Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HebrideanBlack 

26th February 2016:
I was once an avid reader at HPFF years ago and I recently got back. This story was actually the story that really, really reeled me back in to HPFF! The first time I read it, I spent all night obsessing over it and now I'm back to reread it and leave reviews!

You have opened my eyes to such a wonderful ship and this story is such a gem. I wish more people would write about Dromeda and Ted!

10/10, obviously.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart 

21st September 2015:
Hi there!

I'm making an effort to stop by and review every story nominated for a Dobby, so that's how I ended up here. Congratulations on your nomination!

I haven't read any full length stories centered around Andromeda before, so I'm really excited to see where you're going to take this. I was a little taken aback by the way you characterized her. I always thought of her as being the kind sister who thought the Pureblood lifestyle was ridiculous, so it was a bit of a shock to see her be so blatantly rude to Ted. That being said, I think it's a great way to start this because assuming that this falls in line with cannon, we'll get a chance to see how she evolves.

I enjoyed the way you've written Lucius and Narcissa's relationship in this as well. It's nice to see some of the redeeming qualities in Lucius. Everyone always makes him out to be so awful, but I always got the impression that he loved his wife (and eventually his child). I think that in the presence of other Purebloods he would've been decent to them.

The fact that Andromeda is dating Rabastan gives me the heebie jeebies. He turns out to be such an awful person that it's hard to imagine her with him. The scene where he puts his arms around her and starts kissing her neck really made my skin crawl. He's just so gross.

My favorite part of this chapter was the memory of Cygnus and how he encouraged Andromeda to use her intellect. Even if he doesn't say it blatantly, you can tell that he supports her dreams of an education and that it makes him very proud to have a daughter who's more than a brood mare.

As far as the technical aspects of this chapter, everything looks good so far. I'm enjoying the plot development and pacing. Your characters are interesting and I'm curious to know more about them. I didn't really notice any awkward sentences or major errors.

I did pick up on two typos, but they were very small.

His union with Narcissa would be smart match, - be a smart match

Iíve got a deluge wizarding exams Ė deluge of wizarding exams

All in all, I think you've got a great story here so far! I'm headed off to read the next chapter right now.

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hello, hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and to leave such a thoughtful review. This made my day!

Yes, all of the Tedromeda I'd read before writing Kill Your Darlings painted Andromeda as inherently different from her sisters--which I think is its own worthy interpretation, but I wanted a chance to make Andromeda really evolve. And I'm always a sucker for hate --> love romances. :)

I'm glad you like Lucius' characterization so far! I agree, I think he's someone capable of being very awful to anyone he doesn't consider worthy of his attention, but the books always made it seem like he really did harbor a genuine love for Narcissa. I had a fun time exploring that dynamic.

Rabastan is horrid, indeed. I felt a bit nauseated every time I had to write a scene with him.

And yay! Glad you enjoyed the scene with Cygnus. Writing flashbacks like that was one of my favorite parts of the process. I love imagining what life must've been like for kids brought up in the House of Black.

And thank you for pointing out those typos!

Very Best,
Kat


 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotter 

13th September 2015:
Hey! I'm here to read up on your story for the Dobby voting :) Congratulations on the nomination!

The first thing that strikes me about this story is how amazing your descriptions are. I was really thrown into the story with the beautiful details.

I really like that you immediately set Andromeda apart from the rest of her family, which fits in with the little that we already know about her from the books. I like that she was set in her need to take the NEWTs and not follow tradition of the women in her family. The way you described Narcissa was perfect too. Rabastan is such a creeper, he really gave me the chills the way he spoke to Andromeda!

Great opening chapter :)

Dee

Author's Response: Hello, hello! Thanks for the congrats AND for taking the time to read and review. I'm moving at a snail's pace on replying to reviews, but each one means a bunch to me, so THANK YOU. I hope to get to each one of your subsequent reviews soon!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LiveBreatheNeedHP 

28th August 2015:
I've been reading this story for quite some time and am a fair way into it, but I thought I'd come back through it and leave some reviews because I love this story so much and I think you deserve them! Such a good opening chapter, I fell in love with Ted the moment I read him. Even though we only see a little of him, it's written in such a delightful way that it's enough to get you hooked. Really good job. A word of warning: you're about to get a spam of reviews from me ... Hope you like yourself some reviews! lol

Author's Response: Don't you worry, I looove myself some reviews. Haha. Thank you for leaving them! I'm working through them at a sluggish pace, so apologies. Just know that I appreciate them all and they've put big smiles on my face. :] So glad you're enjoying the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell 

13th July 2015:
Ohmygosh I think I'm in love. I think I am in love with this story.

This first chapter is just beautifully--beautifully--written. It's honestly probably one of the best things I've ever seen on this site.

I like how you set up Narcissa and Andromeda's relationship. It was always clear that family meant a lot to Narcissa, but at the same time it makes sense that she'd have been closer to Andromeda than Bellatrix, who was bound to make her uncomfortable.

Even greater than that, I think, is my love for how you've written Narcissa and Lucius' relationship. Lucius still seems vaguely unpleasant and clearly snobbish, but you keep true to the fact that he loved Narcissa very much. That's a fact a lot of fics miss, which is fine, because it is fanfiction and people have reasons for writing what they do. But I'm pleased to see the loving side of their relationship expressed like that, since it's kind of rare.

CC:
Hard to find anything to critique here, though I try to always give something. The one thing I noticed and wasn't sure about was this sentence:

"Her heart panged slightly at Narcissaís comment."

You can feel a pang in your heart, but I"m not sure it can be a verb. That said, I think it works as is. I just thought I'd point it out, as you are obviously a very meticulous writer. I'm pretty sure this is the height of nitpickiness I've ever had to resort to as a reviewer, so congratulations! ; )

This is a really excellent chapter. This story is going straight on my favorites list and I cannot wait to read more!

--Penny

Author's Response: So, I just logged into my account after a grueling spring and summer hiatus, and I cannot imagine a pleasanter surprise than this! I can't wait to read and respond to each of these reviews, but let me start by saying THANK YOU. You totally brightened my day, and I'm tickled pink that you found and enjoyed KYD.

Thank you for the sweet words about the writing style! Sometimes I kick myself because I don't think I'm nearly as consistent with my writing here as I am for other projects. But! Now that I've had a decent amount of time away from KYD, I'm hoping to go through the entire story in the near future, tightening the prose and making corrections as needed. And now I can do so with your helpful CC notes in hand!

I've always imagined Andromeda and Narcissa as close. Of course, there's a bunch of leeway there since no one's sure of Andromeda's birth year, so she could've been much closer in age to Bellatrix than Narcissa. Still, even if there was a larger age gap between Andie and Cissa, I think their personalities (and the fact that they're not sadists? haha) would bring them together, leaving Bella the odd one out.

I'm very big on the reading of Lucius genuinely loving Narissa. I think it's his saving grace, really. Very few people are wholly "bad," and I like to think that Lucius' wholehearted love for Naricssa is one of his few admirable qualities. Not that there are many, and not that I think he's a sympathetic character. But still, there are plenty of people who can be perfectly charming to the few people they love and horrible to everyone else. It's not commendable, but I think it's who Lucius is. :]

Thank you, thank you, thank you for this review, and I'm so excited to get to the rest of them. SOON!


 Report Review

Review #6, by grednforge217 

10th December 2014:
Great goodness, one chapter in and I'm already addicted! I was gasping and acting like a total lunatic in public over Ted and Andromeda. I can tell that I'm already going to love them both! Your writing is wonderful, so descriptive and beautiful. I can really get a sense of the familial ties already, and I do appreciate some Narcissa/Lucius love up in there. (sorry to say up in there, don't know where that came from.) Anyways, the point is that I'm crazy excited about this wonderful story and I can already tell that I'm going to be squealing and shipping the entire time, much to the dismay of all who encounter me in the next few days. (And I'm terribly happy to see how wonderfully long this is! So excited to read all of it!)

Author's Response: Oh, hurray, hurray! It's always so exciting to hear from a new reader. I'm very pleased to hear that you're already addicted, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story! Haha, and I get the Narcissa/Lucius love. I think their story is crazy fascinating. :) Thanks so much for the sweet review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyLou 

16th March 2014:
Hi there!

So I've never read anything that goes so in depth about Andromeda Black before. I love the Black sisters, but I normally tend to choose Narcissa fics, because she can be written in so many different ways. I loved her character throughout JK's stories, and I hope I like her in yours too!

Your vocabulary is so broad and full of variety! I love it so much, and I am jealous of your skill with words. You truly make me feel as though I am Andromeda, and the world is real. That Ted did approach me, myself, and Rabastan wrapped his arms around me. Your wonderful description truly made it seem real, and I admire your skills!

I cannot wait to read on, and to discover what Andromeda is truly like as a person. She seems incredible, and so much different than her sisters. I know she chose a different path, but that doesn't mean she was different. But from the way you write her, she is different.

Brilliant first chapter, and I will definitely be reading on as soon as I submit this review!

- Janelle

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad that you popped in to read and review--especially since you tend to choose Narcissa-based fics. I actually wasn't particularly fond of Cissa until I started writing Andromeda's story. As I was doing my research, I was struck more and more by just what a complex and strong character Narcissa is. So, here's hoping my particular interp does her justice!

Thank you for the encouraging words about the writing style. It's always a fine line to walk, I think--keeping the prose just detailed enough but without descriptive clutter. And it's a line I don't always walk well... Haha. But that you were able to empathize with Andromeda is JUST what I was aiming for, so that makes me extremely happy. :]

I've had such fun writing Andromeda and exploring her character, and I hope you have fun reading on about her! Thanks again for the sweet review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by navyfail 

2nd February 2014:
Hello!

First off, I already like Andromeda as a character. She's a pureblood witch who technically doesn't have to care as much about education but she does. I love how she thinks and how she cares about her schooling and probably wants to have a job in the future. Also her interaction with Narcissa and Lucius tells a lot about her too. Yeah, she isn't completely fond of Lucius but she likes him enough since he makes her sister happy.

That brings me to another thing... how you wrote Lucius/Narcissa. Not everyone writes them as loving to each other and since I do like that ship, I LOVE that you made them care for each other. It's quite sweet.

The mention of her dad was a nice addition. I like how her dad is approving of her ambition and hope to do good in Hogwarts. And the memory of how he sat her down and talked to her about how she is different from her other two sisters is very loving.

Ted Tonks... very smiley. But he's nice so far. Does he have a sort of fascination with Andromeda or was he just being kind to her?

Rabastan... Andromeda doesn't seem very fond of him. And if my memory is correct, he's the one who ends up with Bellatrix in the end, right? Also, I wonder how long Dromeda has been dating him.

All in all, terrific first chapter!

10/10
~Sama

Author's Response: Eep! You don't know tickled pink I was to see all of these lovely reviews. :) Thank you, thank you, for taking the time to read and share your thoughts!

I'm glad that you like my interp of Lucius/Narcissa. I've got a soft spot in my heart for them, too, and while they may not play a huge role in this story, I wanted to give them a little bit of lovey-dovey.

And yes, I've had a fun time exploring Andromeda's relationship with her father, even if it inevitably takes a turn for the tragic. In a world that puts so much emphasis on family and bloodlines, I imagined that Andromeda's family would've had a naturally huge impact on her.

Glad you've enjoyed the story this far. On to the next review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

21st January 2014:
Ah, I was so excited to stumble across this story! Andromeda/Ted is one of my all time favourite Potter pairings, I was so happy when they appeared in DH and then so sad when Ted died. I'm getting sad again thinking about it now actually, poor Andromeda... Anyway. Full-length story makes me happy.

First off, I like the genuine love and friendship between Andromeda and Narcissa. They may not see eye to eye on matters like education but it's clear they care about each other, which is going to make things interesting when Andromeda finally splits away from the rest of her family. I like that Narcissa and Lucius' relationship is a genuine one too; from their personal story in DH it's obvious that they do care about one another a great deal, and it's not just a marriage based on social standing.

And already Andromeda's personal aspirations are at odds with the life she's expected to live; she's not about to become someone's trophy wife! My guess is this is an early catalyst for her eventual split from the family.

I think I want a Ted, please. I love him already. :)

Author's Response: AH. You've no idea what a lovely surprise it was to arrive home from a day full travel and layovers to find eleven new, shiny reviews from you. Thank you so much for taking the time to review each chapter!

Now, without further ado, lemme crack my knuckles and get into them.

I'm so glad that you stumbled across this story, too! I adore Ted and Andromeda so completely and utterly, and I made it a NY resolution to write a full-length story devoted entirely to them. Sigh. I make myself miserable thinking of post-DH Andromeda, too. She lost so much in the war. D:

I've really enjoyed writing Andromeda and Narcissa's relationship, but I'm going to hate myself for it when Andromeda does finally split and all the feels come loose. In the meantime, I'll console myself with snickering at Cissy and Lucius kissyface.

Yes! I did want to give Andromeda an aspiration that set her desires apart from her family's--but I didn't want it to be sheer niceness or an unprecedented love for Muggleborns. I like a girl with brains and, whether she knows it yet or not, a feminist drive. :)

Exit through the gift shop, and you will find a whole shelf of Teds just for you. Seriously, though, I do hope your love of Ted continues. I will read on to see if it does!


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheSortingHat 

6th January 2014:
This is a review for Day 10 of the 12 Days of Reviewing.

Wow. What a fantastic first chapter, truly. All of these different character dynamics were established and understood without being explicit about it; I already feel the pain that Andromeda and Narcissa will eventually suffer at their separation. I've never seen Rabastan with Andromeda before (although I haven't read a lot of Andromeda/Ted stories), and I can't wait to see how that plays out, particularly since Bellatrix ends up with his brother. Rabastan seems very controlling, and I fear that that could hurt Andromeda, although I doubt she'll stand for it for long.

The only thing that seemed a little unrealistic was that Ted should be so boldly addressing Andromeda, although I don't know either of them yet quite well enough to be certain. I'll be interested to see how their dynamic develops as the story progresses.

Overall, lovely structurally and stylistically. I'll definitely be following this story to see where you take it; I can't wait to see what you have in store for the characters. Keep writing!

--TheSortingHat

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the thoughtful review! I definitely wanted to write Andromeda and Narcissa as close, because I've always imagined that though Bellatrix and Narcissa both disowned Andromeda, they did so from extremely different emotional places. I wanted a contrast between Bella, who wouldn't give a second thought to labeling her sister a blood traitor, to Narcissa, who would be deeply hurt by Andromeda's "betrayal." Not a happy ending by any stretch of the imagination, but I'm really enjoying writing their interactions as close sisters.

You're right, Ted is bold (or stupid, or both...) in addressing Andromeda on the train. My Ted does tend to be pretty outspoken, and in Chapter Three there will be an explanation for why he specifically speaks to Andromeda on the Hogwarts Express that makes the boldness more justifiable. Mehhh? Or maybe not. Haha.

I'm very far into the story on my end, so you can be sure I intend to keep updating. :) Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by BookDinosaur 

5th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Tenth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing over at the forums. :)

I really enjoyed reading this! I think you did a fantastic job writeing this era and these characters and I'm looking forward to more already.

I think your characterisation was just amazing here. You have people like Narcissa and Lucius who are basically showing their other sides, in a loving, mushy relationship, but at the same time we can see hints of the people that they show to the rest of the world, the cold ruthless harsh people who follow Voldemort, and I absolutely love that.

I think your characterisation of Andromeda was really good as well, Iím so glad that she already wants to make something of herself and her brain, not just become a perfect pureblood lady, although she also follows the rules at some points. Itís interesting that she doesnít like Rabastan at all, Iím thinking this will make it easier for her to fall for Ted? Or maybe not. Hmm.

Ahh, Ted only really made a cameo, but I already like him! He seems very Hufflepuff-y and I cannot wait until he and Andromeda have more interactions with each other. :)

All in all, this was a great first chapter to your story, it sucked me in and left me wanting more, so update soon! Iím glad I had the chance to read it. :D

Author's Response: Hello, hello! Thank you so much for your review. I've been having a fantastic time writing these characters, and I'm so glad that you're enjoying their storylines so far. I've surprised myself with how much I like writing Narcissa and Lucius. It's so fun to make them turn on a dime from loving, caring family into vicious blood purists. And it's always fun to have a thoroughly Hufflepuff-y characters like Ted to write. :) More chapters on the way!

 Report Review

Review #12, by UnluckyStar57 

5th January 2014:
On the Tenth Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing, I'm giving you a review!

Okay, so... This is my new favorite story! There's only one chapter, but already, I'm so in love... Just... Gah, everything!

Andromeda. I'm SO glad that she's a smartypants and she wants to make something of herself. That already sets her apart from her sisters, who only plan on getting their MRS Degrees. I can tell that she still has traces of the pureblood mentality--she thought of Ted as a Mudblood, after all. But I'm sure that she will change over the course of the story, and I can't wait to see what happens next!

Ted. TedTedTedTedTed. He was only in the story for three seconds or so, but already... AH!! I like him. I think that he will definitely convert Andromeda over to the good side. I like that he plays Quidditch, and I like that he's in Hufflepuff, like Dora Tonks will be in the future. :)

One of the reasons that I love this story so much is that I don't ever see Andromeda/Ted novels or novellas or things-that-are-longer-than-one-shots. It is super exciting that someone (YOU!) is finally writing one, and it's SUPER AWESOME so far. Keep up the good work, and I'll see you in the next chapter! :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Awww, your review just made my night! I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story so far. I think that the other Black sisters turned the pursuit of the MRS Degree into a fine art. Haha. But yes, I wanted the thing that set Andromeda apart to be her intellectual pursuits and her independence, not a sweet temperament. I like all my Black sisters with feist and wicked streaks, and Dromeda's no exception!

Ted! Yeshhh, Ted. I like seeing Ted through Dora's eyes--the qualities that she would've inherited from him, like messiness and a devil-may-care attitude and, of course, her Hufflepuffness. I quite like making him a Quidditch player, too, 'cos I'm sure he looks fetching in his yellow uniform and on a broom. Eh heh.

Finally, YES. That is just how I've always felt. Andromeda and Ted are one of my very favorite ships ever, and I feel as though they're rather underrated. There's a surprising lack of full-length fics devoted just to their story, so I made it a mission to write one for myself! It makes me very happy that a reader (YOU!) feels just the same way. :) Many more chapters are on the way. Thank you so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by MarieBlack 

5th January 2014:
Your story is lovely, seriously! I usually avoid stories that occurred before the Harry Potter time because it can mess up timelines or events in my head or frankly they don't seem well written or executed. But your story is well written and descriptive. I love finding out about how they met and how she ended up leaving, I'm thrilled to know more. Please keep updating.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the read, especially as someone who doesn't usually read pre-trio stories. I've already written several chapters ahead, and I'm very eager to keep updating. Thanks so much for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MissesWeasley123 

5th January 2014:
Hello, I'm here for day 10 of the 12 Days of Reviewing. You've really got a great story here.

I think one of the greatest things about this story here is the characterization of Andromeda. I've always read her as a peaceful kind of girl, but I think deep down my head canons always thought that she's more of a colourful person. I always imagined her to be like Bellatrix, just a bit calmer, and definitely not as evil.

The way she acted with Ted made me smile. Smile because I feel that hatred, that supremacy, but Ted seems like an absolute sweetheart, and really kind.

I found it intriguing that her fatehr was so supportive of her, and not of Bellatrix. I like the new concept you brought forward, adn that was nice. I think this might play out to be something bigger but I really can't say anything this early into the story!

Rabastan is gross, and I was squirming when he was interacting with Andromeda. Yuck.

Another thing I liked was the descriptions you wrote. They were very well done, and I truly enjoyed them. Everything seemed to flow nicely as well, so I think you did an overall nice job on this.

Great first chapter and a happy new year to you!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to R&R. I'm glad to hear that you like my characterization of Andromeda. I've always pictured her as feisty and even a little on the cruel side, if for no other reason than her upbringing. But as you say, definitely not as evil or crazy as Bellatrix.

Perhaps the family drama will play out to be something bigger. Perhaps... Muahaha.

Thank you again for reviewing, and happy new year to you, too! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Augurey Pleur 

5th January 2014:
I really enjoyed that intro! I already have a feel for this character, and I think I like her. I thought your characterization of Lucius and Narcissa was really well done. (It's refreshing to see Lucius with some good qualities.)

The only thing that I felt was missing was maybe a portrayal of Andie, but I don't know how you would have fit that in naturally. I'm really curious to know what she looks like. I always imagined the three black sisters as being very beautiful, but in different ways. Narcissa would be the sort of classic, obvious beauty, Bellatrix would be desirable and wild, and Andromeda would be carefree and natural. (Sorry, I'm rambling!)

I'll keep an eye out for your next chapter, as you already have me hooked.:)

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed the first chapter! I've really enjoyed writing Lucius and Narcissa as their family and closest friends would see them. We usually get the nasty side of the Malfoys from Harry's perspective, but I think it'd be rather nice to be on the right side of their intense family loyalty.

I totally agree with your rambling! I picture the gals in much the same way. I've always been intrigued by the fact that Rowling describes Andromeda as looking much like Bellatrix, even to the point of Harry mistaking her for Bellatrix the first time they meet. I've written a flashback in the third chapter that goes more into detail about the girls' appearances and how those appearances influenced their treatment growing up. Thanks so much for taking the time to review! The second chapter is in the queue now. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by SereneChaos 

4th January 2014:
I love your Andromeda! She's got just the right amount of spice that Bellatrix has in the books (minus the crazy) to make her seem like a believable Black sister. Her interaction with Ted will make a great starting point for how she changes in the rest of the story. And I loved how you wrote Narcissa and Lucius, especially as a sickeningly sweet loving couple. Your characters are so alive that I'm excited to see your next chapter! Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your sweet review! I'm glad to hear that you like my take on Andromeda. I've always thought that she would've had a lot more sass and warped ideas than many people attribute to her. After all, she did come from the same environment that produced Bellatrix and Narcissa, and I've never thought of her as being the innately "nice" sister. I think all the Black gals are capable of twisted behavior--in their own special way. :)

And yes! I'm excited to be writing Narcissa and Lucius in a family environment, where we get a chance to see their nice sides around folks they actually like, complete with their ooey gooey, too-perfect love story. The second chapter is on its way. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review