Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

14th August 2016:
Stupid paparazzi appeared right when things were getting heated. I hope Oliver didn't react too rashly. Also, she just apparated away without thought of waiting for Oliver to return. I wonder what was going through his mind when he realised she had left him; I actually feel sorry for Oliver. Also, I'm supporting Ediver even more after this chapter. So good. Loved it.

Author's Response: Haha oh no! Oliver wasn't going to go, like, beat them up or anything. He was just trying to catch them so that he could stop them from publishing the image--because he lives a very private life and also for reasons that you now know, as you've long since finished the fic.

Yep, classic, selfish Edie. Just leaves him there to deal with it, and doesn't come to face her worries like a real adult. Avoid the problem! It will go away eventually!

I do love that you expressed concern for Oliver's feelings and STILL are shipping Edie even more after this chapter. Eee! That makes me so happy.



 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

8th February 2015:
I don't even have anything to say but I go by the hashtag #revieweverythingyouread

So you can't get rid of me that easily.

UH THE FEELS. THE CONVERSATION. THE FLIRTING.

THE ALMOST KISS.

You're killing me! I'm actually happy though because it's TOO soon. I want them to kiss and tumble into bed but at the same time I don't. I think Ollie deserves to know the truth about the whole Edie situation and Rose.

And I can't take the heartbreak from Dean just yet. #TEAMDEAN

...Dean needs love too.

Author's Response: TOO SOON INDEED. Like, do you two even know each other? You've spent approximately four hours in the same vicinity--do you REALLY feel anything right now? Rushing into romance is something that I always try to avoid. Ahhh I wish I could mention something about chapter 28 that I just wrote, but it basically is along the lines of how "love at first sight" is bollocks.

Dean does need some lovin'! He knows how we feel, though ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by peppersweet 

16th June 2013:
I don't think I'll be able to live my life fully until I know whether Oliver wears boxers or briefs.

I like how Edie's turned into a super-sleuth! Unfortunately, I've become a little accustomed to my favourite characters not getting their way in life of late, so I have a horrible feeling this is going to backfire somehow.

Ooh! Tension in Puddlemere? An unpopular Oliver? [aggressively sings 'tell me more, tell me more' a la Grease]

I remember her now from the Gryffindor Quidditch team, and as the horrible incident with the cursed necklace. - I feel like there might be a word missing from the second half of this sentence...'and also from', maybe? IDK~

I have a sneaking suspicious Oliver might be feeding Edie lies - he seems to be walking into her trap a little too easily non? I may be totally wrong, but I just can't help but suspect...! (I really like their Quidditch banter, though)

I love how Edie and Oliver escaped into a record shop - coolest thing ever - but, just a teensy thing...do record shops really stay open until half past ten at night? BUT THIS IS THE CUTEST BIT EVER SO I'LL LET IT SLIDE OMG THIS BIT THIS BIT - NOOOooo000oooOOO000

(plot twist: it isn't a magical paparazzi, but a simple muggle hipster "photographer", trying to find cute indie couples to put on their tumblr)

So I'm basically a sobbing wreck that the Ediver moment never actually happened at the end but Seamus' I'M AN AUROR!!! reaction more than made up for it. I hooted with laughter, a little like a maniacal owl.



Author's Response: Super-sleuth Edie! You'd probably be right in assuming that this doesn't go well... In fact, just always assume from here on out that it will not go well, regardless of what "it" is.

I love the idea of Oliver just wanting to be "one of the guys," and not having friends because he spent his entire Hogwarts career thinking about Quidditch, and then graduating and being like "Oh crap I have no mates now," and trying to be besties with the second-rate Puddlemere-ers, and they kind of think he's lame because he acts so stupid when they go out to drink, but he just wants to feel accepted so he does things like put on a bad Bulgarian accent to impress them. (I love the idea of a wildly unhappy Oliver Wood, essentially.)

Yes there is a missing word! I love that you are like a beta-reader and fun-reviewer all at the same time. Thank you! I will fixy-fix it.

Hmmm, is Oliver feeding her lies, or is he just finding her exceptionally easy to talk to? And kind of forgetting that this isn't actually a date? I DONT KNOW IS HE I DONT KNOW SERIOUSLY HELP ME FIGURE IT OUT BECAUSE I JUST DONT

Yay! The record store seemed cool because it's something readers can relate to (we being lame Muggles and all), but it would seem like such a strange place to a Witch/Wizard. And I kind of imagined it to be like a record store where all the "hip" kids hang out, hence the sitting room... but maybe a record store that isn't doing so well, as there are no other customers there? So they stay open late and you can wander in there when you're bored or when you've just left the bar and are looking for an excuse to not go home yet? And kind of thumb around through the stacks for hours alone late at night and maybe run into a potential friend?

Hahahahaha. IT WAS A TUMBLR USER. The photo is going to end up on one of those impeccably matchy blogs, and it'll have a red/yellow filter and say "Everything was beautiful and nothing hurt."

I love maniacal owls! Like Pigwidgeon. Thanks again, you! ♥

(Also, briefs.)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Nat 

1st April 2013:
I really liked this chapter, but the reason i'm writing is that it seems the letters a-s-s have been replaced by 'eyebrow'
Like glass is gleyebrow or sassily is seyebrowily. Was this you or is this an april fool's joke?:p i'm leaning towards the latter, I think ;) anyway i'm off to read the next chapter, hope edie isnt brought intotoo much of a scandal!

Author's Response: hahaha, I didn't notice that! It is, of course, the April Fool's joke. I thought my story was safe xD I will definitely need to do some more reading.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

29th March 2013:
AAAh!! Another cliffie!! MUST. READ. MORE. NOW!

*Scurries off to next chapter*

(By the way, Seamus' line: "I'm an Auror!"? Hilarious!)

Author's Response: Hello again! Glad you thought that was funny ;3 Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Courtney Dark 

23rd March 2013:
How are you such an amazing writer? Every single chapter in this story is just so perfect - your characters, your descriptions, your plot, the random details and funny lines that just make me start laughing like a lunatic. This story honestly deserves a Dobby and I am so glad you wrote it!

There was so much to love about this chapter that I don't really know where to start. The second half of the interview was great, of course, and I loved how Oliver mentioned his relationship with Katie. I don't know, it made him seem so much more real, somehow. And also took me back to the Hogwarts days...sigh.

I love how freely Edie and Oliver were able to talk - or rather, debate - about Quidditch. They really are two amazing characters and they have awesome chemistry! I still don't know how you do it...

Edie's awkward little lines like 'pish posh' are brilliant. I actually laughed out loud when I read that, merely because I could imagine Edie sitting there and saying that. And although we didn't see much of Seamus in this chapter, he was amazing! He always brings so much humour to the chapter and I LOVE the relationship Edie has with Dean and Seamus.

This was a perfect chapter - I loved every moment of it!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoy my story enough to think it deserves a Dobby :3

I think that a long-term relationship like that makes total sense for Oliver. He's so devoted to Quidditch, as we see in the books, that I imagine he pours himself into everything that he views as important. He's a really adamant person, which is why he lasted so long with Katie.

Yesss Seamus. It's hard not to include him in every chapter xD

Thanks again ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Roots in Water 

23rd March 2013:
Hello! I'm back again for the second of my two reviews as a prize for winning Hufflepuff's Writer's Duel!

I'm still really enjoying this story and the little developments you're adding. The relationship between Edie and Oliver certainly is rocky, which, of course, just makes it all the more interesting. I'm finding that Oliver is a very difficult character to figure out- he has a very rough personality on the outside, but we know nothing (or at least very little) about how he feels on the inside. He lets little bits show through, like his comment about preferring to be alone, and his long-term relationship with Katie Bell, but the majority he keeps hidden. It makes me wonder how on earth Edie is going to be able to write an entire article on his personality.

I still feel that he's mostly "good", that through his rough patches he's a nice guy. I'm having mixed feelings about the angle Edie wants to write in her next article... Though I understand why she's angry with him, I don't think she should be digging solely to find the nasty parts of his personality. Who knows... Perhaps the time she spends with him will make her hesitate before publishing another negatively-toned article.

By the way, I think that you included a fantastic detail when you wrote that Oliver wanted to get back on the field as soon as possible, even though he knew that it might mean possible permanent damage to his limbs. It did a great job of showing the depth of his love and fascination with Quidditch, without coming right out and saying that Quidditch is his life. I just hope that he won't reach the point of permanent damage... Enjoyment is great and all, but what about afterwards, when you can no longer do what you love at all? (I do doubt that you'll let it get to that point, though).

This chapter was particularly interesting because Oliver was very adament that he wasn't going to discuss the Christmas charity event. I was curious as to why he'd brought it up- he obviously has a very low opinion of the types of articles that Witch Weekly and just about every other magazine writes and I doubt that they typically write derogatory articles about celebrities like him.

I really liked the inclusion of her brothers. They seemed like really fun people (especially when her oldest younger brother grabbed her from behind), though I definitely agreed with Edie about the whole club idea. I understand why she went "mother-part-two" on them- I probably would have done the same with my own younger brothers.

All in all, I think that you're continuing to do a great job with this story. I'm very conflicted over the characters- you've done such a great job of humanizing them without trying to make it obvious that that's what you're trying to do. (By the way, I'm curious about Dean's reaction when she got dressed up for the restaurant... He seemed oddly quiet). Congrats for winning! :D

Author's Response: Hello again! ♥

Yes, Oliver is quite hard to understand isn't he? It's one of the dangers of being somebody who has been misunderstood by the main character. It's safe to say that Edie has wrongfully judged him. But we're in that state of limbo where we're not entirely sure exactly what Oliver is like, so he is difficult even for the reader to understand. I've been trying to find the balance between sufficiently mysterious and too vague. Hopefully he's not the latter!

I'm having mixed feelings about her article too! haha. She's a very impulsive person, and she felt like everything in her life was falling apart so she's decided to take it out on him. Of course some of the bad things that happened are his fault. But she's so angry and quick-tempered, and sees this article as an outlet for her frustrations, that she hasn't really stopped to think. Then as she gets to know him better, she begins having second thoughts. She's in a very rough place right now. She has to choose between the chance to finally advance her career, or acknowledging that she could be entirely wrong about this person, and not writing the second article.

Yeah, I liked that bit about Oliver wanting to get "back on the broom" too. I guess he and Edie share their impulsive qualities, eh? ;3 Not to mention how much he values and loves Quidditch.

I think I understand your comment about the St. Mungo's charity, and I hope I'm answering it correctly xD Edie thought that she was going to be doing this huge, earth-shattering move when she decided to try and expose his decision not to donate. But when she got to the interview, and he was the one who brought it up, she realized that he's been asked time and time again. He's consistently refused to comment on it. Clearly he doesn't value a lot of pop-culture journalism, as he doesn't even read his own publicity. He has a bad taste in his mouth because everybody has tried to figure out "the answer" of the donation issue. And then Edie had to face that her "crusade" against him wasn't this big unique idea, like she thought it was. She kind of views herself as this vigilante, in some ways. A big part of this story is her realization that she's not as politically charged as she thinks. I hope that makes sense! I want to give a good explanation but I also don't want to spoil anything.

As the eldest sibling myself, I feel very protective over my sister. Without getting too personal, there was--and still is--a lot of pressure from my parents to be "the good example" for her, at times to the point of their negligence to me. So while some readers disagree with Edie's harsh reaction to Oliver, I totally understand and even sympathise. I know what it's like to try and direct a younger sibling away from something harmful, and only to be laughed at and called a stick in the mud. I don't think slapping him was the best decision she's made, but I can understand why she felt so frustrated.

Thank you so much for these reviews. I hope my responses aren't too long--you just pointed out a lot of things that I've been dying to talk about. And I've had three cups of coffee xD


 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleMissPrincess 

21st March 2013:
YES YES YES YES YES I LOVED IT! I WANT MOAR PLESS!

EDLIVER FTW.

im actually really happy that they ALMOST kissed, of course the fact that someone took their picture makes everything seem so much juicier, and HAH HAH ROSE also edie and oliver are just SOOO cute!

i expected a bit more about ada, and why she kept coming with oliver to that restaurant. she's his sister, but maybe you could include a bit backstory ples for your lovely reviewers :D

umm, yeah SO YOU HAVE TO UPDATE SOON OR OTHERWISE I WILL ACTUALLY CREYS.

but i really love this chapter actually so much, also i like all of your chapter titles, you clever little writer (:

Author's Response: Oyez, Ada is definitley coming back! I didn't include any back story because of a pretty big reason and I wish I could give more of an explanation but I JUST CANT OKAY

:3

I'm glad you like the title! It was "Tongue-Tied" because I was litening to that song by Grouplove as I wrote it, but 1: I don't like naming chapters after songs, 2: It felt a little too cliche.

The next chapter is pretty much written! I'm just going back and doing some tweaking :D

♥!


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan 

19th March 2013:
Holy crow, a lot of stuff happened in this chapter. Oliver is actually a really nice person but from a reporters point of view, he's probably the most boring person to write about. Except that photograph is sure going to make things spicy.

Maybe I'm just over thinking things but does Dean have a slight crush on Edie or something because he's acting really weird to me.

Anyway, I also thought that everything was really funny, there was one particular line that made me bust out laughing but I can't remember which one it was. There was a line though that made me bust up laughing.

Anyway, awesome chapter and I'll be waiting for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I know, right?! That's why I had to break the interview up into two chapters haha. SO much information! I'm considering removing the ending scene over into the next chapter, just because it's so long... But if I do that, I don't know how I'd like the flow of the next chapter. Gah!

That's a funny point! You're right. He is definitely a better human being in her eyes, but probably not a better interview subject.

I'm glad that some line made you laugh... whatever it was! :D

Thanks so much ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Justin Bieber 

18th March 2013:
It was awesome! When are you going to update ?

Author's Response: OMG JUSTIN BIEBER TELL NICKI MINAJ I SAY WHATS UP

Ha. Seriously though, I think I just wrote the next chapter? It's only like 2,500 words but I don't feel like I can add much more without too much happening at once. So maybe within the next day or so!

Thanks, Bieb ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by ValWitch21 

16th March 2013:
I'd typed out a nice, long review but the computer deleted it. Ugh. Anyway.

Nah, Oliver wouldn't make a good Unspeakable, he grunts too much! That image of Keeper's padding will forever stay stuck in my mind.

Oh, Edie, trying to get Oliver drunk for him to talk but whimpering as the alcohol disappears, haha.

Oliver is surprisingly honest with himself, which is an interesting take on his character. AHA, OLIVER AND KATIE DATED. It makes sense, except that now for me they're cousins. I like the history you've given them though, steering Oliver away from the player stereotype.

Aw, shucks, I was sort of hoping he'd compliment her, though of course it was highly unlikely. Bahaha, Edie, hold your horses -- it's just Quidditch! (Yes, I'm aware that if I told her this she'd shout BLASPHEMY and throw something at my head).

Stripping in a restaurant, huh. That tattoo must've hurt, especially if he had to get the entire blue shield done. And his story about the scar -- I'd never imagined Edie as someone to shy away from gritty (I think that's the word, no?) stories. Closing your eyes is the solution to everything.

Ada is his sister! Can I be snooty and parallel Ada and Anna? Yes? More importantly, do we meet Ada further on in the story?

WHY DOES JUSTIN KNOW OLIVER AND WHAT WAS THE FAVOUR? Is it important? I'm sure it is, and now I want to know. Do we find out?

Pish posh indeed.

They didn't. But Rose is so... Rose. I don't want anything to have happened there, because Rose is going to flaunt it around in Edie's face afterwards.

The weather and Edie's reaction made my day. I will not repeat it here because I don't think I'm allowed to, but that quote!

I wish I could say there's a mermaid-ish quality about it, but I look like a Grindylow washed ashore.

Yes. Enough said.

This isn't professional. I should say something like, "Step back, cowboy," and maybe even wave a finger sassily.

Yes again.

WHAT THE HECK JUST HAPPENED? Or rather, WHAT THE HECK DID NOT JUST HAPPEN? The paparazzi just have to make Edie's life miserable all the time, it seems. She should quit working for the press altogether and live as a hermit in the Himalayas. How did they even find them?

Seamus, heehee. Sleeping through towers of bottles crashing to the floor but waking up with a bed squeaking. "WHO'S THERE! I'M AN AUROR!"

Wouldn't scare the horses -- is that an actual expression or did you make it up?

Anyway, let it be known that despite the fact that Ediver didn't move as much as I would have wanted it to, and that Edie's life has gone rolling back down the hill, this was my favourite chapter so far! I can't wait for chapter 14 &hearts

Author's Response: Oh wow! This review!! ♥ I'm sorry you had to re-type everything, though.

I think Oliver is honest about a lot of things because Edie forgets to ask interview questions. And they start having more of a two-way conversation, and for one reason or another he feels comfortable around her. He definitely likes to clam up about certain things (like Ada, or St. Mungo's, for example). And you'll see in a later chapter how he feels about journalists lurking around his Quidditch practises. But yes! I think that's why he ended up being so honest about certain things.

Hmm! Your comment about the tattoo got me thinking. I wonder if wizards and witches get tattoos in the same way that Muggles would? Or if there's some kind of spell? You'd think if the cost/pain factors were taken out, everyone would have them!

Yes, I am secretly shipping Oliver and Katie in this story as well xD

"Closing your eyes is the solution to everything." bahahaha. You raise an interesting point about Edie being squeamish! It just felt right for her to do, though. I think she's seen her fair share of injuries, with younger brothers. But I based Oliver's injury off an ex-boyfriend of mine. The poor guy has dislocated BOTH SHOULDERS TWO TIMES EACH. I'm not squeamish, but I saw two of them happen and it always made me a little woozy x_x

Is Anna your Oliver's little sister? If so then yes, you can be snooty! I liked the idea of him having a younger sibling. It explains why he's so serious at times, and gives he and Edie something in common ;D

Yes... Justin is indeed significant here. That's all I'm saying!

To be completely honest, I haven't quite decided whether or not they actually kissed. I like the direction it could go in, either way! And I did not make up the expression "wouldn't scare the horses." I read it in a book by Libba Bray years and years ago called "A Great and Terrible Beauty." Maybe it's more popular now and people have heard of it? But it's pretty good Young-Adult Literature, I think!

Originally I had Ediver happening, like, WAY more in this chapter. But it felt too rushed. I know it's thirteen chapters in, but really, they've hung out a grand total of three times? Four if you include when he was pretending to be somebody else? They're just getting to know one another. Originally I had Edie getting too drunk and making some bad decisions. But I wanted to set up a parallel between old-Edie and new-Edie and the life choices she makes!

I'm so glad that you liked this chapter!! The next update may be slow, but I've still got so many plans for this story. Thanks so much, Val! ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Siriusly89 

15th March 2013:
I'm beginning to get worried that I'm entirely too addicted to this for my own good.

AH WELL!

Oh Edie, she starts off so well, so professional and detective-y, but then it all sort of falls asunder.

I like how Oliver really is just a normal person, nothing particularly interesting or special (and sadly Ada isn't a secret lover. . . . .drat!)
The scar was an interesting touch, and his line 'Ever heard of Harry Potter?' was really funny!

But don't think I'm changing my opinion of Oliver one bit! I still detest him! It was all going good, and I was sitting here thinking 'Awh! I had Oliver all wrong, he's actually a nice enough chap' when he came out with this statement:
'Oliver is obliviously prattling on about the Quidditch cup being rigged, because how else could Ireland win?'

HOW DARE HE! I am Irish, and I will have him know, that Ireland CAN win the Quidditch World Cup thank you very much! Set Seamus after him, he'll sort him out, sharpish!

Your hipster-poking was very funny! As you may have guessed, I quite enjoy seedy, higgledy-piggledy establishments, so this was like my little piece of heaven!

Edie borrowing everyone else's clothes was also a nice touch, she's a girl after my own heart!

Seamus at the end. . . . .ah my Seamy! Edie knocking over your bottle tower didn't make you even blink, but she sits down on her mattress and
"WHO'S THERE! I'M AN AUROR!"
Gotta love him, you just do!

Another wonderful chappie, can't wait to see where the whole photograph thing goes! And I swear, if Edie loses yet another job because of Oliver-I-don't-think-Ireland-can-win-the-Quidditch-World-Cup-which-is-pure-rubbish-Wood, I will personally deck him! Or get Seamus to, after all, he is an Auror :)

Author's Response: YEAH NO BIG DEAL RIGHT?

Hello again :3

THIS CHAPTER WAS SO HARD. So hard. I had to show Edie forgetting to do the interview, but it had to be subtle. It's told from her POV in the present-progressive tense, so she couldn't just be sitting there and at the same time realizing that she's not really interviewing him and then just not do it. Gerh. I'm still not sure how I feel about this chapter.

No, Ada is not a secret lover. But she will definitely be making another appearance. ;D

And I hope I explained it clearly in the chapter, but just in case: Oliver's a loner. I always imagined him at Hogwarts, poring over his Quidditch notes and practising, and having very little social life outside that. Which is how he got to be so good. I don't imagine that he genuinely likes to go out so much. But then his team mates egg him on--just like Edie's little brothers did--and he feels like he has to prove himself. So he does stupid things like what he did at Edie's pub, and Magic Touch. Or maybe you totally figured that all out for yourself ;D

Hahahaha. I'm sorry to offend your sensibilities. I for one think that Ireland and Kenmare are great teams. :P I also see Oliver as a quiet person, but when he has an opinion that he views as ABSOLUTE FACT he just can't keep quiet. But Edie stuck up for you!

Yes! I just had to throw some more Seamus in there. The whole night was a bit too serious for my liking, so I had to have him in at the end. Even though it made the chapter stupidly long, and I might break it up into two one day.

Oh don't worry--the photograph will definitely come into play. And sooner than you'd think!

♥!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review