Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Liana 

10th March 2015:
I thought the lecture was good. I liked that Charity compared the Nazis and purebloods. I think that has to be covered in a Muggle Studies course. Although the group that really needs to be there is the Slytherins.

Author's Response: I agree! It seems like it would be something very relevant to bring up in the climate of Voldemort rising again. It's too bad that Muggle studies wasn't mandatory. I'd like to imagine that in future generations of HP it might be.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Raven 

15th November 2014:
Oh, what's going to happen if Terry sees Tor's dad?!

Author's Response: Definitely some bad things coming from that tension. :P Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Becky Johnson 

5th November 2014:
The color on this chapter is so dark I am having trouble reading it. I think I'll just have to skip it. The background is very green and the letters are like a light gray. Can't differntiate too well. I may try to copy and paste to a Word Doc . maybe. We'll see. The story is still good.

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

You're right, that is so strange! I'm resubmitting it for editing and hopefully that will deal with the weird colour issue, thanks for pointing it out. :) I'm so glad you're enjoying the story! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jess the Enthusiast 

23rd September 2014:
Okay so Terry is obviously a Ravenclaw for a reason; bringing Tor into the Muggle Studies class while they were learning about WWII was BRILLIANT, and while Tor hasn't been completely convinced, it's definitely giving her something to think about. And I think that's great! Hopefully she can be completely persuaded soon because otherwise I don't think this relationship will last in the long term. Although I know it's going to be hard with all of her outside influences.

Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hey!! Haha, I love how you can see how well Terry fits into Ravenclaw. He's quite cunning and clever, and he's good at seeing a bigger picture when other people couldn't.

I think if at this point Terry just shoved all these ideas and opinions at Tor, she would balk and run away. But by showing her ways of learning more perspectives and opening her mind, she's able to come to conclusions for herself. You're definitely right, Terry would not stand by and be with a prejudiced girl if he didn't see some good coming out of her.

Thanks so much for another great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy1993 

8th September 2014:
Amazing chapter! I loved the Muggle Studies class. I was surprised to see Tor's father turning up at Hogwarts. Can't really imagine why he would be there...

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ahh, I'm really glad you liked the class! I worry now that it might be a little too obvious with the comparisons but sometimes that's what Tor needs. It was fun to write especially since I love the character of the professor.

Yaxley is quite good at turning up unexpectedly, hehe.

Thanks so much for coming by! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16 

26th October 2013:
Whaaattt?

Ok, I know I haven't been able to catch up with this story lately, but I'm glad I decided to check out another chapter today. I thought this chapter was really interesting. I liked the bit about World War II and the Holocaust, and I think it was good for Tor to learn about. And she does prove a point, she was taught to hate and you can't totally blame her for that when that's all she knows. But she can learn to be better, and I think she's headed in that direction.

Her dad shows up at school, though!? What? That seems very unusual. Especially for him to show up in front of all the other students. Hmm... I wanna read on though and find out what happens so I'm going to end this here now.

Great chapter!

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Hi! So lovely of you to drop by and leave a review! :)

I'm glad you thought it was interesting! I'd been reflecting a lot on a fascism course I took at the time of writing and it really inspired a lot of this chapter. Muggle studies seemed like a reasonable framework and safe space for Tor to learn about these things. I'm glad you think she has a point, and that you think she's showing some self-recognition and beginning to evolve. :)

Yes, things were getting a little dull, so I thought it was time to properly meet Yaxley. :) Remember, he is an undercover DE and works for the Ministry, so he enjoys relative freedom to named criminals like Lucius and co.

Thank you so much for this unexpected and awesome review! I really appreciate it. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodore 

16th July 2013:
Hi again!

Urgh, I don't like Tor's dormmates at all! Demetria seemed horrible at the beginning of this chapter, and she fits well with Griz - they're the sort of stereotypical Slytherins who give the house a bad name (although to be honest, at this point, most of the house are doing a good job of that!)

Rice Kelpies was a good addition to the story, though! :P

Wow, that history lesson was so powerful! What a first Muggle Studies lesson for Tor to have! I'm so pleased that she went though, and the lesson was so appropriate for her at this point. I love the way that, thinking about it in this way, her views are a (if possible, when thinking about Muggles) a lot less prejudiced than in terms of her own world and what she's been brought up to believe in. It's such a good parallel to draw with what is happening - or beginning to, at least - in the wizarding world. Referencing something like WW2 really brings home the magnitude and complete injustice of what the Death Eaters are proposing, and it seems so bizarre for someone to know nothing about it, since it is such a big part of our history. I thought you did a great job of writing a lesson about it as a subject that most people would know very little about.

I'm so happy that Tor went to that lesson, I can't even tell you. Anything that can open her mind and make her views less prejudiced is good in my books!

Theo is another of those characters I can't make up my mind about. I feel like Tor's view of him is rather coloured and biased from the way she feels about him, although it is nice to see a different side to him than the way he's viewed from Harry's eyes. I love Tor and Terry together, but a part of me thinks that things would be much easier for her if she could be with Theo instead. Then again, it's hard to decide, since I get the feeling that Theo will end up joining the Death Eaters, rather like Malfoy... would it be better for her to stay on the side of her family and friends and not lose so many people, or would it be better for her to lose her prejudices? It's so difficult!

The ending to this chapter was great - it's not exactly a cliffhanger, but I really want to read on and find out what happens next, and where her father has been and what he's been up to!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, I know, they really are awful and live up to the traditional Slytherin persona. But I'm glad you liked the Rice Kelpies, I thought they sounded pretty yummy. :P

I'm really glad you enjoyed the history lesson in Muggle Studies and thought it effective in reflecting Tor's situation. I thought it would be so interesting how wizards learn about Muggle history and issues and how someone like Tor might react since she grew up so sheltered.

I'm glad she went too! :D I knew she would though, and while Terry and her feelings for him are a good catalyst to change, it isn't enough. She needs to begin to see the horror of it herself.

I agree, Theo is quite complex. I'm glad you've noticed how bias and rose-coloured Tor's view of him is, but I'm glad he seems a little more rounded than what Harry thought of him. You're probably right, things would be easier for Tor to be with Theo, yet she would probably be and act like a very different person.

I'm so pleased you liked this chapter, and the ending as well. Thank you so much for all these incredible reviews, and I'm so sorry for taking a while to respond. You're the best! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan 

23rd June 2013:
Rice Kelpies, hehe. Love it.

I didn't think Hermione was still in Muggle Studies during HBP, I thought she dropped the class after PoA because she was sick of time-turning to all her classes. But now that I think about it, I don't know if it was ever made clear in the books. I also found it funny when Terry, who spends his time holed up in a room with books, called Ernie Macmillan a geek, haha.

I think it was good that Tor was exposed to the darker side of Muggle history, especially because the Second World War compares so strongly with the Wizarding war. (Interesting coincidence isn't it, that WWII as an abbreviation could either stand for world war II OR wizarding war II.)

I found it a bit odd that Michael Corner was asking what the Jews did to make them deserve the Holocaust. After all, Anthony Goldstein is a Ravenclaw in the same year - based on his last name I always assumed he was Jewish, although we don't really know his family background. But anyway he'd likely be friends with Michael Corner, who therefore probably wouldn't ask a question like that. I don't know, it just seemed a bit off to me.

I really like Theo! He's very sweet to Tor and seems like a good friend. Which is such an interesting contrast to how Harry sees him in the books, as a surly and seedy Death Eater wannabe.

I think the return of Tor's father may actually spur her to change even more. A lot of times our memory of things gets clouded by time and you just remember the good, so Tor sees her father in this idealised light, but now that he's back she might realise things she never noticed about him that she dislikes, based on her newfound world view.

(The only criticism I have on this chapter is that the spacing between paragraphs is rather odd, so you might want to fix that to make it a bit less spaced out.)

Great job! :)

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Haha they sound pretty yummy, right?

I think you're right now I think of it, but it works for the story if Hermione is there, hmm, maybe she sits in on classes for fun? That is the kind of thing Hermione would do, anyway! :) And yes, silly Terry!

I'm glad you liked Tor's little history lesson, and I thought WWII and WWII (haha) do compare quite clearly and could help someone like Tor see the war in a different light. That is a good point about Michael's comment, I guess I saw it more as an outraged, confused kind of question, as if he was trying to make sense of something that can't be explained? That's a good point about Anthony being Jewish too, I'll keep that in mind! :)

Aw, I'm glad you're liking Theo! He definitely has his darker side, but has a soft spot for Tor since they've been friends for so long.

Interesting predictions about Tor's father's return, and yes her views are definitely clouded and blinded when it comes to her idea of him. I really like what you said about it being "idealized," because that's exactly how I think of her opinion of him. He does have his good, ordinary father qualities as well! :)

Thank you so much for another great review, I really appreciate it and I'm glad you're liking the story! :D





 Report Review

Review #9, by ronweasleyisedsheeran 

9th April 2013:
Ahh this is amazing! Pahaha update soon I NEED to know what happens next!;)

Author's Response: Haha why thank you!!! Glad you're enjoying the story, the next chapter is in the queue :) Thanks for reviewing!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by marauder5 

9th April 2013:
Thank you for writing another great chapter! :) I really loved it, and it leaves me craving for more, which I guess is a good thing!

I love how Terry is trying so hard to get Tor to understand how wrong the Death Eaters really are. Discussing WW2 and the Holocaust must have been quite a wake up call, because it shows just what might happen when prejudices get out of hand, and what Voldemort might end up doing to the Muggles and Muggleborns. I always thought that Voldemort was somewhat inspired by Hitler.

Of course, Tor has been raised to believe that Muggles really are worth less than wizards, but no one can go untouched after hearing about the horrible things they did to the Jews. So it seems believable that she would start to doubt her beliefs, but I also felt like she should have tried a little bit harder to hold onto them. After all, they are imprinted into her body, her father has been brainwashing her for as long as she has lived. So I don't see her coming around just yet, but that's just me!

And Theo. I'm so torn - one part of me loves Tor and Terry together, but the other part just wants her to ditch him and finally get together with Theo! He's just so sweet, I love the fact that he saved her from Goyle. Perfect :)

And her dad is back!!! So, my guesses are that he will make her forget all about the Holocaust for a while. He'll point her in the same direction he always has, and she'll go back to her normal self. But I hope that she'll come around eventually...

That ending just makes me want to read the next chapter right away, but I'll try to be patient. I think you already know this, but I'll tell you again: you are an amazing author and I LOVE this story :)

Author's Response: Well, thank you for reading this chapter and for leaving another amazing review!!! :D

I think that Hitler and Voldemort are parallels, so it was interesting to imagine how someone who has been raised to believe in Voldemort's cause would react to learning about Hitler.

Poor Tor: she must be very confused! I think that being around someone like Terry would be a very good influence, although of course it's impossible to erase or eradicate a lifetime's worth of prejudice. Our Tor is a clever one, though, and will hopefully be an exception!!! :P

Ahh, that's interesting that there's a part of you that likes Theo and Tor together!!! We'll just have to see what happens, I suppose!! Hehe. I'm definitely still shipping Terry/Tor, at least for the present...

Interesting guesses, :). The next chapter is in the queue, so maybe you'll find out soon. Thank you so much again for reviewing, it's so lovely to log on and see new reviews, especially ones which are so thoughtful and constructive, I really love it!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by AHeat 

8th April 2013:
I liked it. I am a little confused about why the Muggle Studies class went from learning about tricycles to WW2, but I got over it once you actually started discussing the War from a wizard's perspective.
I especially liked Tor's line about what the Germans learned in their own classrooms at the time... I think this is an important part of history that people often overlook. People always ask about how an entire nation of people could let Hitler come to power, but when everyone in your life is telling you that what he says is right, I can imagine it would be hard to think otherwise.
Comparing that situation to Tor's is a great idea... it's different to think about what it was like for those who grew up in Death Eater homes. I suppose it would be something like growing up in a Nazi home.
Great chapter, can't wait for more! And I'm really intrigued as to why Yaxley's there...

Author's Response: Yay, I'm so glad you liked this chapter!! I was worried readers might find it a little boring but I really enjoyed writing it as I find both how much wizards know about Muggle issues and how Tor would react to learning about the Holocaust very interesting.

I'm glad that you liked Tor's line about what German children would have been taught-I had wondered about it myself so Tor, who has been brought up in a prejudiced household, is a great mouthpiece for these issues. I've enjoyed playing around with the definitions of good and evil for this entire story, so it's good to hear that it's coming across alright!! :)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!! Your reviews make me very happy, haha :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review