Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HebrideanBlack 

27th February 2016:
I've always loved Sirius Black and the snippet of him in this chapter made it amazing! The Black family interests the heck out of me. I also love the way you write about Lucius and Narcissa, how special they are together. Not everything is so black and white in the story, everything has a little depth in it.

Lovin' it, of course.

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter 

13th September 2015:
Okay, favourite part of this chapter - ďI thought it was customary for Blacks to fall in love with their cousins. Thatís how youíve stayed so ancient and noble for so long, isnít it?Ē LOL! Lilith just summed up the whole of pureblood wizard society in one line.

I love how fondly Andromeda refers to Sirius, and how they still made the effort with each other even though they were in rival houses. I also have a new found adoration for Andromeda after she didn't warn the boys about the mushrooms, the slight rebellious nature of hers fits with Ted having the tattoo ;)

Dee

Author's Response: Bahahahaha. I just couldn't resist giving Lilith that zinger. Seriously, purebloods are more messed up than Elizabethan royals.

Yes! It might've been slight wish fulfillment, but I really wanted to include little Sirius, and I've thought a lot about that line of his in the books, when he tells Harry Andromeda was his favorite cousin. I always wondered what that looked like!

Yes, Andromeda can be a sneaky little devil when she wants. Which is QUITE in keeping with Ted and his tattoo. I think they just might be compatible, don't you? :)

Thank you for reading & reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Rumpelstiltskin 

10th September 2015:
The episode at the bar was quite spectacular. I'm glad I was able to see a quite different side of Andromeda, albeit she was intoxicated. Not wanting Ted to leave her when she was in such a state, and probably feeling a little dazed and confused, seemed natural. I'm really digging his kindness, you've made him a terrific person.

Narcissa, of course, is acting like the protective sister, as I'd expect. Though I don't agree with her treatment of Ted, I couldn't expect anything less, because as I've said before, that's how they were raised.

I feel SO bad for Ted at the beginning of this chapter! Andromeda has such a distorted view on values (that upbringing thing, again), when the poor guy was only trying to help her. Ah well... drama keeps things interesting ;).

Sirius warning Andromeda was cute, and she at least is kind-hearted towards him (for the most part) unlike her sister. Oh, and Lilith's comment about if Sirius was only a few years older was kind of priceless.

I now NEED to know if Narcissa will finish school or not! That's a very dramatic decision, but as she said, she won't really need to finish school to be Lucius' wife; there's really no point, other than the self-satisfaction, self-worth, and heck, the skill. She doesn't seem to think she'll need any of those, and this is where I feel so bad for her because she's just SO. IN. LOVE. and he'll put her and her family through so much...

*cough* Anyway.

I kind of love that she left Lucius and Rabastan to fall victim to the Marauder's prank ;)!

Well, I've loved this so far. It's well-written, and a lot of fun. I'll have to come back after a short while though, as I have a TON of Dobby reading to do!

Thanks for the great read!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hurray! I'm glad Ted is reading as a terrific, though flawed, fellow. But yeah, poor guy. Puke on his fish & chips. Harsh words from the Black sisters. No good deed goes unpunished, etc, etc.

I get so sad if I think about Lucius and Narcissa's relationship for too long. It's tough, because I think they really did genuinely love each other, but Lucius put them through a horrible, horrible ordeal that took a toll on the whole family.

Hahaha, Andromeda does have a mischievous side, just like her little cousin. ;)

Thank you so much for taking the time to read & review! Hope the rest of your Dobby reading went splendidly. Very best from me to you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by LiveBreatheNeedHP 

28th August 2015:
You're probably sick of hearing from me at this point. It's just that I'm attempting to fulfill a pledge to review every chapter I read and since I've read all these chapters, it's under the conditions of my pledge that I review them.
Even though I'm further along in the story than this, I still don't know what these nightmares are totally about and I'm very intrigued by them. The mysteriousness of the nightmares gives the audience something else to be intrigued by, as well as by how plainly brilliant this story is.
I like the introduction of Sirius in this chapter, such a cutie! And Lilith kills me!

Author's Response: No! Absolutely not sick of your lovely reviews! I appreciate each and every one of them. :) Yes, those mysterious nightmares. . . -drums fingers- I hope you think they pay off in the end!

Haha, I totally indulged myself by putting an itty bitty Sirius in this story. Glad you like! And Lilith is always a joy to write.

Thank you so much for reading & reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell 

13th July 2015:
Oh, she really is awful here!

But at least she seems to notice it. It fits, though--her pride is hurt, and that's obviously no small thing to a Black.

Sirius! Awww, her favorite little cousin! I love that bit. It's just a super adorable addition.

I like how Andromeda both wants more for her sister than missing out on her last year of school to be a wife and mother, AND recognizes that her sister's desires and her desires are different. She doesn't get it, and she doesn't totally like it, but she recognizes that it's a bit unfair to expect Narcissa to want the same things. AND it works into her slow realization that Rabastan is not the right guy for her--at least, I'm hoping she's realizing that!

Very nice chapter, as always. I particularly liked the bit about Andromeda not being surprised if Walburga dropped Sirius on the head, because she "wasn't the motherly type." It's those little quips and details that make stories sparkle!

--Penny

Author's Response: Sigh. Andromeda can be really horrid, can't she? :( She's a bit of a mess right now--equal parts bigotry and wounded pride. Add just a touch of guilt and heat to a simmer.

Hahaha, I'll confess, adding a little Sirius was probably my biggest guilty pleasure when writing this story. I think I made him somewhat important to the plot, but really it was just me indulging myself in a picture of what a teeny cousin Sirius would act like.

Thank you for yet another day-brightening review! More responses to come.


 Report Review

Review #6, by TumTum 

14th January 2015:
I forgot to ask in my final review! What about Sirius? I can see why he didn't turn up to the wedding but will he turn up in the future when he leaves his family? That happens quite early on doesn't it? Before he leaves school I think...

Author's Response: Sirius! We can't forget Sirius! Yes, at this point he's a younger teen with little control over his ability to attend Dromeda's wedding. :( But when he leaves his family at sixteen, things will definitely change. I'm planning on bringing him in to the KYD sequel, so stay tuuuned. Thanks again for the lovely reviews!

 Report Review

Review #7, by navyfail 

2nd February 2014:
She slapped him. I never thought she would loose her cool like that but it is in a way understandable since she's frustrated. But she slapped him. :( And it probably hurt.

AND WE MEET SIRIUS. AND HE SOUNDS SO ADORABLE!!

But yeah I hope things work out between Ted and Andromeda. :)

Author's Response: Oh yes. Yes, she did slap him. And I can testify as the omniscient narrator that it did, in fact, hurt. D:

YAY. I'm so glad that you like ittle bit Sirius. He's been an absolute blast to write. At this point, I'm working on Chap 15, and it's been too long without him. I'm going through little Sirius withdrawal.


 Report Review

Review #8, by MEW 

24th January 2014:
ow... i've got to eat dinner but i want to finish reading your story!! i L O V E it, beautifully written!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

21st January 2014:
Oh, Andromeda. Stop being such an ice queen, it doesn't suit you. Poor Ted, doing such a good deed and yet being told off all the same. I really do love how totally pure-hearted he is; the way he'll do anything for anyone is the complete opposite of Andromeda, who'd only do something if it benefited HER, and certainly wouldn't help someone else in need.

Yay, young Sirius! Nice that Andromeda likes him even though he's a Gryffindor. Obviously he said she was his favourite, but I suppose I always assumed that she'd already had her change of heart by the time he turned up at Hogwarts. I think I prefer it this way, because it doesn't feel as though they gravitate towards each other purely because they're both the outcasts; there's more to it than that.

Lilith is refreshing, in that she's not quite so stuck up as Andromeda and Narcissa. She's still just as giggly and silly about marriage and other old traditional things, but she seems to care less about her image and acting prim and proper. Andromeda should take notes!

Author's Response: Dromeda doesn't know a good thing when she sees it, does she? Ted's being all Hufflepuff and altruistic and she's all, bigotty-bigotty-boo. She's so silly. Okay, and that's putting it mildly.

You have no idea how much fun it's been to write preteen Sirius! He's such a goon, and I love exploring his relationship with Dromeda, because it's one of the rare times she IS selfless. Ish. Like you mention, I've also liked the chance to write their relationship before either of them got blasted off the tapestry, as it were.

Andromeda SHOULD take notes from Lilith. It makes me really happy that you mentioned something about her. I have a soft spot for Lil, even though she does have some questionable beliefs. But hey, it's the pureblooded socialite circle. You can't have it all.



 Report Review

Review #10, by MarieBlack 

12th January 2014:
These two chapters have been a joy to my evening, sincerely! I love Ted, like absolutely. He embodies the Hufflepuff House so well in the way he treats Andie, if I may call her that. He is friendly consistently, even when she has been rude to him. I like his persistence! And then Andie's own inner thoughts are just magnificent. I think it's just lovely to see everything from her perspective because she has grown up in it and she deeply wants to believe in it. I just love it and I can't wait to see how things unfold further. And it's crazy believable from how Narcissa is portrayed in the books, and even the few moments with the Tonks family that we see. I think this is a story that needs to be told and you do it so well.

I'm pressing in on my story idea, I thought I had it finished but I'm trying to make the families fit well into it because I'm adding a character of my own without it seeming too far-fetched or just like popping a character into a well-established sibling group. I have my work cut out for me, certainly!

I'm headed back to ye olde college tomorrow but I'll check for updates as soon as I possibly can! I love to review on stories I can't get enough of!

Author's Response: Hurray! So happy to hear that you liked the most recent additions, and especially that Ted has won your affection. :) I think that he's such an underrated character, and it's been a challenge writing him--as it's a challenge to write any Hufflepuff, in my experience. I think the hardcore advantages of Hufflepuff house are often overlooked, including patience and justice, and I wanted Ted to embody those attributes without being a total one-dimensional yawn fest. Oof.

Hmm, that's a definite challenge! I think it's great that you're being so intentional about working in an original character, and it only intrigues me MORE. Very best wishes as you plot and write! Also, safe travels as you head back to college, and thank you so much for your continued reviews!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SereneChaos 

11th January 2014:
Two chapters in one day? The queue must be looking beautiful right now, haha. Again, I love your story so far. I especially liked the mention of Sirius in this chapter, because after all, Andromeda was his favorite cousin growing up. :) Something that still doesn't make sense to me though, is why Narcissa is a 6th year (so studying NEWT level classes) if she has no desire to take the NEWT exams. Other than the logistics of that though, I like how close to canon you've stayed with the information we know.

Author's Response: Haha. Seriously, though. I didn't expect for two validations in 24 hours. Wonder upon wonders! I didn't realize until I did my research what a significant age gap there was between Sirius and Andromeda, but I rather like that he gets to be a little twelve-year-old troublemaker in this story. Given that he did consider Dromeda his favorite cousin, I thought that the feeling would probably be mutual.

That's a good concern, though! The way I look at it, since Narcissa and Lucius have been in a relationship for several years, she's been hanging on academically only for the sake of landing Lucius for good. I picture Narcissa as rather intelligent but unwilling to indulge an earnest work ethic like Andromeda. She's smart enough to have scored well on her O.W.L.s and attend sixth year classes, but the moment she gets a ring on her finger, she doesn't see the point of continuing her education. The N.E.W.T.s were never her goal; Lucius was. Since every Black ancestor before her has never had to be in the workforce, Narcissa doesn't see the point in sticking around if she can marry Lucius (a seventh year) in a few months and start a family life immediately. I had a relative who stuck around college only because her boyfriend was there, and then dropped out the moment she got engaged, without finishing her degree; perhaps that was subconsciously affecting the way I characterized Narcissa. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review