Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Bad Blood, Chapter 3: Three
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotter 

22nd February 2014:
Oh my gosh. That conversation with Snape... But I don't think he sent the letter, because I think you're trying to make it seem like he did so I'm distracted and won't know who really sent it. Hmmm... I guess I'll just have to keep reading and find out! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Ha! I love pulling the wool over a person's eyes. It's fun to go back and see your thought process as you were reading this, though I know it's been a while now since you've finished the story. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Courtney Dark 

13th November 2013:
Oh my goodness, Snape just almost completely quoted the letter to Lily in this chapter! My 'Oh my, something isn't right about this' senses were on high alert, and I think I'm just going to have to finish this story right now to find out everything! Right now it seems like Snape was the one who sent the letter, but that could just be me coming to hasty conclusions, maybe it's someone else entirely!

But who...

I feel like a couple of DUN, DUN, DUNS! are necessary here.

Anyway, I really liked the different perspectives to this chapter. It was definitely nice to hear from Remus, as he so often seems to be abandoned in marauders fanfics, just like Peter, and I love Remus to pieces! I enjoyed his conversation with Lily, too, you really made her personality stand out!

Already looking forward to the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: You caught that -- good for you! Yes, it's important! It does make me feel good that so many people let that clue slip by unnoticed, but it also makes me feel good to know someone saw it. I'm not (as) crazy!

I love the Marauders era -- it's one of my favorites to write -- so your compliments are very kind to me. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ValWitch21 

17th July 2013:
The only coherent sentence I can come up with is 'RUN LILY RUN OR EVEN BETTER STAY INSIDE'

This will probably have a lot of caps as well because K was visciously attacked by mosquitoes and my legs itch like there's no tomorrow. This should hopefully take me mind off the matter.

So as I told you earlier today, Snape definitely quoted the letter. If I hadn't read chapter 5, however, I'm not sure I'd think it's home, though as also mentioned before, I keep forgetting this is AU because it could actually be canon.

Because, as always, your characterisations are perfect.

Author's Response: Poor Lily! If she'd heard your coherent sentence, it might have done her good... but then, she's a bit stubborn, so she probably would have ignored it anyway. There are advantages and disadvantages to having that sort of fiery spirit, I suppose.

You did catch that he quoted the letter! :) I thought it would be very obvious, but I was actually pleased to see that in general I was able to keep up the air of mystery straight to the end. I try and write my AU to be as canon as possible -- which I suppose sounds a bit oxymoronic -- but I do appreciate your saying that. ♥

You are too good to me. Thank you for all your reviews, Val!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Princess Yamaha Toto Spuds 

9th July 2013:
WHAT.

Okay, that was way too good to be true. Snape would never say 'mudblood' so freely. The one time he let it slip in public, it was the worst day of his life. This seems more of the thing that would be done intentionally to frame Snape, which means it's not Snape at all. POLYJUICE POTION. But who would frame Severus? Someone who watched them closely and...okay, my money's back on a Gryffindor. Someone who knows about the enmity between Severus and the marauders, someone who knows Remus and Peter are familiar with the contents of Lily's letter. Someone observing the hysteria. Rosier or Wilkes, perhaps? Maybe that's what they'd been planning all along. Or maybe this is Snape's initiation, and it really is him. Maybe in order to become a Death Eater, this is a rite of passage for him. And he's the one who killed Asher.

I am straining to think of someone outside Hogwarts who could have Floo'd in - or used the Whomping Willow's secret passage?? - or...hmm. I refuse to believe Severus would behave that way, but this is AU so anything is possible, and all of your cryptic responses to my theories have addled my brain's ability to guess. I just know I'm missing something obvious, but cannot think what it is.

What other ways are there to get into Hogwarts? Or to hide? Or...HMM. Maybe it's an Animagus cat or something.

I want to make this review longer but I'm also raring to read the next chapter.

-flees-

Author's Response: Too good to be true, you say? -strokes invisible ponderous goatee- I suppose it's sort of pointless to keep attempting for an air of mystery, given that I'm about to post the last chapter, but I'll keep doing it anyway.

I will say that you're on the wrong track about Floo Powder! Tee hee hee. Altogether, with all the things we've discussed both here and on Skype, you are VERY close to discovering the true murderer... but not quite correct. I didn't set out to stump people so thoroughly, but I guess that's the occupational hazard in writing mysteries. No matter how obvious I thought/worried I was being, it apparently wasn't so obvious to readers!

-voodoo fingers- ALL WILL BE REVEALED. ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by MadiMalfoy 

9th July 2013:
I'm back! :)

Dun DUn DUN! Very good setup for a bomb to drop in the next chapter! A wonderfully written cliffhanger too! Knowing how canon Snape felt towards Lily, I knew something was off immediately, because he usually takes the group's guile and accepts he isn't good enough for Lily but rather loves her from afar. I feel like it is polyjuiced Snape, yes? Your foreshadowing is so immensely electric it's not even funny how much I want to read the next chapter!

Loved it again, the characterizations were spot on and the description was perfect! Feel free to re-request! :)
~MadiMalfoy xx

Author's Response: -mysterious piano music- There's a MAJOR bomb in the next chapter, and I'm so glad you liked the cliffhanger, too! Writing lead-ins to next chapters and cliffhangers, and endings to chapters in general, is one of my favorite things about writing books. :)

Ah, THAT is an interesting theory! You're the only one to have guessed that so far, but of course I can't tell you yet if you're right or not. We're very near the end of the story, so it won't be long before you'll be able to find out for yourself. I'll definitely be back to request a review for the next chapter, too!

Thank you so much for all these reviews -- seriously. ♥ I know I'm requesting them from you, but they really do make me so happy to read, and I'm so glad you're willing to read more chapters when I request them! You're awesome!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by academica 

6th July 2013:
Oh, dear, I suspect you're trying to lead me in a distinctively Snapey direction with the repetition of the M-word. I'm going to go out on a limb and say that maybe James is doing this so he can look like a big hero when the 'culprit' is finally caught. Then again, this seems too evil for James to do, so... yeah, I don't know. I'm excited to see how things wrap up in the last two chapters, though!

I liked the interaction among the Marauders in this chapter; it seemed pretty natural and definitely reminiscent of your other work. It can be hard to pin down that chemistry, so kudos to you on that. I also liked the interaction between Remus and Lily. I tend to go a little softer with them and Lily in particular, but I liked how you used her traditionally fiery characterization without veering off into unrealistic territory with it. It's nice that she's not too close to Remus at this point.

Nice job! Hope you're having fun at camp :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: -voodoo fingers- I can't reveal everything yet! Sarah did have the same idea as you, that James was acting to play the hero, and I will tell the both of you that he's absolutely not above it. It's definitely something he could do. But if he DID do it is another story, and it could be that the letter and the murder aren't even related... But there's more to come before you'll know the facts!

Marauders interaction has become nearly effortless, and very fun, to write, and I'm glad you liked it! :) And it really does mean a lot to me that you thought it worked, too, since I know you're no small authority on the foursome yourself. Lily's very fiery and strong in my mind, and for some reason it's very strong in my mind that Remus is a bit afraid of her. :P

I had a lot of fun at camp -- thank you! ♥ And thank you for reviewing this chapter for me, too!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm 

4th July 2013:
Hi Rachel!

Ever since I started reading this story, I thought the Marauders would make good detectives and it was proved to be true again with the opening scene when theyíre locked up in their dorm and asking questions. The slight argument between James and Sirius really added to the tense and chilling nature of the story, though I canít say how successful their plan is going to be, because it almost sounds too simple!

Bahaha! Remus is slightly scared of Lily? Thatís brilliant! I never would have thought that and now I just want more interaction between the two to see what happens! He really does have a different side with his internal sarcasm from time to time and it really added to the scene. I do feel bad for Lily thinking that theyíre going to be in danger when theyíre most likely fine if they have the cloak.

McGonagall, why did you let them out? The killerís going to be able to roam around free and ready to attack new people without any worries, unless sheís the killer and this is just a plot to get her next victim! That is a possibility, but I know either way this has a really bad feel about it and Iím going to be sitting here anxiously waiting for the next attack on the mudblood. Maybe this was why they were a lot stricter in the CoS because they had learnt their lesson last time?

Woo go Lily! I wanted her to have her own little action scene because I thought considering the letter was sent to her that she would so sneaking out is a great alternative to this! I am surprised that Remus and Peter didnít hurry after the other two out of curiosity even if they werenít worried because I didnít think they would want to miss out on all the other fun!

Hmm, some of Snapeís reactions were a little odd so Iím going to keep my eye on him. Maybe he was being threatened with a bottle of shampoo and had to go through with it? (Paraphrasing some HP character there :P, probably Sirius I think!) .

AH! You left us on an ending like that? Thatís just mean, Iím dying trying to figure what Remus figured out. Does him thinking mudblood four times have any significance? Probably, maybe, who knows except you! Gah I am waiting anxiously here so Iím hoping the chapterís posted first thing on Wednesday morning :P

-Kiana

Author's Response: I think the Marauders would make lovely detectives too! Which, of course, led me to write them in a mystery story, not to mention I love writing the Marauders in general. ♥ Also, let me just say that it's essentially canon in my own mind that Remus is scared of Lily, and it's actually something I've wanted to work in a story for ages. :P

I think in CoS -- and again here -- Dumbledore and McGonagall far overestimated the safety of the school. I know that if I'd had a basilisk roaming around my school, those students would have been out of there before they could blink, but I suppose that's what comes of someone who worries over things as much as I do.

There was actually an important sort of clue towards the end of that chapter, involving Snape and Remus -- if you read back through the chapter, I'll bet you can guess what he figured out, too! Or you could just read chapter 4, because it's posted now, but you don't have to do either. :D I will tell you that Snape is definitely a suspect, and keeping your eye on him is probably a good idea...

Kiana, your reviews. I cannot. ♥ You always leave me the sweetest comments, and I cannot thank you enough for them!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lady Asphodel 

2nd July 2013:
What??? Seriously??? What??? Seriously??? What???... Seriously? O.o

No... no no no no...

Okay I am Done.

I really enjoyed reading Severus here. Now things have really gotten interesting. ♥ I actually seem to love him more than I do now haha. :P (Sorry he's my favorite character.)

Noo... Severus wouldn't hurt Lily would he???!!! They're best friends! He loves her! DX

Sorry again *composes self* Wow... you just inspired me right now to write... idk something.

But anywho. Thanks again for updating so quickly! Loves you!

Can't wait for more! :D


- Asphodel

Author's Response: Haha! I've left you flabbergasted -- a good thing, in my book, although I guess it's a little cruel at the same time. ;) Snape actually was my favorite part of this chapter to write, because I love giving him little snarky lines. (He also happens to be my favorite character too, so I guess we're both a little biased in that respect!) You'll have to wait until the fifth chapter to figure out just what happened, actually, but you're on the right track, I promise!!

I'm actually almost more happy that I inspired you to write more than anything else in this review! ♥ Getting people into the writing mode, seeing people write, just makes me so happy. I can't say why. :)

Chapter 4 just went up, too, and I really hope you like that one as well! ♥ Thank you for leaving me such wonderful reviews on this story!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by The Misfit 

2nd July 2013:
WHAT! WHAT! WHAT! YOU ARE EVIL!! XD

I just... I have no words to say. Except that this is /most/ definitely AU because /of course/ that's why Snape knows what the letter says! (yes, I'm no longer using dialogue tasg because they take too long. Sue me. :P) Or, it could just be coincidence and Remus is reading too much into what Snape's saying because they're all on tenterhooks after George Ashers death and ah. YOU ARE EVIL. fFor every possible, semi-plausible guess to what's on the horizon for Bad Blood that I can glean from your ritign, it also provid s me with enough information to shried my suspicions into tatters.

*wails*

James is perfect. And Sirius is perfect. all of the Marauders are perfect, basically, because you just write them wonderfully. James' thought process, Sirius' whistling, Remus' bookishness, Peteer's distance, Lily's forcefulness... I know I've said this a million times but I LOVE THEM. ♥

And I am currently flailing and I am so so so sorry for what I suspect must be some tyops in this review but I just had to tell you that the feels are amazing and wonderful and evil and devastating and heartrbreaking and I want next Wednesdya to come already :3

YOU ARE AMAZING RACHEL ♥ ♥

Author's Response: This is most definitely AU! It was largely AU straight from the beginning -- which I sort of like, really. There's great freedom that comes when you get around to purposefully straying from canon, if that makes sense. An important thing to note is Snape's word choice toward the end of his dialogue, too...

Thank you so much for appreciating my Marauders. ♥ It really does mean so much to me! This era is definitely my favorite to write, and there's a lot of emotion that comes with them, which I suspect is a large part of why I do it.

The next chapter's up a little early, so happy Christmas in July! :D Seriously, thanks for this review, and for all your support. I'm so happy you're enjoying the story so much!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review