Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FAfan 

17th August 2017:
Omg omg omg I forgot about this bit
I heard you're more than nice!!!
How did he know?
And when she's like we're on the verge of something bigger that is honestly heart warming

 Report Review

Review #2, by Andy 

29th January 2017:
Two things
When you said that it's fashionable for ravenclaws and slytherins to find Louis and ruddy annoying I just loved that. It's captures the secondary school society so well there's just certain rules and mutual feelings accepted by many in the year you write hog warts as a modern place of education so well
Love how this is building up these characters like Louis that are painted as so exuberant are directly related to James, making me even more excited to properly meet him through ur writing

And omg u absolutely killed me with the last scene "more than nice" same words used omg omg omg!!! Did James sneak up behind them under his invisibility cloak or did albus tell James his feelings, too much, the way he walks out he is a sex god I love him I love him I love him just his small interaction is enough to make me ship them forever

Author's Response: oh my god i'm so glad you noticed and appreciated the ravenclaw/slytherin louis/ruddy detail! because you're right, you're so right, secondary school code of conduct is such a colossal part of the school experience (a few months into my first year at university and i strangely miss it like crazy) & it was so, SO important to me to try and strike a balance of that within FA!

thanks so much for such a lovely, kind, heart warming review. i'm genuinely grinning as i read through it ahh! hopefully the next few chapters don't disappoint ♥ xox


 Report Review

Review #3, by blackballet 

16th January 2017:
ugh that last scene- officially done

with love,
blackballet

Author's Response: i hope the rest doesn't disappoint! thanks again for reviewing xxx

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore 

6th March 2016:
Hola!

Aw, Effy and Albus are just so cute! Honestly, I really like the way that you're writing the two of them, even if things might not work out between them, I hope they stay friends because they seem to get on really well. The conversation between them at the end of the chapter was great, and I loved seeing how nervous and awkward Albus was about being round Effy and getting up the courage to ask her out. They're just adorable ♥

I really like the way that you're writing Effy here, too. She's not just a Quidditch player, it's obvious that it's something that's important to her and something that she actually enjoys - I think there's a tendency at times to have the characters on Quidditch teams just because it's a convenient way of meeting the romantic interest, but it's not the case here. Although I can appreciate her team's complaints about their captain and the training - I definitely would get frustrated with it, but I have a feeling it'll help them get some wins in this season (at least I hope so, which is a lot coming from a Gryffindor ;)).

I really liked the friendships, again - you're doing a great job of writing the interactions between the characters because it all seems so natural and believable. I'm really enjoying this story!

Sian :)
For the HPFF Review-A-Thon

Author's Response: i've just skimmed over these first few chapters and they're in need of a MAJOR re-write. i am genuinely blushing- please don't judge me on my 2013 writing! i am so embarrassed! and you are too, too kind for still being so nice about it. thank you, thank you, thank you!

you've made me physically smile, your comments are so lovely. i just wish that these early chapters merited them! have i mentioned how embarrassed i am? thank you again sian! you've totally made my day on this rainy sunday afternoon. i hope the rest doesn't disappoint! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by Hazel Black 

19th January 2016:
Aww Effy and Al... too cute! Aspen and Oscar are hilarious, I just love how defined their personalities are. And I'm veerry intrigued on what's going on in James' messy head. Great chapter!

Author's Response: oh my god, i cannot believe you're reading the first chapter! i'm totally cringing, this needs rewriting asap. thanks so much for reviewing!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by ronweasleyandme 

28th February 2015:
I remember last year, you narrowly beat Alfie Ronson to the Snitch in a Ravenclaw and Gryffindor match. The next week we all went home for Christmas and James did not shut up about it"

The fact that James is affected by Effy makes me very very very happy
this fanfic is the best
"ek" makes me so happy to think i have another 7 chapters to go
so peak for the people that have finished chapter 10
still hope you update soon x

Author's Response: hopefully i'll tune out an update by the end of the month. i'm so sorry updates are so sporadic, but school's taking such a priority atm- thanks so much for reviewing, i'm so glad you like it! xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by tumblr123a 

18th July 2014:
please please please update!!!
I am in need of this story
my life is incomplete without it (gosh I'm so dramatic)
please don't abandon this story and its readers!
PLEASE UPDATE SOON!

Author's Response: i uploaded a new chapter the other day! i hope it lives up to expectations and certainly does not disappoint! bea xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by hedera 

6th July 2014:
Hello, another House Cup 2014 review! I've suddenly realised that I'm really tired, and so instead of leaving (unusually) sub par reviews I'm probably gonna go to sleep after this one! I will be back in the morning though (you can read that in a sinister Bond-Villain German accent if you wish. It is your choice.)
This was a really good chapter (I predict I will say that every chapter. It will continue to be true)! Again I liked the description at the beginning of the chapter, I felt like it set the tone perfectly. I also really enjoyed Effy and Albus' interactions. I felt like it wasn't too, for lack of a better word, bantery! It was just the right blend of awkward (realistic) and interesting (fun to read).
Ohh, the italicised James stuff, interesting! I have a feeling that James has some vested interests in Effy, we shall see! (we know)
As a pair i'm not sure how much I like Albus and Effy, although I think that that's maybe because I've read all the published chapters and I kind of know what's going to happen- I think that makes it a lil bit harder to comment on the plot, hey? ;)
Anyway you make this both an interesting and a light, enjoyable read which I think is hard so props to you!
Astrid
x

Author's Response: you know when you reply to something and you cant stop gushing in the reply and then your computer decides to break down and it takes a week to repair? and by that time you cant reply again because you cant capture the same excitement and AAHH felt the first time? terrible excuse, i know. pleassee forgive me! thanks so much for everything xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by icingonmycake 

20th June 2014:
And so it begins! I love how this is going so far. Effy and Al! Affy? Elbus? Anyway, awesomesauce. Oooh James is getting jealous. I'm jumping up and down on my seat. The Halloween thing seems exciting, I wonder what'll happen! I loved reading another great chapter, until next time!
IoMC

Author's Response: Thanks again for yet another gorgeous review! I'm so glad you're liking it so far xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by captainaaaa 

12th May 2014:
PLEASE UPDATE SOON!!!

Author's Response: next cchapter is in the queue!

 Report Review

Review #11, by UnofficiallyNotVernonDursley 

2nd February 2014:
YAY AL I LIKE HIM
OK UM GO AL AND I THINK JAMES LIKES EFFY SO IDK BYE

Author's Response: ahahaha thanks!

 Report Review

Review #12, by chasm 

2nd February 2014:
Oh gosh, how do you even /begin/ reviews? It is socially acceptable to just start off by rambling about how awesome the story is? I've been off of hpff so long I've totally forgotten. Um, so yeah. >___> Let's glide over that! AHEM. I really love, love, love this story so far, especially how Effy is not just not hung up on James, but also not hung up on not being hung up over James. You know what I'm saying? (Man, I should have reviewed this late at night, because then I could have that excuse for not being coherent, but I'm always like this. So.) Like, basically, the fact that they don't get along doesn't define her life, and she's a solid, awesome, sassy character, and I love her! So props for that. :'3

I'm also simultaneously rooting for both James and Al. I'm not sure how that works, but yeah. Also Oscar is a boss! >D

tl;dr -- Keep righting because this is a++!

--Chasm ^___^

Author's Response: omg wow thank you so much for this! i'm just so flattered by your description of effy- it totally understood haha, don't worry, and that's exactly how i want her to be portrayed! because this isn't a james/oc sexual tension story as much as it is a coming of age finding-yourself-aged-sixteen-and-what-you-want-to-do kind of thing. i suppose it's more of a journal, a kind of memoir that i'm writing along as i experience what she's experiencing, you know? so i suppose a lot of my characteristics can be reflected in effy wilderson. so yeah, thanks for that!
i love oscar, he again intimidates life- he's modelled after my own best mate, ethan. thanks again for such a lovely review! bea xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Audrey 

31st January 2014:
Love this story so much! The thing that caught my attention was the name haha:) like Arctic Monkeys much?

Author's Response: i'm so glad you liked it! and yeah haha that song inspired this story :')

 Report Review

Review #14, by ASDFGHJKL1234 

27th January 2014:
AWWW that was wonderful! Pls pls pls update soon! :D It's been so long :(

P.S. Yes. Al is such a babe. It's ridiculous.

Author's Response: ah sorry, im uploading at the end of the week!!! thank you xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by RavenHairedGirl 

26th January 2014:
Oh ma Lordie, I just love love love this story, Oscar is definitely my favourite, I need to see more of him, but yes please just carry on writing this, I am hooked!
All your little references to stuff- not in this chapter so much but in the other two, when Oscar is like 'Dalia Moss is like the British coalition'- but written far better, ah I loved it! Update soon!

Author's Response: there is LOADDDZAAA of oscar in the next chapter (sorry im really enthusiastic, he's my favourite), so don't worry! thanks so much for the lovely compliments and reviewing! bea xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by lea_ 

25th January 2014:
[In response to the last comment, haha] Clueless is definitely top five but I guess the whole [ex]step-factor weirds me out.
Like, how did you two meet?
-Oh, his mother was married to my dad.
Oh... Awkward.
But I still love the movie. Once I told my cousin (who doesn't have a license) that she was 'just a virgin who can't drive' and then she got offended and in hindsight, I realize how potentially insulting that comment is without knowledge, you know? lol
On to this chapter!
1. So I don't know if this was intentional or not, but I love how Effy's mental descriptions of Al are just comparisons of him to James.
2. I really hope Effy's costume is a-la Cady-from-Mean Girls because that would be awesome.
3. I love Al! He's such a babe, and it makes me sad for him because I already know they're not going to end up together so I hope there's some other girl for him. Although I did LOL at James' question, "That's a girl, right?"
...Is there a chance a boy could be Al's date? dun dun dun.
4. God I wish there was beautifying spells I could use. Like, really. Those makeup tutorials always look so intense and let's be honest, I'd rather just sleep if I have extra time in the AM.

Can't wait for the next chapter - I lovelovelove Halloween.

Author's Response: yay this review made me so happy!! so MAYBE effy's costume is "a-la cady-from-mean-girls", probably not because i don't think aspen or oscar would let her get away with it.
your predictions are all hysterical hahaha- i suppose you'll just have to wait and see! i lovelovelove halloween too so this will be super fun to write ;D bea x


 Report Review

Review #17, by Domine 

24th January 2014:
No, it was good. I really would like to see more Effy/James action.

Author's Response: cheers- and there's going to be PLENTY in the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #18, by heart4siriusblack 

18th January 2014:
Update soon my gosh!! SO great.

Author's Response: thank you so much! bea xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by ... 

18th January 2014:
First of all, I just wanted to say that this story is honestly one of my favourites. As others have mentioned definately have a talent for dialogue, and your descriptions are perfect as well! I'll be honest, the title was actually one dragged me in, am I right in picturing James as Alex Turner? haha, I adore oscar, and I normally hate oc's so that is another thing you're brilliant at, to add to the ever growing list. For some reason-and this is really weird- Effy is my favourite name, so of course I had to read this story! (It's possible that I've been watching to much skins, though of course your effy is nothing like skins effy) Anyways, I anxiously wait for your next update, I can't wait! xxx

Author's Response: omg it took me so long to reply to this because i was just so blown away, i had no idea how to respond! thank you sooo much for those generous words; they honestly made my day and smile uncontrollably for a half hour. and sikk one- you like the arctic monkeys and skins too? are you my new best mate or what?
hahaha thanks again :') bea xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by Zqad 

15th January 2014:
Oh yaaayyy an update :D
But I want moore! :'( James?

Author's Response: i'll update soon! thanks for reviewing :D xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by AceFelton72 

14th January 2014:
I promised myself to ship James with Effy, but after this chapter, I'm all in for Al! Really good story though :)

Author's Response: hahaha maybe you'll change your mind in the upcoming chapter! cheers :') xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review