UGH SO GREAT. WANT ONE.

Author's Response: YAY. I'm glad you liked!! Yes, Andromeda is not quite herself in this chapter. Like you say, running away from home and questioning everything you believe and running low on sleep can lead to some pretty erratic behavior.

I'm glad, too, that you can empathize so strongly with Andie! To me, it's a nice confirmation that she's well, like a real person. :) Hear, hear! Let there be a Ted Tonks in everyone's life. I like him pretty well, too, but then I'm biased. >:] He's been such a fun guy to write.

I'm also really glad that you appreciate all the "extras." Whether George or Walburga or Nelson, they always surprise me with their personalities/motivations. I love that JK gave so much attention to periphery characters, too, because if she didn't, we wouldn't have Ted and Andromeda to begin with! D:

Thank you for the review and ongoing support. Currently writing the next chapter, so I hope it'll be in your hands soon!


 Report Review

Review #7, by UnluckyStar57 

25th January 2014:
Ugh, yes! I'm so excited about this chapter!!

Really, I read it this morning at 1:00 AM and I wanted to review it then, but trust me, it would've been WAY more incoherent than this review will be. :)

I like the idea of Andie taking up residence in an inn that isn't the Leaky Cauldron. We hear a lot about the Leaky and the various shops on Diagon Alley, but hey, what about the other hotels and such?! So I'm glad that there's another one. And I like the name "Obscuro Books." It sounds like a fun place to go. Maybe when I go to Diagon Alley next time, I'll stop by and check out the books. (Hahaha, in my dreams.)

George! He's so super-suspicious of Andie. I think that's great--he has no earthly idea how much she's changed, or even that she and Ted have a friend thing going on, so his confusion when Ted wanted to speak to her was really funny. He hasn't appeared much so far, but he seems like a really good friend. I like him for that!

And Nelson! Ted and his brother have such a lovely relationship. It's really sad about their parents, though, and I hate that. But they were just perfect, all joking around and grinning. "Strippogram," hahahaha!! :D

But the last part of the chapter was, of course, my favorite. I LOVE Tedromeda! It's so cool that Andie is FINALLY admitting that she was horrible to Ted, and that he gave her a lot of help that she didn't deserve. It really, really shows how much she has changed over the course of thirteen chapters. She missed Ted! She missed him so much, but he just wants her to rest so that she'll be normal Andie again...

I wonder what was going on in his head when she said that she missed him. He probably missed her too, I think, but he must have some reservations about liking her or something. What's going on behind those gorgeous eyes?!?! I guess I'll have to wait for more Tedromeda in chapter 14!!

Such congrats on thirteen chapters!! That's a crazy amount! I really admire you for making time to write this much, because I never seem to have the time (double-majoring and being lazy will do that to a person, I guess). But, despite your real life concerns (like being a grown-up and having a job and stuff), I hope that you don't stay away from the world of Tedromeda for too long! If that happens, I'll probably go back and reread the whole story and be really sad that it hasn't continued yet. :P

So, yeah. Update whenever you can (preferably soon)!!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: OH HI THERE.

Aww, no 1 AM review? I'm sure it would've been really fun to read. Haha. But this one's been pretty darn great to read, too.

Yeah! Next time you're in the area, you should totally check out Obscurus Books. They've got such a fine collection. Lol. But I did figure that a place as big as Diagon Alley had to have more than just one inn, right? Right.

George is that friend that everyone needs and that everyone's enemies should fear. He means business, yo. He's Ted's own personal security guard. :) I'm having lots of fun with Nelson so far. I picture him and Ted as having similar laid-back personalities, only Nelson is the more irreverent one and more liable of doing morally questionable stuff. Haha.

YAY TEDROMEDA. Dromeda is definitely taking a turn for the better, but she has been through a lot of upheaval lately, and Ted is just a little concerned that she's got a blow to the head or something. Ladies of the House of Black don't apologize. OR DO THEY.

Further insight will come into the mystery behind Ted's super-mysterious eyes. Durn durn durn.

Thank you on the congrats! This is just one of those rare stories that was way more ready to burst out than even I thought it would be. I'm still in that stage when I eagerly look forward to snagging some time to write more. It also helps that I'm working on this other big, less pleasant writing project, so writing Dromeda's story is more like a reward than anything else. I'm working on new material as we speak, so I hope to be sending a new chapter into the queue son!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MEW 

25th January 2014:
Like I said... i really love this story. The way you show the psyche of a racist is really convincing. Coincedentally my OC is also called Cassius, like your painter. Do you mind if I might say in my story that my OC's grandfather was a painter(whom he's named after)?

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're enjoying the read! Great minds think alike, it would seem; Cassius is a pretty fantastic name. And please do go ahead and reference your OC's grandfather as a painter named Caissius. I love it when things line up like that. :) Of course this means that I must take a look at your own Cassius! Putting on my lists of reads. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

24th January 2014:
I really like Ted's friend George. He's about the best friend someone could have, isn't he? Talk about looking out for one another. Of course, he has no idea that Andromeda and Ted have been 'cavorting', he's got every right to assume her intentions are bad.

And it just goes to show how desperate she is, that she's completely setting aside her pride here. To seek help from Hufflepuff Muggleborns, to admit to her faults as she's doing ... those are the signs of a woman with nothing.

I LOVE her complete inability to use a telephone. To her, George must look utterly ridiculous standing inside a red box. And then holding the phone upside down - oh, she's so adorable. And then, when she tells him she's been thinking about him and isn't it ridiculous - please excuse me for a moment, I'm a pile of goo right now.

I like that Andromeda is still making those haughty remarks she's so guilty of. It reminds us that even if she's run away from home, she's still not escaped that trap of believing she's superior. She still has a lot to learn - and she's certainly going to learn a lot by staying with Ted. But at the same time, we can see that she is becoming a bit more self-aware, and so she has made SOME headway. All the same, she's still far from the Andromeda that will marry Ted, I expect (and hope - it means more story!).

There are two wonderful things that come from Andromeda turning up at Ted's. Firstly, the contrast between where he comes from and where she comes from. It could not be much starker right now. And secondly, the fact she knows nothing about his home life - and therefore neither do we - until it's suddenly laid bare for her here and she realises just how little she's bothered to find out about him before. It's a lovely moment of realisation on a number of counts for her.

Oh, I really want a Ted. He's such an absolute babe! This really does go to show just how alone she is, if he is the only person she can go to. I shudder to think of what she might have done without him to go to. And she told him she missed him - oh, it's so adorable. The only question is, did he miss her at all? I will wait for developments with baited breath...

Author's Response: I didn't think I'd like George when I first put pen to paper. He started out as this burly, one-minded dude who hated purebloods as much as purebloods hated Muggleborns. And then he just evolved into someone much more decent. I'm quite fond of him now, even if he isn't on Andromeda's "side" at the moment.

Hahaha. Poor Andromeda, dealing with these new-fangled Muggle contraptions! If only she had taken Muggle Studies, she would've been better equipped. But it's okay, 'cos now she has her very own Muggleborn to show her the ropes. >:]

YES. Andromeda's definitely changing, but I don't want her to make some miraculous overnight change from Haughty Bigot into a Mugglelover, as it were. She's still got her pride and her misinformed ideas a'plenty. She has a ways to go, BUT she has stepped in the right direction...into Teddykins' own house! :D

Next chapter to come soon, promise! Thank you so much for these two lovely reviews.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review