Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybe 

17th August 2015:
I have no words.

That's a lie. I have many words, but they are all jumbled with the emotions in my head from reading this. Perhaps a list...

1) I got only one hour of sleep last night thanks to my total disregard for anything other than this story.

2) THIS--> 'Get in the queue for hell, but be ready for a long wait 'cos some people have got express tickets.' --> WHAT A LINE! :wub:

3) Everything about this chapter was just so overwhelmingly, emotionally amazing. And then you go and close with that letter from Harry, who I already love so much, and MY HEART WAS NOT PREPARED FOR THIS!!!

4) Also about the letter, but I feel the poetic justice in Harry giving Sirius's watch to Scorpius deserves its own accolades. So brilliant, so moving.

THIS STORY IS UNBELIEVABLY GOOD! Like, why aren't you published yet? (Or maybe you are?) I would pay the outrageous price at a bookstore to own this book. In hardcover. Even if it wasn't on sale. Sincerely.

I hope you are VERY VERY VERY proud of this story, because you should be!!!

In awe,
Renee

Author's Response: I'm still only a LITTLE sorry about not enough sleep due to story reading. *cough*

Sometimes I give Scorpius good one-liners. Actually, no, sometimes Scorpius breaks into my brain and delivers good one-liners, then yells at me until I write them down. He's finnicky like that.

I was so excited when I got to write the letter from Harry! The bond with him and Scorpius wasn't planned at ALL, and then I was writing the very first chapter and the similarities between them struck me. I knew I had to revisit it, which was tough as they're separated by quarantine for the whole bloody story. But the letter seemed apt, as did Scorpius getting Sirius' watch.

Any publishing I have received is all self-published, and science fiction crime thrillers, which isn't always the cup of tea of my Harry Potter fanfic fans. If only I could publish this, alas. JK would rightfully have me. :-D

Thanks a whole bunch for your kind words and review!

- Cath


 Report Review

Review #2, by Roisin 

7th April 2015:
MEOW HARRY AW! Totally made me tear up, there!

Also, way to nest a bunch of family intrigue into that letter! I'm now wondering if some of Draco's less-than-innocent business dealings have something to do with the larger conspiracy at play.

It makes a lot of sense to me that Harry would give him a watch--after all, he didn't have a family to give HIM one, and so he would know how important it is to step in for someone else. Like, he totally knows what Scorpius is going through, so it makes sense that he'd sort of adopt him the way the Weasleys adopted him and the Potters adopted Sirius

I again loved Selena and her Emotional Wisdom and advice-giving. AND HER AND METHY ARE SO CUTE ZOMG! So many WAFFles.

And I really loved the conversation between Scorpius and Albus. Scorp did a really good job of making him feel better, and also sort of made the case for the reader. I loved his point about how they're all a team, and they're all flawed, and they have each others' backs.

I sorta wanna maybe suspect Draco as the big bad, but that doesn't really work--he wouldn't know that Scorpius would get detention and end up in the protection zone. And even if he's a terrible father he probably wouldn't turn his own son into an Inferius. But yeah, he might be connected somehow.

Author's Response: I present Draco in this story rather more nastily than I think it's likely he would have wound up (if nothing else, I doubt JK had him go through all he did only to become just as much of a berk as his father). But certainly he has his skeletons in closets and nastier secrets. It would take some supremely insane villainy to willingly have his son turned into an Inferius, and not really one I could see a Malfoy signing up for.

Oddly I never intended the Harry/Scorpius relationship when this story was in the planning stage, but of course the moment I started with Chapter 1 and their interactions it LEAPT out at me with all the obvious parallels. I figured Harry would feel much the same.

Selena really is the Heart of the group. Scorp and Al do have each other's backs decently. They're pretty integral to one another's sanity as well as development.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Siriuslover177 

21st June 2014:
*wipes eye* oh my goodness. That was really touching. His giving him Sirius' watch... like, wow. I am glad that he wrote him that, and offered him to stay at his house. That is really, really nice. Al's family finally excepts him fully...

And Rose and Scorp. Scorp better kiss her once she wakes up, because I know that she will. And they will date.

And Selena and Jones... they are just so cute. I love them together. I love how awkward, and cute they are.

And Scorp... ughh. They are going to be so mad when they find he sighned the contract. He better have a very good plan to think he will be able to defeat this guy. Or hopefully he will be able to make a good exchange.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Al's family probably did want to accept him, they just weren't sure how to do it, and they weren't sure Scorpius WANTED accepting.

Selena's advice to Scorpius is good. He needs to kiss that girl, and if he lets this opportunity pass him by, he's a fool. But don't worry! He's got his plans to get out of this alive.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Europa27 

31st December 2013:
the letter was just so heartwarming... i had tears in my eyes reading it... it felt lie i was reading it from Scorpius's perspective and it really really was incredible... the story has been very engaging and i havent been able to stop coming back to it in the midst of my work...

Author's Response: I'm not that sorry I'm distracting you from work. ;)

The letter is something I'm particularly proud of. I hadn't intended on the connection between Harry and Scorpius, it just wrote itself back in the first chapter, and I think that it's been so long coming is what makes it particularly effective. Scorpius needs adults in his life who can back him up, as he only now has his cruel father, absent mother, and... Lockett, who's more like a flawed big sister than a parent. Having Harry's support will do him a lot of good.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 

21st November 2013:
That letter was perfection. Chapter after chapter you have proved to impress me again and again. I can't believe how much detail and care you take with writing your stories. Your characters are all distinctly different, and the story line never strays. I'm immensely impressed, and I love this story.

Fantastic job so far, I can't wait to finish reading it. 10/10 on this chapter.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: The letter has been coming a while - literally, and dramatically it's been seeded since the first chapter, Harry seeing so much of himself in young Scorpius without realising it. I had to revisit that point at some stage, and now was the time for Scorpius to get that spark of inspiration and hope.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gail 

16th November 2013:
THE SIRIUS PART HAS ME CRYING.

Author's Response: GOOD.

Nah, seriously, thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell 

24th October 2013:
That was so heartwarming, just all across the board. You do a nice job of weaving in peaceful moments among the tension, and the moments in this chapter--Selena and Methuselah, Harry’s letter to Scorpius--were just perfect.

Thanks.

--Penny

Author's Response: Yes, I find it important to get the emotional ducks in a row, so to speak, before the large drama kicks in. As the drama needs its denouement too!

 Report Review

Review #8, by water_lily43175 

24th October 2013:
Oho. Phlegethon turns the afflicted into LIVING INFERI. Well, this is a nasty business. Not that we weren't all aware of the nastiness before, of course. It's just, now we know EXACTLY how nasty it is. And I love how it works out that the Stone can cure it. Very neat!

Oh, poor Albus. Of COURSE he's now in the "must blame self" state of mind. Scorp, of course, gives wonderful advice. Love a bit of Scorbus.

Oh, Selena. "You'd better kiss that girl." SHA LA LA LA LA LA MY OH MY... Yeah, let's not turn this into a Disney sing-song. Her concern for Rose is, once again, lovely to see. And ALL OF THE super-mushy feelings at Scorp's little talk to Rose.

Very suspicious that Thane wants to see Scorpius specifically. I can't see how this is going to work out in Scorp's favour, I must say.

Methuselena moment very cute.

Oh my ... words fail me. Oh, HARRY. Of course, this kind of intervention was foreshadowed way back in the first chapter, with the scene on the platform, and now it's come I am a massive pile of squee. He really is so wonderful and adorable and PERFECT. I LOVE IT.

Author's Response: Yup! That's what it does. I mean, you'll die before you become an Inferius, but it's putting people through the process of being zombie-fied while still alive. So, pretty horrid! I've been lucky with the Ignite plot, I had a basic principle and the setting has then provided everything I needed with Phlegethon with very little work (and I didn't want to invent too much new stuff).

Scorbus here are cute. Finally Scorpius gets to be the one to perk up Albus! When it's almost always the other way around. While I don't tend to give them massive focus, the two of them just write themselves when I put them in a scene.

Selena breaks into Disney songs. Story totally derailed.

I was so happy I finally got to do the Harry thing here. It was never explicitly planned to be this, but the thematic similarity of Scorp and Harry was something I knew from the get-go I wanted to address. And then it was going to happen at Xmas but there was Just Too Much, so I figured the letter being lost for a while was... better!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LillyRoseanne 

22nd October 2013:
Naw... Selena and Mathusela... So cute... and Harry's letter to scorpius made me cry too, it was so sweet and I really want scorp to succeed... and rose to live and them to get through this... must stop crying and being overly emotional now...
LR
x

Author's Response: Haha, I don't mind if I get an emotional response! Glad you enjoyed the chapter, and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by em 

20th October 2013:
perfect perfect perfect...cannot tell you how excited I was to read the past few chapters! I will be sad to see this story end (so you'd better write more stories!) but at the same time i'm on the edge of my seat waiting for the finish!

Author's Response: We've got a rip-roaring ride to the end from here, updates queueing all the time, and it won't stop until the dust of Ignite has settled. But there is, have no fear, a sequel in the works, so the ride's end won't be forever. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Mc 

16th October 2013:
Methuselena is honestly the cutest pairing of people ever! I come on this site just for this story!

Author's Response: They are pretty adorable, aren't they? Thanks for the kind words and for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by missdagane 

16th October 2013:
OMG, I wonder why Scorpius? I really like how he's taking leadership now. I hope Draco is not involved (I suppose he would have avoid his son's contamination in the first place). It's a wonderful fic: amazing plot, amazingly written, fast upadtes...can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Scorpius is really stepping up to the plate now - this situation here is absolutely his time to shine, the apex of his growth. Draco being involved... yeah, he would probably want to keep his son safe. That said, Scorpius IS immune, so maybe this was what he wanted, IF he's involved. Fun theories. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by walterwhite 

16th October 2013:
I read its only 37 chapters. That is just 4 more to go!! Feel like breaking bad finale all over again :'( please tell me there is a sequel. These characters have so much potential even by themselves.

Author's Response: There is, indeed, a sequel in the works. I'm not yet ready to say goodbye to this plot or to these characters, so worry not, Ignite is the tale of Phlegethon in Hogwarts. Issues beyond all of that... will be taken up in the sequel!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by fanficPHD 

16th October 2013:
there are stories that have a good plot and then there stories that have well written characters. Yours is one of the rare few to have both. kudos!

Author's Response: Thank you! I do value a good plot alongside good characters, I think one is easily dry without the other. Plot pushes the characters interesting places - characters make us feel the plot matters. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by tenyearsoffanfic 

16th October 2013:
You keep exceeding expectations with with every chapter. This story is going in my fanfic classics vault.

Author's Response: And there's still a way to go before the end yet, I'll see if I can exceed expectations even more with the remaining chapters. Thanks for the kind words and for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by fanofgredforge 

16th October 2013:
You made a grown man tear up with that letter from harry potter. Its a bummer that there are so few chapters left.

Author's Response: I'm not even sorry! I'm glad the piece is moving, however. There might not be many chapters left but there is a sequel in the works, so fret not, the tale is not to be over yet. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Solana 

15th October 2013:
One more thing: Why do I get the strange, unsettling feeling that, if Scorpius manages to stay alive through it all, the price for getting them all the healing they need, in addition to returning Downing, is Scorpius returning to Malfoy Manor and becoming a "proper son" of Draco's and never see his friends again?

Because in order to save them all, he would probably agree. He and they would then be busy figuring out a way to get him out, but I'm afraid this just might happen.

Why else is he the one who has to go?

Like, maybe, the sequel may involve the group trying to free him or ... oh, I truly hope that's not it. I'm not sure I'd want to read a story like that. Whatever they get up to in the next story, I really, truly hope that's not it.

After all, now that he's 17, he doesn't legally have to go back to his father and I doubt he wants to.

Author's Response: If Draco did that, I could see Scorpius being inclined to go along with it, yes. That sort of sacrifice would be the kind of thing he's grown to be able to do. But I guess we'll see! There *is* a specific reason why he's the one Thane wants to see, though it's not apparent yet.

The sequel... hm. I'm not sure how much I want to spoil! So I'll spoil none and say, "interesting theory". I will, however, say that you're right in that now he's 17, Scorpius is under no obligation to go back to his father. Draco has no legal hold over him AND this will come up.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Solana 

15th October 2013:
OMG!

First, I'm with Whimsical Diva -- and I thought it before, too: I have a not-so-pleasant feeling Draco is involved in this, although to what extent I can't yet figure out.

I was so hoping not, for Scorpius' sake, obviously, and because I guess in the end I didn't want to conclude that Draco was really that evil. That he wasn't really a monster as Harry says here. But considering how monstrously he's been treating his own son ... I have a sick feeling in my gut.

Now, when I finished reading this chapter, my first instinct, other than the above, was: OH GOD OH MERLIN NO! NO! NO! YOU'RE NOT KILLING SCORPIUS, are you? Is he going to go save them all but sacrifice his own life? What, because he still foolishly thinks his life is worth less than the others? Please, please, I so hope not!

I could not continue with this story, or its sequel, if you killed off Scorpius. Tim was bad enough. I guess in every such story, there will be lives lost. But God not Scorpius!!!

And Rose? She will survive ... won't she? She has to!! They have to get through this together, then get together for the next story. They're the stars of the show here!! :-)

Your writing is absolutely beyond expectations. I must, absolutely must, have the next chapter forthwith! 10+

Author's Response: We will meet Draco before the end of Ignite. Interesting theory on him being involved in the plot, I can see why you reach that conclusion! On the one hand, a man does not need to be a monster in all aspects of his life to be a monster to his own son. On the other hand, is he this vicious and evil? And why would he be doing this? Guess we'll see.

Scorpius dying? Well, it would make him the first major character of a work of mine I've ever killed off. He would do something silly and noble, in his way, though, wouldn't he? I guess we'll see.

Next chapter, with all of its answers, coming soon! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by kTDOTC 

15th October 2013:
i love your story so much and i can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Updates coming all the time! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by guilty_pleasures 

15th October 2013:
DONT STOP OH MY GOD THIS IS MAKING ME SO HAPPY. KEEP POSTING CANNOT WAIT TO SEE HOW IT ALL ENDS. You are amazing thank you for not leaving this story and updating so fast up to the end now you can! You're the best!

Author's Response: Updates coming all the time and I'm glad you're enjoying them this much! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Whimsical Diva 

15th October 2013:
Hmmm. Something makes me think Thane's boss is Draco Malfoy. I guess we'll discover soon enough, eh?

I loved the letter from Harry. Not many fanfic authors write him well, but you do.

I think you mentioned there are only 37 chapters to this fic. That's just 4 more chapters to go. I'll miss this lot for sure. I hope you don't quit writing fanfic and probably write more about these characters.

Author's Response: Draco? Interesting theory. I can see why people suspect that. There will be more on Draco, and why he is the way he is, and I promise we'll meet him in the flesh before Ignite is done.

I did enjoy writing the letter from Harry. He's an older Harry, of course, but still our same Harry, with his great capacity for affection when the situation rises.

There will be a sequel, worry not! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review