Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Detox, Chapter 16: Epilogue
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jchrissy 

1st July 2017:
I'm sorry, but this is going to be short and incoherent. I just spent three hours with wine and reading this story from start to finish. And I'm a mess. You're amazing with Harry and that gang, but nothing gets my feels like your ability to write Draco and Astoria. So many things I'd completely forgetten, this was so amazing to get to read in one sitting. I love these people. I love you for giving me these people. So. So. Much.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Amentii 

19th April 2017:
Fantastic story from start to finish.

The character growth was phenomenal. The way Draco grew from his life after the war and with Astoria. You fall in love with both of their characters. The amount of thought and detail that went into the story to make it grow is beyond amazing. I enjoyed the twist on Lucius, new and old characters brought in.

anyways, the story was far too amazing for words. My thoughts are everywhere trying to jot something down. Amazing work lovely

 Report Review

Review #3, by Remus 

1st August 2016:
*sneaks in* Hello!!
So, I'm going through some withdraws after reading the Cursed Child and I needed some Draco/Astoria love. Who do I turn to? Dan himself and his awesome Draco/Astoria fic. Lo and behold I never finished this! I never read the Epilogue so here I am. Let's do this!

I honestly feel like you traveled through time and managed to tap into the Scorpius that JKR gave us vs the one you gave us here; they're almost the same. I guess the poor boy was always fated to grow up in isolation. It doesn't help that they're kinda right, from a Malfoy standpoint, there are not "suitable" young people for Scorpius to be around. God forbid he mingles with the Halfbloods.

Aww, Draco getting a bit anxious to see Scorpius go is cute! XD My love for him has grown a lot more since CC. You're now just making it better.

it just makes me so sad that these children feel the weight of their family legacy is dependent on which House they end up in. What would've happened if Scorpius hadn't ended up in Slytherin house? I honestly think they get sorted too early.

Have you ever heard of Flowers in the Attic by VC Andrews and the other books? I feel like Lucius belongs there! Hahaha! Poor Scorpius tries so hard to please his grandfather without knowing it. Draco on the other hand sees it. But Lucius' words are nothing but poison to young Scorpius. Seeing the Weasleys as "not the right sort" is something Lucius would've said.

ďDonít be too hasty to judge, Scorpius. You might find that they have some redeeming qualities if you give them a chance. The red-headed girl is rather cute, actually.Ē

Oh...that's just...evil! I LOVE IT! It made me laugh at the fact that Draco is just trying to sort of match Rose and Scorpius together to give Ron a heart attack. I could only imagine! And Draco! Can you imagine his reaction of Scorpius and Rose dating? He'd would have a "What have I done?" moment.

Even though I had left the HPFF community for other fandoms, you have managed to enthralled me with your narrative and characterization. Perhaps I'll comeback to this fandom. Don't know yet but I'll stick around to read. For now at least.

See ya later,
Rosie

Author's Response: Rosie! It's been ages! Awesome to see you!

I'm partway through Cursed Child, but I heard what happens with Astoria and it's sort of making me not want to finish. Better to retreat into my own personal version of events. :)

It was challenging for me, trying to work out the particulars of Scorpius's childhood. It isn't that I would have expected Draco to immerse him in the muggle world, but there is this question of *degree*. After pondering a lot, I decided that Draco would have tried to strike a balance that preserved a sense of his family's values without steering Scorpius toward many of the difficulties that Draco faced as a young man. Call it a kinder, gentler pureblood snobbery. ;)

They probably do get sorted too early, but I like to think the Hat tries to give every child a nudge in the right direction. Whether they choose to listen is, of course, up to them.

I haven't read that book, but I agree with you about Scorpius's relationship with his grandfather. Lucius has tried to instill the same prejudices in Scorpius that he preached to Draco. I think Scorpius might be a bit more insightful than his father, however. Plus he has the positive influences of his mother and his (older, wiser) grandmother. Unlike Draco, he's not just accepting Lucius's ideals without questioning them.

I really, really enjoyed writing that exchange between Draco and Scorpius. Since you've read Conspiracy of Blood, you know how things end up between Scorpius and Rose. Draco will have more than one "what have I done???" moment in this timeline.

Leaving the HPFF community seems a popular thing to do at the moment, whether or not people are completely leaving the fandom. But people have a tendency to find their way home. ;)

Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Carissa 

21st July 2016:
I absolutely love your writing style! 1. You remained true to the character of Draco but gave him the chance to grow and change in the manner HE would have. 2. You did a superb job creating the atmosphere that would have occurred after the war. 3. There was more to the story than Draco's search for love. Ladies love a good love story but most of the fics involving romance are too soppy or explicit without any real reason for the story to go on. I have found the best stories with the right balance of emotion come from male writers. I did not realize the author of this fiction was a man until I finished binge-reading it.
Thank you so much for writing this. I greatly enjoyed the possibility of this story being the back story to the look Draco and Harry shared at King's Cross.
I cannot wait to read your other material. Please never stop writing, it is obvious you have a gift for it!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really pleased that you liked the story, and especially pleased that you thought I kept the character true to the way he was in the books. That was important to me.

I'm also happy that the non-love story plot arc worked for you. I agree that love stories can get a little tired unless there's some other conflict to keep the characters engaged. I'm not sure why male authors manage this balance differently -- or even whether it's true all the time -- but it's great that you thought I got it right.

From the time I started writing, I was thinking about that moment between Harry and Draco in the Epilogue of Deathly Hallows. I wanted to add a little extra meaning to it if I could.

I'm very excited to see what you make of my other stories. I'd really appreciate any thoughts you'd like to share.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Crescent Moon  

17th February 2016:
I loved this story, so good! I can't wait to read more of your work!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pixileanin 

14th August 2015:
DAN!!

Seriously, what is wrong with me, having this last chapter sit out so long without any comments from me?? You know how Life decides that thereís TOO MUCH to do, and then you get swamped, and then when you get un-swamped, you forget what you were doing before you got swamped?

Anyway.

Ahh, the young Malfoy broods so expertly, and heís only what, eleven? Nice. I love how you smack Astoria with the reality of change. Even though she knows her upbringing was not something she should be wishing on her own child, there are aspects of it that she will look back on as comforting and familiar. I can feel that she fears the uncertainty with Scorpiusí situation, not having that long-standing tradition to buffer him. Thereís no way she can prepare him for the unknown. That would be worrisome to any mother.

You know, I have often wondered about this strange phenomenon that adults seem to think they can talk over the heads of children who are in the same room. It has been my experience that they listen to everything, so thereís no sense in pretending that a child wonít understand, at least on some level, whatís going on around them. And anyway, why would anyone want to raise someone who isnít aware? Iím glad that Scorpius is that astute and observant. It shouldnít just be a Slytherin trait. At eleven, if he hasnít picked up on the reality inside his own home, Iíd be questioning his intelligence.

Iím happy to see Dracoís growth in this story. Youíve done a fantastic job of showing how far heís come, and without completely giving him that unrealistic 180 turn in his attitude. Here, he only wants whatís best for his son, and you show that expertly. Ten points for restraint!

I love that you drew the parallels between Scorpiusí doubts and Albusí doubts in canon. He doesnít have that absolute certainty about where he belongs in the world, and heís going to have to figure things out for himself where heís going. Heís smart enough to know this, and Iím glad you gave him that edge, that worry. I think that if he continues to evaluate things instead of jumping to unreasonable conclusions, this Scorpius is going to turn out just fine.

Ah, you brat! Planting the seeds in his poor sonís head that he will no doubt take to. Subconscious suggestion is a very strong thing, but I canít say I blame him for playing the game. I really appreciate that the rivalry between Ron and Draco is still in full swing, but it has toned down to a tolerable level for now. Astoria has every right to hold a grudge, but sheís enough of a lady to probably concede if she has to at a future date.

Your ending is perfect. I love that you went back to the ďyesĒ line, after so many years. It resonates well for Draco and Astoriaís relationship up until this point, and then also into the future. Your stories are always so well-thought out and your themes are strong. Itís very admirable, and I completely enjoyed this story, even if it was about Draco Malfoy. :P

I want to write like you when I grow up.

Pix

Author's Response: Hi, Pix! You made it all the way to the end. Exciting!

If Scorpius broods well, it's because he's brooding on the hunched shoulders of brooding giants. Or something like that. I wanted to introduce a lot of ambiguity into his character. He *tries* to act the way that he thinks his father and grandfather want him to act. In my experience, this is how children who mostly grew up around adults often behave. But it is mostly an act, because he has a lot of his mother's and grandmother's sensitivity in him.

Astoria is somewhat afraid for her son because she doesn't know what his life is going to be like at Hogwarts and wealthy, aristocratic folks don't tend to like uncertainty. Or change.

Some kids are more aware of what's going on around them than others. Some of my cousins were totally oblivious. The Slytherin trait I was thinking of was more the fact that he was pretending not to listen.

When I started writing this, my goal was to have Draco become a **better** person without necessarily becoming a **good** person. Because I don't know that I'll ever buy into the notion of the latter, at least not until he's much, much older. He's still arrogant and prejudiced and more than a bit of a jerk, but he's realized that none of his prejudices are worth fighting, killing or dying over.

Ah, I'm glad you liked my inspiration for the epilogue. I wanted to show how the scene at King's Cross looked and sounded from the other end of the train platform. You're right, Scorpius will turn out just fine. It won't necessarily be an easy path, but it will end well.

Ha! I had to set the stage for all the ScoRose head canon in the world somehow. :p

I really liked the "yes" line. Now if I was really a mastermind at this, I would have worked it into CoB somehow. Hmmnn... maybe time for some ninja editing...

You already write better than me. Your Remus/Sirius story kind of proves that. And please don't grow up. I hear that stuff is for suckers.

Thanks for the sweet review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

11th June 2015:
ďGrandfather says that there are hardly any girls left who are suitable for me to marry.Ē

How is grandfather even alive at this point. Fine, wizards tend to live a longer life span but I thought old Lucius would kick the bucket by now.

There was no way he would make a spectacle of himself in front of their sort.

Uh. Bile in my throat. You know I really thought Draco would change. That he would be accepting, partially anyway. He sounds like a mini-me of Lucius and stuck in old ways, which I find very surprising. You can see very clearly the difference between Draco and Astoria but then at the same time theyíre one in the same.

in spite of your wishes and in spite of plain common sense, your mother and I wonít feel any differently about you.

Oh Draco, definitely wouldnít be voted father of the year. His interaction with Scorpius just seemedÖawkward. I donít know if he was trying to restrain him self that badly or if thatís how their relationship is. I wonder if they have a good relationship. I mean, you could sense how close Scorpius is with his grandparents and his mother. He seemed to be afraid of Draco more than anything. Worried to let him down but he was more worried about everyone else.

Draco just isnít a comforting character, odd since he can make fancy declarations to Astoria. Maybe itís just a male to male thing.

You have to laugh at him calling Rose cute. Like that doesnít foreshadow something (possibly).

I wonder, hereís my question for you, would you ever write a next generation story? I know youíve written most of the characters in Conspiracy and the kids show up in some one-shots, but a story where the main focus isnít the trio or Draco, does that cross your mind?

Author's Response: Oh, Deeds! I've come to the last review, which is sweet sorrow. I've enjoyed this all so much!

Lucius was still alive, but as you see a bit later, his health was in decline. In my mind, I imagined him gradually transitioning from having periods of confusion to having periods of lucidity. At this point in Scorpius's life, he was probably 50/50.

There are some things about Draco that I didn't want to change as I wrote this. Essential things that I think are engrained in his character and make him who he is. He will never stop being prejudiced against people who aren't like him, he simply doesn't believe that all witches and wizards are created equal. It's not a positive quality, but it's part of him and I think it would be disingenuous to change it.

No, Draco won't be Father of the Year. That said, I think he's come a pretty long way to be any sort of father at all. And he does think about what's best for Scorpius, although he thinks about it in different terms. As far as his relationship with Scorpius, I think he probably allowed his own relationship with Lucius to set expectations a little too much. Men have a hard time with such things. Trust me. ;)

Ha! Indeed it does foreshadow certain things. This story is set in the same timeline as Conspiracy of Blood, after all.

I don't know that I'd write a *purely* Next Generation story. Part of what I loved about CoB was that I could include the Next Gen characters -- even focus on them at times -- but not have them be the central focus of the story. If I was going to write a Next Gen story, the cast would have to be broad.

Deeds, thank you so much for sticking with this story and all of the love and feedback you've given me on it. It's always a pleasure and a privilege!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Alex 

23rd December 2014:
Wow that was really really really good!! The best compliment I can give you is that Draco felt just right. Most fics about Draco after the war either on this site or others are far far away from the original character that J.K Rowling developed. You made it feel right. Normally I don't read Draco Malfoy stories, because the character is mostly just wrong and that unnerves me. Thank you for a realistic Draco story and thank you that you're other stories gave me the trust in you as an author to read this great story.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

That's high praise, and I appreciate it. I tried really hard to keep Draco true to his book characterization in this. He was such a disposable character in the first five books, basically just a punching bag for the Trio who occasionally punched back. Then he started to become interesting in HBP. And the character really rounded out in DH when he wouldn't identify Harry for Bellatrix. As much as I could, I wanted to capture that very conflicted young man who was playing host to a constant battle between what he was raised to believe and what he wanted to become.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by DancingMooncalf 

4th October 2014:
Sorry that i waited till the very last chapter to leave a review, but i was simply too busy reading!
This was a very powerful and beautiful story with a lot of raw emotions that constantly kept me on my toes.
I loved every minute of it! I really did!
There character where very realistic and their development is great. I admire how you captured Draco's traumatised state of mind so well and how you made him deal with it all. I always wondered how he must have been after the whole ordeal witj the war was over and i think you did a womderful job in giving me an idea.
Thank you very much for such an exellent read!!
Maya

Author's Response: Hi! That's quite alright, I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. :)

More than anything, I wanted to capture the ugly reality of characters who had just survived a war. I don't really like post-war stories where everything turns to rainbows and kittens the minute Voldemort dies. The only way to do justice to these wonderfully complex characters, I think, is to allow then to struggle with their emotions and follow them through the healing process.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

-Dan


 Report Review

Review #10, by UnluckyStar57 

15th September 2014:
What's this? I've finally come to review the last chapter? Oh wow, it's been quite a while! :P

Well, this one certainly didn't disappoint me--and I knew that it wouldn't, considering that all the others were so fun to read. But seeing the Epilogue from Draco's perspective was really interesting and quite funny, so I'm going to have to say that this is one of my favorite chapters in this story. :)

As for this being a realistic scene from Draco's perspective, my answer is YES. I like how the scene began with Scorpius and all of his nervousness, unlike the actual DH epilogue (with Albus). It made everything a little more personal and expounded upon the relationship between Draco and Astoria (especially now that it's been a few years) and introduced Scorpius's character in a really brilliant way.

Ugh, Lucius is always going to be Lucius. That's never ever going to change, unfortunately, but I guess there's nothing anyone can do about it. I hate that he went and passed on his pureblood mania to Scorpius, but the kid is pretty smart. He seems like he has a good moral compass and a penchant for eavesdropping. Maybe he won't end up as prejudiced as his grandfather.

DRACO, YOU SCAMP!!! Okay, as a rule, I NEVER ship Scorose when they're only eleven--that's like forcing them into something that seems "inevitable" and that just isn't right. But Draco is doing all of the shipping in this chapter--and he's doing it for very devious reasons. SCOROSE IS NOW AN ALLIANCE TO SHOW THAT THE MALFOYS DON'T HATE THE WINNING SIDE. WHAT IS THIS?!?! Ugh, what a weirdo. If Scorpius DID run into Rose on that train, I hope that they at least became friends or enemies or frenemies before they started making kissy faces at each other.

That being said, are you writing a Scorose? What with your writing style and the overly cliched nature of the pairing, that would be an interesting experiment! But you know, it's probably better if you didn't...

While I didn't necessarily like Draco's initial response to Scorpius's question about getting Sorted, I did think that it was a very Draco thing for him to say. OF COURSE it never crossed his mind that his kid might not be in Slytherin--Draco was a Slytherin before the Hat even looked into his brain! But Scorpius might be different--I can definitely see something of a Ravenclaw or a Gryffindor in him from this chapter, and it would be rather interesting to see how Draco deals with having a son in a different House. (Despite his final response, I still think that he'll have a hard time of it if Scorpius doesn't become a Slytherin.)

Hahaha, Draco and Ron will NEVER be friends. Ever. Even if Rose and Scorpius get married as soon as they graduate from Hogwarts. Some rivalries never die, and Ron was always the stubborn sort. It made a lot of sense for Draco to have another go at picking on him, even if it was indirectly--through their children. It might not be the nicest form of revenge, but I suppose that's the point. :D

So, what's next? Are you going to write a sequel to this? Maybe a one-shot with Scorpius's Sorting? (I'm kind of curious to learn what House he's Sorted into.) Or maybe even *gasp* a noncliche, action/adventure Scorose?!

Whatever it might be, I'm sure it'll be awesome. This story certainly was, and although most of this review concentrates on Scorpius/all the drama surrounding the Next Generation, I can't forget how this story made me think about Draco a little differently. This is character development/evolution at its finest. Bravo to you, Dan! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Wow, the last chapter! Such sweet sorrow.

In a weird way, this one was my favorite, too. Which may or may not be a good thing, since the subject matter of this one isn't really part of the main plot. It was neat to see Draco all grown up and watching Scorpius's life play out in front of him.

Poor Scorpius has some difficult times ahead of him. His parents and grandparents have gone to great lengths to shelter him from the ugliness of the world outside, which is similar in some ways to how the Potters raised their children. But the underlying reasons are very different, and Scorpius didn't have a hoard of cousins and close family friends to play with.

You're right, there's no stopping Lucius from being Lucius. You can only hope to minimize the damage, which is what Astoria, and to a lesser extent Draco, have worked to do. And it isn't as though Lucius was a completely negative influence. Scorpius will understand his roots and his family history very well.

Draco's sole purpose in mentioning Rose to Scorpius was to try to torment Ron. In Draco's mind, Scorpius might take Rose to Hogsmeade someday or perhaps snog her in a broom closet. He never, ever expected it to go farther than that. In the end, Draco's devious little plan backfired on both Ron and Draco.

Would I write a Scorpius/Rose story? Well, one idea has occurred to me. We'll see...

Draco sort of fumbles his way through the conversation about Scorpius's sorting, but he ends up at the right place. In my personal head canon, Scorpius does end up in Slytherin, but it wasn't a sure thing.

I really can't see myself writing a pure sequel to this story. I've written Draco and Astoria so much. Frankly, I'm a bit burned on the two of them. But I'm sure they'll pop up from time to time in other stories. And my idea for a story with Scorpius and Rose is definitely action-based. :)

Thank you so much for all of your awesome reviews on my story! It's been a pleasure and I've loved every one!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Veritaserum27 

14th September 2014:
Hello, hello!

I made it to the last chapter. I'm so sad right now :(

Loved this. Loved it, loved it. The parallels are absolutely brilliant. First off, we have the tie in from chapter one of PS - Draco's thoughts on their sort of people reminded me of Vernon Dursley's thoughts about the Potters. Then it extends to the "wrong sort of people" and we see that Lucius has not changed his ways. Although, given his condition, he may now be at a point where he flat out doesn't remember the Second Wizarding War and is pushing his old-school Pure Blood prejudices on his grandson.

As a side note, you've brilliantly characterized the relationship between Scorpius and Lucius without him even making an appearance in the chapter - pure genius. Lucius obviously dotes on Scorpius and they are clearly really close, as is evidenced by his disappointment that his grandfather is too sick to accompany him to his first trip on the Hogwarts Express.

My favorite parallel is the insecurity of the two boys (Albus and Scorpius) at being sorted. Harry handled it much, much better. Draco had to do some backpedalling, but came out fairly unscathed.

I love your characterization of Scorpius. He's been sheltered and has grown up in an adult world, with little exposure to other kids. Hogwarts is going to be a shock, to say the least. It seems appropriate that he isn't as confident or arrogant as his father was at that age, but he still retains the reserve and a bit of his cunning nature.

I find it interesting that Astoria still holds a grudge against Ron for the arrest attempt at Greengrass Manor - is this yet another parallel because Ron is forever going to hold a grudge against Malfoy for Hermione's torture at Malfoy Manor? Hmmm... very clever indeed, Dan.

One tiny typo:

"Yes, I want to be in Slytherin. But what it the hat puts me in a different house? What will Grandfather say?"

I think you mean: ...what if the hat puts me in a different house...

The only thing that struck me as really odd in this chapter is when Draco suggested that Rose was cute. I know that he's only doing it to see if anything takes hold in an attempt to irritate Ron, but I'm having a hard time imagining that he would even entertain the idea of his son and Rose being a couple - especially given his and Astoria's distaste for Ron. It worked really well for the story and was a great way to segue into the next phase of Draco and Astoria's life.

Weasley's daughter seems a bit... delicate to me.

I see what you did there - very clever. Although I have to admit, I'm not a huge fan of that story (**hides behind couch to avoid being hit**). I know it's headcanon for most people. If you want the full version of my explanation, I'll send it to you in a PM, but for right now, I'll just say that part of my reasoning has to do with an "occupational hazard" for me.

But I can say that this story is now my headcanon for Draco/Astoria. It was awesome, entertaining at every turn and really made me understand Draco, Astoria, Narcissa and Purebloods at another level. While most writers are either brilliant or entertaining, you manage to capture both of those with each and every chapter. Thanks for sharing your gift.

On to Harry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

One thing I love about you reviewing my stories -- and I wonder whether you feel the same way -- is that you see parallels to the books in places where I never even thought about it. So of course my reaction is something like, "Oh, really? I mean, yes! Yes, of course I meant to do that..."

Draco still sees the world as cleanly divided between "the right sort" and "the wrong sort", he's just learned that expressing that point of view carries a cost. He's paid it extensively in his life and he doesn't want to see Scorpius pay it as well. It's not that so much that Draco's values have changed, he's simply realized that some opinions aren't worth acting on.

I thought a lot about giving Lucius a brief appearance, but I found that having the ideals of the old Lucius Malfoy looming over things had a lot more effect than having him appear and be a shadow of his former self. Lucius and Scorpius are very close, having spent a lot of time together as the boy grew up. He's filled Scorpius's head with a lot of ideas that will cause him problems in a few years. Astoria has tried hard to counteract the worst of those thoughts without being openly disrespectful to her father-in-law.

Scorpius is in for some big shocks at Hogwarts, not least being a certain dark-haired, green-eyed boy who gets sorted into Slytherin with him and changes what he thinks about a lot of things. There is a lot of Draco in him, but also a lot of his mother.

I don't think of Astoria's hostility toward Ron as being a parallel to anything so much as it's simply her protective nature where Draco's concerned and her unwillingness to suffer fools kindly. Ron was definitely being an idiot after the fight at the Greengrass home.

Thanks for pointing out that typo. I'll patch that up!

Draco is trying to torment Ron when he suggests that Rose is cute, nothing more. Little does he know... I get that Delicate isn't for everyone. But I enjoyed it and I liked including that small shout-out.

Thank you so much for the compliments on this story! I started it as a challenge entry and a gift to a friend and it really took on a life of its own. I probably won't be able to find the love to write Draco and Astoria again for a while, but they're definitely one of my favorite pairings.

Hugs!
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #12, by Roisin 

28th July 2014:
OH MY GOD THIS WAS ALL JUST AN ELABORATE PREQUEL TO "DELICATE"!

This epilogue was brilliant. I love that Draco still has his prejudices; hatred, oppression, ethnic violence--these wounds sometimes take generations to heal. You did a brilliant job setting it up, though, where Scorpius could turn out tolerant.

The way you managed to fill in the gaps between the potter books and their epilogue was amazing. You really brought a lot of life to Ron's remaining resentments, Harry and Draco's tepid mutual respect.

AND SETTING UP A SCORPIUS/ROSE SHIP AS A SLYTHERIN MANEUV. AH!

Also, I really like Draco's speech about Scorpius' sorting--mostly, because it was a bit lacking. I really commend your crafting this love story where we care so much about the characters, yet they remain imperfect. Astoria never gives us reason to believe she ever took issue with her father's sense of blood superiority, nor moved beyond petty power plays over tiaras. Draco remains narrow minded, manipulative, and all of the rest. But they love eachother, and they love their son, and they aren't hurting anyone, so we can love them too. That's quite a tough tightrope to walk, and you managed it flawlessly.

This was a jewel of a story.

Author's Response: Ha! Shhh! Nobody tell padfoot4ever that I wrote a prequel to his/her story. ;)

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it. I knew from a very early point in writing this story that I wanted to do this epilogue, but I've always felt a bit unsure about how it really relates to the rest. Scorpius has a lot of his father's family, but he has his mother's heart. That, I think, turns out to be the difference.

I was probably ninety percent of the way done writing the epilogue when the idea hit me to have Draco "set the stage" for Scorpius pursuing Rose as a way to torment Ron. The beauty of it, at least to me, is that not even Draco believes it's going to work. It was a very Slytherin move, but it backfires on him in the end.

It's so strange you should say that about Draco's speech. I had a much more profound version in an early draft and I changed it. It didn't sound right at all coming from him. I think this version captures the essence of Draco trying hard to say and do the right things in spite of the fact that he was raised to believe the exact opposite. Making that speech was a very unnatural act for him.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you for all of the wonderful, encouraging and insightful reviews on Detox. You have no idea how much they mean to me.

-Dan


 Report Review

Review #13, by jazzercise 

10th June 2014:
This story was so amazing. You captured the broken Draco character and the struggling new Wizarding society perfectly! I LOVE how you have both Astoria and Draco having issues with Ron...that sets up a very nice Romeo/Juliet thing for their children, haha! But I also really enjoy how Ron, true to JKs version of him, remained stubborn and prejudice, with Draco being the one to change his ways, at least somewhat. I wouldn't want my child ending up like Lucius either!

Hands down this is one of my favorite stories that I've read on this site, and it's been...8 years since I found HPFF? Fantastic job!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I really appreciate all of the kind words. This was the second novel that I wrote on HPFF and it was really challenging at times. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed it!

Shameless plug: If you like Draco and Astoria as they're portrayed here, you might also enjoy my other novel, Conspiracy of Blood. It's set many years after Detox, but I think Astoria and Draco are portrayed very similarly. You won't see them until chapter 6, though.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by mischiefalwaysmanaged 

27th May 2014:
I recntly read two novel fanfictions on this sight by a user with the penname "Padfoot4ever" called "Delicate" and "Still delicate". Was there perhaps a wee little reference to that in this last chapter? :}
Anyways, I really enjoyed reading "Detox"! I'll be checking you out in a minute to read anything else you might have written.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

There was definitely a wee, little tip of the hat to Delicate there. It's one of my favorite stories on this site.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

21st March 2014:
Scorpius, joining the ranks of Malfoy... Hopefully doing a better job even with the facade. I don't like it when he sad. ;( *hugs him* I don't care if he doesn't like it, I'm hugging him.

He sounds like such a lonely boy. He sounds like me, except he may not like it as much as I do (but I had good reason). I want to see Scorpius Malfoy smile. I hope he makes good friends (and if it follows the same world as Conspiracy of Blood, I think he'll be okay eventually, with Rose and Octavia... Does it?)

Sometimes, I think Lucius Malfoy should not talk to people.

Astoria seems like such an awesome mum. It would be cool to see them together as a family. That would be interesting.

Ha! Go Astoria, I wouldn't forgive Ron if I were her either. I'll kick him for her. ;)

Draco's answer to Scorpius about the Houses was... perfect. And with enough of the old Draco to know what they all wanted, even if he didn't ultimately care because he loved his family more. I loved that.

Playing dirty. I love that, too. Now watch as Draco's words come back to bite him. :P

I loved this story so much, Dan! And I'm so glad I finished it, but I'm so sad it's over and I need more! So, I think I'll go stalk your Author Page again... I mean, now... No, I mean again. :D

Sam.

Author's Response: Ah, Sam! The end is such sweet sorrow. I want you to know how much I've enjoyed reading all of your thoughts and reactions as you made your way through this story. It's been a treat and I am grateful.

Poor little Scorpius, off into the big, uncaring world. Don't worry, he'll do alright in the end. This story is part of the same timeline as Conspiracy of Blood, so you know how it all turns out. It won't always be fun for him, but fortunately he meets another awkward boy from a famous family...

Lucius is Lucius. His healthy is declining, his influence is gone and he's not always able to differentiate past from present. But Scorpius still admires him and loves him in that weird, stiff, standoffish Malfoy way.

I think Astoria would have been a tremendous mother. She's dedicated, loving, smart and funny. What's not to like?

I thought long and hard to fine-tune Draco's response, so I'm really, really pleased that you liked it. Believe me, it went through a lot of iterations. He's such a complicated character. But he does love his family, more than anything.

Yes, he still plays dirty, especially where Ron is concerned. But like you said, his master plan backfires in the end.

I couldn't be happier! Thank you so much for all of the thoughtful, funny and encouraging reviews!


 Report Review

Review #16, by DraculoraMalfoy11 

7th January 2014:
Words cannot describe how much I love this. This is officially my head canon on how Astoria and Draco got together. 10 million/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words! I really appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by MissesWeasley123 

4th December 2013:
Gosh, I can't believe I finally checked the box. I checked the box.

I feel like crying because this was so good. Or maybe I'm being an annoying female with raging emotions. Nevertheless, this epilogue was perfect, right from the start.

I almost died when you started with your infamous disclaimer, but this time, it was the last time. Man, this review is tough to write.

I think you showed Astoria's growth throughout this story brilliantly. It was so intense, the way she matured throughout the chapters. From that teenage girl who thinks about kisses with her friend (who I'm very happy to know didn't do some rotten thing to their relationship. I guess it's safe to like her now, after all - she was funny) to the girl who figured out what it meant to be in true love, the eternal kind. This last chapter, I loved it a lot, because we got to experience her motherhood and her fears and hopes for Scorpius. She still had her hardcore side we've seen of her whenever Draco does something rather stupid, but also that motherly love. I just loved it so much.

What annoyed me most was that Draco wasn't able to stop his father from messing with Scorpius' brain. It angered me because I hoped Draco would at least try to shield his kid from all that pure blood supremacy. But he couldn't, and I guess I understand that. It was a nice touch, I must admit, and you gave excellent insight as to what kind of a boy Scorpius was. Draco and Astoria by no means have failed as parents, in fact, Lucius has failed as a grandparent. As a reader I saw that though Scorpius had some wrong ideas planted by Lucius, he still had that innocence and fright of what house he might be sorted into.

If that was a Delicate reference... Oh god. Brilliant.

And you crushed all my feels again with that last line! It was too perfect. So amazing, and I am stunned at the perfection this novel was.

Very rarely do I ever get through a fic and manage to read and review every chapter, but this was one I knew I had to. It deserves every review it has, and the praise it's received. You are such a great writer.

The way this has flowed is breathtaking. It all fits together like a puzzle. This isn't a story, it's a story. Do you get what I mean? It's more than just words.

Dude, no need to thank me. Actually, thank you.

Great work as always, hope to see you writing more stories soon!

Author's Response: Oh, Nadia! We've come to the end at last. Bittersweet...

I like my disclaimer, especially the "end of a long story" edition. I'm glad it had that ring for you.

Draco and Astoria both did a lot of growing up in this story, in different ways. Astoria was very much a teenage girl at the beginning, smitten with the idea of Draco as this reclamation project. Now in the epilogue we see her as a grown woman and a mother who has the perspective to understand what awaits her son in the real world. I'm glad that you didn't end up completely loathing Isadore. I think she served a purpose. Again, if you want to see Astoria being **really** hardcore, check out Conspiracy of Blood. She has some pretty tough moments in that one.

I don't think that Draco would have been able to draw any clean lines where it came to little Scorpius learning things from old Lucius. The things that Draco would have approved of -- family history, certain values, the proper manner for a young pureblood gentleman to conduct himself -- are so tightly intertwined with the "undesirable" aspects of Lucius's personality. On the whole, I think Draco believes that Lucius was a positive influence on Scorpius, just with a few unwanted tangents. Draco *does* still believe in the superiority of pureblood witches and wizards, he just no longer believes that it's worth fighting wars over.

That was indeed a tip of the hat to Delicate. You're the only one who's commented on that so far. ;)

I struggled a lot to come up with a good ending, so I'm really glad you liked it.

I am so incredibly happy that you stuck with the story all the way to the end. Readers like you are the ones that inspire me to keep trying to get better and explore new ideas. Thank you so much for all of the support and enthusiasm and lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Courtney Dark 

20th November 2013:
Oh, I'm so sad that this story is over! I really, really enjoyed it and will definitely miss looking for the updates (even though I was about four chapters behind, but that's okay!)

I think this was the absolutely perfect way to end this novel, even though it has kinda made me really eager to know more about this time period and how Scorpius gets on at school. But alas, I must ease my curiosity.

Scorpius was adorable. Just saying. I mean, he definitely had all these Slytherin-ish traits that he'd clearly developed from his father, and you could definitely see that his grandfather was a huge (and not necessarily positive) influence of his life, but he just seemed so innocent with his books and broomstick!

I laughed when Draco said that the Weasley girl was cute. If Ron had heard him say that, he'd probably have tried to hex him, even though the comment wasn't even insulting. And I love that Astoria and Draco's relationship is still strong, after all these years.

Awesome story and awesome last chapter. And I NEED TO GET BACK INTO CoB! Gah, time keeps slipping through my fingers!

I shall be back...

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney!

I'm a little sad that it's over, too. Also feeling kind of relieved, in a way. Whenever I start a long project, I always have that nagging little fear that I'm not going to finish.

I've never written a pure "Next Gen" story, so maybe the tale of how Scorpius does in his first year of school would be a good one to try. I'll file it with all of the other ideas I'd like to pursue at some point. I'm glad you like my rendition of him. I do think of him as a very sheltered, innocent boy. His bad influences were much more limited than the ones that Lucius exposed Draco to. But he has learned some of the same prejudices.

Draco was specifically hoping that Scorpius would befriend and possibly try to date Rose, just to torment Ron. Of course, he doesn't think there's any chance that such a relationship could ever work. So in the end, his plan backfires. ;)

Thank you so much for all of the support and encouragement along the way. It means a great deal to me, and I really look forward to seeing more of your thoughts and reactions on CoB. Happy reading!

-Dan


 Report Review

Review #19, by Sharvi 

14th November 2013:
Aah, I kind of wish this wasn't the end. The way you wrote the last part it seemed like a perfect way into a short sequel Maybe a one shot after Rose and Scorpius graduate? =P Lol, but seriously I've become invested in the characters you've created and I will miss your Astoria and Draco terribly.

Scorpius is like the perfect pureblood prince I expected him to be. Even though he seems to be influenced by Lucius I think that what Draco told him about taking his time to judge someone will stick with him. After all that Weasley girl is rather cute isn't she? ;) Oh and when I read the scene in DH when Albus is worried about being in Slytherin I thought that he would be in it. And I wonder, because here Scorpius is worried about not getting into Slytherin do you think he gets sorted somewhere else?

Also the entire scene Draco fighting with himself and that way he's supposed to act as his son leaves versus how he wants to act is so true to Draco's character. How he envies Astoria is so cute too! Haha! And Astoria still hates Ron? Lol! The small details about how pureblood society isn't what it used to be and how very few have the upbringing Scorpius did are in the perfect places and keep reminding us how things have changed after the War.

But that ending!! *sigh* I kept re-reading it because it was so beautiful. Funnily I had some classical music playing the background just then. Haha, talk about perfect timing! To think that Draco is still happy about the fact that Astoria agreed to marry him just makes me all warm and gooey inside.

Blah, I don't even have the words to express how I feel right now! I loved reading this story and I hope to read more of your (absolutely AH-MAY-ZING) work =D

Author's Response: Hello, again!

First off, thank you so much for being such a dedicated and supportive reader. It means the world to me, and it definitely made the process of writing Detox more fulfilling. Perhaps there will be some little one-shots related to this story, but I think I've written all of the novel-length Draco stories I have in me. You never say never, but it's close.

Scorpius isn't quite as brainwashed by his grandfather as he might seem at first blush. He knows that the old man is living on borrowed time, so to speak, so it's very important to Scorpius not to let him down. He's immensely loyal to his family, although perhaps not so much to the family's ideals.

The scene in King's Cross was meant to be a parallel to the scene with Harry and Albus. I was hoping to convey that even though the Malfoys have a different background and different ideals, there are parts of the experience that transcend blood status. In my mind, Scorpius does get sorted into Slytherin, even though he would have done well in Ravenclaw. The hat can sense the Malfoy traits in him, so it basically gives him the choice.

Draco does envy the closeness between his wife and son in ways that he would never publicly admit. He wasn't raised to be doting and affectionate; Lucius is the only father figure he's ever known, although I doubt his grandfathers -- Cygnus and Abraxas -- were any different. He *does* turn into a very doting grandfather for Scorpius and Rose's children, however. You'll have to read Conspiracy of Blood to find out about that, though. ;)

I'm so pleased that you liked the ending. I argued with myself a lot about that part. They both do end up very happy, at least until Scorpius falls in love with Rose.

Again, thank you so much for all of the lovely reviews. They were appreciated immensely!


 Report Review

Review #20, by patronus_charm 

13th November 2013:
AH! I am literally so excited to read this chapter because Iíve really grown to like Astoria and Draco a lot ever since I began reading this. Then I hope youíll have some new project lined up which will give me a chance to fangirl over your work again, and if not, it will give me an excuse to finally read CoB (it will happen someday)! Iíve just enjoyed every chapter of it and the writing has been flawless, and I will end it here because Iíll just spend the time fangirling rather than talking about the chapter, so here we go!

The scene between Astoria and Scorpius was really wonderful. I thought you showed her position as a mother brilliantly and the transition from her a child to this was really seamless. I liked that worried, attentive edge about her when she thought about Scorpius as it just made it so much more natural. Then her comments about this generation being one lost to the history was really poignant and really made me want to know how much they had been affected by what Voldemort had done.

Scorpius was slightly chilling in the way Lucius was trying to manipulate him into the next Muggleborn hating member of the family. I liked the way you showed he had a different side to him with the way he openly questioned what his grandfather said to his mother as it gave me some hope he would be different.

The emphasis on magic when travelling to Platform Nine and Three Quarters and when they approached was a really excellent touch. It really reminded me why Harry and I were so mesmerised when we first read that scene and why everyone fell in love with Hogwarts so being able to see the next generation appreciate that too was really great. Another small sort of related note was that I liked how Dracoís thoughts towards Muggles were neither negative nor positive (though positive would be better), just this mutual ground really showed how he had changed.

The mirror conversation about the house choice was really great and made me really curious about what your head canon of Scorpius is. Then the way Scorpius was so quick to change the Weasley/Potter clan too, it was just so brilliant and Iím not even sure why. I think Iíve just always wanted to know what the Malfoys were doing at that point and now I do I feel as if Iím in on the biggest secret ever.

The Rose/Scorpius hint Ė oh man, I may have just died. It was perfect.

Thank you for the lovely shout-out, it has been a real pleasure to read this novel and I really canít wait to read more of your things! Thanks for writing something so brilliant! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi, Kiana!

I'm not sure what I'll tackle next, or when. It seems like every new project I attack goes slower and slower. Not really sure why that is, but those are the breaks, I guess.

I'm glad you felt like Astoria aged realistically. One of the hardest things about writing this story was reminding myself just how young she really was. I struggled to keep her distinct from the Astoria in CoB, who was in her early 60's with grandchildren. Here, at least, I got to age her a bit, although still not quite to the age where I always tend to think of her.

Ugh. If there's one thing I feel kind of unsure about -- and your review and Ral's both hit on this point -- it's whether I made Scorpius sound **too much** like he's bought into all of Lucius's prejudices. Lucius was definitely a big influence on him growing up, but he also realizes that the old man is a bit out of step with the times. Maybe I'll work on that at some point.

I wanted to show differences and similarities between Harry and Albus's journey to King's Cross versus Draco and Scorpius's. The way they choose to travel is definitely different, but both boys are plagued by some of the same self-doubts. And they both end up reassuring their sons in similar ways. Certain things about the father-son dynamic are independent of blood status and politics.

Ha! I enjoyed throwing in the little Rose/Scorpius hints as well as the mention of "Delicate". It's all about the small things...

Ah, Kiana! Thank you so much for all of the support and enthusiasm along the way, as well as just being your awesome self! It means a lot to know that people are enjoying something you're doing. Until next story!


 Report Review

Review #21, by MissMdsty 

12th November 2013:
Oh Dan! Where do I begin?

I begin by saying I know I haven't reviewed chapter 15, but I just had to get the feelings out for this. The last chapter of Detox.

It was perfect!

I loved how you described little Scorpius, who was so similar to Lucius that it gave me the creeps. It's really something that makes you think about how certain things skip a generation. And I never thought that Scorpius could have that mentality so I loved how, as always, you made me think about things.

The second part, from Draco's POV. I loved the parallels with the original epilogue, how Scorpius still had that little fear that all kids have when going to Hogwarts. And the fact that Draco had second thoughts about how his son would deal in such a world. Also, the fact that the thought of him fighting with Rose and James and Albus as making powerful enemies. That just made my day.

It was such a heartwarming chapter and the ending was absolutely perfect! This has been such a lovely journey and I enjoyed discovering Draco through your writing so much! Thank you for that! And thank you for the mention in the AN.

Again, congratulations on completing this wonderful story and I'm curios to see what you cook up next!

Author's Response: Hi, Ral!

There are feelings all around. It felt good on one level to say that I made it, but also a bit sad.

Scorpius has definitely been influenced by his grandfather, but he's a little too smart to take everything that Lucius says at face value. Scorpius had a very sheltered childhood, so he's very close to everyone in his family. Don't worry, his mentality will change a great deal after he arrives at Hogwarts. ;)

That's mainly what I was going for: showing the events of the Epilogue from a different point of view. Scorpius's fears are almost exactly the same as Albus's, and Draco's approach ends up being very similar to Harry's. Draco does think of things in very political terms, even school rivalries.

I'm so pleased that you've been there to take that journey with me. Thank you for all of the feedback and support along the way!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review