29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lucky Star 

18th April 2015:
Hello James.

I'm Lucky Star. I have seen you around the forums, and I thought I should come by and leave you a review. So here I am doing just that.

OMG. This killed me! I've been having a really bad day, because of something school-related that happened yesterday. And I didn't think I would laugh once this weekend, but you made me do that. Thank you so much for this story, you have no idea how much I needed it. It's made my day!

I was a bit doubtful when I saw the summary, because I think humor is the most difficult genre to write. Everyone find different things humorous, so it's not easy to write something that will work for a lot of people. But I think you have this great balance between changing canon things up, but at the same time keeping a little of what we love about HP. And that is important. Because if you change things too much, it's not going to be as funny. You can't really try too much, which I probably would've done cause I'm not really that funny, but you didn't do that.

I think it was brilliant. I especially loved that Voldemort wasn't allowed to play himself, and that Gilderoy was going to play him. Is it strange that I can actually see Lockhart be a good broadway actor? He does seem like the dramatic type... Anyway, letting Voldemort play Zacharias Smith, that was just amazing. I died when he had to yell "Not me, I am a cowardly Hufflepuff!". Too funny, haha.

So, as I said before, I am over at the forums, and I will probably see you there. I don't call myself Lucky Star, though, so I'll give you a clue in case you do wish to look for me.

Your clue:

Alone it is hard
Together you may find
I am more than you think
But who really am I?

- Lucky Star

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jayna 

9th April 2015:
This has a lot of interesting takes on the canon books, and I really love the idea of Voldemort going broke.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heaven 

20th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I haven't read one of Voldemort's adventures in a while, and I was in need of a laugh, so I was so happy to be able to tag you in review tag. I'm very glad to say that this has definitely made my night!

Ah, poor Voldy! How completely rude of Justinian Beaverton to go ruin his life like that, leaving Voldemort in a fix. And what a brave soul (or what's left of it) he has to travel to the New World to try his luck.

It gives me great joy to know that Voldemort scored the part of Zacharias Smith. Zacharias Smith deserves no less than the Dark Lord himself, and Gilderoy Lockhart as Voldemort is just pure casting brilliance on Ron, Hermione, and Harry's part.

I have no idea why the crowd is so excited that Gryffindor will win the Cup in the middle of the Battle of Hogwarts, but whatever. Musicals are a little strange like that! Lovely story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Voldy and Zacharias totally deserve each other, and who could resist the awesomeness of Kenneth Branaugh?

I had to fit my little bit of Gryffie propaganda in there at the end! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by lindslo2012 

2nd June 2014:
Hi there!
Review tag!
Oh. my. goodness.
This was just perfect!
I admire your sense of humor and the uniqueness of your story!
I loved Justinian Beaverton, and how he danced inappropriately in Hogsmeade. I can't even..
My favorite had to be Cedric Diggory and his vampire movies. Oh my goodness I laughed out loud because that is just perfect! Lol.
Voldemort should be given the part on broadway because no one could play the part better than him! But what if his old habbits came out on stage and he actually hurt Harry?
Oh my goodness this was just fabulous.
I would def go see Voldemort in a play. It would be rather entertaining. And I loved how you even put a yankees hat on him. Oh my this was hilarious and such a funny one-shot.
GOOD JOB!
I loved it! Thanks for the swap!!!
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the great review!

I couldn't resist the urge to put two of my favorite villains together in Voldemort and "Justinian":)

Glad you liked the Twilight reference! Because Cedric died and then turned into Edward or something like that right?

Voldy may seem the logical choice to play himself, but it's hard to top the genius of Kenneth Branuagh.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Siriusly Black 

15th March 2014:
You had me at the summary. I started laughing from there and continued through-out. Damn this fic is hilarious.
I love your incorporation of 'Justinian Beaverton' and Cedric Diggory movies. Which you're right about... they aren't very good.
I would definitely go watch this Broadway show.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reviewing! Glad you enjoyed it! I fear for Cedric's career now that that other series is mercifully over.

 Report Review

Review #6, by shez 

15th March 2014:
Review tag!

So I'm picturing Voldy walking through the subway station in NY in tourist clothing.could not stop laughing. This is BRILLIANT. This is just what the world needed. Rita Skeeter publicist for Voldy (we all knew she had a dark side)? Harry directing his own musical (egotist much)? Gilderoy getting the much coveted part (will they have to surgically remove his nose? oh boy.)???

I can see this happening.

Dude this is canon. Yep. My only complaint is that it was way too short (and that I didn't get to see the musical).


Thank you for making the world a better place.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I'm greatly amused by picturing Voldy in regular every day situations. And I definitely wouldn't put this past Rita.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by toomanycurls 

13th December 2013:
Review tag!!

You had me laughing at the first paragraph. Oh the hilarities. I especially liked him forming a music group with "Wizarding pop star and heartthrob Justinian Beaverton."

Oh Justinian - why did you have to dance inappropriately? :D

Live on Broadway - Voldemort playing Voldemort! My sides hurt from laughing!

Voldemort the street performer? I'd see him, I have to admit.

Is Harry Simon Powell?! Oh dear I am not able to stop giggling at this. Gilderoy as Voldemort? I'm crying from laughing!!

I've read a lot of satire and parady on this site and yours is the first that got me laughing so hard. Your combination of jokes about HP and the real world were perfect. You've combined dry humor with a great sense of irony and wit!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

For some reason I think Voldemort and "Justinian" would be quite the team.

Harry is totally Simon here, I worry the fame may be starting to get to his head a bit.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by dobby88 

29th July 2013:
I seriously laughed out loud reading this, especially when I read the bit about Snape turning to a life of crime because he tried to rob the Nakatomi Towers and Cedric Diggory's vampire movies! It's weird because every time I see those movies all I can think of is the Harry Potter characters- at least I'm not the only one :P
The story was short and sweet and very funny :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I totally think of the HP characters when seeing them in other movies too! Because Cedric got reborn as Edward when he dies or something, right?
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by randomwriter 

17th July 2013:
Hi there again :)
I'm in awe of your sense of humour, and am still laughing even after I have finished reading the story. I love how you make fun of twilight all the time. That alone, makes this worth the read. But you have too many positives and nearly no negatives on all your stories, so great going! :)
This was a great idea for the House Cup Challenge, and I love the little bit in the end about Gryffindor winning the cup... Subtle, but perfect. I hope the prediction comes true too!! :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot!

And you can never make fun of Twilight too much haha

Go Gryffies!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Akussa 

17th July 2013:
Oh my, that was probably one of the most hilarious thing I have ever read!! Of course, I'm not surprised by the quality of the writting when it comes to spelling, structure and overall choice of vocabulary but the, once again in your stories, you managed to come up with something so original and out of the box, it's a pleasant ride to read it!

Being awarded the part of Zacharias Smith... That made me laugh so hard! And his reaction? Perfect, priceless. You really managed to create another crazy and strange story that works. It's just so out of the norm to imagine Voldemort signing on Broadway that I can't help but hope that this could happen!!

Great, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

Letting Voldy play himself would be too easy haha. Go Gryffies!


 Report Review

Review #11, by MissesWeasley123 

16th July 2013:
Ah, this was golden. Can't wait for more. I could not be anymore Sirius, because this story has Weasleyed it's way into me heart.
Okay, cornyness apart:
This was hilarious! Thank you for making me smile!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, and great work on those puns!

 Report Review

Review #12, by BluebirdBrigade 

14th July 2013:
Oh my god.

Bahaha, this was hilarious! I mean, I knew from when I read the title that this would be something special but you really put a lot of thought into this entry and it was totally entertaining and funny. I really liked the unique and creative spin you put on the whole travel element and it's definitely the most unusual but completely interesting entry that I've seen from anyone taking part in the house cup. I loved the part where Voldie was like 'what did I ever do to you.oh yeah.' Genius.

I didn't see any spelling mistakes here but I think for CC I would say I would have liked to see more of a consistent description. It was sometimes a bit bulky in one area and then totally dialogue filled in the next. But even with this I thought you had some really nice flow going on and I just enjoyed it in general!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I kind of threw this story together quickly to finish it in time for the house cup, so I didnt really get a chance to read through it, but those are some good suggestions.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #13, by starryskies55 

13th July 2013:
Oh my giddy aunt.

I don't know what to say, apart from is Harry actually Simon Cowell? Oh dear lord. And then poor Voldemort didn't even get his own part. I always end up feeling bad for him in your stories! I loved that it was like the X factor though, very good- and Rita Skeeter is a publicist now? That's definitely the highlight of her career. Also- this line; "Voldemort confidently belted out the latest teen anthem" - Voldemort confidently singing?

There were tons of great one liners in here- the rabbits dying and 'Old habits die hard', as well as Snape being a bank robber and the vampire films with Cedric Diggory. Who knew that rl and Harry Potter blended so easily?

Aside from the complete madness of this, it was very well written and engaging. Well done from a fellow Gryffie :)

Author's Response: I'm afraid the fame might be getting to Harry's head a bit here. I get easily amused thinking about how the characters would act if they were self-aware of their real life popularity, which is kind of the underlying theme of these stories.

Also, Die Hard is one of my alltime favorites, so I just had to make the reference to Alan Rickman's role in it.
Go Gryffindor!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Dark Whisper 

13th July 2013:
Well,, you had me at Beaverton fever. :)
And then, 1980's gangster movies. :D
And then, Voldemort in a yellow suit and Yankees hat as a street performer. :P
And then... "I need a sandwich." XD
Loved the trio as the 'judges' and Harry (as S.C. And then Lockhart playing Voldemort)... Hahaha!

This was really creative and you certainly know what parody is. XD

Good job on Voldy traveling to NYC.

Too funny!
DW

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! This was a really fun one to write, glad you enjoyed it!



 Report Review

Review #15, by DracoFerret11 

13th July 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from Ravenclaw on the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2013! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: This was so funny! Oh my gosh, I don't read enough spoofs! :D I loved it. Poor Voldemort, out of work and unpopular. And cast as Zacharias Smith! What an outrage! Oh, and I LOVED your add-ins about other films like Die Hard and Twilight! HILARIOUS! :D This really was fantastic and your cheeky end was so cute. :) Great job.

Characterization: Well, of course the characterization is "out of character," but that is absolutely awesome. I loved Voldemort performing magic in the streets and his silly outfit. And his bad performance of "Justinian's" ;) song. Poor Voldemort! I was totally thinking of Joe Walker's Voldemort from "A Very Potter Musical," by the way. Totally apt.

Descriptions: I loved how you described Voldemort's outfit and activities. It was incredibly humorous and I definitely laughed a few times. Even more details wouldn't go amiss to be honest. :)

Emotions: Poor Voldemort! I felt for him! He was so funny and sad. See! This is what happens when dark wizards go out of work! They get sad and have to perform at children's birthday parties (and we all know that's terrifying!).

This was a great story and it really made me laugh. Thanks so much for writing! Good luck with the House Cup!

--Emily

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review, and my apologies for taking so long to respond. Naturally I left the most thorough reviews for last.

I enjoy imagining if the characters were self-aware of their pop culture fame, as well as making references to other roles of the same actors. Because we all know Cedric was reborn as Edward, right?

I've heard great things about A Very Potter Musical, I really need to check it out one of these days.

I know I would have nightmares for life if Voldy showed up at my birthday party haha. Sadly for him, once you take away the fear and intimidation, he doesn't have a whole lot going for him.

Thanks again!

-James


 Report Review

Review #16, by KiwiOliver 

13th July 2013:
Hey there, here for the HC :)

Hilarious doesn't quite cut it with this one-shot.
Can something be beautiful hilarious laugh-out-loud funny and amazing all in one? The answer is yes! This one shot is :)

I laughed so many times reading through this, my favorite part was the bit with Gilderoy Lockhart playing Voldy :') Pure comedy gold!

And the bit at the end with 'I'm a cowardly Hufflypuff' had me in stitches :)
You've now been dubbed by me as the funniest HPFF writer EVER.

I 100% plan on reading some more of your work as soon as the HC is over :)

Good luck :)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

Glad you enjoyed the bit with Lockhart, it was a nod to Kenneth Branaugh of course, who really is a great actor.

Thanks again, and sorry for taking so long to respond


 Report Review

Review #17, by AC_rules 

13th July 2013:
Ahahahahahahahahahaha, okay wow. I know that you've written a few of these similar stories about good old Voldie, but I've yet to get round to reading any of them. I've really been meaning too, but... well, maybe I'll start soon.

Basically, this is absolutely hilarious and I loved it. I love all the witty popular culture references about Cedric's vampire movies and about Lockhart's Shakespeare experience (I actually snorted at that bit, which I'm sure was very attractive).

The few lines proceeding this one

ďOh come on Harry, what did I ever do to you?Ē Voldemort pleaded.

Were definitely my favourite. Harry was an EXCELLENT judge and I'd pay to watch him continue delivering sassy insults. Nice.

Also, the ending. Bah! Loved it! So perfect for the house cup (although, of course, Blue and bronze will win ;) ). Awesome entry!

-AC

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

Glad you got the Kenneth Branaugh reference! I enjoy imagining if the characters were self-aware of their pop culture fame, as well as the connections with other characters played by the same actors.

I fear the fame is starting to get to Harry;s head a bit, and he has to be careful no to get typecast as the typical "grumpy British judge"

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Athene Goodstrength 

13th July 2013:
You had me at 'Justinian Beaverton'.

This was short, snappy, and hilarious... Cedric Diggory's vampire films, the line about Nicholas Flamel, Harry glaring over his glasses at Voldemort. All so good... But then you cast Voldemort as Zacharias Smith, and I'm properly laughing out loud, and then in sashays Kenneth Branagh... Oh, you. This was so much fun.

As a Snake, I will commend your Gryffie courage in including the last bit ;)

Well done! I enjoyed this a lot.

Athene xo

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! And I think we can all agree that Kenneth Branaugh is a legend.

We'll just have to see if Voldy's Slytherin cunning will ever win out


 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodore 

13th July 2013:
Hey! Here reviewing for the house cup :)

I've recently read another Voldemort parody for the cup, and the whole idea is hilarious so when I saw you'd written a parody as well I just had to read it!

Some of the references to popular culture in this were brilliant, like Voldemort singing with Justinian Beaverton, and the mention of Cedric Diggory in his new vampire film. Is it wrong that I can definitely picture all of this happening? If Voldemort were a singer trying to repair his damaged image after the war, then Rita Skeeter would definitely be his publicist. She's got the right amount of sass to be dealing with drama queens like him! Although her suggestion about going to New York was actually a pretty good one.

The auditions were probably the funniest part of this for me; I loved the way that they each stayed kind of true to their canon character, except for Harry being a total diva and wearing sunglasses inside! And then poor Voldemort (I genuinely never thought I'd say those two words together) gets the part of Zacharias Smith, and, to add insult to injury, Gilderoy Lockhart is playing him! I really liked the nod to Kenneth Branagh there too, with the 'greatest Shakespearean actor' bit!

I'm with you all the way on the song at the end! Go Gryffindor! This was an absolutely hilarious one-shot, and I loved it!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review, and my apologies for taking so long to respond. Naturally I left the most thorough reviews for last.

We all know Cedric didn't really die because he was reborn as Edward Cullen, right? And old Rita might just be the only person who can really keep Voldy in line.

I fear the fame might be getting to Harry's head a bit, which is probably why Dumbledore wanted him to grow up with the Dursely's int he first place. And of course, I had to make a nod to the legend that is Kenneth Branaugh.

Thanks again!

-James


 Report Review

Review #20, by Debra20 

13th July 2013:
I never laughed this much at a story in a long, LONG time. It was deliciously funny. I enjoyed every little word of it haha

Oh God, where do I start? Characterisation was amazing. Voldemort trying for a career as a singer, with none other than Justinian Beaverton (I see what you did there! haha) and then begging for a part in Harry's musical was hilarious. Even if it's an AU and the real Voldemort would never do anything like this, it was oddly satisfying seeing him crawl for a job. Justice has been served, one way or another!

And the Golden Trio! What a funny sight they are with Hermione pouring over papers of performances, Ron bored out of his mind and Harry just chilling haha He seems so out of character with sunglasses inside the building and his feet resting on the table it doesn't even bother me. Just imagining him striking that position is enough to send me into fits of laughter. Amazing characterisation. Just amazing!

I think you're brilliant with humour. I'd love to read more stories like this because they really make my day. And the way you introduced the HC theme was deftly done as well. Oh and the final anthem...you are so slick! I wish you the best of luck in the HC :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review, and my apologies for taking so long to respond. Naturally I left the most thorough reviews for last.

Sadly for Voldemort, he built his whole career on fear, intimidation, and dark magic. Once you take that away, he doesn't have much going for him, aside from trying to capitalize on his pop culture fame.

I was trying to go for the American Idol/ X Factor type feel with the Golden Trio, with Harry as Simon of course. I fear the fame might be getting to Harry's head a bit.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by patronus_charm 

13th July 2013:
Yay someone else wrote a Voldemort parody for this too!

This was just brilliant! It cheered me up so much and the idea of it was just so unique and wonderful you had me rolling with laughter all the way through. I knew from the start this was going to be a great one-shot with the fact that Voldemort was singing with Justinian Beaverton. I never had him down as a pop singer because I thought he would do something more dramatic such as opera but I guess people will always surprise you.

The fact that Rita was his advisor was another excellent thing and I really loved her suggestion! I felt quite proud of Voldemort taking on New York because he wore what he wanted to with no care in the world and thatís quite impressive. I loved the other pop culture reference with Cedric Diggoryís new film, itís not bad itís brilliant :P

I really wish I got to see video footage of his audition though because I can imagine that it would have been quite impressive with his jazz hands and belting out the high notes. Iím going to have contact him and make this happen in somewhere! The set-up of it was really great and reminded me of the X Factor with each judge giving their own critique and they were all so in character when doing it.

I do feel bad for him though because I felt he put a lot of effort into his audition and then to only get the role of Zacharias must be a bit of a let-down. Oh well, Iím sure heíll get his chance to shine one day or something. Heís talent is far too obvious to let it fade away like that. The only thing I disliked was the song because you seemed to have mixed up Ravenclaw with Gryffindor!

I loved this one-shot!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review, and my apologies for taking so long to respond. Naturally I left the most thorough reviews for last.

Voldy would probably fit in more in a Wagner type opera for sure, but right now he really needs to go where the money is of course.

And we all know Cedric didn't really die because he was reborn as Edward Cullen, right?

I was totally going for the X Factor type vibe, and Harry of course, is becoming a young Simon before our eyes. Perhaps the fame is getting to his head too much.

I guess we both lost out to Hufflepuff in the end. Thanks again!

-James


 Report Review

Review #22, by charlottetrips 

13th July 2013:
LOL, I SAW WHAT YOU DID THERE!! youtrickylittle...

I was going to end off on reviewing for the night and then I saw that you'd posted a Voldie story and I just HAD to come by and look at it. And I'm glad because you put a smile on my face after a rather well-written angst one-shot had me in a puddle in a corner of my room (I'm still there but you've at least solidified me enough to smile and chuckle).

I love how clueless Voldie is. He's always trying to get ahead of the game but is just not shaping up. He was really not raised with the right survival skills and his old tricks never work for him (and he never learns). Tisk, tisk.

The portrayal of the Golden Trio in how they judged the auditions: perf. Seriously. Harry going all Simon Cowell on us had me giggling. He also had a piercing stare. That's good.

Thanks for this!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

Poor Voldy built his life around fear, intimidation, and dark magic. Once you take those away, it seems he doesn't have a whole lot going for him.

Harry totally could be Simon, I fear the fame is starting to get to his head a bit.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #23, by SereneChaos 

13th July 2013:
Ohmygosh. Bahahaha! I loved reading every word of this! I don't know what part's better--Voldemort being teamed up with Justinian Beaverton, or Voldemort resorting to doing magic tricks to make a quick buck, or Gilderoy Lockhart stepping in Voldemort's role! There should definitely be a Voldemort of Broadway Sequel, just sayin'.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by AlexFan 

12th July 2013:
Oh my God I'm dying. That was absolutely hilarious! I can't stop laughing! I loved the whole Justinian Beaverton part, I thought that was really.

My favourite part definitely had to be the fact that Hary, Ron and Hermione were acting like the judges from the X Factor or American Idol. Harry was spot on as Simon, I absolutely loved that part.

The most hilarious bit though, was when Voldemort went "come on Harry, what did I ever do to you!" I lost it at that part. I immediately went "oh, I don't know, let's list he various things that you did to ruin Harry's life."

And to add insult to injury, he got the part of Zacharias Smith instead of himself. Poor Voldemort. I hope his career in show business goes far.

Brilliant one-shot! I absolutely loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I don't think its too much of a stretch to picture Justin Bieber joining the Death Eaters, right?

I worry the fame may be getting to Harry's head a little, and yeah it's really turning him into Simon.

Poor Voldy never gets his way, but he cant really compete with the likes of Lockhart now, can he?

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by maskedmuggle 

12th July 2013:
Hey!

Haha, this was absolute brilliance! I honestly loved reading this and found myself smiling/laughing in amusement quite a few times! This Voldemort was just hilarious! And all the other little references/characters just made the whole fic so humourous - Justinian Beaverton, Rita Skeeter, Cedric Diggory, and how Voldemort got the part of Zacharias Smith while Lockhart was playing Voldemort!

The whole thing was just incredibly entertaining to read, and really well written too! So yeah, I really enjoyed this!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

I've had a lot of fun putting Voldemort through these travails, and its not looking too good for ever finding a happy ending.

Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>