Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MyDearWatson 

19th March 2015:
This story, how I love it!
Before this story I had zero interest in any Slytherin students other than Draco Malfoy.
You've managed to create such a strong character with your interpretation of Astoria! I appreciate all of the thought that you've included with intertwining this with the events of the sixth book.

I love your writing style. It's bold. It's not pretentious. You really seem to have found your voice. I am really enjoying this read so far, and am very excited to see what else you've written!

Keep the magic alive!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Thank you so much for this review!

I'm so glad this story helped you be interested in the Slytherins! I've loved writing this story, and it's so amazing getting such positive feedback.

Thank you for your comments about my writing voice - it means a lot! ♥ :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by Liana 

7th February 2015:
I think the last memory given to Amelia was a nice touch. Maybe we all have pleasant memories in our last moments. We'll never know until that time I guess.

Author's Response: I agree, it's a very interesting thing to think about. I'm glad you liked that moment with Amelia, I have a fondness for her and it was an interesting scene to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Evil Otter 

24th January 2015:
I completely understand why your story was voted the Most Addicting of 2014, I can't stop reading it! You have been serving as an inspiration for me to continue to write. I have a long way to go before I reach the caliber of writing that you display.

Keep writing please!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, you are so kind! Thank you! Something I learned from writing this story is that the more a person writes, the more confident and dedicated they become. The fact that you called me an inspiration is so lovely, thank you so much! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Secret Santa ;D 

6th January 2015:
The story of Amelia Bones and Yaxley really is so heartbreaking. I didn't think I was going to feel much for him in this story, but it turns out, you can humanize anyone. I'm feeling upset that things had to happen this way for them. I do love the idea of a Debate Club at Hogwarts, though. The fact that he chose Selena right then and there must have crushed Amelia. When the Death Eaters came to kill her and Yaxley filled her last moments with the memory of them I got far too emotional. That could have been something that actually happened to me, the way I reacted.

I love the three forms of romantic feelings. You know how sometimes you read something that is just so universal that you could show it to anyone and you're certain they'd be able to just get it? That's what I am continuously thinking while reading this story. I could show large chunks of this story to my mother, who has never been interested in Harry Potter in the slightest, and she'd be absolutely enamored with what you're saying. The ideas are just universal.

YES, she's planning on talking to Terry again! I was worried it might take longer to get to that point, but I'm so glad it didn't because I just want to see more of them together.

Ginny is so amazing here and every time she appears I like her a little bit more. I was never a gigantic fan of hers in canon either, so this is all your work.

Again, there's the heavy dramatic irony here with Tor asking Dumbledore of all people if objects can have souls. I assume that he looked over at Marvolo Gaunt's Ring, as the time period matches up. It's remarkable how much is going on just out of the scope of Tor's vision and how skillfully you slip them in.

I am so glad that Tor is willing to talk things out with Terry. Loving the direction the story is going in!

 Report Review

Review #5, by heronduck 

3rd January 2015:
Amelia Bones and Yaxley pulled my heartstrings. This is one of my favourite chapters.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :) I'm so glad you liked this chapter, it's one of my favourites as well.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Liana 

2nd December 2014:
Ok, I've been speed reading your story, with blurry eyes and a cup of coffee, but I just have to pause here to say how lovely and heartbreaking the introductory section about Amelia and Yaxley was. Some things just hit you right in the gut, and now I'm literally wiping away some tears. This is why I love reading. And as for the rest of your story, it's positively brilliant. I tend to avoid Slytherin fics like the plague, but I decided to break tradition a little, and boy was I rewarded. Tor is a strong heroine and I can't wait to see how her story unfolds alongside Terry's.

Author's Response: Hi Liana! :)

Wow, thank you! I'm so honoured that you liked that section. I remember getting emotional while writing it because it wasn't something I originally planned to be in the story but became such an important part of Yaxley's story.

It means so much to me that you think Tor is a strong heroine. Thank you for the beautiful review, I truly appreciate it so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Raven 

15th November 2014:
I love how you are making Ginny and Tor's friendship, it adds a lot to the story :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like their growing friendship, it's a lot of fun to write - I just love Ginny. :) Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jess the Enthusiast 

22nd September 2014:
I hope Ginny and Tor continue to interact!! I really like the idea of not only Terry altering Tor's worldview, but Ginny as well.

Really great chapter!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like seeing Ginny here! It's quite interesting to tie them in together and I love writing Ginny, she's one of my favourite canon characters. :) Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 

5th September 2014:
Great chapter. I thought adding the former relationship between Amelia Bones and Yaxley was a great idea. It kind of relates to what Astoria is going through with Terry Boot in the present.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thank you! I love that history of the relationship and it definitely adds a new dimension to Yaxley and Astoria's understanding of him, though she doesn't know about Amelia Bones for the time being. I'm so glad you liked it.

Thanks so much for another lovely review! :) I'm so excited you're liking the story!


 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16 

29th September 2013:
This was a really interesting chapter. I'm glad Ginny's back and not hexing Tor. I enjoyed her little rant about people always spilling their problems to her. I like how she thinks there is good in Tor, or at least more good than there is in the other Slytherins.

I thought Tor's conversation with Dumbledore was really interesting. I wonder how he would have reacted if she had told him the truth, and if he would have understood what it meant. I mean, if I were her, I'd want to know what it meant that such a dark object entered my mind... but that's just me.

I'm glad Tor wants to talk again with Terry and that he also wants to talk to her. I'm sure this conversation won't be easy but I can't wait to read on and see what comes of it.

Great chapter!

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked Ginny's reappearance, and how she and Tor are forming a sort of strange little friendship. She's a really fun character to write and tie into this story.

I agree, I would have wanted Dumbledore to help me and explain things too. I think because Tor is a Slytherin, she's naturally secretive and doesn't like trusting others with her weaknesses. Also, since she's a Death Eater's daughter Dumbledore is technically the enemy. She's not at the point yet where she could confide in someone like him, unfortunately.

I'm glad you're excited to find out what happens with Terry and Tor! :)

Thank you so much for following the story and leaving me these lovely reviews. :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan 

22nd June 2013:
This was an interesting chapter, what with the multiple POV's. It's sort of odd to have the multiple POV's in when the rest of the story is in first person, but I did really like that section about Dumbledore and even though that bit made the flow of the chapter kind of odd, I'm glad you included it, just for the way it ties together how everyone's views are changing at the time. (I hope that made sense...)

The Amelia Bones anecdote was really good too. I liked that it showed a different side to Yaxley - a side that perhaps didn't agree with Voldemort but was too afraid to stand up to him and be exposed.

And I liked the scene with Tor watching her blood on the parchment (does that make me sound morbid?) It's very good in a symbolic way - her blood is just like anyone else's, despite the superiority complex she has.

Wonderful work on this chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked this chapter. I basically got sick of Tor's whining and had to include someone else's perspective, it does happen quite often in the following chapters! :/ I'm glad you liked Dumbledore's perspective however!

I really enjoyed imagining the Amelia Bones part, and showing different sides to Yaxley. Tor doesn't know, but she and her dad have more in common than they think. You're right, Yaxley was too afraid to oppose Voldy, which might be the difference between them.

Haha, slightly morbid but I'm glad you liked the symbolism! :) It was a fun image to imagine.

Thank you for another lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore 

9th June 2013:
Argh, I'm so behind with reviewing for this and I need to catch up as quickly as possible so I can tell you what I thought of the latest chapter (which I read as soon as you updated :D).

I really like the idea of Yaxley and Amelia Bones. I wonder how different their children might have been if the two had continued their relationship? But I liked the fact that it showed even Death Eaters aren't completely without compassion. The story was sad in a bittersweet way - I felt much more for Amelia Bones than Yaxley, but it was sweet to see him reaching out and offering her comfort in her last moments. It's horrible that he had to watch as she died, but even if he had, as Snape did, begged for Amelia's life, I don't imagine Voldy would have shown him any mercy. In fact, he might have even forced Yaxley to be the murderer (he's a nice man, ol' Tom Riddle). But I think he also has to preserve himself before other people (Yaxley, this is) - as most people have discovered, escaping the Death Eaters isn't really an option.

Ginny and Tor's friendship works in a strange way. I think if they'd come from different backgrounds (or more similar ones, if that makes sense) then they could have been quite good friends from the beginning. I like the fact that Ginny is acting as a sort of messenger between Tor and Terry, as well as seeming more open-minded and willing to think Tor can change, because that fits with what we know of her character.

Tor's indignation at the way Terry and Ginny had been discussing her made me laugh. She has this sense of superiority that's been bred into her and she can't forget, making her think she's allowed to discuss other people in the same way but nobody should talk about her as such - after all, remember who her parents are! It's pretty hypocritical, but she doesn't seem to realise that. Still, that fits with her age and what she's been brought up to believe in.

I think Dumbledore was probably quite surprised at Tor's perceptiveness in this chapter, when she asked if objects can have souls. It's sad that he doesn't have the time to keep his eye on all these students and save them from their families and themselves. They still are children, really, and like he realised, they don't understand the implications of the war. They're so eager to grow up and get involved, and it's really sad to think that they could find themselves in the midst of something far out of control.

Another great chapter, darling! I'll be back as soon as possible to review the next one!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello! :) Oh, you are just too wonderful for taking the time to re-read each chapter and letting me know what you think of them! I really appreciate the feedback! :D

I'm glad you liked the Amelia anecdote! I kind of planted the seed for it in Chapter 5 but somehow it took until now to take shape. I'm glad you felt sorry for Amelia, but also that it gave Yaxley some redemption: he isn't all bad, after all! And yes, he decided to protect himself, and by extension his family, by keeping quiet and doing what he could for Amelia in those last few moments!

I'm glad you like Ginny, and her strange friendship with Tor! You're right, they definitely would be friends if they had more similiar values and oppurtunities to bond, I feel like their personalities are very similar in a way! I'm glad you think Ginny fits with character as well, I really enjoy writing her! :)

I'm glad as well that Tor's sense of being superior is continuing to shine through, though she has a lot of changing characteristics and abilities as well. I try to give her those little selfish and immature moments, since really she is just a fourteen year old girl!

I know, Dumbledore is in a tricky situation! Being Dumbledore, he wants to help all the students, but of course he has to concentrate on Harry and the Horcruxes, and those in immediate danger like Malfoy. It is sad, to think of the impact on kids like Tor and how things could be so different for them: it's just as dangerous as being a Muggleborn, but in a different way.

Thank you so much for this really lovely review, my dear! :) You're just the best!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Broken Butterfly 

5th June 2013:
Lovely chapter, Sorry for the long wait. I like the shift of people's thoughts in this chapter. I wonder how Terry will react to the note, I suppose he has everything to be angry about, but I still hope that he forgives Tor. I like how Albus puts her name on the list of potential death eaters because that is what she is, and yet what she is doing feels wrong. I hope that she and her Slytherin friends can develop friendships that are healthier and show them all the other side.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you liked this chapter, and the switching in perspectives. I loved switching it up like that, and am glad it was enjoyable and not too confusing. Dumbledore especially was a lot of fun!

I'm glad you're hoping these things and asking these questions while reading the story, it makes me happy! :D Thank you for yet another wonderful review! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by AHeat 

29th March 2013:
I really liked Dumbledore and Amelia Bones' perspectives. It's really cool that you're shaking things up a bit :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked the alternative perspectives, there will be much more of that as well in upcoming chapters! I like switching in and out of Tor's voice for some reason. Thank you very much for reviewing!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Brightpaw 

17th March 2013:
So I'm really bad at reviews... but I think I probably should... because I love your story! It's such a cool perspective! And I love the Ginny-Tor interaction. And I was wondering, why did Dumbledore put her on the death-eater children list? Did he know already, or did he think she gave the necklace, or did he think she was asking about the Hallows as a spy to see if he knew about them, or did he read her mind, or...? Anyways, I'm trying to find fan-fics I like but I'm not finding much... so update soon, please! I went to this awful cold campout and I thought there just had to be an update when I got back, but... :(

Author's Response: Hello, I'm so happy you're liking my story! :)

The idea with Dumbledore's list was that he was writing down students that he wished he could pay more attention to, if that makes sense: he sees the possibility for "good" in Tor because she's thoughtful and perceptive, but doesn't have the time to dedicate to kids like her because he's so busy with Horcruxes.

I just uploaded the next chapter, so it should be validated in a few days if all goes well, and I promise its a long one!! :P

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by marauder5 

14th March 2013:
Oh, the beginning of this chapter... Yaxley and Amelia Bones... it reminded me a bit of Snape's whole situation with Lily. It was so sad (and a bit cruel, I guess) that Yaxley was there when they killed her. A very nice touch to the story, which makes me believe that none of these people, not even him, really WANTED to be on the dark side. He was just drawn into it, and after that there was not much he could do. Maybe that's what you're trying to show us with this whole story? I mean, the only one who ever escaped from the evil side was Snape, and he was never really free. Plus, we know that he was such a miserable man. So it's understandable (but awful) that these people, like Tor and her Slytherin friends, feel that there is nothing they can do. It's so sad, because this story really portrays Tor as a person who's really good, she's just been infected with this pureblood madness. Theo is another example - he's a really good guy. The only problem is who his parents are. I guess it was the same with Yaxley when he was young.

Ginny and Tor's strange friendship is great. It's a wonderful addition to your story (because I just love Ginny's character and I want her to be in every story, haha!). And it's nice to see that Ginny seems to want to give Tor a chance - how very Weasley of her, to try not to judge her (that seems like something she would've learned from Arthur.)

I thought that Dumbledore called Tor to his office to ask her about her dad, or try to talk her into being "good"! I guess that's what he would have wanted to do, as we can see when you tell the next part from his point of view. That was another nice touch to the story.

I'm sorry for writing half an essay when I was only supposed to write a review, but there's just so much to say. I've reached the last chapter so far :( You're going to have to promise me to update soon, because I'm eager to read the rest of this fantastic story. This is the first one that I have read from the POV of the dark side, except for stories of Voldemort or the Malfoy family. I think this is so much better than most of the others of this kind, because it shows so many dimensions of their characters, and it really helps the reader to understand them better. Keep up the amazing work, and update as soon as you can, okay? ;) by the way, this was my favorite chapter so far.

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm thrilled you connected with the Amelia Bones/Yaxley anecdote. It just kind of appeared in my head, fully formed. (Maybe I'll have to write a prequel one-shot in the future? :P) Yes, it was very cruel that Yaxley had to be there when she was killed, but I guess that's what being a Death Eater means: you always have to choose your own safety first, unless you're strong like Snape and I don't think Yaxley is, he's too... ambitious? At least he was able to give Amelia a little relief before she died. Writing this has made me reflect a lot on how truly hard it would have been to be drawn into something then unable to escape. All they can really do is hope they've picked the winning side. We'll have to see whether Tor will follow in her father's footsteps when this story (at some point in the far, far future...) finally reaches the point in the Prologue.

I love Ginny and Tor as friends as well! They're both sassy, smart and independent. I always wished Ginny got more attention in the books, because her character is so fun.

The Dumbledore perspective was hard for me to wrap my mind around, and I considered having him actually address Tor and offer her help. But Dumbledore knows he has to concentrate on Harry: its a tough decision, but one to be made for the "greater good," I suppose.

I am so thrilled at how much you like this story, it really means a lot to me!!! Thank you for this AMAZING review, it actually made my day!!! I have a few more chapters already written and waiting to be added, and have no intentions of stopping any time soon. I'm definitely hooked on writing this :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review