Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
75 Reviews Found

Review #1, by forever_dreaming 

12th July 2017:
Hi! I really liked this chapter; it's a strong start to what's looking to be a really great story. I liked the interactions between the characters (James seems perfectly characterized, which is hard to do considering the very brief mention of him near the end of the chapter). There was a great balance of comic relief and seriousness; you very artfully alluded to what I'm expecting to be a trauma that Rose experienced fairly recently. You made sure to give clues about the what, where, and who of the trauma while still leaving enough mystery that I want to keep reading to find out more.

I think the strongest highlight of this chapter was Rose's characterization. From the start, I disposed all preconcieved notions with her; from the way that she spoke and thought, I could practically hear her in my head. Her depression/anxiety wasn't dramatized at all, really; it was described so realistically. I especially loved the line "I have been numb for two years." What a haunting line!

I can't really recommend much to improve in this chapter, it was overall a very inviting start to what's looking to be a very good story. Characterization-wise, it's excellent in this start. I think you could've improved your description of Selenia's nature, as it felt maybe out of place in the rest of the chapter and felt more like telling and less like showing, but that's a little nit-picky.

Overall, great first chapter!
Actual rating: 8.5, but I rounded down.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm breathing a huge sigh of relief over my characterization. My main goal for this chapter was to set the scene, reel the reader into the story, and make them want to move on to chapter two. And just like you, I don't think a story can go too far without having deeply moving characters that are intriguing and slowly develop throughout the story. My plan is for both Rose and Scorpius to grow, independently and with each other. (I'd love to hear your thoughts on if/how I manage this!)

I agree with you about Selenia's character in this short intro. She might need another sentence or two to establish just where she fits in Rose's life.

Thanks again - this review was so kind!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #2, by princesslily_36 

26th April 2017:
Hey Beth! Ysh here to break Mel out of jail for CTF!

I can't believe this is your first fanfic. And it won a Dobby!! It's bloody brilliant! Rose is one of my favorite next gen character (maybe not the way she's portrayed in cursed child, so let's just pretend that didn't happen) and I love reading her PoV!

Rose as a healer? Perfect! I love the way you described the panic attack. The fact that some of it was in second person (or seemed like it was directed at the reader) was a touch of genius. I think it was truly so much more potent because of that. I truly understand how complex and what a whirlwind of emotions it can be for someone to go through them, and as a Healer, Rose must obviously be familiar with techniques to deal with it - you wrote it so well - it was like I knew she had been through this drill more than once even before you mentioned it in the fic.

There was just so much intensity and information. This one chapter shows us an insight into Rose's life, from what she looked like to her friends and the hint of something that turned her life upside down. I am loving the next gen gang already, but since Rose isn't a happy chirpy person in this chapter, it kind of cast a whole gloom - but I'm guessing that's what you are going for?

You successfully transported me into Rose's head and your narrative is just amazing! This goes into my long list of 'Reading" and I hope I get to it soon!

Cheers
Ysh!

 Report Review

Review #3, by melian 

26th April 2017:
Beth, this is a really intriguing start. You’ve set the scene well, with the young adult Rose clearly suffering some type of PTSD following what I’m guessing was an assault, and how she manages to get through each day after this event. Get up, wash, get dressed, class, rounds, study. The repetition works well, because it is that very repetition that Rose is depending on to survive. To show the world that Rose Weasley hasn’t been defeated.

Except perhaps she has.

I’m guessing we’ll find out exactly what happened and how close she is to collapse further on in the story. At the moment, her anxiety is debilitating, and while Selenia seems to get it, I don’t think Dominique does. Interesting, having Dominique the same age as Rose, Al and Scorpius. I think that most people think of her as older, as Victoire is in seventh year (I think) at this time, but then again people have had bigger age gaps between their children. Particularly if Vic was an, ahem, surprise, and then Dom and the brother (I forget his name) came along when they were more ready for children.

Also an interesting twist having them all in Ravenclaw. Of course, this was written before Cursed Child, when pretty much all next-gen was up for grabs with regard to what could have happened. We have a hint that James is in Gryffindor, I think (it’s been a while since I read the epilogue), but the others – anything was possible. I never thought of them as Ravenclaws, except perhaps Rose, but hey, why not? It’s as believable as anything else.

Anyway, a good start to a story. Well done!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #4, by ImaRavenclaw 

10th October 2016:
Hey Beth, Lily here with BvB!

Oh my Godrick, I love the fact that you open with Rose having a panic attack. It makes me need to know how she gets through them. I like how you have those actions: Get up, wash, get dressed, class, rounds, study. She's so obviously a Ravenclaw. I always do that, I just list down things I need to do mentally, and make sure that I do them all.

That is interesting. I kind of agree with that. It does sometimes take more time to understand things, and start noticing them.

This is all so descriptive and bone chilling, I love it! No wonder you got the Dobby for most addicting story!

That's where Rose goes wrong. You should always have supportive figures there for you. I'm sure her brother would love to help her, or her friends, maybe her cousins.

STILL SO BONE CHILLING. I love how she's asking herself why she keeps that picture close to her. I'm wondering what she means by "the old Rose" now. What do you mean by 'it'? Are you talking about a panic attack?

Drug her? What?! I need to know what happens!!!

Rose was kidnapped and held hostage? Oh my Godrick this is good.

*laughs for about five minutes when Lily finds out that McGonagall fell off her chair* But really Ravenclaw isn't that bad when you're a Malfoy. I would have only fallen off my chair had Scorpius been put in Hufflepuff or Gryffindor.

I can literally just picture a Ravenclaw prefect hoisting Albus onto his shoulders and dragging him to the table, while his facial expression doesn't change and stays completely stunned.

If I were Ginny I'd smack James over the head too.

Now wondering why considering these things is so dangerous. I guess I'll have to keep reading to find out!

Beth, this was phenomenal (like I said, I can see why you got the Dobbys!), oh my Godrick it was really awesome!

Thank you so much for writing such an amazing story. I hope that you have a lovely day!

Yours sincerely,
ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #5, by Matilda 

23rd September 2016:
Hi! I was just wondering, what is this "review tag" thing that you mentioned when you reviewed Lostmyheart's story? Thanks so much in advance!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lee Jackson 

18th May 2016:
I absolutely love this! I also picture Al and Rose as Ravenclaws, and I'm glad to find another fic writer who agrees :D

I love where this is going, and you've definitely earned the Dobby for this one!

I also want to say: well done on creating an accurate and realistic portrayal of depression and panic attacks. I don't know whether or not you intended for Rose to come across as depressed, but what Rose said is true: the hardest thing for people with depression to accomplish is the ‘get up’ part.

I think I've been looking for a story like this for a while.

Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Avanell 2 

25th March 2016:
Interesting start to this story...it took the lure of being (hopefully) reviewer 700 to check it out. I've been tempted before...now will definitely read more :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sophie Grace 

11th February 2016:
Okay this is the second time I read this story and I decide to make a review on every chapter. So here it goes. I love how this story starts off. It grabs your attention. Stead of starting a her abduction is and working it's way forward it starts with the aftermath so to speak. Rose has to talk her way threw it. Though I think it would be cool if we could read about the abduction and not in a flash back at some point.

Author's Response: Hi there Sophie Grace,

Thank you so much for stopping by TWICE to leave a review. Wow. Every chapter? That's quite a commitment. I'm so glad you're enjoying my story and you liked the way I started it. Hmmm... that's interesting thought - I never considered writing the abduction.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by grednforge217 

3rd January 2016:
This is one of the best fics I've ever read, and I've been reading fic for a decade. I can't believe that this is your first fic, it is so well done! I already have such affection for these characters, and as somebody that suffers from anxiety, your description of panic attacks were so on point that they almost hurt. Thank you so much for writing this, I cannot wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Gah!

I just happened to be online and this amazing review popped up. Thanks so much! I'm so relieved that my portrayal of anxiety came across as realistic - I wanted to be very careful and respectful in dealing with that as part of the story.

I'm grinning so wide right now - I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by leeloo 

30th December 2015:
Absolutely lovely!! Very few stories have me hooked on the first chapter! Bravo!!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm so happy you like the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by Felpata Lupin 

13th October 2015:
Hey, Beth!
Here for our swap ( hope it wasn’t too long of a wait...)
The last thing I wanted was to add another novel to my looong reading list... But this won a Dobby, so I just had to!

And wow! What a start! So addicting and full of emotions!!!
Poor Rose... What happened to her? Who is this Stannous man? Why did he kidnap her? What did he do to her? So many questions... but I suppose I'll find out if I keep reading.

Panic attacks must be something really hard to deal with. It must require a lot of strenght to get out of it. I think Rose is much braver and strong than she gives herself credit for.

I loved the characterization in here. It already feels like we know Dom, Al, Selenia, James and everyone else from a lifetime, even if you really give us little ssnippets of them all! It's just brilliant!

And the way you write Rose's thought process is so accurate and so easy to rely to.

Your writing is just beautiful, smooth and flawless. But I already knew, all your sstories are like that (as far as I can tell, at least!)

Brilliant job! I'll be back (just not sure when...)

Thank you so much for swapping and much, much love!
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi there Chiara,

First off, I need to apologize for taking such a ridiculously long time to respond to this - I'm so sorry. And secondly, pardon me while I do a backflip...


YES!!!


You picked this story to review - and you like it, too! I've worked so hard on this novel and I get so, SO excited when someone new comes along and can get into it. I'd love to hear what you think about the rest of it (but I completely understand about having so many stories on your reading list...)

You're spot on in your evaluation of Rose. She is indeed much stronger than she things she is. She has a long way to go to start feeling normal again, but there's something inside her that she must tap into.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

19th September 2015:
Hello there, lovely!

This is an AMAZING first chapter. Right from the beginning you've provided SO many details that I feel as though I've known these characters and the situation their whole lives. I think it's brilliant that you've put them all in Ravenclaw, and I can't wait to hear about the mishaps that I'm sure they must have gotten into.

You've also provided a very real, fleshed-out character with a horrible past, and I'm already rooting for her to overcome it. You've definitely captivated me from the get-go and I can't wait to see where things go from here!

Great first chapter!

Author's Response: Garaagghh!

I know that word doesn't make any sense, but it's the sound I made when I read this. Gosh, thanks so much. I'm so, so excited that you felt that way about my characters. I worked really hard on this first chapter and I'm so happy you felt like it hit the mark. (I kinda feel the same way about these guys, so I can relate - haha).

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th September 2015:
Wow.

So I'm here checking out the Dobby nominations, and I can definitely see why this is on the list.

I really feel for Rose. You do a fantastic job of writing her experience--the panic attacks, the fear, the glimpses of what happened to her that has her in this state. It's so tragic, but you write it very, very well.

Her mantra is a really strong element in this chapter. The way she repeats it and depends on it. Still, it shows that she's trying. I think she seems really strong, even though it's obvious that she feels weak, and that she blames herself in part for what happened to her.

I liked the detail of Albus having Ginny's disposition. I don't think I've ever seen that before, and it should be interesting.

I really hope she can get help and move past all this. This is a really great first chapter. It reads very smoothly, it draws you in, and I didn't notice any grammatical errors whatsoever (of course, I was very sucked into the story, but still, I often notice those things anyway. Didn't spot anything here). Very nice work.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hiya Penny!

Oh - it's so kind of you to leave me these reviews AND check out my story. I'm a silly, goofy mess right now.

Thanks so much! I really wanted to treat the panic attacks with tact and care, but I also wanted the reader to *feel* the intensity of them.

And I'm happy that the mantra played off well, too. I thought it was a good way to pace the opening chapter and tie it to Rose's past.

Yes! Oh thanks so much - I really, REALLY wanted it to come across that Rose is indeed strong even though she doesn't think that of herself. She's at a low point here - and has a lot of growing to do.

I'm so glad you like my version of Albus. I wanted him to have a bit more passion and fire.

Thanks again! This review was amazing!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Liana 

10th September 2015:
I was looking for stories to read so I decided to look over the stories nominated for Dobby's. Yours was first on the list. This looks good so far so I'll keep reading:D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for stopping by! I'm so glad you want to keep reading - and thanks for leaving a review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by Frankie05 

24th August 2015:
I decided to give this a try because I'm doing this new thing where I read Next- Gen fics and I thought- I like Beths style so I'll try one of her stories ONLY TO BE THROTTLED INTO PAIN. Poor Rose. Whatever happened to her that makes her have such anxiety and panic attacks? And why does she feel so sad and alone? It truly breaks my heart. At first I thought it was Scoprius who did something to her but then you said Stannous held her captive for six days. Okay? My curiousity is peaked.
I also like the intro into her past- knowing her friend and their relationship with the Wotter clan, and the whole sorting thing. I thought it was done quite well. Im so glad people are writing them(the Wotter children) in many different houses. It makes it so realistic and Gryffindor would have been over run by Weasleys and I'm just so glad you broke that mold. I'm interested to see where this story is going :)

Well done Beth and *hug*

Author's Response: Hi there Frankie!

Oh thank you, thank you for picking my novel. I've worked so hard on it and I really appreciate it when someone takes the time to leave a review!

Oh no! I didn't mean to throttle anyone into pain, but I *did* want to convey a lot of emotion on this one. And I'm really, really happy that I've got you interested in the story. That was my main goal.

I did make a certain effort to put the group into Ravenclaw. I remember that Hermione was almost put there and that Albus thought he might be between Slytherin or Gryffindor, but what if?! - something completely different.

Thanks again - and I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by BookDinosaur 

15th July 2015:
beth!! so i am a terrible awful officially the absolute worst person in the world, but i recently hit myself over the head because i realised that i still owe you challenge reviews from the songfic challenge that was actually AGES go. i'm legit the worst and you have every right to shout at me until you're blue in the face. i'm so sorry

but the story! onto the actual story and not padding out this review with long apologies. i don't think that i can say much that hasn't already been said (you have 59, soon to be 60, reviews on this chapter. if i have anything unique to say it will be a miracle) but i will do my best. also, since this story is up to 34 chapters you should totes appreciate the fact that i'm going to be reviewing the six chapters with no idea what's going on. so if you have a twist in there, or a reveal, i'm going to document my genuine shock and it will hopefully be a breath of fresh air from all the Chapter 34 reviews that you're getting.

i'm not making any sense, am i? and i'm absolutely awful at staying on topic. i'm sorry, i'm sorry. lemme try this again

this was a really amazing first chapter. it does a really fab job of introducing rose as our main character and setting up the conflict that i presume is going to be taking place throughout the story, with rose struggling with what sounds like ptsd and trying to get over this awful thing that happened to her.

i love the darker tone that you've decided to adopt with this story, and i love the hints of trauma and ptsd that you've thrown in. you've never tried to preach to the audience and tell them that something is very wrong with rose; instead you've shown that through a panic attack and her thoughts, and i really really appreciate that.

i'm going to say this - well, not upfront since this is prolly hidden deep inside my weird rambling review, but i'm going to say that first person narration doesn't always work out. it's really tricky to try and get inside a character's head and narrate from their point of view, especially when they're going through a tough time, but i think that you pulled it off really well and established rose's voice within this one chapter without it sounding like an author's narration, so really well done there, beth

and the ptsd - it establishes really early on that rose is a flawed character and that she can fall into the trap of self hate which, while not a good thing, is something which does a fantastic job of establishing her character in a really strong way within just this first chapter.

i love the way that you've handled ptsd and trauma in this. again, it's just the first chapter but it's really strong and does leave a really good impression on the reader. while i've never had ptsd myself, the whole thing rose had about focusing on something realy helps with my anxiety and i love love loved that you never implied that rose was a broken or incomplete person just because she's been through something terrible and didn't come out of it unscathed, you know? she's still a person, and she's still struggling and trying to get back to normal, and i think what i'm trying to say here is that i really appreciated the respectful way you handled ptsd in this chapter.

basically, rose if i made any sense at all in this review and you managed to understand any of it you are a miracle, but what you can take away from this really rambly review is that i really enjoyed this first chapter and am looking forward to reading more. once again, i'm so so sorry for the delay that it took to get these reviews to you!

♥ emily

Author's Response: Haha Emily - no worries!

I really wasn't worried about it - but I can't tell you how silly happy the smile is on my face right now. Thanks so much for this :D

I'm literally giggling over this review. I know that I have quite a few on this chapter (and if you wanted to read and leave reviews after a few chapters, that's fine with me as well - but don't feel any pressure).

The reason I'm so happy is that you seem to notice every little detail I tried to put in this opening chapter. My whole concept with this story is that I think the Next-gen kids would have their own "Voldemort" to fight - so look out for that as the story unfolds.

I also wanted to be very, very sensitive to the PTSD and I really worried over that a bit - but thanks for letting me know that you felt it was handled delicately. At this point in the story, Rose hasn't been totally honest with her family about her torture during her kidnapping - and they were all so happy to have her back, they didn't dig too deep.

Thanks again Emily!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by tangledconstellations 

23rd June 2015:
Hey there!

I'm swinging by for the BvB review battle but also to leave your 500th review on this fic!

Congratulations!! That's such an achievement! 500! :D you deserve it - it's obvious you've put so much time into this fic :) I've always wanted to read this but have never quite got round to it, so this seemed like a very good opportunity to.

This was such a fab first chapter. I think you've done an awesome job on establishing Rose's character and sort of familiarising us with her thought processes. I like that this chapter has a darker undertone. It's really interesting, and has me intrigued for what is to come. There are already questions that I want answering - what is it that has frightened her so much? What is she remembering that is making her suffer? - although it's even more enticing because I feel like it's the kind of question that can't be answered in one chapter. It's obvious the effects of whatever happened are really sticking with Rose, and so right now I'm curious but I know whatever is to come is gonna be something big.

I really really like your writing style - you adopt the way Rose is thinking and pushing herself on really well. Even when you told us about the Sorting Ceremony, it didn't feel like a deviation - it was still a part of Rose's thoughts, told through her eyes. You have a real knack to remaining in the present, with Rose, but also giving us just enough information and backstory to get us all the more invested in your fic. I like the setting too - Healer training! That's just awesome. And I also really like that Rose isn't 100% capable. She comes across to me as a really realistic character - someone that is struggling with something, someone that sometimes finds it hard to live her life. I think we can all relate to that in some degree. I think that's why I already like her so much.

This was such a fab chapter and reading it, I can't believe I haven't started it before! I'll definitely be reading on soon :)

(also, again - 500!! Yay!! *hugs* ♥)

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Laura!

Thank you so, so much for this! Gah - I never, never, *never* thought my story would get to this point.

And it's such a thoughtful and kind review too! Gah!

My insides are all squiggly wiggly because I feel like you really *got* what I was trying to do with this chapter. It's setting up Rose's current state while giving the reader just a touch of the back story to make them want to know more. I'm so glad an author of your stature felt I pulled it off.

I'd love to know what you think of the rest of the story1

Thanks again - ♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by Tonks1247 

11th June 2015:
Oh wow. That was pretty powerful and amazing and just….wow.

I’m so drawn in by this image of Rose you have in my head. You may have described her in just the way I imagine her in my head, but I know things are very, very different with anything past the initial look at her. I can tell her character is deeper than that and that she has a lot more to her story than what you’ve presented. It actually is all but killing me not to move onto the next chapter and read more to figure out what exactly it is that’s going on. I just….I need to know! It’s obviously affected her a lot but it hasn’t positively been explained and just…I need more information!

You did an excellent job of pulling emotions in here. You give a good taste of what PTSD like things are going on in Rose’s head and explain that she is doing everything she can to keep this outward appearance of not having all this stuff going on. You keep that up with your description of Dom and Selenia, and how they really don’t know about how much stuff is going on…

I also adore some of the backstory stuff you include. The sorting stuff specifically. That part was pretty entertaining because I could see the whole scene unfolding in my head and the shock for poor Albus…too great!

This actually also brings me to the point of sharing my favourite lines, which I tried to narrow down…

“I did miss it, in fact; I missed many moments while I was sucked up in my deep, dark hole…As it is when you are sucked up in a dark, deep hole; you don’t even realize you are in it until you are not anymore.” –such a true sentiment. LOVE IT!

“Although other people can see it, you usually can’t even hear them, above the deafening, suffocating sound of the silence that surrounds you and screams in your face every moment that you even try to open your eyes.”

“That is the only explanation,” he explained at our first holidays home after going to Hogwarts; to which Aunt Ginny promptly smacked him over the head.”

Overall, this was an excellent chapter! Can’t wait to come back and read some more!

--Mikaela
-Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015-

Author's Response: Hi there Mikaela,

I'm gonna try and do my best to respond to this review properly - but I'm blown away by it, to be honest. First of all, I can't believe you took the time to write such a detailed and heartfelt review during the House Cup challenge - that is so touching.

Secondly, I'm *still* squeeing over our common characterization of Rose. One of the reasons I started this story was because I hadn't come across a fanfic that I thought did justice to my own head canon of what Rose was really like. I never bought in to the idea that she was a perfect mix of her parents character traits. She is her own person and has her own battles to fight.

And thanks for sharing your favorite lines. The second one you listed was actually a finalist for the Dobby Awards last year!

I'm trying to work my way through all your amazing reviews, but it might take me a few days - thanks again1

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotter 

2nd June 2015:
Hello! I'm here with your review!
This was really, really well-written. It was a great opening chapter, and I feel like I know Rose already, even though there are still tons of questions that I have about what happened in her past and what's going to happen in her future.
I loved that you put Rose, Albus, and Scorpius into Ravenclaw. I've seen Rose there once or twice, but almost never see the boys placed anywhere other than Slytherin or sometimes Gryffindor.
I loved the way you repeated Rose's mantra that she uses to get through her panic attacks throughout the chapter. It really made me feel like I was inside her head. I was amazed that Selenia and Dom didn't notice anything was wrong. It made me kind of sad, though, because it means that Rose has been through who knows how many panic attacks alone, and has gotten good at making everything seem normal.
Like I said before, this was a great chapter! I really enjoyed it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi there Cassie!

Thanks so much for the review. I'm really happy that you were able to *feel* you were inside Rose's head for this - although it's not a fun trip, I was definitely going for that vibe, so I'm glad you felt I pulled it off.

Yes! I'm a bit partial to Ravenclaw (can you tell? - haha), but I also wanted to write a next-gen story that wasn't as traditional. It's entirely plausible that all three of these kids were put in Ravenclaw. I also have my own head canon that the Hat sorts you based on what sort of support you'll need throughout your years at Hogwarts.

As far as Dom and Selenia not noticing anything - well, that's not entirely true. Rose *thinks* she's been very good at hiding her secret, but that's not necessarily the case. Her friends know something's up, but they have no idea as to the extent of the damage and they each deal with it differently.

Thanks again, Cassie!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by Aphoride 

20th May 2015:
Hey Beth! :) Stopping by for our review pairing!

You know, it's weird how I've been by your page so many times, but never onto this (it's coz it's so long and all, partly; I think I could never catch up :P), when it's so famous, really, and so good. Anyway, I'm here now! :)

I love the way you opened this - the mystery and uncertainty immediately at the beginning, with the panic attack where we don't know who the character is or what's quite going on, is so so powerful, and a brilliant hook! It's like, I already feel sorry for her from the beginning, you know, and want her to get better and feel better about herself - and to know what happened in the cabin which started all of this! And who Stannous is... pretty sure I'm not going to like him already :P

Also, I gotta say quickly - I saw the chapter list and the line of B words made me very happy :P It's the little things...

I love Rose's character, too. I love how she's so clever, but considers herself lacking in some things - in common sense, perhaps, in quick-thinking, improvisation and quick temper, and how she picks up on things which other people wouldn't necessarily consider flaws which she does: like compassion and trust. It's a really clever way of showing us what she's like while giving us insights into herself further, and little glimpses at what perhaps the 'old Rose' was like, before everything. Also, the 'I'm not good enough' kind of rhetoric Rose uses here when she's thinking about herself is so indicative of people who've been through difficult things, like Rose has, and it's so sad, but so true to life to see, you know?

Gah, you're already making me want to hug her and tell her that she's wonderful and everything will be okay (but then, she does remind me of my sisters - long, very personal story there!).

The repetition with the 'get up. dressed. wash. rounds. study.' section was so, so good. Again, so indicative of her condition and how she is, but so effective in the narrative, too! :)

I love the little glimpses of other characters in this, too - Dom and Al and Scorp and Selenia, even James, too - and how good they were, with the little indications of what they'll be like in later chapters, when we see more of them. All of them are so good, they already feel like real people (but then, I already knew your characterisation was good from previous things, so... :P).

I love your writing - but again, you should know that by now too :P - it's so so good, and here you've just got the tone perfectly. Rose's voice in this is so so strong and real that it allows everything to come through, and it really makes the story hers, if you know what I mean, which makes the first person shine so beautifully.

The little details in this were so good, too - I loved the little dash of humour with James and the story about why they all got sorted unexpectedly, and the details about the reactions at the sorting ceremony were just so so perfect.

So yeah, I love this, and I'll definitely be back! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi Aph!

Gosh! This review is too sweet! After I read it, I realized that I pretty much commented on the VERY SAME THINGS for your story. Hee hee - the chapter titles, the fact that the story is so popular, the way you opened up the first chapter... haha!

Oh my! I *LOVE* how you picked up on the subtle qualities of the Old Rose. She's definitely not that person anymore (but maybe she'll be someday :) ).

These characters are so ingrained in my mind, I don't have to think about them too much when I write, but I'm so happy you picked up on their main qualities - James is goofy, Selenia is unfailingly kind, and Albus has a hot temper which can lead to anger or unbridled passion.

Thanks for your comment on the fist person POV. I actually tried to go back and rewrite the story in third person POV, but it just didn't work. I also ended up switching first person POV between Rose and Scorpius. His view starts in the 3rd chapter, and I'd love to know how you think it works.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by cherry_pop94 

16th May 2015:
Hi so I figured I should read this since it's up for a Diadem. And let just say, so far, it is definitely deserving of that!!

I really like how Rose uses the repetition to get through her panic attacks. It's very realistic and of course also makes for excellent writing. Her panic feels very realistic to me and definitely relatable.

Am I correct in assuming that Rose was kidnapped? You've done a really good job there with sort of building suspense. I'm definitely curious to know who Stannous is and why he held Rose captive for six days. Maybe a former Death Eater or someone who holds some deep resentment against the trio?

I also really loved your bit about Albus's sorting. I like seeing him in Ravenclaw and it definitely fits. With the way he was thinking so much about his sorting in the epilogue just made him seem like a little Ravenclaw! I may have squealed a little thinking about a tiny little boy so shocked by his sorting that an older student had to lead him away. Seriously, an adorable mental image!

Anyway, I love this story so far! Can't wait to read the rest :)

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hi there Stefi,

Yay! You found my novel! This is the story that I've definitely put the most work into. It sounds weird for me to say that I'm *glad* you found the panic attacks realistic - haha.

I wanted to do something different with the trio, in terms of sorting. I really liked the idea of a tight knit group of four. These guys have been through it all together. And then we toss in Dominique and James for good measure.

Anyway, I can't tell you how excited I am that you like this story!

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Hi! I saw this story mentioned on the forums a couple of times already, so I simply had to see what all the excitement was about.

I agree with everyone else so far. This reads really good.

After the panic attack, I'm glad that Rose has flat mates. It would be far too dangerous for her to be alone all the time (but she should tell someone about her problems, they won't go away until she does)

I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there Anja,

Wow. I don't know where to begin. I'm trying to think of the right words to let you know how excited/happy/giddy/thrilled you've made me. This was *such a treat* to log in and see SO MANY reviews. I'm so, so happy that you like my story! I'm attempting to respond to all of my reviews in the next day or so. :)

And I agree with you about Rose - she does need some help to deal with this (I make a point of that later on in the story).

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by LadyL8 

5th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I'm here with the promised review. Sorry it took me a little while to get here, but my computer went crazy and I had a study group meeting I had to attend today. But better late than never, right? And this looks so interesting, so I'm really looking forward to reading it. I've not read many Rose Weasley stories, because I'm not a big fan of ScoRose. And 90% of the Rose stories are ScoRose stories, but I'm willing to give it another try for this story. Maybe my view on ScoRose will change, once I try reading one again after so many years of avoiding them. It's happened before (that my views on a pairing have changed, I mean), so it can probably happen again :)

I always start by commenting on my first impression of the story, what I think just from looking at it. You have a breathtaking banner by Azulive, and that really helps draw my attention to it. But a banner can't do everything alone, one needs a good summary as well. And I think yours is really good. I like that you keep it really short, because I think the shorter the better in many cases. A reader won't always bother to read something long, so it's better just get straight to the point. And yours works well, because it leaves me with a lot of questions. I find myself wanting to read the story to find out why Rose would have to be "brave" and in what way she is "brave". And then looking at the title "Actions speak louder than words", I can't help but wonder what is going to happen or have happened to Rose. I can't really connect the summary and title to a scenerio that makes sense for Rose, and it's a good thing because it makes me want to read the story to find out what they are referring to, what's happening in the story.

I really liked how you started this chapter. The opening line is amazing, I immidiately wonder what in the world this is all about. You just got me hooked right away, and I like that you very quickly let us know that this Rose is not your typical kind of Rose, the one that's just like her mother, basically the one you always see in fanfics. This is a Rose that struggles with something tramatic that happened in her past, and it's changed her as a human being. I can totally understand why you'd win an award for best characterisation of Rose, because you introduce us to her very quickly. And just from reading one chapter of the story, I already feel like I know and can relate to her in some ways. And that's so important to make a reader feel, and preferably as quickly as in the 1 to 3 chapter.

I think a lot of people make the mistake of introducing way too many characters right away, and espeically in Next Gen-fics because the Wotter-clan is huge. Vicki kind of mentioned this too, I see, so I would just like to agree with her - it's great that you just focus on Rose, and then you can do the rest of the Wotter-clan later in the story when it's needed for the plot. That's a much better way of doing it, if you ask me :)

I'm a little envious of your characterisation and description (I'm mentioning these two together, because they often intertwine). I feel like I can feel Rose's feelings, her struggles with appearing to stay strong when she feels broken inside. Maybe it's because back in my teens I was in a very dark place myself and I feel like I can relate to it very much, but I think it's amazing the way you capture her thoughts and feelings. It's just very belieavable, and I'm really curious about what happened to her when she was kidnapped by this man. I'll have to come back at a later point and find out :)

Anyway, I hope you have a wonderful week! And, once again, sorry
for taking so long. It was not intentionally, I promise, a lot of things just happened at once. But I really enjoyed reading the story. It's a great start to novel, because I already find myself wanting to read more.

Hugs

Lotte

Author's Response: Lotte.

I never expected this. I thought it was incredibly generous and kind of you to offer reviews - but this! Thank you so much!

And THANK YOU for giving this story a shot - I'm really honored that you are willing to read this even though you don't like Rose/Scorpius stories.

Ah! I love the banner too! It's been perfect ever since the beginning and I can't even imagine it being anything else. Azulive did such an amazing job! And I tend to be a fan of shorter summaries - on my own stories, that is. I've seen some really fantastic ones that are longer, but I can never seem to pull it off.

Wow - thanks so much for your comments on the first chapter. You're right - I didn't want to put too much into it. I've read the stories that have way too much in the first chapter and I'm glad you don't think that I fell into that category.

And I'm squeeing over the fact that you noticed Rose's strength right off the bat! She doesn't think she is very strong - but she is. She's measured "bravery" against her parents' and uncle Harry's accomplishments - but there are many ways to be brave and strong.

I did have a wonderful week - and this review was a big part of that!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #24, by TearsIMustConceal 

4th May 2015:
Hi Beth, I’m here from the BvB review battle!

I have to admit, I am not the biggest Rose Weasley fan, I think because there are that many versions of her on the archives, I feel like they’re all the same but I have to say, your version of Rose is amazing. I suffer from anxiety and I am very familiar with panic attacks and your description of her and the detail of how she suffers is completely spot on and realistic. I think it’s interesting that she is the way she and I want to know why – you’ve given us hints as to something has happened to her but now I want to know more!

And I like how the first chapter is solely about her and her interactions. Sometimes in Next-Gen fics everyone tries to introduce the whole Weasley-Potter clan as soon as possible so I love how it’s just about her – it means we really get to know her.

And you’re writing is flawless, just incase you didn’t already know that! The whole chapter flows smoothly and again, your descriptions are beautiful and honest!

I can’t wait to read the next chapter.

-Vicki

Author's Response: Vicki!

Wow. Thanks so much for this review! I'm smiling like an idiot right now (I'm at work, so people are gonna start to wonder - hee hee).

I was really concerned about getting the description of the panic attack just right - and I'm so glad that it didn't come off as fake or contrived. *breathes a sigh of relief*

I know what you mean about the next gen Rose/Scorpius stories - there are so many and it can be a turn off to read the same thing over and over again - so Thank you sooo much for giving this one a shot!

I'm glad you felt that it was different - I really was going for that. I wanted to write an action/adventure/recovery story. I think the next-gen kids would have their own dark wizard to overcome.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by Flower n Prongs 

3rd May 2015:
Hi Beth, I'm here for the BvB review battle. =)

Last time I read your Minerva fic because I was worried about starting something this long. I really enjoyed the other story though so I figured that this would be worth a shot.

I must admit, I am not a huge Next Gen reader. Despite that, this pulled me in. Like Rose, I suffer from panic attacks and the way you described her feeling, the nausea that comes with it, and the "triggers" of it was spot on. It is a very different take on what you usually see, which definitely caught my attention. Learning about her being held made me want to keep reading to figure out more of how things played out.

The fact that you are starting after Hogwarts is something I have not seen often, so I like that you did this as well. The fact that you referenced major events and will touch on those things as needed vs. covering them all in detail in chronological order really piques the reader's interest (or at least mine!).

I know you already have a lot of reviews on this chapter (50!? Holy moly girl!) so I hope you don't mind I selected this one to read.

- Rhaenyra

P.S. This was your first fic? That is amazing! (I won't tell you about mine *shudder* lol.)

Author's Response: Hi hi!

Yay! I LOVE it when someone gives this story a shot! I *know* the next-gen Rose/Scorpius thing has been done and done and done - but I really wanted to take it from a different angle. Basically, I felt like they had their own, real story to tell - complete with a mystery and evil and their own lives to sort out. I specifically chose to set the story post-Hogwarts because I wanted a more mature group to write about - hee hee!

Thank you SO much for the compliment about the panic attacks. I do not have them regularly, and I was very concerned about being accurate - so I'm really relieved when someone takes the time to note that I did alright with that :)

And haha - yeah, this chapter does have a lot of reviews (I've done quite a few review swaps, a few review requests and the story has been up on the archives for over a year and a half - so that all plays into it :D)

Either way - I can't tell you how incredibly excited I am that you felt drawn in to the story. Thanks for taking a chance on it - and I'd love to hear what you think about the rest of it!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>