Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheEmeraldSnake143 

3rd July 2015:
Hey I have no clue if you even read comments on your old stories anymore. But I thought I'd share with you how much I enjoy your writing style (even if it is morbid). I know that there is still so much of this story left to read, but I am already trying to put together how I think it will end. Also I love how you chose an unconventional character to write from. It's unique and I adore it.- M

Author's Response: Hello! :) I definitely read and appreciate all reviews and comments. Thank you so much for your kind words! It means so much to hear that people are enjoying this story. You're awesome! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16 

1st April 2015:
Hi! I'm here to begin giving you your Hot Seat Reviews! It's been a long time since I first started reading this, but I'm trying to come back to it to finally finish the story.

First off, while I still find it kind of odd that a parent would visit Hogwarts, since it doesn't seem to happen too often in the books, I thought it was really sweet that Tor's father does make an appearance. Especially since she's been worried for his safety for a while now, not knowing if he was dead or alive. You can really tell that they're close and have a very loving relationship. She may dislike Daphne for feeling the need to outshine her, but it seems pretty clear that he still adores Tor anyway and thinks she can do no wrong. Although, obviously, because of this, she questions her feelings about blood status and who's right and who's wrong. She cares about both her father and Terry and doesn't want to disappoint either one.

It was really interesting having her listen in on their conversations and also seeing visions of their past. Is she really seeing them? I'm still not totally sure. I wonder what she will do after hearing the information about the Death Eaters attacking Harry Potter and the Weasley family. Will she inform Ginny that they plan to go after her if they can't get to Harry? Will she do what's right or will she follow what she knows. I'm very unsure about what she will do and what will occur in the Terry/Tor scenes you promise in the next chapter after reading her listen to her father about why he follows Voldemort.

The mouse ending was weird but interesting. I had a feeling it might die when I first read that it was eating something that tasted like sulfur, but the fact that you included it's death was intriguing... like what if it had died when she was still in his mind? What would that be like?

I am very glad I decided to continue reading this. I'm curious to see what happens next. I'm gonna try to get at least two more reviews in but I'm a little pressed for time at the moment (of course that's my fault though for being a terrible procrastinator...). Anyway, great chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #3, by Liana 

11th March 2015:
Now why would you kill off a little mouse? Most times I'm happy being my little peon self. I don't want to be famous. It seems to bring nothing but trouble.

Author's Response: I know! :( I like to put my stories through some sadness (and sometimes feel too sad about animals being hurt). Thanks for reading and reviewing, you're great! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Aayo88 

1st March 2015:
I don't typically review and I also don't typically read stories with purely OC leads but I must say I'm really enjoying this story thus far. I hope that Tor finds a way to give Ginny some warning about the attack. I am also actually really liking the fact that though the "golden trio" is present in your story it is merely in the fringes.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, thank you! This review really means a lot to me, and I'm so glad that you like the story especially since it's out of your typical reading choices. I really like writing the scenes that involve the Trio, but it's even more fun to build Tor's story around in parallel to them.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by heronduck 

7th January 2015:
I can't tell you how much it hurts reading about Amelia and Orpheus. Can you please write some kind of one shot of them? I'd love to read about their love during their Hogwarts days before... The Fallout. You're a brilliant writer and this is probably one of my favourite stories on here! Its a great deviation from the usual cliche humour ones I love reading.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, that's an amazing idea! It has sort of crossed my mind before because I love Orpheus and Amelia's backstory, but I just might have to make that happen sometime. :)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, you are so kind!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Alida 

30th November 2014:
This story is so creative and well-written! I'm enjoying it so much:)

Author's Response: Hi Alida! :) Thanks so much for the lovely review, I'm so glad you're enjoying it! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Raven 

15th November 2014:
You are amazing! I love this story so much and i love terry and astoria's relationship

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you!!! ♥ That really means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jess the Enthusiast 

23rd September 2014:
Really great chapter! I love the relationship between Tor and her father; I often find, when reading fics, that the Death Eater father is usually demeaning and abusive in some way or another. That usually bothers me because it suggests that prejudice people are inherently evil in all ways, whereas, in real life, you meet a really kind and seemingly good person who is bigoted. It's just something that I think adds a nice touch of realism to your story, as well as moral ambiguity, which I really enjoy.

I found your brief insight into Snape's mind to be very interesting. I've always wondered about his Slytherin friends, because, in the books, Sirius names Snape's gang of wannabe Death Eaters, but none of them come to his defense when the Marauders humiliate him after the DADA O.W.L. Lily, before their fallout, refers to the group as Snape's friends and he doesn't deny it, even condones their prejudice behavior. And he enters Hogwarts knowing a lot of dark magic and with some inkling of prejudices (exemplified by his behavior towards Petunia), but I often wonder how accepted he was among these boys. He was part of their group, but did they make fun of him? Did they respect him? Did they see him as a valuable member of their group? I really liked your take on the matter :)

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey again!!

I'm so pleased you like their relationship, and I definitely agree. But if Tor's father was awful, then she wouldn't be so loyal to him and loving for her family. And of course you're right, being prejudiced doesn't automatically make somebody a bad person and people can change and grow. I'm really glad you think it brings realism and confuses about which side Tor should take, and her love for her family and the naturalization of those morals is something she struggles without throughout.

That's a very good point! I imagine him as a bit of a loner until he started to show he could be more powerful. It's quite odd. Maybe they weren't necessarily around for that incident, or wanted to preserve their own dignity and see if Snape could get out of it on his own? I'm glad you liked my interpretation of it here! :D

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 

9th September 2014:
Great chapter again! Good job on the conversation between Snape and Yaxley.

Author's Response: Hi!! Thanks, I'm pleased you liked the conversation! It's quite interesting for me to tie in Yaxley and the other Death Eaters, though writing Snape really intimidates me. Thanks so much for a great review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore 

16th July 2013:
Hello my dear!

You're really making it so hard for me to form a solid opinion on these characters - I feel like they change constantly from chapter to chapter, depending on what they do and the way they treat Tor and others. Tor's the only one I have a concrete like of, even if she does do silly things sometimes (oh, and Terry. I can't forget Terry!)

It's so interesting to see your portrayal of Yaxley in this story. He does seem to be quite one-dimensional in the books, but here we can see him as a loving and devoted father, someone I truly believe would do anything to save his daughters - although I'm unsure whether he'd remain as protective of them if they did something to betray his beliefs. But since he is a good father, I can see Tor's dilemma even more; she's starting to question what she's always been told, but with the reintroduction of her father, how can something she's been told by someone so wonderful be wrong?

I liked Tor's brief flash of jealousy when she saw Terry sitting with the 'Leanne girl'. It's very realistic! I also liked her thinking, for a moment, what her life would be like if she could actually introduce Terry to her father. I feel so sorry for anyone in this sort of situation - in fact, anyone who had to grow up through this war!

Daphne's one of those characters I'm unsure about as well - she seems quite sweet at times, but she takes the sibling rivalry far too seriously at times. Then again, I think you portray their relationship very well.

The end section was brilliant! I'm always in awe of Tor's abilities, and using the mouse to listen in on the conversation was a great idea. You handled the changes in time very skilfully, but what strikes me most is what she heard. The Death Eaters are going to attack the Burrow? I know that the plan has to fail, but I'm still interested to see what Tor will do with the knowledge, now that she and Ginny have formed a strange sort of friendship. I hope she tells her, because it's the right thing to do, but that could also put her at risk of exposure amongst the Death Eater ranks...

Great chapter!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Look at you, just spoiling me with reviews! I hope you know how much I appreciate getting your feedback on each chapter, and such thoughtful and kind words as well! :)

I'm glad you find the characters diverse and always changing, I enjoy writing them- both the good and the bad. I actually really like Tor personally, even though, as you said, she makes a lot of mistakes she's such a great character to write. And yes, Terry is of course also great!

I'm glad you find Yaxley interesting as I really enjoy coming up with his character and the dyanamics in his relationship with Tor. I know, he is very dedicated to his family yet also to the DEs, and when those interests start to oppose each other he will certainly be in a conundrum. You have Tor's confusion exactly right, she adores her father but also has these changing opinions, and it is both challenging and interesting to imagine her in this situation

Haha, I'm glad you appreciated Tor's jealousy, I thought it was a very typical moment for a teenage girl. I feel sorry for everyone too, especially since there's no end in sight really at this point.

It's great to hear you're enjoying Daphne even if she is quite a brat at times, though to be fair she probably thinks the same thing about Tor.

I'm very pleased as well that you liked the ending section, especially since it was a spontaneous addition to the chapter which just sort of came to me. I'm glad you liked the revelations and the changes in time as well, and yes it does put Tor in a very uncomfortable position.

Thank you for another thoughtful and wonderful review hun! :) It was a pleasure to receive, and again I'm so sorry for taking long in responding to your amazing reviews!


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauder5 

17th April 2013:
This chapter was just as brilliant as I had expected! You probably already are, but just in case you're not I'll tell you that you should be so, so proud of this story! To be honest, I think it's my favorite story on this site :)

It was so nice (and a bit confusing, as I've always only seen him as evil) too see Yaxley portrayed as a loving and devoted father. Tor seems to admire him so much, and I actually think it's sweet. But at the same time, I think it's sad, because it's because of him that she has all those prejudices etc.

I also really liked to see Tor picturing, just for a moment, what her life would be like if her Dad hadn't been a Death Eater - how she would be able to introduce Terry to him. It was a very cute moment.

I couldn't believe it when Tor asked Yaxley about it! But I guess she is changing in a way. She's starting to doubt the whole thing.

The second part of this chapter had many different objectives, it jumped between past and present, and that's quite a challenge for an author. However, I think that you've handled it really well! It was not even the slightest bit confusing, which is quite an accomplishment. So congratulations on that ;)

Tor listening in on her father and Snape through the eyes of the mouse was very clever of you! That whole scene was great, and I think that you ended the chapter perfectly with the mouse dying (even though it was, as you put it, rather morbid. It was still the perfect ending to this chapter.

The story just keeps getting better. Hmm, they'll try to attack the Burrow? Considering the fact that you try to stay true to the books, I assume the attack will not be successful. I do hope Voldemort won't punish Yaxley by doing something to Tor and Daphne, but maybe he will. It sounds like something he would do...

I can't wait to read the next chapter! It always makes me so happy when I see that you've added a new one :)

Author's Response: Oh yay!! Thank you so much, I'm really glad you liked the chapter. I felt like it was a bit out of my normal chapter structure because it was all from one day, but I put in some switching perspectives to make myself feel better :P

Yaxley is really growing on me as a diverse character, I think that he's both selfish and loving but also committed to these values. However, I think that he's one of the Death Eaters who is in it for power, not necessarily because he cares about right and wrong, and Tor is starting to realize that.

I'm glad you thought I handled the perspective jumping well! I wanted to show how Snape might still hold some resentments towards Yaxley and the others-he is very stuck in the past when it comes to Lily and the Marauders after all.

Also, good to hear that you liked the scene with the mouse-Tor exercising her Legilimency powers. Good that you liked the ending as well, it was morbid but morbid is very fun to write!!

I have like four chapters already written and waiting to be published: the Christmas holidays for the Slytherins prove to be very eventful :P Thank you so much for the amazing review! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review