Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

24th March 2017:
Heart breaking poor Tim

 Report Review

Review #2, by RoseFromGryffindor 

10th October 2015:
Nononononononononononononononononononononononononononono

Author's Response: Sometimes I'm mean.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Roisin 

20th March 2015:
OH NO. OH NO, OH NO, OH NO. If Scorpius threw his teacup at a house elf it must be bad... I feel like he knows better than that at this point, so he must be REALLY upset.

I really like the comparison of snowflakes being 'no bigger than fingerprints'--lovely.

"R-W-" was also very clever.

NO! TIM! I mean, I kind of saw it coming, but I'm still /devastated/.

I like the point Methuselah makes, because it makes the most sense from a purely academic and logical perspective. Like, they DON'T have enough evidence. If they take everyone off the elixer, everyone might die. If they leave everyone on, everyone might die. Taking some people on and some people off could possibly kill some people, but it would make it possible to save a lot more.

But they AREN'T test subjects, and one of the canon themes is how "For the Greater Good" can be fallacious. Sometimes, it's used as a justification for horrible acts. Other times, it can be a way to justify one of two difficult or horrible choices. The best thing, maybe, is to ignore all that noise, and think creatively for another option entirely.

SELENA! BOSS WITCH!

Oh gosh, where's Lockett!?! I don't know whether her disappearing is a good sign or a bad one. Like, it might try and SEEM like a bad sign, but maybe she's doing something Boss Witch and self-sacrificing or something... OR, maybe she WAS involved in the Phlegethon conspiracy, which is WHY they were out in the forest that night, and she's like... Over it now because a kid died and she's gonna go tell her co-conspirators that it's over? I DUNNO. I like her for the villain in that I DON'T like her for the villain, because I like her a lot.

Oh, or she's just getting smashed in Ravenclaw tower. That also works.

Man, the justifications for her self-doubt are pretty strong. Like, she's doing her BEST, and she couldn't have KNOWN the potion might kill people, and it seemed to be working, but I believe her perspective. It is pretty hard to swallow that failure after Rose and Scorpius nearly died. (Which is another reason why it was extra clever for them to run into Thane. It makes that whole journey have a remaining, tangible value).

Hmmm, is the muggleborn girl who Lockett knew who got killed canon? I'm trying to think who it could be...

'They do a great job of getting the people around them killed'--ouch!

When Scorpius curses the universe, I like that he doesn't think to suggest that he'd rather see Hector die. You do a good job of compartmentalizing the teen drama stuff.

"And Tim's open eyes looked up at him!" AH! AH! AH! Okay, so I DID slightly see this coming, because you established the whole 'talk to him' thing last chapter, but it's still an amazing shock! Like, you really let him BE dead for long enough, and brilliantly suggested this out earlier.

'But no living thing moved like that, in such a jerky, unnatural way'--OH NO. WHAT?! AH!?! CRAP?!?!

INFERIUS! OH MY GOSH! JESUS! NO! WHY!?!?!?!

OH MY GOSH that was really scary and awful and terrible. ZOMBIES. Guh. POOR SCORPIUS. This is an emotional roller-coaster.

Man, you do a really good job of creating intense emotions for your characters to justify their behaviors. Like, the other ones have a point, but Scorpius' anger makes perfect sense.

Of everyone, Albus is the one I'd suggest be the leader. He's definitely the most level of any of them.

MAN this story just took a really serious turn. Smart, also, because otherwise it would be difficult to string along the ScoRose stuff.

And that ending just kind of DESTROYED me.

Author's Response: Yeah, the House Elf was probably being pretty hyper squeaky and helpful and not going away when Scorpius was trying to make them and then he lost his temper. Poor kid was pretty upset, though.

In times of stress, Scorpius fusses over first names.

Methuselah is being pretty cold but yes, he is also RIGHT. And yet, that's very likely picking a group of kids and going, 'You might be the ones to suffer/die if you've got the bad choice.' And the kids aren't very equipped to cope with making that kind of choice.

Selena is tolerating none of this 'giving up' idea. Partly because she knows this is how it's going to go, so let's skip the fuss and debate.

Lockett has her reasons for slinking away. They might be VILLAIN reasons! Or, um, alcoholic reasons. Right now, she's getting the joy of being the only responsible adult who has no idea what she's doing, and someone's just died on her watch. She's grossly underprepared for this crisis, even by the usual standards of crisis, and so really Not Coping.

I should cop to Lockett's origins - she was a secondary character in my predominantly-OC alongside-canon series. I picked her on purpose to 'cross over' to Ignite for several reasons, BUT this is 25 years on and I've generally tried pretty hard to not write her that someone needs to know the other story. Most of the things which messed her up didn't happen in the other story, and those which did can be summarised as, 'I was a Muggle-born in Azkaban in Voldemort's takeover,' which is pretty self-explanatory.

Oh, yeah, the bit where everyone thinks I brought Tim back, only instead he's an Inferius and Scorpius has to set fire to the corpse. Ha, I'm always proud of the upset reactions that one gets.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriuslover177 

20th June 2014:
Why? The did he have to die? He was such a sweet boy, and he never did anything wrong. And then he has to come back to life? Scorp will not be able to handle all of this happening to him. He just can't.

And now the teacher is totally losing it, and cannot do anything. Everything is just falling apart... i dunno how they are going to get past this. Esspecially Scorp..

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Unfortunately, Phlegethon isn't picky in who it takes; it'll kill them all the same. Even if it's killing a thirteen year-old boy.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 

21st November 2013:
Poor Scorpius. I actually teared up a bit when he was dealing with the spells over Tim's body. You've really developed this story well, and I love it. You don't miss a single detail, and your writing style really is a talent.

Brilliant job, I know I always say that, but I truly do mean it.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: This is Scorpius' darkest hour, poor lad. This one was pretty hard to write, and hard to write well. I'm glad it came off well, it needed to be done right.

Thanks for the kind words.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell 

23rd October 2013:
...


Well, okay, I guess I didnít really need my heart anyways. Maybe when I am feeling a little less overwhelmed by feels I can get up and sweep the shattered pieces into the dustbin. That sounds like a plan.

Good writing, as ever. *Sigh of emotional agony*

Author's Response: Poor Tim, he did need to die for the plot, I fear. Lots will be learned from his death... knowledge-wise, emotionally. But the scars will be here for a good long while.

 Report Review

Review #7, by missdagane 

30th September 2013:
Why oh why must Tim die? Yes it's maybe important for your fic, but it's sad. At a moment, you made me really hope that there was a mistake, when he opend his eyes... I was absolutly not expecting that! Well done! And poor Scopius, dealing first with the death of this kid and after with the fact that he send him on fire... Horrible!

Author's Response: It is sad. I wondered while writing it if it was a bridge too far - he was always planned to die, the Inferius idea was always intended, but it was hard to write when I got there! Scorpius has suffered, LOTS, poor guy. But the show must go on. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by AriesGirl40 

21st September 2013:
I LOVED this chapter the most!

How fast everything that was going so well makes a swift turn for the worst. I knew Tim's eyes would open when Scorpius went down to take the scans. I thought it was going to be a bit more hideous though when you said that Scorpius couldn't look on him. I thought for sure Tim mutated, but into what? That was awesome!
Though of course Scorpius has a little mental break down, I would have been found in shock screaming. Id just spent the last moments of my friends life with him. I'm sad I couldn't be his hero he thought I was. Later I am the bringer of the end of his afterlife. Id be, like, that clinches it, I am mental mush, just hold me.

It is certainly something to find out that the last stage of this infection is to become an Inferi. What a positively evil way to go?

One ting that did stike me in this chapter. Rose was paying attention to Scorpius. I don't think it was just the tea that she missed that morning.

I have to tell you, I am having a wonderful time reading your serious tale of ups and downs. I can feel their pain at the moment, and that is great writing!

see you next chapter ;)

Author's Response: No, Scorpius couldn't look at him originally just for good old-fashioned pain and angst. That I then unleashed zombie-Tim on him shortly after was simply me being capricious and cruel. Oh, and the plot, alas.

It HAS kind of broken Scorpius. I must assure people he'll get better, because he kind of worried me when I've been writing aftermath stuff, and yeah. Going through what he went through is an entirely decent justification to just curl up in a corner and wibble.

So more ups to come as well as the downs. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

21st September 2013:
Oh no. Scorpius threw a mug. That can only mean bad things. But you can't have killed Tim, surely?

Surely?

Apparently, you can. APPALLED. Not even the adorable Scorose moment can make this scandal any less shocking. WHAT HAVE YOU DONE? Bad Slide.

I love Selena. The fact that she refuses to leave, and that her whole vanity thing is just a distraction... I just absolutely love her.

Poor Nat. Mixed feelings on her attitude right now. It must be the worst thing in the world, to feel like you've reached a dead end. And now people are DYING. Pretty rough situation. But you can't just give up!

Like the mention of Annie. In particular, the reference to the party, because it reminds me of the really awkward Nat/Tanith/Annie chat which I LOVED. Although the aftermath wasn't so good. POOR TANITH. But that's another story. LITERALLY.

Oh. OH. I remember being puzzled about where Scorpius' mother was in all this, because there was some hint that she would care about him if she knew what was happening which I found odd. And now, here we have our answer. She is Gone. Three years? And he's still not told Albus. Wow.

This chapter is teasing me far too much, you are incredibly cruel. For one beautiful second I thought Tim was alive! Instead, I had to read about Scorpius SETTING HIS BODY ON FIRE. Very Bad Slide! I admit, I am most intrigued, things are certainly hotting up (like my topical pun there?) but it's a travesty that it's at the expense of poor Tim. Though it wouldn't be as dramatic and emotive if it were some random Hufflepuff kid. SIGH. Tim was always destined to die, I suppose, wasn't he? And poor Jeremy got off scot-free. WELL.

I like that Albus is taking control, because someone has to, and it seems like the kind of thing that will bring out the best in him. Interesting comparisons to Harry a few times within this chapter. Whether they prove to be significant or not, remains to be seen. But I am worried. About everyone. And everything. WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?

ANYWAY. That's me up to date, FINALLY. Looking forward to the next update! Hope things are good with the job, novel, cat etc. and also that you share my excitement about the return of Downton, happy days!

Author's Response: Yeeeah, this chapter was actually written ages ago, I just wasn't sure about posting it when I had no buffer and also I'd just killed a thirteen year-old kid. That is a Bad thing to do. That said, I'm going to hold up the reaction of "expected resurrection, instead got BODY SET ON FIRE" as one of those reasons I love being a writer. Because I'm apparently cruel and also crazy.

Selena has her good points. So does Nat, though, poor girl's cracking with the weight of responsibility - and, in her eyes, failed responsibility - on her shoulders. Glad the Anguisverse Easter eggs are enjoyed! I try to keep them balanced as not necessary to understand Nat, but yeah, if you know Nat of before, this all makes more sense.

Downton sooon. Though I'm not sure I've forgiven them for that Xmas special of awful. Who am I kidding, I'll watch it. And then write more. And then review your stuff. Thanks for reviews!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by couldyoureallyknow 

20th September 2013:
Another brilliant and well executed chapter! Your writing and character depth is flawless. More soon please.

Author's Response: More is coming! Glad you enjoyed and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review