Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

4th August 2016:
Ahh! Please let it be Demelza Robbins calling James to offer him his spot on the England team back. Please, please, please, pretty please with sugar on top. Now I have to go straight to the next chapter to find out. Forget getting to bed at a timely hour.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Slide 

27th September 2013:
James has prospects! Squee. Go properly abroad, James, you'll know it's worth it. Yay, discourse on international travel! I agree, unsurprisingly, on it not being instantaneous to just travel the globe. The whole thing of Portkeys being controlled, monitored, regulated makes sense - and I like Floo-hopping! That adds a nice kind of feel to the travel, stopping off in a pub for a pint mid-trip. And then you spoil me with MORE lorecrafting, now with the relations with the Muggle world. Good stuff.

Loving the little details of moving out of Lily's school. But, of course, I'll be over here in a corner, waving my little flag for Maddie and Cato. James has inherited his father's powers of observation at times. And of course Lily knows better than to harangue James with his England chances!

THE PHONE, THE PHONE'S MAKING SOUNDS.

Author's Response: Can you imagine? Someone embarks on a trip from Britain to, say, Russia, through the Floo network, stopping for a pint at each pub on the way, getting steadily drunker as they go on ... you know, that sounds like a very Dimitri thing to do...

The discussion about wizarding/Muggle relations and the Prime Minister is VERY much setting the scene for the sequel, so if you think that was spoiling you, you'll be in heaven when Derailed comes about. I HOPE.

No need for a Maddie/Cato corner ... what do you think my hypothetical Maddie spin-off would be about? ;) Cheers for review yo.


 Report Review

Review #3, by a rollerball 

19th June 2013:
wicked chapter. please update soon (:

Author's Response: Next chapter is in the queue! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore 

18th June 2013:
Oh no, what a cliffhanger! That's mean!

The opening with James and Brigid discussing his options for other teams makes me think that he's a shoo-in for the England position, because if they're asking for him even before he's made it known that he's available, then he's got to be brilliant. I'm interested to know what he'll do with those teams. Do world cup players go and play abroad as well or does the competition take place during that time? And I wonder how Carlotta will affect his decision as well, since they're not at a stage where she would automatically go with him to Australia or anywhere.

I love Lily in this - she's one of my favourite characters. She's so hardworking and ambitious and has done so much to get to the position she's in. It can't be easy for any Squib, but in a family like the Potters it must be even harder to deal with. It's great that she has such brilliant friends and has learnt to deal with it and move on with her life like normal.

The part with Maddie trying to hide all the quaffles and chocolate frogs from her parents was hilarious and I could picture it all so vividly! I hate packing as well so I can definitely understand why they were all desperate to be able to use magic but had to avoid the Muggles seeing them. I'd forgotten about the wardrobe as well, but the idea of Harry doing something like that which he's not really supposed to is funny - I can easily imagine that happening!

Carlotta is really becoming more comfortable with the wizarding world, isn't she? I really enjoyed seeing her go to Diagon Alley by herself and gaining by it because she's a Muggle. I love that she's so fascinated by everything that the wizarding world holds and what she can take from it - including the cooking. I'm not entirely sure that pumpkin would go with fish, but she might as well try... :P

And the phone call! That was a cruel cliffhanger to leave this chapter on! I'm convinced that James is going to get the offer to play for England, because he was chosen once before and everyone can see how talented he is. He really deserves it! And why else would he get a call if it wasn't a call up for England? But I'm still nervous in case Demelza is worried about his past behaviour and decides to go for someone else. Now I've just thought that it might not even be a call about quidditch...you're messing with my mind here!

I'm really looking forward to the next chapter and I hope you update soon!

Sian :)

Author's Response: I like cliffhangers. When they're mine. ;)

James' talent goes without saying. His downfall is his conduct. But he's proven that he can handle the domestic game; as far as Demelza's aware, his behaviour has suggested that he can't hack it at international level, not yet anyway. So other teams' interest in him doesn't automatically mean that he's a guaranteed pick for England. If that makes sense. :P

The scene with Lily and Maddie was very enjoyable to write, as they always are. I feel like I underused Lily's wardrobe in the end. I created it for convenience, and so that I could sneak in a Narnia reference and the closet joke of Maddie's, but James didn't seem to use it much in the end. Nevertheless, it served its purpose. Harry would definitely fiddle with the wardrobe when he's not supposed to! Naughty him. ;)

Carlotta IS becoming more comfortable with the wizarding world, but she's by no means fully used to it by now, and there will always be something new to surprise her. I liked the thought of her trotting off to Diagon Alley by herself. :)

Yeah, the phone call is actually Allegra, ringing to tell James he has dragon pox after all ... I jest, I jest! Next chapter is in the queue so your question should be answered soon! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by CharliesRose 

18th June 2013:
Ahhh, the phone... I kinda get the feeling that the next chapter will have a huge anti climax... because of the whole phone ringing... you know? Maybe that's just me.
I loved this chapter, love Lily and her friends, I think their little story is so creative and well put it. But the mention of Al... we haven't really seen much of him in a while, or Freddie really? Just wondering if either of them will turn up soon?
Okay well there's not really much else to say, I'm pretty sure you know by now that I'm in love with this story, James is just the cutest person in the world. And everything is so believable, i'm so jealous of how well you write.
Well done and I can't wait to read the next chapter :)
~Char

Author's Response: The next chapter's in the queue ... and I hope it doesn't disappoint. :) Albus is proving a tough character! The trouble is there are so many family members that it's hard to give them all air time, and the last few chapters have focused much more on Carlotta. Albus will appear again soon though! Freddie's story needs more focus and resolution, so that will come to the fore soon as well. :) Really glad to know you're still enjoying, thanks as always for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Justanothermuggle fan 

17th June 2013:
cliffy!
Waiting for the nxt chapter.

Author's Response: The next chapter is in the queue! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by missclaire17 

17th June 2013:
That bit about Lily and packing was HILARIOUS! The way that she really wanted Ginny and James to pack for her and how Maddie had to run into her room with the Quaffle and the Chocolate Frogs. I really had never forgotten about the wardrobe, but it was a shame that Lily couldn't just put everything in there because that's what I would have done.

I loved reading about Carlotta going to Diagon Alley by herself. It's so interesting because she's a Muggle but yet she's by herself in a completely magical place. I suppose it's a sign that she has really gotten used to magical things?

AH! THE CALL! OH MY GOSH!
I really hope James gets it. He really deserves it.
I don't doubt in his abilities; only the fact that Demelza might have reservations about his behaviour earlier. But everything considered, I really think he will get it.

Awesome chapter! I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Oh, Lily. She never fails to disappoint when I write her! I'm glad you enjoyed reading that section as much as I enjoyed writing it. :) The wardrobe was a plot device I inserted for convenience and neglected for too long ... but it was worth it, if only for the Narnia reference and Maddie's closet joke. :)

Carlotta is becoming more and more adjusted and used to the magical world in a sense, but it still completely fascinates her at the same time. But yes, that she's perfectly happy to go to Diagon Alley herself says it all about how at ease she's becoming with it all. There will always be something there to surprise her though!

THE CALL. Demelza has perfectly valid concerns when it comes to picking James ... it's whether she can overlook his previous conduct and see that he's matured as a person. It will all be answered in the next chapter ... which is in the queue. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by rogue_bludger 

16th June 2013:
this chapter was really well written! i love how you balance the magic and muggle worlds making it seem so convincing. and i love the parts with lily- she's such an intriguing character, i just want to get to know her more!
i'm looking forward to the next chapter of wonderfulness!
~M

Author's Response: Lily's actually quite hard to write sometimes - making her a Squib gives me so much more scope, but then I risk underdoing her, if that makes sense. It's really fun to be able to contrast the magical and muggle worlds, and I'm glad you like that aspect because it's quite important now Carlotta's becoming a firm fixture in the magical world. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review