Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roisin 

19th March 2015:
I like that Albus is 'punished' by 'a look of surprised hurt'--that says a great deal about his character.

"Unhelpfully it was giving him very few clues as to how enterprising students might break in." Wonderful.

I like that both Albus and Scorpius were kind of expecting the other to snap out of it or make the first move back towards friendship.

The idea that everything the trio did was so well recorded no one could replicate it is brilliant. And like, of COURSE Hermione would help do security at the school to specifically prevent the same rule-breaking she had accomplished.

The bickering Marauders always make me giggle. Then weep.

I LOVE the idea of just going straight through the masonry. My mum's a contractor, and she always gets annoyed by break in attempts in movies and such. She's like, DON'T PICK THE LOCK, JUST BREAK THROUGH THE WALL. WALLS ARE HARDLY ANYTHING.

I can remember how this chapter goes (I think this is where I left off), so I know it doesn't go well. But you're doing a GREAT job of lulling the reader into a false sense of security. Like, 'the security doesn't have to be THAT good, it's not like students would chip at the masonry in normal circumstances, this is gonna be FINE...'

Ooh, I must have stopped right after they got trapped, because this Selena stuff is all new! Welcome to what will become random first impressions with no fore-knowledge!

Hahahahaha, Methy looks at her chest and notices scraps of paper.

Ooh, 'le Fey staff'--Morgan le Fey?

And I feel like he should probably listen to Selena, there was probably some more stuff in that letter that would be good to know.

DRAT! I really really want to read on, but essay! Gah! This is not an apology for not being able to review right away, it is a genuine frustration causing me problems! gr

Author's Response: Albus and Scorpius are being such BOYS about it. Though in Al's defence, Scorpius usually slinks back after he's done something stupid. Now Scorpius isn't, and Al doesn't know what to do about it.

Hermione, the kill-joy who took her rebel lessons to make rebellion less possible. At her most arrogant I can totally see her doing that, with the best of intentions of course.

The Map was so much fun to write. And, yes, kind of depressing.

Going through walls is SUCH the best idea. It's never expected!

Ooh, you're caught up. This is gonna be fun. Methuselah, useless with girls.

Morgan le Fay because apparently I failed to spell. That's going to bug me now. But yes, that was the intended reference. Couldn't possibly comment on the importance of Selena's outside-world info-dump. ;-)

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriuslover177 

20th June 2014:
And I thought they were going to have it easy for once-_-
I just hopee they would get in and out easilu, but no, that couldnt happen, could it? *sigh*.

I have no ides how they are going to get them out. I just hope the headmaster wakes up soon and can tell them the password.

Things can never go easy for them.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: They never have it easy, I'm afraid. Guess we'll see how they get out of this one! If they had it easy, there'd be no story.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Europa27 

31st December 2013:
Come on... How can it be that a staff member does not know the password to the headmaster's office... i would think that each and everyone of them knew... In the books even Hagrid knew them even though he was just the Groundskeeper at that point... Apart from this one point i like all other ways you are moving this story... Giving us an insight into each and every person... how they think and so on... you are not able to dislike one person for the way they act cause you know why they do that... but i can still really really dislike Rose cause i think she only lives in her own world.. where what she believes in is the only truth... i hope she realizes and changes for the better.. a little more open minded by the end of this story...

Author's Response: Hagrid was particularly close to Dumbledore. This is a different headmaster, and Lockett is pretty second-string so far as the teachers of Hogwarts go - she keeps herself to herself, she doesn't engage more than she has to. She's probably one of the last to run extra-curriculars or cover for her colleagues and that kind of thing. Basically she's brilliant at Potions but only average as a teacher and a TERRIBLE team-player. As such, there was never any reason for her to be trusted with the password to the Headmaster's Office, and Stubbs never went out of his way to give her such a privilege. And then he went and misjudged Phlegethon, which took out the senior staffers quicker than he anticipated.

That said - I never explain this in the story, so that's my failure!

Rose is the biggest offender for seeing things only in her way. But A) She does have reason for believing and thinking the things she does, and B) Of all the characters, she's the one who gets her misconceptions proven wrong and will grow to put her great mind to more empathetic ends.

Anyway, I'm glad you like the characters AND dislike them - they are not flawless, any of them, and should still be shouted at when they do wrong and hugged when they do well (or maybe that's just me). Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell 

23rd October 2013:
Well, this is all sorts of problematic. Still, of course it wasnít going to be that easy.

Also, Selenaís crush on Methuselah is one of my favorite things about this whole story! Come on, dear. For an intelligent person, the poor lamb can be a bit obtuse.

Author's Response: Selena's little crush is kind of adorable. Thankfully she's not wholly foolish enough to try to just play him like she would any other guy. But also he's not so oblivious as to not be blindsided by her move in this chapter, which is what she intended! We'll see if he picks up on it properly.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ari 

4th June 2013:
"Lockett nodded. 'Why is why they broke in there in the first place."

Maybe you mean which is why?

Only note. Brilliant job.

Author's Response: Oops. Typo, yes. Of the 'hands going too fast and I worded the word'. Shall edit. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by phoebe_s 

26th May 2013:
It's hard coming across a well written, enjoyable Next Generation fic that has believable characterizations and a plot that doesn't overwhelm you. I love your take on everyone, especially Scorp. Seriously.
I have has SO MANY Scorpious feelings throughout this fic, it's nearly killed me. I adore his and Albus's friendship, it's my absolute favorite! If it weren't for Rose, I think I'd almost ship them.
I also love the take on Rose. She frustrates the utter crap outta me, and the whole her hating Scorp thing and being judgmental was something that I thought could be incredibly realistic because she reminds me so much of Ron and Hermione, it's scary. You've blended the two of them incredibly well, and you've done a great job with Hermione's character as well.
Also, Albus is an absolute dear.
I completely adore this story and I really hope you update soon!

Author's Response: I'm glad you love my Scorpius; I'm rather fond of him too. He's a bit of a hapless rogue and is really very reliant upon Albus to keep him stable! I can see why you'd ship them, they'd be a rather adorable couple, no? Rose is mad, frustrating, and yes, intended to be every bit her father and mother's daughter. The best - and worst - of both worlds. Or possibly the most explosive combination of traits. Hermione's brains and Ron's impetuousness are perhaps a bad mix.

Either way, updates are forthcoming after a little bit of a hiatus from myself, there's something in the queue at present. Glad you're enjoying and hope you continue to enjoy!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Soraa 

12th May 2013:
'They're a bit buggered, aren't they?'
Brilliant!

Author's Response: Well, Selena is a truth-speaker! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by LillyRoseanne 

11th May 2013:
O.k. just realised I haven't reviewed a chapter in ages... my apologies.

So messers Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs were hilarious, I was almost crying with laughter.

Ahhh Selena bless her shallow cotton socks.

Rose and Albus... Oh dear we are in trouble...

Can't wait for the next update! x

Author's Response: That's all right, I haven't submitted a chapter in ages. ;) I couldn't resist the Marauder's Map, and once I started with those four, they just wrote themselves! And, of course, got Rose and Albus into trouble.

Selena would like to say that she's not shallow, she just happens to care about her appearances, thankyousoverymuch.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Solana 

10th May 2013:
Well, this has certainly whetted my appetite for more of this story. You are such a great writer and your take on these characters is so spot-on, I've become attached to them the same way I do when I'm reading any published book.

I too missed Scorpius through this, but I understand thoroughly that you had to get into the relationships between Al and Rose and Selena and Methuselah. The cousins, I feel, are really missing the close relationship they had before Hogwarts and need a spell with just the 2 of them. I think the time they're stuck in Stubbs' office they will have a chance to really share.

Of course I hope you get them out! Let's see ... in addition to the House Elves that someone mentioned, there's Scorpius' guitar strings like he was telling Rose a few chapters back. Could that be what does it?

I hope that Rose tells Al what happened with her and Scorpius. I think he'll understand a lot of things better then.

Oh Selena! She's really growing on me, becoming more multidimensional as a character. She's finding that she likes being with Methuselah even though he's just with books all the time. It's like he seems more real to her than the other boys she's known. I hope they get shipped. I think that's the direction it's going.

As for him, he may be becoming more ... human . with Selena by his side. But I do hope he finds something soon they can work with.

Then Locket going to them and asking for Scorpius. I wondered what she thinks he's going to do, but since he's the only person there who's logically going to try to do something ...

I hope Scorp finds what a good guy he is after all. He begrudged the work before but he's putting his heart into it and people are responding to him. I think he's finding he's using his people skills and musical talents for a good cause. He's basically a brat, certainly not evil, but the way you have the character evolving, he's a teenage boy trying to grow up without any family love or support, and no real friends other than Albus, and that'd be hard on any kid.

I get the feeling he sees Tim as kind of a little brother, really cares for him. And that relationship will be good for him, too.

All in all, I'm feeling after reading this far that these kids are all going to grow through this crisis in ways no one would have thought. I can't wait to read more. You get high marks all around (I do hope you're writing your own stuff as well :-) ... my only gripe is that it seems to take long between updates. But I do understand -- I'm busy, too. :-)

Author's Response: I try to keep my stories character-driven, so if the characters are working for you then I've pretty much succeeded at my primary goal! Scorpius gets to take a back-seat for this chapter, but we will be getting back to him very, very soon. Selena and Methuselah in particular needed some attention and, well, we'll see what happens between Al and Rose stuck in a room together!

Interesting you remember the guitar strings. That'd be a Chekhov's Gun, certainly! We WILL see them again in the future, Twice. When and where - can't say.

Selena is used to being adored or hated. Even Albus, who loves everyone, is clearly only superficially polite to her before dismissing her, and Scorpius reeks of mockery in most interactions. Rose doesn't even bother. And even then, Selena knows that most boys are just being shallow and all about her looks when they DO like her. Methuselah has hit this odd middle ground of treating her the exact same way he treats everyone else, and deep down that's the sort of genuine attention the poor girl craves. Problematic that he treats most people with utter indifference and puts books first, hmm? We'll see if he grows out of that.

Scorpius does have a lot of growing up to do. He's the average teenaged boy - with a lot of damage, a lot of pressures, and in many ways the kids are all still victims of the war, if only for the damage of their parents being passed on to them. And many people assume, well, Scorpius is rich and his family influential, what could he possibly have wrong in his life?

Very glad you've enjoyed the story so far. I do, indeed, write my own stuff (which is why there's been such a huge gap of updates, I have been a busy bee), but I want to get this story finished, too, somewhere down the line. There should be more regular updates forthcoming. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MadiMalfoy 

4th May 2013:
Well, crap. This is going to be a problem now that Rose and Albus are stuck in the Headmaster's office, to put it lightly. I love how Selena swears that Methelusah is going to make a move but just grabs a book instead. I'm super curious to see how everything you mentioned that's been occurring in the outside world will correlate to what's going on at Hogwarts. Wonderful job as always! :) xx

Author's Response: There is a Plan and a Plot, I do assure you. The outside world will affect and influence Hogwarts... if not now, then later. Glad you're enjoying the story! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by skeens 

3rd May 2013:
i enjoy your fanfiction a lot and i think you're doing a really good job :) i would just like to have more of selena and methuselah ( like in this chapter) and i hope they end up as a couple or at least kiss x) i really ship them!!

Author's Response: There will be more Selena and Methuselah coming, have no fear! There's plenty more to be done with those two kids. A couple and/or a kiss? We'll have to see! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by missdagane 

3rd May 2013:
Reading from selena pov was great. love how things progress and how you keep the suspense intact . I'm impatient to read more .

Author's Response: Selena was fun to write from the POV of. There will be more updates coming soon, apologies for the long delay. Hope they will satisfy! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by toolazytologin 

3rd May 2013:
Brilliant as always! Can't wait for the next chapter.. although, i'm wondering, if they need to go in or out of the headmaster's office, they could just ask a house elf to apparate them in and out.. the wards don't affect house elves... It's a loophole..

Author's Response: It's true, maybe they could ask a House Elf. That issue will be addressed next chapter. Which will be here... soon! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by R o s m e r t a 

3rd May 2013:
Another great chapter. The bickering Marauder's Map is officially one of my favorite parts of any HPFF story. I always look forward to your updates :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked the Marauder's Map! It was fun to write, the moment it occurred the Messrs Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs rather wrote themselves. Runaway stars, those boys. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by j 

2nd May 2013:
ohhh!!! another cliffhanger!!!

i like your story, it is very captivating

i am looking forward to another update!

of course, i missed scorpius in this chapter

and i'm waiting patiently for her to make amends with him ...

Author's Response: Scorpius will be back. We shall see him rend chaos around and about, have no fear. And maybe, maybe help get people out of this situation. A little. We'll see.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by water_lily43175 

2nd May 2013:
Oh. OH. Review #100, woop woop!

Magic Thor hammer sounds like a good way of breaking in somewhere! Am I allowed to express my disappointment that Thor ISN'T going to be rocking up any time soon? Just think of the chapter images...

AHEM. Story. Yes. I like Albus' thoughts here - that he knows something BIG is up with Scorpius and wants to help, but at the same time resents that he doesn't KNOW what's up. It's definitely the kind of reaction most close friends would have about something like that. Poor Al!

I absolutely LOVE the Marauders' dialogue in the map! Even though it was just words on the parchment, you nailed the personalities of all four of them. And I love James so much. TOO much. Cracking idea, to go through the floor. I like!

Oh, poor Rose and her confused mind. She really doesn't know where she stands with Scorpius, does she? Kudos for the guitar making an appearance, I do love musical Scorp.

Really love how the relationship between Al and Rose is developing. I hadn't really considered how they would have become more distant since being at Hogwarts, but it makes a lot of sense; they're in different houses, with different friends. That must be difficult for people so used to spending time together. In that sense it's nice that they have this opportunity to bridge that gap a bit.

Stuck in the office. Uh oh!

AHA. I was loving this Selena/Methy moment, and was going to comment at the end, but as Methy mentioned Selena's left breast pocket I thought "Oho, been looking there, have we?" And then Selena thought the same. But he's only looking there because the letter's there in the first place. And this annoys her! Oh, they're so adorable. And to think I was shipping Al/Selena at the start. Blasphemy, I say, blasphemy! And yet, it all seems one sided. Methuselah remains utterly Methuselah-ish.

The goings-on in Cairo and Paris certainly sound as though they and this could be connected, and Selena's mum is right to let her know. At the same time, I get Methy's point of view - it doesn't necessarily help them to DO anything about their situation. Find a motive, yes. Cure the illness? Not necessarily. So yeah, Methy is possibly right to put that idea on the backburner FOR NOW. But it's still worth thinking about when they DO ask why this is all happening.

OH Selena, assuming the situation is Scorpius. So unfair, but so true. It always is! Except for now.

And Selena's last sentence? Got it in one, girl! FANTASTIC stuff.

Author's Response: I already had Thor for chapter images. Just he was my casting for Dimitri. Thus proving, Dimitri is awesome. *cough*

Lots happening in this chapter. Enjoyed the Marauder's Map sequence a lot to write. And Methuselah/Selena. Boy really is helpless. Indeed, plot implications coming out with wider world news. Suddenly am responding to review like Methuselah talks. Madness. Can't stop.

Thanks for reviewing, as ever!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review