Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

14th August 2016:
This chapter broke my heart. I suppose it had to happen... more conflict to delay these two finally getting together. But I still don't have to like any of it. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Haha, I love that rationalization: "It had to happen so that Ediver's slow burn could continue for the next 483290 chapters."

And you don't have to like it, you're right. I'm right there with you ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

8th February 2015:
He touches my hand and I feel nothing more than skin-on-skin contact; no butterflies. It's perfect.

^ I've been there. I've done that. It doesn't end well. Even though Jae seems like a tool he still is a person with feelings. I made that mistake after I was scorned by a cheating ex-boyfriend of four years. So there I was dating my Dean, which ended as quickly as it began and we never talked again. Devestated I dated my 'Jae' for a couple of months but he wasn't what I wanted or needed. It took me some soul searching and then I finally ended up with the big lug I date now. I suppose I shall call him my Oliver. Since he is awkward, twitchy and awkward.

Haha!

The point is I think Edie and I have too many similarities. You're pulling things from your own life so I guess you and I have too many similarities or maybe that's just what happens. We all kind of experience the same things and meet similar people. We all have our ups and downs and moments where we say 'we need to grow up' but the day sucks and our job sucks so we go 'I need a drink.' And then we just move on and hope for the best.

I hope for the best with Edie.

That Rose and Oliver kiss though. EW. If they're together for real that's gross. I'm sorry I just don't like Rose she's the villain in my eyes. Ha-ha. Maybe I'm just being catty.

Author's Response: Hellooo again!

I agree that it's not fair to put somebody through the wringer, and to keep in mind that everyone has feelings. Luckily Jae is as unattached as Edie is. I tried to kind of give him a sneaky, womanizing vibe to make this clearer. It's just one of those situations where neither of them is truly invested in the other, but it's something to pass the time.

"I need to grow up" ---> "Actually I need a drink" happens a lot. Haha. You've made a pretty accurate description of twenty-something-dom.

Rose is a really manipulative and spiteful person, totally! And I don't particularly *like* her either, but I'm telling the story through Edie's eyes, so she's probably giving me a bit of a bias...

As always, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by peppersweet 

16th June 2013:
I FEEL PERSONALLY VICTIMISED BY THAT OPENING PARAGRAPH. (But I forgive you, because it's a legit Orwell reference.)

When you mentioned the young mother jogging with the pram (minor nitpick moment: they're called prams, and not strollers here) I had vivid flashbacks to the time I was walking home from art school and nearly got flattened by a young mothers' exercise class - which was basically just sprinting with prams and occasionally stopping to do squats. They come out of nowhere, it's terrifying.

No, Edie! Do not sacrifice your journalistic integrity for Oliver! Dish the dirt on him!

I also like how you brought up the war in this chapter, and that Edie isn't all that affected by it, whilst there might be something to do with Oliver there - what if the shoulder injury is far worse than Edie thought? What if that's what started Oliver on his dramatic downfall? What if??

WHY CAN'T ANYTHING GO RIGHT FOR EDIE OMG

I'm so mad at everything right now I think I'm on the verge of emitting a banshee-like wail and going on a rampage, leaving a trail of destruction in my wake, like a very, very small, pathetic, scottish godzilla.

Jaediver?!? Can I ship it?!? (Can I kick it? (yes you can!))

Why do you insist on torturing my feelings like this!! ♥

Author's Response: Hahahha, I just love accidentally inserting you into this story, don't I? First the girl in the coffee shop, now this!

GAHHH okay so I actually had "pram" written first, because they say it in Monty Python and the Holy Grail (GOD I AM SO AMERICAN.) But then when I fact-checked, which consists of me doing some minimal-effort Googling, I didn't feel like it was common slang. Welp, good to know. I'll change it back. :P

I'm glad you're rooting for Edie to dish the dirt, because I am too! I think a lot of readers are getting fed up with her, haha. She even had a flame or two after the last chapter xD

Yes, the war. I feel like we only see the people who the war really affected--which, to be fair, was a lot of people. But what about those who didn't have to go on the run, or who were pulled out of school, or who never suffered any losses? I feel like there's an immense guilt there. It's another kind of tragedy of war that I wanted to explore.

Jaediver?! Dood. That's intense. And then you have to account for Seamus's man-crush on Oliver, and Dean's over-protectiveness of Edie. Jae+Seamus+Edie+Dean+Oliver = Jeamudiediver?



 Report Review

Review #4, by Courtney Dark 

12th May 2013:
I'm back!

Wow, it feels like ages since I last read and reviewed this story and I have to say, I'd forgotten how much I love it! All of your characters are just so amazingly perfect and so real, you writing is clever and funny and so easy and fun to read! I'm pretty much fangirling over here, this side of the laptop screen!

Ah, Seamus. I think he has to be my favourite character. I absolutely adore the banter between him and Edie - the way he just casually mentioned he stopped by Edie's old flat because he was hungry, the way he exclaims: "You're getting laid!" He is just pure perfection!

I have to admit, I find the thought of Edie running quite amusing. I can just imagine her, all red-faced and sweaty. She'd probably look a bit like me doing exercise, actually. I'm generally more the sit on the couch and eat copious amounts of junk food type.

I liked how you talked about the war in this chapter - I've been wondering for a while what, if any, involvement Edie had in that, so it was great to find out more! I also liked the fact that you mentioned how Dean was on the run for the majority of that year and how he didn't like to talk about it. I wonder if we'll learn anymore about that time of their lives?

Edie's mum is great, which I've got a feeling I've already said before. And I love the way Edie just marches up to Jae and starts snogging him before she even says anything. She is the most magnificent OC!

This was an awesome chapter! And I agree with you about the dead-ness of the site and reviewers recently. It's really sad:(

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello, you! Glad to see you're back. I am so excited about the reviews I've gotten in the last few days, but I feel so guilty because I've been too busy lately to return the favour :c But hopefully I will be able to have an all-day-lazyfest in which I read and review all of the things! Soon, HPFF. Soon.

Secret: Seamus is my favourite too. That scene was so much fun to write. Maybe not entirely integral to the plot, other than to show that Edie let herself fall for Oliver and start talking to people about it. But I just couldn't force myself to get rid of it! I actually had a dream the other night that I--as in, myself--was dating him. I'd say that's the beginning of the end, eh?

Yes! It was also fun to write Edie and Jae's impulsive face-smashing (as teh tarik so brilliantly called it!) She just wanted to feel like she was in control of something, and, well, she's not exactly one to think things through first...

Thanks so much for the review! ♥ They really are sparse these days... That's okay! Nerds like you and me will keep HPFF alive.


 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarik 

27th April 2013:
Gods, you're on an updating blitz. I'm having trouble keeping up :P

Anyway, just wanted to stop by this chapter to join the other reviewers and shout at you a bit.

OI OI OIOIOI

WHAT IS WHAT OI
?!1?!11!!!??21

Right now I have this axe in my hand and I'm just a twitch away from chopping a hole in the hull and sinking this Ediver ship because I'm incredibly unforgiving about these sorts of moments so help me helpme before I jump onboard Deadie.

OK, so don't know how many people had to pick their jaws off the floor - I certainly had to. I'm not even sure what is going on between Rose and Oliver - if you dropped hints of this in previous chapters I must certainly have missed it, or at least I must have been misled by everything. So Oliver has his secrets, does he? He doesn't seem too honest, hasn't been forthright with things, which I suppose makes sense as Edie is a journalist. Of sorts. UGH OLIVER.

I know there's a whole lot of other cool things in this chapter like Seamus & Edie bromance and the little mystery of Oliver's parents and the final bit where she bestows a revenge!snog on poor unsuspecting Jae and thus opening up a whole new labyrinth of complications - but seriously everything pales in comparison to THAT MOMENT. That moment where I start being melodramatic and say that things come shattering down. I think you handled it brilliantly, actually. It's really carefully written, not overdone at all. Especially loved that bit where their eyes meet and Oliver snaps his gaze away, not even bothering to apologise or explain himself away (I doubt Edie would have given him the chance, anyway). srsly what is going on?

Anyway, anyway, great chapter - this fic definitely deserved to win those Keckers awards ^.^


teh

Author's Response: You!!!

I knoww, so much updating lately, gah. I think I'm just worried about losing steam and momentum (I don't think I will; it's just what I've done with every other story.) So all of my HPFF-time has been writing, and I haven't gotten to read or review anything in so long! :c But I need to prioritize, I suppose.

Hahahahaha!! Please, shout away. ;3

I think a lot of ships in the Ediver fleet are being sunk, abandoned, or burned down. (Seriously, it's like Peter Jackson is directing my review inbox.) Meanwhile I'm going to sit off to the side and watch what everyone does :P I already have the ending worked completely out, and it's not what I originally intended, but that's all I will say!

Wow, I'm really flattered that it was so shocking to you! I'm always so nervous to write these "plot twists" because I imagine everyone reading it, and then just crickets, and, "Yeah, we all saw that coming. Great. What's next." I wrote, erased, and re-wrote that ending something like four times. And let me tell you, the first one was so laughably AWFUL and dramatic. But I wanted it to be how things like that go in real life. Something happens, and it's like you're watching it on a TV screen, because nobody else could possibly know how it's making you feel, and then it's over. It's like it never happened at all. This miniscule, two-second event that you can't stop thinking about for weeks or even months.

Anyway, I'm glad it read decently! Thank you so much for taking the time to review. I can't wait until I have time to play on HPFF all day again. :3


 Report Review

Review #6, by LittleMissPrincess 

27th April 2013:
OH MY OH MY!
wow okay so a lot happened here, but basically
1) OLIVER WHAT WHY YOU STUPID HEAD
2) ERMAGERD ROSE WHY DO YOU EXIST
3) awh thats sweet seamus, you wanted to have prolonged sleepover with besties
4) omfg hahaah acromantula nest
5) so is dean's crush on edie, like a real thing?
6) I'VE MENTIONED THIS BEFORE BUT IT SUCKS THAT EDIE IS ONLY A LOW INTERN AND NO ONE TRUSTS HER TO DO ANYTHING FOR LIFE.
7) like, thats really depressing and sometimes it happens to me, when i'm part of the world press for model united nations, and the head guy, who's two years older than me (AND WHO IS SUCH A TOOL) is all like "no, go do this, i'll handle this" and if i get any opportunity BUT NOOO.
8) what am i talking about
9) oh right, yeah so I AM SORRY FOR EDIE ALSO OLVIER
10) YEAH SO WHATS THE DEAL WITH OLIVER, HUH? WHAT IS WRONG WITH HIM. DOESN'T HE UNDERSTAND THAT DSFIUKJSDHFKJAS EDIE AND HIM ARE SUPPOSED TO BE TOGETHER?
11) i mean, what ever happened to ediver? i already made the t-shirts!
12) yeah so rose is a total /youknowwhat/
13) i guess i'm...glad...? that she's dating jae to make oliver jealous? idk yet.
14) i need to read the next chapter before i place my bets but...
15) right so, there was something else i wanted to say...but it's been an hour since i wrote the first half of this review, because *cough tumblr cough* so i guess, i'll see you in the next chapter?

okay bye (:

Author's Response: Oooh, yay, I love lists!

1. Yes. Yes he is.
2. She exists because I get to read these awesome reactions from readers such as yourself xD And for a couple of plot points, but mostly the reactions.
3-5. Haha, that's a great way of thinking of that! Yes, it would have been the bestest prolonged sleepover ever! And he was probably hoping Edie would clear up their flat a bit, too.
6-7. It's really sad how much of Edie's internship is influenced by my own experience, haha. I know how frustrating it can be! And yeah, that guy sounds like no fun at all! LET THE PEOPLE SPEAK, BRO.
8. Uh
9. Oh right
10. I CANNOT SAY THIINGGGS, sorry. :c
11. How do I get an Ediver tee shirt?! And maybe a coffee mug?
12-14. Yeah, Rose is kind of a crazy manipulative person. But she's more than that! Perhaps I'm just an entirely too forgiving person, but even the girl I based Rose off of has three dimensions. She's really loyal to those she does consider her friends, and she's creative, and a good worker, and she acts the way she does because she is CRAZY INSECURE. I hope to shed some more light on Rose in the future, I don't want her to feel like a two-dimensional stock character.
15. Ohhh, tumblr. I totally understand. I was once a productive person who contributed to society. hehe. Thanks so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Sakurasou 

22nd April 2013:
I read this story all in one sitting. Once I started I couldn't stop. I love how you portray all your characters, and especially I really like Edie :D I really don't want her to write the article, but I think she probably will, being so angry and everything.

And, Dean! He's totally into Edie and Seamus knows it :o but she's totally oblivious. Poor Dean, but I love Edie/Oliver, I hope he finds someone else XD (if he does indeed fancy her and I'm not just imagining things :p)

Not sure how I feel about Jae. At the start I liked him but now he's starting to get a bit sleazy. And pushy.

I love all the little references, like the 1984 one in this chapter and the Dragonskine notebook and them all. Makes me feel awesome when I understand them :p

Can't wait to read on and find out what happens. So much drama, I love it. You have a new follower. :D

Author's Response: Eeee!!! A new follower! Welcome. ♥

Wow, one sitting? That is a lot of reading, haha. And I know I've done that before, with stories I absolutely love, and I'm so flattered you feel that way about KC&CO :D

I think you're the first person to say that they aren't a fan of Jae. I totally agree with you there. He's definitely not the worst person in the story, but he's not my favorite either.

I'm glad you got the Dragonskine reference... Although I have a Moleskine, I couldn't help poking fun at other writers xD

The next chapter should be in the queue by tonight. Thanks again, so very much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan 

21st April 2013:
Oh my gosh Seamus was so cute! He wouldn't admit that he wanted Edie to live with him and Dean but he does! Oh, he's just such a sweetie -slightly perverted- pie!

I cannot believe that Rose kissed Oliver! Okay, she is officially on my hit list! Rose, I'm watching you! I just, I can't, I just can't! This is not right!

Shame on you Oliver for not pushing her away! I am fond of Jae though, I like the sound of that mischievous twinkle in his eyes.

Alright, let's see what's going to happen next!

This is my favourite Oliver Wood story, I just get so excited whenever I see an update for this! Keep up the awesome sauce work!

Author's Response: Hiya! I also found Seamus to be quite cute... ;3 And, yes, slightly perverted. And I think it's really funny that all of my readers love Jae so much, as I find him kind of annoying xD Maybe it's that attitude of his that everyone loves?

Thanks so much for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by batsoulini 

20th April 2013:
THAT BITCH AGAIN! Seriously? ARGGH!

UPDATE ^_^

Author's Response: The next chapter is written, and just needs some tweaking before being sent into the queue. (Also, remember to keep your reviews 12+!)

 Report Review

Review #10, by loony_lovegood101 

19th April 2013:
OH MY GOSH!!!
So much happens in this chapter. OLIVER AND ROSE!!
EDIE AND JAE?
ER MY GAWD.
PLEASE UPDATE SOON
AMAZING CHAPTER

LOONY

Author's Response: Hey! Yeah, this chapter was quite the overload x_x I've been trying to work on that, but it's like everything I have plotted out needs to happen all at once! I hope it's not too overwhelming. Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SweetAndSilent21 

19th April 2013:
I absolutely adore everything about this story. Seriously, I get embarrassingly excited whenever I see you've updated haha. It's wonderfully written and Edie is beyond relatable and basically it's just all-around fantastic. Sorry, I'll stop dorking out now. Long story short: you're an amazing writer, your story's brilliant, and I hope you update again soon! :)

Author's Response: Thank you thank you thank you!! Seriously, I just, I just love getting reviews. Writing is the only thing I feel confident about sometimes, but it's still scary to put yourself out there with the potential of receiving bad reviews. (Most people could brush them off, I'm sure, but it's really important to me.) So seeing things like this just really makes my day, to say the very least. Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

18th April 2013:
*Gasps* No he/she/they didn't!! (Rose and Oliver, I mean!) I've got this feeling that Edie is going to write that article now, just because she's so upset with Oliver. And a part of me wants her to, and a part of me doesn't... if that makes any sense.

I feel like Edie has every right to be upset and go kiss Jae and set up a date with him, and a part of me really hopes Oliver is there to witness it... But at the same time it really complicates things, I we certainly don't want poor, innocent Jae getting hurt!

I was surprised to see that Edie's not telling anybody what's going on, about her being sacked or losing her flat. I wonder what everyone's reactions will be when they find out!! And even though I know the situation's not ideal living with Lisa and Justin, at least Edie's got somewhere to stay (for now!)

Another amazing chapter, dear, and I can't wait for the next one!! 10/10!

Author's Response: You just may be right about that article ;3 And the conflict with it does make sense. I feel the same way!

haha. I don't know why, but I just don't feel like Jae is so poor and innocent. I mean, (spoiler alert?) I don't have any plans for him to do anything horrible, but there's something a little off about him. He feels sneaky to me.

Yeah, Edie definitely has problems with talking about anything of substance. She can blabber on and on about Quidditch and beer, but that's it. Her passion for journalism and The Female Goblin Coalition is about as personal as she gets. You're right, though; I don't think it's going to go over well when everyone realizes she's been lying.

Thanks so much for this review. ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by ValWitch21 

18th April 2013:
SARAH WHAT ARE YOU DOING?

HOW COULD YOU?

WHY?

WHAT IS THE POINT OF MAKING US SUFFER SO?

This is your cue to cackle and rub your hands together like a fly. And yes, my comparison makes no sense.

ANYWAY. *rewinds*

Edie and Sealus bromance was adorable, though I wish she wouldn't lie to him.

I'm really happy you included some background info on Edie and her family during the war, because it was something I was really curious about. The way you made her aware of how lucky she was made me smile, because it makes her more accessible than she sometimes is. Also, why am I not surprised Lisa stayed to help?

Oh, Artie -- what was he calling Edie in for originally anyway? Just to carry around tea? He makes me laugh, with his repeated use of exclamation marks. Seriously! This type of phrasing exhausts me just by looking at it! It's just so chirpy and bright!


Obviously, I cannot believe Rose's attitude, and Oliver's even less. And of course we'll have to wait to find out why...

Naw, Edie, that is not a good idea! (I was very happy to see Hypatia back though). Kissing Jae Chang will not solve your problems. (Her reasoning as to why she kissed him makes perfect sense, and I'm happy you included that explanation).

RIGHT. If this review babbles and makes no sense, blame my sleep-deprived brain, and I don't know if I left a review on chapter but if I didn't then I will soon. If I remember.

Sorry for this messy jumble &hearts

Author's Response: Haha, no the fly comparison totally makes sense! I do have an unhealthy obsession with awaiting peoples' reactions every time a ~*~plot twist~*~ happens. Although I wonder if this was even a surprise? Hm... I should have asked that question in the chapter.

YOU DID SAY SEALUS. At first I thought it was a ship name, but I couldn't figure it out. Except now I'm reading it as seal-us. Like the animal... anyway! I've been pretty conflicted about Edie's role in the War, and whether or not I should mention it. I wanted this story to be primarily humour, and it started out that way. But I found out the longer that I wrote, the less realistic things seemed if I didn't throw in a little angst here and there. So I'm trying to navigate between including her past and having this story take a "dark turn." I really want to keep things light, though!

I think Ward was just like EVERYONE GET HERE NOW WE NEED HELP IMMEDIATELY NOW NOW NOW without really thinking. That's something I've experienced from internship advisors; when something goes wrong, get the free labor to help out!

Oh Edie, you impulsive little thing you. Kissing Jae is not the best idea, you're entirely right Val! But she has this nasty little habit of not thinking ahead. (Edie and I may or may not share this affliction...)

Thank you so much for this review! I'll be stalking your author page ;3


 Report Review

Review #14, by Siriusly89 

18th April 2013:
Hello! Yay, new chapterino! :)

Oh how Iíve missed Edie.

The sarcastic salute, I salute Edie for that. Because fit people just get on my nerves, stop jogging and just eat some cake for Godís sake!

Edieís inner dilemma on whether to do her job, and ruin not only Oliverís career, but undoubtedly their relationship, or to just gloss over that, and live in a cardboard box with nothing to eat and no hope of ever finding a job in journalism again, but still have her little romance with Oliver is rather complex, isnít it? Iím not even sure if all that made sense, but it did to me, so anyway.

I personally hope Edie writes her article, because we all know that Oliver will forgive her (cough, he wonít, cough, perfect opportunity to set her up with Dean or Simon! Letís not forget the Simon!)

SEAMUS! Of course Seamus had to turn up in the park, its where all the Seamusí of the world go to socialize, and have awkward encounters with their friends.

AH! SEAMUS IS A DEDIE SHIPPER! And, as we all know, what Seamus says, goes, so they have to get together now. They just have to. YOU GO SEAMUS. I didnít think it was possible, but I love him even more now.

Edie has developed a habit, of well, not lying because that makes her sound all manipulative and evil, but lets just say Ďhiding the truthí when really what she needs to do is confide in her friends, because theyíre going to get really angry when they find out all the stuff sheís been hiding from them (well, Dean will, Seamus will more than likely shrug and go make himself a cheese sandwich.

Oh Seamy, its okay, Iíll move in with you if Edie wonít, Iíll even ignore the spiders (even though I have a deadly fear of them. . . .) but anything for you, Seamy, anything.

I think I have a problem. Iím entirely too obsessed with Seamus. Itís actually a problem.

Now this is just freaky. I have been wondering ever since the last chapter what Edieís roll in the war was, and weíve just learned it now. Awh.I was hoping she would have stayed on and kicked some Death Eater butt, but I do understand that not every student was very keen on the idea of dying. Her mother did the right thing, sometimes when Iím reading DH, I wonder how on earth the parents left their children in Hogwarts, but this just shows that Edieís mother had her priorities straight!

Ah Edie and her apparating around Witch Weekly, even apparating is hilarious with this girl. Ah. . . . . .

HOLD IT! HOLD EVERYTHING!

Oliver is kissing Rose??? Well itís more like Rose kissing Oliver but still! I hate him, I hate her, I hate them both! Edie deserves more than that slime ball, I hope she writes the article and destroys him and runs off into the sunset cackling madly! Grrr... .

Awh, poor Edie. but what on earth is she going to Jae for, when Dean and Simon are both ready and available, that girl, Iíll never understand her.

Although thatís why sheís so endearing, she just mucks up so much its impossible not to love her!

Another wonderful chapterino!

Author's Response: Hey, you snagged the first spot again! Nice ;3

Ugh, yes. Her dilemma is quite complex... sometimes I think almost too much so! I keep trying to simplify things in the plot when I'm writing, but there's so many things going on. So I guess this story is just going to be as chaotic as Edie's life!

I totally thought about you when I was writing Seamus in this chapter :P That bit where he realizes exactly why she's trying to get in shape has been in the plot for a while, but initially it was going to just be mentioned in passing. But I just have too much fun with Seamus! (I totally snorted at the cheese sandwich comment. Because he totally would. But it would be at Edie's flat, when she isn't there, with her bread and cheese.)

Edie's role in the war is actually important to the plot (BECAUSE I CAN'T JUST PICK ONE PLOT TWIST AND STICK WITH IT, GUH.) But it has a lot to do with why she tries to be so politically opinionated and active now.

Hahaha! I totally should have had her go to Simon, I didn't even think about that. Well, Jae is more important to the story, but I can't shake the image of Kate Nash and Simon Pegg--two gingers. Too cute. :P

Thank you so much for this review! It was so entertaining to read! I can't quite get over the cheese sandwich... ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review