Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16 

28th July 2015:
Hi. I know it's been a while since I last reviewed. I just recently started reading this story again and it's getting quite interesting. Clearly, Pyxis was right when he said these balls were shams for raids and recruiting new Death Eaters as that seems to be exactly what is happening with Theo. And it makes me so sad but I suppose it was inviteable as he is of age and friends with Malfoy. I do wonder who the Dark Lord has him casting the Cruciatus Curse on though.

And Terry's locked up in a cell in the basement!? How did that happen!? I'm so scared of what's going to happen to him. And what will happen to Astoria and Pyxis? Surely someone must have heard her scream. What happens if the Death Eaters come to investigate? I'm so curious! I will definitely be reading on!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello!! :D You're awesome for reviewing this story, I really appreciate it!! I imagine the Death Eater society, especially as it gets on its feet again, to be very elaborate and ceremonial to convince the participants that what they're doing is noble and righteous, while the dirty work goes on behind the scenes. Which makes it all the more frightening in a way.

Well of course you know the answers to these, but I'm glad you were asking them at the time of reading, that's so exciting for me as an author to hear the speculations.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jess the Enthusiast 

24th September 2014:
NO OH MY GOD OH MY GOD NO

Author's Response: *evil author laugh* ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy1993 

18th September 2014:
Another incredible chapter! Things seem to take a nasty turn now. I can't wait to find out what happens next.

Author's Response: Hello again! This is definitely the point in the story where things become darker and the stakes are raised. So far Tor's been able to kind of glide under the radar but her time is running out.

Thank you!! Each one of your reviews are so nice and really makes my day whenever I read them!


 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore 

21st August 2013:
Okay, so I've been looking forward and dreading this chapter simultaneously for a while, but can I just ask you to please stop ending chapters like that?

The description and imagery in this chapter was brilliant; at the beginning, I could picture everything so vividly and there were some other details that you included in this chapter that really help the story to come to life. I couldn't help laughing at the mention of Daphne getting drunk and doing the House Elf Hustle, and the way that Pyxis wants to use Theo to get places when he passes his Apparition test - it sounds very familiar!

I've suspected for a while that Theo was being recruited into the Death Eaters, and when you think about it, he's the perfect candidate to become one of Voldemort's servants; like Draco, he can be used to replace and punish his father for his mistakes. I didn't want it to happen, or think that it was going to happen so soon, but it's very believable that it would take place. I also thought that the choice to include his recruitment into the Death Eaters in the same chapter as mentions of his childhood, because it provided such a harsh contrast between the youth Theo had and the life he's now entering. It makes me so sad to see him do this, and I liked the snapshots you continued giving us throughout the chapter of his feelings and thoughts. Torturing someone seems like the perfect initiation to the Death Eaters - well, something they'd think was perfect, anyway.

One of the things I love about this story is the way that you portray the war from Tor's POV; we get the sense that all of the Death Eaters are real people; people with families and histories and likes and dislikes, and they're all just so believable. It's so interesting to read about, and I feel like while I'm reading this I'm opening my mind to the fact that these characters aren't all purely evil at the same time Tor is realising that Muggles aren't all animals.

Okay, the ending. You have got to stop doing this to me!. The only reason this is even bearable is because I know I've got the next chapters to read! Rationally thinking, Terry can't be dead, because of the prologue to this story - but that doesn't stop me worrying and wondering what has happened to him! And I'm worried about Tor exposing their relationship as well - surely Pyxis at least will work it out and realise why Tor's reacting so badly to seeing Terry's body in the Malfoy basement?

Argh, so much to think about! I'm carrying on reading to find out exactly what's going on!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hola! :) Ah, the big cliff hanger chapter! I felt so guilty for doing this to the readers, but of course you knew that Terry had to be alive for the scene in the prologue. I loved adding a little suspense, however! :P

I'm so honoured you liked the descriptions and that they created a clear picture. This chapter actually sort of wrote itself, perhaps because we have the imagery of Malfoy manor from the books and even the movies, so I could imagine it transformed for the party. Haha, I'm glad you liked the little funny anecdotes, I loved adding slight amounts of humour into the story. :P

You're completely right, Theo, like Draco, is a very obvious choice to get recruited to have power over the father and the family. I don't imagine Theo as being fully recruited yet, with the Dark Mark or anything, but he's certainly being scouted and examined to see if he could handle it. I'm glad you noticed the contrasts with his childhood as well, and it is very sad. I quite liked including his perspective in the story and taking a little break from Tor.

Ah, I'm glad you love the way we get to know the DEs and Slytherins in this story! Showing the contrasts and blurred lines between good and evil is one of my favourite parts of writing this, and they continue to open my mind as well with each new chapter. I guess I really want to play with the ideas of evil and ordinary and choosing between the two of them, and whether people like Theo or Yaxley can be simultaneously wicked and likeable at the same time.

I love your excitement about the ending!! When I posted this I was so excited to see if any readers would react (evil author laugh). But yes, the tension is beginning to boil at this point. Pyxis is definitely going to get suspicious eventually, and both Terry and Tor are still far from being safe.

Thank you so much for this amazing and thoughtful review my dear! :D You're just so wonderful! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan 

28th June 2013:
ACK THAT ENDING YOU HAVE GOT TO STOP DOING THAT. Just kidding I think its a fabulous ending. It's just mean. :p

I love the way you characterised Narcissa in this chapter. She's not as stuck up as she always appeared to Harry. I liked her interactions with Tor and the Nott boys.

Speaking of the Nott boys, I love the details you've added about Theo as a kid, and how he's changed. What an intense chapter. We get to see Theo as a young kid reading fairy tales to his friends, and then Theo as a teenager joining up with the Death Eaters. I mean I figured it was coming, but... agh. Anyway I liked that you chose the chapter where he shows his true colours to also give us some little details about him as a child.

Finally, I meant to mention this in my review for the last chapter but was too busy fangirling about how excellent that chapter was. What is Tor's Patronus? You didn't actually say what it was specifically. Is it a bird? Because it landed on her arm I thought it was a falcon or something, but I'd love to know what it actually was. (Or do we have to wait until a later chapter for that info?)

Ok on to read the next chapter IMMEDIATELY.

Author's Response: I know, don't hate me! :P I'm glad you liked the suspense of the ending, I felt so bad doing that to readers (and to Tor) but it was very fun to imagine.

It's good to know you liked Narcissa, and that she came across as a bit more human. Poor woman is going through so much right now, and it's definitely taking it's toll. I imagined she would be kinder to Yaxley's girls as well.

I'm so glad you liked getting to know Theo a little better, and how being exposed to the DE has affected him. I really want to balance him out as a character, and how some of the circumstances which affect his personality are beyond his control, so I'm glad you liked him. :)

Yeah, I was unclear about it on purpose, but the exact Patronus will definitely be explained in a future chapter. Tor herself isn't an expert on types of birds, and since she saw it so briefly I figured she wouldn't place it exactly.

Thank you for the awesome review! :) (Off to respond to the rest of them now!)


 Report Review

Review #6, by -BookDinosaur- 

8th June 2013:
-BookDinosaur- here with your requested review.

No, wait, what?! Terry?! Dead?! NO. Please, he's like my favourite character and you can't just kill him off and- gah.

Right, reviewing. I loved your descriptions of everything-Malfoy Manor, the Ball, the crowd of people. I could really see what was going on inside my head. I loved the description of the Manor in particular-it was really well written and easy to imagine, but there wasn't too much description.

I loved how Tor was thinking of Terry and missing him-it was so sweet.

So... Theo is marked now? Is he? That Christian character was shady, but I didn't expect Theo to get his mark so soon-I would have thought he'd have waited until after he finished school. But I'm worried for him now. I don't think he's a killer, and I don't want him to be evil, although Resistance does give us a small hint. Gah, I'm way too invested in your characters.

Yor cliffhanger was so hanger-y! I hope Tor didn't give anything away with her reaction. And please, please don't let Terry be dead. *sobs*

Anyway, a really good chapter that left me hanging. I need more, darn it!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, I'm sorry! :( Well, you'll just have to check out the next chapter and see what happens, it might not be exactly what you expect! :P

I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter, and the descriptions of the ball! I'm glad the descriptions were just enough to paint a picture of the manor, which I enjoyed imagining as well. And yes, Terry and Tor are so cute together, aren't they?

I love Theo too, and I want the best for him! As for what happens to him, all (well, some) will be revealed in the next chapter, which is being written now! :)

I'm glad the cliffhanger worked, I wasn't sure how I did with that! And your reaction to the chapter is just what I hoped for, in an evil suspenseful kind of way! :D

Thank you for another wonderful review! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauder5 

8th June 2013:
If only you could have been here to see my excitement when I realised you had posted a new chapter. Yay! I was thrilled, and your brilliant writing never lets me down. I absolutely loved basically everything about this chapter. This story is so insanely good that I wish you could publish it and earn lots and lots of money on it, but I know you can't. Even so, I hope you see how good it is!!

You've said before that there was going to be some drama happening at the Ball, so I knew that something was about to happen as soon as I read the chapter title.

Your descriptions are beautiful! I also loved Mrs Yaxley's cold, stern attitude towards the children, and the image of Daphne doing the House Elf Hustle and being carried away on her dad's shoulder was priceless! It was funny how her mother told her not to repeat that mistake, haha! I noticed one typo when you described the snow: "but itís memory lingers" should probably be: "but its memory lingers".

Also, you add little details about these characters that just make them seem so REAL, which is brilliant. One example is Pyxis telling Theo that he's going to make him take him everywhere once he's got his apparation license - God knows I said those exact same words to my brother when he got his driver's license, and I'm sure every younger sibling has done the same thing as me! ;)

This Christian character was interesting! I knew straight away that it had something to do with Theo being recruited, just like Pyxis had worried about. The way you wrote it was so suspenseful, and I've got so many questions about it! Was Terry the one being tortured? And if so, was it because they know about his and Tor's relationship? Because Theo did think that he deserved it... Well, let's just say I'm really worried about Terry and Tor now, and I MUST know what happens next, haha ;) I do hope that you'll find time to update soon, now that your exams are over! Either way, I'll be on the edge of my seat until then.

The way you describe Tor's feelings for Terry is just so beautiful. This was my favourite quote: "Perhaps we have bled into each other, embodied each other in absence, waiting to emerge when least expected." What a beautiful way of putting it.

What are they going to do now? I hope Tor's reaction doesn't give anything away - Pyxis probably understands what's going on, though. I just hope he can calm her down before anyone else does.

I don't really know what adjective to use to describe this chapter, so I'll give you 3: Great, brilliant, and perfect! I look forward to the next one.

Author's Response: Hello! :D Well if only you knew how excited I get when I see I have a new review from you! This is so long and thoughtful, just can't handle the awesome! :)

Ah, I'm glad you liked Mrs. Yaxley, I really need to include her more as she's so dry and entertaining to write! Daphne's little wild moment created an amusing mental image, as well, so I'm glad you appreciated those things! And yes, in many ways the siblings are just like any typical family, minus the dark murdering DE bits! :P The chapter definitely needed some humour before the depressing drama set in!

I am working on the next chapter now, and everything... well, some things will be explained! :) I'm so happy (cue evil author laugh) that you're feeling the suspense and nervous about the characters, it means my attempt at mystery is working! :D

I'm glad you liked those bits as well, and the little mentions of Terry and Tor's relationship. :)

Thank you so much for this amazing review, as always! It really makes me so, so happy and encourages me to get going with the following chapters, words cannot describe how much I appreciate it! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by ValWitch21 

8th June 2013:
Ah, my goodness.

(I still haven't gone back to chapter 6 of Resistance and I am so, so ashamed of myself).

What a cliffhanger! I'm going to suppose that this relates back to chapter one, correct?

I'm at loss for words -- again. *insert parrot-squawk* Please don't do anything to Terry. Please.

I need to add this to my favourites. Excellent work!

Author's Response: Hello! :D I'm so glad you took the time to check out this story, and that you're enjoying it! And sorry about the cliffhanger! :P The next chapter is being written, and then all will be explained! Well... maybe.

(And no worries, take your time with the review! :))

This review made me very happy, and I hope you keep reading and enjoying this story and Tor's adventures... and mis-adventures. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review