Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

24th March 2017:
So so insightful
Just like the original, no one is totally good or totally bad

 Report Review

Review #2, by Roisin 

19th March 2015:
Oh man, Scorpius' mind works in such hilarious ways. "That's when he realized he couldn't be angry with her" and then "that's when he realized he COULD be angry with her." The Deep POV narration is so well done in your story, and it's always especially hilarious when the narrator adopts Scorpius' way of speaking.

While I obviously think it's a mistake for Scorpius to blow off dealing with Albus and Rose, you write his reasoning really well. I can see the flaws in it, but I (heartbreakingly) believe that he actually thinks they don't need him. You always do a good job of this--it never feels like you're trying to justify plot arcs by squeezing your characters into a certain behavior. Like, they always seem genuine in their motivations and actions, and it feels like the plot comes from there, not the other way around.

"if either of them knew who she was"--pfft. A nice moment for some omniscient narrator.

God I love Selena. She's like, the best person wrapped up in a package of Worstness. Like, she has all these off-putting elements to her personality, but her actions have been overwhelmingly positive. And I love that, again, Scorpius is initially reluctant to help all the students with letters, but he does ultimately do it. So even if kindness came out of getting berated by Selena, he still does something /kind./ It's sort of a nice theme, throughout, which mirrors a canon theme: it's a person's actual CHOICES that matter.

Hm. The mention of Astoria is interesting. I realize we haven't yet heard a great deal about her. Very curious.

'Complicated poems which are all about the letter "r"?'--clever. Also, his ongoing feud with the doorknocker continues to be hilarious. Just, that sentence alone shows how hilarious an idea it is.

'A smart thing for a boy called Malfoy to do'--nice. This weird bonding sesh with Lockett is wonderful. Like, it starts out not without snark, but there is kind of a deeper lever of interaction there. And like, GAH, I feel like Lockett might actually have something to do with the Plegethon, or just generally that there's a surprise thing there--but then scenes like these make me really like her! (Also, I imagine her Dementor PTSD is gonna come back later, wot with Dementors in the forest and all)

Author's Response: Scorpius has always been an easy joy to write.

I like to think Selena works because she's the most genre-savvy when it comes to the teen-aged melodrama (being a master peddler in it herself), while at the same time blatantly a bit unpleasant. So she can point out when everyone's being silly, but because she does it in a rather snide way it still feels like adolescent silliness. OR, such was the goal.

Choice remains one of the abiding themes of the trilogy.

Astoria is also a long mystery of the series! I don't think we get much about her in Ignite.

I really wish I could remember when/how I came up with the idea of the doorknocker. Probably just from hunting down riddles and the entire thing getting out of hand as it came into contact with my head-Scorpius.

Evil Lockett has not been a common theory! Some people eyeball her dubiously, but it's fun to see how folks read into it. And her damage.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Siriuslover177 

20th June 2014:
I am glad that Scorp os doing something to help everyone, and himself. He is really lost right now, and needs help. And I think the teacher really helpee him too. Look at the person, not theor reputation. That is really good advice. I cannot imagine how jard Scorp has it, but he really needs to think of others as well. And I think he is finally going to start doing that.

I also really want him get back to being friends with Rose and Al... I dont think them all fighting, and Scorp feeling all alone. It isnt good for him to be alone right now.

I am happy that everyone is getting better.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Scorpius is doing his best to find some purpose. This one's a good one. And Lockett isn't all bad; she's awkward and struggling with her own stuff, but she wants to do right by the kids.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell 

23rd October 2013:
I like what you’ve done here with Lockett’s character, about seeing beyond reputations, which complements Scorpius’ struggle nicely. I also like how Hermione, while still represented as competent and brilliant, is not above error in this story. And this is precisely the error she would make--presuming the worst of those not on her side of what she considers to be a moral issue. She always could be a bit self-righteous, though it diminished some over the years as she grew up in the books. But that was her Achilles Heel, so to speak, a bit too much confidence that she was always in the right, so I like how you’ve included it here. It rounds her out as a character, and enriches them all in the process.

Good work!

--Penny

Author's Response: Lockett, in some ways, is how Scorp could let himself become if he pretends he doesn't care forever about his reputation. Because, really, reputation does matter. I didn't really intend for Hermione to have much of her own arc in this story, but she's snuck one in anyway. She's got a lot of responsibility and has had it for years, enough for her to implement her attitudes. These are the consequences!

 Report Review

Review #5, by water_lily43175 

1st May 2013:
I'm here! Where had we gotten to again? Ah, yes, Scorpius was screwing his life up, wasn't he? MARVELLOUS.

*DIES* Oh my word, you would not BELIEVE the thought process that's been going through my head the last few days! I had to introduce a new character to Rails, and I looked online for a nice, wizarding sounding one, and came across Thaddeus. I thought "Hmm, that sounds familiar, where have I read it before?" But I couldn't put my finger on it! Lo and behold, by the second sentence of this chapter I've discovered the source. STUBBS. Hope you don't mind, I'm using the same name!

Anyway. It is indeed frustrating that Stubbs is one of those who's NOT regained consciousness, and I assume that's partly for literary effect! It would be so much easier for them all if he awoke and was able to let them into his office, wouldn't it? It's intriguing that he's one of the ones who has it most severely, and I'm wondering whether there's a reason for that (other than the aforementioned one). Is it because he's older, or maybe because he's somehow been in closer contact with the Phlegethon? Not sure. Hmm.

It's so cute, that Scorpius has fallen straight back into his original routine, especially with Rose. Al is one thing - Scorp probably realises he WAS entirely to blame in that confrontation and so can't be angry with Al - but the argument with Rose was much more two-sided. Granted, Rose is in an awkward situation, but she chose to put herself in it. So I think Scorp has the right to be angry with her, and so it's cute that he's still taking breakfast to her. I guess that's why she's both easier and harder to face.

Oh, wait. Now he's avoiding her. Haha. Oh, Scorp.

Scorp thinking he's not needed, SIGH. This really makes me sad because there's so much that he could do for people! They need him to lift their morale and keep them going! Although I suppose he'd be better at that if said people weren't mad at him...

I really do like Selena. There's just something about her. Yes, she's vain, yes, she puts herself first, but she's still clever, and has good ideas, and... yeah. And even though she's making the letter suggestion to Scorpius in a mocking way, it's a good idea and it's something HE would be good at. She seems to GET people, even if she's not good at handling them right.

And it's also very like Scorpius to decide to do something even if he feels it's below him, just so as to make himself useful. Bless him.

Love the Mona Lisa remark. Also love "That is so last week."

I'm intrigued as to Scorpius' relationship with Astoria. Because the clear inference is that she would care about him if she knew something was going on. But then, that also begs the question; why hasn't she just written to her son either way? Does she not like to stay in touch with him?

I think my favourite relationship here is fast becoming Scorpius/Door. He's hilarious, the way he talks to it. And that reminds me of the Door to the Head's office. You know, after all of the hypothetical Dimitri situations I'd love to see, I think Scorp talking to Stubbs' door would be next on my list.

I knew to take Hermione's story about Nat with a pinch of salt; it wasn't going to be as bad as it sounded, we just needed Nat's side. I didn't necessarily expect to find she'd even have good motives for brewing the Elixir in the first place, and for some reason that took me by surprise - in a good way, of course. It really does seem like Nat was just trying to do the right thing, and got caught in the wrong place at the wrong time and was made to look as though she was acting dishonourably. And that's so, so sad, and makes me a bit angry once more with Hermione. And, of course, the 'selling out' aspect also isn't what it seemed. Poor Nat, if only more people would give her a chance instead of judging her on what they perceived to have happened. She really has come out of this badly.

I guess this breakdown ten years post-BTP, followed by the three-year lay-off, was the catalyst that seems to have changed Nat from the person she was in BTP. I may be wrong, because of course ten years in itself is a long enough period of time for someone to change gradually... but I wouldn't be surprised if this was partly the reason for it. And... the fact that she changed the focus of her research to the more 'money-spinning' elixirs because of this breakdown... crikey, EVERYTHING Hermione assumed and told Scorpius about her was wrong. Oh, poor Nat. I really do hope Scorpius makes sure Hermione knows the truth, because there's being wronged and then there's THIS. I don't think I can put into words how much I love how this has all turned out in the end, but it's such a relief that Nat is nothing like the person Hermione made her out to be.

And it's about time Nat came up with some good advice for someone - although thinking about it, she's had a few good things to say to Scorpius throughout. But she's right in that he shouldn't let others judge him. I think his problem is that he needs to stop judging HIMSELF. He paints himself in such a bad light, and that makes things so much worse.

Oh, I was hoping little Timmy would crop up again. It breaks my heart that Scorpius doesn't think he's a good guy. I think he's an absolutely wonderful character, and the archetypal Slytherin; he doesn't do things to make other people happy, but because he's bored, or thinks he may as well do them. Whether it's delivering the letters, or feeding Rose, he doesn't seem to do it primarily for their gratification, and I like that. Albus is the one exception; Scorpius DEFINITELY tries to please Al where possible, but that's down to Al being basically his only friend. But when he's doing these nice things, it does seem as though it makes him happy to be making other people happy! I don't know if any of this makes sense, or is RIGHT, but that's the feeling I get. And either way, I absolutely adore him. And am out of characters. CRACKING CHAPTER.

Author's Response: Scorpius is always screwing up his own life.

Ah yes, this is the big Nat-reveal chapter. In some ways, yes, the breakdown in Tibet was the catalyst for Nat's development from BTP Nat into Ignite Nat. But, basically, it all comes back to Azkaban. Repressed and not dealt with post-war, a factor in why she ran from the relationship with Cal into her work, only to suddenly explode in her face and give her all her damage at once. The chirpy mask imploded and we were left with this woman. Whose story in Ignite is FAR from done.

I feel horrid when people call him Little Timmy. It makes me feel so evil! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Soraa 

5th April 2013:
Great Chapter! I'm glad Tim is getting better and I can't help but feel sorry for Scorp, I hope he feels happier soon and maybe Tim will be a part of that.
Update soon :)
Sora

Author's Response: Tim definitely has a part to play in the future. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by greenphantomme 

4th April 2013:
WOW! I can't believe I'm stumbling upon this story now - It's just brilliant - I almost have no words.

Usually with stories, especially HP fanfic stories they get a little predictable. But this, man I am completely stumped. I can't really figure out the motives of Thane - he can't be psychotic because then he would have killed them all without regard, and he obviously knows what he's doing. . . but what IS he doing!

Why did he (they) spell Hogwarts? Why is he still hiding out and keeping watch? Why why why why why! Haha I should probably read through it again to see if you left any clues, I just powered through this last night.
I just can't even think of anything, unless it was revenge or doing a mad psychological experiment.

But then that raises the question that if the six weren't in the forest on detention that night when the ritual was done - they would have all been sick and all of Hogwarts would have been incapacitated.

Anyway enough with my rambling.

This is excellent writing. It's intelligent, witty, and enjoyable to read. I absolutely love the characterisations as well.

Selena is really growing on me. I love her personality and how she is caring but then doesn't take shit from anyone. She's very honest!

And yeah, love everyone else as well. You've provided depth to the characters and made everything realistic and relatable.

I feel like Scorpius has one of the most important jobs, even though he doesn't feel like it.

This story is wonderful, really. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: This story IS going to be finished. Promise. Thank you very much for your kind words, and for your wondering! It always pleases me when readers chew on the plot. Thane's motivations will become less opaque as time goes by, though I doubt he's ever to be fully understood. The man has his reasons and his logic is sometimes known only to himself.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by AriesGirl40 

4th April 2013:
I think Scorpius really needed that talk. Dealing with the owls will help him also with his own father I think, don't you? Get a different perspective about family.
Wonderful job on the chapter, see you next one :)

Author's Response: Scorpius and his father are - well. That's an issue for another chapter, I suppose! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by MadiMalfoy 

3rd April 2013:
SO FANTASTIC!!! :D I'm glad there wasn't really any drama this chapter--it kind of let things calm down a little and set up for future things. The talk between Scorpius and Lockett was great and helped redeem her character (and Scorpius's some as well) in my eyes and like her more. Yay, students are waking up and getting their letters! Phenomenal as usual, I'm excited for the next chapter! :) xx

Author's Response: I'm glad this chapter did some good for Lockett as a character. She's certainly flawed but, I hope, can be found sympathetic. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review