Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HebrideanBlack 

26th February 2016:
I love the way you write Andromeda. She has that Slytherin blood in her, but she's different from her family (yet not alarmingly so that it's unrealistic. Her relationship with Narcissa is to die for.

Lovin' it. Of course.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart 

22nd September 2015:
Hi there!

Back for chapter two!

Yikes! Rabastan bought a ring. That is scary indeed. I can understand how Andromeda is feeling. I can't imagine anyone would want to marry him. I mean his family is completely psychotic. Plus, he's got that old Pureblood thing going on, so he'll probably expect her to get married and start pumping out children. Although there's nothing wrong with that if that's what she wants, I feel pretty confident that she isn't working her butt off in school for no reason.

I kind of feel a bit frustrated with Narcissa and her desire for this all to be some cute little hobby that Andromeda has going on. It's fine that Narcissa is content with the direction of her life, but I wish she could understand a bit better that Andromeda isn't her.

Oh! Tutoring! I had wondered how you were going to get Andromeda to start falling for Ted. Considering her current viewpoints, I figured it was going to be pretty hard to do, but this scenario makes sense. I can't imagine her voluntarily hanging out with Ted, but in this case, since a teacher asked her to do it, she has an excuse.

I do hope that Andromeda keeps fighting the expectations of her. I have a feeling that Ted will really start to stir some rebellious feelings in her, which at this point I think is a really good thing.

As with the last chapter, this chapter was smooth and polished. Everything makes sense and is easy to follow. The dynamic between your characters works well and you've done a good job of maintaining interest so far.

I'll be back soon for another chapter!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hello again!

Yes, Andromeda's in a bit of a pickle here. She's still trying to balance her own desires and everyone else's expectations of her, and I think externally she's pretending it can work, but internally she's beginning to FREAK. OUT, because working toward excellent grades and job prospects is nowhere aligned with marrying Rabastan and producing dozens of little Lestrange heirs. I do not envy her position one jot. :(

Narcissa is rather short on understanding and empathy when it comes to Andromeda's academics. But then, to be fair, Dromeda isn't exactly a fan of Narcissa's academic choices either. It's a tension that I think has always existed between the two of them and is sadly about to get even stronger.

Haha, yes tutoring. That handy little nudge from the Outside World. We'll see where that leads. . . -evil cackle-

Thank you so much for the kind words! I so appreciate you taking the time to read and review.


 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotter 

13th September 2015:
Me again!

This was another really great chapter. I love that it feels very authentically time-appropriate. I've always thought that the magical community was a little old fashioned anyway, but even in Harry's era the witches weren't all about getting husbands and being housewives, so the fact that they are back in Andromeda's time at Hogwarts feels about right. Their girl talk was a really enjoyable part of this chapter, it's definitely a conversation I can imagine happening.

I adore the idea of Andromeda tutoring Ted. He's obviously under her skin already so this can only be a good thing :p

Dee

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad the time period is ringing right to you. Based on what I've read, the "ancient" pureblood families have always been unhealthily fixated on an equally archaic idea of "making a good match," and it seems like this was (unfortunately) an even more prominent mindset during the Marauder Era. And haha, hurray! Pleased to hear the girl talk was enjoyable; it was definitely a fun bit of conversation to write.

Yes, Dromeda and Ted clearly need a little external nudge. So here we go! Let's see where the nudge takes them. :) Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Rumpelstiltskin 

10th September 2015:
Hey there!

I'm taking a quick pause here to review the last two chapters (I would review one by one, but I'm a devastatingly slow reviewer, and I'll never have the Dobby noms read in time if I do). I've decided to review as I fill napkins with notes :).

I've loved these first two chapters. The imagery and detail at the beginning of the last chapter was lovely, and lines like "ice drops hung from their ends like frozen tears" gave my inner reader some great joy. Also, Andromeda's detailed feelings throughout are making it easy to connect with her and, therefore, care about her -- which is great.

I completely understand why she would be put-off by Narcissa telling everything to Lucius, but I love the sisterly bond between Andromeda and Narcissa in these chapters.

I also love the bit of girl talk that occurs between Andromeda, Narcissa, and Lilith (whose characterization I love, by the way). For some reason, it feels like when female characters interact with other female characters -- who they are friendly with -- there tends to be a revelation of traits that haven't previously been brought out. That's why I love such interactions, and I believe that you've done a great job with it!

For example, at the end of the first chapter, the reader is beginning to get the idea that something is off about Andromeda and Rabastian's relationship -- it just feels uncomfortable, like Andromeda isn't in love with him. Of course, in this interaction, it is revealed forthwith.

Of course, I also loved that the interaction with Ted Tonks has already begun. I think that this was one of my favortie lines so far, "How on earth did a Hufflepuff make it to seventh year DADA, anyway?" That made me laugh, and it reveals a bit about her characterization right now, that she's a product of her upbringing.

That, of course is further emphasized by her internal reactions to the professor asking her to tutor Ted ;). Ah, this is going to be fun. I haven't read a story yet that focuses on Andromeda and Ted before they were together, and I think you're doing a fantastic job with it!

Awesome so far, I can't wait to read more *prepares another napkin* (I'm out of scrap paper...).

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Oh goodness, thank you for such a lovely review! Apologies for taking so long to get to it. Slowly but surely, I'm catching up.

So happy to hear you're enjoying the prose and Andromeda's characterization. That means a lot to me! I had such a fun (and later, angsty) time writing Andromeda and Narcissa's relationship. I've long been fascinated by this idea of purists treating everyone outside their sphere like dirt but being capable of great love and loyalty toward each other. It's so absolutely flawed and human.

And hurray! Writing scenes with just the girls was one of my favorite aspects of these early chapters. I agree--sometimes when it's just the girls, within the comfort of their dormitory, you see a whole new side of them.

Hahaha, yes, poor Andromeda is having the toughest time accepting that a Hufflepuff could be academically up to making it into seventh year ANYTHING. Sigh. But that mindset will change. . . Maybe. :)

Thank you again for taking the time to read & review!



 Report Review

Review #5, by LiveBreatheNeedHP 

28th August 2015:
You've got some really interesting characterisation happening here, with each girl having her own distinct personality and quirks, which is great because it makes them all seem more real and dynamic and there's something in all of them that we take a liking to, despite the fact that they believe in prejudices we as a fandom can't seem to fathom.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad to hear all three girls are coming across as distinct from each other. I think it can be easy to write off Slytherin purists as all the same "sort," but I was excited to explore the diversity within that mindset. Yes, they're all mindbogglingly prejudiced, but there is so much crazy history and environmental factors that have affected why and to what degree. Let's hope that degree lessens for a certain someone. . . :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MoonAndStars 

20th January 2015:
Hi!
I really love where you're going with this story. I had never thought about Andromeda's back story though it's sure to be interesting since she was a Black who married a muggle born. I think you've written Andromeda's character so well. I love how you've made her really bigoted. It would be so easy to make her perfect from the start but this way there's so much room for her to grow and change. I'm really curious to see how she ends up with Tonks.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm always so tickled pink to hear from new readers. Thanks for taking the time to review!

Yes, it was rather important to me to make Andromeda as bigoted as she is, because I'd read so many versions of her story where she was independently kind and compassionate and open-minded. And I didn't see that coming from such a brainwashed upbringing as the Blacks must've given their children. Not to mention all that potential for character growth. :)

So glad you enjoyed this first chapter. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by grednforge217 

10th December 2014:
DUDE. YES. I am so pumped about the tutoring thing. Ugh. Maybe Andie will tutor him and she'll show up at one of his matches and sort of cheer for him almost against her will and everyone will see and then they'll be all loved up and I'm getting ahead of myself but YAY. Excitement.

Author's Response: Bahaha, look at you, you have everything planned out already! >:] Glad to hear you're still enjoying the story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by navyfail 

2nd February 2014:
Okay, so I got my Lestranges mixed up. She has doubts about her future with Rabastan which makes sense. But from how she explains him, he seems like a good bloke. And he may have brought a ring! Well, that's exciting! But I do agree with her: I wouldn't want to be related in anyway to Rodolphous (did I spell that right?) Lestrange. And she's been asked to tutor Ted... I wonder how that is going to turn out.

Can't wait to read the next chapter. :)

~Sama

Author's Response: Haha, yes. You may've gotten them mixed up, but it's their parents' fault for giving them two similar and stupid "R" names. :) I wouldn't want to be related to Rodolphus either, if for no other reason than that he had poor enough taste to marry Bellatrix. >:]

 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

21st January 2014:
Andromeda's thoughts regarding Ted being in her DADA class - and, in fact, any Hufflepuff at all being "allowed" in - are a wonderful way of showing that she's as brainwashed as any other prejudiced pureblood as things stand. Clearly, there's going to need to be a big shift for her to even consider Ted as marriage material. Which is good because that means lots of story!

Oh gosh, these girls are so ... well, brainwashed, aren't they? Narcissa and Lilith's point of view that the ultimate success for a woman is to land a rich, pureblood husband ... bleurgh. Don't do it, Andromeda!

Hmm, I didn't give much thought to it in the first chapter, but these nightmares of Andromeda's are peculiar. I can't help but think they must be relevant somehow, for them to be mentioned...

Ha! I do love Andromeda's thought process about Professor Whitechapel "subscribing to pureblood supremacy". Tutoring a mudblood, how can she possibly survive the shame? Well Andromeda, I think you might fall in love with him instead...

Author's Response: Yeah, Dromeda has got some exceptionally warped ideas, hasn't she? She has a long way to go, the young grasshopper, but the fates and J.K. Rowling's masterplan are on her side!

What's so very slimy about the pureblood mentality is that it's this disgusting cocktail of eugenics and blatant sexism. And there's nothing I hate worse than the very people who are exploited by a system SUPPORTING the system. Lilith and the Black sisters are obvz missing out on second wave feminism. Might do them some good to listen to the Muggles every so often...

Mayhaps these nightmares are, indeed, relevant. MAYHAPS. >:]


 Report Review

Review #10, by GuardedHeart 

9th January 2014:
Two chapters in and I am already loving this! Ted and Andromeda are one of the couples that I've always found very fascinating, and I'm excited to see how you develop their story :)

I really enjoy your characterization of Andromeda. It will be really interesting to see how she ends up conflicting with her family, especially since she seems to be so close to her father and Narcissa. Can't wait to continue reading!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I've always found Ted/Andromeda equally fascinating, and it's been so much fun to craft out their story. They're certainly the definition of a slow burn in my books. And yes, the family drama in store... Dromeda has a tough road ahead. D: So glad you're enjoying the read!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MarieBlack 

9th January 2014:
I was so overjoyed to see an update to this story so soon! I'm in love with this, because it is so believable.

Andromeda's feelings of Rabastan and her indifference, I just love how it sets the stage for her to find true love. I never imagined Ted being so laidback for some reason, but I love the way he is written. He's just the kinda guy to shake Andromeda up.

I think somehow you have already revealed slightly Andromeda's ability to see things differently, and past possibly her family and beliefs to love Ted someday.

I'm just so enthralled by this, and I'll be checking back for more updates!

Author's Response: YAY! I'm so glad to hear you're still enjoying the read. Yes, I wanted for Andromeda's initial "cracks" to not be due to her being more sweet or open-minded than her family, but rather just her dissatisfaction with a life for which she sees no alternative. But, ahem, maybe a certain boy could show her an alternative... JUST MAYBE.

Third chapter is in the queue, so hopefully it won't be too long of a wait until you get a chapter full of Ted time. :) Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by SereneChaos 

9th January 2014:
Ahhh, I love, love, love this! I really liked the conversation Andromeda, Narcissa, and Lilith--the reaction of each girl to talking about boys was just so funny! I'll admit, I'm a little confused as to what year Andromeda is in--from the first chapter I thought she'd be a 7th year, but if this is her first time taking NEWT defense, then that would make her a sixth year, right? And is she sharing a room with Narcissa because there are no other 6/7th year Slytherin girls?

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! I'm glad you liked the girl talk. Oh goodness. You bring up a very good point. Andromeda is a seventh year, but the way I wrote the beginning paragraphs made it sound like it was her first rather than second year of N.E.W.T.-level DADA. That's entirely due to my bad wording. Sorry! I'll need to go back in and edit that... In my universe, Andromeda is a year older than Narcissa, and Bellatrix is three years older than Dromeda. So yes, that makes Dromeda a seventh and Narcissa a sixth year.

As for the roommate situation, I don't mention it until several more chapters in, but Cygnus and Druella pulled some strings to get their girls a room together. I've never seen a precedent for that in the books, but I always figured that a lot of the inner-house workings of Slytherin would have everything to do with who you knew and what strings you could pull. And the Blacks would totally be the sort of family to pull strings. >:] Hope that clears things up! Thank you for reading!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review