Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

4th August 2016:
Yay! James is playing for England! And I hope he does take McLaggen's place; he needs to be knocked down a few pegs.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Slide 

27th September 2013:
I have no idea if fish goes with pumpkin or not. I think I've eaten pumpkin only once in my life. It was in a soup. With cheese. Served INSIDE the pumpkin. I know, right? It was delicious. Its preparation also had nothing to do with me!!

Makes lots of sense to use the actual extant Quidditch grounds. That said, also makes sense that most of the grounds wouldn't have the capacity for truly world-wide games. Not that they do in the real world but if you could magically make a temporary stand with the ginormous capacity...

Yay he's in! Of course he's in. But he's really earned it, and Demelza's right, he doesn't view it as something which belongs to him which means he'll value it more.

And yes, James, beat that McLaggan. I see the apple does not fall far from the tree...

Author's Response: I did search for fish/pumpkin recipes and I came across a couple! I wouldn't want to try it, though. I think I might have had pumpkin soup once before. Sounds life-changing with a cheesy interior! I may have to suggest that one to Carlotta.

James is in. He earned it fair and square. McLaggen is a carbon copy of his father, which shan't go unpunished. Cheers for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by scarlett_811 

7th September 2013:
I absolutely adore this story, it's so suspenseful and well-written, far better than many published books. Please update soon, I'm dying to know what happens next, this is a fantastic story.

Author's Response: Apologies for the delay in updates, but things ahould speed up a bit now. Thanks for the review, I'm really glad you're enjoying!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Solana 

16th August 2013:
Ok, it's me again. Being that I jumped into this story just a few days ago, and had to read all these chapters to get caught up so I didn't have to wait for anything ... does this mean it's not yet finished? YIPPEE! I so want more. It just went on for so long and then it kind of ... ended. So I'd thought this was it. Thank Merlin we've more to look forward to. Everyone is right: there's much more to go. There's James rejoining England and dealing with Maclaggen; there's James and Carlotta and their growing relationship; there's Carlotta's condition and seeing if magical remedies can ease it; there's Lily's new job and further developments with her friends ... there's so much more! So with everyone else, I eagerly await the next chapter! :-)

Author's Response: Definitely not finished! The World Cup will be played out in its entirety before this baby gets wrapped up. The other things you're excited for won't quite get dealt with in this story.. They're part of the focus of the sequel ;) Really glad you're enjoying so far, apologies for the wait but the next chapter is now up! Thanks for the reviews :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Solana 

16th August 2013:
I must say, I've rarely read a fanfiction as thoroughly ... real as this one! By that I mean, I was so completely into the characters, really got to know them. You wrote them so real, so multidimensional, it was as if I was joining them and their world every night -- which I was! I am so going to miss this story! It's rare to read something on James, and you really had him down pat. Very, very good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I do make a real effort to flesh out my characters with their own personalities so it's nice to know that work has paid off :) No need to miss James just yet, we're not quite wrapped up :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore 

16th July 2013:
I'll be honest and say that I expected James to get the call up from England again, since he was the first choice in the squad and also clearly (though I may be a bit biased) the best candidate for the job. But after the way the last chapter ended, you had me a bit worried with the beginning of this one, since it doesn't even start with him on the phone! I'm so pleased that he got the call up though!

I really liked the fact that Sinead, Brigid and Keira were all there to support James as he got told the news as well. You can tell that quidditch is really important to him, and that his team want to support him in everything he does. It's great that Brigid tipped off his family - it seems like a very in character thing for her to do!

Once again, I really enjoyed the interactions between James and his family, and I like the way that you manage to give them all different personalities even when there's so many of them. It's great that they're all supportive, and I love seeing them together as well. One of my favourite parts in this chapter was probably Teddy's mention of the chaser position not being a 'one-man' job, and Ginny's subsequent questioning of it so that he had to correct himself - it really made me laugh!

Another great chapter on this story. I'm looking forward to seeing him play with England, and hopefully he can help take Jeremiah McLaggen down a peg or two!

Sian :)

Author's Response: At the end of the day, this is James' story. Would I really leave him out of the England squad a second time? ;)

I put a lot of thought into the Weasleys. Perhaps too much thought. But I absolutely love them all, and I think they would remain very close and so it would be unrealistic to leave any of them out. So I try to give them reasonably equal billing (with the exception of the Potters, Freddie, Roxanne and Rose of course!). It's really good to know that you like their individuality too, because it's one thing I really do work on. Tons of England action on the way, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by NMBC_Sally 

14th July 2013:
Wow. Your story is just wow. It completely sucked me in and will not let me go! The way you portray James, a muggle's introduction to the magical community and just tie your characters together is amazing! I can't wait for more from you, you are truly talented :)

Author's Response: I have to admit, I planned this story without quite realising just how much scope I'd have to explore by having a muggle character. It's been really fun to write so far, and I hope you're enjoying reading it just as much! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by hermionestwin7052 

14th July 2013:
Great story! I would love to see more Carlotta/James interactions though. The quidditch story lines are great and very well written, but I feel like they're taking a backseat, so I'd like to see more :) Just my two cents. A great story!

Author's Response: The Carlotta/James stuff will come back to the forefront a bit towards the end of the fic, but obviously at the moment the main focus is on James' Quidditch career. It's nice to know you miss their storyline though, because it means you like them which is reassuring! Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CharliesRose 

2nd July 2013:
I'm just laughing here because I realised I did a random little happy dance when I saw you updated this story. I was so excited it's not even normal.
And then of course if I was already doing a happy dance just by seeing a new chapter existed you can imagine how I was when James was told he was back on the England team... Haha basically I'm very very happy (and excited) by this new chapter. And you wrote it to make it sound so believable. It didn't seem cliche at all, and it's so convincingly written I actually have to remind myself it's not real.
And the return of Freddie!! I was excited to see him mentioned too. I was actually excited by a lot of this chapter. But in particular Freddie because he's cool, and Brigid because you write her so well.
As for Pumpkin and Fish... I really don't think they would go together so I think you got that right... and I can't wait to see what happens between James and McClaggen.
Your writing is amazing, keep up the amazing (supermegafoxyawesomehot) work!
~Char

Author's Response: This chapter was actually really hard to write. I expected the chat with Demelza would prove difficult because of its importance, but actually the reaction of James' family was just as hard in the end! But it was a nice chapter to write all the same, because happy things happen to James, and god knows he needs it after the hell I put him through!

Freddie will pop up more as we progress with the World Cup. A fair amount of James/McLaggen interaction to come too. Pumpkin/fish seems to be a thing, at least a couple of recipes do seem to exist! I don't fancy being the one to test them though. Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by a rollerball 

2nd July 2013:
you know what im going to say... awsome chapter, please update soon

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexRedden 

1st July 2013:
I can't believe I haven't left a review on this story yet.
Can I just say that you are seriously one of the best writers whose works I have ever read? And I'm including published authors as well.
But seriously. Your writing style is great, and your characters are hilarious, not to mention well thought out.
Most of the works on this site tend to be somewhat one or two dimensional, but if off the rails was a movie, it would be in 4D (is that a real thing yet?).
So basically, what I'm trying to say is that you're pretty awesome, and I think you're one of the few writers who really does these characters justice, so massive props!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, it really does mean a lot :) I certainly put a lot of effort into trying to give every character their own personality and story, so it's good to know you think I'm doing a good job. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by missclaire17 

1st July 2013:
I somehow think that pumpkin won't go with fish, no matter how amazing of a cook Carlotta is xD

It really was to be expected that James got the call-up from Demelza again because let's face it, there's no better option. I really like that the relationship between James and Roxanne isn't strained or weirded out by the fact that the two of them are sort of competing with each other for the the third spot as Chaser both on the Falcons and on England, I suppose since Demelza said Roxy had really proved herself.

Honestly, I can see how being able to play every position makes a guy's head all bloated and big and makes him remarkably arrogant. I really don't want to see what McLaggen is actually like based on the way that everyone's talking about him. I can't imagine a worse person to play a team sport with than him xD

Awesome update! I really do look forward to the World Cup! It should be interesting!

Author's Response: I actually googled pumpkin and fish recipes after posting this chapter and a fair few came up, so it would seem the concept does exist! Not that I'm about to try it, mind.

Of course James was going to get the call up. What kind of story would this be if he didn't? ;) McLaggen's personality will certainly come to the fore as the World Cup progresses. I'll let you be the judge :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review