Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by WriteThisLife 

27th June 2017:
Hey there! I'm not logged in, but I thought I'd leave a review - this story is so stinking good. Really!

Not much else to say :)

Can't wait to read it all! xx have a great day!

Author's Response: ahhh thank you so, so much! i hope the rest doesn't disappoint! xox

 Report Review

Review #2, by scintillated 

19th February 2017:
i swear i've read this chapter like 50 times?? yet somehow every time i feel like reading a fanfic i end up back here?? this is definitely in my top ten favorite next gen fanfics (probably top ten) and you deserve like over a thousand reviews, definitely. now here is why i love it so much:

1) effy??? she is such a great character - and i don't mean person, i mean character, which is all a testament to your writing skills - she is brilliant and she has her virtues and her flaws. and it's important that you see both; oftentimes, in fanfictions that i read, the character's flaw is something that is kind of glaring and obvious, and there's only like one? but here, effy kind of creeps up on you, like especially her negatives.

2) this is specific to this chapter - just how many characters. i know how often, that a whole ensemble is just off putting, but it sends off the whole school-vibe? like i have like 500 acquaintances, and we gossip about each other and talk occasionally, and putting it into a story just makes it all just that much more realistic. plus they're all so vivid and full of life - like in this chapter alone, you already see a hint into lara, into danny, into mikey. you've given every single person a somewhat complex personality, which is tough to do in a novel of this proportion.

3) JAMES & EFFY. but i'll go in deeper on that in another review or something so i don't spoil anything.

4)"It was that time of year again, that time when golden amber leaves litter the ground, crunching under every step, and trees became exotic shades of crimson red, burnt orange, alien yellow." this opening sentence is just one example of your brilliant writing. it's absolutely enrapturing, i hope you know that? i aspire to write like you someday - even in first person, which i don't even like all that much, you somehow manage to weave your sentences together in such an interesting way! especially your descriptions of setting- they set the scene so well, and your metaphor usage, is well, on point.

overall, this chapter was amazing, just like your other ones! in my last review, i forgot to congratulate you on your dobby nomination, it is completely and utterly deserved. and yes, i have read this story about 500 times, but this time i'm going to go and review every chapter, because i am so shocked that this doesn't have more than it does?? also this is like 500 words i'm going to stop now haha

Author's Response: wowowow what an amazing, amazing thing to wake up to! thank you so, so much for this absolute present of a review, what a gift, thank you! where do i begin?! i'm speechless!

firstly: i am so, so glad you like effy. i personally cannot stand first person narrative that will go "i am notoriously bad-tempered" or "everyone knows i am selfish"; i think it is the writer's responsibility to show it more implicitly, show it through actions and thoughts rather than huge introductory statements so THANK you i am so glad you think i did a relatively good job of it!! means a lot a lot a lot.

and ahhh once again you've highlighted something that i worked really quite hard on in FA - the quantity of characters! because you're right, you're so right, the average person's school social isn't compromised just of the 'best friend' and the 'hot crush': it is the people in your classroom, the characters in a school year, those on your sports team, your friends and your closer friends... that sense of community and being constantly surrounded by people and characters was one of my favourite things about school and i really tried to create a sense of it in FA! so thanks again ahhh!!

god. this whole review has been so so lovely and so assuring to my not-so-hot ego as i've been stuck at this plot line for the next chapter for WEEKS now. it's totally made my day- my week, even- and i cannot thank you enough. you rock, you're an absolute bona fide rock star and all i can do is thank thank thank you! thank you! xoxox all my love


 Report Review

Review #3, by blackballet 

16th January 2017:
This is so great! I love the characterizations, although I'm still having a little trouble with the names (I'm sure that will come with time). There are a couple of mistakes as well (terrorises where it should actually say terrifies) but nothing that is unintelligible. Overall, this is a really nice chapter and I can't wait for more!

blackballet

Author's Response: hahaha thank you so so much! yeah, i'm totally aware that the overload of characters can be quite overwhelming & even off-putting, so thanks so much for persevering! it was just super important for me to create an atmosphere of loads of students, a heavy, heaving school social environment, even from the first chapter. thanks again for leaving such a helpful review ! xox

 Report Review

Review #4, by medea33 

15th June 2016:
I'm laughing so much at the "omg why am I not on the Ravenclaw quidditch team", Oscar I love you I need him in my life!! I'm crazy about this fanfiction already, my friend Harriet told me to read it and I wasn't too sure because oc's aren't really my thing but this is such a lively idea full of characters with actual spunk like I actually want to know these people and I really dig the trio of effy Oscar and aspen. Lovely name choices too and you've picked the perfect model for effy! Just how I picture her. What a wonderful combination of banter, character, potential romance and genuinely good environmental descriptions this chapter was. I loved how as well the beef between effy and James was different to how most fanfictions write it. It's "my hands" not these, what a clever witty and different approach to their initial fight you have made, not only does it come in conjunction to effys Ravenclaw nature but it also reveals to me that as gorgeous as he is, James potter is also flawed and that is the sounds of an amazing story to come.
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this I will try to leave a review on every few chapters!!

Author's Response: ahhh hahaha this chapter was written three years ago! i'm thrilled you're entertained by it, but it's so awful- you inspired me to re-edit the early chapters of my fifteen year old writings! but no, thanks so, /so/ much- i'm super stoked you're enjoying it, genuinely, and this review put such a smile on my face.

and yesss! three cheers for taylor hill. i follow her on instagram- my friends and i are obsessed, one of our favourite angels- and it's so funny how she almost has this double life in my head of supermodel and then also. my fanfiction oc? hahaha.

this review was the loveliest thing, and i hope you enjoy the rest of the story- and aren't too put off by my god-awful 2013 writing! you're the best, i'm still smiling. lots of love ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore 

6th March 2016:
Hi there! I'm here reviewing for the HPFF Fundraiser. I have to admit that this one's been in my favourites list for quite a while and I've been terrible, reading and not reviewing because I've not had time, but I thought it was about time to fix that!

I think the first thing that really struck me with this chapter is how brilliant your characters are. For the first chapter of any novel, it's usually quite hard to get to know the people in it, but here I already feel like I know the characters. Effie's voice comes through so strongly, but you've also managed to avoid including too much of the sarcastic internal monologue that I think often happens in this type of story (not that it's necessarily a bad thing, but I just think not doing that here makes it stand out a little more) and your cast so far are great.

Oscar is brilliant! It's fantastic to see some of the diversity in our society reflected in stories, and it's nice to get some of the back story to them too, and I like the fact that his friends were supportive of him when he came out as gay, too. It makes such a difference to have friends like that. Aspen seems quite different to Effie and I'm intrigued about their friendship, and I loved the introduction of James Potter, too!

Sian :)
For the HPFF Review-A-Thon

 Report Review

Review #6, by DobbyLover 

13th December 2015:
This was more than all right and to be honest I really enjoyed it. By the way, there's a book with a protagonist of the name Dahlia Moss and I thought the coincidence was rather amusing.
Again, I enjoyed your fanfic quite a bit! :)

Author's Response: oh i had no idea, what's the book called?! i'm so glad you liked it- thanks for reviewing!! xxx

 Report Review

Review #7, by The Peanuts Movie 

28th November 2015:
Oscar is a beautiful cupcake that must be protected. And I love Effy like I already love her

Author's Response: hahahaha! i'm so glad you like effy. thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by nextgenluna 

26th October 2015:
hahahaha, i'm obsessed with this fic already. love it. (love oscar and aspen the most!!!)

Author's Response: i'm so happy you like it! the first few chapters NEED revision (can't believe it's been two years since i wrote them...)- let me know what you think of the rest!! xxx

 Report Review

Review #9, by Manda95 

19th July 2015:
Just started reading this. This first chapter is absolute brilliance. The sass and the language is incorporated so nicely. Its love at first sight for me. Going to continue reading now :)

Author's Response: hey! thank you so much for reading and additionally reviewing- i cannot believe you actually like the first chapter! i haven't touched it in ages, it's probably awful. i love how you're reading from the beginning, it's been two years since i wrote it ahahah!
thanks again for reviewing. hopefully you like the other chapters too! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Vixenpenn 

1st June 2015:
Just started reading this and I'm leaving a review because, god, it's really well written!

Also I love Oscar. He's my spirit animal and I'm only one chapter in, so I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: hey! thank you so much for reading; i'm so glad that you like it and omg your compliments! ahhh! thank you! you're too kind. i hope the rest of the story doesn't disappoint!
thanks again for reviewing xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by silverashes 

27th May 2015:
Where can I find an Oscar, please and thank you? Literally what more in life could I possibly ask for? Absolutely brilliant story so far. I adore all of the characters. You had me laughing out loud. I really, really like Effy. She's a little spit-fire. I can't wait to read on!

xx Rachel

Author's Response: hey rachel! my middle name is rachel! twins or what?!
oscar was inspired by my close friend ethan so whenever people compliment him i'm half like omg yay go ethan/oscar but also kind nooo i stole him? like he's not really my character? idk man but i'm so happy you like him!!
i'm even happier you like fluorescent adolescent though- especially effy. thanks so so much, thanks infinitely for your kind words rachel! ♥ you rock


 Report Review

Review #12, by ilybabes 

12th May 2015:
aah love this story so far (i've only just started reading) and the title too :)) really great writing, both with descriptions and dialogue

Author's Response: i'm so glad you're liking this! hope the rest doesn't disappoint. thanks for reviewing xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hazel Black 

9th May 2015:
I love this story so far! I really like how all the characters have such different, defined personalities. Great work :)

Author's Response: ah so crazy how you've reviewed- been meaning to read pureblood for AGES. hope you enjoy the rest, thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Year+O 

18th April 2015:
Love the name of this chapter and the name effy!! That's my sisters name lol I've never heard anyone use it before
Really good chapter btw Oscar is really funny "i love her I hate her" got me
Can't wait to read the rest I can tell I'm going to enjoy it a lot

Author's Response: ahaha i love the name effy! really want to name my eldest daughter elizabeth just so that can be a potential nickname hahaha. i'm so happy you're enjoying it! xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by MissMoneypenny 

28th October 2014:
oh my god oh my god oh mY GOD
I LOVE THIS
no but seriously i love effy i love oscar i love mikey i love aspen i lOVE EVERYONE. (alright, i'll try to slip into coherency from now on.) your characterisation was wonderful; all the characters already have a definitive (and rly amazing) voice and i want to know more about everyone. even dalia. she sounds intriguing.
it was the perfect length, too; not too long, not too short, nicely extended. the title is fab and don't get me started on thE DIALOGUE - "i hate her but i love her. she's like miley. or ugg boots. or the current british coalition. i love her." POLTICAL REFERENCES POP CULTURE REFERENCES WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE
anyway. i apologise for the disturbing amount of capital letters in this review but in short i really love your story. a lot. ilu bye

Author's Response: i looove you so much thanks for this absolutely gorgeous review im actually blushing on the tube as i read this?! you are just too kind, and i'm speeding through the next chapter just for you- i hope it doesnt disappoint!

 Report Review

Review #16, by hedera 

6th July 2014:
I've been following this story for quite a long time (in all honesty I started reading because of the Arctic Monkeys title, but you know you managed to keep me...), and since I'm trying to write more House Cup 2014 Reviews, I thought it would be the perfect time to go back and review this! :)
I feel like this is just really well written, you know? Like there's something quite attractive about your style- clearly, I mean this story is really popular!
I particularly liked how you started this chapter with description. I've noticed that it's quite a common, idk, trick maybe? to begin with either dialogue of FLASH BANG EVENT, but you create atmosphere and interest which is just really nice! However my only lil tiny problem comes in here- I have no idea what 'amboher' is? I gave it a google and this story is literally the first thing that comes up which makes me think it could of been a typo? Idk!
Effy's character is interesting because whilst I'm not sure I'd get on with her if I knew her, I really enjoy reading about her! Her narration is interesting, accurate and she has very believable reactions to the world around her!
I'm going to stop now because I want to carry on to the next chapter!
Astrid
x

Author's Response: ahhh- i am so glad you like this and that the house cup has spurred you onto reviewing! your compliments are so untrue but so flattering, i'm so happy you like my story! amboher is definitely a weird error for amber, thanks for pointing that out xxx thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by carellio 

13th June 2014:
I have read a far share of fanfiction, but I have to say the way you have written this chapter is superb and this story is already definitely one of my favourites! I can tell I'm going to really enjoy reading this story!

Author's Response: omg no way! i used to be obsessed with when life takes over on my old account hhaha- thank you so much!! i hope you enjoy the rest xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by Taps_017 

12th June 2014:
So, this is all kinds of fantastic!! I cannot wait to read more - such brilliant characterisation and already a plot's developing. This is the first fanfiction I've been really excited about in such a long time so thank you!!!

Author's Response: omg thank you so much! i'm so glad you're excited about it because honestly it is SO much fun writing and i love the characters and ofc the feedback so yay thank you x1000 hahah!

 Report Review

Review #19, by icingonmycake 

8th June 2014:
Okay, officially the most epic first chapter ever! And I love the way you just dived in, no boring introductions! I think I'm going to like Effy! You just turned me into a squealing mess. I love it, I love it, I love it! Even the description of winter setting in was great. And I love how you right in such a way that it's light, not heavy and boring, and yet so well written. I will definitely read on! But I won't be able to for a while, I will be on holiday, just telling you because I know how disappointed I get if a person suddenly stops reviewing! Anyway, I don't think I've said enough how much I love this, but I will have to go now, and be separated from my love at first sight. Hmmm... I might be able to read the next chapter. Let's see if I can cram it in!
IoMC

Author's Response: this review has made my day- thank you so much! have fun on holiday, and i hope you enjoy the remaining chapters as much as you liked the first one! thanks so much for reviewing xxx

 Report Review

Review #20, by DoctorUnderwood 

4th June 2014:
I think I found my new favorite character in fanfiction: Oscar. A Downton Abbey loving guy who follows politics? Be still my beating heart.

Author's Response: Hahaha yes! He's the bae. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by DracosGirl012 

18th April 2014:
Aww! This was actually rather funny! I like Effy, and Aspen (I also like how you have her paired with Scorpius. That's a change from most fics but it's a nice change). I love Oscar. He seems really awesome so far! Will continue reading and reviewing the rest later! Xoxo, DracosGirl12

Author's Response: i hope you enjoy the rest even more than you enjoyed this! thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by meccadauberorabettingpencil 

15th April 2014:
I clicked on this story specifically because of the title (Arctic Monkeys, eh?). Needless to say, it's my new favorite. Keep it up :)

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan 

30th March 2014:
Saw this on the recently updated list and randomly clicked, haha. this is a great opening chapter! I already have a clear grasp on what Effy's personality is like, and the kind of inner monologue narration is a lot of fun to read. You've done really well establishing your characters personalities and their relationships/interactions with each other.

Also..." More drama than the Downton Abbey Christmas special..." love it. I died laughing. That's one of the cool things about next gen fics, you can put modern pop culfure references in. Honestly, I don't read a lot of nextgen for some reason, but I really like this one so far! It's well written and entertaining.

keep up the great work!

Author's Response: thank you SO much! i'm really happy this interested you, especially as you don't read a lot of nextgen. to be honest, i was pretty proud of the downton abbey reference, so yeah i'm glad you found it funny! thanks so much for reviewing- i hope the rest doesn't disappoint! bea xx

 Report Review

Review #24, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne 

14th March 2014:
Hey there!

Just thought you should know that this chapter is so good! Your writing style is really unique and generally great, which makes this type of storyline stand out :)

Great beginning!
(and I love the title oh so very much)

Author's Response: thanks so much!! and wow, are you into the arctic monkeys too? bea xx

 Report Review

Review #25, by Tamozzles7 

6th March 2014:
Hi b u go gurl
Get to the dorm asap
Scorp says hey

Author's Response: omg tamar !!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>