Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

20th January 2015:
Swoon. That gift was amazing. I loved the sincerity. That's what I found myself coming back to and thinking about writing in the review. The prank was cute, the interactions and breakfast but the sincerity between Lily and James, and William and everyone else at the table and Mrs. Potter with the girls. That was powerful. It struck a chord with me. They fight darkness with the light, with love. And I think for the most part they don't realize that's what they're doing.

Author's Response: So for about the last six months I've been going back and forth with the desire to come back and finish book two. I've been talking to Dan about it a bit, actually just this morning, and nothing could have made me feel more sure about that decision than seeing these and you and I can't even tell you how my face looked when I saw 'dirty deeds' on the review name!!! I can't wait to take the time to give these reviews a proper reply, but have been in heaven reading each one!!!

IVE MISSED YOU. I can't wait to see what you think about the end of this book!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by PinkRose 

19th July 2014:
This chapter was so cute. Made my heart feel all melty and that's been rather difficult as of late

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore 

12th July 2014:
Hi, Jami!

Aw, what a cute chapter! I'm so, so happy to read this chapter and see all of these lovely characters actually have a nice time for once, and have a Christmas without it being ruined by a Death Eater attack or something. They've already gone through so much and they've got so much more to face (it's making me so sad, knowing that) so I'm happy that they actually had a nice day on Christmas Day here!

I loved the fact that the three girls got up early to try and make breakfast - it definitely seems like the sort of thing they'd do, as a gesture of appreciation. And Olivia is just so sweet, I loved the fact that she knew that Belle and Sirius were together even though Belle hadn't mentioned anything!

The only tiny piece of CC I have is that I noticed a missing dialogue tag when Augusta's trying to get Alice to eat something. Other than that it was edited perfectly!

Oh my goodness, the presents were so cute! That was honestly my favourite part of this chapter, the fact that both Lily and James had put so much effort into coming up with the perfect present for each other and they were just adorable!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by FallenTruths 

8th July 2013:
Hi Jami,

This may be the most jumbled review you will ever receive. I wrote most if it weeks ago and now everything is making little sense to me. These were obviously some very intense chapters so I got so caught up in reading that I forgot to stop and take time to sketch out my thoughts. Just know I loved all three.

Chapter 22 - Oh dear, they're all drinking the night before the wedding? This might not end very well. Silly teenagers. Bella is so impatient isn't she? It was interesting to see Bella waiting for the attack and building up the suspense. It made me want to yell at the two to stay away or at least keep Bella waiting even longer.

Now I'm onto the scene where Lily and James are being restrained by Bellatrix. At least James is already thinking of stalling her so they can wait for Sirius and Belle to show up. That was so intense and scary! I love how you went back and forth between Bellatrix and James and Lily before they met up as Bella attacked them.

Some typos: "his hands to keep toughing her" - toughing should be touching

"he answered with a shrug before laying back on the bed" - should by lying

"he could see a some sort of sick pleasure shining in her eyes" - delete the 'a'

"followed be another gut wrenching cry" - change be to by

Chapter 23 - The one good thing about the attack is we get a nice hospital scene. Is it weird I like those? Everyone was being so supportive and caring, and we got to see more of the medical jargon I love. I loved this chapter because it seemed to bring Lily and James even closer together and was a strong reminder that the war is just starting. They must know it's only going to get worse from here.

A few typos:

"It won't be long now until youíre all stepping from Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardy" - should be Wizardry

"Potter would no longer be in the hand's of his cousin" - no apostrophe needed

Chapter 24 - I love that we got to see more of William in this chapter. I'll be really sad to see him go when the time comes because he seems like such a wonderful person with so much loyalty to the people around him. I can't imagine what he would think of Peter turning on them all. The gift James gave to Lily was so incredibly thoughtful! It was really nice how the whole group contributed their happy memories to it as well for her. Lily's gift was really thoughtful as well. I love that Lily wanted to give James something more muggle related that she knew he would really appreciate. I think you're probably a really good gift-giver in real life. :P

Alli

Author's Response: Alli! I keep getting distracted in our skype chat :P!

And I doubt anything you could write would be a jumble :P

Ch 22-
I LOVE using changing perspectives to build up intensity. Especially letting Bella's craziness slip into it, haha.

Usually the ideas I get for these sorts of scenes revolve around the characters all needing to meet up at a specific time, so going back and forth usually works well. I know it can really drive some people crazy though, so I'm really happy you liked it!

Typos! Thank you!!!

23-
I LOVE hospital scenes too! Hahah! Maybe we're both weird, but I always liked the ones in HP too :P. Usually anything that makes sense medical wise is thanks to Ben. I tell him what shape I need the character in, what I want to have injured, and how to explain that so i don't sound like a dunderhead :P. He'll rattle off an answer and end with, 'is this for your harry potter thing again?' haha!

I love what you said about chapter 23 bringing Lily and James closer together. Showing all the things that happened that could have really broken them apart from the tension/stress, but that they instead stuck through it together, is such a big deal to me. I won't go on my 'they didn't just fall in love over night' spiel, I'm sure you know it by heart anyway. So showing these moments where that love did grow and more solid is a big deal to me.

24-
I'm hanging onto William and Olivia for as long as I possibly can. I'm so excited that you're liking him. I had such a clear idea in my head of what James's parents are like, and I always worry about messing that up. I get lucky with Lily's gift. I had no idea what it was going to be for so long, and then it kind of just popped up. It was one of those times I chose NOT to explain the magic behind something, because I didn't even want to try and make something up :P!

Hahah I already gave you my gift giving confession. I stick to giving photobooks for Ben and my parents usually, and Ben is nearly impossible to shop for. If i had magic it would be a whole lot easier!!

Thank you so much for another awesome set of reviews ♥ I love your chapter by chapter breakdown and am so happy that this is still holding your interested ♥ I'm going to have to write you a super dark, eerie one shot to thank you for all the awesome feedback!





 Report Review

Review #5, by ValWitch21 

24th May 2013:
First off, I know Ess is really talented and all, but this really beats everything.

BAH THIS WAS CO CUTE. The girls preparing breakfast (that had me craving bacon and eggs and pancakes even though it's half six in the evening here), Mrs Potter chatting with them, the Christmas mood (as of today it's the end of May but who cares?), everything was so light and fluffy and perfect and ack.

I feel so sorry for Alice having to deal with Augusta, even with what we know about her further in the books. Currently, she strikingly reminds me of my grandmother and though I love her very much, she's also quite a strong-minded old woman who doesn't take no for an answer.

Oh, I like the background you've given Remus and Peter's parents. I wonder what they'll think of their son's choice -- unless they die before finding out the truth?

I LOVE THE POTTER PARENTS. LET IT BE SAID AGAIN AND AGAIN.

Haha, that prank was so much fun to read about! How typical. Remus' parents' reaction was lovely.

THE PRESENTS &hearts I love that Lily draws, I think I told you so already, and I know it's inspired from you (I haven't been stalking your author page, just following it closely), and bah the feels. The blanket makes me so sad, because Lily doesn't have a life-time to use it. I wonder if Harry will make use of it as a baby...

Author's Response: This chapter image really is amazing, right?! I can't think of anything more perfect for this chapter. I just want to bottle up her talent and keep it, haha!

I had so much fun writing the Christmas mood for this. You knew I wouldn't spoil the holiday with anything bad happening, hehe. I think Augusta is a very good woman, but not an easy one. I have a grandmother like that as well ;). They're delightful, right? hahaha

Ahh I don't even remember mentioned that I draw! HAHA! But yes, I am guilty of slipping in that tiny shared fact. Usually it's Belle who I sneak in character traits for (I'm the queen of temper tantrums) but for some reason painting felt right for Lily. I'm no where near as talented as her. I compare with a five year old :P but still enjoy it.

OKAY I have to be done blabbering or I melt into grateful feels for all your incredible reviews ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Courtney Dark 

11th May 2013:
First of all, I love the chapter image! It fits in absolutely perfectly with this chapter and all its fluffiness!

I love the idea of the girls making breakfast for the Potter's - it is such a sweet thing to do in light of all that has happened and I laughed at the descriptions of flour streaked all over Belle's face - she doesn't seem like she'd be a super domestic person. And I think that the fact that inside Lily is still thinking about the attack makes a lot of sense - she is definitely very brave, trying to keep a happy face.

Haha, another detail I liked about this chapter was when Belle screamed as she saw the cat and Alice's and Lily's reactions were great. Belle has to be one of my favourite characters - she has this awesome mix of humour and drama and depth and seriousness. And she's French!

The marauders prank was great - you had definitely got them down to the T - and I laughed when Augusta starting piling food onto Alice's plate. That seems like typical Augusta AND mother-in-law behaviour!

Lily and James's gifts to each other were perfect! James's especially was super sweet and thoughtful and the fact that everyone helped out with it really shows the bond of their friendship.

This was a lovely chapter than filled me with lots of warm fuzzies!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Isn't that the PERFECT CI?? I bookmarked that picture of Amy Adams months ago for the Christmas chapter. And heartfelt made it look so perfect all put together!

Hahah I agree, I don't think Belle would be the queen of the kitchen ;). I'm so happy she's one of your favorite characters. As much as I love writing this entire group, she definitely has a special place in my heart. So originally, she was going to be related to Fleur. Her mom was going to be Fleur's mom's sister, since we don't know much about Fleur's family tree. Then a few things happened that made it too difficult for that to happen without us ever knowing, and yeah. But I still wanted to keep her French, haha. Though every time I have to write a lot of dialogue for her, I sort of want to kick myself :P.

Hahahah I think Augusta would be the MiL from hell. Not that I don't like her, but I think she would be so overbearing. Haha. Poor Augusta :P.

I'm so happy you liked their gifts! And I'm even happier that I filled you with warm fuzzies ♥



 Report Review

Review #7, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

8th May 2013:
Jami! Guess what? I'm back!! Yay yay yay!! I'll catch up hopefully in the next few days the I can go back to reading as you update. I'm so excited by this haha!!

I loved this chapter - I've been really excited for it since Lily got invited over by James! I thought the girls making breakfast was a really sweet idea and really touching. Something normal in a story so full of tragedy. A good way to say thank you too, as you intended.

I really like your decision to not have Lily uber messed up with the whole Bellatrix scenario. She keeps a calm and level head and even thinks everything through kind of logically which just seems so in character for her. Even though what happened to her was so terrifying she sees all the good(ish) things that come out of it instead of focusing on the bad. It also fits well with her wanting to be a healer too, she'll need to keep calm in a crisis and be able to see the good in the bad things she sees. She's also going to help James out as he's blaming himself of course, again perfectly in character and totally believeable.

The friendship you have created between the three girls is so amazing to read. You have all the different relationships between different individuals going through this so perfectly and it makes it so enjoyable to read. The friendships between the girls and the one between the maurauders, particually James and Sirius though are brilliant. I love how much the girls are there for Lily, her comment about her mum is so sad, not having her there to talk to but you still give her her friends which is just lovely!

Even though Lily is missing out with her mum you've made a lovely relationship again between her and Olivia. Obviously she can't replace Lilys mum but her just being there is great. She still has someone who cares about her and thinks a lot about her which is good for her.

The warming charm on the plates - god I could use that. I'm so bad at getting everything to finish cooking at the same time! Perfect!

Augusta's line here: ""You take some more of that, dearie," Augusta Longbottom said, scooping another heap of mashed potatoes onto Alice's plate. "You're looking a bit too thin lately."" made me smile. Typical mother-in-law.

Oh the christmas prank - fantastic. Pure genius haha. You really have these marauders sussed eh? It had me giggling!

Oh James Potter. "Well well, Lily Evans. I didn't know we were giving each other those kinds of presents, but I suppose thatís okay with me." I don't think I have to say much more. Perfectly in character and just the side of James I love. Thank you haha!

Oh the presents were so sweet! It's just had me filling up with all warm fuzzies and now I'm smiling like an idiot as these too are just too cute! What's in the snitch? Will we find out soon? The blanket is an amazing idea and it sounds exactly like the kind of thing James would do. As always you amaze me with your great magical ideas, everything you do is so well thought out! Can I just ask though - are you trying to tear my heart in too? The line: "We all put loads of our happy memories in the blanket, so you should have enough to last a lifetime" A lifetime? Jami really? The reality just makes me too sad to think about.

Oh Jami this was such a great chapter to get back into your story with lots of happy thoughts and Lily and James goodness. I loved every second of it :D

See you soon!
Lauren :)

Author's Response: Lauren!!! This was such an awesome surprise! I was scared for a while there that I lost you for good! I know how busy you are, but my Saturdays aren't the same without you, haha!!

I'm so happy you liked that Lily wasn't really messed up by any of it. It just didn't feel right. I mean, they've known something was off for so long now. And now that's come to head and they can face it, not more pretending everything is normal when it's not. She's healthy, James is healthy, and they got away from our evil Bellatrix :P. I still get nervous though that someone is going to see Lily's reaction as unrealistic, so I'm really happy it felt right to you, too ♥

Keeping the friendships in the focus as much as the relationships is really important to me, though I do struggle with a bit. Sometimes I want to know what on earth I was thinking when I decided to feature eight main characters in a single story :P. But it wouldn't feel complete without any of them, would it?!

I never want to make it seem like Lily's parents didn't die, so bringing in those little moments of sads is super important to me. She'll always miss them, but then she has the perfect best friends ever to make it better. Not to mention James... I'd take that boy any day ;).

I am TERRIBLE at getting food finished at the same time too. By the time my baked asparagus is done, the chicken is freezing *eye roll.* Why can't we be witches?! :P

Hahaha that's exactly what I thought of when I wrote Augusta's line. If that isn't something designed to come out of a MiL's mouth, I don't know what is :P.

*now that I've googled 'sussed'* Thank you ♥ &hearts

Hahah I'm not trying to tear your heart in two, I promise! But that line is a sad one, isn't it? :(. I can't believe how short of a lifetime they have left at this point... ;(. Now you've made me all feelsy!

Aww Lauren! I'm so happy you like the magical ideas in this. If it helps, I spent as long thinking about the presents as I did working on the entire chapter :P. Yes! You do find out what's in the Snitch soon ;).

This review has been such an amazing surprise, Lauren ♥ I'm so spoiled to have someone as great as you reading Before They Fall. Thank you so much for all your sweet compliments. It still amazes me to think that you're actually enjoying something I wrote, haha!

♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #8, by Arithmancy_Wiz 

8th April 2013:
Fine, I guess I'll just have to settle for being review 499. So close!

Awww, what a cute chapter. It's full of so much warm, fluffy goodness. Sure, it's a bit "slower" in the action/plot department but you really tapped into the relationship side of things. James and Lily's romantic relationship got some attention, of course. We can really see them growing more and more comfortable with each other with every chapter. But also Lily and her girlfriends at the start, making breakfast together. And the adults and their relationships to each other and to the kids. Even that little hint of Lily having a serious moment with Remus "off camera" -- confiding in him about her concern for James. Very well done all around :)

I thought the Christmas presents were adorable. The blanket was so creative (both for you and for James). It's been clear throughout the story and directly in this chapter that James wants to protect Lily. He can't really protect her from her nightmares, but he's created something that can. And Lily's gifts were just as sweet. I don't remember if you mentioned her being a painter in previous chapters so the picture was definitely a surprise. But the snitch felt very natural -- Lily would be just the kind of person to take something a person likes and somehow make it very personal.

But seriously... "We all put loads of our happy memories in the blanket, so you should have enough to last a lifetime." Saying a "lifetime" when we know how this ends? Are you trying to make us all cry?

I think my favorite part of the chapter had to be Mrs. Longbottom trying to fatten up Alice. I never really put it together with her being Alice's mother-in-law before this moment. That can NOT have been fun for Alice, no matter how sweet a person she is. The way she idolizes and compares Neville to his father, you just KNOW no woman was good enough for her Frank.

You mentioned Lily's fear -- or lack there of -- in your AoC, so I'll hit on that. Personally, I didn't have a problem with the way you had her handling it. She's already been through one major trauma, and this time everyone survived, so she does have some level of perspective here. Sure, not everyone might deal with it all so well, but she does have a point about at least it all being out in the open now. Wasn't there a scene a few chapters ago where her and James sort of talk about waiting for something to break (or am I totally making that up?!). This is sort of a natural extension of that. Plus you offset it nicely by having James struggling with it a little more. Having them both bounce back relatively quickly might have felt a bit off because people process things at different speeds. So in a way, knowing he's having a bit more trouble letting go makes Lily's reaction seem more natural.

Okay, the lack of length in this review is making me feel like I must have missed something. Oh well, I'm sure I'll be back to hitting the character limit soon enough. It must be April Fool's Day hangover :P

One typo: It was a fact that could still break her if she let it, but she learned to allow the agony sweep through her then shooed it away.

The there is a missing "to" between agony and sweep, but the tense also feels a bit off here. Maybe... but she'd learned to allow the agony to sweep through her before shooing it away.

And this isn't really a typo, but at one point during dinner, Lily things, "Maybe she'd ask him what had been wrong tomorrow or something." But doesn't Lily already know what's going on? Remus just told her he blames himself when bad things happen. She does it again towards the end of the chapter: "There's been something wrong with you today. I know that what happened to us was... well, I can't even describe it. But James, if you keep blaming yourself, I'm going to start getting angry." She says there's been "something wrong," like she doesn't know what it is, but then the next sentence she says exactly what's wrong: that he's blaming himself for what happened. Anyway, you might want to take a second look and perhaps clarify that Lily either knows James' mood is a reflection of his guilt/internal blame, or she doesn't know and he has to explain that here at the end.

Gah! I'm caught up!!! I get to start reviewing "live." I'm so excited!

Wonderful chapter, as always. Guess I'll be waiting for next Saturday just like everyone else to find out what happens next.

Author's Response: Okay let's try this again with the response that was actually meant for you :P

I'm such a sucker for writing these slower more character development moments. I love writing the big ones, but then these little ones make me feel so fuzzy. And I've really been missing time with just the girls together. My sister just got engaged, but I'm all the way over here on this side of the country, so if more girl time feels come in you'll know why :P

I was so lucky that Christmas present idea come to me. To be honest, up until I actually got here, I had no idea what James was going to get Lily. And I'm usually such a huge planner! I don't even know where the blanket came from now, but I'm incredibly glad that it came from somewhere haha. I love what you said about him finding a way to make sure she's protect in nightmares! Can I hug you?! I'm hugging you.

The only time Lily's painting has been mentioned before was back during a flashback. She was painting a picture of Ireland after her and Petunia got into a fight before she left for Hogwarts. I always meant to bring it back up, but I just kept forgetting. Haha.

BECKY. THAT LINE ABOUT THE LIFE TIME. No joke, I almost lost it. I swear so many instances in this story I just want to throw a toddler fit kicking and screaming and tell the universe that THEY CAN'T HAVE LILY AND JAMES. I'm happy that line made you sad, too. Look, I'm turning us both into big babies.

You don't think Augusta would have been a fun mother in law?! Wait... I'm confused. Aren't ALL mother-in-laws the BEST THINGS EVER? Sorry. As you can tell, I'm not quite over the visit yet. hahahha. But I love what you said about no matter how sweet Alice is, and no matter how much Augusta loves Alice, she'll never let Alice feel completely perfect for her wittle baby boy.

Hahah no you aren't totally making that up!! There was a scene a few chapter back, The Order where they were talking about just that. About wanting something to happen so it could all be over with.

One typo?! I'm giving myself and Dan an award for that. Hahah

I can't believe I didn't stop what you just pointed out in your last paragraph. Thank you so much for pointing that out. I'm going to edit that up to make it seem more like Lily does know but just really wants to hear what's bothering James from him.

And you're on Live review time!! I can't believe how much of this story you've reviewed. Can I come to your lovely state and just squish you??? A lot??

I'm headed over to TGS to drop my AoC off! Yay!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rachel 

6th April 2013:
I love the light heartedness of this chapter so much!please upload more soon!!

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so happy you enjoyed it! I update every Saturday and am just getting ready to post right now :)!

Thanks so much for stopping by to read and review!
♥ Jami


 Report Review

Review #10, by patronus_charm 

4th April 2013:
I missed out on the 500th review, I wanted to get that! Congrats on reaching 500 reviews though, thatís so impressive!

Belleís afraid of cats? Somehow that seems to make perfect sense, and I can imagine why she would be. I really liked the light heartedness, I think it was necessary after all that drama with Bellatrix, and we needed to see something happier! Why did it have to have so much emphasis on food though? Itís making me hungry!

I loved the banter between the girls. And Iím glad the thing about James came up, as I wanted to find out too. Silly Mrs Potter though, coming in at the crucial moment where we could have found out the extent of Lilyís feelings for James, Iím hoping that we get to find out later on though. Mrs Potter was really sweet, and it always makes my heart warm when she mentions Sirius as one of hers as it shows how much he means to her.

I liked learning more about the othersí parents it helped me identify them more. Augusta was perfect! The way she was trying to get Alice to eat more just seems like something she would do, and I did feel a little sorry for her being accosted like that. At least Mr Potter stepped in and saved her. It was interesting that you made Remusí and Peterís parents know one another, Iíve never seen that done before but I rather liked it.

Aw Jamesí present was so sweet and you could tell how much thought he had put into it with getting the others to help him out with it, and the how long he had been working on it. No wonder he wanted to give it to her away from the others, even though Sirius helped with it, he probably wouldnít turn down the chance to tease James for being so romantic. Even though I havenít had a nightmare in ages, I wouldnít mind having one as it just seems like a really cool and unique thing to have.

Lilyís painting skills remerged then! I almost forgot about them, but it seems like the perfect present to give to James. I always thought that patronuses were really beautiful, especially Jamesí due to it being a stag so I want this present too. Magical presents are so much cooler than muggle ones :P they seem to know each other really well, as you can tell how much thought they put into their presents.

I really enjoyed this lighter chapter, and Iím all caught up now, itís so exciting! Except I have to wait for updates now :(

-Kiana :D

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much ♥ just the fact that you're still reviewing means way more to me than reaching a certain number. I'd trade ten of my random reviews on this story for one of the amazing ones you leave me ♥

Hahahah oops, I didn't mean to make it seem like she was afraid of cats :P! It was supposed to just be like, they're walking down the stairs in the dark and Butterscotch touching her foot just scared her. I better look at that section again!

Kiana! You know me better than that! You really think I'm going to give you all of Lily's feelings this easily?! Mwahaha! Heheheh. I love when she says those things about Sirius too. Sometimes I feel like I created the Potters around Sirius and James. Like, I wanted the sort of people that would do the kinds of things they've done, and raise a child that's somewhat spoiled but still a great man. And then they popped up! I think knowing you like them is one of my very favorite things ♥

Eeek I'm so happy you liked James's present! I really struggled figuring out what they'd give each other as gifts and that was one of the things I didn't have planned out until we actually got there. Now I'm happy that I waited for the right idea to sort of pop up because I am really happy with how the blanket turned out.

Yes her painting skills are back! I kept wanting to slip the fact that she paints back in, so I was happy to find a suitable time to do so!

You're all caught up! Well, when you left this review you were. I'm going to be honest Kiana, when you started reviewing I thought you'd maybe get ten in or so then get busy and stop. The fact that you've enjoyed this story enough to follow me this far means so much to me. I wish I could just come through the computer and hug you. Guess what, I've officially thought of a title for book two!!! I'm so excited to see what you think of it when that time comes!!!

Thank you so much for being such an amazing reader and just making me sit here all smiley like a crazy person on numerous occasions ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by CambAngst 

3rd April 2013:
OK, now that your story is no longer infested with bananas and bunny rabbits and garden sheds, time to do a proper review!

The Universal Parents are at it again! Taking in James, Lily and all of their friends so that they can feel safe and secure for the rest of the holidays. It was a marvelous thing to do in the aftermath of the attack on James and Lily. Not that they seem especially put out by the company. Once again, please tell me how on earth I can get myself adopted by William and Olivia Potter. So what if I have kids of my own? They're just so awesome!

The three teenage girls making breakfast in the kitchen felt like... well, three teenage girls making breakfast in the kitchen. If you take out the magical oven and the bit about sneaking around by wand light, they could be any three teenage girls anywhere. It was a nice, normal moment plucked out of their strange and complicated lives and I enjoyed it. Little things like that really help to ground the characters in such a tragic and exotic story.

In a strange way, Lily's thoughts about how the attack was actually sort of a relief made sense. They've all been living with so much uncertainty up to this point. Constantly looking over your shoulder starts to feel a bit silly after a while when you have no real reason to believe that anyone's going to be there. Now they know who they're looking out for and why. It's easier to plan and organize.

I guess Lily wasn't able to keep the new development in her relationship with James a secret for very long. It's healthy, I suppose, for her to get her doubts and anxieties out in the open rather than let them eat at her. Belle and Alice are obviously good counsel in this situation. Lily and James had a very natural moment of passion, yet they handled it very well. These two handle everything well, actually. At some point, I'd really like to see what happens when they don't handle a situation particularly well. They're teenagers, after all. They should mess up from time to time.

ďYou take some more of that, dearie,Ē Augusta Longbottom said, scooping another heap of mashed potatoes onto Aliceís plate. ďYouíre looking a bit too thin lately. - Ha! Good, old Augusta. I wish I could say that Alice was in for a long, difficult life of biting her tongue. But I guess I can't. :(

And then the prank comes off. Brilliantly done! It was funny and annoying to the adults -- well, to Augusta, anyway -- yet completely harmless in the long run. And it gave Lily and James a chance to steal away from the others.

ďWell well, Lily Evans. I didnít know we were giving each other those kinds of presents, but I suppose thatís okay with me.Ē
 - OK, now there's the James Potter that I keep expecting to see more of. He's still got that cockiness and just a touch of insensitivity that comes out every so often. But it's all in good fun now.

After a secondís thought, she walked back over to her trunk and replaced the clothing sheíd removed. This wasnít her room in the Headsí Quarters... she couldnít just leave it a mess and wait until she had more time to clean it. - And there's the Lily Evans that we all know and love. Just a bit too Type A to leave the straightening up for later. ;)

The dream blanket was another brilliant touch. I loved the little bits of magic you worked into James's explanation, even though he wouldn't reveal all of his secrets. On a very sad note, I wonder what happened to that blanket? Talk about something that Harry would treasure if it ever made its way into his hands. :-/

Now I'm dying to know what James wanted to wait until later to tell Lily. I get that he doesn't want to spoil anyone's Christmas, but it's also a bit frustrating to see him being stubborn about it. At least Lily's showing that she can be stubborn in return. I liked her ground rules that she laid down for him. That was a Lily Evans touch if ever there was one.

And there's something inside the Snitch, too? Jami, why do you torment us like this??? Leaving so many things hanging at the end of what's supposed to be a warm, snuggly, holiday chapter, you still torment us with loose ends and dangling questions. :p

As always, splendid job with this! I feel like the pace of the story is bound to pick up now, and I don't know whether to be excited or terrified. Possibly both. See you again soon!

Author's Response: I'm playing catch up on reviews and responses today! Yay!

You didn't like the infestation?! I thought it added a certain... eccentric quality to the story ;).

Hahahah DAN! Shall I write a chapter where Olivia and William meet a nice man and his twin boys and want to bring them over to the house for lunch? Then we'll just work the adoption into there somewhere? :P

That's what I really wanted. Something normal in the middle of all this craziness. These poor girl, and guys, have already been through way too much.

I struggled with where to go with Lily. Part of me said she should be having constant nightmares and every sound should scare her, but then that just didn't feel like Lily. Of course she'll still have those moments of fear, but like you said, now they know what they're up against. They understand who was after them and it's in the open, no more hoping that it was nothing and expecting it there at every turn. Poor characters :( I'm feeling awfully sad for them right now.

I was thinking the same thing about Augusta. She'd be a woman that would drive you insane ninety-nine percent of the time then make you want to hug her the other one percent. Ugh. Feels.

I am so happy I chose to do this from James's perspective, because I have no the tiniest clue how I was going to explain the magic behind the blanket. And you know my obsession with explaining EVERYTHING about magic, so just having James not tell her and keep it his secret was a million times easier, haha.

You've already seen me again! I'm such a late responder! UGH!

Thank you for your amazing reviews Daniel! And for giving me a very fun distraction on this *lovely* Monday morning. Oh wait, you're at home. It probably really is lovely for you. I bet you and the twins are having pancakes for breakfast!

As always, than you ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ginny Weasley 

31st March 2013:
More please :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P C-C-C-C-C-COMBO BREAKER! LOL :P

Author's Response: Awww thank you so much for stopping by again! HPFF was having and April Fools prank and some words were changed, so I hope you got to read this before those word changes happened :P. But they're back to normal now!

Thank you again for stopping by!


 Report Review

Review #13, by :)ST 

31st March 2013:
I love this. Best portrayal of all the characters I have read yet!

Please keep writing!

:) ST

Ps. I kinda liked your old banner better!

Author's Response: Aww I'm so happy you like this!! I missed this weekend's update because I'm out of town with family so the next chapter will be up Saturday :)!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ravenclaw394 

29th March 2013:
I want you to know that I'm really enjoying this story, its the first fanfic that I read on this site and I love it. You've really got the characters and I love Frank and Alice's relationship :)

Author's Response: Hi there! I can't tell you how happy I am that you've stopped by to read and review! Knowing that someone is out there reading and enjoying this is such a huge compliment to me, and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell me that ♥

The next chapter will be up Saturday :)!


 Report Review

Review #15, by MissMdsty 

28th March 2013:
I read this last week when it was posted (I think I PMed you that) but something must have happened before I got to review! I am a bad, bad reader and I'm sorry!

I am so happy that you didn't make anything bad happen! I am mentally hugging you and sending chocolates!

I loved how this was just a light, celebratory chapter, because they have so much to celebrate, besides the fact that they're alive. They have each other and their own little made up family and for now they can breathe easy because WWW is probably off somewhere hunting down Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer and making her self a necklace out of his shiny nose!

What I loved best was the Lily/James scene. The ideas for the gifts were so romantic and original. Where do you come up with all of this?

Poor James is still beating himself up for what happened, but that's just the kind of guy he is and nobody's going to change that anytime soon!

And is the thing he wants to tell her... Three words eight letters long? *squee* I think I'll be more excited than Lily when they finally get around to professing their undying love! You guys! It's Christmas of 7th year! Hurry it up! *points to watch* we're on a timeline!

Let me just take a moment here to tell you for the millionth time how much I love this story and your writing and your imagination and that you are all around awesome!

Author's Response: I'm a bad writer for taking so long to respond! I'm sorry! I'm finally here! Hi!!

Yay I love hugs and chocolates! I absolutely couldn't do anything bad in the Christmas chapter. They deserve just a bit of down time so much, poor guys. Hahahah I love Rodolphus's nickname!

You tell them to get moving, Ral! You tell them! They behave sooo well, that they're bound to listen, right? ;)

Awww thank you so much for the amazing compliments, Ral ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ginny Weasley 

26th March 2013:
* )-( * amazing as always.

Author's Response: Than you so much ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by Harrysavesme 

22nd March 2013:
This story is absolutely amazing! Ever since I stared reading it I'm on pins and needles waiting for the next chapter.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you're enjoying it! Thank you for the review! ♥

Jami


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review