Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HPFT 

2nd June 2016:
omg, so amazing and sad, O~O

 Report Review

Review #2, by cherry_pop94 

25th December 2015:
Hi again! Back for more of this wonderful story!

Fred IS hilarious. Oh my god. That job interview. I was howling. It was just too funny! His long speeches to Josephine, his pranks, the deal. I can't believe it. What I wouldn't give to be in that job interview. I'm obviously a cherry, if I were a fruit.

I really like the time jumps in this. It really gives the sense of who Josephine is and who Fred is and how their relationship was. He really was her best friend, her only friend. It's sweet.

Her love for George is a little weird. I have to agree with Fred. It's mighty strange how much she loves him and they've never spoken. He is barely aware of his existence!

Anyway, can't wait to read more, but it'll probably have to wait until later :(

Stefanie

PS. This chapter felt so short for 7000 words! I don't know how you do it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SunshineDaisies 

7th December 2015:
I'M SO BEHIND ON LIFE. (Reading this story AND the hot seat.)

Every time I read one of your stories I am left in total awe. Your writing is so effortlessly lovely and lyrical, and it's just so pretty! That is one of my favorite qualities in writing and it's so nice to find it in a fic with such an interesting plot as well! (I'm also insanely jealous because you make this writing seem so easy and I'm just like, banging my head on the keyboard)

I love the way you write Josephine. I am very much the same way she is, so I totally understand falling in love with someone who doesn't know you exist, and then simultaneously wanting to be near them and be as far away from them as possible. It brought back a lot of embarrassing memories, actually. I feel you, Jo. I also love that you've made her so unsure of herself, and maybe not great at magic, but with total business savvy. It's such an interesting idea to explore, because it's not like they teach business at Hogwarts. (HOW DO WIZARDS FUNCTION WITHOUT THESE CLASSES I DON'T UNDERSTAND)

This is such a lovely story and I'm so excited to see what happens! Whether or not Jo starts procreating. ;)

 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotter 

5th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! I'm back with another hot seat review for you!
This was another wonderful chapter! I think every new chapter I read becomes my favorite. I'm getting so invested in Josephine's character and there are so many things about her that I want to know! I'm definitely hooked on this story!
I loved reading Josephine's interview with Fred. Their personalities are so, so different that it makes for a really interesting dynamic between the two characters.
I felt so bad for Josephine when she sat in the chair and it farted! I wouldn't expect anything less from the Weasley twins, but I know that if I were in her position, I would be just as embarrassed! I'm also pretty shy (though not as shy as Josephine is), so if something like that happening to me I would blush like crazy and not know what to say!
I thought the fact that Josephine rehearsed what she was going to say in her interview was so relatable. I've definitely done that before!
I was not expecting George to come in! And poor Josephine's feelings were so obvious to Fred. I'm glad that he agreed not to tell George in the end, though. He can really see that Josephine does love him, and I think it says a lot about him that he's not going to interfere, but also that he won't lie to his brother if George asks about Josephine's feelings.
I know I said this before, but I have to say once again how incredible the dialogue in this story is. You do so much in the interactions between Fred and Josephine, even though she hardly speaks. It's really amazing that he can read her so clearly, and I love the way they communicate with each other, with him speaking so much and her so little.
I never really thought about the shop opening back up for the first time after the war, but I'm really not surprised that it was so crowded. It got so popular so quickly that I bet people were waiting for it to open again. But I bet Josephine had a hard day with so many people around.
I can't wait to continue on with this fantastic story! I also added it to my favorites!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart 

17th September 2015:
Hi Tanya!

Making my way through and I'm quite pleased so far!

Poor Josephine! That whole interview was absolutely mortifying. She seems like a painfully shy person as is, so to consider that she went through the whoopee cushion, hiding from George, dropping her papers all over the floor, and then panicking and trying to escape, it's really incredible that she stayed. I don't know that I could personally handle that much humiliation.

I thought you did a good job of characterizing Fred in this. He's friendly and kind for the most part, but occasionally his sense of humor can push the boundaries just a little bit. There were a few times when I could tell that he really made Josephine uncomfortable at a deep level. I think that perhaps as they become best friends he'll become more aware of it and she'll become less flustered by him.

I am a little baffled at Fred's willingness to hire a girl who is, in essence, stalking his brother. I mean I get that she's good for a laugh, but she's going to some pretty drastic lengths to be around George. That could get pretty creepy pretty quickly I would think.

The re-opening of the shop was pretty depressing. Just from the brief little bit about it, I can tell that there's just this huge void because Fred isn't there. I imagine it must've been tough for everyone because they're feeling sad and unsure. I can't imagine that George was of too much help either because he's probably feeling so upset that he can't lead the team properly.

I did want to point out that you're handling the balance between the different time frames quite well. You have a good balance going of funny, happy memories of Fred and then the sad memories from after Fred's death. It makes the story feel so much deeper and realistic. Life is filled with both laughter and tears and you're doing a successful job of giving us both.

In all of the technical aspects, this story is excellent so far. Your writing is clean and easy to follow. The pace moves along nicely without really stalling anywhere. The dynamic between all of the characters is believable.

Really great work so far!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore 

6th August 2015:
Oh, hey. Look who wasn't scared off by the second chapter? ♥ ♥ ♥

Seriously, I don't even know where to start with this chapter. Your writing is just so good - like, everything here is such high quality and I can't go picking out faults because I can't find any. And I have so much that I want to say because this was just so packed of amazing writing and you're going to have to bear with me here, because there'll be a lot of rambling :P

The advert for the job vacancies at the joke shop was just so perfect. I can really easily imagine Fred and George having to sit down and write an advert and not having any idea what to say, so they just ask that the candidates can read and write and then ramble on about how wonderful the job is :P It just made me laugh - I can imagine people not believing their eyes when they see the advert and just turn up for the crazy interviews with the twins. Josephine certainly doesn't seem like the sort of person who would work in a joke shop or really be at home with the twins at all, but I was so interested to see that's how she got to know Fred and got involved in all of this.

Still... I am so curious about what prompted her to fall in love with George in the first place. Like, she was in his year at school and clearly knew him from then, but the twins don't seem to know who she is, which is kind of making me wonder if she changed her name or something after school? I feel like she was probably really shy and quiet there too, but to fall in love with someone you have to have spent a reasonable amount of time around them...

The interview was just so hilarious! I just laughed through all of that, even though I felt sorry for Josephine as she was suffering so much during it because of her shyness, but it was really funny. I've never even imagined the sort of interviews that the Weasley twins might do for the people that want to work in their shop, but I think this is now going to have to be my head canon for it. All of those questions that Fred asked her which had no apparent relevance whatsoever, and then George already having decided to give both candidates the job but wanting to see how they handled a faulty product being displayed anyway. It all played on their sense of humour so well and I could picture it all really clearly.

Your characterisation of the twins was just so brilliant! I can't believe how well you write them, because they just seemed so believable and lifelike and real - their sense of humour was what it was in the books but you went even further and showed a lot more of them as characters, too. Fred, obviously, got a lot more development in this chapter because he was talking so much while Josephine barely said anything, but I loved the way that you developed him. I always imagined the twins to have a wicked sense of humour but they're not the sort of people who would do something malicious or cruel to someone who had done nothing wrong; he really showed here that he could be sensitive and sweet and it was fantastic to show that side to him.

I really liked reading the scene when he was trying to work out why she wanted the job in the joke shop so badly - he managed it so quickly, and that shows how intelligent he really is, but the way he reacted was really sweet. Another thing I loved was getting to see the conversation the two of them talked about at the start of the last chapter here as it happened - the way that Fred really wanted to persuade her to stay because he could see how much working there meant to her, and what he did for that. It was really sweet but funny at the same time, and I'm glad she took the job - I'm just really eager to see what happened after that and what happens after Fred dies. It's like you're telling two stories in one and I want to know both of them!

And then that last section - we've moved on from the funeral and now I'm so curious to find out what exactly happened on the shop reopening. I kind of suspect that, even though they didn't advertise it, tons of people arrived because they wanted to celebrate the end of the war and maybe meet some of the Weasleys? But I'm not sure - I'm just so intrigued about what happened and how it might possibly throw Josephine and George together?

I'll be back for more of this story soon, Tanya! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell 

20th July 2015:
For the House Cup 2015, Slytherin

Another lovely chapter! At first, I was chomping at the bit to see what would happen next, chronologically, after Fred's funeral last chapter. However, I think that going back to the beginning of Josephine and Fred's introduction and how she got involved with the joke shop was perfect. Fred is just so...Fred. It can be so hard to capture the voices of the canon characters, and you've done it quite well. It put such a smile on my face to read his zany little monologues. Also, "Well, drape me in purple velvet and call me Dumbledore," definitely belongs on the highlight reel. Bahaha!

CC: I only really noticed one thing, which is remarkable, particularly in such a long chapter.

Of course I know the answer, however weary the attempt to attain it may be.
--That sentence doesn't quite make sense to me. Maybe, "however wearying the attempt to obtain it may be," or something along those lines? The attempt itself can't be weary, though.

Your writing really is so well done, just the quality of it is exceptional. And you really hold those questions out there. I'm like a pony going after a carrot. I so very badly want to discover what, exactly, is going on!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8 

28th March 2015:
Hello Tanya. Here I am again with review number 3.

OMG. That was certainly an awkward job interview. I canít even begin to imagine how mortified I would be if my potential boss had done something like that. Poor Jo. Fred was so mean, but I suppose thatís how he would act daily if she did get the job. So you could say he was preparing her for what was to come if she was hired. But still, I felt very sorry for Josephine, but I couldnít help but laugh at her expense.

Anyway, I loved your characterization of the twins. They were exactly like I imagine theyíd be. I forgot to say that about them in the last chapter, so I figured Iíd do it here.

I especially love Fred. While he was loud, very humorous and often at otherís expense, thatís exactly the way he is Ė the way they both are really. But I feel like you Ė and probably more than J.K Rowling Ė highlights the differences between the twins. While they both look relatively alike, and they both share a love for making people laugh and simply having fun, they are the not the same person. They have their differences too, and I think youíve already showcased that. And thatís a result of Josephine only being romantically interested in one of them, and being friends with the other. And yeah, I really like that.

And itís so believable that the twins would do pranks like that when interviewing people for jobs at their shop. Theyíre definitely not the type to be all serious, even when they probably should be. And I liked the farting chairs (what an odd thing to say). That would definitely have freaked me out. Iíd be so mortified that Iíd probably leave the interview before it even started.

I also liked Josephineís obsession with George. I actually forgot to say that in the last review, so Iím mentioning it now. But I canít believe itís been going on for so long? And she loves him? I thought it was just a crush. Wow, I can see this heading an interesting direction now, especially since she had to hide simply because he looked at her. How in the world is going to survive working with him now in present day, especially since he seems very interested in getting to know her after seeing her grieving over his twinsí death. HmÖ Iím really looking forward to seeing how this plays out now.

Once again, a very wonderful chapter, Tanya. I donít know if I said this in the last review, but Iím so envious of your dialogues. I myself have so much trouble with writing dialogues, because it always seems so forced, and itís a lot harder than it appears to be when you read it. And I think your dialogues are actually what I love the most in the story.

I also love this part: ďWould you stop trying to escape, already? Cause, look, since first walking in here, you really have quite grown on me! It's like my favourite chest hair - which also happens to be my only chest hair: At first it was sort of laughably embarrassing, but now I'm quite fond of it! I like you! I mean, you're a bit off your rocker, but I genuinely am enjoying this all way too much to just let you wander off, never to be seen again! So come on, you nutter; let me hire you!" - It made me laugh. Such a Fred-thing to say! :P

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #9, by PolyJuice_ 

18th March 2015:
It's me. Again.

AAAH, I love this bit where she applies! God, I just want to cringe and hide during this whole scene! Poor Jo. Fred is so mean to you. :P BUT AT LEAST HE'S ALIVE. *sobs* See, I'm sitting here already waiting for the next chapter because the next one is my favourite of the five out so far.

But anyway, back to this chapter. :P I can't believe Fred doesn't even remember her! Hogwarts isn't that big. But honestly. I can't believe she actually hid. Silly creature.

I love that Fred hired her because she stood out, even if it was for something as strange as literally hiding at the sight of his brother. It's so very Fred. :P

Although I am worried that as time goes on she'll meet George and actually get to know him and realise that she doesn't /actually/ like him. That would be too upsetting. Because, I mean, she's never really talked to him. But I guess that's not going t happen - your summary gives it away. :P

Lovely chapter, as usual~

Liz

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne 

5th March 2015:
I love that the chapters all flip to different times. That way I can see how she came into the twins lifes and how they've been around each other and I just love it so much!

I have so much love for you and your stories! :D

Hahaha the twins would be amazing bosses! That letter was just an act of pure brilliance! They're so hilarious! I wonder how many people brought sweets and jokes? I wonder if Josephine did? :D

Oh! This obsession with George has gone on for quite some time! I wonder when it started?

I love how loud Fred is! He's so awesome! Oh god! He's hilarious! I can't stop laughing! This makes up for the crying and devastation in the last chapter! :D

His questions are pure brilliance! :D And they're such Twin questions! I can't help but wonder what questions George is asking people? Why is Fred a mango of all things? Hahaha oh god! He asked hoq attractive he is! Hahaha oh god I can't stop laughing! :D

I loved when George came into the room and she hid! And they noticed!! haha of course they noticed! :D I think that Fred knows the real reason why she applied now! :D

Oh my god! Fred has a favourite chest hair! Oh god this story is so hilariously brilliant! I love it so much and it is becoming by far one of my favourite ever stories! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

14th January 2015:
This is such a great, chapter, dear! I thoroughly enjoyed seeing how Jo came to work at WWW, how Fred came to know about her secret, and how their deal was made. The flashback part of the chapter perfectly conveyed Jo's embarrassment and the hilarity of the situation, as well as the nearly instant bond that formed between her and Fred. And the "1998" part of the chapter in just a couple of paragraphs really did an excellent job of explaining all that happened during and after the war.

A really excellent, exciting and intriguing chapter, dear, and I'm off to the next!

Author's Response: Jayde! *hugs*

Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed this little glimpse into how Fred and Jo began! I won't lie, I had a lot of fun putting her into those really awkward and embarrassing situations that she ended up in during this interview. hehehe (Or should I instead laugh MUAHAHAHA! :-p) I'm glad you enjoyed the small present day section, too, and that it managed to convey everything that's happened since the funeral without confusing you or feeling too explainy or anything!

You're far too kind, I swear it. Thank you for this great review! I sincerely appreciate it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by likeness_of_a_seabird 

3rd January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round two!

Why have the job interviews Iíve been in never been as funny as the one Fred held? Iíve only ever been asked the usual, boring questions. Iíd love to be asked what fruit I consider myself to be (I think Iíd be a kiwifruit). Seriously speaking, I can very well imagine Fred and George holding a job interview like that. Doing things the ďusual wayĒ doesnít sit well with them, does it? Theyíre job advert was hilarious! I wish the ones I see in real life would be even half as funny as that oneÖ I could also sympathise with Joís position; it canít have been easy to be in that position, being asked all these questions out of the blue.

I already said in the previous review I liked the way Jo and Fred interact and I still do. Itís so cute the way he decides heís going to call her Jo without even waiting for her to give her consent, and his ability to gauge what sheís thinking by simply looking at her expression is so believable. Fred and George have always struck to me as very observant people and itís easy to believe Fred would be able to read her expressions so accurately; after all, he was able to deduce the reason George frightened her so badly.

I also really like how non-linear this is (I believe I said that as well). It makes the story very interesting to read since you donít know what is going to happen to next. The ending was very attention-grabbing; I canít wait to see what is going to happen and what piece of Josephineís past weíre going to see next!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #13, by Freda_and_Georgina 

15th December 2014:
That was really interesting. Fred is so determined and kind to her, I know I might not have gone that far to hire her. I also like how you have George both similar to and different from Fred. The fun fact was also fun to read.

I'll be returning soon!
--Georgina

 Report Review

Review #14, by maraudertimes 

15th December 2014:
Well, I'm here for the first proper review. The other two were slightly erratic in nature and definitely not what I meant by reviews!

Okay, so, first things first, OMG why have I not read this before? Second things second, OMG I totally understand why people have been hounding you to keep writing because, third things third, OMG this is amazing. I'm in love with Jo, I'm in love with Fred, I'm in love with George, I'm in love with everything!

Jo is so cute and although the first two chapters captured her in a rather melancholic light, this one highlighted her awkwardness, her absolute head-over-heels "obsession" with George, and completely endeared her to me. I noticed before that Jo is quite a quiet girl, but this chapter really emphasized that. I loved how she does most of her talking in her head, only really spitting out words when absolutely necessary.

That was coupled with Fred's extreme gift for reading faces, unless Jo is just horrid at keeping her heart off her sleeve. Fred was absolutely stunning and exactly the type of prankster/people-person that was written in the books. I adored him and his childish antics! The farting chair was genius and of course the fact that Jo's love for George made him hysterical (okay, that might have been because Jo had hid behind a desk, but still) was spot on.

(This might be a slightly longer review than I'm used to because it's a slightly longer chapter.)

George was amazing. Of course, I saw him through Josephine's biased eyes, but I thought you captured him magnificently, just like with Fred. The little quip about knowing that he was going to hire the two In-Store Demonstrators but still pitting them against each other? 1. I want to see this battle go down. 2. Giving them products that don't work and smell awful if used incorrectly - genius and totally Fred/George thinking and also I want to see (although not smell) that go down. 3. I honestly want to cry over how perfect you've made the twins. He was absolutely spot on and I loved how you also incorporated the little add and how they really should have put a few more requirements. It was a really seamless was to tie the start and middle of the chapter together with someone other than the main character (although let's be real, if you can't do simple addition, maybe don't do checkout?).

The ending part where Fred, a) realizes Jo loves George, b) gets her to work for them because he wants to be entertained by this train wreck (let's be real, I totally would too), c) let's not forget thinking that the farting chair was the absolute best thing in the world, and finally d) being that absolutely sweet guy and promising not to tell George but also not to lie to him about it - absolutely genius! I loved every minute of it!

The absolute ending, when Jo kind of detailed how they continued the operation through the war, was heartbreaking. The twins livelihood, their hopes and dreams, everything was in that store, but I'm glad you wrote it like that because they *did* have to go on the run! And then the whole not starting up again because Fred died and George stopped? OMG I'm crying again *violent and grotesque sobs*. Why must you break my heart so?

I think that's the end to this exceptionally long-winded review. I thought that wouldn't take as long, but because it did I'm going to have to finish the other two reviews tomorrow. I hope the length of this one can make up for it!

Oh, and last note - thank goodness you wrote this for NaNo! Here's to hoping there's more chapters because it is amazing and you write so beautifully! If you can get this finished, or at least a few more chapters or maybe consistent updates, it wouldn't surprise me if this skyrocketed to one of the Top 10 spots!

Absolutely stellar job! Can't wait for tomorrow so I can keep reading and reviewing!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Cal585 

2nd December 2014:
So apparently I'd already reviewed last chapter which was rather disappointing. Just wanted to say that since then my view has changed a bit. I actually really enjoyed it, and while initially a bit sceptical about her lack of speech (those things tend to annoy me), I actually got used to it and by the end of her conversation with Fred found it relatively normal. I think you've done a fantastic job being able to convey a one-sided conversation so well and I really enjoy the special understanding she has with Fred. And I loved your ending with the resolution at his funeral!

As for this chapter specifically, I really enjoyed the job application. Spent the entire time stuck between grinning at Fred and feeling horrible for Jo under emotional stress. But the way it all resolved nicely in the end! It really shows her inner courage despite her struggle to even attempt it. And of course, the positioning, coming after last chapter, I could feel bad and laugh but understand exactly where Fred was coming from because you already described their friendship so well last chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by CambAngst 

27th April 2014:
Hi, Tanya! I'm back again, taking in some more Josephine.

One thing that makes this story tough to review -- and please don't take this as a bad thing; it's anything but -- is the fact that there are so many things I want to comment on. You do such an awesome job with Josephine's inner voice, her observations, her expressions and her unspoken responses to things... it's overwhelming at times as a reviewer. I want to point it all out, say how much I enjoyed it. But if I did, the review would be nearly as long as the chapter itself. I guess what I'm trying to say is that it frustrates me in the best possible way.

Anyway, let's move on to the substance. I think you've created the best and worst job interview ever. There's just no in-between here. The experience careens back and forth between amazing and awful, spending plenty of time at both extremes. It all starts with the help wanted flyer, which was classic Fred and George.

Josephine's motivations for interviewing are sad and kind of sweet at the same time. You can't help but feel bad for the girl, even if you're also a bit frustrated with her. She's the perfect wallflower, living a life of unrequited devotion to a person who doesn't seem to realize she exists. I don't know whether to hug her or shake her, possibly both.

Fred gets the interview off to a roaring start, sneaking the whoopee cushion in on her. Their reactions are perfect, as well. She's mortified, desperate for him to know that it wasn't her, which sends him over the edge into a debilitating fit of laughter. She's so far outside of her comfort zone she can barely stand it and he's so deep in his own comfort zone that he doesn't feel an ounce of restraint.

"Five Galleons each: a steal!" -- A showman and a salesman! Fred is perfect.

I loved the interview questions. I really need to remember some of those for the next time I have to interview somebody at work. Especially the fruit one.

I feel a pang of envy at his level of comfort and can't help but wish that his continuously carefree attitude would have rubbed off on me after all this time of observation. -- This one line kind of summed up the entire interview experience for me. As a reader, I just keep hoping that somehow the twin's carefree attitude is going to start to infect her, but I'm fairly sure that isn't going to happen.

Wow. Josephine's one shining moment of the chapter came when she laid out her pitch to manage the shop's finances. She sounds so put together and polished in this one section. She probably rehearsed the words a thousand times in her mind, but for that one golden moment she was more than just wallflower Josephine. I wanted to cheer for her.

But it all ends so quickly. Fred is a pretty sharp judge of character, or at least his survival instincts have taught him how to sniff out a situation where things don't quite add up. There's one missing piece to Josephine's story, one gap. And then he walks through the door...

Josephine's response was about as far from elegant as you can get, but it was perfectly in character. Again, Fred is on to her. He puts the pieces together and hurries George out of the room. And then he's got her!

This time I do run. Without another word, I make a break for the door. -- Aww, poor Josephine! I feel terrible for her, but not terrible enough to want to see her get away. At least not yet.

"Wow, that's... You must really, really like him. It's actually kind of sweet. But mostly stalkerish." -- Well, Fred said it, I didn't. Not that I completely disagree.

Fred's proposition is, literally, too good for her to turn down. I'm amazed and somewhat in awe of the lengths he's willing to go to in order to be constantly entertained by her discomfort. Not that there's nothing else in it for him, obviously. Her business plan sounds quite brilliant and he might have found a girlfriend -- thinking long term here. Stalker, in the short run -- for his twin. What's not to like if you're Fred? But he puts so much effort into convincing her to take the job.

Ouch. Now back to reality. Back to the present day when Fred is laid to rest in a box. That phrase hits me every time, the sobering finality of it. I love your thought that Fred and George never gave up on their business, even when they were forced into hiding. They're so irrepressible, and they knew how much people needed laughter to keep going. I also think it was a testament to the spirit of the magical community in the aftermath of the war that they were so far from correct about how the grand reopening of the store was received.

I really, really enjoy reading this story, no matter now much Josephine frustrates me. And I suspect she'll frustrate me a lot more before it's all said and done. It seems that there are turbulent times ahead. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #17, by HeyMrsPotter 

24th April 2014:
Tanya! Apologies for my lateness in getting around to reading this chapter, I'm not going to lie, laziness is my only excuse :p

I just ADORE how you write Fred in this chapter. It's so refreshing to see him as a stand alone character as opposed to how we always saw him in the books with George all the time. Not that I didn't love that but they are two people after all. It's great that even though he's not with George through most of this chapter, he's still true to his character; funny and witty. I particularly LOVED this line:

Well, drape me in purple velvet and call me Dumbledore

Please tell me how you are so funny?

I also really like that this chapter tells us a lot more about Josephine's character beyond her stalkerish love for George :p She's obviously got a lot of common sense and a good business head, and I liked that you added in that she didn't get brilliant grades at Hogwarts, and that it didn't make her stupid or stop her from getting a good job (albeit one she only wanted because of George :P)

The whole job application and interview process was nothing short of genius and everything I would have expected from Fred and George, from the fact that they paid per word in their advertisement and that didn't stop them from rambling (much like this review!) to the farting furniture-priceless! Oh and the fact that she fell for it twice just made it even funnier. I could perfectly picture Fred doubled over with laughter :D

I'm off to read the next chapter now, I'm really looking forward to the friendship between Josephine and Fred developing, I think this is the start of something beautiful :D

Author's Response: Dee Dee Dee Dee Dee! :-D (Are you seriously apologizing? You're insane. Although... on a similar note, I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond to your amazing reviews! And my excuse is just about the same. *is the worst*)

Eep! Thank you! Seriously, I really appreciate your input on Fred! It's definitely a little tricky in the beginning to write one twin without the other! They play off each other so well, and sticking Fred alone with Jo (who gives him no words to work with at all) was definitely a worry of mine, so I'm thrilled you liked it and he still felt like Fred, even out of his element!

LOL That line's one of my favorites too. I'm weird, which is the only explanation for how it came to me. hehehe Thank you! *glomps*

Ah, I love the details you picked up on! Yep, Jo's really not particularly talented or knowledgeable outside of small circle of exceptions, but she knows how to make use of the gifts she's got! It was fun delving in deeper to who she is outside of the whole Fred and George world, and I'm so glad you liked learning about her, too! :-D

hahaha Thank you! Gah! I won't lie, I had a LOT of fun writing that whole scene with the farting chair. hehehe Poor, poor Jo... But that's what you get when the twins are around! haha I'm glad you appreciated the rambling advert, too! Those silly boys... :-p

Oh, Dee. You always leave me with the biggest smile on my face! You're just so lovely. Thank you for another fantastic review and for everything else! *hug*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #18, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

7th April 2014:
Oh, I just LOVE your Fred and George so much. You've got them spot on, but added a little bit of your own charm to their personalities. I really want to be friends with them, but I think I'd be a little overwhelmed like Josephine is. :P
They are such good contrasts. I think they'd both be really good for each other.
And the interview was perfect. Your writing was particularly lovely in this chapter. :)
Also, your review replies are so sweet! Can I kidnap you as a friend? :P

Author's Response: *squee* Ah, you are totally making my life right now! ^.^

Yay! I'm just ecstatic that you're enjoying my twins so much! They're two of my favorite characters and it's easy to do them wrong, so it's so incredible to hear when people think I've got a good grasp on them! And I totally agree: I'd love to be friends with them as well, but they might be a lot to take in all at once! hehehe And yay for opposites attract! Again, I'm really happy you're enjoying the Jo/Fred friendship! I gotta tell you, it's a blast to write them together. hehehe

LOL The interview is probably my favorite bit of writing I've done so far, in any of my stories; I'm glad you enjoyed it! And thank you for saying that! Chapters one and two were written over two years ago and I only started this fic again a few months ago and feel I've improved as a writer since then, so it's great to have someone point out the improvement! :-D

Dawww! Well, it's only because your reviews are so lovely! And YES! Kidnap away! I'm completely falling for you! *hugs* :-p


 Report Review

Review #19, by Unicorn_Charm 

28th March 2014:
Hiya! So I came across this story a few months ago, wanted to read it, didn't get around to it, forgot the name and then couldn't find it again. The other day I read something else of yours, loved it (because you're an amazing writer), and checked to see if you had other stories written. I was so excited when I found this again and immediately started to read it!

Wow. I don't know what else to say but, wow. I am so in love with this so far you have no idea. It's brilliant! I love, love, love the style of writing. The present, the past, back to the present. Josephine and Fred's friendship is so unlikely and so perfect at the same time. It's so fun to read!

I absolutely adored the scene during the interview when George arrives. I totally relate to her because I am that girl haha. I've been that shy, awkward, clumsy mess around a guy I liked, so I felt for her.

I cannot wait for the next chapter! I really do hope you plan on continuing with this. It's just absolutely amazing! Thank you for being such a wonderful writer!! :) I will read all of your stories forever more! 10/10 for everything so far!!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Ah, wow! You are just far too good to me, do you know that? haha This is really so sweet, I hardly know how to respond! *squee* First off, I'm so glad to hear that you found my fic again, and just ecstatic that it was another story of mine that brought you back to it! And thank you so much for enjoying so many of my stories! Your support just blows me away! :-D

Wow to you! I don't know what to say! hehehe Ah, I'm so happy to hear that, thank you! And I'm so glad you enjoy the style - that's really reassuring and I deeply appreciate it! And I love that you love Jo and Fred's friendship! You've hit the nail on the head with them two: They're such an unlikely duo, but somehow they manage to make sense! ^.^

hehehe The interview has been my favorite scene to write so far, so it's just thrilling that the reception of that scene has been so positive! Thank you! And when George shows up... hehehe Poor Jo. She's just so fun to torture. :-p And trust me, I've been the awkward girl, too - I'm glad you can relate! It's always fun to read about characters you feel a special connection to!

Next chapter is going into the queue tonight (or tomorrow at the latest), so it won't be a long wait! I'm definitely going to see this story to the end, I promise! I hope to see you back in chapter four! Either way, thank you for being such a kind reviewer! Your support is so touching and I endlessly appreciate it! :-D

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan 

24th March 2014:
Um, I pretty much love the job posting. Every entence ends with an exclamation :p All you need is an abiliy to read and your favourite joke? Can I work there?

The interview is hilarious, I was laughing out loud as I read it! And the way every other question started with "Sooo..." haha. Seriously, why aren't real interviews like this? You write Fred so well, btw. This is exactly how I'd imagine him as the co-leader of a company!

OOH JOSEPHINE SUCH A BOSS. She not only knows all about finances, but she spoke at least six lines of text! Atta girl. Except then George walks in and she has to hide under the desk... oy vey. But seriously the rest of that scene I was laughing so hard, especially at the MOST awkward time, in that silence of "now what" SHE SITS ON THE CHAIR AGAIN AHAHA... I mean, poor girl, it must have been absolutely mortifying, but it's so funny! I hope that, given some time and space away from it, she sees how funny it is too :p

The favourite chest hair... Omg I can't even handle this. I'm dying of laughter.

And then that sad little closing section... well, I guess objectively it wasn't that sad, but it was quite sobering after the comedy of errors that was the interview. Reopening the shop... I can't imagine that went well.

By the way, despite the rollercoaster that is my feelings right now, I like the way this is narrated in segments hopping back and forth in time, it's a neat way to do it, as Josephine kind of reflects on her memories of earlier, better times. Can't wait until the next chapter!

Now you only need 2 more reviews till 100!! :D *confetti*

Author's Response: Hi again, Kristin! So sorry for taking FOREVER to respond to this! I'm the worst, I know! *hides* And especially after you helped me get to 100 reviews! Eep! So, so sorry! *hugs*

Anyway... hahaha! Those boys and that advert... They're just so ridiculous. But yeah, as hilarious a writer as you are, you'd have gotten hired in a second! ;)

LOL! Yay! I love when I can get people to laugh! I'm so glad you enjoyed that part! And thank you so much! Really, it's thrilling to hear you're a fan of my version of Fred! It's a little tricky sometimes to pull him away from George and stick him with the near-mute Jo and expect him to have the same Fred-ness to him when so out of his element, so it's a relief that he felt authentic! Yay!

SO PROUD OF JO! hahaha She's not good at much, to be perfectly honest, but this is one thing she knows how to do, and she was smart enough to use those capabilities to land herself a job with George! *pats Jo on back* :-p AND OMG I KNOW, RIGHT? Poor, poor thing... though that farting chair bit was my absolute favorite to write. hehehe SO thrilled you enjoyed it (and I think she probably looks back on it with a mix a horror and amusement these days, haha)!

HAHA It just felt like an appropriate Fred-analogy. :-p

Wah! I know. It was actually the most I've struggled with a scene, too. It's so much simpler than the other sad scenes I've had to write for this fic, but coming off of such a fun, ridiculous first half, I really had issues flipping the switch. I'm glad it landed for you, though; thank you!

Yeah? Thank you so much! Really, that's such a great comment to receive! I worried a few years back when I was still only on chapters one and two that I might not be able to make this format work for me, but I pushed through it and continue to push through it and it's just great that you like it! I just really wanted to have the first half of a happier time be reflected in the present day sections, but in a new, generally heavier way, so that there was a connection between each section which would hopefully allow for the differences in time to make things more poignant... if that makes any sense... I don't think it does, but I'm too sleepy to figure out how to word it better! haha

Anyway, gah! You're so fantastic, Kristin! Thank you again for this phenomenal review and for helping me reach 100! Really, it was just the kindest thing for you to do! *hugshugshugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #21, by 1917farmgirl 

24th March 2014:
Worst friend ever finally showing up to give you a review on this beauty!

And, you know, if you didn't make your chapters almost 8,000 words long, it wouldn't take you so long to edit them. That's like three normal people's chapters...just sayin'. LOL.

BUT, I LOVE THIS CHAPTER! I love it all! I want to wrap it up and take it home with me so I can see it always. (Or maybe I just want to wrap Fred up and take him home with me so I can see him always...I sometimes get those two things confused.)

The advertisement was CLASSIC Fred and George, and makes me laugh every time I read it.

And then there is the interview. Seriously, how do you THINK of this stuff? I wish I had the talent for long and amazing reviews like you give, and the ability to put into words exactly how much I LOVE that scene, but every time I try I just end up laughing, and the tears start to stream down my face, and I can't breathe and...yeah. This is seriously one of the FUNNIEST things I've ever read, and I read a lot of humor.

Not that I don't feel sorry for Jo. Fred was AWFUL to her, from the chair to the comments to him and George standing there when she disappeared, but it's just so funny! And then the moment he GETS it, and realizes what is going on.

Sorry, I just can't get over that chair! Seriously, brilliant invention, T! And Fred's questions to her! Can I sign up to be interviewed by your Fred?

Okay, I will attempt to be serious here.

One of the many things I love about you and how you write the twins, besides the fact that you just GET them, is that they are always, always, always two distinct people. You even bring in their subtle differences in appearance. See, this is why I love you.

I also love the way you write them talking to each other. Their banter is SO spot on I feel like I'm reading a chapter out of the books. Wish I could write them that way, but at least I get to read your version of them, so you need to write MORE of this FASTER!

And I'm still stuck on the whole hiding behind the desk scene. It's seriously one of my top 5 fanfic scenes ever. I just love it.

CHEST HAIR! I'm rolling again! You are too good.
I love your twins! I love your Fred!

And then, GAH! You just crush me with the second half of the story. Tear my heart out and leave it lying on the ground.

The hilariousness of the first part clashes so perfectly with the stark emptiness of the second part - it's amazing and heart breaking. The way you change your sentence structure, making them shorter, more too the point. It's amazing.

And now I'm crying. Darn you. *goes for tissues*

You truly have a gift and I'm glad you share it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Sarah 

3rd March 2014:
This is really well written. I am seriously enjoying Josephine's personality and how it is portrayed next to Fred's. I really hope you continue with this, it really is a good story so far. I'd like to see where it's headed. Hope to see an update soon!

Author's Response: Hey, thank you so much! I'm so happy you feel that way! It's always so great to hear that people like Jo both as an individual and in regards to her relationship with Fred! Woot! ^.^ And an update is right around the corner! Chapter four is completely written, it just needs to be edited, so it'll be up very soon! :-D Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review! I truly appreciate it! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Maelody 

13th January 2014:
If I didn't leave a review would that show you how much I loved the chapter because of how utterly speechless it left me?

Well, I've already started typing now, but I gave myself a few minutes to gather my thoughts so I may as well continue.

I don't mean to get personal here, but I once followed my high school crush to the college we both went to because I loved being near him (so the stalker line got to me just like it got to Josephine haha). My best friend talked to me all about it, just as Fred did to Jo, and I will say, you have done an absolutely spot on job at describing feelings all around. Seriously! My tummy tingles for her!

That advertisement was one of the more believable ads I've ever read, and it read "Weasley Twins" all over it. The interview had me laughing, and Fred strangely reminded me of Dr. Who David Tennant style. Can he be my best friend, too? And, you know, not die?

I love how she wants something to do with the accounting. I had the same questions as Fred did, and in the last chapter when it was evident she worked at the joke shop, I couldn't help but wonder how someone as shy and quiet as her could get that sort of job with those two hiring. You made it make sense and played it out well.

I'm glad to see that you have more chapters planned (THANK YOU NANOWRIMO!) so I don't have to prod you too much with a stick. I'm so excited. I'm already growing so emotionally attached to the story, and I'm so ready to go on the ride with you and Jo, Joey, Jo, Jo, Jo!

Is it strange that I just keep saying I love it over and over again? Should I be critiquing you and stop showering you with compliments all the time? Like, be maybe somewhat useful to your already impeccable writing capabilities? If I am, I was really looking because I'm too enamored in the story and in love with it. Twin stories are my favorite :). Maybe I will calm down a little after reading your next chapter when it's posted so I can have coherent thoughts, yeah? Maybe I won't sound so much like a broken record.

Always great, still in love!

~Mae

Author's Response: Omg, I can't even. This review is just... Wow. You've about left me speechless as well! *hugs*

I, like you, shall take a moment to compose myself... and now I'll respond.

Hahaha! You're adorable. I'm glad it made you chuckle! hehehe Ah, I'm just thrilled that you both relate to it and found it to be so accurate! And right? Don't you just want to pet Jo? She's too cute; little lamb of a thing.

YES! Oh, I'm so happy the ad stuck out to you! It was actually something I was worried about when I first posted, because in it's original state I wasn't very happy with it, but this truly relieves my anxiety about it! And omg, LOVE the Doctor Who/David Tennant remark! That's so awesome to hear and I can totally see it now that you've pointed it out! As far as being your best friend, of course! But... the dying thing... er... I'm just gonna... pass...

hehehe I knew I'd have to have a reasonable explanation as to how she managed to grab the job, and I was certainly hoping that the combination of her business model for the finances and the whole George thing would be believable enough for people! It makes perfect sense to me, but you never know how others will feel! I'm so, so relieved to hear it worked for you, though! Yay!

haha Yes, thank you NaNo! I swear I'm really almost finished with chapter four! The end of January ended up being a lot busier than I anticipated, but I just got through the last hurdle, so I expect to have the next chapter up very, very soon! Though always feel free to prod me, cause I usually need it anyway. ;) Ah, I love hearing that you feel so attached! More soon, I promise, I promise! :-D

Eee! If it is strange, I don't care one bit because I LOVE hearing that! LOL You're too sweet! This review really just blows me away; it's so fantastically wonderful and please please please be a broken record; I love it! (Though definitely give critiques should you find something! :-p)

Oh Mae, you are simply the best. Eep! :-D


 Report Review

Review #24, by MustIdosomethingrealhere? 

26th November 2013:
Oh my god. I'm not entirely sure why I started reading this story, nor why I continued. Of course, it was clear from just the first few sentences that you're an excellent writer. But the beginning was SO sad. As is the whole premise.
Now I'm quite glad I carried on because this is shaping up to be most hilarious. I was genuinely laughing out loud. But at the same time, that's upset me even more! Thanks to you, I now love Fred even more, which makes his death all the more painful.
Well congratulations, I'm hooked. And I hate you for it. Now my soul is sad. I hope you can live with yourself. Just kidding, sort of. Anyway, please don't quit on me here. I'm really digging this story, please don't leave me drowning in uncertainties for long.
(Also- side note- I totally knew Jo was a Hufflepuff! Yeah, go me!)
So in short, well done, many compliments, yada yada, the whole thing, please update soon.



...I'll be waiting. :}

Author's Response: This review is the cutest thing that has ever happened. :-D

Ahaha Well, I hope you continued because it was enjoyable, right? And I'm glad you stuck it out until the comedic relief in chapter three! I assume you generally prefer comedy to angst? Either way, I'm so happy you chose to take a peak and continue reading! And it's so incredible to hear that the interview scene had you laughing! As someone who's generally more familiar with and better at writing emotional scenes, it's so relieving to hear that the humorous moment landed with readers! Woot! But yeah, it does make it more painful knowing that it all took place in the past, and that present day Fred is dead. :(

LOL I'm sorry? hehehe You're too funny. I won't quit on you, I promise! Chapter four should be in the queue by the first week in December, so I really hope to see you back here!

(Side-Note: Hufflepuff! That's great that she came across as such before it was ever confirmed! Yay!)

Ah, you're wonderful. Thank you so much for the review! And I promise an update within the next two weeks! :-D


 Report Review

Review #25, by toomanycurls 

18th November 2013:
Hello! Sorry I take so long with requested reviews. I don't usually do multi-chapter requests but I did read through the prologue and first chapter.

The way Josephine describes Fred is quite perfect. Phrases like larger than life stood out to me as especially perfect.

The interview questions Fred asks are awesome. Just the off-the-wall types of questions I'd expect from him. They remind me of what you might get if you were to interview at Google or some hip company (minus the quidditch and attractiveness question).

I quite like that Josephine has some business savvy. That could be a great asset to their small store!

I really like that Fred saw through her interest in working there. He raises the exact points I'd expect him too. Fred is quite sharp and would notice someone who wasn't really interested in their store.

George sounds rather spot on when he's talking about the demonstration. Very focused on their business and the product.

Oh dear, poor Josephine. She has it bad for him.

Their conversation about her while she's right there in the room seems quite like something they'd do.

Fred figuring out Josephine is quite the moment. This part: "Well, drape me in purple velvet and call me Dumbledore: You have a thing for George!" had me laughing. Fred always has a way with phrases - this one is quite awesome.

I kind of agree with Fred - up to now she seems a touch stalkerish. :) (why hasn't she said anything yet? I mean, part from the few phrases she got out early on)

haha, it does seem quite like Fred to hire someone just for the potential of having funny situations come up frequently.

I thought this phrase "harboring less than decent night-time thoughts" was especially spot on for Fred. It's funny and smart - quite the good combo for him to hit.

Oh gosh, Fred asking if she loves or likes George is awesome. I'm sure he'd want to protect his brother from hurt (which Jo clearly isn't trying to do) but would also want to understand her interest in him.

I love the scene with Fred and Josephine. The lengths that Fred will go to for his brother feel quite right. also, seeing what he's willing to do for the business also seems right on.

I'm interesting to see how Jo manages to convince the family she and Fred were involved. I mean, it seems like the type of thing George would know about. This is quite an intriguing story - you've written in very well and use Fred and George with great ease. reading this I wouldn't know they were hard for you to write.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey there! No worries whatsoever! And thank you for reviewing even though it's outside of your usual structure! I really appreciate it! *sends cookies*

LOL I'm so glad the interview questions have been such a big hit! They were really fun to come up with and I'm glad readers are enjoying them as well! And PHEW for Fred feeling in character!

Yes! So true! I adore the twins because they are not only hilarious, but truly intelligent and observant people, too! I'm glad you agree that Fred would have picked up on Jo's behavior! Also, I knew I needed Jo to have something beneficial to offer the company, or else I'm not sure it'd be quite believable that she'd end up there regardless of the George thing. Thanks!!

Yay George's scene! I'm glad he worked for you too and that you enjoyed all of the different moments of that section!

LOL That line seems to be a favorite, and I was quite happy when I came up with it too - Fred's so silly. :-p

Hahahaha Yeah, she really is kind of sweet, but mostly stalkerish - he hit the nail on the head with that one, methinks. ^.^ Also, as quiet as Jo is in regular life, when she's under stress, her silence seems to become almost completely insurmountable, so with Fred discovering her most sacred secret I think all she cares about is escaping! hehehe

Ah, I'm so glad the closing exchanges between Fred and Jo worked for you! I think that might have been the spot I was most worried about, but I'm glad to hear the dialogue fit and Fred's train of thought was an accurate one! I feel like I can breathe a sigh of relief now! haha Thank you!!

It's great to have you intrigued about the future of the story! The next two chapters should really explore the set up of getting Jo involved with the family - I'm excited to finish writing those scenes in particular! :)

I'm so happy that you enjoy my writing and believe I've done a good job with writing the twins! Honestly, that's so nice to hear! I sincerely appreciate it! This review is just so wonderful, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed response! :-D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>