Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sushmita Srikant 

17th April 2017:
Typo "Butterscotch - would have something new toy to play with."
Love the cliffhanger aspect!

 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

27th January 2015:
I'm back for more and I have an eerie eerie feeling. I don't want to read the ending because I just want everything to stay the same. Is that silly? Considering I know James and Lily die and whatnot. I just haven't figured out what it is. There can't be a casualty this early on. The only person you could harm or kill would be Belle and that dear Jamie would not be cool.

I liked that they got to talk about their plans and they actually have plans. I mean you could have easily made James and Lily move in with each other but it still is early in their relationship even though I do see them moving in by the time they're out of school. I just feel like it will happen. I'm surprised Sirius wouldn't want to move with Belle. He didn't even say anything suggesting the idea. Is that a sign? Are you going to break them up?

Grr.Jamie! What are you doing to me?

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore 

12th July 2014:
Hey Jami!

Oh no. Oh no, oh no. I'm so scared after this chapter that I'm having to write this review as quickly as possible so that I can press next chapter and find out what's going to happen next. How could you do that to me?

I loved the first part of the chapter which mentioned Alrek's plans briefly, just hinting at them without giving us confirmation. And then the transition into all the friends talking together worked really well. I loved the way the boys were all interested in the girl talk even though they pretended not to care, and it was so exciting and so hopeful to read them all planning for the future, their careers and who they're going to live with once they leave school! It's kind of exciting and then...

Bam. You go and set my heart racing with this plan that Alrek's cooked up, separating James and Lily so that he can do whatever he's got planned for her... I'm so scared right now. The shortness of those sections was great because it had more impact, but now I have to read on to find out what's happening!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

16th July 2013:
Hi Jami!

Alrek certainly gives me the creeps! He really freaks me out. His lust for revenge is typical of that of a death eater - making it clear why he's with Voldemort but he seems to have forgotten Death Eater rule 1: Always do as Voldy says! He doesn't seem to think his actions may have consequences when he disobeys the dark lord - even if he succeeds.

I love the excitement the group has about the housing arrangements after graduation. It was nice and normal and even though they have the war still towering over them it still gave us a chance to see the happy adults these guys should have been. I love how excited they all got over their futures and even though, it did break my heart a little it was just really heart-warming to read.

I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this line: '"Head Boy and Head Girl ending up together. We're terribly cliche, you know."' It was just really cute! Then she knew for definate she loved him with the entrance to the Heads dorms, which lets face it, we all knew anyway but still! It was really lovely! Did you have that idea in mind when you set up the password or did it come to you after?

I suspected the letters weren't real and the ending part just confirmed that. Eugh I'm so scared -I'm glad I don't have to wait for the next chapter!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hi lovely Lauren!

You're so right! Alrek definitely forgot the number one rule: don't defy Voldemort! I'm so happy his lust for revenge came across!

I really try and make sure to remember that, even though we know they end up in the Order, they don't know that yet so they'd still be planning for their future and all that. I'm so excited you thought that section was heartwarming, that's definitely what I wanted ♥

No, I didn't actually have the i love you in mind with the password tricks. That was actually going to end up being something else. Professor Genov, at the start, was going to be on Voldemort's side and try and get into the dorm to go after Lily, and she gave her true name which would have tied in somehow. But I ended up chucking that idea early on in favor of bringing Alrek in!

Thank you so much for this awesome review, m'dear ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by ValWitch21 

10th July 2013:
Hello Jami!

I'm on my spree to catch round-number reviews again, and even though I've read this chapter and the ones following it, you are a monster for leaving us with such a cliffhanger.

*sobs* I don't like how Alrek's plan is falling into place, it makes me feel even worse and I don't like worrying for you characters because it breaks my heart into thousands of little pieces.

However, I will forgive you because Lily admitted that she was in love with James.

And yes, this is all over the place but I'm going quickly to move on to chapter 33 ♥

Author's Response: Val!!!

See, I'm not such a terrible Monster, Lily DID admit it :P! I don't like being mean to the characters either, though :( Blame JKR, she's the one that makes it so they can't have happily ever afters!

♥ see you at 33!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Courtney Dark 

30th June 2013:
Oh my god that last line was so perfectly creepy! I honestly still have shivers all down my spine - you really have a knack for writing villainous characters, you know.

You have no idea how much I enjoyed this chapter! I think I probably enjoyed it so much because it feels like such a long time since I read the last one, and, I have to admit, I've been craving my James and Lily fix. I had a bit of spare time last week in which I read most of the Prisoner of Azkaban, and I couldn't stop thinking about Before They Fall!

Sorry. I'm blabbering on again. I tend to get very easily side-tracked.

Anyway, back to the chapter. I really, really loved the big conversation about graduation, finding flats and moving in together that all the characters had. It just felt so real and so...I don't know what the right word is but it seemed so grown up, like they're all starting to move onto the next stage of their lives. As usual, I think all of your characters were perfect in this chapter - I especially liked how you managed to include a bit about what Peter's future could have been like if he hadn't been such an...idiot, to put it politely, and betrayed his friends. And for some reason, the bit about it being hard for Remus to get a job made me feel unbelievably sad.

I am both dreading and looking forward to finding out what's going to happen next! Onwards I go! (It's quite nice having more than one chapter to look forward to, I have to admit!)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney!!! Oh my gosh, I am so excited to see you back here! I'm selfish and just want to huggle you so you can never leave again, mwahaha.

Awww that's such an awesome compliment, and I hope you liked your PoA rereading! It's been way too long since I've picked the series up. I'll read bits and pieces, but haven't read one of the books all the way through in some time.

well, now I'm the blabbering one :P. Oh well, chatter is fun, haha.

It's so weird to be moving them into a more grown up stage of life, and I sort of don't want to because it just gets us closer to you know what.

I'm so thrilled that you're still enjoying this story. Thank you so much for sticking around and making me smile like an idiot ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by True Author 

6th June 2013:
Hey Jami!

Oh no, I hate Alrek! He tried to make friends with Lily and now he's planning to kill her? I mean, how could he do that? I know that he isn't going to kill Lily after all, but I can't believe he planned it that way.

So Frank and Alice are moving in? That's fine, as I love the pair, but I really liked the idea of Lily, Alice and Belle living together. That would've extended the story a bit but it would've been fun too. =]

The James and Violet part was good and evil. Oh Jami can't you tell me what happens! Aaah I hate cliffhangers! Anyways, now I'm glad I read this chapter on Thursday instead of last Saturday. I'll have to wait for one long day instead of a long weak!!! :D
Good chapter as usual!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Alrek definitely doesn't have the best intentions. He tried to pretend to make friends for as long as he could on Voldemort's orders, but I think he's finally just lost it :P. Crazy bloke.

I do think it would have been really fun to see the girls all move in together! Hopefully Alice will have lots of sleepovers with the girls ;)!

Awww hahah I can't tell you then i would ruin it!! :P. And yes, see, only one day! I'll be updating first thing Saturday morning (EST) too, so it won't be long!

I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter!! And I really am sorry about the cliff hanger, but thank you so much for your awesome reviews ♥ I'm so excited that you're still enjoying this!!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #8, by CambAngst 

3rd June 2013:
Durmstrang! Ooh, he needs to be hit with a killing curse and fed to the squid. I love how disturbing -- and disturbed -- you made him in this first scene. Somewhere in the course of his punishment, he obviously cracked. Best I can recall, the Dark Lord wanted Lily alive, at least for the time being. I'll take a small measure of comfort in knowing that even if he succeeded -- he won't, right? Right? RIGHT??? -- he'd have a world of hurt waiting for him when Voldemort found out what he'd done.

On to happier topics. So Frank and Alice are getting a nice little house in the 'burbs with a white picket fence and a dog and maybe a little garden out back? I don't know why, but I sort of feel like mocking the two of them. I have this odd comparison running through my head of the stretch of How I Met Your Mother where Marshall and Lilly move out to Long Island. It's probably because that's more fun to think about than what ultimately happens in Frank and Alice's house. :(

I loved Frank's little trick for figuring out whether Alice would agree to move in with him. That felt so much like Frank. You've done a great job of defining him over the past few chapters. He's obviously grown up a lot during his years of school, but there's still a lot of insecurity on the inside. I can plainly see where Neville gets a lot of his personality traits.

"If zere is any'zing close to a love letter in your rucksack," Belle began, a clear warning in her voice, "it had better be for me..." -- This cracks me up. He wub her. Sirius Black would not put up with this from anyone else.

I have to join your other reviewers in thinking that it would have been neat to see Alice, Belle and Lily live together for a while. You throw Frank, Sirius, James, Peter and Remus in the same apartment building and you sort of have Friends plus a werewolf and an evil, back-stabbing rat. Somebody should pitch that to NBC. But I like the way that Frank and Alice's life transition continues to pull James and Lily toward one another, even in ways that are a bit uncomfortable at times.

Lily still has that ferocious independent streak, which really keeps things interesting. It's a great tool to keep your story from ever sliding into situations that feel "too easy" as far as these young people making their way in the world. Some things are supposed to be difficult, like striking out on your own.

You also did a really good job, I thought, with the inner conflict that each of the characters seem to feel between helping with the war effort and moving on with a more "normal" life. Belle's bookstore is starting to haunt me, because I'm pretty sure that she's not meant to survive the war. It seems like a place where she would find a lot of peace. You even gave poor Peter a glimpse at a quasi-productive livelihood that he would probably enjoy. And I like that Lily stopped to ponder poor Remus's fate for a moment. Such a sad waste of potential...

Wow, so Durmstrang managed to force McGonagall's writing and everything. I'd be impressed if I wasn't so mad at him.

A rush of excitement washed through her when the portrait allowed her access. -- I have to say, I felt a little thrill there, myself.

Gah, Jami!!! You've led both of them into prefect traps! How could you do such an awful thing? And then make us all wait a week to find out what happens. Mean, mean, mean!!!

Seriously, though, awesome chapter. I think you made the right decision breaking this one up. Everyone will be on the edge of their seats until the weekend!

Author's Response: Alrek might make a tasty giant squid treat! As you know, I was planning on going a different way with him... but an ocean creature's meal could really be the best option :P

I don't think, when I started this, I really thought about making one of them the less secure one and one of them the more comfortable one. And if i would have thought about it, I'd have made Alice the less secure because she wasn't really given the same sort of parental attention that Frank was. But I'm really happy it ended up going this way because these two sort of just ended up defining themselves. It's fun to think of Frank with his confident exterior but a shaky sort of self confidence. And thinking about what Neville would have been like if these two could have raised him just makes me want to curl up and pout :(.

Sirius totally wub her. Poor dog knows he has no chance.

Friends and HIMYM references both in one review! You have good TV show taste. I actually did think about that for a while, but I think Alice and Frank are in a more definite part of their lives. They know what they're doing next, that they're doing it together, and that together is pretty much the only option for them. But really, having those three live together would have been so much fun. Alice would constantly have to remind Belle to pick up the bathroom, and I can imagine a lot of nights would have been spent with these three staying up too late over a bottle of wine.

You know how much I think there needs to be a balance between these being good people who want to help, and still being human beings that want to live their own life. JKR sort of put marauders era writers in a bad situation by saying James and Lily just worked for the Order, because how could you really spend all day everyday just working for the Order? I do have something that they'll be doing non order related, but they don't know that yet so they still have to make their own plans for the future. Ummm did that make any sense? haha

Hahah I am NOT mean! I'm a nice girl!! And besides, it's not like *you* have to wait to know anything :P

Thank you as always for your awesome support and mad betaz skillz :P. I'm so happy that you're still sticking with this! Not that I'd give you much of a choice... :P




 Report Review

Review #9, by patronus_charm 

2nd June 2013:
If I miss the next couple of Saturdays itís due to all my exams happening the next week and the one after that, but Iíll probably get bored and come on here anyway :P

What is this line ĎHe would surprise the Lord with Lily Evansís deathí my jaw literally dropped when I saw it, Iím not even kidding. He canít kill her, ok I know he canít but the fact heís planning it is horrible. Alrek is Voldemort 2.0 in the making. Then this line ĎThe Mudblood would be dead by tomorrow morningí he doesnít even seem sorry about it and he tried to be friends with her in the beginning. Gah I hate him so much.

Thank goodness for the Alice/Frank fluff to brighten my mood as I was close to doing something dangerous to let me angry out about Alrek then. I think itís so cute that they might move in together and I wasnít even bothered that she was snooping. The irony of Lilyís thought though ĎDid people really buy houses this young?í I couldnít help but laugh as she got married and had a child really young too and she doesnít know it yet. Iíve seen lots of reasons as to why they decided to get married young and Iím intrigued to see yours.

Iím actually disappointed that Alice, Belle and Lily arenít moving in together. Now you mentioned the idea Iíve fallen in love with it. It would be as if the three witches were taking on the world together. Surprisingly, Iíve never seen a story where the Marauders all move in together and I canít wait to see what trouble they cause. I guess I get part of my dream with Belle and Lily moving in together, but I wonder what will happen to theirs and Aliceís friendship as this is obviously going to cause a bit of a shift in it.

Itís really sad that Iím envious of Peterís job. Iíve always loved history and if itís history and magic combined it must be brilliant. I honestly donít see why people complain about History of Magic it would probably be one of my favourite classes at Hogwarts :P

I have to give Alrek some credit as that plan was pretty ingenious given how easily the others all fell for it. I really liked the short snippet with James and Violet and how you just left it with them being alone together and itís up to my imagination to figure out what happened next. How could you leave it like that? Who cares about eleven thousand word chapters, this anxiety about what heís going to do to her is horrible. At least the one comfort I have is that he canít kill her as thatís not canon ;)

Another amazing chapter, Jami! Now youíve left me on this cliff-hanger Iíll probably be here for the next :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana ♥ I'm so excited for your exams to be over so you can get a break!! You deserve one, that's for sure.

Alrek is definitely a sneaky thing. He put on a good act in the start, trying to be friends to spy on the group, but now he's sort of unraveling.

Oh my gosh I didn't even realize how ironic that is! Wow! Good spotting, and now you've given me lots of Lily James feels! Haha! Something that has always made me really sad is when people having them get married because of the war stuff and it just basically being a, 'okay lets do it' thing and not because they just love each other so much. So I can definitely tell you it won't be the 'scared of the war' type of deal ;).

I absolutely agree about it causing a shift in Alice's relationship with the girls. They're so lucky they have magic so they can pop over much easier than us having to get in the car and drive, or take a train or bus!

Hahaha awww I'm happy that you connected with Peter's job! Some types of history I really enjoy learning about, then others just put me to sleep :P. WWII and Native American History are two of my favorites.

Hahahah I'm sorry for leaving it like that!! It was just SO LONG otherwise! The only reason I didn't feel quite so bad is, like you said, we know she can't actually die yet. A little suspense is good for the heart, right?:P

Well the next chapter will always be waiting for you, so don't stress if you get busy with exams!

I hope this response made sense. I'm half dead from exhaustion today, but your reviews are always so amazing that I can't help responding asap!

Thank you so much, Kiana ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by DracoGal 

1st June 2013:
Oh no.this isn't good. Those letters weren't really from McGonagall! Why can't we push people off of towers? It's so much fun! Hahahahaha! Can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: HAHAHAH Well, I guess we *could* push them off the tower, but I think you might like what happens in the next chapter better ;). At the end of that, if you still want us to push Alrek off one, we totally can :P.

I'm so happy you liked this chapter! Thank you for another amazing review ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney 

1st June 2013:
You can't leave it like that for long. I'm eager to find out what happens. I assume that James will get suspicious and force violet to tell him what is going on or maybe Violet will let slip that something is going on between Lily and Alrek; hopefully he can get to Lily in time. I loved seeing all them having fun together and planning such positive futures. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: No, I definitely won't leave it like that for long. Just until Saturday ;)!!

Your assumption might be very, very accurate :P. I think you'll really like the details of the next chapter!

I had a lot of fun with writing them planning their futures. Especially showing that they did have futures to plan.

Thank you so much for this awesome review, and I hope you like the next chapter ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #12, by Zoe 

1st June 2013:
OMG when are you next updating? This story is amazing, I have it bookmarked and check it basically every day. I can't wait to see what happens! Such an amazing story :)

Author's Response: Hi Zoe! Wow, thank you! I'm so happy that you're enjoying this story!

I update every Saturday :)! Usually before 11:00 AM EST (GMT - 5).

I'm so exciting that you like this story, and really grateful for that you took the time to leave a review! Thank you!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #13, by soufflegirl99 

1st June 2013:
This chapter is so awesome! I love the bitterness of Alrek in the first paragraph, you describe his angsty thoughts so well, and it really made me shudder at his character. He's such a selfish horrible character, and I think the way he thinks about hurting Lily all the time really adds an ominous tone to the story. It certainly made me shudder!
I was completely absorbed in it, as usual, and I love the different plans for each character. Thinking of it, I really agree that Belle would be perfect in a book shop! That's such an original idea! I like the way Lily can detect the shadow in Peter, that added a slightly darker side, and it's terrible the way Lupin won't have as high a chance as the others at employment - even though he's one of the most clever. It's so cute the way the boys all want to move in together! I can't wait to see what it'll be like when they're older.
The penultimate paragraph really had me going - I can't believe you finished it there - and I half knew already that something was up to do with Violet and Alrek.
The sweet start of the last paragraph totally threw me. I was not prepared for it to be Alrek, you built up the suspense amazingly as always, and my heart was beating so fast! The way his eyes are 'half crazed' had me terrified, and the last line is so creepy.
The characters get more and more real each chapter, and I love your unique personification of each one individually! I can't WAIT till the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hiii! I'm so happy you liked Alrek's less... comforting start of this chapter ;). He's a lot of fun to play with. I think because he does feel so detached from reality.

I spent so much time wondering what Belle wants to do. She doesn't feel like she'd fit working for someone else. I can't see he wanting to adhere to another person's schedule or orders. And then a bookshop just seemed to click. I'm so happy you agree and think she'd be perfect to own one!

eeek I'm so happy the ending creeping you out!! And I really do feel bad about cliff hangering everyone, but it was the better of the two options :P.

I can't tell you how much it means to me that you're still reading and enjoying this story, Sophie ♥ Your reviews are always such an awesome surprise and leave me smiling ear to ear!

Thank you again, and I really hope you like next week's chapter! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Morgana Tales 

1st June 2013:
NO! STOP IT WITH THE CLIFF HANGERS! WHY would you do this to me? Naughty Jamie, Naughty.

Author's Response: Hahah I'M SORRY! I promise, I won't leave you on one for the next chapter ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review