Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

4th August 2016:
I really am enjoying all of the interaction between James and his parents, especially his Dad, in the past few chapters and this one. Also, it would figure that James's favorite childhood tale is The Tale of the Three Brothers considering the Potters are descended down from the Peveralls (sp?). Especially considering the invisibility cloak has stayed in the family for generations and was passed down to James before he gave it to Lily after he graduated Hogwarts.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Slide 

27th September 2013:
And Freddie toys with James nerves, frayed like that tapestry attacked by angry kittens. Oh, good point from James about him not doing something big. I suppose I'd kind of anticipated it, as a reader - the high point of his comeback, the big, dramatic thing James did as a player to prove and redeem himself. And it didn't happen and that was never disappointing because it was always satisfyingly written (and, I suspect, will be coming), but it's kind of nice James has proven himself just by being solid, reliable Potter.

Poor Carla and her concern! I imagine health's a big general worry of hers but at the same time this is a weird, alien illness. It's only reasonable it'd make her wig a little bit.

Many laughs at poor Harry, the memories of Lockhart burned into his brain. That man would have an impact forever. Though I can see a bit why he might remember them, considering Lockhart's eventual fate! Which he didn't deserve, really, liar though he was. Oh, no, Harry finds it funny. Well. Lockhart IS a berk!

I have a Gabe in the corner looking smug as Harry defends true Seers.

Poor James. He's going to go grey by the time this decision's over. And I had NO idea ALL of those books were canon! I never bother with that. I just make mine up. Good canon-thumping, there!

Author's Response: Yeah, I didn't want James to waltz back into the team and be the star of the show in every match. Aside from being very unlikely, it's also very cliched. And besides, I figure demonstrating that you're a team player is more valuable than stealing the show ANYWAY.

Oh, the books. THE BOOKS. I basically combed the Lexicon for books mentioned in canon and threw them ALL in. And went to town with Harry/James banter while I was at it. I really do LOVE post-war Harry. Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by rogue_bludger 

5th June 2013:
the library scene was brilliant! i love that you mentioned lockhart and his books :) the banter between james and harry was just perfect. i really really enjoyed this chapter and i'm looking forward to what comes next!
also, i'm super excited/nervous for James!
~M

Author's Response: The book scene was so fun to write! Especially the Lockhart banter. And Harry and James are so lovely now they get on, aren't they? :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore 

5th June 2013:
I think this is review 300 on this story! Yay!

James is such a great protagonist because he's so likeable. Of course, when he did go off the rails I kind of wanted to slap him and tell him to sort his life out, but he's so humble about his talents and abilities and that makes him so nice to read about. I think, realistically, Demelza will have to pick James for the squad again because she knows how good he is and everyone can see that he's matured and improved recently - other players just wouldn't be as good. I like the fact that he was reluctant to say it, though, even though his family are confident of his chances. It'll be interesting to see how this decision affects his feelings towards the teaching position at Hogwarts.

The part when Carla was sifting through all the books in Harry's office was really fun to read. I liked how you incorporated all the canon titles into the story and added your own comments about them. It's strange to think how much Carla still has to learn about the wizarding world and she can do that through reading through some of the books. I could really picture the excitement on her face when she found the baking book - I can imagine her begging James to help her in the kitchen while she makes things!

As ever, I love the interactions between Harry and James. They seem very real, the way you've portrayed them in this story, and they have had problems with their father-son relationship, which is only natural, but I think that makes it more authentic and believable to read. I love the jokes between them and the way that they tease each other about things. I'm pretty sure Harry met a vampire once at Slughorn's party, but that's nothing major.

I'm so interested to see what happens next, and what Demelza's choice actually is!

Sian :)

Author's Response: This is indeed review 300! Crazy, crazy stuff! This makes me a very happy author. :)

I had to make James likeable right from the start, just to make sure people wouldn't totally turn against him when he went off the rails. I'll be honest with you, I wanted to slap him at times while I was writing him during that phase, even though I knew he'd come out of it okay! So I'm really, really glad that worked out in the end. :) He's reluctant to say he has a chance of making the squad again because he doesn't want to get his hopes up in case he's NOT picked. Of course he has a chance, but he's not overly confident about that chance and he'd rather prepare for the worst than expect the best. His family have a slightly more objective viewpoint, so they're more likely to talk up his chances. Even if he doesn't want to hear that!

I absolutely loved writing that bit with the books. I forgot that so many of them existed - like Enchantments in Baking, I think that got a fleeting mention in CoS or GoF - it's one of Mrs Weasley's books in the kitchen in the Burrow, unsurprisingly. :) Carlotta will of course nag James to do the spells for her. And if not, Freddie will surely be willing if there's food at the end of it. But yes, those books will teach Carlotta so much more about the wizarding world, things that haven't even crossed James' mind as worthy bits of information.

Once more, Harry and James' dynamic was an utter joy to write. I think Harry would be SO laid-back with life as an adult, and when James isn't an insecure nincompoop he's almost horizontal, so they just bounce off each other now they've sorted out their issues. Which is lovely. :) I had forgotten about that vampire at Slughorn's party - but yes, that wasn't a major moment in Harry's life, so that's my excuse ;) Thanks for review 300! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by a rollerball 

5th June 2013:
well, please update soon, because this story is getting damn interesting now.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying! The next chapter should be up soon. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by missclaire17 

4th June 2013:
I loved that bit about the books. It's rather interesting to see the things that Carlotta learns about the magical world just by reading the titles of the books. It was funny, that bit about James saying Carlotta doesn't need to read "Hogwarts, a History" becuase Hermione can regurgitate it all.

That bit about Carlota being super scared of having dragon pox and everything made it very real that she was still a Muggle. An unknown illness potentially spreading around the Quidditch League has got to scare her. It was cute how excited she was about the book Enchantments in Baking. I can imagine Carlotta already asking James to perform some spell or make a potion or something like that whilst she's cooking so that she can test it out.

In all reality, I think James will make the team again. He was Demelza's first choice; obviously he's going to be put on a very tight leash once he's back on the team but I just can't see that Demelza would rather risk her chances with someone less experienced than taking back James after seeing that he HAS become a lot better with his behavior and everything.

It's just another thing that I love about James; he's just so humble about his achievements.

Author's Response: Carlotta going through Harry's books was an absolute hoot to write! Glad you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it. :) And yes, she will DEFINITELY have fun with the baking book! With help from James, or whoever she can persuade to help her. Freddie, of course, would do anything if he got food out of it.

Yep, dragon pox is NOT the kind of thing that Carlotta would be totally blase about! Of course it freaks her out, and James' reassurance really isn't enough on its own. She still has so, so much to learn about the wizarding world, bless her.

James DOES have a chance of making the team again ... but can Demelza overlook what happened last time? ;) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by miluv 

4th June 2013:
harry met a vampire at slughorn's xmas party in 6th year, but other than that I'm excited to see whether he gets the call!

Author's Response: So he did! I forgot about that. Still, that was more of a fleeting moment than a big part of Harry's life story, so I think James can get away with that comment. ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by BBWotter 

4th June 2013:
The book part was amazing, and the Lockhart stuff was brilliant! I love this story! Thanks for the update! I hope James gets in! xx

Author's Response: The Lockhart banter was a sheer joy to write. As was that whole book section, actually. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review