Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Ignite, Chapter 37: Embers
  
53 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cora 

25th June 2017:
I just have to say that this is one of the best things I've ever read (fanfiction or not). Thank you for writing such a great story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Amicus 

23rd April 2017:
I didn't think I liked next gen, esp Scorpius Rose but written by you I loved it! All your characters have balance, I particularly loved Lockett and the glimpse of the impact on being a muggleborn incarcerated during the 2nd war.
Loved that you showed everyones relationships, each convincing. Brilliant Jones and his quiet bravery of doing what had to be done and perhaps never mentioning that there was a high probability of him having to act as he did to the others as otherwise they might not have gone ahead with the plan.
I love reading the snippits of Harry, Ron and Hermione too they read perfectly older but the same people at heart. I may not be able to wait to start the next in the series!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Libbypotter 

30th March 2017:
You are a truly great writer
Thank you for a wonderful story and amazing characters

 Report Review

Review #4, by Kathi 

7th January 2017:
This is the best fanfiction I ever read! You really have a lot of talent!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Art 

1st January 2017:
Hello...I just finished reading your Stygian trilogy and I unhesitatingly declare my love for this first part, "where it all began".You have a masterly standard of characterization and description, which enthralls reafers to the end ! Thank you for such a rollercoaster of emotions! However you broke me when you killed Methuselah Jones.absolutely heatbreaking.
Do you have any plans to update the 4th part.it ends in a cliffhanger.if and when can we expect new chapters?

Author's Response: I'm glad you've enjoyed the trilogy! And yeah, I'm sorry you've caught up on Part 4 to find it incomplete, I just have other fics which I put as a higher priority. I might try to get fewer but longer chapters done for Regeneration, but we'll see. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hazel Bludger 

11th October 2016:
Welp...thank you for literally crushing my soul. I cried through the majority of this chapter. Amazing.

Author's Response: I'm afraid to say that I'm not sorry. Crushing souls is what I do, you will come to learn.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ben 

21st May 2016:
Well...

That was bloody exhausting - and that's just reading it! Thanks so much for spending what must have been many many hours working on getting this story down on paper - it's truly a gem and I'm sure I'll be reading it again in years to come.

Loved the depth of characters and the funny little jokes you put in - I found myself awkwardly chuckling out loud on the train a few times with the witty repartees from Scorpio.

Can't wait to read the remainder of the trilogy!

Author's Response: It was a pretty daunting story to write and finish, yeah, but I'm super glad you've enjoyed and feel like you'll come back to it. I did rather enjoy trying to make it FUN as well as fairly dark in its way; Scorpius is an utter pest, isn't it?

I hope you enjoy the other two stories and thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Taro67 

10th April 2016:
Bravo, bravo! Your story brought me through laughter and tears. I started one evening and couldn't put it down until finishing the next morning.

My favorite part was the interactions between Selena and Methuselah. Too often, ones who are intelligent in logic/reasoning and ones who are intelligent in emotions/human behavior tend to under-appreciate each other. I wish that more corroboration like theirs could manifest in the real world.

What makes a hero? To me, Harry Potter's heroism came not from his physical battles against evil wizards, but from his front of courage, integrity and determination that drew an alliance behind and around him. I thought that Albus and Scorpius also falls into this category of heroes. Methuselah, however, is a different type of hero, one that often slaves away unseen. I will miss him in reading your sequels.

Selena. The vapid, vain, gossipy female is too often given a flat characterization and used as a punching bag, especially in fanfiction. But what made them this way? Kudos to you for redeeming this character in Selena. Her sociability (or feminine wiles?) brought the house elves on board. Her gossip brought accountability to the group. Her immaculate grooming brought order and stability into the chaos. Another alternate type of hero.

I haven't come across many fictional portrayals of academia-meets-reality. So as a grad student, I enjoyed the nuanced characterization of Lockett the quintessential academic researcher. She was not always the brilliant savior but not always the bumbling bookworm either.

Please continue to gift the world with your writing!

Author's Response: I'm sorry to suck you in overnight! Yeah, I was super cruel to poor Methuselah and Selena. They had a lot to learn from each other and respected the ways they were different, even if it stemmed from insecurity on both their parts; Methuselah hated being useless with people and Selena never thought herself that smart, so they both had something the other valued, even envied. I do kind of regret that we never got to see how their story could pan out together. And Methuselah would have had a lot to contribute to the future of the story, with his own brand of very logical heroism. But then, if a character's story was complete when they died, we wouldn't lose anything.

Selena, on the other hand, has miles to go in the rest of the series. And we find out more of why she is the way she is, and she manages to value more of these traits. From the get-go I know I wanted her to be the gossipy girl but properly get under the skin of such a character; I'd be lying if I denied characters such as Buffy's Cordelia Chase inspired her.

Poor Lockett. One of my more ambiguous and awkward characters ever. She was not equipped to be in that position, less so than even MOST teachers, and yet she had the skills to save the day. A difficult creature is she.

Well, Ignite's two sequels are up and complete and I'm still writing another story, so I have no intention of stopping soon, but thank you so much for your kind words and your review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by nhrdez 

17th February 2016:
Great story! Really enjoyed reading it. Look forward to the next part of the series.

Author's Response: The whole trilogy is mercifully complete, so I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ayumi 

8th January 2016:
OMFG.
It is literally so late (or should i say early?) but this was one of those rare gems that you just CANNOT stop reading. All of that in a single sitting, and absolutely no regrets whatsoever. You're an incredible writer!! So many things about it were absolutely incredible - character developments, beautiful descriptions, povs that were so clear that you didn't have to write who they belonged to...the list goes on. I am ecstatic that there's a sequel, which I am going to start right now :D thank you so much !!

Author's Response: In a single sitting! Wow! That's quite a session, but I'm thrilled you enjoyed it so much you couldn't put it down (switch it of?)!

Thank you so much for all your kind words, and I'm utterly grateful you enjoyed the story. Now go, enjoy the sequel!

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #11, by cherry_pop94 

18th December 2015:
Hello!

I'm so sorry that I didn't review every chapter as I read this. Actually, I'm already on Oblivion, but I just couldn't zip through this trilogy without at least leaving a few reviews for you!

This story is absolutely PHENOMENAL. I read this in about two sittings I think because I just could not put it down! I have terrible timing though, I've got exams!

There are just so many things about this that were absolutely brilliant. The plot, the pacing, the characters, the drama, the fact that despite all this darkness, you managed to put in so much humour still. You're an incredible writer and this is one of the best stories I've ever read here.

Methuselah's death absolutely broke my heart. I did not see it coming at all, but I should have known, someone's got to die here. I just... he was such a lovely character! His fears about his relationship with Selena were just so real. And when she realized he was dead... chills down my whole body. I could feel her pain through me it was absolutely devastating.

Seriously, this series is absolutely brilliant! I've favourited them all!

Stefanie

Author's Response: It's about time I got to your reviews! Frankly I'm just happy for any readers, so never be sorry, even for not reviewing! Not to mention it's been more than made up for with the slew of attention since, for which I'm HUGELY grateful.

I never really intended for the series to get as dark as it did - I knew it would grow up from the hijinks of the earliest chapters, but I figured the humour would remain. I'm glad that turned compelling rather than a bit odd for mood.

Poor Methuselah. I'm cruellest of all to him; there was an awful lot more to the character in terms of how he could have grown and developed and I still kind of hate myself for ending it when I did. But then, if his character arc was already over, it wouldn't have been so compelling that he DID die.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by AutumnRed 

16th December 2015:
This is, genuinely, one of the BEST stories I have ever read. I loved the elaboration on characters, giving them very distinct qualities and traits. The story itself is just BRILLIANT, and I remained captivated the entire time. I'm envious at the genius ideas throughout, as I could never think up such amazingly creative and different things. I must say I sobbed at Methuselah's death. So much emotion and wit went into this and it paid off exceedingly well.

Off to read the next of the series (which I'm so glad you wrote)!

Love and Magic.
xoxo,
AutumnRed.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am so pleased you enjoyed the story, and a little sorry I made people cry at Methuselah's death. It was pretty tough to write, poor kid.

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the series; it's now complete!

~ Slide


 Report Review

Review #13, by Crookshanks11 

10th December 2015:
This story was absolutely amazing, and I loved every second of it! And i'm holding out hope that in the sequel Draco will become a slightly more decent human to his son.

Author's Response: Draco does have his very own arc in the trilogy. He's certainly different by the end to how he was at the beginning. Maybe he won't disappoint you too badly!

Thank you so much for your kind words and for reviewing. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Anon 

2nd November 2015:
Absolutely beautiful. This story is brilliant. You've made me laugh and cry and everything in between. I am speechless. Just amazing. Thank you.

Author's Response: I am so glad you've enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Kaist 

16th October 2015:
Hi, I'm an anon who probably never would've found this site if it weren't for TV Tropes. What can I say about this story? I can say... I can say it blew me away, like wow. OCs, now, OCs are usually difficult and the characterizations of the new generation of Potters and Weasleys get so very old and tired in this fandom- but this is different, and I saw myself in Scorpius and Methuselah. There's irony in that, considering how different they are. But isn't that the point of a lovely story? It resonates with you. And I saw Methuselah's sacrifice coming from miles away, but oh, how I wish he had lived. Your little cast and their situation were refreshingly different and maybe just a little bit beautiful.

And Lockett- I wanted to comment on her. Because it's not so often that we see the one who deals with everything via humor in a jaded position, y'know? Or if they are, it's usually stated flat out. But you didn't do that with her, and that made for a really good compare/contrast situation with Scorp.

So thank you for writing this. It was brilliant.

Author's Response: Yay, my TV Tropes rec! I've always been so pleased by that. And I love writing my OCs, and subverting tropes where I can, so I'm glad both have worked for a satisfying story!

I wouldn't have thought anyone would see themselves in BOTH Scorpius and Methuselah, but thinking about it they do share certain insecurities and engrossing themselves in aspects of themselves to control that (or you relate to them in an entirely different way).

Lockett was a challenge to write; I wanted the cranky mentor archetype, but producing a sardonic, older character laden with a LOT of her own issues was tough. Satisfying, but tough, and she made a fun foil for Scorpius.

So glad you enjoyed! Thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Roisin 

5th May 2015:
Ah! This chapter went to Alright so fast that it made my head spin! Which is sort of perfect, because that's exactly how the characters feel. Like, "OK YAY ALL BETTER"--except Methuselah is DEAD. It's a bit like DH in that way. Like, "YAY VICTORY" but also "AH TONKS/REMUS/FRED!"

But yeah, all in all, the tonal shift here is so perfectly dizzying. After SO MUCH TIME just them all cooped up in the castle with unconscious students, it's really bizarre to see reporters jumping out of shrubbery.

"Just regular dead."--D:

Oh man, Father/Son showdown. Went about exactly as I had hoped and expected. I'm glad you didn't try to make a sympathetic Draco. Like, there's canon fodder for that interpretation, but it's easy to take too far. Draco's most sympathetic moments also happened to be his most pathetic, which doesn't say a great deal. And he was never brave so much as passive. While I can't see him as a Big Bad, he's often too easily forgiven. Like, he was complicit in TORTURING Hermione Granger. We can't really let that one go too easily.

'Flicker of a smile on Ron's face'!--Nice. It's easy to go the Overprotective Dad route with Ron, but I liked that you've given him enough reason to like Scorpius.

'I never liked the place'--BAH. RIGHT?!

Oh man, OH MAN. This story was SO GOOD.

SO. GOOD.

I've really enjoyed it SO MUCH, and it's definitely high on my All Time Top Favorites list.

BRAVA, Madame. BRAVA.

Author's Response: I'm glad the chapter is SATISFYING in its tonal shift, I was never 110% sure on ending things so abruptly. To further explore the aftermath would require the story to leave Hogwarts, and to look to the long-term. I didn't want to do the former at all - this is absolutely a Hogwarts story - and there was always going to be a sequel, so I knew the weeks and months afterwards could be covered there.

So Selena spends the final chapter crying downstairs while everyone else kind of numbly goes, 'We're alive, yay? But Methuselah is DEAD.' Regular dead.

I entirely Dislike Canon Draco. I see the elements in which he had no choice and I sympathise, but the sympathy doesn't outweigh the bad for me. I'd like to think he WOULD become a better man than he does in the Stygian Trilogy, and Pottermore implies that's the case. This is a fairly Worst Case Scenario family man Draco Malfoy. But I do think it's a POSSIBLE path he could take.

It's more complicated than Scorpius ever thinks it is, and it's even more complicated than Draco presents himself here, but nooo. He can care about his son and still not be a Good Guy.

I DESPISE - with the fire of a THOUSAND SUNS - the Ron who auto-hates Rose being with Scorpius, however decent a guy Scorpius (or sometimes the Malfoys as a whole) are. Ron's not an idiot and he's had 25 years now to grow up, slow down, and pay attention. The moment he realises Scorpius isn't so hot on his family, Scorp is okay by him. Basically I'd fire that cliche into space if I could, I will defend Ron to the death, fight me.

I am so thrilled you've enjoyed the story! It does continue... with some tonal shifts, which I only quite realise the severity of when people talk about the fun and humour in Ignite, but yeah, really glad you've had fun, really grateful for all of the excellent, excellent reviews.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #17, by x-rayLady 

25th April 2015:
This was a brilliant, well-written story! So much so that I am wondering if you'd happen to have some original fiction published out there somewhere. And even if you don't you really should consider doing so ;-)

Author's Response: I do have original fiction out there, though it's self-published so doesn't really count. ;) Check my Author Page here on HPFF for some links.

Very glad you've enjoyed the story! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #18, by JilyBlack 

5th March 2015:
Alright, first of all I LOVED your Story.
I couldn't stop reading it and finished it all in one go. Very compelling and a huge distraction from everything else (Which is a good thing by the way :D ). I haven't seen such a thought through, convincing and at the same time interesting plot in a long time.
Your Story made a boring trainride very exciting, so thanks you for writing it :)

x Jily

Author's Response: I'm so glad I could kill a train journey with the story! I always have a special place in my heart for books which make trips go faster, so happy to provide!

Thrilled you enjoyed the fic, the sequels are out there, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by EmmaGM 

9th February 2015:
First of all, I'm sorry that I didn't review for the last couple of chapters. The story was so stirring, I just had to read on right away.

Second of all, congratulations on finishing such a wonderful story. It was beautifully written, but above all, the story line was fantastic. I never read anything like it, and I loved it. This was definitely one of the best stories I've read in a long time.

The way you write the relationships between the characters is extremely well done. Scorpius, Rose and Albus seem to have an extraordinary friendship between the three of them. Thinking back to Harry, Ron and Hermione during their time at Hogwarts is inevitable when you read about them.

You didn't only do well with the characters we already know. You did a great job developing your own characters. I think, as a writer, it is much more difficult to make the readers care about other characters, simply because they didn't know them before reading the story. But I found myself laughing, caring and crying for Methuselah Jones, Selena Rourke and Professor Lockett.

In my opinion, Jones and Rourke have made the biggest character development during the course of the story. Jones' sacrifice was one of the bravest things I read, despite the fact that he knew it was the only thing left to do.

I remember you telling me that Professor Lockett was the worst possible person to have around in this crisis situation, and I agreed with you. But I was glad to see that she eventually came around and was able to find a cure for Phlegethon. Still, I wonder if she will chose to return to Hogwarts as a teacher. This year must have her doubting her career path.

The last chapter was both sad and good. You did a great job on the confrontation between Scorpius and Draco. It went exactly the way I hoped it would.

Once again, congratulations on finishing your story and thank you for sharing it with us. I can't wait to get started on the next instalment.

Author's Response: Heh, I can't judge you for wanting to rush to the end. If the story weren't so compelling I wouldn't have done a good job!

Very glad you enjoyed yourself, and enjoyed the characters. I'm fond of these guys myself, especially the New Trio, but Selena and Methuselah were heartbreaking to write at times - especially knowing what was coming. I have a soft spot for Lockett, but for all her smarts she is not a good TEACHER, and, no, will not go back to it. At the least, she's redeemed her reputation in the world of research and academia and could easily go back there.

The Scorpius/Draco confrontation was inevitable, but there will be more to come of their relationship.

Thanks a whole bunch for these reviews, and I'm stoked you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Julie 

2nd October 2014:
I've read fanfictions for a few years now, but I can assure you, this one is the best one I've ever read! The characters fit great together and stay out of the clichés, there is romance (so glad to find a fic with romance AND an actual plot, unlike the classic ones where Scorpius and Rose hate each other with no reason, but become prefects and fall in love during the chrismas dance but then are getting jealous and blahblahblah), action (I was so scared when the five of them were in the forest and Scorpius saw the Dementor), emotion (even if at the end, there were a little, but really tiny little bit too much of those, I think this is the only critic I could give and it's almost nothing), suspense (oh my, you plot is AMAZING), realism, we really can see the difficulties they have to face without getting fed up with their temper (you almost made me cry when Tim moved again after being killed by the illness only to become an Inferius), and you gave a whole new face to Hogwarts, used all of it capacities: I usually get tired of the place because usually you have nothing less to discover, if there is, it doesn't feel natural and if you put your story out of Hogwarts a little something is missing...

So... The story is just perfect! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOUUU you should become an author because your writing skills are truly amazing and I had difficulties to put my reader down and focus on studies... I'm not sure I should thank you for that one, hahah!

I'm sorry this review is a little long and maybe is too much of compliments but I really needed to make you feel how I enjoyed myself by reading your fanfiction! I'm heading right to the sequel (screw maths)!

PS: I'm sorry if I did some mistakes and if my vocabulary is a little poor compared to yours (I learnt a few new English words) but English isn't my native language, I tried my best!
Please keep writing!

Author's Response: I need a bit of action in my stories; even if I'm here for the characters, I like the risk of life and death to force the characters in new directions! So I'm glad the whole ups and downs were fun and compelling to read!

I do kind of agree with you on 'too much' emotion at the end. If I had my time again I'd handle some of the character arcs differently; I find Scorpius' a bit sloppy in hindsight. He gets dumped, he sulks. Tim dies, he's even sadder. Then he just Sort Of Gets Better over Christmas - it was a bit of a messy Down in the Dumps and Recovery process. I don't know how I'd change it, but I'd probably consolidate more events if I could. But that's hindsight for you!

I'm working on being an author, some day my original fiction will find success! I'm not that sorry I kept you from your studies. Okay, a little sorry. Go study!

No such thing as a review that's too long and full of too many compliments. I truly appreciate you taking the time for this review, and don't apologise for your English! My second language is French your linguistic skills put mine to shame. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by madness 

17th August 2014:
I totally just sobbed reading the last two chapter, so thanks for that. You're a fantastic writer, and an even better story teller. Thank you.

Author's Response: I'm not that sorry, I'm afraid. Just glad you're enjoying the show - and the story continues with the sequel. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Starlight and dreams 

14th July 2014:
This was such an amazing novel! It was really well written. The deaths nearly had me in tears, the way the characters connected was awesome. Actually can't believe how good that was and how attached I became to everyone. Please keep writing.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! The sequel's in progress and still going strong. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Gary 

3rd February 2014:
An absolutely AMAZING story. I wish I could memory charm myself so I could read it again!

Author's Response: You don't have to do that! There's a sequel you can amble over and read. :D

Very glad you enjoyed the story, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MadiMalfoy 

6th January 2014:
Well I was basically blubbering through Methuselah's self-sacrifice and the pain Selena was going through. Urgh, such angst and pain and plot but such good writing! I'm very very very jealous of your skill because not many stories can make me feel emotionally attached like this one did. I've read many books in my lifetime so far, but a fair few don't come close to the greatness of this piece of fan fiction. You're an amazing writer with such great skill and I hope you become a published author sometime in the future because you deserve it! I'll be reading Starfall as soon as possible. :)
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: Poor Selena. She wasn't originally going to get a scene in the final chapter, but I realised I couldn't have her as basically the only character to NOT have a scene - and I realised I couldn't end her story in Ignite with her in the clearing. That, and I wanted to introduce her mother.

I do try to tackle my fanfiction with roughly the same level of dedication I approach my original fiction, though fanfiction is sometimes less inhibited - which is good, I can experiment, do more stuff for 'fun'. But hopefully writing will become more than a mere hobby soon.

Thanks for all your support and reviews, and I hope to see you in the Starfall ones soon!


 Report Review

Review #25, by tori20444 

2nd January 2014:
You're story was the best I've ever read. There should be fan fiction about your fan fiction. It had me crying and laughing, it was wonderful. I love/hate you. (more love then hate. i just- Methuselah. T-T i used a hole box of tissues on him) Please keep up your wonderful writing.

Forever your fan,
tori20444 (or Tori for short)

Author's Response: I'll take hate if I'm getting an emotional reaction! It hurt me, too, to kill Methuselah, but it had to be done. His story had to be cut short, or else it wouldn't hurt, else we wouldn't have lost anything, and we need to feel that loss, that denial of his dramatic arc, just as the characters feel the loss of his presence.

Plenty more adventures to come. Whole sequel out there, still in the works. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>