Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Brandon M. 

12th July 2017:
Wow, what a wonderful and addicting read your story is. I simply could not pull myself away for it this last week outside of work! I've just finished it so I'm still reeling from Belle's death but this was such a great read and I felt you captured each character's personality so well. I'm very excited to read in your author note that you wrote a sequel to this and I will be diving into that now. Thank you for being such a good writer and putting your story out there.

Author's Response: I started this story out of simple frustration of that canon info we have on the Marauders, and my love for Lily and James, and can't tell you how happy it makes me to see other people loving how I imagine life happened for this young group of people. The idea that they did, were, and then lost so much in such a short amount of time is heartbreaking to me. But, what their friendships got them through and what they meant to one another is sort of the salve for that heartbreak, and exploring the time they spent as just teenagers then delving into a much darker world has been so much fun. You popped in at a good time, because as you probably saw I ended up on a three or more year break from writing this. I was having a really hard time getting myself to work on Original Fiction when I just loved these people of JKR's so much. But, forcing myself to stay away from writing HPFF did nothing good, so I am back to stay! Thank you again for your positive feedback!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sushmita 

25th April 2017:
Loved this story and can't wait to read more of "As Darkness Descends". This story definitely got me hooked. As far as this chapter goes, I guess killing "Belle" before graduation made the whole graduation ceremony sort of pointless and sad.
A few typos to fix
"still no her"
"Why donít you over and sit"
"or if the helped sew just "

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback!

 Report Review

Review #3, by An accidental stargazer 

18th June 2016:
Wow. This was fantastic! I loved your portrayal of all the characters and how your plot foreshadows so nicely to the books. (I especially loved how you added the detail with prof. Slughorn and the fish hehe...)

Okay, so I could probably ramble on for a while on how reading this story brought a silly grin to my face, essentially made my day, and helped confirm that yes, I'm still hopelessly obsessed with this series, (after all this time?), but unfortunately, I lack your splendid writing skills and have a 6000 character limit, so I'll keep this brief.

Thank you for an absolutely delightful story. Though it's been years, this fanfiction brought me back to the magical days of my childhood. :)
Good luck, and *definitely* keep on writing!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a kind review!! Fan fiction did the exact same thing for me -- reminded me of how very much I love the world that JK created and gave me a chance to stay in it!!

Thanks for putting a smile on my face this morning!
Jami


 Report Review

Review #4, by dannyman101 

20th November 2015:
Absolutely great story and I can't wait to start reading the rest :-D Brilliant detail on everything including how they felt during different situations. Next part should be good :-)

 Report Review

Review #5, by MyDearWatson 

4th November 2015:
This story is so well written that I think I'm going to have a very hard time keeping this plot line apart from the original HP series.

I LOVED your female characters. You showed me why James fell for Lily, the special relationship that Lily fostered with Remus, and the way Frank and Alice were complete badasses!! I absolutely love the different personalities you've been able to touch on and expand. You hit it out of the park with writing these characters.

Now, on to your beautiful and sassy creation: Belle. She's different. I loved and hated her character at different points of the story. I stayed up late last night to finish reading the story, because I needed to know what happens to Belle. Your foreshadowing was on point and had my heart heavy for her for the last couple of chapters. I did not expect to feel such a deep sadness over the death of a fan fiction character, but I do! It still stings that this person, whom I've gotten to know over the last three months of reading the story, no longer exists even in the alternate universe of fanfic Hogwarts.

I hope you keep writing, because you have a true talent.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ellen 

7th July 2015:
Absolutely stunning. An emotional rollercoaster, with such a powerful ending! You're a brilliant writer and I am so glad that I bookmarked your story long ago and have finally had the time to finish reading it. A worthy winner of the most addicting story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Preno  

14th May 2015:
Very well written story and worthy of your award. Well done :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

2nd February 2015:
She did something that surprised even her; she reached forward and threw her arms around the elder manís neck.

^ It's as if you don't want me to get to the end without crying my eyes out.

I have lost too many someones in my time, Miss Christopherson. And the urge to let the grief simply pull me under has threatened to seduce me into its false promises of comfort. There is no replacement for feelings, no ability to forget those feelings or lessen them. We must experience each excruciating stab that death creates, and overcome it.

This. Now I'm really crying now. It doesn't help that my grandmother is in the hospital and I have to visit her tomorrow and I am very very afraid.

I feel like what Dumbledore said was spot on for the present and the future with the second war. To me it is a foreshadowing of what is to come.

I am a wreck Jamie. 39 chapters later and I don't know what to say. In an odd way I feel...fufilled. BTF was everything I could have wanted and more. Did I want Belle to die? No, but I knew a death close to them would be necessary to get the gears going and put them into the Order. I sensed that chapters ago but I didn't want to believe it.

I don't even know how to write this review because I'm thinking back to previous chapters and still trying to process this one and her death and I can't. I can't believe that you wrote this amazing story. It is everything I could have wanted to read for this time period. It was convincing, touching and though they are in a magical setting--relateable. All the characters had great depth and that didn't come from JK Rowling, that came from you. We only know so much about Sirius, Remus, Peter, James and Lily from her. You gave them a story and a life.

I hope you write the second book. I really do. People deserve to not only know what happens next but to be moved by you and to learn from you. You are a really excellent writer and it would be a shame if you stopped writing. Even if you don't want to write this just write anything. Original fiction, fan fiction, heck write some poems. Just don't stop.

Thank you for this incredible journey. Hands down Before They Fall and Dan's Blood Conspiracy are by far my two favorite stories I have read on HPFF.

 Report Review

Review #9, by happiestlittlelobster 

25th January 2015:
Brilliantly ended to tie together some pieces of what could have happened in the Marauder's time to contribute to the fight against Voldemort. I knew Belle needed to die because otherwise the surviving Marauders would have mentioned her (in the real books!)

Thank you for taking this story to completion, I certainly hope that you are well.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ginny Padfoot 

16th January 2015:
That was a really good book that you wrote!
I loved each and every chapter of it and i can't wait to see the next book.

*Ginny Padfoot*

 Report Review

Review #11, by fishfingers and custard 

4th January 2015:
This was possibly the best written fanfiction that I have ever read. Good job, and thank you for writing it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Snuffles 

1st January 2015:
Oh my. Wow. I simply don't know what else to say. I mean, I could yell at you until I'm hoarse for killing off Belle, but there wouldn't be much good in doing that. We'd probably just both end up extremely frustrated. (You know this is the second story I've read in which Sirius' girlfriend dies at the hands of Bellatrix shortly before graduating? Geez, y'all need to let up on the poor guy a bit. I think he's been through enough.)

But since I must accept it, I will say that I thought Belle died beautifully. She never lost her sass, her wit, or her courage. She faced it head on. She didn't let Bellatrix break her. And for that, I admire her. And you also nailed Sirius' reaction, imo. Watching him break like that, especially after seeing the two of them just be so gosh darn perfect for each other, was simply heartbreaking. He's just so lost and disbelieving and in pain, it physically pains me. Why must you put my baby through this.

And though this does not apply strictly to this chapter, since it's the last one I'm just gonna comment on the story as a whole and gush about James and Lily's relationship. I love it. I love it I love it I love it. They're such a natural pair, there's clear chemistry between them and their differences offset each other so nicely. Ugh. Can't stop fangirling. You also described Lily's mental state after both attacks quite well. She'd understandably carry a lot of emotional baggage from the two, and something like that's not going to erase overnight. But, you didn't let her dwell on it either and become some sort of hardened, emotionless zombie or whatever. Because that's not our Lily, is it?

I also feel like there's been some very subtle hinting throughout the story that Peter may not be totally loyal? Not sure, maybe I'm just imagining it, but he's definitely in a different class than James and Sirius, who are so obviously dedicated to each other and the fight against Voldemort. But I did like that you managed to include him well and treated him like the good friend they all assumed he was. A lot of people like to forget that Peter was actually, once, on the good side.

If I have one complaint, it's the lack of Marauder bonding, or any sort of real bonding that was not Lily and James. I do realize that is the intent of the story, to develop Lily and James's relationship, much as in the books where everything is from Harry's point of view, indirectly, and so this cannot really classify as a complaint. I suppose that in a perfect world, what I really want is a book series based on the Marauders and their shenanigans (or a movie. or tv series. whatever Joanne decides...) and so I certainly cannot fault you for that.

Perfect ending to a perfect story. Totally looking forward to the sequel, whenever you finish it. You have a true talent. Thank you so much for sharing it with all of us humble readers. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Gauti 

5th December 2014:
This indeed is the best piece of fanfic I hv had the pleasure of reading. Only wanted to say that it would be icing on the cake if u continued the sequel(as darkness descends). It appears as if u hv not posted in 2014. Pls start posting soon. It really feels bad when one awaits eagerly for the story but no update about it is received. Hoping to continue the journey forward.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Capudoeza 

22nd November 2014:
I love this story. I hope you continue with book 2

 Report Review

Review #15, by Cannons 

7th November 2014:
Hi,

Words are something that I am struggling with at the moment, but I want to say this is one of the best stories I have come across on here and the amount of talent you have is unreal.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Emily Evington 

20th September 2014:
Dear Jchrissy, So I'm not used to writing reviews (as this is my first review) I just finished your story and it was absolutely amazing! Well written and very addictive, and I don't cry often when reading, but I cried when I read this. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #17, by whisky 

12th August 2014:
I just want to say I'm obsessed and you're brilliant. I was too addicted to write reviews for every chapter cuz I had to get to the next. Can't wait to go look at more of your stuff!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Allison 

27th July 2014:
Excellent Story. I loved the foreshadowing into events that Rowling writes in her books.

 Report Review

Review #19, by PinkRose 

22nd July 2014:
Thank you for the fantastic story

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore 

12th July 2014:
Hi, Jami! ♥

I can't believe that I've finally got to the end of this story. I know I started reading it much later on than most people did and then kept getting dragged away but it's still been in my mind for such a long time that I kind of didn't expect it to end. I know you've got a few chapters of the sequel up so I'll be heading straight to those but I just wanted to say thank you for sharing this story with us, first of all. It's so beautiful and such a great story and I love what you've written.

This was such a devastating chapter. I had tears in my eyes again as I thought of Belle being buried and the fact that she was torn from them, and she wouldn't be with them anymore. It's just so, so unfair but then I suppose that's what this war is. And more of them will suffer - all of them, in fact - from now on. There's no happy ending.

I was really glad that her sister came to the funeral, though. At least someone made an effort even if she hadn't helped her enough when she was alive. But it was still great.

The grief and emotion were beautifully told in this chapter. So raw, especially with Sirius - like it was radiating from the screen. Belle has left a massive hole in all of their lives that won't ever be filled.

I loved the way that you ended this. A lot of stories have these characters joining the Order while they're still in school and being told all about it but I liked the way that Belle's death prompted their decision to fight - removed all of the doubt there. Now they've got something which is possibly even harder to face but I'm looking forward to it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by Thekels7 

27th June 2014:
Quite funny and emotionally traumatizing at the same time...

Definitely deserving of the most addicting award because I couldn't stop reading, my only guilt was James's owl's name was Beowulf considering that was what I was actually supposed to be reading lol.

Good job!

Author's Response: Aww I wish I could say I was sorry about the emotionally traumatizing aspect of it...but... ;).
Thank you so much for reading, and I'm really happy you liked it!

Have fun reading Beowulf!
Jami


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pretense Of Perfection 

18th June 2014:
I want to start off by saying this is definitely one of the top ten best Marauder fics I've ever read. and I read a lot of them.

I do want to point out that in the beginning of the chapter when Lily is thinking about how cruel the world is, you used the word "cruelness" which would've sounded better in the sentence as "cruelty," at least in my opinion.

But wow. I'm still in shock over Belle's death. I just want to hug and love poor Sirius. I can't wait to start reading the sequel, and I hope you update it soon!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Andreanne 

19th May 2014:
I finished reading this at one in the morning yesterday. It truly is addicting! Probably the best Jily fic I've ever read. There was the perfect balance between James/Lily moments and darker moments that showed us that the War was beginning. I've got nothing else to add except that I wished it was longer :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review and awesome compliments! I'm so happy you liked it!!!

Thanks again!
Jami


 Report Review

Review #24, by classicblack 

11th May 2014:
So I know why you won a Dobby for most addicting story.

I'm usually one of those people that leaves a nice little review every chapter but I was so wrapped up in this story and spending my weekend (which I should have spent revising) finishing it that I couldn't leave a review until now.

And let me tell you this story was phenomenal. Absolutely brilliantly done. There were no plot holes and hardly any cliches (and anyway everyone loves a good cliche now and again) and the dialogue was lovely and the pace was perfect and just gah. I loved it. I used to give out that word too liberally in reviews but I truly did love this story. I cannot wait to continue on to the sequel.

This story made me laugh and get a little choked up and just go aw. It was suspenseful and addicting. Seriously, well done.

Fantastic job and happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #25, by coleridgeandco 

20th February 2014:
So... It is currently 4:33am, I have read this whole masterpiece in one day and I must admit this is the first time I cry over a fictional character's death. Even with Fred... And I kind of expected it with Belle, so... I simply bow to your ineffable skills

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>