Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

5th August 2016:
Yay! Take that, McLaggen!

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 

24th March 2014:
Hello again!

Ah, this was such a good chapter to come back to (although thankfully not after as long a break as last time!). I felt really sorry for Stefan having to play a three day match! I liked how you included the little facts that someone like James would know, the statistics about how long it has been since someone played a match this long in professional Quidditch and stuff. I'm still amazed by how thoroughly you've planned and written about the game and the Quidditch world from what we've been given so far, and I feel like everything you write about it seems realistic and believable - I could take it as canon quite easily. At least Stefan caught the Snitch in the end, even if his team couldn't win the match in the end!

I didn't think that James would be going outside of Europe during the summer for his Quidditch, not with everything the way it is at the moment with his family and Carlotta. I'm not sure if he'll even go outside of Britain, to be honest, although if he does, I think it would be cool for him to go to Spain and then he could learn some Spanish :P

The plotline about who is going to be the next Quidditch teacher at Hogwarts is really interesting. I can't work out what you're going to do with that one, not at all, but I feel like you've got something really good hidden up your sleeve. Maybe McLaggen will give up and go there? (Although I wouldn't wish that on the pupils). I can't really see James going, because it would be hard for Carlotta to be with him - would she even be able to see the castle or live there if they got to that point? But he might take it. Hmm, I don't know, and I can't work it out!

The excitement of all the characters about seeing the Quidditch World Cup final is getting me really excited about it. I hope that England do get through to the final and win! It would be great for James to play there, and I loved Carlotta's faith in his playing abilities. Either way, it'll be a pretty spectacular occasion, I think.

And yes! James got the spot on the team instead of McLaggen! That made me grin so much when I read it, because even though I thought it was going to happen I couldn't be sure and you have a habit of twisting the plot and surprising me :P He was so angry but I loved the fact that some of the others weren't all that surprised, and had thought that McLaggen was the one having to prove himself rather than James. I feel like James really deserves this, and he's changed and improved so much from a couple of months ago when he got called up and dropped from the squad for his behaviour. This James is much nicer to read about!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Ah yes, the three day match. I was cruel to Stefan. But we haven't had enough stupidly long matches in this fic! And James is definitely a Quidditch nerd. It's funny, that's the kind of detail that I didn't even think twice about putting in. Maybe it's because I'm writing in first person, from the perspective of someone who's Quidditch mad? James is proceeding to turn me into a Quidditch nut. Although, as discussed, I'm now sick to the back teeth of it. :P

James should totally learn Spanish, shouldn't he? Then he and Carlotta can jabber away to their hearts' content. :)

HA. Yes, Jeremiah McLaggen is going to be the new Quidditch teacher. Can you IMAGINE how awful he'd be? Rest assured, that is NOT going to happen. What IS going to happen? Well, you'll just have to wait and see!

The James of now is almost unrecognisable from the James of the beginning of the fic, or the James that had the breakdown. It's bewildering even for ME, and I always knew this was going to happen. He's much nicer this way, isn't he? Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Potterblotter 

19th December 2013:
The Tension!!! It's Building!! Cant wait for the next chapter! Excellent writing as usual you wonderful imaginative person you.

Author's Response: Sorry for the delay! The tension is indeed building ... thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sgwilliams 

18th December 2013:
Hey! I wanted to thank you for sharing such an excellent fic with the world! It's a really engrossing story, which has resulted in me losing a bit of sleep over the last couple of days as I attempted to read up to the most recent chapter :D

I especially wanted to congratulate you on your characterization: everyone in the story comes across as a fully-realized, 3-dimensional character, something you don't get a lot of in FanFiction. I like how despite the story having a generally positive tone, you don't restrain from showing the characters flaws in any way: James can be aggressive or egotistical, Harry's relationship with James was criticized, Freddie is still scarred by his parents relationships and Brie can be portrayed as overly controlling. It makes the characters really memorable, and a lot more human.

As you can probably tell, I enjoyed your fic immensely, and am looking forward to your next update :)

Author's Response: It's always nice when people comment favourably on characterisation, because that's something I always try to put a lot of detail into. These people should be more than just names on a page, and they're certainly all fully-fleshed characters in my mind, so it's good to know that translates. :) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ReeBee 

9th November 2013:
Saying that I loved it would be a total understatement!! I can't wait to find out the ending! I've got to here in 2 days in the midst of exams! Its been my saviour!

I love Carlotta's personality and you write quidditch incredibly well!! I love the team meetings and how its all so realistic!! I can't wait for the next chapter!!! :D

Author's Response: Wow, two days! That's some going! Glad to be of some help regarding exams; I know I often seek out the same respite. Although that tends to turn into blatant procrastination which is Very Bad. Glad to know you like Carlotta - and also the quidditch, that's a part I particularly enjoy writing. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Slide 

8th November 2013:
I'M HERE.

Yay, it's the multi-day match! This pleases me for silly, nerdy reasons. Oh, James, you sweetheart staying near to home. I'm so glad he's being sensible about it and doing it for good reasons, instead of feeling obligated or restrained - which would be fair! But he's not repressing, he's just being sensible.

Poor Stefan. :(

I wondered when the instructor job would pop back up again as a plot point. It's curious, I'm not sure what you're driving at for it. James won't leave the Falcons... I don't think!!! Oh, God, unless something horrid happens... Okay, this is the definition of pointless fussing. *reads on*

Well, let's hope England hosting this World Cup goes better than it did last time!

Of course James plays. McLaggen is an idiot. But this explosion should be good. And it doesn't disappoint. It's also good to see James' ambition and pride come in - he's so calm in how he handles his professional stuff these days, which is great growth, but the guy's allowed to be smug about slapping down a rival and proving himself!

Good stuff.

Author's Response: SO AM I.

Multi-day match time! This is where the whole substitution thing confused me - because why should there be subs NOW, and yet not when Lynch got wiped out? I guess I fell into that pitfall because JK did; when Harry had to drop out of matches half-way through, he couldn't be replaced, and yet there's also talk of subs taking over in long matches. Maybe that's the rule? Maybe the subs are there in the event of a long match, to replace EVERYONE, but you can't have one-off bench-style subs? Yeah, that's the line I'm taking on this one.

James knows he's young, and has more than enough time to go abroad if he wants to. The next World Cup won't be for another four years, he doesn't need to start thinking about developing his game RIGHT NOW. Although if I were him I'd be jetting off somewhere exotic thank you very much. Alas, this is one moment where I cannot project myself upon him.

Oh, the instructor job. Basically, James loses his arm in the next England match, and is told it can't be grown back and he can never play again ... ;) All jokes aside, I'm still ridiculously excited about my plan for that. You'll have to wait to see what happens! :)

Well England knocked Transylvania out in qualifying so things are already shaping up better for them than last time round. Was it Transylvania they lost to? Or Luxembourg? One of the Home Nations lost to Luxembourg but I can't for the life of me remember which way round it goes now. EITHER WAY things are already promising.

James plays. Happy days! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Connor 

5th November 2013:
Driving me crazy to not know the ending of this story yet! You know its an amazing story then!!

Author's Response: Sorry for the delay! Good to know you're enjoying the fic though. :) The end shouldn't be too far off, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by guest 

31st October 2013:
Great chapter as always, keep it up!!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review