Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dirigible_Plums 

1st April 2017:
Hello!

I'm here to break my girl out of jail for the CTF event 😏

ANYWAYS, so like probably everyone else on this site, I've actually read this before, but - because I'm awful person - I didn't ever share my thoughts. And here they are! First of all, let me just say how cool the comic books sound. Like Michelle, I've never been able to get into them myself, but I think that if I had a wizarding comic book, that would change very quickly. Reading the description of the one Abigail pours over in this chapter was really interesting. I could almost picture the scenes in my eyes - I guess, with a (magical) comic book, it's already brought to life for you 😜

James! He's such a sweetheart, isn't he? There are many portrayal of James, many of them concerning Hogwarts' resident playboy (which I do love), so it is refreshing to see a sweeter version of him. The level of concern he had for Abigail because he practically mowed her down! I mean, like she said, they never really spoke to each other properly in the past so his concern for a sort-of stranger is touching. I don't blame her for blushing one bit.

I did spot a couple of typos here and there but since it's a Nano novel, it is completely understandable :)

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #2, by Claire Evergreen 

1st April 2017:
Hey, Tammi! Here for CTF!

I've read this before, but I have neglected to review which I'm now grateful for because I get to read it again!

First things first, I already love your James. I have a very specific idea of him in my head, which is why I don't typically read stories with him, but you've done wonderfully with him. From even just that little interaction, I can tell he's sweet and caring and genuinely a nice guy (but not a Nice GuyTM). It's a nice change of pace from how he's usually portrayed as a James/Sirius as 15-year-olds 2.0.

I also love the concept of wizarding comic books. I don't know why I've never considered it before, but it's such a brilliant idea that you articulate so well. I can really see the comic come to life in my mind and I'm kinda jealous that I don't get to read them.

Abigail is also a great protagonist. She's really an everyman character, but distinctive enough to be her own person. Her friendship (if you can call it that) with Michelle is definitely intriguing and I want to know as much about it as I can!

You've made me really curious to know more about these characters! Can't wait to get back (she says hopefull)!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #3, by PaulaTheProkaryote 

23rd May 2016:
Hello lovely!

I know, I know. You said that you were just doing the reviews out of the kindness of your sweet heart. I clicked on your AP just to browse/creep and I realized that this lovely story has been on my reading list for an eternity!

First and foremost, I love your OC. Abigail and funny and sassy and she's just absolutely brilliant. How did I ever live without her in my life?

I have a friend that I think is a bit like Michelle. She likes to have massive blow ups over absolutely nothing. One was over something as petty as me like a song she didn't like. I hope Michelle resolves her pettiness and becomes the friend that Abigail needs. That being said, I'm looking forward to the potential drama she's bound to bring up!

I really like her brother, Daryl because he's not far out from my brother on a good day. The best characters for me are the ones I find easily relatable and you've definitely managed that so far! He also dropped me off at my college dorm so it's practically the same thing! ;)

I have never thought about how wicked wizarding comic books must be but I'm completely sold on the idea. I can't even imagine. And how cool must it be to be an artist that can make those imagine literally come to life!

It's okay, James, you can barrel into any girl any time. Totally fine.

The first chapter was completely adorable and I can't wait to read the next one! This is going to be a brilliant story for sure!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jayna 

6th March 2016:
For the HPFF Review-A-Thon!

Hey there Tammi! As one of the many people contributing to the review-a-thon, I thought it would be nice to come leave you a review! Besides, I've definitely been meaning to read this!

I loved Abigail's character! Even though it's only one chapter in, I feel like I already know exactly who she is. She's an average girl. She falls out with her friend and makes up, she's got an older brother that trying to figure out what to do with his life, parents that can't always come to everything because of work, and something that makes her unique, her love of comic books. I think that definitely makes her super relatable, and even the run-in with James felt like something that would totally happen.

In addition, I ADORED your portrayal of wizarding comics. I had never really thought about how that would be, and this seems like a super interesting way to think of it. It seems like a movie that's also a book!

Last, I thought that the interaction between Daryl and Abigail was really realistic and relatable as well. I'm the older sibling, but I think I've said the exact same (or quite similar) things as Daryl when sending my little brother off (obviously not to Hogwarts though :p).

So yeah, overall, you are the MASTER of making things seem real and relatable, thank you so much for contributing to this wonderful event, and I'm excited to read the next chapter soon!

-Jayna

 Report Review

Review #5, by victoria_anne 

26th February 2016:
Hey Tammi!

Just leaving a quick review before I race to the next chapter! I'm loving this so far.

I love Abigail's character, with all her daydreaming and the falling outs with Michelle - what's that about, I wonder? And of course lurve the comic book thing, I've never imagined a wizarding comic book before, so it's pretty darn cool!

"Guess who I just ran into?" Loved that line. Full circle. Yeah baby.

Your chapter titles are reminiscent of a show I watched once... Hm, what was it? Oh yeah. SO NO ONE TOLD YOU LIFE WAS GONNA BE THIS WAY *clap clap clap clap*

Ahem.

I don't know if that's what you were going for, but I love them. I actually entertained myself by reading all the chapter titles first before actually getting down to the first chapter.

See you at chapter two! (Yes that's right, prepare thyself for another long winded review that starts with "I'm leaving a quick review").

 Report Review

Review #6, by HufflePuff_Blitz 

16th October 2015:
Ok. I know I've read this chapter before. Why the smelly butts did I not review it.
But I did quite enjoy this. It was very swell. I loved Daryl. *swoons* do we get to see him again? :)
Michelle. Ugh. I don't like here attitude. But I do love those comic books. That is the most fantastic idea ever!
And James. James, James, James. *swoons again* James is adorable. I can't even.
Ok. I like this. I think I might've read the next few chapters already also. But I' guess I can reread them again and again. :D
Great Tammi!
-Lyle.

Author's Response: Hahaha oh Kyle! Or Lyle as you wrote. :P

I love Darryl too! He needs to come back! Just to torment James haha.

Michelle is a big meanie! She needs to go away!

And wo! James! James! James!!!

Awww yay!

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

27th September 2015:
Hello, Tammi!!!

It's Sunday, I'm sorry. Damn tv distracted me... But I'm here now.

I love Abigail. You already know that, but I'm gonna say it anyway. She just so adorable, so sweet. I can't believe she's friends with Michelle still. Ugh. Anyway, her relationship with her brother is so lovely and so weirdly real (I just can't imagine hugging my brother, but I understand it happens :P). Maybe it's a brother/sister thing, not a brother/brother thing...

Snowball is my kind of cat.

Ahhh, James! He is also adorable. Possibly more than Abigail, if that is even possible. Now him I want to hug. :D OMG, I hope I can use that "guess who I just ran into" literally joke one day.

I'm so excited to read more. It's been a while.

Onwards!

Connor.

Author's Response: Connor! Yay!

Damn that TV! So distracting, we'll blame the TV for me not replying earlier.

I do know :P She's so awesome! I can't believe that she is either, she needs a better friend like Isabella! Hahaha, I think it is a brother/sister thing, I hug my brother a lot :D

I want snowball for myself!

Is it even possible? WE SHALL ALL HUG JAMES! YES! USE IT! Just purposely run into someone and use the joke.

Thank you so much, hubby!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th September 2015:
Hello hello, darling. Here checking out all the Dobbys nominations--CONGRATULATIONS by the way! That's so exciting.

So, this is a bit different. I love your banner *swoons*. The comic book theme is a fun, different take.

Aww, it's really sweet that her brother dropped her off at the train station!

The pages of Muggle ones would stay completely still, whereas the Wizarding ones moved. Some would even emit sounds and smells and at times things would jump off of the page at you.
--I think your ideas for wizarding comic books sound really cool, and really in keeping with what I feel like is kind of...the spirit of comic books? I mean, I don't know much about it, but it seems like those additions would fit in well in that medium. I think it's cool that Abigail is a comics enthusiast. And it's nice that she and Michelle have a bit of an understanding (I may have peeked ahead a little, so I know that Michelle is a bit of a...well. But still, it's nice to see that their friendship has some positive elements to it. Like, you can see where it comes from, even if it's deteriorated a bit).

And a classic meetcute! Aw, complete with a cheesy joke. That's a cute start.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hello Penny!!

Thank you so much! I am honestly still in shock over it all. I can't believe that I've won.

Thank you! This is the banner that I'm most proud of.

Abigail and Darryl are pretty close, so I wanted to show them together, and what better way then dropping her off at school. :P

I haven't read many comics since I was much younger, so I'm hoping that I'm doing them justice *fingers crossed*

Aww it's okay to peek, and yes I agree Michelle is not a nice person at all.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter 

11th September 2015:
Hi, Tammi! I'm here working my way through the Dobby nominees. Congratulations on your nomination!

I think this is a really good opening chapter. Hands down, snowball is my favourite character so far. Fat, fluffy and lazy is my kind of cat :p I like that you've given me a good idea of who your characters are already, and I'm looking forward to reading more about them. James and Abigail's bumping into each other was great, and I loved that ending line of the chapter :D

Dee

Author's Response: Thank you so much! AND YAY! I'm so excited!!

Oh Snowball, he's a brilliant cat, I just want to snuggle him and stroke him! Wooo, I'm glad!

Thank you so much, Dee!!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MuggleMaybe 

30th August 2015:
Hi Tammi!

I thought it was amazing of you to do your reviewing spree, so I stopped by your profile to return the favor :)

I have a hunch that I'm going to LOVE this story.

The idea of Wizarding comics is so cool! I don't know why I've never thought of that before! I don't actually read comics, but I have a lot of respect for them. (My big brother would disown me otherwise ;)) It's fun to read about a character with that interest.

And James Potter = YES PLEASE. I don't know your James well enough to say more than that yet. But I like him already.

I think romance stories sometimes forget about how important platonic relationships are. Having a fight with your BFF is the WORST, and I'm thrilled to see that as a prominent issue in this story.

Looking forward to reading more!
~Renee

Author's Response: Hey Renee!

Awww thank you so much for stopping by, I wasn't expecting this at all :D It's a lovely surprise.

I really hope that you do :D

I hadn't thought of it until I was planning this story, and I kept thinking that wizards had to have had them.

Awww yay! James Potter is awesomme!

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #11, by krazyboutharryginny 

28th June 2015:
The Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!!

This is SUCH an intriguing concept that I couldn't pass it up when I saw it on your AP. I love comic books, so that was probably a factor in how drawn to this I was. But I do have to say how nicely packaged/tied together this is! The comic-themed banner and chapter images, the comic-sounding name - brilliant!

Onto the actual story. This is such an effective first chapter. You've introduced so many things without it feeling like too much information to get at once. You've got me invested in your main character already, which is really impressive because she's an OC. You laid out her relationship with her brother and her best friend Michelle in a way that's pretty frank, but it works.

And Wizarding comics! What a brilliant idea! It makes so much sense that they would have those. Abigail seems a little surprised that she doesn't know more people who like them, but honestly, it's not all that common to see people in real life reading comics either, so it makes sense to me.

I like that you gave us insight into characters besides Abigail here, by having Michelle talk about her disappointment at not being made Quidditch Captain, and having James apologize for knocking Abigail over, rather than just rushing off.

I'm so excited to see how you continue to bring comics into this story and I really want to know what's going to happen between James and Abigail!

-Kayla
#ROAR

Author's Response: Hello! Awww yay! I'm so glad that you're so intrigued by this :D YAY! The banner and title are my favourite things haha, so I'm so happy that you love them too!

Yes! This makes me happy to hear. I always worry that people won't carry on after the first chapter, but to hear that you're invested already has brought a smile to my face. :D

I haven't seen them before in stories, so I just wanted to include them in this, and what could be better than a magical one? :D

Thank you once again for your amazing words!


 Report Review

Review #12, by looneylizzie 

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor (The Amazing Race)

Tammi!

I did warn you…

So I have read the first few chapters of this before - but it was quite a while ago - so I’m going to reread them and review, as well as everything else… ;)

On first impressions, I really quite like Abigail. She’s kind of quiet and sweet, but I like her sense of humor.

I like her relationship with Daryl as well. They don’t pick on each other or tease each other too much. They’re sweet and clearly care for each other. It’s kinda refreshing to just have a sweet relationship between siblings - they’re not often written that way.

The way you describe the comic books in here are just phenomenal. I really feel like I can picture them in my mind's eye. I don’t read a ton of comics, but I have read a few here and there, so I think I can imagine what a magical comic book must look like.

I love the slight stereotyping that you’ve done here with Abigail and comic book readers. That she’s considered a little weird (at least, by Michelle), and kind of introverted and geeky. That she’s always got comic books on her mind - like when she’s thinking about how long until the next edition comes out and how she’ll handle the wait. It’s kind of amusing to think that the same stereotypes can exist in both worlds.

Hehehe, James crashing into her like that… it’s quite amusing. His concern for her is quite pronounced for someone who doesn’t know her very well. Actually, I find the sheer number of times he said her name quite interesting. I mean, I can understand that having been in the same year for six years would give him plenty of opportunities to remember her name, but the fact that he repeats it so many times makes me feel like he has spent time thinking about her before. Even though they’ve never had much of a conversation.

Well, this story is off to a great start! I really like both the concept and these characters and I’m absolutely fascinated! Can’t wait for more! *clicks next chapter*
LL

Author's Response: You did! :P

Aww yay! I'm so glad that you've come back to this, I am so excited about how you like it :D

YAY! I love her!

Her and Darryl don't pick on each other (much) they have a nice relationship as siblings, I think it's because they don't see much of each other.

Aww thank you! I'm so glad that you like them! I wish that I could somehow make my chapter image to show a moving comic book. I need to look into that.

Yay! I'm so glad that you liked that slight stereotype. :D

Oh yeah, he cares a lot and it's obvious like you've said. He's totally thought about her before :D

Thank you so much! You're incredible!


 Report Review

Review #13, by BellaLestrange87 

15th May 2015:
Hi Tammi! I'm here to return the lovely review you left me (and finally start reading this story. It's been on my reading list since forever ago)!

I love Abigail already. I really like she defines herself as average and doesn't seem to be a stand-out, extremely popular kind of person. The fact that she and her best friend, Michelle, have fallen out a lot, over what seems like inconsequential stuff is interesting. If they get into fights that often I'm going to guess that they're not as close as Abigail claims.

I really love Abigail's love of comic books. I haven't gotten into them myself, but when I read the excellent paragraphs on what it was like to really get into a comic book and read it I found that it's the same for reading a regular book.

I loved the conversation with James. I feel like there's the beginning of a connection there. There was the right mix of normal conversation and joking, as well as attraction (I think) on Abigail's part.

I noticed a few typos:

Maybe this year Michelle and I would move passed her jealousy and obvious trust issues - move past her jealousy

Daryl was two years older than me and had graduated from Hogwarts in the June - in June

He life now consisted of moping around on the sofa - His life

I not sure I have the energy to change yet - I'm not sure

I really enjoyed this chapter! I'll be back for the next one (at some point, hopefully soon. I'm a slow reviewer. Be warned.)

~Olivia

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! And yay! I'm so glad that you're reading this! That makes me so happy!

YAY! Abigail loves you! Haha The friendship between her and Michelle is based a lot on my old friendship with my ex best friend. The amount of times tha we fell out over something was ridiculous! Abigail is just holding on because she doesn't think she deserves better.

Oh Abigail and James, I love writing them so much! Haha.

Whoops! Thank you! I shall go back and edit those in.

Thank you so much Olivia! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by oldershouldknowbetter 

23rd January 2015:
So far I have selected an older story and a one shot. I wanted to review something that was probably closer to your heart at this moment; something more recently updated.

Looking around for something of yours to review and I find this – a girl who likes comics. Cool, I like comics so I think I’ll give this a go. I shall review as I go through it and not read ahead; so as to give my reviews the spontaneity of the first reading and not have subsequent knowledge spoiling them. Also I shall be forgoing my usual completely and utterly in-depth reviews for ones which are shorter but still pithy, to see if I can prove the old adage wrong that I must sacrifice quality for quantity.

I saw your little profile update singing my praises and it warmed the cockles of this old Santa’s heart, let me tell you. And with that clue and the multiple ones I left in the review of ‘What’s Up, Hugo’ you should no doubt divine my identity.

OK then: flexes fingers; cricks neck; let us begin:-


Review #1: the review which is the first one.


Abigail seems a nice, average sort of person. I love Rose (because of course Rose/Scorpius is the One True Pairing!), but she quite often seems to be written on some variation of the ‘super person’ her mother was. Abigail seems normal and it’s good to see that as a change from my usual fare.

The brother is a solid addition and the relationship between them is neither good nor bad – just the normal sort of relationship between siblings. The gentle teasing of the older brother is a nice touch of characterisation.

A Quidditch obsessed supposed best friend.

I like the comic book conceit; I’d really like to read some Wizard comic books they sound like a far more convenient version of the motion comics you can get on DVD, but even better.

The clash with James was done well. You have a free and easy writing style which is a pleasure to read, I’d only read your humour titles before so it is good you can write something more serious (though so far the drama is leavened with a healthy dose of light heartedness).

I like how friendly and nice you have made James – his character is usually friendly enough, but he’s sometimes not so nice and usually totally impressed with himself.

The use of first names is well done too. Unless they have a nick-name, quite often one will only call another person by their last names if they are a friend or an enemy – the use of a last name without an honorific can be more personal sometimes. It is obvious that they know of each other, as would anyone having spent the last five years in the same school together, but otherwise are virtual strangers.

We knew the last line was coming from the setup earlier, but it was superbly done and a delight to read.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm finally getting around to answering this amazing and lovely reviews from you!

Awww this story is my baby! I love it so much and I have so many plans, so I'm really happy that you decided to review it (I still can't believe that you reviewed so much of it! You're amazing for doing so)

I must write a longer Rose story one day, or at least feature her more in this story. I should add that to my notes.

Abigail and her brother get on a lot better now then when they were younger, but that's mainly because they barely spend any time together and have less time to bicker with each other. Of course he still teases her, he wouldn't be a good brother if he didn't. :P

They do sound more convenient! Less time reading, more time watching!

Awww thank you! I wanted to have James being a decent guy and not come off as a jerk or rude person who thinks he's the best thing in the world. I don't imagine Harry would have raised him that way, as for Albus... well, he's a totally different story in my stories. But we'll get to him later!

Thank you so much for the awesome review! Now to answer your next one! :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by apondinabluebox 

17th August 2014:
ONE HUNDREDTH REVIEW!!! ♥

Ahhh, I feel so bad about not revisiting this story earlier, I completely loved it the first time around and I still do now!

Abigail is wonderfully unique -- to date, she's the only character I've ever read about in either fanfic or actual fiction who likes comic books, so that's fabulous! I love James too -- what an actual, polite gentleman he is. Can I have him if Abigail changes her mind and doesn't want him? :P

Honestly though, you've got me shipping them already (well, I already shipped them from the way you talked about them but the level of shipping has now upgraded) and I love Snowball! He reminds me of my all-white cat Snowbell (minus the oil marks from walking under cars, haha) and Abigail's reaction to him is super!

There isn't much plot in this chapter, but I don't think that's a bad thing. It's good to help us get acquainted with Abigail and James (Michelle doesn't exist, yeah?) and start shipping them before all the action and drama starts to happen. ...Because that's a really effective way of getting your readers invested in the ship before you start breaking their hearts!! :O

YOU SNEAKY SLYTHERIN GENIUS!!! ♥

I love how your entire cast is normal, from the annoying big brother to the vapid fair weather best friend, because that makes them really relatable characters who we can recognise in the people we know in real life, so that's great. And of course, there's the adorable James, who is so cute and awkward that I'd be surprised if he wasn't shipped with your readers every time they read this story :P (but of course, Tammi, he is mine. MINE)

Keep up the epic work, and congratulations on reaching one hundred reviews ;)



PS: I solemnly swear that I will catch up on this novel before it ends and you post The Unspeakable. *nods* ♥

Author's Response: YAY! THANK YOU!

Awww you're here now though! That's all that matters!

I'm so glad that you like Abigail and her love for comic books. :D And James is such a gentleman, Harry and Ginny wouldn't be happy if he wasn't. You can have him if Abigail changes her mind :P

Awww yay! The shipping has begun! I do talk about them a lot though when we speak haha :P Hahaha Snowball is awesome!

Michelle can totally not exist haha I wish! But sadly she's vital to the plot.

Oh hearts will more likely be broken :P

Hahaha why thank you! :D

I can't help but make James adorable, in my eyes it's Albus who is the mean, guarded and egotistical one and James is the loveable geeky one, who's awkward around people.

Thank you so so much! And you have time to catch up before The Unspeakable! I have yet to write it haha :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by icingonmycake 

16th August 2014:
I really liked the first chapter! I'm going to read ahead for sure. Seems interesting, and I think I like Abigail already. And the banner for this story is epic.
IoMC

Author's Response: YAY! I'm so glad! I hope that you enjoy the other chapters as well :D And thank you, it's the one banner I'm proud of haha, took a lot of work :P

 Report Review

Review #17, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

7th July 2014:
Hi there!

So I remember you started this story for NaNo and it sounded good so I definitely wanted to come and check it out. You've immediately got my interest!

Abigail's a nice character. I really like her so at. She's very quiet though which makes me feel she might get walked over a bit. Michelle seems the opposite so far... Perhaps that's why they fall out so much? Anyway, I love that Abigail likes comic books... It makes this story really stand out as it's so different and I can't wait to read more.

I liked what you did with the literal run in... It was written well and didn't get confusing at any point which exchanges like that sometimes can. I could literally see what was happening.

Great job on a good opening chapter! I will most certainly be reading more.

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey! How are you?

I did! And I'm so glad that you came to check it out and that it interested you. :D

She is a bit of a push over and very quiet, Michelle is definitely the opposite and she knows that Abigail will put up with her behaviour and attitude, even when they do fall out all the time.

I'm glad that you love Abigail a lot, and her love for comic books. :D

Aww I'm glad that part came across well, I didn't want it to be too confusing and I thought it was the best way to get James and Abigail to begin talking more.

Thank you so so much Lauren! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderslover15 

23rd June 2014:
HI! Dez aka marauderslover15 =D here with your review you requested!

I really like how you first started out the story with friendship. It is actually really refreshing to see this because many of the Next-Gen stories tend to start off with crushes on a boy. So, I am glad to see Abigail focused on her friendship.

The flow of the first chapter is nicely done. She mentioned her best friend in the very beginning and you did have us reader met Michelle a little after that so that was very good flow by mentioning and then meeting. I love your wizard comic book by the way. It fits incredibly well into the wizarding world and is 100% believable.

I also thought the flow was phenomenal by references you used earlier in the chapter when James said “We can tell people, ‘hey guess who I just ran into’ and it will in fact be true….” Then a few lines later when Abigail said, “Guess who I just ran into?” I loved that by the way. But I found it slightly unrealistic (as according to canon) that James could call her by her first name if they aren’t in the same social group. Surnames are used quite often as Harry called his fellow teammate Woods or James I called Lily Evans even if he had a crush on her. BUT it really isn’t a big deal.

There are a quite a few grammatical mistakes that I noticed, but I am far from being the Queen of grammar. There are commas where there should be periods and the tense is mixed up, but that is minimum. But I thought I should let you know. It can be easily fixed.

Annnddd that’s it! It’s a great first chapter. It is setting the basis like all first chapters do. And I’m curious to see how Abigail and James somehow interact more when they are from different social groups. Please, request again! ^__^

~marauderslover15

Author's Response: Hello! I really wasn't expecting a review this quickly, thank you. :D

I'm so glad that you liked the beginning, I wanted to have the main focus be the friendship between Michelle and Abigail, show that it's not that great a friendship.

Haha, thank you. I really wanted to include something different and I've never read/seen a story that included wizard comic books in them, so I figured, why not? :D I'm so happy that it's believable. :D

Awww you make me blush with your kind words! :P There are quite a few more references I made throughout this story that I'm hoping you notice when I rerequest. :D

Ah, I never thought of that with the last names. I always figured that they would call each other by their first names. I might change it to last names being used, just so it can fit in with canon.

Thank you for pointing those out, I have finally gotten around to getting a Beta reader, something which I have been putting off for quite some time now, so hopefully those will be fixed soon. :D

Thank you so so much for filling the review request, I loved your review and it's really helping me improve this story. I shall be rerequesting soon so that I can hear what you think of the rest of the story. :D

Thank you once again

Tammi x


 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heaven 

17th June 2014:
Heya! I'm here for the Slytherin review exchange!

So I've had my eye on this story for a while now, and this month's review exchange gave me the perfect excuse to finally start reading it. Also, I just wanted to say that it was incredibly difficult for me to even choose a story in the first place since you've written 32 (what a number). What amazes me even more is the number of reviews you've posted! I'm so impressed (and slightly inspired)!

So I really like the start of this. No real idea about a plot yet, but I'm not too fussed. First chapters don't always have to include plot for me. Abigail seems very... normal, which is oddly refreshing to read. It's nice to see just normal people doing normal things for once! But I'm sure this year has a lot of craziness in store for her, since she felt the need to say that this year was going to be uneventful - definite sign of eventfulness to come!

Possibly my favourite thing about this chapter is the little details. You've revealed a lot about who the characters are in off-hand comments and very natural bits of description (I'm incredibly jealous :P ). I particularly loved the description of the comic books. I love comics, but I can't read them for some strange reason (except Tintin, but I make many exceptions for Tintin) but I feel as if Wizard comics would be easier to follow.

Lovely start! Hopefully I shall be back soon to read on :)

Author's Response: Heya!!

I am so glad that you chose to review this story and that it had caught your eye! I know! I've written so many haha, I want to see how many I can write. :P I absolutely love reviewing! I want to get in the top 10 reviewers on the site. :P

I wanted to have Abigail as a normal girl, I didn't want to have her as crazy or too clumsy and ditsy. She does have a lot of things happening in the year to come, she really thought that it was going to be uneventful.

Awww, thank you *squishes you in a tight hug* I'm so glad that you can connect to Abigail's love of comic books. :D

Thank you so so much!


 Report Review

Review #20, by maraudertimes 

19th March 2014:
Hi!

Well this certainly is different than anything I've ever read on the archives! Wizarding comic books? They sound interesting! And I'm going to guess with a title like yours, something's going to happen with James and Abigail. Something that seems decidedly exciting!

Although I do admit, the running into him thing was quasi-exciting, and the "Guess who I just ran into?" line was absolutely hilarious. :)

Anyways, I really liked your characters so far, although my favourite has to be Daryl. At this point I'm a little confused as to what I feel for Abigail and Michelle, as they don't seem like very good friends, or even nice friends to each other, but more like acquaintances who awkwardly share a train compartment sometimes, but I'm hoping to see them in a more social aspect so that I can love them more!

The interaction with James was quite funny and I liked how Abigail and he were polite, and how James was extremely apologetic. I like your version of him a lot, and Abigail seems comfortable around him, even if they are in two separate social groups in the hierarchy.

Anyways, I think I've rambled far too much and made far too little sense, but in essence I really liked this and I'm hoping that I get the time soon to come back to this and read the next seven chapters (maybe more if I'm late enough...), because I saw this during NaNo and was really intrigued and now I'm even more hooked!

Superb job!
Lo:)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Review 5/6

Author's Response: Thank you! A lot of people have said that and it makes me happy, I wanted to make a story that had elements of uniqueness in it. Oh something will happen with James and Abigail. :P

Haha I wanted something different to have the two main characters interacting with each other, and what better than someone running into the other and knocking them to the floor. And I couldn't resist James saying that. :P

Aww thank you, I really like Daryl as well. He was fun to write. They're best friends because that's all they've known, but they're not the greatest of friends.

Haha oh James and Abigail! They are fun to write together, I've been having so much fun with those two. I wanted to show James in a different light and I hope I continue to achieve that further into the story.

Awww you can ramble, I love rambling. :D I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story and thank you so much for your kind words! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by Maelody 

13th March 2014:
Hey! Yay! :D I get a chance to read another story of yours! :D I remember your author's note from I'll love Her Enough for the Both of Us and how you said you try to connect your stories. I remember Abigail being mentioned by James, so I had to come check this out! :D

Anyway! How cool is it that she loves comic books!? Super cool! I LOVE comic books! :D and the way you described her comic made me envious that I only have still pictures! XD though this was a great hobby to put in, and I think it'll definitely help in making her unique! :D

You always catch realism so very well in your stories! Like how temperamental cats are, and how friends fall out and come together A LOT for no real reason. I like Michelle for now, but I'll have to wait and see what I think about her once they have their first argument though.

Haha, that's some nice, simple humor and I love it! "We can say we literally ran into each other!" James seems so sweet! :3 I wonder where he was running to?

Anyway, I'm sure you know what brought me here (other than you AWESOME writing and stories) but just know I'll definitely be sticking around even when the challenge is done! ;) I hope to catch up tonight in fact, for the six reviews on a staff member's story! (What can I say? You're pretty awesome! ;))

Moving onward!

~Mae

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad that you decided to check out my other stories. I hope that you enjoy them. It's quite a challenge to connect my stories, I didn't realise how hard it would be at times. The main problem is working out ages haha.

Thank you! :D I've never seen them mentioned in a story before so I wanted to have them in my story. I'm so glad that you love comic books! If only we could have wizarding ones.

Aw thank you so much! *can't stop blushing* Most of that I've taken from personal experience. Ah, you may not like Michelle further down the line. Not many do. :P

Haha he was just running, probably to find his friend, who just for something to do?

Awww thank you so very much! You're the most awesome person in the world! :D You never fail to bring a smile to my face!


 Report Review

Review #22, by anythingcouldhappen 

13th March 2014:
Hi! I'm reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

I really like the comic book theme! There are so many next gen stories on the archives, and I think having a theme like this sets yours apart! And comic books are so much fun. I love that Abigail has a slight obsession with them--I haven't read many stories with a main character like that before! Abigail seems like she's going to be a very interesting and unique main character.

I'm very curious as to how she and James are going to be interacting...and how their friendship/relationship/whatever it may be develops. From the fleeting glimpse I got of James in this chapter, I like him! He seems funny, and also like pretty nice guy.

Your writing is all very nice and clean and flows very well. Nice job!

One thing I just have to thank you for--she changed into her robes!!! Thank you! There are so many stories that have students just walking around in their ordinary clothes and it always bothers me! It's so off canon, and it doesn't even make sense. So anyway, thanks for that!

Sam

Author's Response: Hey! :D

Thank you so much! I wanted to try and have this as different to other next gen stories as I could, so that's where comic books came in. Oh yes, Abigail has an obsession with them.

Ah their relationship develops a lot over the next few chapters so you will see a lot more of James soon. :D

Thank you so much! *squishes in a hug*

Hahaha I'm so glad that you liked that part, it always bothers me too! Why wouldn't they get changed? They're going to school haha. :D

Thank you once again! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore 

13th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here reviewing staffer stories for the Blackout Bingo but I was really glad to get a chance to read this - I haven't had much time to read FF recently but this caught my eye when I saw the description in the Loony Lounge a few months ago.

This was really great! I love the premise of this - I don't think that I've ever read a story about someone who reads comic books before, and the only time I've seen them appear in fanfiction is when there's a weird, lonely boy who spends all his time reading them. To see a girl, and the main character no less, reading comic books here was a really refreshing change. I also now really want to read a magical comic book, because the way that you described them here they sound amazing! I'd never thought before that magical comics would move like their photos do, but that would make them even cooler to read!

Also, your CI for this chapter fit perfectly :D

I really liked the normality here in the characters that I got to see, and that you didn't introduce a massive cast in the first chapter. There are a lot of stories that introduce me to so many characters I never keep track of who they are, but the few we saw here made me feel like I have a handle on the characters. Daryl seems quite sweet as a big brother and Michelle just seems like a normal friend - teenage girls do argue a lot, so it makes sense to see a friendship here that isn't completely perfect.

Aw, look at James knocking someone over :P He was so cute and embarrassed over it as well, it seemed really sweet. I know this is a James/OC story so I'm looking forward to seeing their relationship develop - clearly they share a sense of humour!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo staff reviews 3/6

Author's Response: Hey!!! I must say that I did love this challenge. :P I got a lot of reviews that day.

I'm so glad that you remember it from the Loony Lounge.

I don't think I've ever read a story like that either? That's why I wanted to write it, you don't see many girls in stories liking anything like this. Or have many wizards liking something like this apart from weird lonely boys like you've said. Haha I want to read one as well! I'm so jealous that they get moving ones and we don't.

Thank you very much! I had so much fun making that chapter image and the others after it. :D

I wanted to try and keep the first chapter simple, have you meeting Abigail and have James involved in a scene and how they 'crash' together. The friendship between Michelle and Abigail is based off of my relationship with my old best friend, she would try and control my life and in the end I had enough.

Haha yep, at least he apologised and was embarassed instead of just leaving her on the floor to recover. Oh yeah, they have a lot of interests that are the same, so I'm excited to show more of that as the chapters develop.

Thank you so much! I love your reviews so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by academica 

21st February 2014:
Hey girl! Here for the TGS review exchange :)

First of all, congratulations (belated as they are) on finishing a NaNo novel and getting it up on HPFF! That's a fabulous accomplishment.

I think the comic book theme is really cool. I like the normalcy of your characters; they talk about typical teenage things and thus seem very relatable. I love your details, like the way you described Snowball being upset about being caged. That sense of normalcy fits with the way comic books usually read--they're about a normal person who ends up with special powers and becomes a hero, and I can see that potentially happening for your main character. It's a good theme idea.

Leave it to James to awkwardly barrel into a girl :) I liked the cute way you introduced Abigail's relationship with James, again because it seems very normal. It's realistic to think that she's aware of his presence (like the way people were aware of Harry) without really knowing him well.

I would definitely recommend having a beta take a look at this story, maybe when you've finished posting it or even before then. You have quite a few run-on sentences and some punctuation misuse and it does make it a little hard to follow the piece and get into the story. I think a beta's help would improve a good story even more!

Oh, and of course, I love your cute CI as well.

Nice work! Looking forward to hearing from you :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Heya! I'm so sorry that it's taken me this long to respond! I'm terrible!

Thank you so much! NaNo is really fun I absolutely love taking part in it and I'm glad that I managed to get a few chapters up so far. :D

Aww thank you, I'm glad that they all seem normal and not too OOC and that comic books fits really well in the story so far.

Haha yes, oh James. But at least he apologised. :P I wanted to have them both know who the other is, as I don't find it believable when two characters who have been in the same year at school for a very long time, not know who the other one is. So wanted them to know each other but only distantly.

I definitely do need a beta, it's just finding the time to. :S So thank you for suggesting that. :D

Awww thank you, I absolutely love making them haha. :D

Thank you so so much for this amazing review! I love it so much. :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by MissesWeasley123 

30th January 2014:
HEY THERE! I finally came around and had some time to come and begin reading this fic! You have an excellent story here, honestly!

Abigail is amazing. I really like her. In next gens it's really frustrating and hard to make your female OCs so different, because it's difficult to avoid having similarities with other characters. But she's different, which I love. She loves comic books (which I'm assuming will play a big role in this novel?) and she has a total babe for a brother like Daryl ♥ Honestly, that man seems perfect!

And James seem like a complete goofball, but a TOTAL sweetheart as well! His sense of humour amazes me and made me laugh. It's something I'll be looking forward to in this!

My heart fluttered at this:

"What took you so long?" Michelle asked me, I gave a smile as James' earlier words popped into my head.

"Guess who I just ran into?"


Is it wrong to be shipping them already even though it's only the first chapter? :P Haha, but honestly, it's great.

I really can't offer you any CC either, I really liked everything about your writing. You're superb with characterizations, and that's a really big factor in writing :) I think there were a few instances though, where the sentences used to run on a bit, like the second sentence in the first paragraph. But your commas did strike a balance so I wouldn't worry about that too much!

Really excellent chapter! Now, onward!

Author's Response: HEY! And I finally responded! I have no excuses, I don't know why it's taken me this long to respond. I am sorry.

Thank you!

Oh yes, comic books will have a big part of this story and the sequel. :P Haha yes! I am loving her brother. I may have to introduce him a lot more in the story. :P

Yes, James is definitely a goofball :D I'm glad that you're enjoying reading about him. :D

Awww It's totally not wrong to be shipping them already. I ship them too! :D So badly.

Awww thank you :D I shall go back and edit those parts.

Thank you once again for such a fantastic review! You've made me so happy and I hope that you continue enjoying the story. :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>