Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by merlins beard 

27th April 2015:
sooo...

You do have a knack for bringing in the right person at the right moment... i never would have thought of Amos Diggory.

Harry saves the Weasley property, and he does so very elegantly. I'm proud of him.

I'm also a little proud of Ron, who seems to have a pretty awesome right hook.

Rita Skeeter -another character i have all but forgotten about entering the stoey at the perfect moment. I'm glad Harry told her to shove off. She finally needs to learn her lesson.

Aunt Muriel and Fred always did get on so well -let's make her keep him company... -sound like a good idea to you?

I mean he's injured, he can't see and he escaped death by less than an inch, do we have to torture him?

I'm glad crookshanks is still alive and back.

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #2, by santosh 

13th October 2013:
please write some more i love this story

Author's Response: I plan to. Might be a while, as I'm trying to fix a few plot holes, but it will be finished.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #3, by musingmarauder 

28th September 2013:
Really enjoying this so far. I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad to have people reading it again! There will be more but it will probably be a few months. Real life is very busy at the moment.

 Report Review

Review #4, by santosh 

23rd August 2013:
It is very good I like the story so far!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope to have more to put up soon.

 Report Review

Review #5, by talltwin18 

28th July 2013:
Great c hapter! I've been so anxious for a new chapter after how you left the last one :D Thank you for making Fred ok! And i just love how mature you write all the 'teenagers'- its brilliant to see. Keep writing
:)

Author's Response: Thank you! And I'm glad you like the way I'm writing the characters! They are really fun to explore. Fred is getting better - and hopefully will keep doing it. I will try to write more soon.

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cat 

17th April 2013:
I've been dutifully checking to see if 'Healing' has been updated so I was very excited to see chapter 11!! Once again a very enjoyable read, I look forward to the next instalment. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you! And sorry it too me so long to both update, and then respond to your wonderful review. I'm working on the next chapter and hope to have it up soon.

Thanks for sticking with me!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ShePotter 

13th April 2013:
Glad your back. I love Fred, I wish he had lived in the books. Also, Ron is really smart & brave! I hope he realizes it soon. Please let Hermione be ok. We need her & Ron home soon so the entire family can heal.
Hope your back to stay for awhile. Please update soon, if possible. Thanks for writing such a good story.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's nice to be back. I'm still slow, but hopefully not as slow as before. I'm working on the next chapter and hope to be ready to post soon.

Ron is smart and brave. I love Ron, and hopefully he will notice it soon. Hermione will help him see that.

Thanks for reading! Keep checking for updates.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Miranda Jones 

12th April 2013:
You are such a wonderful writer. Please update soon.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you! What a nice thing to say! I hope to update in the next little while. Working on the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Aurorofthelight 

8th April 2013:
The bells are pealing and the crowds have taken to the streets in joyous celebration of the return of the Great Ones, 1917farmgirl and her big brother Eldy, to the land of the literary living!!! Splendid to see a new chapter from the dynamic duo of fanfiction(Batman and Robin have nothing on you guys)! I was overjoyed to see this offering from you guys as I really have missed your stuff--my reviewers quill was also getting alittle rusty! My lady was even happier that I was -- I won't comment other than to say I'm really sore and still recuperating from the after affects of reading this chapter with her(yes, I'm smirking)! This chapter was brilliant as usual(Sharkespeare would be envious) and I especially enjoyed Harry's little deed scheme - not only sneaky but down right brilliant! The only thing that would have made the robbery scene even better is if it had been a couple of deathmunchers Ron took out! I almost fell out of my chair laughing at that little gem of a scene with Fred and Aunt Murial--poor Fred--I bet he'd rather lead a herd of Acromantulas in a Conga line than endure a day of storytime with Muriel! Great to see you guys back!!! Hope it won't be long until I see some more of your genius flowing from your inkwells! :):):):):):):):):):):):)

Author's Response: Auror - your reviews are always one of a kind! They make me blush, and smile, and feel just a little bit like royalty. THANK YOU!

Thank you for your patience with my SLOW writing. I really, really hope it won't be as long between chapters this time. I'm trying so hard to finish up my stories.

Eldy is amazing, isn't he. I just could not get through that first bit with Arthur selling the land and make it sound good, and he totally came to my rescue. (Some of the best lines in the other parts were completely his as well. He has a wicked way with a one-liner!)

Glad you approved of Ron getting the thugs. And Harry dealing with Rita. If Auntie Muriel and Fred gave you a laugh then that part worked as well!

Thanks again! Your reviews are always so much fun! Take care!
- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #10, by CambAngst 

7th April 2013:
Hi, there!

Like I said, I've been looking forward to this chapter for a really long time. You are an amazing storyteller. You have quite the knack for making these characters feel like the characters I loved in the books. You also do a great job of building a strong emotional connection between reader and character. I feel for them, deeply and genuinely. I root for them. I hate it when they struggle and I breathe a little easier when everything turns out alright. That's one of the marks of a good writer.

Also, you've chosen to right one of the most egregious wrongs committed by JKR, the death of Fred. It wasn't a hard choice, per se. Anyone could make it. But you've taken it and made something special out of it. You didn't just have him jump up off the ground and turn right back into his old self again. It's been difficult, painful, expensive and it's put a big strain on the family. And in doing so, you've brought the entire Weasley family plus Harry back together stronger than ever. I love that about this story.

I thought you did a fantastic job pacing the first section where Arthur signs the papers to sell the paddock. It was full of tension and regret, and you really took your time developing those things. I felt so bad for Arthur that I wanted to jump in and buy it for him. Then you began to hint -- very gradually -- that something wasn't quite right with this simple transaction. Something was very odd. And little by little, you brought the sun back out in the midst of the gloom. It was heart-warming.

Ah, Rita Skeeter. I suppose Harry could have fed her a blasting curse, but short of that I don't think I could have asked for much more than the way that you actually ended their encounter. She is truly loathsome.

So here is Exhibit A in the case that you need to update waayyy more often: I had to backtrack a few chapters to remind myself that Ron and Hermione were off in Australia, looking for her parents. You did an awesome job with him in this chapter, though. I loved the way that he didn't think so much as he just reacted. And I especially liked the way that he couldn't figure out why everyone was making such a big deal about what he did. There are definite side effects to spending a year on the run from vicious, evil dark wizards.

Lastly, we come to poor Fred being trapped in a hospital room with Aunt Muriel. And here he probably thought he'd already paid a very high price for cheating death. It was nice to see Crookshanks back. For me, that's actually one thing I pay attention to in all post-war fan fics. Did the author remember Crookshanks? It's a mark of thoroughness, since JKR more or less let the poor guy fall off the radar there at the end.

I really, really hope that this chapter marks the start of a new era of frequent updates for you and this story. Please tell Eldy that whatever part of this he wrote, I thought it was fantastically well done. Because the whole chapter was fantastically well done. Everything flowed really well and I didn't see a single typo or grammatical error. When I read it, it felt shorter than it really was. I'll be keeping an eye out for the next one!

Author's Response: Wow! What a review! I think my head might swell from all the nice things you just said about me and my story! Thank you!

And I am so so so so so sorry you've had to wait this long for an update. Everytime I thought I was getting on top of real life, it jumped me again. Keep your fingers crossed that this time I can keep real life in check and manage to update faster! This whole story is outlined, it's just finding the time to write it and keeping the muse around so it actually sounds good.

Your kind words about my writing make me blush. Thank you so much. I'm not sure I'm as good as you make me out to sound, but I like writing, and I feel like I am emotionally connected to the characters I'm writing, so maybe that slips across into the writing somehow.

Oh Fred. I have never forgiven JKR for that. I knew I'd have to find a way around it in a story sometime. (Either that or ignore it completely.) I'm just lucky this way seems to be working out. That said, I'm not a big fan of "quick fixes." Life just doesn't work that way. So, I'm probalby dragging it out a bit for poor Fred, but that's the only way I could think of to make it realistic.

That part with the selling of the paddock had A LOT of help from Eldy. I was totally stuck and he stepped in and wrote some of it for me, getting the juices flowing. (He gave me some of the best one-liners for other parts of this chapter as well, so I really must give him a huge shout out.)

I'm not sure where Rita came from. I hadn't planned to have her in this fic, but she just sorta barged in. (Her style, I guess.) Was a fun moment to write, however. She really is nasty, isn't she.

Again, so sorry about being so slow! Did you at least enjoy the backtracking? And I love Ron, so I had fun letting him be the hero for once, and just reacting to something instead of waiting for Harry and Hermione. You are right - there are a few perks to be had for saving the world.

Auntie Muriel. Hehehehe. That part was fun. And we probably shouldn't feel TOO bad for Fred. I'm sure he's done enough stuff over the years to more than deserve this little story fest.

As for Crookshanks - I usually get bogged down in little details. I'm always worrying that I've missed something. I just felt like I needed to show that Crookshanks hadn't been forgotten and was still running around. (I worry about people's pets! Making sure Dorothy kept track of Toto in the Wizard of Oz used to freak me out, LOL.)

I promise to try and update much sooner this time. You know I'm not the twice a week kinda writer, but I will make sure it's not a year again before there's more. Thanks again for such a wonderful review!



 Report Review

Review #11, by theelderwand 

7th April 2013:
Farmgirl!!!

Shock! Chest pains!!! Heartattack!!! You updated. [Trumpets blairing]

This chapter is EXCELLENT. You haven't missed a beat and are most definitely still on your game.

Favorite parts: Harry buying and giving back the property. That was PERFECT. Just so absolutely Harry - spot on.

Rita Skeeter? Calendar? Where did this come from? Brilliant. Can't wait to see where you take this. Really wish he would've hexed her to Hampshire, but his "Shove off!" was pretty darn good too.

Ron taking out the Muggles was genius - Score one for Ron the Great! Only proper after you put him in that horrid purple cow costume - I can now forgive you for that. ;)

Auntie Muriel?? The Morally Magical Life? Oh, sweet merlin, how cruel you are. And to your favorite character? evil Farmgirl. But brilliant just the same. And we got to see the return of Crookshanks! Brilliant. I'd completely forgotten about him. Even left him out of my own fic. Nice how you outlined that he'd ended up with Muriel during the war. That was a great touch. Now, you know George is going to have a "menagerie" comment or two when he next comes to visit and finds not just Gus the Fox, but Crookshanks the Kneazle. I suppose if Buckbeak shows up next chapter and maybe Norbert we'll be all set! Kidding aside, I really really liked this flourish.

Great work and really glad your back at it.

Eldy

P.S. The co-author credit is a bit of a stretch, but I do appreciate the compliment.

Author's Response: Oh crap, did I just kill my big brother! Someone call the ambulance! Prepare the paddles... CLEAR!!

In all actuality, I probably deserved that. I am the world's SLOWEST updater - ever.

But, thanks so much for stepping back up to the plate and betaing at a moment's notice!

(Oh, and just so you know, the Nargles are trying to get me back big time for the lack of updates. It took me 5 tries and restarting my computer twice to get this response posted!)

Anyway, I'm SO glad you liked the chapter. I was really worried that after all this time it would be wooden or just not right. Makes me feel so much better when you read things like say they are okay.

Where did Rita come from? I honestly don't know. I had no plans to write her, but she just kinda butted her way into the story. I guess I just needed something to show Harry getting more and more frustrated with the pressure and stress around him and Rita worked. Not sure I'll take it too much farther, but it was fun to write!

So glad to know I'm forgiven for the purple cow! I know how seriously you defend Ron! (You do know I like him too, right?)

And yes, I am Evil Farmgirl, picking on poor Fred like that. But it was too much fun to resist. Besides, I'm sure over the years, Fred has done something to Muriel to at least sort of deserve this afternoon of storyreading.

Hmmm.I hadn't planned on Crookshankes staying with Fred long enough for him to get a menagerie...but that would be funny. Will ponder that. And probably no to Buckbeak...he's a little larger and harder to sneak around. hehehehe.

Thanks so much! And you of course deserve the co-author credit. That first section was a least half you, straightening out my legal-esse. And most of the best one-liners were yours too. Just take the credit and smile.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review