Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

14th August 2016:
At first I thought Oliver wanted to meet up with Edie to tell her about the photo in the Crystal Ball, but now I'm not so sure. I think there's another reason for his contacting her. The suspense has me on the edge of my seat. I have to know what he has to tell Edie face-to-face, in person, instead of through two-way mirror. Also, I was wondering when Edie would be evicted. She really is down on her luck right now. She should at least try to apply for that open spot at the Oracle Underground even if she doesn't have the experience needed for it. It wouldn't hurt to submit her portfolio.

Author's Response: Hmmm, yes, what could he possibly have wanted to meet up with her for?

If my memory serves me correctly, this is the chapter where either my writing randomly improved or I finally wrangled the very wily plot line I had word-vomited out until this point. So, again, bless you--thank you for reading this fic in a time past its heyday and before it's received much needed edits.

You have a point! It never hurts to try for a job. She will get her life together eventually; right now she's in the spot of being rejected so many times that she can't bring herself to be rejected by her absolute favorite publication, too.

Time will tell!

(I've had a whole lot of coffee so I'm sorry if these responses are disjointed and not making sense. I really do appreciate that you took the time to leave so many reviews!)



 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

8th February 2015:
I told you, scrubbing toilets is good for self-realizations.

^ YES! Time she realizes a few things. She's stubborn. I'm stubborn but come on we all make mistakes.

She's out of her flat and she's going to have to tell Lisa at least what's going on with her life. I feel like Oliver might tell Edie he wasn't going to kiss her or maybe he was drunk or something or other that's going to be sort of a let down. And Edie, the lying, really? Just tell the man the truth already! THE TRUTH SHALL SET YOU FREE!

...Eventually.

Kind of loved the Parakeet part and the Squib landlord. I'm a little obsessed with Argus Filch since I just wrote a fluffy one-shot about him. Squibs need love too.

Author's Response: BUT IT IS SO MUCH EASIER TO LIE AND LOOK LIKE A REALLY COOL JOURNALIST AND PRETEND TO HAVE YOUR LIFE TOGETHER AND NOT ADMIT FAULT than to just tell your friends, family, love interests, etc. the truth. At least that's how Edie's brain works. She's so prideful and arrogant that she would rather compulsively lie to everyone she cares about than admit that she's not doing so well in life.

Haha, the parakeet and Simon were two things I decided to add last-minute, and I'm so glad I did. (Embarrassing confession time: I imagined Simon Pegg playing the part of the landlord so vividly that I named the character after him.) Although I don't think Mr. Pegg has a parakeet named Peony... though he should.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan 

21st June 2013:
Poor Edie, that sounds like the worst job imaginable. And then getting kicked out of her flat on top of that, and appearing in the tabloids. Not her best week!

I'm really looking forward to next time Oliver and Edie see each other. Their interactions are so awkward and adorable. (And - I forgot to mention this on the last chapter I reviewed because I'm really scatter brained, but you mentioned Oliver's love of books again in this chapter so I remembered - I love that Oliver likes Arthur C. Clarke (who is a wizard... haha!) And Jack Keroac. I love both of those authors!

Which brings me to my next point - your writing style is so engaging, with all the little details and references you put in there. It makes the characters that much more three-dimensional, and it's easy to identify with them!

The whole scene outside Edie's flat really amused me, from her guesses as to Seamus's new password, to her "your mum" responses to Simon's Howler. Good thing there weren't Muggles in the area, that'd be hard to explain.

Another fantastic chapter!

Author's Response: Not her best week, indeed. I feel like this chapter was the culmination of all bad things happening to her... Don't fret, her life won't be inexplicably easy from here on out, but I feel like this was the motherload of bad situations.

I do love writing awkward Ediver interactions... I also find them quite adorable, though of course I would. Yes! Bookish Oliver! I feel like he's always portrayed as this total brute, because he's so obsessed with Quidditch. I know I've said this before, but I want to ~*~spread the word~*~ so I'll say it again. I imagine that at Hogwarts, he was entirely absorbed in Quidditch to the point that he had no social life. Katie was his only friend/girlfriend and when they weren't hanging out, or when he wasn't devising Quidditch plays, he probably spent time alone reading. Hence his strange character-amalgamation of athlete/nerd.

Pahaha, yes. Explaining a Howler to Muggles would be difficult. And I think you just pointed out a fault in the plot--I feel like I mentioned Edie's flat being just past the brick wall leading to Diagon Alley, which *would* make it Muggle-London. Hmm! I have to go back and check. Halfway through the story I was like "Why hasn't Diagon Alley expanded at ALL after 15 years since these people were in their First Year?" and went with that. But I think you're right. I think I mentioned Edie living just past the brick wall, and I need to fix it. Thanks!



 Report Review

Review #4, by peppersweet 

16th June 2013:
I just remembered something I meant to tell you: as I was reading about Edie's internship and pondering on my own employment prospects, I remembered my brief stint working at a music shop a few years ago. One of my daily tasks was to deliver the teas and coffees, seeing as I was the most junior member of staff. There were about eight people working there, and I had to load all eight brimming mugs onto a tray and carry them downstairs to dish them out. I realised, fairly swiftly, that this was impossible for a tiny fourteen year old girl, so I ended up begging someone from the guitars department to carry it down for me so long as I brewed it - I felt awful about this until my manager told me that they were actually glad I passed on the task because, one year, they had a boy working there who couldn't manage the entire tea tray and tripped down the stairs with it, soaking something like five expensive Gretsch guitars in hot tea and coffee.

That was pretty much irrelevant to everything, but I felt like sharing that with you.

I like Edie's confusion about whether Oliver actually kissed her or not! It feels a bit more realistically (honestly, in the heat of the moment, one can be prone to imagining things) and it adds ~even more tension~ to a story that's already as tense as a highly-strung landlord with a parakeet on the loose.

Nitpick time - His lips spread into a huge smile. "You wrote her?" - there should be a 'to' after wrote~ I think that might be a dialectical difference, actually? I'm not entirely sure, but 'wrote to' is what I'd consider correct.

Edie bought the magazine eee :3 FRAMED PHOTOGRAPH ON HER WALL PLEASE

I love how Edie's landlord semi-asks her out for a drink via Howler, snort

♥ onwards and upwards!

Author's Response: OH MY GOD! I'm so glad that didn't happen to you, I bet that guy seriously just died. That sucks that you had to do such menial work... At least you were enough of a boss to just pass it off onto somebody else, like, "Naw. Not doing it." Man, I would feel really mean being like "YOU. Small girl. Fetch us many hot beverages."

Yeah! I feel like I always have an out-of-body experience of sorts, when something like that happens! And then afterwords you think and over-think it to the point that you can't remember what you've imagined and what actually happened.

That's embarrassing... I actually put "You wrote her," instead of the other way around, because I was like, "I FEEL LIKE I HEARD THEM SAY THAT ON PRIDE AND PREJUDICE I DUNNO." Bahaha. Thanks for correcting me; my experimentation with British dialect is always interesting.

SIMON. I wish I had a just reason to put him in this story more... maybe I will go back and add him in earlier on. He seems like a total random addition, plus I love him (because I can't un-see Simon Pegg doing all of these things. Hence the name Simon.)



 Report Review

Review #5, by Courtney Dark 

10th April 2013:
I'M BACK! And boy am I glad I'm back, because this chapter was fantabulous (I am seriously overusing that word at the moment.)

Anyway, this chapter was classically Edie brilliant! Her life really is quite depressing, isn't it? Everything seems to go wrong for her all the time - she's back to working at another terrible pub, her love life is heading in who knows what direction and she's just been evicted. If I was Edie, I would be screaming and throwing valuable items around right now. I think it's definitely a good thing Edie is able to persevere (sort of) even in the worst situations.

Aw, I just love Edie and Oliver! And I love their friendship, too, and their conversation in the two-way mirror was written perfectly. I think my favourite part of the whole chapter was when Edie tried to make excuses about why she was in the bathroom and blurted out: "Five more minutes, girls!" That was genius!

I also loved how Edie was getting so excited about the prospect of watching Oliver's Quidditch training. She is honestly one of the best, most believable and lovable and hilarious characters I have read in this site. In fact, I'm almost tempted to say the best. In fact, everything about this story is amazing, and I'm sorry if I've started sounding like a broken record, but I'm going to be telling you that in every review, I can guarantee it!

I'm only realizing now how waffly and random this review is, so I'm going to stop writing now. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello again! Thanks so much for coming back for another lovely review.

I'm glad that you like Edie's ability to (sort of) persevere. More than anything, she's probably just procrastinating even with acknowledging her life situation. I know I've said it before, but I really wanted readers to be able to sympathise with Edie, without feeling like she's begging for their sympathy. Y'know? I don't want her to be sad or depressed about her life situation... hence the title of the story ;3

I'm also glad that you're finding Oliver and Edie's camaraderie to be believable. I was writing this scene and was like "D'oh! She totally would have tried to crash a practise by now." But as I'm always editing, I'll be adding an earlier mentioning of this.

Gah, I just. Wow. I am so incredibly humbled that you think Edie is so well-written. Seriously, I actually hope to be a published author one day (~*~sHaRiNg My DrEaMs!!~*~) and you have no idea how encouraging this is.

Thank you!! ♥

PS: I am struggling with the next chapter (I've written, erased, and re-written the ending four times) but it's coming soon! Promise.


 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

29th March 2013:
Oh no; poor Edie!!

It's bad enough she's had her privacy invaded, and the whole business with Rose and the article and Oliver and her job and EVERYTHING, and now she's been evicted?!? I really, really hope things start looking up for her soon; I'm getting really worried!!

PLEASE update soon! ♥

Author's Response: I was worried about the eviction just seeming unrealistic. Like, there's already been so much that's gone wrong with her. But at the same time it felt unrealistic that she could survive off such little money, and the next logical srep would be losing her flat.

Thanks so much! Reviews are hard to come by these days and I appreciate hearing your thoughts. ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by LittleMissPrincess 

26th March 2013:
okay so i actually had a review written in here because i read this like 3 hours ago, but then i just randomly left it unfinished and then went to other tabs, and got stuck on tumblr for like an hour and im not sure what happened but i closed google chrome and THEN I REALIZED I HADN'T SENT THE REVIEW YET SO - *SAD*

yeah so im sorry you ain't getting a nice long one. im not typing it again. ugh lyf.

but basically i just talked about how edie's life sucks with the lack of job and house, and HOW OLIVER SOOO LIKES HER! I MEAN THATS OBVIOUSLY WHAT HE WANTS TO TALK ABOUT HAHA SUCK ON THAT, ROSE.

and ehermm...ahh yes, so i think its literally so cute that edie actually bought the paper that has then (almost) kissing OKAY THEY KISSED OKAY. I BELIEVE IT. THEY WERE GOING TO ANYWAY.

yeah so CUTENESS.
also something else i wanted to say...

i think there should be more on the actually article. like say, rose finds it, or someone else at edie's workplace find it, and they're like "rose, you're interviewing him, ask him who the mystery girl is." and SO EVERYONE WANTS TO KNWO WHO IT IS, BUT ONLY EDIE KNOWS ITS EDIE. and then since rose isn't actually the one takign the interview - edie has to ask who the mystery girl is, but then she cant and just idk you're the write so PLOT TWIST.

also, i just really love yuo. and all the magical devices you slip in. i mean, with all the two way mirrors, and like the magical pubs, and 'awkwardly asking edie out for a drink'.

its like : SIMON = * AGGRESSIVELY ASKS OUT EDIE*

OH RIGHT! i remember now! i had written a bunch of ediver puns. like jumping into the ediver of shipping and somethign like that. idk. it was good though.

egads.
yeah thats all i have to say...but YAY UPDATE! maybe ples update soon again sil vous plait?

okays bye.

Author's Response: Ugh, I think I spent roughly 43872971 hours on tumblr yesterday, so I totally understand.

I decided to have Edie buy the paper because I wanted to show how she is with guys. I go on to talk about it more in the next chapter, but this was a little preview. She looks down on Rose for getting attached too soon, but look at her going off and buying a copy of the magazine! That's definitely getting a little attached, isn't it? ;3

Oh, this picture is actually a huge plot point. And I want to talk more about it, but I can't! Sorry! It will all be revealed... like nine chapters down the road xD

bahahaha the Ediver of Shipping. I will think on some puns and get back to you. Because what's better than a pun? (Answer: more puns.)

Thank you so much! Your review was really entertaining to read ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Siriusly89 

26th March 2013:
SPEEDY UPDATE!

I can not tell you how much I love you right at this moment! Speedy updates are right up there on my list of favourite things, along with chocolate and Seamus!

Aah, Edie once again works in a seedy establishment, except this one is new and improved, with more cobwebs and a deaf landlady! And Rita Skeeter managed to worm her way back into journalism? That little bug (geddit? Bug? Because shes a beetle? No?)

Simon sounds like me in man squib form! I too would have a panic attack if I lost my parakeet in my flat. And I love the part where he never misses an opportunity to hit on Edie, even when he is badgering her to pay her late rent.

Simon, I salute you.

I loved the little dig at Rose! We all know girls like that, you know the ones who are already planning their wedding when they’ve only been out with a guy once. Or the ones who profess their love even though they’ve just met the bloke.. . . . . they get on my nerves. . . . .

Oh Edie, such a classy girl. Could you not have, oh I don’t know, left the loo before answering your phone/mirror? And Olivers response, just so awkward and funny. . . .ah. . . .

Does Edie not realise that one day she’s going to have to tell Oliver the whole truth, and that he’s going to be really annoyed. Although I am hoping for this novel to be different and for Edie and Oliver to fight for some really mental reason! Like, I don’t know, Dean/Jae/Simon/all three bursting in at a really crucial moment and professing their love for Edie, to which Oliver gets really annoyed (as the attention is not on him) and he flounces out rather dramatically, leaving Edie free to date Dean! (Seamus is mine, if Edie so much as tries to steal my man, things are going to get ugly. Just telling you now)

Although that would make an interesting plot twist!

So many ship possibilities! Will it be Edie/Oliver, Edie/Dean, Edie/Jae, Edie/Simon, Edie/ Seamus, Edie/Justin (it could happen!)

Edie fangirling all over Amelia Jones was so funny! Yeah Edie, just gatecrash Olivers practice, that wouldn’t be odd at all! Although for Edie, that would be considered relatively normal. . . . .

Scrubbing toilets for self-realisation. . . .where do you come up with this stuff! *laughs uncontrollably*

The photograph! Eeeep! I hate the ground Oliver walks on, but it was so romantic! Just like something out of a romance novel, and lets face it, Edie needs some happy in her life, and if Oliver makes her happy, I’m okay with it (for now, but I still expect the whole ‘Dean saves the day’ thing and then they elope and live in the Bahamas.)

Seamus’ passwords. . . . oh that boy . . . . I probably can’t type them here with the whole ‘keep it 12+’ rule, but they were pure genius. GENIUS I SAY!

Simon’s howler! So funny and then at the end ‘MY OFFER FOR A DRINK STILL STANDS’. Yeah, because the girl you just evicted will totally want to go out on a date with you. Not. But you can’t blame a guy for trying, and that is why I am now a ‘Dedie’ and a ‘Sidie’ shipper. Oh yes, they now have names.

Poor Edie. I feel like breaking out the violins at this point, because the poor girl has to go live with an engaged couple (who won’t want her there, I don’t care how nice a person Lisa is, Justin will not be impressed) and one of them (ahem, Justin) enjoys roaming around starkers. Nice. Really nice.

Another wonderfully wonderful chapter, sorry for the incredibly long, ramble-y review (I’ve been working on the new and improved length!)

DEDIE AND SIDIE FOREAR! You didn't even have to ask that question, ship that is completely off the wall and won't work? Mine!

Update soon! ♥

Author's Response: SUPER-LONG REVIEW WHOA! :D Thanks so much!

Simon was inspired by my friend's landlord. I've never met him, but he sounds hilarious. And I named him Simon in this story because I couldn't picture anybody but Simon Pegg in that scene! xD

Well, I certainly know in *my* mind that Edie will have to come out with everything. She's probably so in denial and so confused about what just happend to the way she feels about Oliver (honestly, she loathed the guy just last week) that she's putting it out of her mind. Although your 'ship possibilities are very interesting! xD I can tell you right now that there will absolutely not be any Edie/Seamus. Rest assured ;3

Bahaha Sidie. Sounds like spidey, yes? That's funny. It was never my intention to include him in the story. Originally I had just written him as "my landlord" and not gone into detail about being a Squib, and Peony. But I hate doing that! I love the opportunity to explore super-minor roles. Thus Simon was born. I dunno if he'll have another appearance in the story--we will see!

I churned out the entire next chapter in my coffee-induced craze yesterday. But the ending is awful. Like, horrible. So I'm going to do some tweaking and then hopefully will post within a week!

Thanks so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan 

26th March 2013:
All I have to say is that this chapter was absolutely hilarious. I had to shove my fist into my mouth to keep from bursting into laughter otherwise I would've gotten busted.

Anyway, the parts that I found absolutely hilarious were these parts:

"Only once or twice..." He quirks an eyebrow disbelievingly and I add, "...a month."

And the part where she asks Oliver to talk to Amelia Jones and he says "hanging up now Lennox." I was so amused by that and you can really tell that Edie and Oliver have become really close friends.

I also loved the parts where she started guessing a new passwords. I lost it at Veela tits personally.

The ending was pretty funny too. I couldn't stop grinning because it seemed exactly like something me and my bestfriend would do if we were in Edie's position.

Anyway, great chapter!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad you thought it was so funny! I didn't know if the whole deal with Edie writing to Amelia would do well. Originally it wasn't in the story at all, but then when I went back and edited "The Proposition," I added it to the story. I was nervous that seeing it in this chapter would be too out-of-the-blue for people who hadn't read the edit!

I'm glad you liked the bit with the passwords ;3 (But please make sure your language in reviews is 12+)

Thanks so much! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review