Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dumbledore_wannabe 

16th August 2015:
Really loving this story. But, I feel a little worse for Tor with each chapter, knowing who she will end up with! I've got an inner sense of desperation on her behalf...

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!! :D I feel bad for Tor too, knowing what we know, but I promise there are a lot more twists on the way. :P Thanks again! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pie 

11th August 2015:
This story is killing me.

Author's Response: Haha, thanks for reading and reviewing!! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy1993 

20th September 2014:
Great chapter. I think you picture the situation in Slytherin house during the war perfectly. Both the brainwashing of young students and threatening and cursing the students who don't follow the beliefs of the Death Eaters.

Although I knew it was coming, that final scene hit me hard. Amazing job on that one!

Author's Response: Hey!! I'm really glad you like how Slytherin was portrayed. Of course not all the Slytherins are like Tor and her friends and involved with the Death Eaters, so it fits that many of them would be struggling to find their new place in the house.

Writing the final scene was really hard so I'm really happy you thought it was effective. Thanks so much!! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by YourBitty 

16th October 2013:
Amazing, per usual, but NEXT CHAPTER PLEASE!! Love you, you know I have little to no patience :P

Author's Response: You are so silly, WHERE'S THAT HPFF OF YOUR OWN WHICH YOU'VE PROMISED ME, hmm? Hehe just kidding, and next chapter will be up... sometime probably after November. Love and miss you too bitty :P

 Report Review

Review #5, by XoXmaximumcullenXoX 

17th September 2013:
oh my god this story is so beautiful but it break my heart and plays with my feelings! I want to see what happens next so bad!!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you're liking the story, and really appreciate you leaving a review. I hope to have the next chapter up soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan 

13th September 2013:
Hi there! So glad to see you had updated :) And wow, what a chapter! I swear, this fic just gets better and better with each chapter I read. I feel so badly for both Tor and Terry right now - I can completely understand the actions of both of them. What an incredibly difficult situation - not only are the teenage years just difficult anyway, but throw in the fact that they're on opposite sides of the war, and Tor is torn between the boy she loves, and the family she loves - ack!

I'm really glad she defended Taurus, and I feel so badly for Taurus as well. That scene in the common room was a great one because it showed Tor finally taking a stand instead of remaining silent on the sidelines. It may hurt but she can know she's doing the right thing, which I think she's beginning to realise by this point. Its really sad that Tor's best friends aren't as aware though, and get caught up in the pack mentality of the Slytherins such that they can't think for theselves and help out their friend and fellow Slytherin.

And oh my goodness that ending. I can't believe she Obliviated him! :O I think it'll go well for a little while but Tor will be overcome with guilt, and then Terry will remember and be even more angry with her. Not that I really want that to happen, because I want them to all live happily ever after, but I know that's not going to happen.

What a powerful and amazing chapter! You are doing such a good job of explaining the mindset of a teenager on the wrong side in the war. Tor just seems so real to me. You are such a talented writer and this is absolutely one of my most favourite stories on the site, if not my favourite.

(Lastly, I loved the nod to Romilda Vane in here, lol.)

Awesome job! ♥

Author's Response: Hello! :) Ah, you are just too good to me, spoiling me with amazing reviews like this. I can't express it enough, thank you for supporting this story, hearing feedback just means the world to me! :D

I'm actually really glad you sympathize with both Terry and Tor. Neither of them are really "wrong" in this situation, and looking from both perspectives I think I would have acted exactly the same. As the war begins to grow and consume their lives, the relationship just gets harder and harder to keep strong, and I love writing the divide, so I'm pleased you enjoy reading it!

I know, poor Taurus. :( But I'm pleased you were proud of Tor for standing up for Taurus, and you're right, she has been silent on the sidelines for too long. I agree about Tor's friends, though to be fair a few months ago I'm not sure if Tor would have stood up for Taurus. Being in Slytherin, they do all look out for their own interests and protect their status, and Tor is only now beginning to look past that and seeing the bigger picture.

Ah, excellent predictions about the Obliviating! :) More clarity and explanation will come in the next chapter.

Hearing that Tor seems "real" is honestly the highest compliment you could pay me, she feels very real and true in my head so I'm so thrilled that comes across in the story. Ah, one of your favourites?!!! Thank you! :D Your kind words are so incredible and encouraging to receive, and I really hope to update as soon as possible! :D And, if all goes well we haven't seen the rest of Romilda, haha!

Thank you again, dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodore 

12th September 2013:
I'm far too excited to be reviewing this when it's just been updated, rather than ages afterwards!

Okay, so I can see what you mean when you said that this chapter would be quite dark and angst-filled, but really after the last one it wouldn't have made sense otherwise. You have to show the effects of the war and the awful situation that Tor's stuck in.

The letter at the beginning from Andromeda helped to show how dangerous and difficult Tor's choice has to be; either way she will lose something that she doesn't want to, and there's no way to avoid that. I liked the way that she described watching Bellatrix descend into the darkness, and the fact that it actually helped her to distance herself from it. I'm pretty sure Bellatrix is actually the oldest of the sisters, but that isn't anything major.

I'm actually really pleased that Tor wasn't one of the people that attacked the children, and that she tried to stop it - I couldn't be completely sure after the last chapter, and now it's good to know that she didn't. I felt so sorry for her at the beginning with the soul-searching and introspection; it's hard enough to work out who you are at the age of fifteen without having to deal with issues that come with a war and being wrapped up in it. And then to top it all, the problems that she's dealing with are causing her schoolwork to suffer.

I liked the little nod to Romilda Vane fancying Harry as well!

Demetria... I'm still a bit on edge about her. Something tells me that she's not just going to go away quietly and keep Tor's secret, and now that she's outside Hogwarts she could do more damage than ever. I want to know how she found out, too - whether it was just from the way she reacted on that night, or whether she'd followed her beforehand.

I'm impressed with the way that Tor managed to come up with some sort of plan to save Taurus - I don't think I'd have been able to think of something that quickly! And finally, the boys stepped in and did something - the Nott boys, at least. I bet that Tor would never feel grateful for Malfoy coming along and interfering, but it seems that his authority has saved the day here.

Taurus... I want to know where he went and what happened. He became so vicious towards Will, and that's so unlike him - I wonder if it's purely because of what the Slytherins did to him, or if it's also because of something that happened when he was at home. He's suffered and having to lose so much already, and I hate the Slytherins for doing that to him. I can't believe how glad I was that Tor was able to step in and save him!

That ending! Can you please stop doing that? It's definitely not good for my health when you keep dropping bombshells like that on me! Tor's been changing and becoming a better person (in my opinion) for a while now, standing up for what's right and trying to become more open-minded; it was such a shock to see her wiping Terry's memory like that. I never thought she'd do anything so drastic, but she's clearly been driven to taking desperate measures, and her family is more important for her to protect at this point than anything else.

I wonder if she's wiped just a few memories - the knowledge about her father - or everything concerning the pair of them for the last few months? It's really sad but I suspect it's probably that latter, and she'll have to walk past Terry without him knowing who she is. It might be safer for the two of them in the long run, but I still didn't want it to happen. And now I wonder whether Tor will go back and embrace the pureblood values she's been taught to get away from Terry, or stay open-minded... and I wonder if Ginny will see the need to get involved again!

I'm so excited for the next update to find out the answers to all these questions, but I totally understand what RL gets like so don't worry if you can't update for a while - I'll still be here!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hola! I'm so excited you're caught up too! Still can't believe you've left me a breathtaking TWENTY-EIGHT reviews on this story, and each one so thoughtful and helpful.

Yes, this story in general is becoming darker and darker with each chapter, though I hope to give the kids at least a few happy moments in the bleakness that is the war. I'm glad you liked the letter from Andromeda as an introduction to the chapter, I thought it would be helpful for Tor to hear from her even if the insight just affects and advises her indirectly.

I'm glad you weren't sure about what Tor's role was with attacking the children- I hoped it would be a little uncertain since the reader was seeing it through Terry's eyes and he's confused as well about the kind of person Tor really is. I feel sorry for her as well, and hopefully her self-doubt was relatable, though of course a little darker than what most people have to go through at that age (well, hopefully!) I think sorting through her thoughts helped me sort out Tor's future and her changing ideals as well. :)

I thought Romilda had to make an appearance! When I was rereading HBP I realized she was in fourth year and thought how on earth has Tor not noticed her craziness yet?! So adding a little Romilda was a lighter point in the chapter for me. :P

You're definitely right to be worried about Demetria, she's such an unpleasant person who is completely immersed in the nasty Slytherin cliches.

Yes, one of Tor's actual useful qualities is that she's impulsive and thinks quickly, though not always wisely. The danger certainly isn't over, but they have a cover story for now. I'm excited to explore Taurus a little more in following chapters, and his reactions to being bullied after having such a simple life and never having to worry about prejudice.

I'm sorry for the cliffhanger, you know how I love them! :P I know, Tor's decision was very dramatic and drastic, but then again she does think quickly and sometimes rashly when faced with stress and desperation. As for what memories were wiped, and Terry's reaction to it all, well, a little more will be revealed in the next chapter, which I am steadily working on and will hopefully be up in the near future! :D

Thank you for this wonderful review lovely! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauder5 

12th September 2013:
I was so excited to see that you had updated this story! I've missed it, but I definitely don't blame you for not being able to write in a while. Life is like that sometimes. Either way, it's really nice to see you back. I also have to ask: if this is a chapter you're not pleased with, how good can it get? Because in my opinion, you just keep getting better. I know I've said it before but I can't stress it enough; your writing style is just flawless and beautiful and poetic, it's like reading an old classic, and that you've handpicked each word with delicate care to make every sentence the best it can be. It's so beautiful, and so inspiring.

I feel so bad for Tor right now, especially in the beginning, when she tried to figure out who she was and all that. And on top of all, McGonnagall is bugging her about her grades. I like that you added that little scene to give the story more depth and make it more believable.

The scene in the common room was so great. I could really feel Tor's desperation, and I was so upset with Phin when he refused to do anything about it! But Tor is so smart for coming up with that solution: kissing him. And finally, her friends stepped in. Yay!

I'm still quite suspicious about Demetria. Is she really going to keep the secret, or is she holding it in until the right time? I have a feeling that she'll come sweeping in and dropping the bomb as soon as things start to get too good again.

Oh, poor Tor! And poor Terry! I can totally see where he's coming from, wanting to tell on her father despite everything. I was so sad when Tor erased his memory. I wonder if she erased his memory of her completely, or just the fact that her father is a Death Eater? I think it's the first, sadly :( I can just imagine the two of them passing each other in the corridor, Tor's heart aching for him and Terry not even knowing that she knows him...

This story is just too good. Honestly, it is. It deserves all the recognition in the world, and honestly, if it was an original fiction, I'd definitely buy a copy. I love it so much. I can't wait for the next chapter. Do you know yet how many chapters there will be?

Thank you so much for writing this and sharing it on this site!! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Ah, I've been so awful about updating, but I haven't forgotten about this story and I have the next chapter planned out! I definitely missed updating! :(

You are honestly just too good to me, so please know that I really, really appreciate your positive feedback. I suppose because this chapter took me a while to write, it just felt a little awkward to me, but I'm really glad you liked it! :) We are our own worst critics I suppose.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on my writing style! That is just too sweet, and means so much, especially coming from an amazing writer like you!

This was not the best chapter for Tor at all, and I feel quite sorry for her too. And as if what she needs on top of everything is to do poorly in school and have the teachers after her, but yes, I thought that would be quite realistic and remind readers (and me!) that when Tor isn't sneaking around with secret boyfriends or scheming with the Slytherins, she is a student and has to deal with her education.

I know, I felt so awful writing the bullying scene but felt it had to be done: the Slytherins wouldn't let Taurus get away with his betrayal, after all! I think this story has reached the point where Tor needs to start making difficult choices, and not always the safest decision. And I know I'd have been very disappointed in Theo and Pyxis if they chose not to help- if not for Taurus' sake, then for Tor's!

Demetria is... definitely not gone forever. :)

The idea of Tor wiping Terry's memory is something I struggled with, but it felt like something she would do in a moment of fear and desperation. I imagined all the stress coming to a boiling point and not thinking before she acted. It's such a sad, tragic situation, and more will be explained in the next chapter!

I'm glad you like this story so much, I look forward each chapter to getting your feedback and knowing there's someone out there who has been with this story since the beginning and thoughtful and invested in it! :D You're awesome!

I'm thinking to aim for about 40 chapters for this novel, although I always seem to add more and more ideas as each chapter comes along. The story will go right up to the events of the prologue, and I'm already tentatively planning the sequel, which will be very different but so much fun to write! :D So really, this story has no end in sight, at least at the moment. :)



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review