Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Ignite, Chapter 22: Hot Issue
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roisin 

19th March 2015:
I don't know how many times I can do this, but... ĎYouíre really stretching sentence construction to shoehorn that one in'--BAH. That bit works double duty, because it's super funny, but there's a kind of penance in responding with humor rather than anger.

There was a lot going on in his sentence about her just trying to make herself feel less bad, and him proving himself as not a good guy. At once, you have kind of Slitheriney subtlety for recognizing the motivations within actions, and then also his self-loathing streak. Nicely done.

Also 'are you dead' is very clever--I'd guessed 'are you lying,' but yours is better.

Hm, the point about "James II being like how Harry could have been/like James I" is an interesting one, because it's kind of meta (the general predictions about James II). But as mentioned in this story, Albus seems to resemble Harry more--but not necessarily Harry if he hadn't been an Orphan Chosen One. I suppose, best said, you really wrote Albus as Harry's /son/ rather than as a carbon copy of some ancestor.

THE PLACE WHERE HARRY DIED AND ABANDONED THE RESURRECTION STONE!!1!1! I ALWAYS thought it was foolish to leave it lying around! Man, you are SO clever!

Oh man, the concepts of the magic here are SO interesting. Gah! I love!

And Scorpius is doing a radio show! Brilliant!

Must. Click. Next. Chapter. Even. Though. Have. Essay.

Author's Response: Yeah, Rose is eating humble pie, but Scorpius is baking her one DAMN BIG PIE. Especially as he's twisting it all around with his low self-esteem... it's a mess.

I think that scene of Al and Rose and discussing his father is me doing a slightly-meta analysis of Albus. It was probably not needed, but again, I was still trying to dig into fully grasping what makes him tick. Trying to avoid the usual clichés for Albus Potter while still remaining honest to the breadcrumbs left by canon (as the clichés exist for a reason, often logical extrapolation) did make it tough.

I take quite a few liberties with magic in the series, though mostly because the series moves beyond topics covered by canon. I do -try- to keep it with what we know from canon as the basis, so this opportunity was absolutely one I couldn't pass up.

Radio Malfoy, one of the earliest ideas I had for this entire story. :D 'There will be a plague. There will be a quarantine. ...Scorpius will run a radio show!'

Apparently I keep distracting from work... not even sorry. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriuslover177 

20th June 2014:
I am glad that Scorp is helping all these people. He is changing peoples lives. I hope he is doing better. Happier with himself. And maybe making friends, or at least talking to people, other than being a loner.

I find it strange that Al and Rose didnt have any idea of this happening. I mean, wow...

I am glad Al and Rose are getting along better now, and have everything settled. So maybe now they can both talk to Scorp? It just seems like they really need to forgive everyone. And Rose needs to break up with Flynn.

Now, this whole dark death magic stuff is crazy! I hope that they all figure this out soon. It is crazy how all of this is turining out to be.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: It's good work for him to do, and it helps a lot of people, and it gives him some purpose. And yes, he kept it secret from his friends because, well, this is the kind of thing he does!

There's a lot of badness wrapped up in the creation of Phlegethon. A lot of secrets, but a lot of pretty evil magics.


 Report Review

Review #3, by LightLeviosa5443 

21st November 2013:
Awe, I'm glad people are seeing how helpful and nice he is. I mean, yeah, Selena gave him the idea of reading the letters, but he really didn't have to take it to the extent of which he did, and do it every day, and a radio show!

I wonder how they're going to solve the problem of the ressurection stone.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Scorpius is going thoroughly introspective but he sometimes has qualities which shine through even in his sulk. Selena mostly wanted him to go away and not bother her - but his compassion rears its head, and the results are impressive!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell 

23rd October 2013:
At every turn something new to just bowl me over! The curse is tapping into the power of the Resurrection Stone and the site where Harryís Horcrux was destroyed? Thatís BRILLIANT! Donít know how you came up with that, but I like it a lot.

...I mean, as an idea behind your fic. Not, like, Iím a big fan of the root of the plague torturing your characters. I mean, outside of it being a really solid story premise.

Anyway, Scorpiusí radio show? What a good idea! And it sounds right up his alley. Glad to see him finding something he can do all his own, that he wasnít just directed to do. Maybe thatíll help him out, a bit, as well.

Loving this fic. Thanks so much for writing it.

--Penny

Author's Response: Once I had the principle of the illness basically being about necromancy and death magic, the rest of the ideas kept coming - the Resurrection Stone, Horcruxes, Inferi. Which was very satisfying. There was a lot already in-setting for me to play around with and expand upon. Only a shame the Philosopher's Stone was dealt with!

 Report Review

Review #5, by water_lily43175 

1st May 2013:
I love the way Rose finds out that Scorpius is doing the post. Not just that she doesn't find out from him, but the fact that Hugo nonchalantly mentions him, assuming she already knew. And thus her guilt at not already knowing. Bless her. But it's about time she gave him more credit.

Although the way he's talking to her right now, he doesn't really deserve that credit. Come on, Scorp; it's one step forward, two steps back right now!

Love the door's question. Reminds me in a sense of something I have planned for Derailed. It's not entirely related, but it's a similar thing.

It's about time Al and Rose had a nice chat. Interesting that he DID know about Scorp and the letters, and chose to keep away. It seems a very Albus thing to do. And you know what? Funnily enough, I absolutely adore Al as well. He's such a lovely, gentle soul, he really does compliment the utterly mad, boisterous Scorpius. And while Scorp needs Al to keep him in check, I think Al needs Scorp to keep his spirits up, and that's partly why he seems SO weary right now. The poor guy.

A lot of love for overshadowed-Al, as well. It must be incredibly hard, being a Potter; far more so than being any other Weasley. Because Harry really and truly is one-of-a-kind, and so it's bad enough being expected to be HIM, but when you've got an older bro as well to try to dodge ... yeah, that sucks a bit. But Al shouldn't let himself worry about that, he should just let himself be his own person! And if that's a similar person to Harry or James, then so be it. To the people who care about him, he won't be in anyone's shadow; he'll just be Al.

I also very much like the "James is Dad-without-the-war" comparison, as well as the "James-is-Granddad-James". The latter because I evidently have a lot of love for all James Potters, but the first comparison is one I hadn't given much thought to before. And I like it very much, because it's so clear to see how that leaves Al thinking as though he doesn't fit in somehow. Bless him.

God, I just love him. So much. I want an Albus, please.

Ho hum, disturbance in the greenhouses is mysterious. WHAT HAPPEN? Ah, wards are failing. Yeahhh, that's not ideal! Need to get into Stubbs' office somehow. And I love the way Rose invites Al into her next plan, haha.

"It's where he died." This sentence gives me weird goosebumps. This is serious stuff now. And ... the whole tapping into death thing with the Stone, this is AWESOME. I knew it was a bad idea of Harry's to just leave it lying around in the Forest for anyone to find!

On a serious note, I really do love this little twist, if we can call it a twist. Juicy stuff!

Listening. Scorp. The wireless. Oh, SCORPIUS MALFOY YOU GORGEOUS GORGEOUS BOY. I think my heart just melted. Honestly no words. And Methy knew but didn't think to tell anyone, and Hermione knew but assumed the others would, and Scorp didn't tell anyone else because that's a totally Scorp thing to do... Oh, this is just the best. WARM FLUFFY FEELINGS AND INCOHERENTNESS RIGHT NOW.

Author's Response: Not gonna lie, the radio idea was basically one of my first concepts in Ignite once I came up with the Phlegethon idea. The moment I had this uninhibited Scorpius in my head, he demanded to do something silly like this.

Stone stuff will be super-important. Also looking back on this chapter reminds me what a soft spot I have for Hugo. I think he got the gentler side of both his parents while Rose is all sharp-edges. Though that wasn't intentional on my part!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MadIce 

27th April 2013:
this is a grate chapter cant wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: An update is coming soon! Glad you've enjoyed. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Solana 

19th April 2013:
I'm impressed by your writing which his as good as I've seen on here, and I've seen some good ones! I love this story and it's one of those I can't WAIT to see updated. Please, please update real soon!

I love Scorpius. He's a sweetie deep inside. He doesn't always behave that way (almost never actually), I think because he doesn't see himself as good. He doesn't see himself as very smart, either. He's a lot smarter than he acts. Hopefully he and everyone else will come to see how good he is -- as good as Tim sees him at least.

You've promised more on their relationship as well.

And, of course, as good as Rose will eventually have to see him. Hermione is starting to see him that way -- which as someone said puts him in good stead for when he's with Rose.

Al in this is everyone's favorite big brother! But I do have to agree he is indeed afraid he's not measuring up to his hero father. Scorp was right even though he shouldn't have said what he did. But he wasn't wrong and sometimes a best mate comes up with the truth you don't want to hear.

Of course, he was venting and Al understandably got tired of that. They will make up, right?

I like Selena, too. More on her, I hope.

Oh, the parts where Scorp is screaming at the Ravenclaw riddle door are absolutely hilarious! It makes me love him more! I know he's adjusted to it by now but it was our comic relief and he's good at providing that.

Anyway, all in all a great story and you can go in so many directions with it. Of course, I'm a sucker for happy endings so I'm hoping you'll give these kids theirs ... :-)

Now ... update. Pretty please!

Author's Response: I do try to keep the comic relief in this story. It's an important part, this isn't super-serious doom and gloom and angst despite the serious things going on; I prefer to juxtapose my tone (while not making it whiplash-inducing). It gets hard around this part, especially when Scorpius is sulking. But it shall keep up!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by fizzingwizzbies 

10th April 2013:
Ahh loved this chapter! So good, love the twist using the place Harry 'died'. Brilliant! It was nice to see an insight to how Al is feeling as well, very interesting. ALso love the idea of Scorpius' radio show, reminiscent of Lee Jordans Potterwatch :) can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Oh, there'll be more with the lore and with Scorp's show. Glad you've enjoyed the story, and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sisyphus 

9th April 2013:
I can't wait for the next chapter. I hope the entire truth about Scorpius comes out soon. Excellent chapter! Interesting twist with the resurrection stone.

Author's Response: An update is coming soon! Glad you've enjoyed. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by AriesGirl40 

9th April 2013:
Scorpius sounds smarter than he talks. Good for him.Everyone is already too busey, he should be trying to solve his own problems. Now look how well that worked out :)
Darn stone, they may have to go into the forest and find the tiny bugger. Immagine if it could work like the philosipers stone? A little dip in a cup of water, and wallah! Instant cure.
Great chapter! My mind is working now.

Author's Response: An update is coming soon! Glad you've enjoyed. The Stone, and its uses, will be covered! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MadiMalfoy 

8th April 2013:
DUN DUN DUN! Well that complicates things a little--okay maybe a lot! But that bump in the road aside, what a phenomenal chapter! I'm glad you didn't just have Rose and Scorpius make up, as that would ruin the dynamic you have worked so hard to build. But I AM glad you had Rose and Albus make up, because family really does need to stick together through everything because they're all anyone's got, really. So what's this adventure Rose and Albus go on?? And how does Scorpius react to Rose's delivering of Hermione's praise?? Ahh I have so many questions!! Great job, keep it up! :) xx

Author's Response: Rose and Scorpius have a little further to go before things get better. But Al couldn't stay mad at Scorpius forever. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review